Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 20 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 20 reviews
1-20 of 20 reviews
2/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have 4 different woks, one of which cost $175 [Scanpan] and none of them can hold a candle to this cast iron beauty. Once this gets hot it cooks almost as good as any Chinese restaurants which have a lot more heat than a home gas range. Be sure to "season" it and always preheat 15 minutes before cooking anything.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best wok ever!
2/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the best wok I have ever owned. Make sure you clean it real well and season it real well. I cleaned mine then oiled it and placed it on the grill for about 2 hours...(my oven isn't big enough for this thing). It turned out great! I fried up some chicken drummettes in it and that also helped the seasoning...not to mention the chicken was really good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/5/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
1) heavy duty. 2) need seasoning first, or will rust. 3) bottom is nor curve as regular wok.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
At long last; Success!
5/13/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Seems most indoor gas stoves have a maximum of 17,000 BTU output: when the gas jets are clean and working properly. Otherwise the heat output goes down from there. More then once I've mistakenly put my chicken into a smoking wok only to have it sizzle for 3 seconds and then the meat cools the wok down and sizzle becomes silence. For good stir-fry flavor and food texture the wok must remain hot. Most restaurants have a 65,000 - 100,000 BTU burner under their steel woks. This cast Iron wok is heavy and does take 10 minutes to heat up, like most cast iron, but once hot it retains it's heat and does not drop in temp when meat, etc. is introduced. Hence, a much higher degree of finished dish is attained compared to a steel wok or, heaven forbid the worthless electric wok . A must for every home that enjoys stir-fry/deep fry.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
poor packaging
3/16/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart did not pack the wok properly for shipment. As a result of the wok moving and sliding inside the box that was loosely packed with brown paper, the handle of the wok punctured a hole in the box. The product label was torn with instructions about how to season the wok missing. The wok has uneven base and walls. It rocks on a flat surface, and the walls are thicker on one side than the other. There are also ridges / folds on the inside bottom of the wok.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mr. Bar-B-Q Cast Iron Wok
5/12/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For starters I seasoned my Wok on the grill and forgot about it and it burned a little on the cooking side at the bottom of the wok. After scrubbing a little and cooking to try and cook off the residue left from over seasoning I am no longer wiping off burn chips. I absolutely love it. The wok cooks evenly and I can stir fry all of my vegetables at once due to its size. Therefore it saves me a lot of time. My Mr. Bar-B-Q is my new best friend. I would highly recommend this product to any one looking for a wok.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
good cast iron for cooking. good buy
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good buy
6/8/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Arrived quickly and as described. No defects we seasoned it the Brasilian way wife being one. She just put it over our cook fire on the grate for a couple of hours . Left it there until sat. morning and voila perfect. We are happy with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent piece of cast iron
10/2/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was looking for a wok I can use inside my Weber kettle and this seems like a good option. Fits and sits well in the weber gourmet grate opening. Finish is a bit rough, but expected for the price. I burned off the coating used to protect the wok in my gas grill which I cranked to 650 degrees for a few hours. Several layers of oil to season and I'm happy with it. Will store indoors to try and keep rust at by until I really get it very well seasoned.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great wok
6/2/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love it. Nice and heavy for high heat...good quality but strongly agree with others that getting the factory coating off is no easy chore.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Non stick finish flaking off after 4 uses
1/27/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The surface off this wok was uneven (like patches of thick layers of iron were missing). Tried exchanging it but none on hand so kept it because it was on sale for $15. After 4 uses, the finish (calling it non stick is generous) were chipping off like pain. Can't use it anymore. Ugh.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mr Bar-B-Q Iron Wok
8/20/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It is what I expected, I use a lot of cast iron cookware, you have to learn how to use cast iron cookware. Once you do, you will love it. I suspect those who are giving this product a bad review, are not accustom to using cast iron cookware. The coating is a normal coating for cast iron, follow the instructions for seasoning it and you will be fine. I think I'll get the large one (22 inch) for the grill. Gook smoky flavor, yum
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
cracked wok
1/22/2015
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like cast iron products but this one came withslightly cracked and dent interior. It has poor interior molding due to some dent like dips. So anyone buys this item should check interior crack or dips due poor workmanship
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So far, so good
7/24/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Nice quality. I seasoned with avocado oil.. Works great so far.. Great price..
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Big and Easy
9/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Excellent for almost everything. Steaks to Stir Fry pure cast iron estacy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A very versatile product
7/6/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This was a Father's Day gift for my dad this year. Considering he's loves to cook, especially fried rice, I knew this would be the perfect gift for him! My mom said how excited he was when he opened the box! It works well. The cast iron makes it durable, and it should last a long time! My dad loves his gift.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the wok it was such a good price
1/3/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I love the wok it was what I was expecting and love the price
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I do not recommend!
11/6/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I used this wok once and it become rusted on the bottom. I did not even scrub it. I made some fried rice and after that I put my wok in water to soak. When I used my normal kitchen sponge to wash it, the bottom was rusty and it lost its original color. I would think it takes a long time for iron to be like that.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (28)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A must have
9/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this for my boyfriend and we took it when we went camping and it worked out very well. He is very please with it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this dress!
5/29/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very lightweight and cool, hangs nicely. Great price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643925, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-