Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 172 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

172 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

172 reviews | 4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
61
4 stars
76
3 stars
15
2 stars
6
1 stars
14
1-20 of 140 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews
Outstanding Value, works great,
12/19/2011

Customer review by zalzankavol

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by zalzankavol
by zalzankavol

In a nutshell, this gym works very well, assembly was well documented, and it meets my needs. I have three times paid for gym memberships only to rarely go. Finally decided to use my spare room as a gym. The price on this unit was the lowest I had seen, but reviews were good and assembly seemed not too long. The box was smaller than I thought, and easily fit in my Corolla trunk with about two feet sticking out. Heavy as heck..took three of us to load it in. Arriving home, we just cut open the end of the box and brought in the pieces, which was very easy, so you could go get this yourself, have them load it, and use my method. The assembly went well as we laid all the pieces out and followed the very clear directions. I recommend you have a metric socket set, and an adjustable wrench. Only 3 sockets were needed. It comes with 2 Allen wrenches in the bolt bubble sheets. A drill with a Phillips tip is good also but not necessary. I also recommend that if you have four cats like me you lock them out of the room. Once assembled, it worked perfectly! Very smooth, nice variety of exercises. This easily replaces my trips to the gym. I also bought a slant board and a recumbent bike, so I feel that now I have in my home everything the gym offered, except the fanatical jocks who act like they own the equipment. I would also note that they made it so if you move, you can take apart just a few pieces to get the weights off. But with the weights on, it moved around my tile floor surprisingly easily. Buy this, you won't regret it. The attached photo shows the top of the completed gym, with official inspection by the head cat.

Was this review helpful? (126) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zalzankavol
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bowflex my eye
11/25/2011

Customer review by 30andchubby

4.0 stars 11/25/2011 by 30andchubby
by 30andchubby

First off value for money, you simply can't beat it. If you happen to be an "every man" like me and just want to improve yourself, not spend half a years wage, and have a well built quality machine this is it. Extremly easy to assemble. If you have any mechanical ability at all and a basic set of metric wrenches your set. All of the fasteners are bubble wrapped and numbered for assembly. The directions are easy to follow and understand. Also every step of assembly has a parts breakdown, if you really need one. I did not have to modify, buy extra hardware, or find an extra person to help put it together. Unpacking included it took less than three hours to complete assembly. As a added plus it dosn't take up much floor space. BUT it dosn't come with the $30 preacher pad, and the included excersise chart is really too small to see unless you happen to be blessed with binocular vision. That being said walmart sells the preacher pad and whats a little eye strain.

Was this review helpful? (124) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
30andchubby
B.F.E, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
12/4/2011

Customer review by Jaguarwolf

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by Jaguarwolf
by Jaguarwolf

This is a perfect starter or toner machine for fitness. Getting back in shape for myself. Easy to assemble. Took about 3 hours with clean up. Instructions clear. Does what it says. You can definitely feel the burn. I am really impressed with this machine. Fits in small apartment nicely. Walmart associate was very helpful. You will need to have another strong person to help unload as it weighs 190 pounds or a cart or dolly. I did it myself with a dolly.

Was this review helpful? (72) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaguarwolf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Gold Gym XRS 30
12/31/2011

Customer review by Colombuenisima

4.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Colombuenisima
by Colombuenisima

PRO: Easy to assemble. Very sturdy. Good presence. Very happy with my purchase because it was a good investment for a top quality product at an affordable price for everyone. CON: The bar that goes inside the weights is not long enough and sometimes comes out of its place when I bring the weight completely up at an 180 degree angle.

Was this review helpful? (59) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Colombuenisima
lancaster, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Decent product for good price.
2/14/2012

Customer review by guezzhooo

4.0 stars 2/14/2012 by guezzhooo
by guezzhooo

Compared to other $400-500 gyms this is an excellent value. Have used it for two weeks. It does take a few hours to put together, so have a friend help you if you don't like putting things together. The workout is good. Only real pain is nothing outside of the weight is adjustable, so a couple things are a little too tall for my fiance (who is 5') and a little too short for me (I'm 6'1).

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guezzhooo
Bellville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good Gym for Good Value
1/12/2012

Customer review by AjLoz

4.0 stars 1/12/2012 by AjLoz
by AjLoz

This gym is pretty good for the price. It took me and my husband about 4hrs to put it all together. Instructions are good and the small nuts and bolts are all labeled well. The tricky part was the pulley system. We have owned for 3 weeks and it works well and will be great for averaged height individuals. I am very petite at only 4"11 and my hubby is 5"6 so for small people like us it works pretty good except that the butterfly arms are a little too high. We can still use, but we have to grab bars like a horizontal bench press. Feels pretty solid and the leg extension is good. The bottom leg extension strap is why I wanted this so I could work out my thighs and buttocks, but the single weight is to heavy for me to pull with a single ankle. So I use for arm pulls instead. We have low ceilings at only 8ft and the gym fits fine and does not make the room look full or low. This would be a great starter or average user gym. If you want something close to a professional set or Olympic set you will probably have to look at the higher-end ones. But for an average everyday user this has been great.

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AjLoz
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great for a beginner or fabricator
6/10/2012

Customer review by pawns2k

2.0 stars 6/10/2012 by pawns2k
by pawns2k

I have owned this piece of equipment for close to a year now and at this time I'm quite happy with it. But I had to get replacement parts and make my own brace to do so. In the first 2 months I made great strides in the amount of weight I could utilize. Then I started having problems with the angle of the metal that the wheels/pulleys are attached to. Under weight the metal is not braced properly and bends causing extreme stress on the wheels/pulleys themselves. The metal tabs the pulleys are attached to end up bending which cause the steel cable to pop off randomly under load. Eventually one of the wheels/pulleys broke as well. I contacted golds gym for replacement parts, and explained to them what was wrong with the item and what needed to be done to fix it. After one week I had yet to receive anything from them and decided since I didn't have the money for better equipment I would fix it myself. To solve the problem of the metal tabs bending, I bought 1/4" flat bar, measured & cut accordingly, bent the tabs back to where they are supposed to be, used a torch and bent the flar bar to look like a V, drilled holes in the flat bar for the bolts to fit, and reattached everything from there. I haven't had a problem since with the metal tabs bending, cables popping off, or excessive stress on the wheels/pulleys. To fix the wheel/pulley I simply used some high strength epoxy and put the pieces back together. I used 1/4" flat bar to add an L brace over the steel cable as the plastic one that comes from the factory will do absolutely nothing to stop the cable if something failed and it wants to slip off. Again I haven't had a problem since... Almost 12 weeks after fixing the item golds gym finally delivered a rear bar with extra bracing and two new pulleys/wheels. Personally I feel my bracing is much more cost effective and stronger as their welds on the updated piece looked pretty bad. Replacement wheels/pulleys look much cheaper and lower quality so I am glad I was able to repair mine. For reference I have been using this piece every other day for the last 9 months w/ my repairs and everything operates exactly how it should a photo is attached to my review in case anyone else finds themselves with broken equipment and stuck in the same position I was.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pawns2k
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Do not purchase
4/8/2012

Customer review by dissatisfied471

1.0 stars 4/8/2012 by dissatisfied471
by dissatisfied471

I've only had this gym for three days. This machine will not hold up under the pressure of using the max weight. While under tension of the max weight one of the pulleys broke and bent a piece of the frame that it was attached to. It will be packed up and taken back to walmart.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dissatisfied471
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Sturdy Inexpensive Machine*******I Love it!!!
7/7/2012

Customer review by creative21

5.0 stars 7/7/2012 by creative21
by creative21

I have been looking for a home gym that would not take up space and offer me a nice workout. Well I took a chance on this machine and I am very pleased. It took me a few days to put it together as I put it together a little at a time and was relatively easy to do. All the parts were there, all the screws, nuts and bolts and cables were there..no missing parts. Once I used it, it was really great. I am feeling stronger already. Weights are pretty smooth and so far, I just used only the first level, and am getting tighter. It also is nice looking. This is a great deal if you do not want to spend 500.00 on a home gym or buy a shaky shabby model like they sell in some of the department stores. The gym does not shake when using it it is sturdy! Also plan where you want to put it because once you put it together, it is too heavy to move.. weighs around 200 lbs...I have been going to the gym for years and this really beat buying another 900.00 membership. This will last me for a long time!!!

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
creative21
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great price. Meets basic needs.
3/20/2012

Customer review by GlockGirl25

4.0 stars 3/20/2012 by GlockGirl25
by GlockGirl25

Knew this wasn't the higher end home gyms and I didn't want to spend an entire paycheck on one, so this fit the bill. Does all the basic moves needed for a good home workout without having to leave and go to a gym. My weird work schedules did not permit me time to go to a gym and now I can just go to my basement and work out when I want... day or night, with no creepy stalker guys watching :)

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GlockGirl25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
3/7/2012

Customer review by SmokeyBones4u

1.0 stars 3/7/2012 by SmokeyBones4u
by SmokeyBones4u

Please check all your parts on this when you take it out of the box. Larger parts are not labeled. Smaller parts are labeled but I am still missing a few. I have been on hold with customer service for 30 minutes and no one has came on the line yet. That is BAD, BAD, BAD business. What company does that? So rude!!!!!!!! I will not buy products from Gold's Gym ever again simply because of customer service. I can order the replacement parts online for $3.80, HOWEVER, they then charge over $17.00 to ship that via REGULAR mail. That's insane!!!! And no, what I'm missing is a very small part, two spacers, TWO PLASTIC SPACERS and they charge $17.00 to mail it. Wow!!! And I'm STILL on hold, and you can't order warranty replacement parts online, you MUST call the customer care line and stay on hold. Or you can press 1 and have them return your call. But if they do that as quickly as they answer calls, don't hold your breath. Bad business!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokeyBones4u
Phenix City AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Make sure you have all your pieces..
2/27/2012

Customer review by Cindi218

1.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Cindi218
by Cindi218

Make sure you have all the pieces in the box when you leave the store. If you are missing a piece, Even tho it says in the box not to do this, just take it back to the store for a refund. After 3 weeks of attempting to contact this company, hold for hours, never speaking to a live rep seems to be useless. After getting disconnected from live chat 3 different times, and going through the whole story of my 2 missing pulleys from the original purchase, the rep would state that he needed to transfer me to a chat group for assistance and disconnect me. Now I finally get an email that states that they are on backorder for 2-3 weeks. If it hadn't taken 4 hours to put the thing together since nothing was labeled or numbered on the parts, I may have just taken it back. NEVER will I buy gold equipment again. At this time I still have no pulleys

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cindi218
Winchester, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great Gym!
8/18/2012

Customer review by kitkatred

5.0 stars 8/18/2012 by kitkatred
by kitkatred

Had very little problem putting it together. All parts were there and nuts and bolts were marked so it was very easy to assemble. Very sturdy and easy to use. I added the Preacher pad to make it more complete. Very nice machine. I use it every day and am very happy with my purchase. Would highly recommend this gym.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kitkatred
Lansing, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Go in with your eyes open
7/22/2013

Customer review by pas182

4.0 stars 7/22/2013 by pas182
by pas182

I waited two months after I purchased and set up this home gym to write this review because I wanted to be able to give a pre and post review. Okay so first things first. The gym is inexpensive compared to most. This is because you are getting a low level basic home gym. As long as you know that going into it you are fine. The gym is well worth the money as long as you aren't expecting a lot. I am not a professional body builder and I wanted something simple just to keep my muscle tone up. This gym is perfect for that. It too me, my son and my nephew about 4 hours to set up the gym. The instructions are pretty easy until you get to the pulleys. There are about 14 pulleys on this thing and the pictures are not great. We had a couple of mis-steps but finally got it together. Overall I would give this gym high marks. I only gave it a four because the poor assembly instructions, but overall I would reccommend this to anyone looking for a basic home gym.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pas182
Brighton MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good idea!
2/17/2012

Customer review by somelocalguy

1.0 stars 2/17/2012 by somelocalguy
by somelocalguy

This machine looked good to begin with but things went downhill once I brought it home. I followed directions very carefully and when the product is fully assembled it's a little shaky. It will wobble slightly while you're lifting and you don't get good, smooth, full strides from the pulley system. It's had a recall on it already so in the packaging is a separate piece with a note stating "hey we messed up, here's another part to add". The lower pulley cannot be used for curls as shown in picture, you get about half way through the curl and you run out of slack and the weight stack slams into the top of the machine (I'm 6' 2"), even if with the chain attached for extra length it just doesn't work. The way the butterflies are configured is stupid. First you must choose how much weight you want and then wrestle with the machine to maneuver the pins into the correct position, which is definitely not convenient. Long story short, I took the whole thing apart less than 2 weeks after I purchased it and took it up to Walmart where they were nice enough to refund the full purchase price without a box and it was in pieces. The whole deal was a pain, I live on 3rd floor of apartment building so lugging this thing up 3 flights in many pieces multiple times was frustrating, not to mention assembling then disassembling it which took a combined total of 6 hours of my life.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
somelocalguy
O Fallon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1/23/2012

Customer review by saikou

4.0 stars 1/23/2012 by saikou
by saikou

The box was pretty heavy. Make sure you've got another person to help move it around. Setup was pretty strait forward and simple. Took about 5hrs or so to assemble. The resistance is different for each position - I was thinking it would be all the same. Using the leg extension to do some upright rows requires the user to step on the base so it doesn't tip while rowing. Doing the butterfly is a bit awkward for me as it feels too far away from me (I'm 5'1"). I suspect someone taller should feel fine while using it. Also, the plastic stopper on the lower cable rubs against the two disks that stop it. It makes some gashes to the plastic stopper. I can't imagine this holding up forever, so I would recommend sticking some rubber or something round that won't cut the cable stopper. Other than that, its a pretty good machine to start out with.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saikou
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
All around excellent buy
1/21/2012

Customer review by NateKnowsXRS30

4.0 stars 1/21/2012 by NateKnowsXRS30
by NateKnowsXRS30

1 star for unbeatable price, 1 star for accurate assembly instructions and all parts included, 1 star for a very solid home gym, 1 star for a very positive workout experience. Really, this is a fantastic gym for a beginner like myself. I've been going to planet fitness for a year now, so I decided to buy this gym to see if I can keep it up at home. Yes, I can. Fact is I can do my normal 45 workout routine in about 30 minutes and I don't have to drive or run anywhere to do it. Cons and why it didn't get the 5th star: -Needs a socket set to put together... didn't seem to mention that anywhere, but try to get it together without it! -There are absolutely no instructions for the exercises -Can't find any accessories except the preacher pad Yeah, I know, minor.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NateKnowsXRS30
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product...at first
11/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 11/9/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought this machine 7 months ago. After spending the entire weekend putting it together (and going to Home Depot to get a couple of missing bolts) I assembled the machine completely. Being that I was new to working out, I started on the lower settings and the machine worked smoothly. However, over the past few months as I've been progressing to the higher weight settings, the machine is starting to wobble under the weight and now the cables have stretched to the point where they no longer stay in the pulley's. Bottom line: the machine has a 90-day warranty for a reason. It just didn't last that long. You are better off paying a for a more expensive machine that won't break under "real" long-term usage.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/11/2011

Customer review by 8thGenerationAmerican

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by 8thGenerationAmerican
by 8thGenerationAmerican

Great weight-set for a supplement to a gym!

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
8thGenerationAmerican
Modesto, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Starter Set
1/6/2012

Customer review by Putski1

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by Putski1
by Putski1

Great Value For The Money! The Instructions And Packaging Were Better Than I Had Excepted. Took Me Longer Than What Other Reviews Had Stated(1.5-2.0 hrs).Quality Of Gym Is What You Pay For.My Wallet Determines That Aspect.Perfect For what I Wanted And I'm Sure I Won't Wear It Out. Nowt's Up To You. I Use It Everyday, In A Very Limited Space.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Putski1
Pittsburgh,PA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews