Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

11 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

3.0 stars

11 reviews | 2.8 out of 5

36%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-9 of 9 total reviews
36%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Not nearly as excellent as the arcade version.
11/14/2011

Customer review by CloverODS

2.0 stars 11/14/2011 by CloverODS
by CloverODS

I was prompted to purchase Big Buck Hunter Safari for two reasons. One, I absolutely love playing the arcade version of the game with my fiance whenever we see it. Restaurants, bars, etc. Two, the other Big Buck Hunter plug & play games had such excellent reviews. I was so, so, SO disappointed - at first. I realized I had extremely high expectations for such "simple" technology. The graphics are half of what they are on the arcade game which is sad in itself, but it also makes the game play very difficult. There's five animals to hunt in the arcade, three here. Things I was excellent at in the arcade version (ie, bonus games) I'm HORRIBLE at now. The batteries also die VERY quickly. Calibrating was difficult at first, we had to move so far back the cord was nearly fully extended. Unlike the arcade version... where you point the gun isn't so much the point. It's where you move the crosshairs on the screen. When playing in the arcade, you miss, you miss. And you can tell why, and adjust accordingly, it's really quite excellent. When playing at home, calibration is either high, or low (depending on where you put the sensor bar) and you just have to make sure you put the cross hairs in the right place. So the aiming is very different - therefore the game play is very different. So to recap the negative, less animals, worse graphics, and aiming is not nearly as precise. Now! There ARE some positives. Once I got over my original shock about how dissimilar this is and the arcade version are (they shouldn't have the same name, if you ask me...) And once I realized I couldn't point the gun where I wanted to shoot, I needed to move the CROSSHAIRS where I wanted to shoot, I did have some fun. It's very affordable, and I had some fun with it. Is it a replacement for the real thing? No way. Did it meet my expectations? Not at all. Am I having a good amount of fun for my dollar? I am. Most of the time.

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CloverODS
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
excellent!
3/27/2012

Customer review by MrsSingleton

4.0 stars 3/27/2012 by MrsSingleton
by MrsSingleton

Purchased this item for my husband who already owned Big Buck Hunter Pro. The product was sturdy and well built and fun to play. Just wish it came with 2 game guns like the previous version but other than that a great product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsSingleton
Syracuse, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Takes lots of batteries
1/16/2012

Customer review by tka05

4.0 stars 1/16/2012 by tka05
by tka05

This is an awesome game. My kids love it (5 & 4 yrs old). The only bad part is it takes lots of batteries. we have to change them at least once a week. 4AA in the gun part and 3 AAA in the controller part. so lots of batteries otherwise good game

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tka05
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/6/2012

Customer review by wonkavison

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by wonkavison
by wonkavison

Good game works well but not much to it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wonkavison
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
didn't work long
10/21/2012

Customer review by fiddlingdixie

1.0 stars 10/21/2012 by fiddlingdixie
by fiddlingdixie

This game didn't hold up well. It quit working after a few times of playing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fiddlingdixie
Roanoke Rapids, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Total Bust!
4/2/2012

Customer review by JfromGA

1.0 stars 4/2/2012 by JfromGA
by JfromGA

The safari version doesn't even come close to the deer version. My son plays the deer game all the time, but he only played this once and never asked to play it again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JfromGA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Waste of money
12/31/2011

Customer review by SearcyMom

1.0 stars 12/31/2011 by SearcyMom
by SearcyMom

This game is a huge disappointment! We got the Big Buck Hunter version for our 5 year old for Christmas. Everytime you turn the game on you have to calibrate the gun. This was a difficult task! Shooting a moving target was even harder!! After spending 10-15 minutes trying to get it to calibrate and not having any luck, I gave up on it & decided to take it back. I exchanged it for the Big Buck Hunter Pro because that was all the store had. It was even worse!! When we turned it on it made the tv screen crackly. We got it to calibrate without a problem, but it never continued on to the next screen. So for some reason it just stopped there and we didn't get to play a game. Definately NOT worth $40.00! This one is going back too.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SearcyMom
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/27/2012

Customer review by Dottie323

1.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Dottie323
by Dottie323

Poor quality materials. Sight for scope barely visable. If the box hadn't been destroyed by my grandson I would have shipped it back. Terrible.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dottie323
Westminster, Md
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Boring and horrible graphics
12/28/2011

Customer review by MyLittleMonkeys

3.0 stars 12/28/2011 by MyLittleMonkeys
by MyLittleMonkeys

I thought my 5 year old would be able to do this. First of all your target and aim has to be 100% and the games are boring. Graphics arent good either. Glad i got this for $20 but not very fun.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyLittleMonkeys
WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days