Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.7out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 | 22 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
Sort by: 
1-20 of 22 reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Perfect and inexpensive
1/18/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great solution for drafty windows. I moved into an older condo with Jalousie windows and looked around for something to make them more energy friendly before eventually possibly upgrading. After reading the instructions and watching a youtube video they were very easy to apply within a couple of minutes for each window. Cheap and virtually invisible! The only downside - after checking several different retail and home improvement stores I found this is not a stock item. It has to be a site to store item which took two weeks to arrive at my local Walmart. I assume that was because of it's popularly during mid-winter. Hopefully it will become a in-stock item as it catches on.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The regular window kit is better
1/22/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I tried this last year. It worked very well to keep the heat in, but I found myself doing a lot of patching, especially along the top, even as I was shrinking it, and the tape continued to come loose after that. The sheeting of the same brand without the pre-taped edge holds up much better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Absolutely worth it!
2/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I read the reviews, watched the commercials, and read what the manufacturer had to say. This product still looked worth trying being pre taped. I thought it would be much more manageable to put up and I wasn't disappointed at all. The only mistake I made was I didn't notice the alcohol pads were included. I grabbed the rubbing alcohol from the bathroom closet, cleaned around the windows, and did as the directions stated. I placed the tape on the windows that the cold air leaks through terribly and that was weeks ago. I can still stand in front of those windows without feeling the slightest chill. Not to mention the view is crystal clear! No exaggeration, my electric bill has reflected the efficiency as well. It definitely earned five stars with me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exceptional Ease of Use
10/23/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the convenience of the Roll-on Film that Duck makes. It is especially easier to use on my very large living room window--over 8 feet wide. I wish that Duck Brand would make the roll-on film in the heavy duty thickness! Since this is only .7 mil thick, and the heavy duty is 1.5 mil thick, I couldn't give it all 5 stars. I have used both products and can appreciate the noticeable improvement in the heavy-duty film. It is better at keeping out drafts and easier to work with while still permitting a clear view out my windows when properly installed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
For someone smarter than I
1/24/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Someone told me that if I was not good looking that it would follow that I must be intelligent. I looked in the mirror for some time. My conclusion was that I must be very, very intelligent. Well sagacity did not manifest itself when I was working with the tape that came in the kit. Getting the back off the tape was enigmatic. I got the feeling it had been manufactured three or more years past--and then not stored correctly-.. I was able to do two windows--sort of. I was going to purchase more kits for other windows but I have changed my mind on that. Meantime I will envy the good-looking people, and I will envy the smart people too. I bet this kit would work well for anyone smarter than am I (which apparently is everyone..) Larry
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Duck Brand Roll-on Window Kit, Indoor, 3 pk
10/25/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is exactly what you would expect for the price. Walmart was sold out of the less expensive multi and variety packages so I ended up buy what was available. It does the job, but you have to be careful installing. There is no room for error sizewise for each window and you have to be really carefull with the sticky contact - making sure everything is perfectly fitted. Prefer the multi packs and variety packs with same installation but can use a blow dryer to heat shrink to make a much better seal. But these were not available at the time I ordered.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What a disappointment!
12/26/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It looks so simple, so easy to install, and the price was right, so I bought it expecting a no-hassle installation. Was I ever wrong! The alcohol wipes are about the size of postage stamps, and hardly clean anything. After the first one, I took a sponge and cleaned the molding, and let it dry, then tried the second alcohol wipe to finish the job across the top molding. Then I tried applying the taped film to the top. And tried again. I used the two wipes I had left (which I was reserving for the sides) to clean again, and tried again. IT DOESN'T STICK and that's all there is to it. Now obviously, if it doesn't stick, it isn't going to do the job. So I'll try to attach it using regular duct tape (not aesthetically appealing, but if it works...) and if that doesn't work, I'm heading back to the store to find the competitor's product. VERY DISAPPOINTED!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The Best and Most Reliable Window Kit
11/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Yes! Duck brand heat and shrink is without a doubt the very best and most reliable window insulation kit on the market. First of all, the quality. The shrink film is crystal clear and very tough. Its not thin and flimsy and "flyaway" like the others. That makes it easy to handle! The double sided tape that comes with it is really easy and simple to work with. Once properly applied as per the instructions, you will be amazed at its holding strength. My tape rolls had 288 inches in length to work with! Duck brand will help you stay warm, decrease your heating bills, and will help to eliminate wind and cold air coming through your windows! Have a snug winter! Quacks to all of you!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
pre taped tape lets go! What a wast of my time and money.
11/28/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Installed roll-on window kit. A few days later we felt cold air coming in! Pre-taped top edge let loose! Big problem with that! Especially after you shrink it with hair dryer! Good luck getting that back on! Maybee I'll call Harry Hodini and have him work some magic on it to fix it! Thanks a lot! We need help! I will buy some more of your double stick tape and see if I can insert it under your roll-on tape.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Work well
10/16/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We live in an old farm house-in Vermont.........so drafts are a big problem and it just gets plain old COLD in the winter...so we are always looking for the ways to manage draft. There is not a winter that these do no go on ALL our windows. the ones we placed on the basement windows are there year round.......and have been there for more than three years now! No problems with clouding etc. They are tricky to put up well-but it is worth the time. One review was less than positive because of the tape-but an easy fix would be to get a fresh roll of double sided sticky tape. These things keep our house toasty! Would not go a winter in VT without them
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good and almost perfect
12/30/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Concept and product work great! I have had some issues getting tape to stick around my windows. It could be my type of Windows. I have also used it on my fireplace too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easiest winderizing I have ever done!
12/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Every year it's an exhausting task as I attempt to put plastic on my windows. Today I came across Duck Extra Large Patio Door Roll-on Window Kit...hummm...Was curious as to how this was going to work...Like a charm! I couldn't believe it. Went up quickly with no trouble at all..This project is done by myself and the most difficult part was to put my blinds back up..Thank you Duck for making this job effortless. You have a superior product and I will continue to use and try more of your product lines.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Do NOT Purchase!
11/2/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
No matter what brand you use, these are a little tricky to install. We put this outdoor kit on when it was 75 degrees outside, used hairdryer as instructed and all looked fine, but by the next day, the plastic was coming loose from the tape! Tape was sticking just fine to the window frame though. What a waste of time and money. Never had this problem with the other brand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Roll on, roll off
11/25/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the first year we have used the roll on version and boy do I wish we wouldn't have. It went in great, was so much easier to apply but the top keeps coming open and we keep having to restick it. Would not recommend this to anyone as it defeats the purpose of weatherproofing
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The roll-on feature is the best!
10/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The roll-on window kits are the best by far! The ease of application makes this product better than any other brands on the market. I apply them in the fall and they stay on until I remove them in the spring. Best part: my windows don't sweat and melt all over the sills.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
should have stuck to the brand I know works
12/12/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I thought i would give this product a try, the roll on seemed like a good idea. WRONG !! Ive had to re stick the plastic to the tape 3 times now....it keeps peeling off and hanging down, allowing cold drafty air into the room. now you tell me how is this weatherproofing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked great! Easy to install!
10/15/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used other brands. This by far is the easiest to install and I am really impressed! I will use this product every winter for now on. =)!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This product is easy to use.
10/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I buy this product every year, I would not use anything else. It really does work....
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good product
7/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
put on 2 windows in winter of 2011, still on my windows after 3 days of 100 degrees
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
awesome
11/12/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
love them they work great easy to use there awesome my mom loves them to
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642834, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-