Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
13
1-20 of 37 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews
Loved It!!
11/6/2015

Customer review by Loy97

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by Loy97
by Loy97

After reading the reviews, I came to realized that this product might not work on standing water. So, I bought the product and I made sure to use it when the water level was below the drain level. I didn't have a complete clog. The water still drained, but very super slow. I used about 3 ounces of the Liquid Lightning and waiting the 15 minutes, then ran the water. I ran the water slowly to make sure it didn't come out the drain, I didn't want to ruin the tub finish. I noticed that the water came up and wasn't going down fast enough, so I waited until it went down far enough and I tried it again 3-4 ounces in the drain. Oh, and I used a funnel to do this to make sure nothing fell on the finish. This last wait time was about 30 minutes because I got caught us with dinner. When I went back to check the tub, I turned on the water slowly and the water never came up again. I then turned it up full blast and the water drained faster than it ever did. I love this product and I totally recommend it to anyone!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loy97
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It Works!
12/19/2015

Customer review by Lindy

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by Lindy
by Lindy

I had to use it twice, but it worked! Had been plunging for hours. Drano did not work. Snaked the drain. Dish soap and boiling water method did not work this time. Definitely effective!

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works great!!
11/21/2015

Customer review by goody021

5.0 stars 11/21/2015 by goody021
by goody021

Worked very well, slightly smelly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
goody021
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product
12/16/2015

Customer review by msmimi13

5.0 stars 12/16/2015 by msmimi13
by msmimi13

I absolutely LOVE this product!!! I first used it in my tub because it was draining slow and it cleared it right up and I haven't had any issues of slow drainage since. The second time I used it was for my bathroom sink because it was draining slow... once I used the liquid lightening it cleared it right up. I will continue to use this product as long they keep it on the shelves.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
msmimi13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4-day old clog busted! Germophobe happy!
12/31/2011

Customer review by jenniep32

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by jenniep32
by jenniep32

Being a mild germaphobe, I do not own a plunger and never intend to. So my spare bathroom had a clog for 4 days that would not drain for any reason whatsoever! I had just had a plumber over a month ago to make sure my washer was properly installed and he found some more issues that he had to fix and it had cost a pretty penny, so I was very worried that I would have to call him again. Online, I found suggestions for baking soda, hot water, dish-washing fluid, tried them all, NOTHING WORKED! I waited 4 days for the plug to work itself out as water slowly drained past it, but no such luck. Being near tears, and ready to throw dynamite down the thing, I went to Wal-Mart and five dollars and some change later, I poured the liquid lightning slowly down the almost over-filling toilet, and just as I was getting to the bottom of the bottle, walla! I heard a trickle, trickle, trickle, and then swoosh! Everything went and I was standing there like, "Oh my goodness! NO, THAT DIDN'T HAPPEN IN FRONT OF MY EYES!" But it did! THIS IS THE BEST THING OUT THERE (If it destroys my pipes, I'll be back here to report it, but for now, it worked PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT!). I can't say enough about this!

Was this review helpful? (71) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenniep32
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Worked good
12/3/2015

Customer review by Richie

4.0 stars 12/3/2015 by Richie
by Richie

It does a good job, I just think their other style is a little better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Richie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do Not Use
12/29/2015

Customer review by Leanne

1.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Leanne
by Leanne

Please do not use this. I used it today, It eat my drain stopper. Also my sink is now blacks and looks burned. Also ate part of the drain in the sink. Using it caused more damage. Now more expense to buy a new sink and drain

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leanne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Drain Clog Remover/Slow Drain cleaner EVER
6/21/2014

Customer review by spudler

5.0 stars 6/21/2014 by spudler
by spudler

I have used quite a few different, Slow Drain Cleaners and Drain Clog Removers, Most of them were Sodium Hydroxide ( Caustic Lye) which I would of thought would of worked best. But I have had a drain from washing machine that every so often starts slowing down then I use some mainline cleaner and it speeds it back up, but I have always thought it should drain faster. Last night the drain was acting up and pretty much stopped. could drain a trickle of water that's all, Needed to wash cloths so I went to find something quicker then normal 8-10 hours normal cleaner I use. I seen this Sulfuric acid one and it said cleans in 15 min so I bought it. I took off vent pipe (Bypass the S trap that way) and dumped the bottle in and installed vent pipe again. waited 15 min went to flush and I thought Oh no it did not work as water was backing up, then the water got bubbly like soda and gone was the water. I have NEVER been able to run both my Hot and cold water full power in sink without backing up. Normally I am lucky to run cold or hot at full without backing up in sink.. I am so impressed, This stuff blew me away never expected drain to be 200% better.

Was this review helpful? (29) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
spudler
Milwaukie, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Just... WOW... Beyond Expectations.
1/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

i have tried plunging it for two days and using all the other liquid plumbers and Draino to no effect... I put this in it left the room and came back in and it was all drained... this worked way beyond my expectations than the other stuff...

Was this review helpful? (51) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Columbus, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Magic product with a strong odor
8/10/2015

Customer review by gameboy2014

5.0 stars 8/10/2015 by gameboy2014
by gameboy2014

I am good at tools and have no problem using drain snake. The recent clog did not respond to snake well. I ruined one snake, got another 25-ft snake from Harborfreight. Snake did not seem work. The liquid plumber and Instant Power made things worse, from slow drain to no drain. Plungers did not help either. I ran snake into kitchen sink trap and the bath tub right above. The clog did not budge. Then I read something about liquid plumber crystallization and got worried. I had to do something before crystallization got worse. I bought 3 different opener from Walmart, main line, drano gel and lighting. I chose to put in lightning and was a good choice. In 15 minutes, water started flowing without any clog.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gameboy2014
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best
10/23/2015

Customer review by JaRenee

5.0 stars 10/23/2015 by JaRenee
by JaRenee

It works very good buy it now!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JaRenee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works Every Time
2/21/2013

Customer review by SSHHGG

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by SSHHGG
by SSHHGG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've been using this for years - only thing that works for our basement drain. We've tried everything else. Follow the directions *exactly* as written. Don't let it come in contact with any of your fixture finishes (chrome, bronze, nickel). It will discolor it. Most importantly, I strongly urge everyone to take all precautions to cover your skin and eyes. It *will* burn you. I wear long gloves and safety glasses. Even pouring it slowly into the drain results in tiny splash ups that you won't know about until your skin begins to burn.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SSHHGG
Greenville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
doesn't work
10/31/2014

Customer review by catherinesjy

1.0 stars 10/31/2014 by catherinesjy
by catherinesjy

Follow the instruction and pour the whole bottle in to the tub. After 15 minutes, open the cold water tap and water is still standing. Finally use a tool to remove the stuffs out. All that make my tub blocked are hairs. This product is so poor that cannot decompose the hairs.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
catherinesjy
Would recommend to a friend? No
I couldn't be happier!!!!!
1/8/2013

Customer review by RedMcWrist

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by RedMcWrist
by RedMcWrist

I have a floor drain in the basement that gets clogged and overflows every 6 months or so and I normally jam a small garden hose down the access hole that bypasses the trap and turn the water on high and it breaks the clog free. This time it didn't work. (NOTE: this main drain is for the kitchen sink with a garbage disposal, laundry tub, water softener, dehumidifier, and humidifier for the furnace) After reading reviews and watching a convincing youtube demonstration, I tried Liquid Lightning. The clog I had was not complete. It just wouldn't allow water to flow fast enough without it overflowing onto the floor. There was standing water in the bottom 1/4 of the drain and I slowly poured the whole bottle in and immediately it started fizzing and bubbling. I put the plug back in to prevent the smell from getting in the house and waited 20 minutes. Then I tried flushing with cold water but it freed up so much muck leading to the main clog that it clogged it more. I jammed the garden hose down the drain about 15 feet and was able to break the clog free so at least water would go down. I then used another full bottle and repeated the same thing. I could then run the water full blast without it backing up! Liquid Lightning dissolved so much junk in my drain which no other product I used previously could do. Since about 15 ft of drain was clear of junk now, I decided to pour a 3rd bottle down the drain to dissolve stuff past 15 ft. Maybe it won't clog for years now, I hope! The drain has never been this clean probably in the 29 years of living in this house. By the way, the drain pipe I used this product on is steel.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedMcWrist
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Wish I had better news, BUT
8/3/2014

Customer review by anothernickel

1.0 stars 8/3/2014 by anothernickel
by anothernickel

Buying this product is the worst mistake I've made since majoring in journalism or wearing ballet flats when 8 months pregnant. Effectiveness in unclogging tub drain: Zero. Ruining the surface of the bathtub and taking us an hour to bail black water out of the tub after we ran water into the drain as per directions: Excellent. I should add that, since it doesn't remove the clog and stagnates in your tub while eating large chunks out of the surface, an added bonus is that your entire house will smell like rotten eggs for an undetermined amount of time.

Was this review helpful? (13) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
anothernickel
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Piece of JUNK -- DO NOT BUY -- WILL RUIN YOUR SINK
9/8/2012

Customer review by 888999

1.0 stars 9/8/2012 by 888999
by 888999

Just bought and used this product to unclog our kitchen sink..followed directions as described step by step...stank the entire home for days...burnt the sink literally ruined the finished layer of of sink...we will have to get a new sink now :-( at the end, DID NOT SOLVE the problem...instead made the problem worse and clogged even further...ended up using "snake" for over 2 hours to unclog... ****stay miles away from this****

Was this review helpful? (17) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
888999
Ballwin, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
6/12/2012

Customer review by destroyed

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by destroyed
by destroyed

The minute that this product was poured into my toilet it not only cracked the toilet but the base. As I am writing this review there is a plumber repairing both. This $9.00 item turned into a $200 major repair along with a new toilet. By the way it never unplugged the toilet! Signed, Dissatisfied customer

Was this review helpful? (39) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
destroyed
miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
This Works!
1/1/2015

Customer review by ktmabq

5.0 stars 1/1/2015 by ktmabq
by ktmabq

We had problems with our kitchen sink for three days. I tried several products, by the gallon and no success. My wife went to Walmart to get more and a lady recommended liquid lightening. Since we had no success with the other products. What the heck, one more try before going into a wall to get to the main pipe. So, used two bottles, instead of one, as we were getting desperate. 15 minutes and the water drains as it should. I expect it is because this is an acid base product. However, it says OK for all pipes. Guess they are right. I will never use another product. This stuff really works!

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ktmabq
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It works
10/26/2012

Customer review by Bankshot84

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Bankshot84
by Bankshot84
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hello, I had a pretty bad clog in my shower. I tried several different drain cleaners and they didn't work. So I gave this one a try after looking up sailfuric acid drain cleaners, I just follow the direction very carefully and after 25min I had a clear drain. Very happy and will use and recommend again :D

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bankshot84
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
had a plug
3/17/2013

Customer review by daviddsx

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by daviddsx
by daviddsx

i had a plugged drain for close to a year. tried many drain cleaners most did little to nothing. pro strength liquid plumr clog destroyer along with alot of plunger action would open it up some would use a gallon and sit for up to 12 hours. plummer wanted over $1000. to rip apart wall and replace pipes. in less then 2 hours my drain is running better then in a very long time. not 100% but good. I'd give it 5 stars but i don't give 5 stars unless its perfect. but i highly recommend it. not the gallon size one that looks the same but bigger (did not work). But this one worked great

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
daviddsx
Waukesha , WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1-20 of 37 reviews