Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 30 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

30 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

30 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 28 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
The Singing Machine SMG 901
4/10/2012

Customer review by MountainMushroom4

1.0 stars 4/10/2012 by MountainMushroom4
by MountainMushroom4

I purchased the SMG 901 specifically for the "digital voice changer." I liked the small screen for the lyrics on this SMG 901, and I was pretty satisfied with the digital voice changer. But the condition of the machine was deplorable; it didn't appear to be in a brand new condition. It was scuffed up with black marks on it, plus there were some of the corner brackets which weren't tight; loose to the point of falling off. The box it was shipped in appeared to have been opened up a couple of times prior to me receiving it, plus there were a lot of black marks on the shipping box; there was excessive tape on the box; it had been double taped and it was clearly a used item. I could hear a loose component inside of the karaoke machine rolling around. Wal-Mart was good about taking it back with their exchange policy; and sent me out another SMG 901. I was happy to get the exchanged item and I could tell that the condition of the exchanged SMG 901 was in physically better condition than the previous machine. But once I put the machine together and began to use the microphone; the microphone was defected. The voice sensor inside of the microphone would not stay active. With a 10 second break from singing, the microphone would shut off and then it would not respond to a voice for at least two or three seconds before recognizing a voice; it was unclear if the microphone was defected or if the "voice control button" was defected, which might be affecting the microphone. So without knowing if the machine was defected or if the microphone was defected, I made my decision to return the SMG 901. So my decision was to return the defected SMG 901 back to Wal-Mart for a refund; which they did issue. My experience with The Singing Machine SMG 901, was not a positive experience.

Was this review helpful? (68) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainMushroom4
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SO MUCH FUN
11/15/2013

Customer review by suzyyyy

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by suzyyyy
by suzyyyy

I know these karaoke systems generally get bad reviews but I have had great luck with them. I have had one for years that still works great. I just bought this one for my grand daughter for Christmas but I was afraid it would not work right and we took it out of the box to test it. Well, hours later we were singing away and now my grand daughter will get a used present.

Was this review helpful? (50) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suzyyyy
westminster,md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this is good for all leavels of singing
10/9/2013

Customer review by frenchman36

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by frenchman36
by frenchman36

this karaoke system is one of the best that I have come a cross the sound has very good high quality not some cheep sound I will also add you get your moneys worth on this system .

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
frenchman36
skowhegan maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Machine is cheaply built
6/5/2012

Customer review by corns

1.0 stars 6/5/2012 by corns
by corns

You are better off with two cans and a piece of string. Sound quality and volume totally unsatisfactory.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
corns
usa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
great for someone that like to do karaoke for fun.
12/14/2013

Customer review by bestgrannyof8

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by bestgrannyof8
by bestgrannyof8

I am very satisfied with my purchase. The grandkids have a lot of fun at our gatherings with it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bestgrannyof8
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Total Dud
12/30/2013

Customer review by SusieQueque

1.0 stars 12/30/2013 by SusieQueque
by SusieQueque

I bought the machine for my eight year old daughter, who loves to sing, for Christmas. The product arrived site to store on time, but as soon as we took it out of the box, we realized that it was not working properly. The words would not display on the machine nor on the t.v. once we hooked it up. One of the discs included with the machine was completely scratched up as if someone used it for months prior to the sale. Overall, the machine looks cheap when taken out of the box for the money spent on it and did not work. We sent it back to the warehouse immediately. Needless to say, I feel as if Walmart sold me a product that was previously used due to the scratched disc and also, it was very disappointing for my daughter on Christmas. Some sort of quality control is needed for these types of products.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SusieQueque
Anaheim, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
its an ok karaoke machine
12/30/2013

Customer review by nerovega

3.0 stars 12/30/2013 by nerovega
by nerovega

The biggest problem I have with this karaoke machine is that it's not very loud. If you stream a karaoke video on your tv it's kind of hard to hear this machine without turning the music down. Also speaker is in the back so makes it even harder to hear. Other than that it's a pretty good machine. Perfect for the kids but falls short for a real deal karaoker.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nerovega
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
So Simple to set up...
12/31/2013

Customer review by Wisair

4.0 stars 12/31/2013 by Wisair
by Wisair

Our 8 year old Granddaughter opened the box up and her mother plugged it in and within minutes we were singing along with it....I like the screen right on the unit...no TV wiring hassles for a short term sing along....hope it holds up for the future....

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wisair
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Thanks for a great product.
2/17/2014

Customer review by lovesongs

4.0 stars 2/17/2014 by lovesongs
by lovesongs

Although I have not used the item long enough, I am happy with the features. Specifically that it can be used with a home stereo system. The other singing machine I have is great because it has a tape deck that I can record & listen to and correct my imperfections, which is great in itself. But, performance wise, I can add volume to this one. If a recording device can be added to it, this will definitely get a Excellent rating, by my standards.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovesongs
Freehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good for just home use
3/13/2014

Customer review by peterbreath

2.0 stars 3/13/2014 by peterbreath
by peterbreath

the speaker was too small and "tinny sounding" wanted to use it for our local club but just does not have the sound we need.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peterbreath
alpena mi.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Didn't work
12/27/2013

Customer review by Outwithobama

1.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Outwithobama
by Outwithobama

Purchased this as a gift for my 9 year old grandson. Had a lot of features included on more expensive machines. My husband and I tried it and the screen didn't work. Apparently, after reading other reviews, this is a common problem with this machine. Returned it to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Outwithobama
Central PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outofstock1
1/11/2013

Customer review by outofstock1

3.0 stars 1/11/2013 by outofstock1
by outofstock1

We currently have this item and it works great. However, we would like to order another one but it's OUT OF STOCK and has been for a few weeks.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outofstock1
st robert mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Just Right!
1/29/2014

Customer review by TopplezCorp

5.0 stars 1/29/2014 by TopplezCorp
by TopplezCorp

Despite the few disappointed customers, I found my shipment of my merchandise to be in excellent condition. Checked it out right away because of the negative postings. No dents, no crumbled boxes, no missing parts. Sound was awesome and no squeaking. Sounds like in stereo quality. I don't know what a more expensive one sounds like, but this sounds just right for my coffee house. Thanks Walmart

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TopplezCorp
Huber Heights, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EASY TO USE
12/27/2013

Customer review by JDRB

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by JDRB
by JDRB

EXCELLANT PRODUCT

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JDRB
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fun For kids
3/2/2014

Customer review by 4Kids6People

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by 4Kids6People
by 4Kids6People

We got this as a Christmas gift for our daughter. We have not had any problems with it. Our 10 year old loves it and it is tons of fun for the family.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4Kids6People
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Karoake machine
1/18/2014

Customer review by ggbarnett

4.0 stars 1/18/2014 by ggbarnett
by ggbarnett

We got this for my mother in law. She absolutely loved it. We have tried it out several times & enjoyed it so much.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ggbarnett
Miami Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wonderful for a 7 year old
12/29/2013

Customer review by MuffysMom

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by MuffysMom
by MuffysMom

I bought the karaoke machine for my 7 year old son. He received it on Christmas and has been using it every day since. However, depending on the child's age, you will need to purchase some karaoke CD's. He really enjoys his karaoke machine.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MuffysMom
Long Island, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Karaoke anyone
12/23/2013

Customer review by Grammie1949

3.0 stars 12/23/2013 by Grammie1949
by Grammie1949

Hard to give a real review as I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my granddaughter. I have no doubt that she'll love it though. As for shipping.... that was great and it arrived in plenty of time for the holiday parties! (I placed the order in NC and had it shipped to NH)

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Grammie1949
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
junk
1/17/2014

Customer review by Broadwayjohnny

1.0 stars 1/17/2014 by Broadwayjohnny
by Broadwayjohnny

Don't waste your time or money. Got this thing today and I'm returning it to Walmart. Item shipped pretty quick, but looks cheap and is. Took it out of the box and plugged it in, the cd tray won't open. The sample disk they send is for kids. piece of junk. Off to Walmart I go!.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Broadwayjohnny
Lakeland Fl.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
would not buy again
12/26/2013

Customer review by unhappyinalliNCEohio

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by unhappyinalliNCEohio
by unhappyinalliNCEohio

ordered, arrived, gave as a gift for Christmas to the grandchildren and it did not work. I was shipped a piece of junk for almost $100.00. Don't think I'll be buying anymore electronics from the web. Most disappointing experience and two crying grandchildren. Thanks walmart for shipping me junk.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unhappyinalliNCEohio
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews