Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

128 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

128 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
39
4 stars
31
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 stars
42
1-20 of 121 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews
Love, love, LOVE this elliptical!!!
12/29/2011

Customer review by PaleRaven

5.0 stars 12/29/2011 by PaleRaven
by PaleRaven

I am a "bit" of an endorphin junkie, and ellipticals are my poison. I have been using ellipticals since I was 15. I'm 28 now, and I've been the demise of 3 of then over the years. The last elliptical I owned was a Gold's Gym Stride Trainer 300 with the adjusted stride that went from 12" to 18". It was a FABULOUS machine, no matter what other reviewers have said about it. I ran on that thing practically every day for 11 months and it helped me shed 60+ lbs. I ran on it for at least 45 minutes a day, but a lot of the time, I would go for an hour and a half to two hours because it built up my stamina so much, that I felt like I could just go forever! I looooooved my 300. ..... I BROKE the frame of my 300 in half 3 times. Twice my brother welded it back together. The third time I broke it, he simply shook his head. There was no more fixing it. I was devastated, BUT I didn't think it would be a big deal to find a replacement. WRONG! They stopped making the 300, and I'm going to guess it's because there was a design flaw in the frame which led to it breaking numerous times. I bought a GG 310 THINKING it would be comparable. I put it together and I hated it!!! It was then that I realized I should have researched the strides more! It turns out, the 310 has a 14" stride, which is waaay too short for somebody of my height. I'm only 5'7", but the 14" stride was HORRIBLE. I returned the 310, and the wonderful people at my local Walmart took it back and gave me a full refund. I purchased a used elliptical (not a GG) from a friend, and it had a 16" stride. Hated THAT one, too! I am so extremely excited to say that I have FINALLY (after a MONTH!!!!!) gotten my replacement! The 18" stride on the GG 410 is exactly what I wanted. The fan is a very nice addition to the monitor. It gives just the right amount of air movement to keep me cool while I'm running. I love how the pedal incline is adjustable. Genius! It is a nice solid unit! I used automotive grade grease to lubricate EVERYTHING on my machine when I put it together, and it has a very nice, very comfortable motion. I cannot tell you how much I love this machine. I just put it together last night, and it did take me about an hour and half all by myself. It wasn't difficult, though. Just a little time consuming. I was too tired to work out on it last night, however. LOL! But TODAY! Aaaaah. Today I ran off 1000 calories and it felt AMAZING. I am a bit out of shape because I haven't been running consistently since right before Thanksgiving when my 300 broke in half for the final time. It took me about 85 minutes to run off 1000 calories, and even being out of shape, I felt like I could keep going. I HIGHLY recommend this unit. Highly, highly, HIGHLY! I weigh 150 lbs, and this thing is nice and solid. It doesn't wobble. It doesn't squeak. It doesn't make any weird noises. If you want a great piece of equipment for a REALLY great price, get this one. You won't regret it. I'm looking forward to running for miles and miles with this thing to maintain my size 6/8 figure that I worked SO HARD to achieve with my Gold's Gym 300. The ONLY THING that I have to complain about it, the disk shaped cover that goes over the flywheel was broken when I opened the package. That was little disappointing, because I paid over $400 for the machine after taxes. Not cool to find broken bits on such a big investment. However, it worked out okay because I like to maintain my units with grease and other lubricants, and I just left that flywheel cover off for easier access to the inner workings. :)

Was this review helpful? (237) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaleRaven
Northern PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money!
12/5/2011

Customer review by Bedazzled27

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by Bedazzled27
by Bedazzled27

I always read reviews for products and sometimes search multiple sites to see if other people are on the same page with the product. After a good few years of going back and forth about getting a elliptical or treadmill I finally made a great choice. This year we got the Stride Trainer 410. I had looked at so many around Dicks sporting goods at the proforms and sams club only because i did not want to spend more then 500 dollars on one because most say that you tend to use as a decoration then working out. So since this is the first review i hope this helps others out. This machine is great.. Nice look. not to bulky but is not a space saver. it does not have a colored screen or a real big screen but it is big enough to tell you what you need to know. It has the ifit card technology and also has the first jillian michaels that comes with it. The fan blows nice if you need it not over barring but not to little. The sounds is good if you do not turn the volume on your ipod to the highest it will sound good. You may have to get a new cord for the ipod theres i do not think is the best but it works. I would suggest also putting it on a flat surface with a matt underneath it so it dont wobble. Assembly was not to bad and you do need to people to put together but if you can work together then it will take about a hour to put together. Just follow the directions. All of the screws are numbered but the only problem was the big parts were not labeled but you can tell what they are if you match the picture to the part. Its simple. Overall this product is great and for the price it is well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (130) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bedazzled27
Dubuque, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great buy!
12/7/2011

Customer review by Serasarah

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Serasarah
by Serasarah

This item was so easy to put together. It took my husband and I less than an hour. I love the fact that it comes with a Jillian Michaels workout chip. I've had my machine two weeks now any have not had any problems at all. It is a great value.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Serasarah
Lapeer, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Exceptional Machine
1/9/2012

Customer review by 410User

5.0 stars 1/9/2012 by 410User
by 410User

I purchased this 410 about a month ago but wanted to wait to provide any feedback after several days of use, whatever it may be, for other folks. Folks, I can't give you enough positive information about this machine. I absolutely love it. It took almost 2 hours to assemble, but I take my time and assure it's correct. The instructions are very easy to understand and follow. It does not come with an AC adapter but I purchased that online for around $20. You can probably get a cheaper one, but be careful as you don't want a real cheapy. It's a 6V regulated, 2 amp minimum, or just use the D battery option, (does not come with batteries) I'd highly recommend purchasing the adapter. I just did a google search by typing in the mfr. and model number AC adapter for Golds Gym Elliptical Stride Trainer 410. Anyway, once assembled, I of course had to do a little test run and it is absolutely as smooth or smoother than a lifecycle model that costs about 10X as much. The rear pedal arms have roller bearings and the upper arm handles use 4 pivot bushings which will be one of the weak points. As long as you keep them lubricated they'll last for a long long time. The electronic controlling system module is perfect in size, and it does have the input jack for your MP3 or Ipod to listen to music. And actually, it sounds pretty good too. If there was anything about that I think could be improved it would be to make the display brighter which would be nice, or at least have a dim back light. The only maintenance they recommend is adjust the feedback sensor when needed, and adjust belt tension. I would also recommend you lubricate those arm handle pivots every so often. I did that this morning and it took about 15 minutes for both. Very easy and everything is right there. They provide you with the allen wrenches to assemble it as well. The little plastic covers that hide the pivot points I left off as 2 out of 4 of them were damaged once removed. Not a biggy really, I'm an engineer so I like to see my machines working anyway. All in all, as of right now, I'd buy another just like it. I don't think you'll be disappointed if you purchase one. Best of luck and have fun!!

Was this review helpful? (92) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
410User
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Garbage product, worse customer service!!!!
2/19/2012

Customer review by MP035

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by MP035
by MP035

PURCHASE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!! I got this product home and took everything out of the box, only to find there were SEVERAL broken parts. I can't say I was surprised given that its constructed from CHEAP flimsy plastic!!! I wanted to return it to the store but couldn't figure out how get the stupid thing and all if its parts back in the box. The owners manual says right on the cover NOT to return the item to the store and to call their customer service number if there are missing and/or broken parts. I have seen this in the past with other products and have never had any issues with getting parts sent or getting a hold of the companies. So, I called the number DURING THE BUSINESS HOURS LISTED IN THE MANUAL only to get an automated message saying "We are currently closed. Please call back tomorrow during normal business hours". There is no option for a call back, no option to leave a message. Nothing. It doesn't even bother to tell you who you're calling. Just reads that message and disconnects the call!!!! Completely unprofessional!!! I looked them up on the web and confirmed the hours and phone number on their website. I continued to call this number over several days once again DURING THE BUSINESS HOURS with the same result. Apparently they don't have anyone answering their phones. I finally found an area on their website to send a message to customer service. This makes you sign up on their site and gives you a form that makes you enter all of your contact information, model number, where you purchased, when etc and gives you a box to type in your message. They limit the amount of text you can enter however, which came out to about 3 sentences of abbreviated words just to get it to fit!! I had to use texting lingo just to send the message to this company. Seriously???? After several days, I get a response "What is your address?". Nothing about who they are. They are sorry to hear I have an issue. Just a one sentence response and apparently they didn't even bother to read the email in the first place because it was part of the form they made you fill out and, when I scroll down I can see my original message INCLUDING all of my contact info. Evidently 3 sentences was far too much to read? I responded giving them my information again and went on to mention the difficulties I had in contacting them, about their phone message during business hours and how frustrating the whole ordeal has been. Again, no apologies in their response. Nothing. Its like I didn't even say anything. They just respond saying they will ship the parts and here is my confirmation number. Several weeks later, I've received absolutely nothing. So, I went on the website to track my order. It lists it as "order received" but doesn't say its shipped, processed or any other updates in status. So, I again try calling them to receive the same stupid message saying they're closed. So, I emailed them again and I have now been told ALL of my parts are on "backorder" and they have "no estimate on when they will ship". I have now had the machine for over 2 months and have not been able to use it. I have continued to follow up with no response. This is by far the most unprofessional company I've ever dealt with. My suggestion would be to avoid Gold's Gym products at all costs!!

Was this review helpful? (48) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MP035
Would recommend to a friend? No
LOVE IT! All the details you need to know...
1/21/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

LOVE IT! I bought this elliptical because I want to change to a plant based diet and workout to get fit and glorify YaHWeH in my body, since it is the temple of His Set Apart Spirit per The Word. I chose this specific one because of the 18" longer stride length and to have Jillian Michaels as my trainer for a one time payment of $349 + tax = ~$374 plus batteries/adapter price. What a deal! I read the reviews ahead of time, so I went into the purchase prepared for the flaws others described. Although flaws and all, I must say I totally love this elliptical and plan to use it everyday. The resistance really gives you a great workout, you can feel it is working and I find it fun and challenging! I can tell it is really working my muscles and giving me an awesome workout especially Jillian's programs! The program that came with my elliptical is Jillian Michaels Lose Weight Level 1. Jillian's coaching keeps me going and motivates me! This will be my main fitness tool, and then I also have some fitness DVDs and small equipment to help me meet my fitness goals. Make sure to warm up and then stretch your muscles before, in the middle and after your workout if you can to prevent injury and increase flexibility. And now I will go through all the details to help inform you and prepare you for this purchase. :) POWER SOURCE AND IPOD CONNECTION: So first of all, the machine runs on 4 D alkaline batteries which will cost you around $7 or instead of using batteries you can buy a 6 volt 2 amp AC adapter plug in. If you choose the adapter option Walmart sells a ProForm 6-Volt AC Adapter on their website for around $19 plus shipping. I bought batteries so I could start using it right away, but to save money over time will probably order a cable soon. Though the batteries are nice if you use it in the middle of a room because then you do not need to be close to an outlet and can easily roll it around to move it. If you have an IPod and want to listen through the elliptical speakers, you will need a 3.5mm to 3.5mm audio cable. Walmart sells a Belkin 3' Car Auxiliary Cable on their website for under $3 plus shipping that you could use. WAS IT BROKEN? I read all the comments about receiving cracked plastic parts. Due to this I chose to just go to the Walmart store instead of online order thinking perhaps it would be a better chance of not being cracked during shipping. 2 Walmart associates put it on a rolling cart and loaded it in the backseat of my car for me. Then I was able to get it in my home by rolling it and sliding it and dragging it by the yellow straps around it. It is heavy but possible. Just make sure to use your leg power and not your back and be careful with any stairs. Nothing was broken except the 2 gray plastic discs you see on the side in the picture. They are not attached very strongly to the base. The place where it attaches is too thin and flimsy, so these broke off from the base. This however does not affect the function of the machine, just the way it looks because these are just cover plates. So currently I put mine together without these 2 cover plates for the time being. I don't care if the machine looks perfect, so it doesn't bother me too much to not have them on. But the machine comes with a phone number to call if you receive broken parts, so I plan to request replacement discs in case I want to put them on later. ASSEMBLY AND NEEDED TOOLS: So I read the comments on it taking a looong time to assemble. So I came in expecting it to take awhile. I just took my time and made sure to read the directions carefully and to assemble correctly. I was able to assemble this all by myself in a few hours. I did not find it very difficult, it was pretty straightforward. I just made sure to tighten the screws well, so that it was a solid assembly job. The tools you need to assemble are a phillips screwdriver, an adjustable wrench and a hammer or mallet...and patience and determination helps. :) Also you may need WD 40 spray (it says it was supposed to come with grease, but mine did not). First thing I did was to unbox and unwrap all the parts and lay them out on the floor. When assembling, just go slow and read carefully. The only part that didn't line up well for me was the small cover plates at the bottom of the arm holds. I had to break off the little insert sticks inside that didn't line up, but I got them snapped on eventually. I may request replacements of those too to see if perhaps the replacements would line up better. But again these parts do not affect how the elliptical works. They are just cover plates to cover screws and make it look nicer. Also please note the heart rate monitor has white plastic stickers over it that you have to take off to use the monitor. I didn't notice this at first and was trying to figure out why it wasn't reading my heart rate. Oops. :) DOES IT MAKE NOISE? After assembly mine does make a swooshing noise when I use it as the wheels inside move. But it is not so loud that you cannot hear a tv or music while you work out. Perhaps in the future I will have a repair person look at it to see why it makes the noise and possibly make it quieter, but for now I am very happy with this elliptical so this swooshing noise is not something that stops me from using it. The benefits of this elliptical far outweigh the flaws for me! If you want a whisper quiet machine and noise is a big concern for you, you may want to hire a professional to assemble it for you. Not for certain that it would be quieter with professional assembly, but perhaps they would be more skilled and have better results? IS JILLIAN LOUD? Yes, the volume of the machine is very loud and not adjustable. This is remedied for me by tieing a bunched up fleece blanket around the speaker area to cover where the sound comes out. The blanket therefore filters the sound making it a quieter more pleasant tone, so you can enjoy, appreciate and experience Jillian's amazing coaching as one should. Perhaps there are other items to filter the sound that might work better that you could cover the speakers with, so you get to be creative with that. I just searched my room, and saw a fleece blanket and was like Aha! This will do the trick. :) CAN YOU SEE THE DISPLAY? I have positioned my elliptical underneath a ceiling light and do not have a problem reading the display. I can see it very clearly. If you do not have a light over it, you may want to purchase a clamp lamp to attach to the elliptical to help you read the display better. The IFIT card is really easy to use. Just insert it and Jillian starts talking and gets you moving. If you need to stop and drink water, you just stop pedaling. The machine automatically stops your time until you start pedaling again. There are 8 weeks of Jillian programs on the card. Also the elliptical has 12 programs on it. Or you can just pedal freely on your own and choose your resistance level. You can pedal forward or backwards to work different muscles. You can workout your arms using the arm holds or if your arms get tired you can just hold the heart rate monitor for a bit. I like the removable cup holder and ipod compartment at the top to set your ipod in. The fan only gives a soft breeze, so you will need to set up your own fan by the elliptical if you want a strong breeze while working out. The elliptical is easy to move around, because it rolls very nicely on the wheels. Overall I am very happy about this purchase. I wanted a great workout and a top trainer in my home for an affordable price. And now I have it! Praise YHWH! Blessings and shalom to you and best wishes in your fitness. <3

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Understand before you buy
2/7/2012

Customer review by JRuth14

4.0 stars 2/7/2012 by JRuth14
by JRuth14

I purchased this on 2/6/2012 from my local walmart store. They were helpful in loading it up for me. Two things I didn't like about this was 1.) The plastic shell that houses the wheel in the back was cracked upon opening. Has no effect on the function of the machine, but when you spend $400 on a anything you want it to be perfect. 2.) This machine has an electronic computer for different workouts and settings. Nowhere on the packaging does it tell you that you need to purchase a seperate plug in or 4 D batteries for this to work. Luckily I had a power supply that worked for it to test it out, I ordered the exact one from an online retailer for $25. I look forward to running the machine into the ground. I don't blame walmart in any way for this item not being properly labeled or packaged.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRuth14
Richland, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
2/16/2012

Customer review by Kathy513

1.0 stars 2/16/2012 by Kathy513
by Kathy513

Terrible ............... I read the reviews for this machine before I bought it. They say how wonderful this machine is .... NOT ... This thing will not stop squeaking..... I have put wd40 on all the screws it's not that it's the actual metal rubbing against each other .......... Spend a little more money and get a real machine..... OH not to mention this does not plug into wall so you better stock up on plenty of D batteries............ :(

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kathy513
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great piece equipment for the price!
2/11/2012

Customer review by Blondetwin

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Blondetwin
by Blondetwin

I have always been a runner, but because I run so early or late at night, it's not as convenient for me during the winter months due to darkness. I really don't enjoy indoor workouts, but I decided to try this elliptical and I'm happy I did because it is really a wonderful machine. The elliptical is sturdy and I believe has a weight limit of 300 lbs. It is very quiet and smooth. There are 12 built-in programs; 6 for weight loss and 6 for endurance so that your body doesn't plateau. The speaker for my i-phone works great. There is a water bottle holder in front which is another nice feature. The only thing that is slightly inconvenient is the display screen which has no background light. I have a clip-on light for reading that I use and that works fine, however. There is a little built-in-fan that also provides a nice breeze, which is also a convenient feature. I have friends that have similar equipment that cost thousands of dollars but this elliptical works just as well for much, much, less. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone interested in a great work out for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blondetwin
Toledo, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
11/23/2012

Customer review by hobsonschoice

1.0 stars 11/23/2012 by hobsonschoice
by hobsonschoice

I read the reviews that were mixed, some people giving it horrible reviews with only 1 star and others giving it decent reviews. So I took my chances and I took the time to create an account just to fill in this review so no one else makes the same mistake I did. The product arrives without batteries or a power connection, so despite costing almost $400 provides no way to actual turn it on. The left pedal didn't fit on the crank arm so I had to call for a replacement part. When I called and waited on hold to talk to customer service at the number provided for Gold's in the manual they told me I needed to talk to parts, another transfer, another hold, then the parts department told me I needed to go to another company called Icon Service and register my product in order to get a replacement product. I expected more from Walmart and Gold's, but looking at the reviews, I'm the one who feels like a sucker for not listening to other people with similar experiences. Don't be a sucker like I was, buy a better product

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hobsonschoice
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Buy
1/31/2012

Customer review by PrincessMommy2008

4.0 stars 1/31/2012 by PrincessMommy2008
by PrincessMommy2008

After much research, we bought this elliptical from our local WalMart. Before purchasing, I was able to test out the floor model at the store, and thought that for the price it was a solid, smooth ride. We got it home and my husband (an engineer) began assembly of the product, only to find that the main base of it was cross threaded and would not take the screws. We called around to find another one in stock, and were able to just bring in the faulty parts and exchange them for new ones, instead of having to pack up the whole thing. It seems like it was just a manufacturing defect, becuase the new parts were perfect. That was a hassle, but fortunately WalMart was great about exchanging the bad parts. After that, it was easy for my husband to put together. It is a solid, smooth ride and is very quiet. I used elliptical machines at the gym for years, but didn't want to spend a huge amount on one for home, and this fits my needs perfectly. The machine comes with the cord to plug in your mp3 player, and the sound coming from the speakers is great. I did purchase the extended WalMart warranty on the product (2 years for $35), so if anything at all goes wrong with the elliptical I am covered. Overall, I would purchase the product again.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PrincessMommy2008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Do not buy!!
1/21/2012

Customer review by UpsetConsumerinIndiana

1.0 stars 1/21/2012 by UpsetConsumerinIndiana
by UpsetConsumerinIndiana

After extensive research, I finally decided on purchasing this elliptical because I thought it was the best deal with the highest quality. I was very wrong. Except for the frame and the handles, this entire elliptical is made out of plastic. Three plastic screws that hold the plastic cover for the wheel had snapped during shipping. This wasn't discovered until AFTER I spent 2-3 hours putting the machine together. I now have to disassemble it, put it back in the box, and return it to the store. This product is not worth the money, I would strongly recommend looking elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (27) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UpsetConsumerinIndiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Buy
12/12/2011

Customer review by son2387

5.0 stars 12/12/2011 by son2387
by son2387

I am happy with my buy. Its been 2 weeks Its good so far. Its quite. speakers are very good. Assembly is easy takes about 2 hours max. But if you speed up and if you are overweight it wobbles a bit sometimes.i am 158 pounds but it doent do that much for me. But if you add more resistance it doesn't happen. Jillian's card is helpful. I wish Display was lil bit bigger but its good enough to see whatever u need to. Pulse sensors look like working good.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
son2387
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This product is even worse.
1/16/2012

Customer review by kiss73

1.0 stars 1/16/2012 by kiss73
by kiss73

I returned the 310 and paid the extra money for the 410. What a waste! The screws for the cover were broke. The cover kept falling off. The bolts for one of the bottom pieces would not line up correctly and kept cross threading. Poor craftsmanship from Gold's Gym. Going to Sears!

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiss73
Brevard County
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
H-O-R-R-I-B-L-E
6/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I think the summary says it all. First of all, there were several broken parts on this machine. After we assembled the elliptical, It wouldn't even turn on. We tested our batteries in a flashlight and they worked. SO to make a long story short... Thankfully we could still return it to our local Walmart. When my husband returned it a Walmart employee said "Another one?" My husband asked what the person meant by that since we were planning on exchanging. The employee said we have that machine returned ALL THE TIME! My husband got a full refund and left that elliptical at the store. I wouldn't have given this one star if that was an option.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Squeeky after 1 1/2 weeks
6/26/2012

Customer review by Work1nOut

2.0 stars 6/26/2012 by Work1nOut
by Work1nOut

I purchased this eliptical because it looked durable and appeared to be a good value. Big mistake. The cheap plastic pieces broke during assembly. Yes, I was being careful. Used it every other day for 1 1/2 weeks when it began to squeek. I tried to dissasemble it to re-grease. Every plastic piece broke in the process. I also found most of the bolts had loosened up. Spent the next 3 hours greasing everything possible on all connection points and cinched down all bolts. Surely it would not squeek anymore ... WRONG! The squeek was in the main bushings for the arm assemblies. Of course it squeeks, the 3/8" rod is supporting almost your entire weight. HORRIBLE DESIGN! Atleast I know what to look for in a future eliptical. If you consider buying this, BUY the protection plan, you will need it. Pros: It was simple to put together. Walmart let me return it. Great for kids. Cons: Bolt holes did not line up. Bolts back off after using requiring the plastic guards be taken off. Plastic guards will not come off without breaking... Not very durable.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Work1nOut
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
much needed upgrade
2/3/2012

Customer review by cameraguru

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by cameraguru
by cameraguru

Had a smaller home elliptical that did the trick for a few years but love the longer stride of this elliptical. Nice and smooth and quiet too. Best of all Walmart put it together for me! Didn't know it needed batteries or to purchase a cord for the computer part...ie to use the programs and set any resistance but not a big deal. Takes up more space but a much better workout. Great home machine!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cameraguru
rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Broken, Missing and Wrong Parts
7/7/2012

Customer review by icbhtb

1.0 stars 7/7/2012 by icbhtb
by icbhtb

I purchased my Gold's stride Trainer 410 in April and had it shipped to the store. I was so excited when I picked it up and took it home. I opened the box and wondered at first if I would be able to assemble it. I took the pars from the box and noticed the disc had deep black scratches. I was a little disappointed that my new piece of equipment was scratched. I continued with putting it together and found that one of the connecting parts was broken. I called the toll free number on my user's manual and they sent me out a new part a couple of weeks later. After receiving the part, I noticed it was a different color. Now my machine has scratches and a mismatch part (2# eye sores and still I attempted to finish assembling. I get to the very end, putting on the arms and find that I have #2) left arms. Now I'm very upset. I call the toll free # again and was told that they are out of stock and don't know when a right arm will be available but when it is they will ship it right out. It is now July 2012, reminder I purchased April 2012, the right arm still has not been shipped. I have given up, therefore I can not give any insight as to how the machine works. I've contacted Walmart who says that I may return the elliptical to the store. I've read other reviews and I am so disappointed. I really wanted the expierence of this particular brand. But it didn't work out for me. I'm not suggesting that you not buy it, you may have better luck. I'm just sharing my expierence so that others are informed that new isn't always new. Signed.... Unhappy and still shopping

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
icbhtb
Phila pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
DONT BUY! JUNK
12/31/2013

Customer review by CTMicky

1.0 stars 12/31/2013 by CTMicky
by CTMicky

It worked for awhile and then started making noise. The assembly process is very hard and I am very handy. Not even a year after I bought this the main frame broke. I am under the 250 weight rating. Stay away from this junk. Even the instruction manual is full of flaws.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CTMicky
Connecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Love It
1/31/2012

Customer review by Sangwich

4.0 stars 1/31/2012 by Sangwich
by Sangwich

I did a lot of research and ended up purchasing this Gold's Gym StrideTrainer 410 Elliptical. I have used it everyday for a month and have lost weight already. It is very sturdy and I like the pre programmed workouts. I have heard static with the ifit card and it did take two hours to assemble. One thing that is annoying is that it does not come with the AC adapter and requires 4 D batteries not included. I think this is a great value compared to other higher priced ellipticals.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sangwich
Trenton,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 121 total reviews
1-20 of 121 reviews