Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

27 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 27 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Foaming Root Killer
6/11/2016

Customer review by ETCH

4.0 stars 6/11/2016 by ETCH
by ETCH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 3 bottles of the product...and I'm glad I did. Reviews I read noted some people had a problem with the contents being "a solid mass" rather than a powder. I agree with that. Two of the 3 bottles were fine....the 3rd was a hardened mess. The problem is that the manufacturer does not have a seal on the top of the bottle which lets moisture in and hardens the contents. A pull-tab seal would resolve this issue. I was able to return the defective bottle for a refund....but the aggravation of having to make the unnecessary trip back to the store could have been avoided if the product was properly packaged. Open the bottle and check before you buy. If you buy on-line, like I did, I would have delivered to a store for pickup and check the bottles then.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ETCH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works!
2/8/2016

Customer review by chickenpilot

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by chickenpilot
by chickenpilot
Top 250 contributor

I have had an issue with pepper tree roots invading my plumbing for some years now. I ran across this product on Walmart's website and decided to try it. Although without disassembling the toilet and checking down inside the pipes, it's not possible to tell if all the roots are gone, it seems that the toilet is flowing more freely. I'll try it again in a few months and see if there's an improvement. One thing to be aware of is that it really does foam up on contact with water and you have to dump it quickly in the toilet and immediately flush, otherwise the product will foam over the edge of the toilet bowl. The product was somewhat clumped in the container and I had to knock it on the side of the bowl in order to get all the product out before flushing and almost didn't make it -- so the container should be shaken very well before emptying.

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chickenpilot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 250 contributor
No more sewer line backups!
2/5/2015

Customer review by Hank17

5.0 stars 2/5/2015 by Hank17
by Hank17

About ten years ago, the drain from my house backed up. The plumber found roots filling the drain line in the yard near the street, and for $200 cleared them. This mess repeated the next year, and the time between clogs was shorter each year, until the drains were backing up every four months. Often this occurred on a Friday evening; go figure. It was nasty inside, plus we couldn't run water or flush until the plumber came. About five years ago, I tried Roebic foaming root killer, hopeful that foam filling the pipe would work better than other line treatments. Since my roots were near the street, I was able to dump the powder into a cleanout plug outside the house. I decided to repeat the application in the cleanout (dump the powder and follow it with a 3 1/2 gallon bucket of water) every 3 months. I have not had another sewer line backup in 5 years! I would hug the guy/gal who developed this product if I met him or her. HIGHLY recommended.

Was this review helpful? (38) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hank17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not many Root Killer available
5/14/2016

Customer review by TwelveMan

4.0 stars 5/14/2016 by TwelveMan
by TwelveMan

My existing drain line consists extreme slope. I am flushing my money down the steep slope drain pipe. I wished the foaming action could be more vigorously and the foaming or bubble could bust inside the drain line and split solution thru out the pipe. I hope that really kill the roots surrounding the pipe permanently. I constantly use the root killer every 4 - 6 months. Someone dropped two wiped tower down the drain line and the roots caught the tower. The drain snake pulled out the tower and small amount root. I am still using this root killer. Approximately next year, I'll hire a camera run down the drain line (300 ft) to locate the root problem area. To determine if the root killer really works or I have to replace the concrete pipe with a larger plastic pipe. I hope that some smart kids could invent a solution that really work by petrified the outer of the drain line to prevent tree roots penetration the moisture area. Or the chemical that would send the message to tree root "Don't get any closer or else". I don't mind to pay a thousand buck for a solution that really works.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwelveMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
root killer
8/13/2016

Customer review by winterman3

2.0 stars 8/13/2016 by winterman3
by winterman3
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

was hard in the plastic jar. Had to spoon it out. But it did foam up!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
winterman3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/30/2012

Customer review by MEBIN

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by MEBIN
by MEBIN

For use with sewer systems, not septic systems. I own a house that required root removal from sewer line twice per year until I found Roebic Foaming Root Killer. I have been using this product for 3 or 4 years and have not had a problem with roots since I started using it.

Was this review helpful? (111) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MEBIN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
Working Well If You Know When to Use It
4/21/2012

Customer review by HighHope

4.0 stars 4/21/2012 by HighHope
by HighHope

I have been using this product for 4-5 years now. The first couple times I did not follow the instructions very well (I used it either after the drainage pipe was clogged or right after the roots were removed), and I did not think it worked very well. However, for the last 2-3 years, I've used it every six months (before the pipe was clogged with tree roots), and my sewage system has been flowing freely. I think the manufacturer should try to find a better way to inform their customers about when to use this product in order to see good results.

Was this review helpful? (64) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighHope
Saint Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Keep your sewer pipe clear
4/12/2012

Customer review by Juliusz

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by Juliusz
by Juliusz

In order to prevent gigantic plumbing bills, I have started using this sewer pipe cleaner. The pipes that go from my home to the main sewer line are made of this glorified tar paper called "orangeburg" and allow plant roots to grow inside them and make for a nasty clog. The Roebic stuff is great since all it requires is to throw a bottle of it into the toilet and flush, and suddenly your pipes are clear. Much cheaper than a plumper and a back hoe.

Was this review helpful? (70) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juliusz
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Extremely good product
4/2/2013

Customer review by archangel145

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by archangel145
by archangel145
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As a plumber I recommend it after cleaning a sewer line clogged by root growth. This product does what it says it kills roots and continues after intial treatment.

Was this review helpful? (55) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
archangel145
Marlette, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great root killing product!
11/13/2012

Customer review by propowerrooter

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by propowerrooter
by propowerrooter

This product has the same exact ingredients as rootx that costs almost 3 times the amount and you also need a plumbers licence to purchase, use this as directed and ONLY after cabling the drain with a drain cleaning machine with cutting bits or it will not work!

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
propowerrooter
Colorado springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Best $20 I ever "literally" flushed down the toile
9/16/2014

Customer review by Rina10

5.0 stars 9/16/2014 by Rina10
by Rina10

My pipes were backing up into tub, sinks, shower and toilet was overflowing, I thought it could be roots by alot of research. I followed the instructions exactly it said "limited water usage for 4-6 hours" I let it sit overnight ended up about 7 hours and everything is working like there was never a problem. We heard like a burp in the line and I never smiled so big, I dont have the money to hire someone and to be honest this was alot of money for me but the best money I ever spent!!! Would recommend to everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rina10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dried out junk
7/11/2016

Customer review by Fla12

1.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Fla12
by Fla12
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received 3 bottles of this product and all three were no longer powder as expected but were solid blocks of junk. These bottles need a vacuum seal from the factory to keep them from getting moisture in the bottle prior to purchase..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fla12
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
11/20/2015

Customer review by Kitkat

5.0 stars 11/20/2015 by Kitkat
by Kitkat

I love Robek products! I've used them for over 30 years and have never had one problem with my septic system!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitkat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
came through as promised
6/20/2015

Customer review by unclogged

5.0 stars 6/20/2015 by unclogged
by unclogged

Toilet was clogged, had prior problem with roots last year. I did some research on internet about this product, read reviews before purchasing. Before using I thought there might be a problem with slight back/overflow once product started foaming. Was none at all. Let it sit without flushing for about 6 hours and have not had any problems since, about 3 weeks now

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclogged
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Root Killer
12/31/2014

Customer review by KJWac

3.0 stars 12/31/2014 by KJWac
by KJWac

I watched the video on the Roebic website to get hints on how to use. Because my sewer line was longer than fifty feet (according to the video one bottle is good for fifty feet, two bottles will do seventy-five feet) and the root problem was beyond a cleanout in my yard, I determined the best way to use it was dump it down the cleanout and follow it by about three gallons of water. There was one problem. Moisture had gotten to the granules in the bottle and it was one giant lump. I broke up the lump and put it down the cleanout followed by the water. I contacted Roebic Customer Service to see if my bottle was defective because of the moisture. They claimed that several customers had reported this problem with bottles bought at Walmart. Roebic claims that they have tested the root killer in this condition and it still works properly. I think Roebic needs to put a real seal under the bottle cap so that moisture doesn't get into the product. Because of where I placed the product, I can't really tell if it worked. I have to trust Roebic Customer Service that it did. I was told by them that because of my long line, I should use the Roebic K-77 root killer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJWac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Root Problems
11/27/2012

Customer review by kingpilot

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by kingpilot
by kingpilot
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you are tired of paying a plumber to clean out your sewer pipes because of tree roots invading the line, then this is the product you need. First you have to have a flowing sewer line, if it is clogged it must be cleared and flowing first. Pour it into your toilet all in one flush. It is better if you put it in a larger container and mix it up. Then flush and as the water starts to swirl pour it in to the swirl. It works great and will keep the roots out. I put it in every month right now because it is cheaper than calling a plumber. Next month I will start putting it in every 3 months.

Was this review helpful? (23) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kingpilot
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheaper than replacing your line.
11/7/2014

Customer review by LynnFM

4.0 stars 11/7/2014 by LynnFM
by LynnFM

Years ago, I started having spider roots growing into my drain line outside of the house. Disaster is an easy word to use when describing this. You know exactly what I'm talking about if you've experienced it, too. I had to have a plumber out at various times over the years to run the snake with a grinding bit on the end of it repeatedly. Replacing the exterior line was not an option ($5000-$10,000), yet it was costing me at least $300 every time that someone came out - once even two times in as many weeks. Then, my house burned. (Yeah, I know that it sounds like a country song) The exterior line was completely impacted with debris and water for weeks after the fire. During rebuilding, my contractor worked with his plumber of choice, who had years of experience, and he recommended that I try Roebic's Foaming Root Killer. He said that it was the same thing as in Root X and much cheaper. So, I started using it. Yes, I do still have the problems in the line, because I have very large trees in my yard, and I still can't afford the ever expensive replacing the line. But, I honestly believe that this product has reduced the number of my problems. I've taken to using it every, few months, just as an extra precaution, even though it says to use it once a year. But, I would much prefer to be safer than sorry. I do tend to have the issues more during the dry times of the year, because that's when roots are searching for water sources, and cracked, water lines are the perfect target for them. And as much as I love my current plumber who had to come out again this week because I haven't been home to keep up with my lines, he offered to use Root X on the line for $140. I'll continue using Roebic ($20). Is it the perfect resolution to the problem? No, nothing outside of replacing the line is going to take care of that. But when used in a common sense manner as a preventative, it's been a great product. Would I continue using it, even if it meant that I had to pay $20 a month to buy a container of it? Absolutely. And PS for those who have questioned - when you use it, do so when you head out to work in the morning or at night before you go to bed. Give it at least 5 hours to sit in the lines with no water running through them. The longer, the better. And when you do use it, have a bucket of water with you. Pour the root killer into the toilet and quickly pour the bucket of water in with it, this will prevent the foaming from happening so quickly that you can't flush in time. Then, just flush away. Make sure you wash your hands afterward. All done!

Was this review helpful? (23) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LynnFM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Foaming root killer
2/26/2016

Customer review by Janice

4.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Janice
by Janice

product seems to work good. Needs to be sold in a larger size.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Janice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
FRK6
4/4/2016

Customer review by FormerBoyScout

4.0 stars 4/4/2016 by FormerBoyScout
by FormerBoyScout

I have used this item to help keep my main drain line clear of roots for many years. Seems to do the job well. It foams rather quickly so it is important to flush it down quickly so it coats the insides of the drain as it moves toward the street. This is kind of tricky to do with low flow toilets. I usually just save a bucket of shower warmup water and use that for the initial flush followed by one more low flow flush to move the foam down the pipe. You can also divide the stuff into two portions and use two flushes followed by the final flush to move the two boluses down the pipe.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FormerBoyScout
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product would not come out of jar.
11/4/2015

Customer review by Sissy

1.0 stars 11/4/2015 by Sissy
by Sissy

I purchased the 1lb foaming Roebic Root Killer product today. When trying to use it, following directions, I couldn't get product out of the jar, even with a plastic knife. It was hard and sticky as clay. I'm taking it back to the store for a refund tomorrow. My jar did not have the seal usually found in such products. From what I've read since, moisture must have gotten into the jar. I've used the Dep, or is it Zep(?) product, and it works. I'll go back to it. It is harder to find in my area. Joyce

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sissy
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews