Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 83 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

83 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

5 stars
37
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 stars
21
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
This is a great toy
11/28/2011

Customer review by mrbluebottle

5.0 stars by mrbluebottle

I bought one of these 9 years ago. Yes it was a gift for myself, a 30 year old kid. Everything works great, even the quarks. If you have a star wars fan young or old this is a great gift.

Was this review helpful? (116) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mrbluebottle
Cedar Rapids, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/4/2011

Customer review by gina234

5.0 stars by gina234

I bought this for my son 6 birthday last year my son and my 3 year olds love it. The only thing it does take awhile to learn the commands and get the hang of it they play with it off and on till this day. If your child loves robots they will enjoy this toy.

Was this review helpful? (30) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gina234
houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for Star Wars Old School Fans!
12/31/2012

Customer review by Hinx

5.0 stars by Hinx

I purchased this for my boyfriend as a Christmas present and it was on sale. I went online and searched around to compare prices but Walmart's price was unbeatable! Everywhere else I looked, had it for $200+, sometimes even for $300+! The robot works splendid! It takes a few times to get it to understand you but once you understand how to work with it, it's worth the money. It's definitely something to collect if you're a Star Wars fan. I wouldn't recommend it for young children though, although it says so in the packaging. Children are less patient and I don't see this as a toy to be impatient with. We got it to turn, respond to characters' names, play hide n' seek and other games, go patrol and many more commands! It got home fast and without any broken pieces or damages. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Hinx
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
R2D2 astromech voice command droid
12/24/2011

Customer review by pasquale1

4.0 stars by pasquale1

Toy does some amazing things and can be lots of fun,however this particular one will have to be returned,I purchased it for my grandson as a Christmas gift,tried it out and it did not respond to the commands at hand.I it would stop and try to walkthe motor would make noises but it wouldn't move sounded like it was stuck.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pasquale1
hazlet nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great toy! Hard of hearing.
1/3/2012

Customer review by Duggde

4.0 stars by Duggde

We read the reviews, and bought this online. When I first put it together, it didn't seem to work. Then I realized I forgot one of the AA batteries. It takes 4 "D" batteries, and 4 "AA" batteries. Less than that, and it might turn on, but not respond (imagine that). Other than that, it's pretty straightforward. The cure-all if it locks up is "reset system". And from time to time it would just start twitching and not doing anything. Tap it on the head like C-3PO always did, and tell it to reset, and it works again. The only thing about this guy is it has to be quiet to work. If any background noise is present or other people are talking, it can't discern anything and will just make a bunch of noise and not respond to anything. The only other thing that is cool, but limited, is it's command function for maneuvering. It would be fun to be able to store a series of directions and label them "go to bedroom" or similar. It can only store one set of commands at a time. Other than that (which I can live without) the kids love it and it's pretty fun watching them try to talk to it and have it beep back at them. I have a 4 and 3 year old and they think he's really talking to them and responding. Good buy for us.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Duggde
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Returned..not what we expected!
12/12/2011

Customer review by HappyMom007

3.0 stars by HappyMom007

We purchased this for my five year-old that loves Star Wars as a Christmas gift. My husband decided to check it out before wrapping. It was very cute! The problem is that you have to have total silence for it to understand commands. In my home with a dog, tv and others noises it would not answer to commands and even started doing the same thing over and over. This maybe cool for an adult but not a little kid that may get frustrated easy. The price is way to high for this toy for sure!

Was this review helpful? (25) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HappyMom007
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
cool toy
12/30/2011

Customer review by wraith1961

5.0 stars by wraith1961

read instructions on how to play with it . once you understand when to tell it what to do its more fun. my 9 years old son loves it !!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wraith1961
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
perfect for a gift
11/11/2013

Customer review by jose010

4.0 stars by jose010

Best price of the item; excellent as a gift. My kid loved it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
jose010
Miami
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Star Wars Fan
12/29/2011

Customer review by BesoBesoBeso

5.0 stars by BesoBesoBeso

This was a gift for a star wars fan. They Loved it. Shipped fast, price was best compared to every other site. This r2 is so cute.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BesoBesoBeso
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Big Hit!
12/27/2013

Customer review by Baker6Mommy

4.0 stars by Baker6Mommy

The Droid Robot was what I had expected for the price and was a big hit on Christmas morning. The command "key" that it comes with is very helpful in explaining what to say in order to get R2 to do what you want. It is difficult to get kids to talk slowly,loudly, clearly enough for R2 to understand and obey all commands. Would purchase again and recommend.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Baker6Mommy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Just what I expected
11/22/2013

Customer review by YESWAY

4.0 stars by YESWAY

Perfect addition to my collection. Actually works and looks better than I expected for the price. The scale is perfect when next to the 31" Star Wars Figures. I would not recommend this as a "Toy"as it is mainly constructed of plastic and would probably not hold up to any kind of abusive or prolonged play. It is more of a collectible novelty peice.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
YESWAY
WYOMING
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great learning tool from kids young & old.
12/28/2011

Customer review by hpmickey3

5.0 stars by hpmickey3

The commands given must be clear and precise in order to work properly. But depending on R2's mood - it may not want to listen. Just like your children & pets! It teaches you to be patient and understanding. It will not work perfect all time but with time and care it will teach you patience and respect for others and you'll be treated the same. And it's cute friend too! Only needs batteries and doesn't leave any droppings!

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hpmickey3
Vancouver BC Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Doesn't obey many commands
3/30/2012

Customer review by Sunnee

1.0 stars by Sunnee

I really wanted to give this to my 8-year old grandson, but was disappointed that it did not obey many commands at all. I have the item all back in the box right now ready to return. I was very disappointed. I called the "help" number and was given some suggestions that might help....but to no avail. I kind of wanted to take it back and try ordering a different one, but at the same time did not want to frustrate my grandson with something that would not work well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sunnee
Would recommend to a friend? No
3/2/2012

Customer review by HardheartedHannah

5.0 stars by HardheartedHannah

I purchased this for my 7 year old grandson's birthday who is already a computer geek and big Star Wars fan. Not only does he love the fact that R2 follows him around, but his parents are still discovering what other wonders he can do!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HardheartedHannah
Fayetteville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Christmas Suprise!
12/28/2011

Customer review by imsosmart

5.0 stars by imsosmart

I got this for my 6 year old for Christmas. This toy does make him have to have just a little patience in learning how to give the commands which I love! We explained to him that this was a "big boy" toy. But it met every expectation we have had. Great buy Great Suprise!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
imsosmart
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/26/2012

Customer review by onlythewind1

5.0 stars by onlythewind1

Excellent toy! It brings endless hours of fun for my 2 children.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
onlythewind1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Way Cool!
4/25/2012

Customer review by RSTruitt

5.0 stars by RSTruitt

R2-D2 Does it all my 8yr old loves this robot. You need to read instructions as the voice commands need to be specific when you get this down let the fun begin!!!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RSTruitt
Klamath Falls OR "Klamalaccia"
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Cool toy
10/7/2013

Customer review by gheath1000

4.0 stars by gheath1000

This is a very cool toy. However you do have to speak very slow and clear. Not quite worth the money but it is a neat toy for the collector.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
gheath1000
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/28/2011

Customer review by ssranch

4.0 stars by ssranch

Very sensitive, need quite area to work properly, could not get all functions to work, grandkid loved it and so did all the adults. Played with it all day.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ssranch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What every Star Wars fan should have!
12/31/2011

Customer review by LongOaks

4.0 stars by LongOaks

I got this for my grand-son (7yrs old) for Christmas who is a big Star Wars fan. Controlling the R2D2 with voice commands takes a little practice, but worth the effort. Just hearing him say "It's the best Christmas ever!" was worth every penny of the purchase price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LongOaks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 71 total reviews