Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 704 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

704 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

704 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
342
4 stars
232
3 stars
34
2 stars
21
1 stars
75
1-20 of 583 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 583 total reviews
1-20 of 583 reviews
Better Than I Expected!
11/13/2011

Customer review by VeloMobile

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by VeloMobile
by VeloMobile

This is the first treadmill I've ever owned, so I took my time making a decision on the Gold's Gym Trainer 410. It's not the best, but I don't think it's the worst either. This treadmill seems to have a really good economical balance with quality and price. While assembling the unit I paid close attention to the instructions and didn't have any trouble putting it together by myself, although it would be easier to have an assistant like the instructions recommend. But still... it can be done by one person, if you have to. There are some cheap plastic parts on the treadmill, but it looks like it's mostly limited to the protective belt shields, foot covers, and the upper console. Everything else is heavy metal. I really like that this treadmill has a power incline feature. It's not like the cheaper models where you have to get off, raise the deck with a pin, and get back on. This one does it at a push of a button. That's COOL. Max incline is 10 degrees, which I tried for fun and boy do my leg muscles burn. I'm more out of shape than I thought... lol. Another cool feature with the incline is you can adjust it on-the-fly by 0.5, even if you are running one of the pre-programmed workouts. Max speed is 10 mph. I'm nowhere near capable of that yet, but I'm working on it. You can also adjust the speed on-the-fly by 0.1 during any workout session, including during a pre-programmed session. I haven't tried a workout with the dumbells yet, because I'm still trying to get used to a freehand power walk. I have the treadmill sitting on shag carpet and it appears this affects my balance. With enough practice I'm sure I could do it anyway. But, I still wish I had a hard floor to sit it on. Meanwhile, I'll continue to use the short hand rests to assist my balance until I can perfect it. A manual powered workout with this treadmill is super easy. Just select your incline, your speed, and off you go. You don't even have to press go for that. I've discovered that a manual non-powered workout is also possible. The higher the incline, the easier it is to push the belt yourself. This goes to show how good the drum bearings are inside the unit, by the way. I wasn't really expecting that, but it's a BONUS! Let's see, the pulse monitor works, calorie counter works, distance counter works, but the speed indicator only works momentarily (not a problem though). You can cycle the counters up to the larger display, which is nice too. When you're runing a manual workout the display has a cute quarter-mile oval race track on it. I try to at least make it go all the way around 4 times, which is a mile. Eventually I will go further than that. It does have a folding feature for storage, but why bother with that? You're going to use it almost every day anyway... right? IMO, the only thing the folding position is good for is moving it to a new location. The only thing it's missing is a stereo system... lol... but an iPod and headphones can fix that! It's really a great treadmill. I'm glad I got it. I hope my review helps. Good Health To You!

Was this review helpful? (1295) (104)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeloMobile
NC USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 50 contributor
10/21/2011

Customer review by brooksmommy1983

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by brooksmommy1983
by brooksmommy1983

I absolutely love this treadmill! I thought it was going to be a bit cheesy and not like the ones at the gym, but I was wrong. It was easy to set up and I use it everyday. My kids also walk on it and love it! Also it is very quiet which is great becase we live in an apartment.

Was this review helpful? (494) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brooksmommy1983
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Treamill for moderate runners
11/4/2011

Customer review by ajshara

4.0 stars 11/4/2011 by ajshara
by ajshara

I usually run 3-5 miles everyday and was looking for a treadmill that I could run on at home. I have used this treadmill for 3 weeks now, everyday and love it. The shipping was faster then expected and everything came in great condition. The programs for the treadmill are worth it. The treadmill moves from speed and incline nicely. I gave it a 4 only because when you run at the 8 MPH and higher, the belt feels like it is slipping and makes me feel nervous that I might lose my balance. Luckily I don't plan on runing that fast for very long distances. This treadmill is well worth the price. The incline and speed transition is great. Putting the treadmill together was not hard at all for my husband:)

Was this review helpful? (347) (57)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajshara
Durham, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sturdy treadmill.
11/24/2013

Customer review by Corinnia

4.0 stars 11/24/2013 by Corinnia
by Corinnia

I ordered this treadmill through Walmart online and it arrived before the promised date for the in store pick-up. The box is large and weighs in at the listed weight of 300 pounds, so bring your truck and a helper! You will need to supply a screw driver, but the allen wrenches are included with the treadmill since this is not a slide-out-of-the-box and use item. You will need to remove a couple of packing brackets, attach the up-right bars that hold the handles and control panel. It is not difficult to set up the treadmill, but it will take at least an hour to set up. The manufacture's paperwork suggested to plug the treadmill into a surge protector, so I used a power strip with a build in surge protector....this resulted in safety and ease in turning on/off the machine. Walking on the treadmill is stable, it feels sturdy and the controls are clearly marked. Noise level is low. I feel comfortable walking on the treadmill. I would suggest this machine to anyone looking for an inexpensive treadmill with a goodly number of built-in programs.

Was this review helpful? (76) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Corinnia
Worcester, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT FOR WEIGHT LOSS
10/8/2013

Customer review by Beachbilly

5.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Beachbilly
by Beachbilly

This tread mill I would recommend to anyone trying to lose weight. I have waited a month before writing this ratting to make sure there are no problems. My wife and I do two to three miles a day and diet losing aprox. 15 lb. each. I do 3 mph. in 20 minute session (equivalent to a fast pace walk), it will go to 10 mph. I couldn’t do this when I was 20 years old and probably will never use the power ten degree incline feature. Assembly took 2hr. removing it from box to completion, read and follow every step in assembly manual or you will miss something, wires have to be fished through a channel to the upper control panel. (note I have 40 years of maintenance experience). You will need a second person to help with the upright cannels and the sheet metal screws in the handle bars are not pre tapped so have a strong person to drive these screws in (I would drive these screw in if they are not pre tapped before assembly; in my case this was the hardest part of the job during the assembly).

Was this review helpful? (176) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Beachbilly
COLUMBIA, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
10/21/2011

Customer review by lejones

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by lejones
by lejones

I've wanted a treadmill for years and finally purchased this one and I wish I would've bought one years ago! I put this one together all by myself in under 2 hours. It isn't too loud and has enough work out plans that it keeps me interested. It easily changes inclines and speeds. I would tell anyone looking for a treadmill to buy this one!

Was this review helpful? (112) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lejones
Cerro Gordo, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/29/2011

Customer review by MarJohn34

4.0 stars 10/29/2011 by MarJohn34
by MarJohn34

bought this treadmill to replace one that had cost twice as much. this treadmill is three times better than the one i had. it has everything you'd want in a treadmill, so many features. it's wonderful ! the only thing i see as any problem is the display is not bright enough.

Was this review helpful? (75) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarJohn34
lakeside, arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very good treadmill for home/apartment
1/13/2012

Customer review by SD2012

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by SD2012
by SD2012

For starters, I'm not a paid reviewer who has never purchased this product. I am a regular guy who made a new years resolution to be more active. I bought this treadmill a little over a week ago. So this review may be premature. With that being said, this treadmill is really an excellent product for home/apartment use. For those who say it didn't work right out of the box and or had broken pieces I would say this. Maybe it was the shipping company that broke it. I did notice putting it together requires a little mechanical/electrical aptitude. If you pinch that wire running up the right side or crush the pins on the connector it probably won't work. You have to be very careful not to mess up those wires. If you're looking for gym quality equipment then this treadmill is not for you. You need to spend a couple thousand dollars to get gym quality equipment from a store that specializes in treadmills. If you're looking for home/apartment quality equipment, then this treadmill will meet or exceed your expectations. PROS: Everything if you're looking for a home/apartment quality treadmill. CONS: Just like everyone is saying, it really is annoying there is no back lighting on the console. It is hard to read unless you have a portable light or its in a well lit room. I also found the assembly documentation lacking in useful diagrams. The wire needs to go through holes, arms and whatnot's. Its very difficult to tell how to route it properly. That's where some basic mechanical/electrical aptitude comes in. If Gold's Gym reads these reviews, please include better diagrams in the instruction manual. I think it would cut down on returns because I'm sure people mess that part up and damage that wire. SUMMARY: Its an excellent treadmill for the price. Its not gym quality but it is home/apartment quality.

Was this review helpful? (331) (87)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SD2012
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My first treadmill
10/28/2011

Customer review by customerjim

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by customerjim
by customerjim

I had this 160 lb treadmill delivered to my door and the truck driver helped me drag it into the house so that was a bonus. Setup required no more than average wrenching skills and I had it unpacked and working in 2 hours. I only have a dozen miles on it but so far, so good, everything works. Why did I, a retired old Michigan man, want a treadmill? Because I enjoy a little exercise once in a while and being able to do that and watch tv at the same time in my living room is a real luxury.

Was this review helpful? (204) (48)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
customerjim
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what you need
1/18/2013

Customer review by VegasSoldier

5.0 stars 1/18/2013 by VegasSoldier
by VegasSoldier

This is my 2nd treadmill purchase. My first one that I purchased at Costco cost twice as much and had more bells and whistles, but was not worth the price. This treadmill (410) has just what I need and want. Pros: Cost less, weighs less so getting it home and setting it up is easy, easy assembly, solid feel, fit and finish, very quiet and smooth running, excellent shock absorption, shorter display height so it's not in your face, perfect size (50" belt is truly long enough and 18" wide is wide enough), I'm 5'8" and I have plenty of room to spare. This treadmill does not have iFit, a fan, input or speakers, or a dozen workout programs, but you know what, you don't need that stuff. This is a solid, quiet, smooth running, well built, perfect size, simple, affordable bang for your buck treadmill to get your miles in. The $39 extended warranty for 3 years can't be beat too. I am so happy to have purchased this treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (66) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VegasSoldier
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
week one so far awesome
2/12/2012

Customer review by Amanda123456789

5.0 stars 2/12/2012 by Amanda123456789
by Amanda123456789

I was worried when I saw it was skipping for people who ran but I haven't had a problem. I generally run at 6.5 mph and I am 135lbs and it works fine. Mostly I do the weight loss workouts though because they rock! Its set for 30 minutes and it automatically changes incline and speeds up or slows down and it tells you when to use the hand weights! I look forward to it everyday, its just enough to feel something but I am not completely wiped out after and if I want more intensity I just keep going after its over. The heart rate monitor does not work, but that's not really something I depend on plus its pretty easy to count your heat beat for 6 seconds and figure out you bpm. Also, I would recommend having a strong guy around or an electric screw driver when you put it together because some of the holes are pretty difficult. Overall its exactly what I wanted and the price is incredible. I did a lot of research and this is definitely the best value for under $500. I will update if it all falls apart after a month of regular use!

Was this review helpful? (67) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amanda123456789
huntsville, al
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow! I love it!
7/23/2012

Customer review by ecruizer

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by ecruizer
by ecruizer

The last treadmill I bought from Walmart was a few years ago. I believe I spent around $230.00 or so for it. I gave it to my daughter. She and her two college age kids are using it as I write. I just bought the Gold's Gym Trainer 410, brought it home, assembled it in about an hour. I read almost all of the reviews and was somewhat skeptical after reading the negative ones. However, I took the plunge. I followed the assembly directions to a "T". I made sure the two wires were connected and carefully tucked into their places before installing the last few screws into the console area. I read the first use scenario to be sure I was doing everything right. Then I plugged the treadmill in and started the first weight loss program. I admit I couldn't finish it this first time but it gives me a desire to continue until I can. I worked out for 15 minutes and I was sweating. The various speeds and incline are great. I hope this treadmill holds up because I am very well pleased with it.

Was this review helpful? (107) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ecruizer
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Very good overall
12/18/2011

Customer review by sheppardre

4.0 stars 12/18/2011 by sheppardre
by sheppardre

I researched treadmills for months to ensure I would settle on the best one my budget would allow, and this one has been a good choice overall. The belt needed adjustment, because at speeds above 6mph, it would periodically slip. Since adjusting, it holds up pretty well. I typically run at 6.5 to 8.5 mph and it hasn't been slipping near as often since. It does flex quite a bit, is kind of loud to run on (operation itself is quiet, but the thumping from running can be rather loud). Other cons are that the heart-rate monitor is erratic, the incline seems lower than the settings and the speeds seem lower as well (as compared to what I'm used to running on at the gym). For instance, at the gym, I run my 1.5 mile at 7.5 mph at a 1% incline. On this treadmill, I have to put it at 1.5% incline toget similar resistance, and the 7.5 mph setting feels more like 7 mph, so I'm not sure if it is calibrated correctly. The latter is a question of perception, but the heartrate monitor, belt adjustments and loud thumping while running are definite. Still a good buy for a lower budget.

Was this review helpful? (71) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sheppardre
Middle GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BAD PRODUCT, WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE
1/9/2012

Customer review by DRDAVEFITNESSTRAINER

1.0 stars 1/9/2012 by DRDAVEFITNESSTRAINER
by DRDAVEFITNESSTRAINER

The hardest part about this is that I gave a freind money to help me bring this treadmill home, and now I have to pay someone to help me return it. I did not even use the product one time and already it is malfunctioning. After raising the incline just one time I have found that the system will not allow the board to return to the normal position. After following the steps in the manual to recalibrate the mechanism, now I find that the mechanism doesn't work at all. On top of that the belt rubs in several different places making an awful noise and this will in turn also shorten the life of the belt. But beyond all of this, the worst part was the customer service that I received. Apparently a lot of these products are serviced by a company called Icon Service. When I called them the first time I waited on hold for about 25 minutes. I called back because they state that they have a system where you can leave a number and they will call you back. After leaving my number I called 4 more times over the course of about 5 hours and continued to leave my number. I received a call about 6 hours after my initial call. I was told to have the item's serial number with me. When the operator called me I gave her the serial number. She then asked me for the product number. I told her I did not have it with me. I told her exactly what the item was including what model, but she said she had no way of looking up the product number. Not even with the serial number and the model name could she find the product number. She told me I would have to call back when I was near the machine so that she could give me instructions on things that "we could try to do to fix it". Instead of all that I will just pay someone to help me return it and recommend to anyone out there to research Icon Services and see if they offer customer service for the product you are interested in purchasing. If they do, then stay clear and be forwarned. In the end I would definatley not recommend that anyone spend hard earned money on a very sub-par product and the worst customer service that I have personally ever seen. Thanks.

Was this review helpful? (139) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DRDAVEFITNESSTRAINER
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Not worth the money!!!
12/14/2011

Customer review by Ultrahog

1.0 stars 12/14/2011 by Ultrahog
by Ultrahog

The Gold's Gym 410 Treadmill is HORRIBLE!! I've had it for roughly 3 weeks now and the belt needs constant adjusting after use. The belt either shifts to the left or right, not to mention it will also slip. I've read the manual several times and followed the instructions and it still happens. I've even gone to Gold's website for guidance. I did find a website that rates and reviews treadmills. The site says the treadmill is great for walkers, but not recommended for those who are avid runners. I wish I had seen the review before purchasing this treadmill. I hope to get a year's worth of use out it and then give it to Goodwill. I will invest in a better quality product that is made for runners.

Was this review helpful? (68) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ultrahog
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing!
1/13/2013

Customer review by AttentionWAWalmartShopper

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by AttentionWAWalmartShopper
by AttentionWAWalmartShopper

I love this treadmill! You get an amazing value for the money spendt. I have now had my treadmill for over a year. Like most people, I purchased my treadmill at the beginning of the year to help me accomplish my New Year's resolution. Most of my attempts at the "weight loss resolution" fail miserably each year and because of this, I wasn't willing to spend thousands on a treadmill that I couldn't guarentee I'd use long term but I also wanted a treadmill with a wide/long belt and an incline feature. I shopped around and for the money, size and features... nothing came close to the Gold's Gym 410 Treadmill. The belt is huge!! in comparison to most other treadmills for double/triple the price. In addition to the hand weights, it has several other settings for weight loss and endurance. It was easy to assemble and I have used it on average 5 times a week with absolutely no problems! This is the best treadmill for the price!

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AttentionWAWalmartShopper
Lynnwood, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not for running...
11/3/2011

Customer review by Tulivu

1.0 stars 11/3/2011 by Tulivu
by Tulivu

This product is not for use for running. At a speed of 6 or more the belt starts to slip! Very disappointed with this product, after reading the reviews I thought I was getting a good quality treadmill.

Was this review helpful? (101) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tulivu
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/8/2011

Customer review by Nash55

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by Nash55
by Nash55

My first treadmill died after about 10 years. I looked at a number of treadmills, This was a middle-of-the-road treadmill in the $1000 - $2000 category, and when I found it for less than $500 at Walmart.com, I thought I'd give it a try,much better than the previous one, and an excellent one.

Was this review helpful? (138) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nash55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Please Read Thank You
1/4/2013

Customer review by Hoooooooah

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Hoooooooah
by Hoooooooah

I am in the military, Airforce to be exact. We have to do a PT test yearly or bi-yearly of 1 1/2 mile in under 13:36 for people under the age of 30. So in my review I use treadmills often. I love this machine, it's a bang for the buck and can't seem to find anything wrong with the equipment. I jog on speed 5 and run on speed 7 or 8 and this 2.0 motor is keeping up no problems. This equipment is used for 6 straight days and of course 1 rest day, so that should tell you how much I'm throwing at the machine. For treadmill buyers running on a treadmill is not like running on a track at all and the distance ran is off. On a treadmill u run for endurance and cardio. Remember that, using this machine for 30 min - 1 hr will get you to where you want to be at on a track with ample energy to spare.

Was this review helpful? (35) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Hoooooooah
Andrews AFB, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/11/2011

Customer review by KungFuWilly

4.0 stars 10/11/2011 by KungFuWilly
by KungFuWilly

Never had a treadmill before so I dont have any other to compare this this one too. Had the treadmill for two weeks and no problems. It took a long time to put it together, but most of it was easily done. Placing the top display and having it fit was difficult. So far it works fine without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (59) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KungFuWilly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 583 total reviews
1-20 of 583 reviews