Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 31 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

31 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

31 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

61%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
1-20 of 30 total reviews
61%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews
4-day old clog busted! Germophobe happy!
12/31/2011

Customer review by jenniep32

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by jenniep32
by jenniep32

Being a mild germaphobe, I do not own a plunger and never intend to. So my spare bathroom had a clog for 4 days that would not drain for any reason whatsoever! I had just had a plumber over a month ago to make sure my washer was properly installed and he found some more issues that he had to fix and it had cost a pretty penny, so I was very worried that I would have to call him again. Online, I found suggestions for baking soda, hot water, dish-washing fluid, tried them all, NOTHING WORKED! I waited 4 days for the plug to work itself out as water slowly drained past it, but no such luck. Being near tears, and ready to throw dynamite down the thing, I went to Wal-Mart and five dollars and some change later, I poured the liquid lightning slowly down the almost over-filling toilet, and just as I was getting to the bottom of the bottle, walla! I heard a trickle, trickle, trickle, and then swoosh! Everything went and I was standing there like, "Oh my goodness! NO, THAT DIDN'T HAPPEN IN FRONT OF MY EYES!" But it did! THIS IS THE BEST THING OUT THERE (If it destroys my pipes, I'll be back here to report it, but for now, it worked PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT!). I can't say enough about this!

Was this review helpful? (40) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jenniep32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Just... WOW... Beyond Expectations.
1/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i have tried plunging it for two days and using all the other liquid plumbers and Draino to no effect... I put this in it left the room and came back in and it was all drained... this worked way beyond my expectations than the other stuff...

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
6/12/2012

Customer review by destroyed

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by destroyed
by destroyed

The minute that this product was poured into my toilet it not only cracked the toilet but the base. As I am writing this review there is a plumber repairing both. This $9.00 item turned into a $200 major repair along with a new toilet. By the way it never unplugged the toilet! Signed, Dissatisfied customer

Was this review helpful? (24) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
destroyed
miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Piece of JUNK -- DO NOT BUY -- WILL RUIN YOUR SINK
9/8/2012

Customer review by 888999

1.0 stars 9/8/2012 by 888999
by 888999

Just bought and used this product to unclog our kitchen sink..followed directions as described step by step...stank the entire home for days...burnt the sink literally ruined the finished layer of of sink...we will have to get a new sink now :-( at the end, DID NOT SOLVE the problem...instead made the problem worse and clogged even further...ended up using "snake" for over 2 hours to unclog... ****stay miles away from this****

Was this review helpful? (10) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
888999
Ballwin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Best Drain Clog Remover/Slow Drain cleaner EVER
6/21/2014

Customer review by spudler

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by spudler
by spudler

I have used quite a few different, Slow Drain Cleaners and Drain Clog Removers, Most of them were Sodium Hydroxide ( Caustic Lye) which I would of thought would of worked best. But I have had a drain from washing machine that every so often starts slowing down then I use some mainline cleaner and it speeds it back up, but I have always thought it should drain faster. Last night the drain was acting up and pretty much stopped. could drain a trickle of water that's all, Needed to wash cloths so I went to find something quicker then normal 8-10 hours normal cleaner I use. I seen this Sulfuric acid one and it said cleans in 15 min so I bought it. I took off vent pipe (Bypass the S trap that way) and dumped the bottle in and installed vent pipe again. waited 15 min went to flush and I thought Oh no it did not work as water was backing up, then the water got bubbly like soda and gone was the water. I have NEVER been able to run both my Hot and cold water full power in sink without backing up. Normally I am lucky to run cold or hot at full without backing up in sink.. I am so impressed, This stuff blew me away never expected drain to be 200% better.

Was this review helpful? (18) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spudler
Milwaukie, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
I couldn't be happier!!!!!
1/8/2013

Customer review by RedMcWrist

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by RedMcWrist
by RedMcWrist

I have a floor drain in the basement that gets clogged and overflows every 6 months or so and I normally jam a small garden hose down the access hole that bypasses the trap and turn the water on high and it breaks the clog free. This time it didn't work. (NOTE: this main drain is for the kitchen sink with a garbage disposal, laundry tub, water softener, dehumidifier, and humidifier for the furnace) After reading reviews and watching a convincing youtube demonstration, I tried Liquid Lightning. The clog I had was not complete. It just wouldn't allow water to flow fast enough without it overflowing onto the floor. There was standing water in the bottom 1/4 of the drain and I slowly poured the whole bottle in and immediately it started fizzing and bubbling. I put the plug back in to prevent the smell from getting in the house and waited 20 minutes. Then I tried flushing with cold water but it freed up so much muck leading to the main clog that it clogged it more. I jammed the garden hose down the drain about 15 feet and was able to break the clog free so at least water would go down. I then used another full bottle and repeated the same thing. I could then run the water full blast without it backing up! Liquid Lightning dissolved so much junk in my drain which no other product I used previously could do. Since about 15 ft of drain was clear of junk now, I decided to pour a 3rd bottle down the drain to dissolve stuff past 15 ft. Maybe it won't clog for years now, I hope! The drain has never been this clean probably in the 29 years of living in this house. By the way, the drain pipe I used this product on is steel.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedMcWrist
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
BUY LIQID FIRE in RED BOTTLE
11/26/2012

Customer review by stef1978

1.0 stars 11/26/2012 by stef1978
by stef1978

I recommend finding Liquid FIRE-this stuff dd nothing for a clog, and was a total waste of money!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stef1978
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
It works
10/26/2012

Customer review by Bankshot84

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Bankshot84
by Bankshot84

Hello, I had a pretty bad clog in my shower. I tried several different drain cleaners and they didn't work. So I gave this one a try after looking up sailfuric acid drain cleaners, I just follow the direction very carefully and after 25min I had a clear drain. Very happy and will use and recommend again :D

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bankshot84
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wish I had better news, BUT
8/3/2014

Customer review by anothernickel

1.0 stars 8/3/2014 by anothernickel
by anothernickel

Buying this product is the worst mistake I've made since majoring in journalism or wearing ballet flats when 8 months pregnant. Effectiveness in unclogging tub drain: Zero. Ruining the surface of the bathtub and taking us an hour to bail black water out of the tub after we ran water into the drain as per directions: Excellent. I should add that, since it doesn't remove the clog and stagnates in your tub while eating large chunks out of the surface, an added bonus is that your entire house will smell like rotten eggs for an undetermined amount of time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
anothernickel
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Clogged Kitchen Sink
3/16/2013

Customer review by teesrus27

1.0 stars 3/16/2013 by teesrus27
by teesrus27

This did not unclog my kitchen sink. At the most, the water runs possibly a tad faster but not much.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teesrus27
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Horrible
9/14/2012

Customer review by tigermamma

1.0 stars 9/14/2012 by tigermamma
by tigermamma

Do not spend your money on this product unless you want to replace your kitchen sink. I used this product and it ate away all the seals on my sink. Now I have to replace my sink

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tigermamma
Waynesfield, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
This Works!
1/1/2015

Customer review by ktmabq

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by ktmabq
by ktmabq

We had problems with our kitchen sink for three days. I tried several products, by the gallon and no success. My wife went to Walmart to get more and a lady recommended liquid lightening. Since we had no success with the other products. What the heck, one more try before going into a wall to get to the main pipe. So, used two bottles, instead of one, as we were getting desperate. 15 minutes and the water drains as it should. I expect it is because this is an acid base product. However, it says OK for all pipes. Guess they are right. I will never use another product. This stuff really works!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ktmabq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Miracle worker
1/19/2015

Customer review by Winborne

5.0 stars 1/19/2015 by Winborne
by Winborne

Works thru standing water. It cleared the drain within 5 min. I have personally referred several friends to use this product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Winborne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
doesn't work
10/31/2014

Customer review by catherinesjy

1.0 stars 10/31/2014 by catherinesjy
by catherinesjy

Follow the instruction and pour the whole bottle in to the tub. After 15 minutes, open the cold water tap and water is still standing. Finally use a tool to remove the stuffs out. All that make my tub blocked are hairs. This product is so poor that cannot decompose the hairs.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
catherinesjy
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad drainage
5/24/2013

Customer review by draincleaningfool

5.0 stars 5/24/2013 by draincleaningfool
by draincleaningfool

I had a bad drain issue in my shower causing the washer to flow into the shower. I used this for 15 minutes and 2 times for 15 minutes on the shower. Black sludge was emitting from the shower like foam. rinsed away and don't have the problem anymore. I can see how it damages plumbing, but at the same time I have old metal pipes. I don't recommend using with pvc piping. it was worth trying I feel

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
draincleaningfool
indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
9/7/2012

Customer review by nc1977

5.0 stars 9/7/2012 by nc1977
by nc1977

it works just they way it said!

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nc1977
greensboro, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
had a plug
3/17/2013

Customer review by daviddsx

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by daviddsx
by daviddsx

i had a plugged drain for close to a year. tried many drain cleaners most did little to nothing. pro strength liquid plumr clog destroyer along with alot of plunger action would open it up some would use a gallon and sit for up to 12 hours. plummer wanted over $1000. to rip apart wall and replace pipes. in less then 2 hours my drain is running better then in a very long time. not 100% but good. I'd give it 5 stars but i don't give 5 stars unless its perfect. but i highly recommend it. not the gallon size one that looks the same but bigger (did not work). But this one worked great

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daviddsx
Waukesha , WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Cleared Clogged main under toiled
1/28/2013

Customer review by 379Driver

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by 379Driver
by 379Driver

Woke up this morning to a clogged toilet drain.Like anyone would. I grabbed the plunger and went to work.The only progress I made was to push the water up and out the sink drain.Well to make a long story short. My wife told me we had some of a drain clearing acid called "Drain Lightning".I poured it down the toiled and waited the required time and it was cleared.I highly recommend this stuff.I bet it would work with slow drains also since it flows to the clog and sticks to it.PLEASE FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS TO THE LETTER!!!.This stuff is very dangerous.But it works!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
379Driver
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Works Every Time
2/21/2013

Customer review by SSHHGG

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by SSHHGG
by SSHHGG

We've been using this for years - only thing that works for our basement drain. We've tried everything else. Follow the directions *exactly* as written. Don't let it come in contact with any of your fixture finishes (chrome, bronze, nickel). It will discolor it. Most importantly, I strongly urge everyone to take all precautions to cover your skin and eyes. It *will* burn you. I wear long gloves and safety glasses. Even pouring it slowly into the drain results in tiny splash ups that you won't know about until your skin begins to burn.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SSHHGG
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Super fast
6/16/2015

Customer review by poppieof5

5.0 stars 6/16/2015 by poppieof5
by poppieof5

Liquid Lightning started working as soon as I started pouring. After a few seconds I could hear air going through as the clog dissolved. I let it sit for a while and then turned on the shower, and the water went straight down the drain.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
poppieof5
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1-20 of 30 reviews