Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 62 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

62 reviews | 4 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
30
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 56 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
Nice machine...BUT???
1/15/2012

Customer review by LEAFFAN

2.0 stars 1/15/2012 by LEAFFAN
by LEAFFAN

first the good. Well made steel construction, smooth and quiet glide. Large size, looks and feels like something in a gym. Two hours to assemble is not bad considering the amount of parts. They have added a fan and an MP3 connection with ipad holder and water bottle holder that was not on the previous version. Price is good on first look...but. Now the bad. No way to adjust machine for size of user. If you are under 5' 9" this machine will be a stretch for you to feel comfortable on. The info panel, fan and ipod holder face upward, about 45 degrees, unless you are 6' 4" you will not feel the fan or see the info screen and seeing your ipad or magazine is out of the question. The info screen is not lit or LED so it is useless and way too small, they made it smaller than previous models to incorporate the other features. Unless you have super perfect eyesite there is no way to see or read this thing. Fan is small and weak even on full speed. I called Swinn and asked about updates and maybe recalls and they said they have no complaints or plans for changes at the moment. If they made the machine slightly adjustable and put the info console on a goose neck that could move up or down this would be an excellent buy. The info readout must be changed to LED or something brighter before it will be usable to less than perfect eyesite users.It is virtually useless to us and we now just use the machine without any of the built in features such as heart rate and exercise programs because we can't see them. The screen is tiny and has tons of info(I think) but not viewable. Swinn. MAKE THE SCREEN LARGER, keep the fan but put it some place else. I guess I should have bought a more expensive unit, this is all I could afford to spend. Sorry for the long review but it needs to be told.

Was this review helpful? (225) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LEAFFAN
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT
1/20/2012

Customer review by mcpu40

4.0 stars 1/20/2012 by mcpu40
by mcpu40

The fan us useless, you can't even feel it on your face - The digitial display can be difficult to read - The heart rate monitor doesn't seem to work - Other than that, this this is excellent - was easy to assemble, is solid, and provides an excellent workout for me and my wife

Was this review helpful? (54) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mcpu40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed and Waiting for the Repairman
1/19/2012

Customer review by GTCTTWW

2.0 stars 1/19/2012 by GTCTTWW
by GTCTTWW

I have been waiting for a repair visit to be scheduled since I bought the machine 2 weeks ago. The customer service reps at Schwiin/Nautilus are nice, but the company's followup is poor. It's possible the machine will work great once it's fixed, so I can't speak to the mechanics. However, I can say the display on the console is not what's pictured on most websites. The readout is dim and hard to read. There is no backlight like you think from the pictures. As a result, you will likely need to provide your own timer for workouts and you can forget following the various programs in machine. I must say I expected more from Schwinn.

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GTCTTWW
Toledo, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
1/24/2012

Customer review by love80s

4.0 stars 1/24/2012 by love80s
by love80s

This is a good elliptical. Everyone in my family is using it (including 2 teenagers). One problem is that only one users information can be stored so everyone else has to use the guest user profile. Assembling was long(4 hr) and somewhat difficult.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
love80s
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It was money well spent
2/9/2012

Customer review by WalMartShopperMartin

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by WalMartShopperMartin
by WalMartShopperMartin

I purchased my Schwinn 420 Eliptical in Jan. 2011 I had it delivered site to store and Wal-Mart put it together. At first I thought there was a problem , But it turned out just to be one loose nut. Once I got that tight it worked fine. I have had it now for one year -- 195 workouts --- 36 Hours --- 361 miles 38,957 calories burned. It is quiet, and it has worked just fine for me.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalMartShopperMartin
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy
3/27/2012

Customer review by Taryn1003M

4.0 stars 3/27/2012 by Taryn1003M
by Taryn1003M

I have had my elliptical for about a month now and so far no real issues. You need to be at least 6 ft. tall to feel the Fan, but I know other reviewers have already addressed this issue, just wanted to confirm that it is true. It's also true that the screen does not have a back light or LCD screen so it can be hard to read at night even with a light on. I have no problems seeing the screen when it's daylight and I've purchased a cheap book light that clips onto the book shelf/holder and shines down perfectly onto the screen. But with all that said, this machine does work properly and is quiet and I love it! You need 2 ppl 2 put it together and it does take a few hrs., but it's not that bad. The weight limit is 300lbs. Very good buy for the money spent!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Taryn1003M
SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Machine, Bad Console!
2/25/2012

Customer review by SAMtheMAN4

4.0 stars 2/25/2012 by SAMtheMAN4
by SAMtheMAN4

Great machine! Smooth and quiet. The console is horrible!... 1. Very hard to see display (no back light, small fonts, have to look on an angle to see) 2. The fan is 100% worthless! 3. The speakers for the iPod/mp3 are not amplified, extremely quiet. We knew from other reviews that the console was not the greatest so we purchased it anyway because the reviews said the machine itself was awesome, which it is.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SAMtheMAN4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
9/30/2013

Customer review by EmmaMichigan

4.0 stars 9/30/2013 by EmmaMichigan
by EmmaMichigan

I got this ellitptical (plus a gym mat) for $476 including tax at Walmart online. A great deal. As I had bad experiences with shipping products from Walmart online to my home, I shipped it to the nearest store for free. It arrived fast and without damage. You do need help to carry the whole package once at home, it is too heavy otherwise (169 pounds). Either that or open the box and carry one component at a time. I am a medium built woman and was able to assemble it on my own. It took a good 3 hours but the instructions were very clear. One of the best instructions I have followed in years. The pieces are sturdy and solid. Screws aligned perfectly. Nothing went wrong. I did follow the advice I read in some reviews to use any grease left out in bags with pre-greased pieces to lubricate the inside of the female components of the mobile junctions. This makes sure there is no noise at the joints. My machine was very quiet during operation, so I imagine it helped. The elliptical itself had great reviews and although I have been using it for only 2 days, it is a great workout and a smooth ride. Only complaint is that the console is quite cheap. The fan is useless (too high on the console to reach my face, although I am 5' 7"), the book holder is even higher to be able to read anything, and the LED screen is small and dark, making it difficult to see what is displayed unless you stop working out and get really close to the display. The Schwinn 450 gets a better console plus more pre-programmed workouts, but you pay $700-800 for a machine that is otherwise identical. I compromised on the console quality to save $300, but some customers may prefer to invest more to get a better console. Other than that you cannot beat the quality of the machine for the price.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EmmaMichigan
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/17/2012

Customer review by niffer72

5.0 stars 3/17/2012 by niffer72
by niffer72

Looked at a lot of reviews on this product and it met all my expectations! Great value! Walmart had the best price for this product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
niffer72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value
3/5/2012

Customer review by Salmonberry

4.0 stars 3/5/2012 by Salmonberry
by Salmonberry

We purchased this unit while it was on sale. It is VERY heavy duty. I've used it 5 days a week for 3 weeks now and not had any problems with it at all. It moves smoothly and it is very quiet. I read the reviews from others about the display being small and hard to read but I don't have a problem with it. I do however agree that the fan is quite worthless and you can't even tell it's on. The heart rate monitor works, but you have to give it about 30 seconds to pick up your heart rate. The machine itself is quite tall and takes up a pretty good chunk of space. It is very heavy and took my husband about 2 hours to put together. I feel it was definitely a good purchase and I'm very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Salmonberry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Good quality at a reasonable price
2/12/2012

Customer review by John8310

4.0 stars 2/12/2012 by John8310
by John8310

The trainer was delivered to the Walmart store selected sooner than promised. The staff was helpful and efficient when I picked it up. Assembly took almost three hours for one person, but I recommend it be done by two people, as everything is heavy. Be sure not to over-tighten bolts on moving parts. It is quite sturdy and quiet. However, the display output is extremely small and weak, making it very difficult to read. I have asked Schwinn about an upgrade to a better display but have not yet received a reply.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
John8310
Galveston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Well Made, Easy to put together, quality product
8/17/2013

Customer review by Maxjack2

4.0 stars 8/17/2013 by Maxjack2
by Maxjack2

This is a well made strudy elliptical, I gave it four stars. As stated in other reviews, the fan is little and will not cool you off. You might want to purchase other fans and put it beside you when you work out. Otherwise it was easy to put together. It took about two hours. It starts at a resistance 3, if you move it up to 8 and run for 20 minutes you will really feel it. Once you build up your strength, a resistance level of 12 will really wear you out. I haven't made it to level 16 yet. I would recomend this to a friend. I am very happy with this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maxjack2
Rhode Island
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
LCD Display dim - can't see
1/8/2012

Customer review by eddiet99

3.0 stars 1/8/2012 by eddiet99
by eddiet99

LCD Display is not very bright and difficult to read.

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eddiet99
Newberry, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Glad I waited to write this review
7/2/2013

Customer review by Mosey63

2.0 stars 7/2/2013 by Mosey63
by Mosey63

Thought the product was okay when I first purchased. Mostly good reviews. I haven't even owned this a year and wish I hadn't purchased. Let me preface this review by saying that the customer service @ Nautalis is great. That's good because I have had to call 5 times in less than a year. Elliptical constantly has a squeak in the wheel. I have had two parts replaced. When the technician leaves all is well. Within two weeks it is back. I understand this is not a high end piece of equipment, but @ $500 it was cheap either. Customer service would like me to try and fix myself or have a neighbor or family come over to do it. Again I have owned this LESS than one year. Every time I call I get a different solution. My brother purchased the same elliptical and has the same problems so I know it is not just me. My advise would be to take the $500 and join one of the gyms that offer the $10 a month membership and use their elliptical. Save yourself the headache (the squeak is really loud).

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mosey63
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Beginners will find the easiest setting difficult
6/12/2012

Customer review by BarbMcM

4.0 stars 6/12/2012 by BarbMcM
by BarbMcM

After much research my husband and I settled on this model as it was rated highest by Consumer Reports. They did sell it at our local Dunham's store but it was over $100 more there. After ordering online and having it sent to our local WalMart it came relatively quickly. Assembly is time-consuming - be very careful to read the directions thoroughly as you assemble. It definately helps to have 2 people to put it together. It is very heavy to move and you have to pick up the back high before you call roll it on the wheels to where you want to have it situated. The easiest setting was strenous excercise but with practice it will become easier to use. The fan does not give alot of air - needs improvement. Hard to read screen in low light as well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BarbMcM
Acme, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Smooth, quiet operation but tiny display
3/13/2012

Customer review by cc72365

4.0 stars 3/13/2012 by cc72365
by cc72365

This machine is a great value for the money. It operates smoothly, has an mp3/iPod plug in. I don't find the lowest level too difficult as some people have stated and I have not worked out in some time prior to buying this. The things I don't like about is the display is way too small. I use it in an area that is not brightly lit and I had to use my reading glasses and a flashlight to see it. Also the book holder is too high, as is the fan. I am 5' 4". I will just set up a fan on the floor if I feel I need one. Overall I like this elliptical and would buy it again

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cc72365
massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great feel, strong machine
3/16/2012

Customer review by LabMadness

4.0 stars 3/16/2012 by LabMadness
by LabMadness

The machine has a great strong feel, quiet. It took two hours to put together( the instructions are great) The display is hard to see, unless you have light coming from the back of you. The fan is useless. I am really happy with my choice, easy to use programs. Great buy for your money.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LabMadness
elmhurst IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
5/15/2012

Customer review by hamm2100

5.0 stars 5/15/2012 by hamm2100
by hamm2100

Overall, the machine works smoothly and has good resistance levels. The only improvements I would make is to make the handlebars closer in, as it is hard to use them when going backwards, and make the screen bigger and clearer. Also, the fan is pretty useless, so it should either be taken out, or vastly improved. But for the money we spent, it's a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hamm2100
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good machine, good price.
3/31/2013

Customer review by gewyduck

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by gewyduck
by gewyduck

Bought my machine at Wally World 3/28/13. Set it up the next day, between house work and fone calls it took me an EASY 4 hours to set up, I am mechanically I did not need any help . Directions were ok, the pics could have been a little larger. Been using it now for a couple of days and it is QUIET and smooth. First impressions are good we will see how it is in six months. I even got a cup holder with mine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gewyduck
DC 6036/7022
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great unit
2/21/2012

Customer review by JamMac

4.0 stars 2/21/2012 by JamMac
by JamMac

Purchased at Walmart.com. Took 3 weeks to be advised unit was available at store for pick up. Was able to fit 3/4. In Camry trunk. Tied down door and drove away Assembly wasn't hard. I assembly unit by my self. I enlargen the assembly instructions and layed pieces out on floor. Solid unit. Took. Approx. 4 hrs to assembly......again by my self. One of the base units was detectives. And held up assembly. Call customer service and they were extremely helpful........and felt bad because of this issue. Replacement parts arrived in 5 days. Over all was extremely pleased with Walmart customer service I took out the 3yr warranty. Plus the Walmart one = 4 yrs in total Only issue is the monitor unit. Very small window. Very hard to see without a flashlight and or unit is in a very well lite room. Solved problem by getting a battery light with goose arm and attached with earth quick clay. I turn light on when I'm using the unit I've been using the unit 4 days a week. For, 3 weeks. No problems. I feel with the all inclusive warranty I set for 4. Years on any repairs needed. Most made of metals. Very little plastics The unit is approx. 63inches long. And doesn't take up that much room

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JamMac
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews