Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 49 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

49 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

49 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
1-20 of 49 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews
Works well but you might have application issues
5/8/2017

Customer review by Autobug

3.0 stars 5/8/2017 by Autobug
by Autobug

I've used this product for several years now, I know it works as I've not had to call the plumber out to clean out roots going on 4 years now. Previously I had to call him yearly. I use it every 3 to 4 months as I have 1950's clay sewer lines that are less than 20 feet from a 50 year old Maple tree. But there is a problem, the product tends to cake up and become a semi-solid making it difficult to quickly dump it in your toilet. You have to dig out the caked contents and break up the lumps in a larger container. Wear safety googles and perform this task outside if you can. This method works fine for me and I've advised Roebic of the issue. Judging from the reviews from other vendors the problem is apparently common. Still the product works, kills the roots and if you don't mind doing a little pre application preparation should do the job for you as well. I was reluctant to answer the question would i recommend it to a friend because I would first determine that person's ability to safely handle the product should it require container extraction and breakup prior to application.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Autobug
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No more sewer line backups!
2/5/2015

Customer review by Hank17

5.0 stars 2/5/2015 by Hank17
by Hank17

About ten years ago, the drain from my house backed up. The plumber found roots filling the drain line in the yard near the street, and for $200 cleared them. This mess repeated the next year, and the time between clogs was shorter each year, until the drains were backing up every four months. Often this occurred on a Friday evening; go figure. It was nasty inside, plus we couldn't run water or flush until the plumber came. About five years ago, I tried Roebic foaming root killer, hopeful that foam filling the pipe would work better than other line treatments. Since my roots were near the street, I was able to dump the powder into a cleanout plug outside the house. I decided to repeat the application in the cleanout (dump the powder and follow it with a 3 1/2 gallon bucket of water) every 3 months. I have not had another sewer line backup in 5 years! I would hug the guy/gal who developed this product if I met him or her. HIGHLY recommended.

Was this review helpful? (113) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hank17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So disappointed
5/3/2017

Customer review by nicknamecc

1.0 stars 5/3/2017 by nicknamecc
by nicknamecc

So disappointed .. no caking up problem like some have had. It all went right down easily. I had this picture in my head of foam going every where since the toilet is on the slow side flushing. It foamed very very little. But, its been 3 days now and nothing. I know its roots of a particular tree. I did the application before I went to sleep, used the kitchen sink and toilet very little the next day. So, wow .. what could be the problem ? It worked for many others so it seems. The tree is not that far from where the line joins the main line.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nicknamecc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Roebic Foaming Root Killer
12/26/2016

Customer review by Lkkms

5.0 stars 12/26/2016 by Lkkms
by Lkkms
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Roebic Foaming Root Killer contacts and kills roots at the top of the sewer pipe where no other product can! You can call the company and get great technical support on how to best to use to be most effective. Content should pour out but if a little old could be stiff and need to break up. Reacts immediately in water when the two powders (usually separated by a thin tissue) mix together in the water. Warmer water or prewarmed pipe can accelerate the chemical foaming action. Wear gloves and don't breathe the dust.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lkkms
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It works!
2/8/2016

Customer review by chickenpilot

5.0 stars 2/8/2016 by chickenpilot
by chickenpilot
Top 250 contributor

I have had an issue with pepper tree roots invading my plumbing for some years now. I ran across this product on Walmart's website and decided to try it. Although without disassembling the toilet and checking down inside the pipes, it's not possible to tell if all the roots are gone, it seems that the toilet is flowing more freely. I'll try it again in a few months and see if there's an improvement. One thing to be aware of is that it really does foam up on contact with water and you have to dump it quickly in the toilet and immediately flush, otherwise the product will foam over the edge of the toilet bowl. The product was somewhat clumped in the container and I had to knock it on the side of the bowl in order to get all the product out before flushing and almost didn't make it -- so the container should be shaken very well before emptying.

Was this review helpful? (83) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chickenpilot
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 250 contributor
Excellent
2/18/2017

Customer review by trucker

5.0 stars 2/18/2017 by trucker
by trucker

Was about to pay thru the nose to dig the pipes. Cleared the lines an being used to maintain it. Not a instant fix but over about four days completely clwared

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trucker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Foaming Root Killer
3/4/2017

Customer review by Unmpressed

4.0 stars 3/4/2017 by Unmpressed
by Unmpressed
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

hm... This is root killer... for roots in sewer pipes.. I assume that it's working. I spend very little in there. At this point, I'm taking their word for it. The foaming part definately works. Whatever you do, don't dump it in the toilet bowel and then take a call. Flush immediately or you will be up to your armpits in caustic foam. If you are wearing a root suit it will probably die.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unmpressed
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Foaming Root Killer
6/11/2016

Customer review by ETCH

4.0 stars 6/11/2016 by ETCH
by ETCH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought 3 bottles of the product...and I'm glad I did. Reviews I read noted some people had a problem with the contents being "a solid mass" rather than a powder. I agree with that. Two of the 3 bottles were fine....the 3rd was a hardened mess. The problem is that the manufacturer does not have a seal on the top of the bottle which lets moisture in and hardens the contents. A pull-tab seal would resolve this issue. I was able to return the defective bottle for a refund....but the aggravation of having to make the unnecessary trip back to the store could have been avoided if the product was properly packaged. Open the bottle and check before you buy. If you buy on-line, like I did, I would have delivered to a store for pickup and check the bottles then.

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ETCH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Foaming Root Killer
3/11/2017

Customer review by Geba

1.0 stars 3/11/2017 by Geba
by Geba
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When I opened this can, the "powder" was stuck together in a giant, hard mass, as though it had gotten wet. I had to pry pieces out of the can with a screwdriver and ended up putting it down my pluming in several sessions rather than all at once as directed, since it was all stuck together. I have no idea whether it will do any good at all in my plumbing and would not recommend it due to the condition of the product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Geba
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Working Well If You Know When to Use It
4/21/2012

Customer review by HighHope

4.0 stars 4/21/2012 by HighHope
by HighHope

I have been using this product for 4-5 years now. The first couple times I did not follow the instructions very well (I used it either after the drainage pipe was clogged or right after the roots were removed), and I did not think it worked very well. However, for the last 2-3 years, I've used it every six months (before the pipe was clogged with tree roots), and my sewage system has been flowing freely. I think the manufacturer should try to find a better way to inform their customers about when to use this product in order to see good results.

Was this review helpful? (96) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighHope
Saint Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Keep your sewer pipe clear
4/12/2012

Customer review by Juliusz

5.0 stars 4/12/2012 by Juliusz
by Juliusz

In order to prevent gigantic plumbing bills, I have started using this sewer pipe cleaner. The pipes that go from my home to the main sewer line are made of this glorified tar paper called "orangeburg" and allow plant roots to grow inside them and make for a nasty clog. The Roebic stuff is great since all it requires is to throw a bottle of it into the toilet and flush, and suddenly your pipes are clear. Much cheaper than a plumper and a back hoe.

Was this review helpful? (83) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Juliusz
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
came through as promised
6/20/2015

Customer review by unclogged

5.0 stars 6/20/2015 by unclogged
by unclogged

Toilet was clogged, had prior problem with roots last year. I did some research on internet about this product, read reviews before purchasing. Before using I thought there might be a problem with slight back/overflow once product started foaming. Was none at all. Let it sit without flushing for about 6 hours and have not had any problems since, about 3 weeks now

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unclogged
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Root Killer
11/20/2016

Customer review by txjustice

3.0 stars 11/20/2016 by txjustice
by txjustice
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You have to watch this product to make sure moisture has not affected it. We went through 4 bottles to get the one that was not hard. Good product but make sure the powder is not stiff from moisture.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txjustice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/30/2012

Customer review by MEBIN

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by MEBIN
by MEBIN

For use with sewer systems, not septic systems. I own a house that required root removal from sewer line twice per year until I found Roebic Foaming Root Killer. I have been using this product for 3 or 4 years and have not had a problem with roots since I started using it.

Was this review helpful? (131) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MEBIN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:Longer than one year
Extremely good product
4/2/2013

Customer review by archangel145

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by archangel145
by archangel145
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As a plumber I recommend it after cleaning a sewer line clogged by root growth. This product does what it says it kills roots and continues after intial treatment.

Was this review helpful? (76) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
archangel145
Marlette, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per month
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Arrived in poor condition
2/12/2017

Customer review by brittcsg

1.0 stars 2/12/2017 by brittcsg
by brittcsg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate

It was so compacted in the container it came in that I had to dig it out with a spoon handle. And not a disposable one either! That surely would've broken the spoon. Very disappointing to receive both of the containers like this!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brittcsg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Walmart associate
Best $20 I ever "literally" flushed down the toile
9/16/2014

Customer review by Rina10

5.0 stars 9/16/2014 by Rina10
by Rina10

My pipes were backing up into tub, sinks, shower and toilet was overflowing, I thought it could be roots by alot of research. I followed the instructions exactly it said "limited water usage for 4-6 hours" I let it sit overnight ended up about 7 hours and everything is working like there was never a problem. We heard like a burp in the line and I never smiled so big, I dont have the money to hire someone and to be honest this was alot of money for me but the best money I ever spent!!! Would recommend to everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? (63) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rina10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
product was solidified like it had been moist.
3/13/2017

Customer review by Br83

1.0 stars 3/13/2017 by Br83
by Br83
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used this product before and it seems to work. But the product got from Walmart was solidified like it had been moist so it could not easily be poured into the toilet. I took the jar back to Walmart and went and bought it from HomeDepot instead.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Br83
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Root Killer
12/31/2014

Customer review by KJWac

3.0 stars 12/31/2014 by KJWac
by KJWac

I watched the video on the Roebic website to get hints on how to use. Because my sewer line was longer than fifty feet (according to the video one bottle is good for fifty feet, two bottles will do seventy-five feet) and the root problem was beyond a cleanout in my yard, I determined the best way to use it was dump it down the cleanout and follow it by about three gallons of water. There was one problem. Moisture had gotten to the granules in the bottle and it was one giant lump. I broke up the lump and put it down the cleanout followed by the water. I contacted Roebic Customer Service to see if my bottle was defective because of the moisture. They claimed that several customers had reported this problem with bottles bought at Walmart. Roebic claims that they have tested the root killer in this condition and it still works properly. I think Roebic needs to put a real seal under the bottle cap so that moisture doesn't get into the product. Because of where I placed the product, I can't really tell if it worked. I have to trust Roebic Customer Service that it did. I was told by them that because of my long line, I should use the Roebic K-77 root killer.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJWac
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not many Root Killer available
5/14/2016

Customer review by TwelveMan

4.0 stars 5/14/2016 by TwelveMan
by TwelveMan

My existing drain line consists extreme slope. I am flushing my money down the steep slope drain pipe. I wished the foaming action could be more vigorously and the foaming or bubble could bust inside the drain line and split solution thru out the pipe. I hope that really kill the roots surrounding the pipe permanently. I constantly use the root killer every 4 - 6 months. Someone dropped two wiped tower down the drain line and the roots caught the tower. The drain snake pulled out the tower and small amount root. I am still using this root killer. Approximately next year, I'll hire a camera run down the drain line (300 ft) to locate the root problem area. To determine if the root killer really works or I have to replace the concrete pipe with a larger plastic pipe. I hope that some smart kids could invent a solution that really work by petrified the outer of the drain line to prevent tree roots penetration the moisture area. Or the chemical that would send the message to tree root "Don't get any closer or else". I don't mind to pay a thousand buck for a solution that really works.

Was this review helpful? (11) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TwelveMan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1-20 of 49 reviews