Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 87 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

87 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

87 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

36%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
16
1 stars
36
1-20 of 79 total reviews
36%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Piece of garbage
3/16/2016

Customer review by idrathernot

1.0 stars 3/16/2016 by idrathernot
by idrathernot

This thing is terrible. I'm a single guy that lives alone with no pets, so it's not like I ask much of this hunk of junk. I've used it a handful of times in maybe 2 years and this useless thing, which, by the way never was great at sucking up dirt, just stopped turning on. I've gone thru 3 belts in two years and now it's power source goes bad. I will never buy a dirt devil again. Thanks guys.

idrathernot
St. Charles, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little Vaccum
9/23/2015

Customer review by The Rev

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by The Rev
by The Rev

I bought this vacum almost 3 years ago for use in my 40ft 5th wheel we were living in with 4 cats and 3 dogs. I bought it because it was small and would not take up too much room to store in our RV. I was surprised at the power it had, and the many things I could do with it, such as vaccuming carpets, hardwood flooring, I even used it to vaccum out my cabinets in the kitchen. I bought it because it had the brush roller on the bottom that was good on my carpets, and then I could adjust the settings for the flooring, and it had the advantage of the hose to dust areas that could not be reached by the vaccum itself. Now about a year and a half ago we bought our mobile home. I am still using the vaccum for my mobile it still works great. We have hardwood floors, and it works great on them and dusting baseboards. I have not had any problems with this vacum, any problems that arose was usually my fault, such as not cleaning the dust collecter area out and getting things lodged in the hose, which causes the vacum to stop running, clean those areas out and the vacum is back to normal running again. I am on this site today, because I broke the belt, I picked up a dog toy that the vacum sucked up before I could stop it, the toy tangled with the belt and broke it. I would recommend this vaccum. Note though it is not like a heavy duty vaccum, that you might be used to. The motor is strong, and it has great suction like a heavy duty vaccum. Use wisdom in how you use the vaccum.

The Rev
Arizona, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome for a first Vacuum!
12/3/2013

Customer review by spongebob234

4.0 stars 12/3/2013 by spongebob234
by spongebob234

I got this vacuum for free at my apartment complex, it needed a belt and that's all! just installed the new belt, and by the way the website was easy to order the belts from! my 3 complaints are, for it to pick anything up i have to have the mode on bare floor on my carpet, the canister is flimsy and opens by itself, and last is when i went to clean my foam filter it was covered in dog hair, (they need to do something about the filtration system). all in all it is a pretty spiffy vacuum, only minor complaints that can be fixed easily! thank you Dirt Devil!

spongebob234
Aurora, CO, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
Worst vacuum I've ever owned
6/4/2015

Customer review by Latsyrhc

1.0 stars 6/4/2015 by Latsyrhc
by Latsyrhc

I have had this vacuum twice now. The first time I got it I only had it about 2 weeks when it just stopped working. So, I returned it to the store and exchanged it for a different one. Only used it about a month and the belt broke and it hasn't worked the same since. We recently moved into a new house with thick carpet and it doesn't pick up ANYTHING. I am extremely disappointed.

Latsyrhc
Michigan, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Worked good while it lasted-3 months.
10/21/2013

Customer review by Vancouver1941

2.0 stars 10/21/2013 by Vancouver1941
by Vancouver1941

I bought this vacuum to replace another cheap vacuum which lasted a year. This one worked great while it lasted which was about 3 months. Right in the middle of running the vacuum it lost power. Now I had to upgrade to a better grade vacuum which is close to $200 and will hopefully last longer then this one.I paid $40 for it but expected a few more months out of it. You get what you pay for no matter what it is.

Vancouver1941
Lane County,Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
There does not appear to be a on off switch
1/5/2016

Customer review by Ref1

3.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Ref1
by Ref1

As soon as you plug the vacuum in, it is running. There does not appear to be a on off switch. Can this be true?

Ref1
Gulf Shores, AL, United States
Worked well while it lasted
5/10/2014

Customer review by MikeL

2.0 stars 5/10/2014 by MikeL
by MikeL

I used this vacuum for light to moderate vacuuming jobs around the house.  It was great for its purpose but frequently required me to go over the same spot multiple times to get everything.  After about 1 year of ownership (coincidentally out of warranty), it lost power in the middle of vacuuming and did not work again.  I would not buy this vacuum nor recommend it to anyone.

MikeL
Los Angeles, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:3 months
Gender:Male
Easy to Carry
5/17/2013

Customer review by herrerwl

3.0 stars 5/17/2013 by herrerwl
by herrerwl

At first, I was THRILLED with my new vacuum. It's light, and you can store it easily with the brooms, etc. However, I soon came to realize that it was "too" light. It's flimsy and I've only had it a month and 1/2, and already needs repair. I like the way you empty the canister, with the flip lid, but buy extra foam parts that cover the filter. Those get dirty quickly. 

herrerwl
Woodland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Female
Don't waste your money
6/27/2015

Customer review by Eddiebo

1.0 stars 6/27/2015 by Eddiebo
by Eddiebo

Worked ok for a couple of months, than things started breaking in it. I went to buy parts I needed and they are discontinued!!! I will NEVER buy another dirt devil product. They are cheap for a reason!

Eddiebo
Hagerstown md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
It's a toy
7/15/2014

Customer review by Mercy

1.0 stars 7/15/2014 by Mercy
by Mercy

If you really have vacuuming to do, do not buy this product. You'll  just be pushing dust around on the floor. However, the hose is the best feature. So, I guess you can just use the hose to vacuum the whole floor if you have the time! I'm incredibly disappointed. 

Mercy
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
going back to bissell
1/6/2014

Customer review by sharon82973

2.0 stars 1/6/2014 by sharon82973
by sharon82973

i am sorry i bought this i had a bissell before after a few months of using this it had stopped and then i had waited a few and it started back up but didn't work the same the belt is hard to get back not worth the hassell

sharon82973
Saginaw, MI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Length of ownership:1 week
Gender:Male
works well
10/25/2013

Customer review by MrsGavin

4.0 stars 10/25/2013 by MrsGavin
by MrsGavin

I have had this model since January and have not had issues except for needing to wash the foam over the filter once a week. Light weight and works well.

MrsGavin
Des Moines, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Length of ownership:1 month
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum, Wonderful suction
12/21/2013

Customer review by motley90

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by motley90
by motley90

I have owned this vacuum for about an hour now, and I must say I am very satisfied with my purchase! I live in a small appartment with 3 pet rabbits, whom for a few hours a day I let roam free around my house. The youngest one is not yet litter trained like my older two, and I have been without a vacuum for a few days and I just got tired of picking up rabbit pellets everywhere. I went to Walmart just to pick up an affordable one, and came home with this. I was a bit skeptical, bc I have read the reviews, and was wary at first, but after using it one time, my worries went away! It picked up about 3 inches maybe more of dirt and fur and pellets with excellent suction. And that is just me vacuuming very quickly to try it out. In fact, It has only been two days since I last vacuumed so I was quite surprised how much dirt was in my carpet! It is very lightweight for me, as My old one was massive and took a lot of effort to pick up and push around, ( i am currently 9 months pregnant) so it was also very relieving. It is made out of very light plastic, but I expected that with the price. It doesnt bother me at all. I don't use the hose on vacuums a lot, but I tested it out and it worked fine for me. suction was just as great. Overall, I am very happy I bought this product. I think it is wonderful for small appartments like mine! (2 bedroom) I say try it out for yourself, and dont let the bad reviews scare you!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
motley90
Louisville KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not a user friendly vacuum
9/3/2012

Customer review by wishihadmymoneyback

1.0 stars 9/3/2012 by wishihadmymoneyback
by wishihadmymoneyback

If I had used this vacuum before I bought it I never would have bought it. It is the most user UNfriendly vac I have ever used! and I am a senior citizen and have used several from Kirby to Dyson. I bought this little vac to use upstairs so I did not have to take my bigger one up and down. First of all, why the brush has to roll when using the hose I can't figure. Poor planning, I immediately sucked something up it while trying to vacuum hose the drapes, and burned up the belt! So back to wal-mart for a belt ( since no extra one came with it). It refuses to stay in the upright position when using the belt, the hose slips out a lot when NOT using the belt, but using the base part. It is very inconvenient and if I had my receipt and not so much time had passed, I would bring the darn thing back. It is very annoying. The suction power is great when you are not having to deal with everything else staying in place! I rate this a poorly designed cleaner. Very disappointed in Dirt Devil.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wishihadmymoneyback
paris, tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Spend your money elswhere.....
2/16/2014

Customer review by Pliisken

1.0 stars 2/16/2014 by Pliisken
by Pliisken

Vac was purchased three months ago to this day. As for suction the vaccum does an alright job on bare floors. Carpeted rooms you will have to go over a few times. I kept the filters clean and emptied the canister every time before I vaccumed. Noticed a steady decline in suction power though till today. As for the brushes they do an alright job, but with any vac don't get close to any thing thats going to be rolled up in them. Wished the hose was a little longer, it's a pain going around baseboards or walls as the vacuum always wanted to fall over. All in all don't waste your time or money on this vac. I was just using it a few minutes ago and it let out a loud pop and groan and then the motor just died. The motor never would start back so I turned it on it's side and nothing was caught in the brushes. My speculation is internal motor failure because the underside was extremely hot. Almost to the point of melting the plastic casing. I've used this vac sparingly and never mistreated it. Seems to be constructed fairly cheaply so don't bother wasting your time or money!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pliisken
Galax, Va
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not worth the money
8/25/2013

Customer review by Bionicbaby

2.0 stars 8/25/2013 by Bionicbaby
by Bionicbaby

I bought this vacuum to try for myself but I must agree this vacuum is not worth the money at all. The suction is horrible also; It picked up don't get me wrong I saw it in the dispenser but after I tried my daughters college Bissell right after I vacuumed it left a lot that I thought was picked up and cleaned. The cheap Bissell vac for 20.00 had more suction than this.I gave this product two stars since I loved the fact that the filter was reusable and the handle folded down to save space. The belt broke after a month of use as mentioned in another users reviews(not sure when theirs broke#. Called customer service and they wanted to charge me for it saying I may have rolled over something to break it and I'm thinking really. After talking ended up getting the belt for free#one time thing). The belt came quickly but now the vacuum is louder than before...so I'm thinking maybe I put it on wrong or something so I had someone else check it but no its on correctly. I hate this thing and I want my money back but I could not find my receipt so I'm stuck with it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bionicbaby
Richmond,VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Small yet powerful
3/2/2012

Customer review by WeatherWoman1285

4.0 stars 3/2/2012 by WeatherWoman1285
by WeatherWoman1285

My old vacuum no longer had any suction and I finally got tired of my carpet never looking clean so I needed to look at getting something new. I read the reviews for this vacuum and decided I would look at it in the store and compare it with others. After a little debate I ended up buying this vacuum with the intention that if I didn't like it then I would return it. I used it today for the first time and must say that I'm pretty pleased with my selection. There are a few parts that I think could be better. First the hose has the capability to extend, however the base of the vacuum is so light that if you even try to extend the hose, the base will topple over. I got around this by holding the hose in one hand and the vacuum in the other. For small jobs like mine this isn't a big deal, but it would most likely be a pain if you need to use the hose a lot. Also the attachments for hose feel like they come loose pretty easy so you'll have to keep re-securing them. That considered, the hose does have good power and did a great job getting along the edges and under the edge of furniture. The only other downside I found was the dirt bin is a little on the small side so I had to empty it fairly often. On the upside, this vacuum has incredible suction and leaves the carpet looking great. As mentioned in another review the path is a little narrower so it's good for getting between chair legs. All in all, I believe this is good vacuum and as of right now I don't plan on having to return it.

Was this review helpful? (34) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WeatherWoman1285
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
very good vac for the price
2/20/2012

Customer review by ShipShape72

4.0 stars 2/20/2012 by ShipShape72
by ShipShape72

I was in need of a new vacuum & did a quick look online, at Wal-Mart.com, as i was intending to buy a vacuum from there as i don't want to spend too much money on a vacuum. This Dirt Devil caught my eye as it seemed to have what i need. The prior user comment did concern me a bit, until I got to the store & looked at it relative to others, & saw that the hose is actually quite comparable in size. I really like the fold down handle as i can store it away when not in use & it doesn't take up too much space. I think that feature sold me, plus i figure i could always return it if i don't like it. ... I've not had it for about 5weeks & must say i'm quite happy with my purchase, its quieter than my previous vac (i will not mention names), it came fully assembled, & its light weight. The dust bin is standard issue like most bagless vacuums. The hose has suction when you pull it from its nozzle, so there is no valve to change like i have seen on some. There is a filter, but you can tap it clean or rinse it, i've rinsed mine twice so far. The nozzle is maybe smaller than some more expensive ones, so it may take me more back & forth to clean my rooms, but i'm OK with that as it fits between the chair legs so it make cleaning easier for me, i don't have to move furniture around to vacuum in those spaces. & what initially tipped me to try the vacuum, the folding handle is great as i can put it in my closet, but doesn't take up too much room so i can have my shelve above it & not really waste much space. The hose picks up all the odds & ends that i need it too, so i'm not sure what was the other reviewer's issue, yes it won't suck up socks & shirts with the hose, but i don't want it to, though i have had to fish out of the dust bin my little one's lego blocks that the hose swallowed.

Was this review helpful? (72) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShipShape72
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
You will need a Phillips Head screwdriver!
8/18/2012

Customer review by soulcatiburIV

2.0 stars 8/18/2012 by soulcatiburIV
by soulcatiburIV

*You will need a Phillips Head screwdriver to clean this vacuum.* This vacuum can work very well, however it does require an Extensive amount of Routine Maintenance that is not covered in the owners manual as well as the vacuum has a fundamental design flaw with the belt. The belt is situated in such a way that you will have to readjust it at least weekly or more or it will slip and either slide off or get cut by a piece of plastic (that is part of the housing). The vacuum does clog a lot, if you use it frequently you may have to clean it after each use (the first time you clean it may take about 45 minutes - as there are no instructions - after that it should take around 10 minutes). To clean the receptacle you just pop open the door as you would if you were dumping it, and remove the 2 screws on the first piece....remove it....then remove the other part by turning it. You are making sure there is no excess junk up in the top portion which will cause the vacuum to lose suction. After cleaning is complete, insert the first part, turn and then the second part and re-insert the screws and tighten. To clean the roller/belt area you need to remove the 5 Phillips head screws from the bottom black plastic piece. Slide out the side of the roller first opposite the belt side, then the roller will easily come out and away from the belt. You do not need to remove the belt from the metal peg inside the housing unless there is junk around it or you just want to clean that area. (It can be tricky to get the belt back around the peg). Putting the belt back on in the proper position is important! There is a notch where the belt should go on the roller - BUT - you cannot put it there or as you will be able to see at this point the housing will cut the belt. There is a raised portion of the roller that is directly next to the notch where it looks like the belt should go and this is what the belt must go on. The obvious problem however is that there is nothing other than tension to hold the belt in this precise spot - hence the need for constant readjustment or at least checking regularly that the belt has not slipped. There is also a foam filter that requires washing and needs to air dry for about 24 hours. I just put a couple drops of dish detergent on it and rinsed it out under the kitchen sink's faucet. The foam filter is located on top of the Hepa Filter which is under the receptacle that you will see under the black filter guard that pops out and back in. You can do this as often as needed, I would recommend once a month though what I normally do now is just shake it and work all the dust out of it. This Vacuum DOES work very well, BUT you will have to work hard just to maintain it! I cannot speak for other Dirt Devil models, but as for this one - don't buy it. It does work very, very well but it is very frustrating that I have to invest so much time into our vacuum. I just wish that Dirt Devil would have at least included some extra belts with the vacuum as well as a detailed maintenance manual.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
soulcatiburIV
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
replaced 2 times
6/4/2013

Customer review by pnychick

2.0 stars 6/4/2013 by pnychick
by pnychick

I bought this vacuum in Feb of 2013 to only clean 3 small areas a day. By march it was at the service center bacause the motor got so hot it burned a hole through the top of the vacuum. Dirt Devil was wonderful, no questions asked. And sent a new replacment to the service center for me. I received it in April. NOW, I took the second back because it sucks up dirt then spits it back out the other side. I took it to the service center again, and the guy told me there's nothing he can do. It works the way Dirt Devil always works after a month or so. RUDE BUT TRUE. I again called the company and they have allowed me to purchase another type of vacuum off their site with the cost of the original off the cost of the new purchase. If only the products were as good as the service!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pnychick
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews