Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1960 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

1960 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

1960 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
800
4 stars
555
3 stars
223
2 stars
125
1 stars
257
1-20 of 1792 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1792 total reviews
1-20 of 1792 reviews
Worth the money....with some work.
6/3/2013

Customer review by Wombly

3.0 stars 6/3/2013 by Wombly
by Wombly

I purchased this desk in January, and bought it solely because of the cost and the fact that it was an L-shaped desk. My biggest issue with this desk is the sturdiness of it and the materials used for some parts. The pull out keyboard tray will overtime come off the tracks because there isn't a bracket pushing up against the keyboard tray, (easy fix but shouldn't have to be done). When both hands are on the keyboard and put pressure to each side, the desk will move. I have a 24" monitor and a 21" monitor with a full tower. Other information that isn't provided for this desk: The height from the floor to the actual tabletop: 30.25" Width of open space looking at monitor: 28" Depth of workspace for main desk: 19.75" Main monitor width: 30.5" Main monitor height: Just under 20"

Was this review helpful? (623) (72)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wombly
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Needed another desk for my home office.
10/21/2012

Customer review by DluxPL

5.0 stars 10/21/2012 by DluxPL
by DluxPL

I owned the previous version of this desk and thought it was a good value. I wanted to add another desk to my home office and decided to go with this one since it matched well the original desk. These desks come with the "L" on the right hand side. I "re-engineered" the new desk to have the "L" on the left hand side (as well as the shelves) and I am quite happy with the results. I wish there was an option to order factory pre-made left or right desks so that I wouldnt have had to put in the extra time to flip the "L" but as I said - I am happy with this product nevertheless.

Was this review helpful? (232) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DluxPL
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:25 - 34
Best desk for the price.
8/10/2013

Customer review by ChrisMixATL

5.0 stars 8/10/2013 by ChrisMixATL
by ChrisMixATL
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

So i was worried as people were saying the keyboard holder will break off but so far its been 2 weeks still no signs of breaking, Building this is very simple the instructions are straight forward, And it looks pretty good, I have my laptop xbox 360 a 24 inch monitor, my speakers and subwoofer and my tritton headset all on the desk and it looks really neat, Its very strong though i would recommend tightening the screws every now and then, It took me 3 hours to build with a drill and no ones help .but all and all i am very happy with purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking for an awesome desk.

Was this review helpful? (98) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChrisMixATL
Pompano Beach,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great desk for the money
9/7/2014

Customer review by tempestskye

5.0 stars 9/7/2014 by tempestskye
by tempestskye
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I thought this desk was a great value and pretty easy to put together by myself. I am a female and am horrible at putting things together. Even though it took me about 4 hours I was still able to get it. my only complaint is that the sliding keyboard is a pain and didn't want to line up correctly. As of right now it still feels a bit wobbly but that is the only thing. You can see in my pics that it is pretty decent in size. it fits 2 monitors, all my pony stuff (I never grew out of it) and your basic office/desk supplies. I will warn you though that it is HEAVY both in the box and out. I deff recommend putting it together where you are going to set it up so your don't have to move it much.

Was this review helpful? (80) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tempestskye
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great desk for college student.
5/23/2012

Customer review by brewer2012

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by brewer2012
by brewer2012

Great deal for anyone who is starting college. I was looking for a desk that has plenty of space of me to work at the computer and with paper and pencil as well. This desk is very spacious and will allow me to do everything I need to do at it. Just follow all directions and be sure you have an extra set of hands to help you put it together!

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brewer2012
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Recommended for ANYONE
5/4/2012

Customer review by RagingNinja

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by RagingNinja
by RagingNinja

I just got this today, and I was so excited! It took me approximately 4 hours to setup and then setup all my computer, Xbox 360 and other stuff. (I am OCD so it takes me extra long). I setup the desk by myself in about 1-2 hours. Very simple, easy to setup and it looks great! My only complaint, was that the wood inside the box was dusty and kinda messy so I had to wipe it down. But other than taking 5 seconds to wipe everything down, I have had no problems! I love my new desk!

Was this review helpful? (115) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RagingNinja
Woodburn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:14 - 18
8/21/2012

Customer review by bc5687

4.0 stars 8/21/2012 by bc5687
by bc5687

I had been searching for quite sometime for an L-shaped desk with a hutch. I'm a college student living in a town house, but I wanted one that would compliment my bedroom set, fit in my room, and would be good for homework and daily use. This one works and the price is very reasonable compared to many others that I had previously found. PROS: Big, but not huge Easy to assemble. Took me an hour by myself, no help and use basic tools (screwdriver, hammer) Affordable Good amount of storage space CONS: Seems a little wobbly unless you kind of stretch the ends out a bit, but I guess thats okay Overall I'm very happy with the desk. We will see how it holds up throughout the school year.

Was this review helpful? (43) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bc5687
DeKalb, IL NIU
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Great Bargain
3/28/2013

Customer review by Queensgirl1021

5.0 stars 3/28/2013 by Queensgirl1021
by Queensgirl1021

Before i made this purchase a few days ago...i read most of the reviews for it just to get an idea of what to expect. I first want to say thanks to all that gave a review...they were all spot on! so i will return the favor and review this item for the next person. 1. This ships via FEDEX and Walmart does not require a signature. This means that fedex will leave it at your door. (i didn't mind this as my home is set back a bit from prying eyes and it is HEAVY...so i did not care for going to pick it up at the FEDEX office). If you live in an apartment or do not trust your neighbors...that is something to think about. 2. Give yourself at least 3 hours to completely set this up. I will say that if you have an electric screwdriver...you can cut this time in half. It is very easy to set up. 18 steps in total and the instructions have pictures and tell you exactly how many pieces of hardware you will need for each step. 3. Packaging was done very well. no damage to the product at all. I will say that while some of the pieces have the big white sticker with the letters identifying the pieces...some had the letters stamped in the unfinished edge of the desk parts...so be on the lookout for that and arrange your pieces in order to save time later. 4. Most important to me...make sure you are setting this up in a carpeted area if you can. the pieces start coming together very quickly and it is easier to slide and piece things together when you are on a carpet. Also...i was bending and crawling around so often...i felt like i was playing twister. For those that are concerned about setting it up themselves...be patient. I am a 32 year old female and i was able to set this up from start to finish in 2.5hrs. All with a standard screwdriver and a hammer. I've put all my work stuff on the table for now and will be decorating further tomorrow. Hope this helps you in your decision. I've attached pics for reference.

Was this review helpful? (279) (63)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Queensgirl1021
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Could be worse, but could be a lot better.
5/7/2014

Customer review by DrHaunter

3.0 stars 5/7/2014 by DrHaunter
by DrHaunter

As far as ease of set up and appearances go, this desk gets an A+. The directions are a little confusing but not impossible. It took us about three hours to assemble. But where durability is concerned, it certainly doesn't meet expectations. It wobbles like crazy and you can't tighten the screws very much because you'll split the wood. Use a manual screw driver; I wouldn't recommend a drill. The reason the movement concerns me is because I have a little goldfish tank that sits on the shelf where the cabinet door goes. Even the tinniest movement shifts the water around. I'm actually surprised they get away with selling something this flimsy for this price. Overall I wouldn't say I'm disappointed, as this is a vast improvement from the desk I had (which I also purchased from Walmart) but I wouldn't say I'm terribly impressed either. The only reason I'm giving this three stars is because of the appearance and the amount of room it has. God forbid you had to take this apart or move it. I guarantee it wouldn't survive that. Also the piece that goes at the top to prevent things from falling arrived split in half, so I just didn't use it. Beware of broken pieces because its very heavy and the wood is easily split if someone drops it during shipping. I'd say if you're looking for something sturdy that will last you years, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? (40) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrHaunter
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
very fashionable outlooking, but unstable
2/17/2014

Customer review by hoticeman

2.0 stars 2/17/2014 by hoticeman
by hoticeman

I took me 4 hours and another 2 hour with my friend to set it up, really a tough job, and indeed it's as pretty as the advertisement, but there is a severe problem: instability. every tiny movement shall shake the table, such as typing, writing, or pull out the keyboard tray. If this table is positioned into wall corner, then perhaps it's ok. If not in the corner, then it's really terrible

Was this review helpful? (55) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hoticeman
secret
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:18 - 24
Dang keyboard tray!!!
1/25/2013

Customer review by tripplesix

3.0 stars 1/25/2013 by tripplesix
by tripplesix

I have been using this desk for almost a month now. It is definitely cheaper than what I usually would buy; but I knew that so that is not the issue. Let's start with the good though. The desk looks great. The color is nice. The L-shape was exactly what I wanted. For an L, it is not too big and not too small (I'm in a small apt. so....#. The area for the monitor was important to me because hutches limit computer monitor space; but I saw the dimensions before I bought it so I knew I was good to go. I can put things under it with easy access #including the pc#; I can put things on the desk part; I can put things on the hutch; and I can put things in the cabinet. All good. Lastly, it was actually easy to follow the instructions and put together. I was sick so it took me a long time; but taking my time was not an issue. I will admit, I kept wanting it to be done and over. TIP: In the instructions, you put the hutch together first; then the desk part; then after you stand it up it tells you to hammer in that back part to enclose the back of the cabinet. Put that stupid back part on before doing the desk so that you can but it on while the hutch is face down. It will not effect anything else and it will be a little easier. Now the bad. Wow, that stupid keyboard tray!! I hate it!! It is a big nuissance #sp?#!! It is always falling off. Yes, off!! Which then flips my whole keyboard off. This has happened over and over and over and ........ It seems the width of the tray is slightly shorter that the length of it's rolley things so the left side always moves off to the right and falls or flips off. This is actually a horrible thing. I don't know how this is working out for others but it is totally ridiculous. If I could recommend AND not recommend this product, I would. For what it is and what it does #including space efficiency# it is good #especially for being cheap#. But that keyboard tray issue is a hot stupid annoying mess #that's what I get for buying a cheap product). I will have to figure it out. If you are thinking about purchasing this product, make your own decision. And good luck.

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tripplesix
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Love it!!
5/25/2013

Customer review by Soon2bRN

5.0 stars 5/25/2013 by Soon2bRN
by Soon2bRN

No complaints, no problems. Very happy with my purchase and I will definitely recommend this product to a friend. It took about an hour and half to put together by myself. I have noting negative to say about this product. I love it!

Was this review helpful? (23) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Soon2bRN
Pembroke Pines, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Good desk, I like it, but scratches to easy.
9/2/2012

Customer review by Sweetiesbird

3.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Sweetiesbird
by Sweetiesbird

I got this desk for my 11 year old son. He has had it about 3 weeks now. For the most part it works great for what he needs. It does scratch SUPER easy with little effort. Attached it a picture of the wear and tear from his laptop sliding on it. It's not to bad, but it has only been 3 weeks. Other then that, it was super easy to put together and it is very sturdy. It is particle board, so it will warp fast to any water damage.

Was this review helpful? (15) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sweetiesbird
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Great Desk for Price!
9/1/2012

Customer review by Nick18909

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by Nick18909
by Nick18909

I bought this desk online and had it shipped to my Mailbox at a UPS Store. Bad idea. It has hard to lug out to my car then lug into my house. (about 105 lbs) One piece arrived badly scratched, but it was the one on the very top so you can't see it. It took about 30-40 minutes to assemble. The directions were a little confusing but you can understand them. The wood is cheap, but very strong. I really like the cabinet to store things out of view.

Was this review helpful? (11) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nick18909
Albuquerquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:14 - 18
This desk and chair purchase was a great buy...
3/22/2012

Customer review by DjPhobia

4.0 stars 3/22/2012 by DjPhobia
by DjPhobia

This desk and chair purchase was a great buy, both in price and quality. It took very little time to assemble and all that was needed was 2 tools (screwdriver & hammer). It will satisfy your home office or workstation needs. :-)

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DjPhobia
Dolton, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Horribly made, fell apart right away.
2/16/2013

Customer review by arandomcollegekid

1.0 stars 2/16/2013 by arandomcollegekid
by arandomcollegekid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking forward to using this desk. It was fine putting it together, and kind of an easy set up. The parts looked great but I noticed the pressed wood was a lot less compacted than previous products I have purchased. That being said, when I finally put most of it together (following all of the instructions) it completely collapsed under it's own weight, and the "CAM" system it used completely failed and I had to pick up whole chunks of "wood" for a good while. I ended up taking it back of course and got a full refund, but nonetheless I would never recommend this desk to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (22) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arandomcollegekid
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Never
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent computer desk
4/17/2017

Customer review by SweetAsh

4.0 stars 4/17/2017 by SweetAsh
by SweetAsh

It was a little difficult to put it together (i.e. screws wanting to go in crooked and then the painting would chip a little when I would have to unscrew it.) Putting the keyboard tray on was the most confusing part. I just had to guess because the instructions weren't very helpful. I got it on my first try though (all luck). A lot of people are complaining about the keyboard tray but they are probably putting it on wrong. It's very easy to think it goes on upside down because visually it is barely different but it'll completely change how well it rolls out. At a few points, you'll need another person to help you. I recommend to have an extra set of hands for this. There is a small chip on the desk already, I'm not even sure how it happened but I noticed it before I was even finished putting it together. All in all, for the price, I think the desk is worth it. (I wish they had the white one in stock though)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SweetAsh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
terrible stability, fell apart
5/13/2017

Customer review by austin

1.0 stars 5/13/2017 by austin
by austin

i bought this item at a local Walmart thought i was getting a good product. i had to make a trip back to the store for missing parts. i was allowed to take the parts out of another box, no big deal there. after about a month of owning this desk the left side leg completely folded in and everything on the desk ended up on the floor thank god it did not ruin my monitor. i had to brace the leg with atleast 10 black screws i still dont trust it. the keyboard trey has been broken since day one the right side support ripped right out of its support rendering it not usable. very poor quality i would of never bought this product if i had read the reviews first. wish i could get my money back

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/15/2017

Hi Austin, We thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had with our Mainstays L-Shaped Desk. All reviews are shared with our product development and quality control departments in an effort to improve the overall consumer experience moving forward. If this is still an issue, we would like the opportunity to rectify the situation. Please contact our customer service team at your convenience. We can be reached at 1-800-489-3351 and are available 9:00 am to 5:00 pm (Central time) - Monday through Friday. We look forward to hearing from you.

austin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cheap Product
1/26/2017

Customer review by Sarah

1.0 stars 1/26/2017 by Sarah
by Sarah

The box was damaged and the desk was cracked when I bought it. I thought okay it's just that little wooden piece on the top I can handled that being cracked. When I put the desk together it broke ripping the screws out where the joints are. DO not buy this desk. It is made out of cheap cardboard and rips at every rivet and joint. It will fall apart. It is also very hard to put together. My desk is missing the knob for the door. You don't get all the screws and parts you need to put it together. Again this is cheaply made and if you want a desk then go to the local furniture store to get a desk because this is not even worth the money they are advertising.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/7/2017

Hi Sarah, We apologize you are not satisfied with your Mainstays L-Shaped Desk. If you are in need of assistance or replacement parts, please give us a call. We can be reached at 1-800-489-3351 and are available 9:00 am to 5:00 pm (Central time) - Monday through Friday.

Sarah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice desk, but ...
2/13/2017

Customer review by JanMarie42

3.0 stars 2/13/2017 by JanMarie42
by JanMarie42
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The desk seems sturdy and looks (mostly) like the picture. I am writing to Walmart about the problems I encountered. The cabinet door doesn't fit well. It has a large gap at the bottom (large enough to see the items in it) and a gap at the top. Additionally, the l-shaped board that attaches came out of the box with one small chip on it and a long scratch on it. I'm covering the scratch with a wall calendar, and it is almost the length of that calendar. I don't know yet if Walmart will do anything about this. They may take care of it somehow, and if so, I will try to take this review down.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 2/13/2017

Hi JanMarie42, We apologize that you received a damaged part with your Mainstays L-Shaped Desk with Hutch. If you are in need of assistance and/or replacement parts, please give us a call. We can be reached at 1-800-489-3351 and are available 9:00 am to 5:00 pm (Central time) - Monday through Friday.

JanMarie42
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 1792 total reviews
1-20 of 1792 reviews