Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-16 of 16 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

The regular window kit is better
1/22/2012

Customer review by PaulaLiz

3.0 stars 1/22/2012 by PaulaLiz
by PaulaLiz

I tried this last year. It worked very well to keep the heat in, but I found myself doing a lot of patching, especially along the top, even as I was shrinking it, and the tape continued to come loose after that. The sheeting of the same brand without the pre-taped edge holds up much better.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PaulaLiz
Norwich, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Duck Brand Roll-on Window Kit, Indoor, 3 pk
10/25/2014

Customer review by TriedANDTested

3.0 stars 10/25/2014 by TriedANDTested
by TriedANDTested

This is exactly what you would expect for the price. Walmart was sold out of the less expensive multi and variety packages so I ended up buy what was available. It does the job, but you have to be careful installing. There is no room for error sizewise for each window and you have to be really carefull with the sticky contact - making sure everything is perfectly fitted. Prefer the multi packs and variety packs with same installation but can use a blow dryer to heat shrink to make a much better seal. But these were not available at the time I ordered.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TriedANDTested
Oak Hill, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect and inexpensive
1/18/2015

Customer review by bslsailor

5.0 stars 1/18/2015 by bslsailor
by bslsailor

Great solution for drafty windows. I moved into an older condo with Jalousie windows and looked around for something to make them more energy friendly before eventually possibly upgrading. After reading the instructions and watching a youtube video they were very easy to apply within a couple of minutes for each window. Cheap and virtually invisible! The only downside - after checking several different retail and home improvement stores I found this is not a stock item. It has to be a site to store item which took two weeks to arrive at my local Walmart. I assume that was because of it's popularly during mid-winter. Hopefully it will become a in-stock item as it catches on.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bslsailor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good product
7/23/2012

Customer review by grayman05

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by grayman05
by grayman05

put on 2 windows in winter of 2011, still on my windows after 3 days of 100 degrees

grayman05
j c tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:Other
Gender:Male
Expertise:Beginner
Frequency of use:Yearly
The Best and Most Reliable Window Kit
11/13/2012

Customer review by Sandcastle

5.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Sandcastle
by Sandcastle

Yes! Duck brand heat and shrink is without a doubt the very best and most reliable window insulation kit on the market. First of all, the quality. The shrink film is crystal clear and very tough. Its not thin and flimsy and "flyaway" like the others. That makes it easy to handle! The double sided tape that comes with it is really easy and simple to work with. Once properly applied as per the instructions, you will be amazed at its holding strength. My tape rolls had 288 inches in length to work with! Duck brand will help you stay warm, decrease your heating bills, and will help to eliminate wind and cold air coming through your windows! Have a snug winter! Quacks to all of you!

Sandcastle
Pawleys Island, SC, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Frequency of use:Yearly
The roll-on feature is the best!
10/28/2012

Customer review by Della

5.0 stars 10/28/2012 by Della
by Della

The roll-on window kits are the best by far! The ease of application makes this product better than any other brands on the market. I apply them in the fall and they stay on until I remove them in the spring. Best part: my windows don't sweat and melt all over the sills.

Della
Racine, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Frequency of use:Yearly
awesome
11/12/2012

Customer review by isabeltinkerbell

5.0 stars 11/12/2012 by isabeltinkerbell
by isabeltinkerbell

love them they work great easy to use there awesome my mom loves them to

isabeltinkerbell
New Mexico, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:Other
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Frequency of use:Yearly
Work well
10/16/2012

Customer review by cherbear

5.0 stars 10/16/2012 by cherbear
by cherbear

We live in an old farm house-in Vermont.........so drafts are a big problem and it just gets plain old COLD in the winter...so we are always looking for the ways to manage draft. There is not a winter that these do no go on ALL our windows. the ones we placed on the basement windows are there year round.......and have been there for more than three years now! No problems with clouding etc. They are tricky to put up well-but it is worth the time. One review was less than positive because of the tape-but an easy fix would be to get a fresh roll of double sided sticky tape. These things keep our house toasty! Would not go a winter in VT without them

cherbear
Colchester VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Frequency of use:Yearly
Easiest winderizing I have ever done!
12/10/2013

Customer review by Prairiedoll

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by Prairiedoll
by Prairiedoll

Every year it's an exhausting task as I attempt to put plastic on my windows. Today I came across Duck Extra Large Patio Door Roll-on Window Kit...hummm...Was curious as to how this was going to work...Like a charm! I couldn't believe it. Went up quickly with no trouble at all..This project is done by myself and the most difficult part was to put my blinds back up..Thank you Duck for making this job effortless. You have a superior product and I will continue to use and try more of your product lines.

Prairiedoll
Manitoba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Gender:Female
Expertise:Beginner
Frequency of use:Yearly
This product is easy to use.
10/17/2013

Customer review by Cindy3

5.0 stars 10/17/2013 by Cindy3
by Cindy3

I buy this product every year, I would not use anything else. It really does work....

Cindy3
North Vernon, IN 47265, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Gender:Female
Expertise:Expert
Frequency of use:Yearly
Has good features
12/14/2013

Customer review by Patches

4.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Patches
by Patches

Is easy to use and you can see through it when done. Love that

Patches
Caroga Lake, NY, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Frequency of use:Yearly
For someone smarter than I
1/24/2015

Customer review by ballroom

3.0 stars 1/24/2015 by ballroom
by ballroom

Someone told me that if I was not good looking that it would follow that I must be intelligent. I looked in the mirror for some time. My conclusion was that I must be very, very intelligent. Well sagacity did not manifest itself when I was working with the tape that came in the kit. Getting the back off the tape was enigmatic. I got the feeling it had been manufactured three or more years past--and then not stored correctly-.. I was able to do two windows--sort of. I was going to purchase more kits for other windows but I have changed my mind on that. Meantime I will envy the good-looking people, and I will envy the smart people too. I bet this kit would work well for anyone smarter than am I (which apparently is everyone..) Larry

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ballroom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
should have stuck to the brand I know works
12/12/2012

Customer review by kathwel

1.0 stars 12/12/2012 by kathwel
by kathwel

I thought i would give this product a try, the roll on seemed like a good idea. WRONG !! Ive had to re stick the plastic to the tape 3 times now....it keeps peeling off and hanging down, allowing cold drafty air into the room. now you tell me how is this weatherproofing.

kathwel
mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Do NOT Purchase!
11/2/2011

Customer review by jmc1959

1.0 stars 11/2/2011 by jmc1959
by jmc1959

No matter what brand you use, these are a little tricky to install. We put this outdoor kit on when it was 75 degrees outside, used hairdryer as instructed and all looked fine, but by the next day, the plastic was coming loose from the tape! Tape was sticking just fine to the window frame though. What a waste of time and money. Never had this problem with the other brand.

jmc1959
St Louis, MO, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Gender:Male
Expertise:Expert
Frequency of use:Yearly
Roll on, roll off
11/25/2013

Customer review by Motley12

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Motley12
by Motley12

This is the first year we have used the roll on version and boy do I wish we wouldn't have. It went in great, was so much easier to apply but the top keeps coming open and we keep having to restick it. Would not recommend this to anyone as it defeats the purpose of weatherproofing

Motley12
Would recommend to a friend? No
What a disappointment!
12/26/2014

Customer review by mab99

1.0 stars 12/26/2014 by mab99
by mab99

It looks so simple, so easy to install, and the price was right, so I bought it expecting a no-hassle installation. Was I ever wrong! The alcohol wipes are about the size of postage stamps, and hardly clean anything. After the first one, I took a sponge and cleaned the molding, and let it dry, then tried the second alcohol wipe to finish the job across the top molding. Then I tried applying the taped film to the top. And tried again. I used the two wipes I had left (which I was reserving for the sides) to clean again, and tried again. IT DOESN'T STICK and that's all there is to it. Now obviously, if it doesn't stick, it isn't going to do the job. So I'll try to attach it using regular duct tape (not aesthetically appealing, but if it works...) and if that doesn't work, I'm heading back to the store to find the competitor's product. VERY DISAPPOINTED!

mab99
Illinois, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Home improvement profile:DIYer
Gender:Female
Expertise:Intermediate
Frequency of use:Yearly