Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 175 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

175 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

175 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
22
3 stars
20
2 stars
26
1 stars
58
1-20 of 173 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews
Tom
7/17/2016

Customer review by tombo

2.0 stars 7/17/2016 by tombo
by tombo

too flimsy, large area in front for cups to fall through, silverware tray not divided allows ware to lay down and fall out, too small, poor color selection. please manufacture a larger heavy wire drainer! good job on antimicrobial coating.

tombo
Florida, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
This product is not as good as earlier model
6/2/2012

Customer review by Shah12

3.0 stars 6/2/2012 by Shah12
by Shah12

We had similar rubbermaid dish drainer which lasted for a long time. It was beige in color with rounded top corners and two spoon holders which hung on outside of the rack. We really liked it. The new rack has mitered corners at the top which looks good but is not functional as larger plates can't fit in reduced width at ends. New rack has no horizontal wire about an inch above the bottom like the old ones and space between some of the wires is too wide. Smaller items like juice glass and small cotainers tend to fall out from wider open spaces. Also added horizontal wire will keep glasses placed in glass holders up from the bottom tray. There is only one spoon holder which is not adequate if you have more spoons and other items. Also spoons tend to slide at the bottom and fall sideways. Some cross stiffeners as in older baskets will prevent this. Spoon holders hang on the inside and reduce the space for dishes and or pots to fit in the dish rack. New dish drainer appears good but is not functional like old one.

Shah12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
RUST
6/9/2016

Customer review by JCOONS

1.0 stars 6/9/2016 by JCOONS
by JCOONS

PURCHASED MY DISH RACK AND DRAINER IN ONLY A MONTH OR SO RUST STARTED NOW THE WHOLE RACK IS SO BAD i CANNOT USE IT FOR CLEAN PLATES

JCOONS
HAWAII
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Disappointing Redesign
2/15/2016

Customer review by Delta

1.0 stars 2/15/2016 by Delta
by Delta

We have been looking and looking trying to find a replacement for our older Rubbermaid dish drainer and could not find the same thing anywhere. Bought the closest thing (which is the large dish drainer seen on this site) but overall it just felt flimsy. Comparing the two they are the same size however construction of the new rack is now using lighter gauge wire. The designers even removed one of the dish holders leaving a big gaping hole for things to fall out. The utensil cup has been redesigned to fit the gaping hole but is longer than the older version allowing the utensils to keep falling over which is a pain whereas the older square corner cup was sturdier and could hold things up better. Will be returning this to the store and keep looking for other alternatives with better quality or just clean the old one up and live with green. Disappointing!

Delta
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
How could you?
3/18/2013

Customer review by heartbroken

1.0 stars 3/18/2013 by heartbroken
by heartbroken

Dear Rubbermaid Designers, You will be happy to know that I made it safely back into the house, with no broken bones, after walking out to the parking lot and climbing in and out of the garbage dumpster. Why did I do that, you ask? TO GET MY OLD DISH DRAINER BACK! And at my age such acrobatics are no small feat, but it was worth it. Have any of you people ever actually washed dishes? No--I didn't think so. If you had, you would realize that the silverware cup does NOT belong in the center. In that location it's in the way, and the space on each side of it is wasted. When it was located in the corner, the design was just perfect. The bottom was little enuff that small items didn't fall down flat, causing a tangled mess. In the corner the cup took up the smallest total space possible, and was the ideal arrangement. Why did you mess with perfection? So I will just keep using my old, stained drainer until you come to your senses.

heartbroken
Hudson, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Miss the old quality of this product
12/9/2014

Customer review by falcosmommy

1.0 stars 12/9/2014 by falcosmommy
by falcosmommy

Decided to replace my small white dish drainer because the rubber is just starting to peel off after 10 years of daily use. I did not give any other product a serious consideration, but once I got home and compared to my old drainer, I noted that the wire is not as heavy, the silverware bin is thinner plastic, and the dish slants are now pointed towards the silverware basket, so you can't use them all. You can't move the silverware basket to the other side, because moving it reveals a big gap in the wire mesh under it (the old drainer was fully formed). But then again, the basket is so flimsy it doesn't stay affixed to its intended position anyway. The drainer is not so terribly expensive that a higher price would put me off. I would gladly pay double for this product at it's older quality. I also noted my new product is manufactured in China. I know my old one was made in the USA, because I pay attention to that. I always stuck to Rubbermaid products because they were faithful to their US roots, but I'm afraid I'm losing my reasons to stay a loyal fan.

falcosmommy
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great! Just one problem.
4/26/2016

Customer review by GermfreeTX

3.0 stars 4/26/2016 by GermfreeTX
by GermfreeTX

I lover Rubbermaid, and refuse to use anything else. My only problem is that they don't have any packaging. They are just stacked in the shelves, I had to go to 4 store to find one that wasn't scratched or damaged in some way.this is a problem for germaphobes like me becuase who know ifor the person who stocked them didn't have grease or something in their hands? Or another customer may have touched it after not washingoing their hands after the bathroom. I put CLEAN dishes on this, I eat off things that have been on this rack. I want the rack to be clean too.

GermfreeTX
Texas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
No Drainboard
5/6/2016

Customer review by dishwasher5

3.0 stars 5/6/2016 by dishwasher5
by dishwasher5

I have used Rubbermaid dish drains for years, and when looking for a new one was disappointed to find that the wire racks no longer come with a drain board. I can't even purchase a drain board separately! How is this useful?

dishwasher5
Don't buy the stainless steel!
5/1/2016

Customer review by Tetnus Shot

2.0 stars 5/1/2016 by Tetnus Shot
by Tetnus Shot

I have been using Rubbermaid dish drainers for 10+ years. I decided to buy the stainless steel one about a month ago and have been using it for intended purpose. After only a few short weeks it started to some rust and is only getting worse. I now have to purchase another one and you can bet it won't be Rubbermaid!

Tetnus Shot
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Utensil holder too shallow
2/26/2016

Customer review by Rosie414

2.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Rosie414
by Rosie414

I've been purchasing Rubbermaid for 28 years now, I've always had a Rubbermaid dish drainer in my kitchen. If you've purchased any dish drainers in the past you know at some point they no longer can be washed and used and need to be replaced, as was my case. I purchased a large dish drainer for my kitchen, needless to say i am finding the new utensil caddy to be extremely shallow, so much so that if you put a long utensil (ie spatula, large spoon, scoop, etc) they just fall right out. Also tall utensils have a hard time staying in there. I have always been very satisfied buying Rubbermaid but not so much with this product! I hope they fix it back to the utensil caddy that was in the corner, it was nice and deep and seemed to hold more utensils.

Rosie414
Stoneham, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Rubbermaid® Large Dish Drainer (6032-AR-BISQU)
5/21/2015

Customer review by CherylS

3.0 stars 5/21/2015 by CherylS
by CherylS

I've been buying Rubbermaid Dish Drainers and other items for 40 years as does my family and many friends. The quality of the most recent model dish drain rack is of poorer quality and is flimsier than the previous rack I purchased. The plastic-coated wiring is much thinner and there are fewer vertical plastic-coated "wires" around the outer part of the rack. One of my plates toppled over the entire rack because the rack no longer has any weight to it (because the coated wiring is now so thin). Also, I've had several glasses fall through the open end of the rack where the silver ware holder is now supposed to go. Many people prefer to put the silver ware holder on the outside of the rack to allow as much room as possible IN the rack. PLEASE return to the former good quality rack you once made. I'm sure customers would be willing to pay $5 more (or whatever) for a better product.

CherylS
Berkeley, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Unhappy user
3/8/2012

Customer review by Evlina

2.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Evlina
by Evlina

I recently replaced my old Rubbermaid dish drainer with this newer model. I don't like it at all. My largest complaint is with the long silverware drainer. The corner squarish one on my old drainer was much better. Also the drain holes in this one are too large/long. I cut up a sponge and placed it in the bottom of the utensil holder to prevent the tips of my knives and the handles of my silverware from falling through. Because there are no upright support bars behind the utensil holder it flops forward toward the dishes when it is full. Also I think the dish separators are too wide and I agree with other reviewers who said some of the space beside the separators is wasted. Unfortunatly, there is not a lot of choice when shopping for a dish drainer now days. Color is also an issue. This drainer only comes in black or white, I believe. I would have preferred something in bone/beige.

Evlina
South Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
"If it ain't broke, don't fix it!"
2/2/2015

Customer review by Boomerchef

1.0 stars 2/2/2015 by Boomerchef
by Boomerchef

It was finally time to replace my large, heavy-duty Rubbermaid wire dish rack, and lo and behold, I was shocked to find a cheaply made imitation of the classic design in its place. I have been a Rubbermaid customer for over 40 years, and until now equated the Rubbermaid name with quality. The original design had versatility to allow me to accommodate a variety of dishes, glassware, heavy mixing bowls, bakeware, pots and pans, etc. And the removable corner flatware holder could be placed appropriately for the ever-changing loads, and easily cleaned in top dishwasher rack. Now, the new, but NOT IMPROVED version would barely hold the weight of my kitchen essentials, thus will not suit my needs, let alone have lasting value, since I am not willing to purchase things that contribute to this "throw away" society. I was required to enter one star, but no stars would better represent my overall disappointment. Please return to the original Classic design, with it's corner pocket and thick, heavy wire frame and generous coating. I am not interested in anti-microbial chemicals either, in my food area, or in our environment.

Boomerchef
Portland, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Pathetic dish drainer
11/21/2015

Customer review by very angry

1.0 stars 11/21/2015 by very angry
by very angry

I have been trying for over 30 years to replace my old Rubbermaid drainer tray (model # 119120) and its matching drainer. I have never been able to find anything comparable in size and quality. The other day I tried again and purchased your large dish drainer (model #L36032MSBLAP1?) and the largest drainer tray I could find (model # 118D 2). The dish drainer is of flimsy construction compared to the 30+ year-old one I still useand I couldn't get the small cutlery holder to fit on the outside end of the drainer (putting it inside the drainer wastes space that could be used for wet dishes, same applies for hooking glasses inside the drainer instead of outside. The drainer tray is so flimsy in appearance, and it has the draining edge on the long side, which is a royal pain. Also, in this day of self-rimming sinks, it does not have enough elevation on the side away from the sink for the water to drain (had to put a board under it just to bring it up level with the sink rim). Tomorrow I'm taking them back to the store, just as I have every other Rubbermaid dish drainer and drainer tray I've tried over the past 30 years. Enough is enough. I will not try any more Rubbermaid dish drainers or drainer trays.

very angry
TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Terrible silverware basket!
6/20/2015

Customer review by Kraut

1.0 stars 6/20/2015 by Kraut
by Kraut

Should have read reviews before throwing old Rubbermaid away. Bought the new one, (obviously lighter and thinner) - and did not realize that silverware would tip over, fall sideways, and not dry properly in the new design cup. Over the years have purchased many Rubbermaid dish drainers and can't imagine why the design was changed to something nearly unusable! FYI - have fashioned a divider for the center of the silverware basket which creates 2 compartments allowing the vertical placement of silverware. Unfortunately it must be held in place with clear duct tape which needs frequent replacement. Will move on to super glue next time. Will throw away the entire thing (which is about 3 weeks old) as soon as I find another brand with a better design. First bad experience with a Rubbermaid product!

Kraut
Clearwater FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Quality has gone down
11/30/2013

Customer review by katiecr

1.0 stars 11/30/2013 by katiecr
by katiecr

I was looking to replace a Rubbermaid drainer and tray in black that are showing signs of wear after many years of use.  I have been very happy so I looked for Rubbermaid products again.  The equivalent drainer and tray made today by Rubbermaid is clearly not the same quality.  The tray is slightly smaller and very light -slips around the counter like crazy and doesn't drain well into the sink.  I loved the corner cutlery holder but the new centre version doesn't hold as much and slips. The drainer is also lighter and very flimsy.  I'm telling you this because your company needs to reconsider its attention to quality.  I understand saving money on production, but you're going to lose customers.  I am willing to pay more for quality.  I will be returning these items and going back to my old scruffy but better products.   

katiecr
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Please redesign your dish drainers!
2/16/2016

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/16/2016 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Old dish drainers were worth buying: o big o solid, not flimsy wire o big, useable utensil bins o available matching trays that fit and orient in the logical direction (plates in back sloping away from the sink; utensil bins on outside of side hanging over the sink). Just find an old one and copy it. The new dish drainers are cheap junk.

An anonymous customer
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poorly Designed
11/15/2010

Customer review by Canoemandan

1.0 stars 11/15/2010 by Canoemandan
by Canoemandan

A letter to Rubbermaid. This dishrack is very poorly designed. The elongated silverware holder allows for shorter utensils like spoons and salad forks to nearly lay horizontally in its bottom. When soup bowls are put in the rack they cover up the silverware holder preventing access to it. With the silverware holder centered in the rack, the small space to the left and right of it are wasted space. The wires have some thin coating on it that I don't expect to last. My old dish rack with the silverware holder in the corner was of much better quality and design. It was sturdier and the wires were much better cushioned. With the silverware holder in the corner it was designed to be very efficient. I wish I could get my old rack back. For as ratty looking as it was I would use it anyway and trash your new product.

Canoemandan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Design Change
2/13/2016

Customer review by tydyq

1.0 stars 2/13/2016 by tydyq
by tydyq

I agree with the other reviewers on the design change. Utensil holder is poorly made. If I choose not to use the holder, there is a large gap in the drainer. Don't be mislead by the rave reviews, everybody loves free stuff and most of the 5 stars came from people who were given one.

tydyq
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Terrible Product
7/6/2013

Customer review by eliz1435

1.0 stars 7/6/2013 by eliz1435
by eliz1435

I threw the new drainer/board out after two days. Don't buy one. I recently decided to replace my Rubbermaid red drainer/board. After 9 years it is actually in great condition, just very faded in color from direct sunlight. First of all, I can't find a large red one anywhere--I've been to every branch of every different store but no one seems to be stocking it --first gripe. Second, the large would have more room but be of no better quality. The new version is thinner, flimsy and doesn't hold my dishes--they constantly fell over--and of course the small has no place for glasses, cups. The rubber underpiece is a hard plastic--these hard plastics always seem to crack pretty easily. Luckily, I thought the new one would be too cheap and saved my old (now orange) set which I put back on the counter.

eliz1435
West Chester, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1-20 of 173 reviews