Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

16 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-16 of 16 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

2/19/2013

Customer review by TheGhost

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by TheGhost
by TheGhost

I have 4 different woks, one of which cost $175 [Scanpan] and none of them can hold a candle to this cast iron beauty. Once this gets hot it cooks almost as good as any Chinese restaurants which have a lot more heat than a home gas range. Be sure to "season" it and always preheat 15 minutes before cooking anything.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheGhost
Queens, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best wok ever!
2/23/2014

Customer review by Sherer

5.0 stars 2/23/2014 by Sherer
by Sherer

This is the best wok I have ever owned. Make sure you clean it real well and season it real well. I cleaned mine then oiled it and placed it on the grill for about 2 hours...(my oven isn't big enough for this thing). It turned out great! I fried up some chicken drummettes in it and that also helped the seasoning...not to mention the chicken was really good.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sherer
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
12/5/2012

Customer review by haimartha

4.0 stars 12/5/2012 by haimartha
by haimartha

1) heavy duty. 2) need seasoning first, or will rust. 3) bottom is nor curve as regular wok.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
haimartha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/26/2012

Customer review by mkwstone

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by mkwstone
by mkwstone

good cast iron for cooking. good buy

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mkwstone
columbus ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
poor packaging
3/16/2012

Customer review by mlmlrl

2.0 stars 3/16/2012 by mlmlrl
by mlmlrl

Walmart did not pack the wok properly for shipment. As a result of the wok moving and sliding inside the box that was loosely packed with brown paper, the handle of the wok punctured a hole in the box. The product label was torn with instructions about how to season the wok missing. The wok has uneven base and walls. It rocks on a flat surface, and the walls are thicker on one side than the other. There are also ridges / folds on the inside bottom of the wok.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mlmlrl
chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
Decent piece of cast iron
10/2/2014

Customer review by OGbbq

4.0 stars 10/2/2014 by OGbbq
by OGbbq

I was looking for a wok I can use inside my Weber kettle and this seems like a good option. Fits and sits well in the weber gourmet grate opening. Finish is a bit rough, but expected for the price. I burned off the coating used to protect the wok in my gas grill which I cranked to 650 degrees for a few hours. Several layers of oil to season and I'm happy with it. Will store indoors to try and keep rust at by until I really get it very well seasoned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OGbbq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cracked wok
1/22/2015

Customer review by Miki2014

2.0 stars 1/22/2015 by Miki2014
by Miki2014

I like cast iron products but this one came withslightly cracked and dent interior. It has poor interior molding due to some dent like dips. So anyone buys this item should check interior crack or dips due poor workmanship

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Miki2014
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this dress!
5/29/2014

Customer review by Stacy1000

5.0 stars 5/29/2014 by Stacy1000
by Stacy1000

Very lightweight and cool, hangs nicely. Great price!

Was this review helpful? (0) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stacy1000
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I do not recommend!
11/6/2013

Customer review by Zuls

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by Zuls
by Zuls

I used this wok once and it become rusted on the bottom. I did not even scrub it. I made some fried rice and after that I put my wok in water to soak. When I used my normal kitchen sponge to wash it, the bottom was rusty and it lost its original color. I would think it takes a long time for iron to be like that.

Was this review helpful? (2) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zuls
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Big and Easy
9/13/2014

Customer review by WokIt

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by WokIt
by WokIt

Excellent for almost everything. Steaks to Stir Fry pure cast iron estacy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WokIt
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great wok
6/2/2015

Customer review by songmaker1

5.0 stars 6/2/2015 by songmaker1
by songmaker1

Love it. Nice and heavy for high heat...good quality but strongly agree with others that getting the factory coating off is no easy chore.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
songmaker1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
At long last; Success!
5/13/2015

Customer review by WestCoastBob

5.0 stars 5/13/2015 by WestCoastBob
by WestCoastBob

Seems most indoor gas stoves have a maximum of 17,000 BTU output: when the gas jets are clean and working properly. Otherwise the heat output goes down from there. More then once I've mistakenly put my chicken into a smoking wok only to have it sizzle for 3 seconds and then the meat cools the wok down and sizzle becomes silence. For good stir-fry flavor and food texture the wok must remain hot. Most restaurants have a 65,000 - 100,000 BTU burner under their steel woks. This cast Iron wok is heavy and does take 10 minutes to heat up, like most cast iron, but once hot it retains it's heat and does not drop in temp when meat, etc. is introduced. Hence, a much higher degree of finished dish is attained compared to a steel wok or, heaven forbid the worthless electric wok . A must for every home that enjoys stir-fry/deep fry.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WestCoastBob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mr. Bar-B-Q Cast Iron Wok
5/12/2015

Customer review by Kaye

5.0 stars 5/12/2015 by Kaye
by Kaye

For starters I seasoned my Wok on the grill and forgot about it and it burned a little on the cooking side at the bottom of the wok. After scrubbing a little and cooking to try and cook off the residue left from over seasoning I am no longer wiping off burn chips. I absolutely love it. The wok cooks evenly and I can stir fry all of my vegetables at once due to its size. Therefore it saves me a lot of time. My Mr. Bar-B-Q is my new best friend. I would highly recommend this product to any one looking for a wok.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kaye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good buy
6/8/2015

Customer review by estiven

5.0 stars 6/8/2015 by estiven
by estiven

Arrived quickly and as described. No defects we seasoned it the Brasilian way wife being one. She just put it over our cook fire on the grate for a couple of hours . Left it there until sat. morning and voila perfect. We are happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
estiven
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A very versatile product
7/6/2014

Customer review by LUCountrygirl

4.0 stars 7/6/2014 by LUCountrygirl
by LUCountrygirl

This was a Father's Day gift for my dad this year. Considering he's loves to cook, especially fried rice, I knew this would be the perfect gift for him! My mom said how excited he was when he opened the box! It works well. The cast iron makes it durable, and it should last a long time! My dad loves his gift.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LUCountrygirl
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So far, so good
7/24/2015

Customer review by JJPP

4.0 stars 7/24/2015 by JJPP
by JJPP

Nice quality. I seasoned with avocado oil.. Works great so far.. Great price..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JJPP
Would recommend to a friend? Yes