Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

127 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

127 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
26
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
17
1-20 of 118 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
AWESOME FOR THE VALUE!
9/14/2011

Customer review by ClearanceNut1979

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by ClearanceNut1979
by ClearanceNut1979

Last spring we bought this vacuum from Walmart. I choose it because it had decent reviews and at that time was less then $100.00. I had previously owned an expensive Kenmore and my whole life my family had owned quality expensive vacuum so I went out on limb and purchased this one. AWESOME! I can't say enough good things about it! We have 2 dogs and 3 children, it is WONDERFUL! We use it a minimum of 3 times a week. The inside plastic pieces are removable, I suggest keeping them cleaned. Also, if you have a lot of pet hair or dander, I suggest buying new filters which isn't the easiest thing to do BUT it adds life to the vacuum. I would purchase another Powergroom in the future for sure. Compared to my $200 Kenmore vacuum, its awesome! Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (63) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ClearanceNut1979
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bissell Wins over Hoover UH70600
10/17/2011

Customer review by Cbass835

4.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Cbass835
by Cbass835

Our Vacuum went out the day of a planned event @ our home. We ran to Wal-Mart and picked up an $89 Bissell which worked excellent for the price! I could not believe all of the lint dirt and hair that our old vacuum left behind. We ended up returning the Bissell to Wal-Mart because it fell over too often when using the hose. We then researched Vacuums and decided to go with a Hoover UH70600. We figured the Name Hoover and the Price meant that it was a better cleaner. While vacuuming alongside the edge of our desk, I noticed that the Hoover did not pick up paper from a hole punch(confetti). I had to use the wand to get up against the wall edges and desks. The $89 Bissell pulled everything out from the edges easily. ****TRUE TEST***after vacuuming with the Hoover, we made a trip back to Macy's and returned it. We made our way back to Wal-Mart to purchase the Bissell. I brought it home and used it on the same area that I just vacuumed with the Hoover (2hrs earlier) and the Bissell pulled allot more lint that the Hoover left behind!! I was amazed and could not believe the difference. This whole time I thought Hoover was the best of the best. After seeing the Bissell pull stuff from the same exact area that the overpriced Hoover just cleaned, I decided that I am now a Bissell customer!! Excellent Vacuum Cleaner for the price! I would def recommend this to my family and friends!

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cbass835
Red Oak, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Suction Poor Design
1/19/2012

Customer review by zac80

2.0 stars 1/19/2012 by zac80
by zac80

The Vacuum has GREAT SUCTION. But I returned it because it is not well designed. I found out Bissell discontinued this model. The vacuum tips over when using the wand to either vacuum stairs or a sofa. The Hepa filter cover opened when it slightly hit the side of furniture. The most annoying thing was that while vacuuming the hose nozzle would, for no reason, fall out of the vacuum . I was never sure if I noticed it immediately so I would have to go over the entire area I had just vacuumed. I also had an issue with the plug not fitting tightly in my electric sockets, it fell out if it was just slightly tugged. I am not sure if it is the outlet's problem or the vacuum's, but I do plug my old vacuum and other things into the same outlets without a problem. I did wind up buying another Bissell vacuum with the same great suction, a 3 yr warranty, and it had a different system, so it does not fall over when using the wand, the hose nozzle does not fall out and the Hepa filter has a double latch. I think it is just an upgraded model, but it cost the same. I hope this will help you.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zac80
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Efficient and priced very reasonably
11/24/2011

Customer review by starG3

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by starG3
by starG3

Pros: Great price Not too heavy Not too loud Vacuums low carpets well Long cord Suction in hose is good - this is important to me because i use the hose often Green cone that sits above dust container is removable and washable - this is helpful because when I vacuum up baking soda or other deodorizer, it cakes around the cone. It has a light! which is very helpful Cons: Dust cup can be a little hard to grip to remove due to no handle - but not a major problem. Dust can accumulate above the dust container if too full which pushes debris up around the green cone area and makes for a mess when the dust cup is removed as the dirt falls where the dust cup sits and all over the floor and you have to stick your hand in there to pull stuff out. Solution is... watch closely so the dust cup does not overfill and this should not be an issue but if it is too full i advise to take it outside or uncleaned area before removing the cup. The power tool attachment sometimes does not spin - not sure why and I also don't find it very effective but I use the crevice tool mostly anyway. Pushing could be smoother but you get used to it. Conclusion: All in all it is priced well and does a good job. I don't expect one vacumm to do everything so for what is does do, I am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
starG3
Valencia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Be careful!
12/4/2011

Customer review by JEC444

3.0 stars 12/4/2011 by JEC444
by JEC444

Although a bit heavy, for the price it does a nice job on the floors. However, the problems it has are with the hose attachments. Once you use it, the unit is immediately unstable which is annoying. More importantly though, the brushes on the floor sweeper continue to run while you use the hand attachment!! My son had it sitting next to a thick throw rug on his floor while using the hand attachment and the floor sweeper actually sucked a corner of the thick rug and got stuck. So, while my son used the hand attachment the floor sweeper kept spinning, ripped the carpet, melted the plastic and has ruined the floor sweeper. Be careful! Apparently there is no way to stop the floor sweeper while using the hand attachment. Simple oversight with potentially major consequences. Back to Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JEC444
Union City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value!
9/16/2011

Customer review by wenjas

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by wenjas
by wenjas

I purchased this vacuum as a replacement for a Dyson that cost way too much. My main concern was pet hair and even though this is not the model specified for pet hair it picks up just as well as the Dyson Animal when I first purchased it. So I definitely have no complaints since this one cost about $400 less than the Dyson.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wenjas
Moore, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Best Vaccum ever...
2/28/2012

Customer review by Smurfy78

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by Smurfy78
by Smurfy78

It's a bagless, so it's easy to clean...Just dump the canister & it's good to go...I love that the canister, & all the filters are so easy to clean...I just wash them in soap & water, let them dry & it's like new all over again... I vacuumed w/my old Eureka, then the next day when the Bissell came I vacuumed the floor w/my Bissell & I was amazed at how much dirt it picked up that the Eureka has been leaving behind...It was like I hadn't vacuumed in months, there was so much dirt... I originally saw this Bissell Powergroom & purchased it for use at work so I could try it out & see whether or not it was any good w/out having to spend my own money if it was a dud...I have been using it for over a year at work & it still works as good as the day it was purchased w/no issues...So I decided to purchase my own & I love it...My Aunt also had me purchase one for her & I'm thinking of purchasing another to keep on hand for when this one eventually dies...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smurfy78
Zanesville, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME!!
10/29/2011

Customer review by L2Clean

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by L2Clean
by L2Clean

I came very close to buying a Dyson because of the cyclonic suction motor. Due to the HIGH PRICE ($500.00+), I decided to purchase this Bissell vacuum. This vacuum is AWESOME! You will not be dissappointed - at all! I vacuumed my home with the old vacuum 3 hours before I purchased this Bissell Powergroom. After immediately assembling this unit (very easy!), I re-vacuumed my home. I could not believe the dirt (sand) and dog hair my old vacuum left behind! This Bissell Powergroom is BY FAR the best vacuum I have ever owned. Unbelieveable value to boot ($78.96). HAPPILY PLEASED! :)

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
L2Clean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not What I had hoped for
8/6/2012

Customer review by Cat105945

1.0 stars 8/6/2012 by Cat105945
by Cat105945

The 1st time I tried to use the turbo brush attachment it sprang apart and flew everywhere, causing all the dust I had just vacuumed up to go flying around the room. I have had this vacuum since late March and only used it every other week or so and had to replace the belt 3 times. I remove any and all hair or other items that get wrapped around the bristle brush before and after each use. The last time I used it the motor started smoking and I went in search of the pre-motor filter that the user guide says is there thinking it may be the cause only to find out NO SUCH FILTER EXISTS. The vacuum did a pretty good job of cleaning, but it also attracted quite a bit of dust to just stick to the outside of the machine. After only a little more then 4 months I wouldn't have thought I'd be needing to buy another vacuum. I wish I would have read all of these reviews before buying because I wouldn't have bought this one that's for sure. Not sure I will even buy another bissle.

Comment from Joe - 8/17/2012

Sorry you've been unable to locate your pre-motor filter. It is located in the slide out tray underneath the dirt container. You can find instructions to clean it on page 12 of this user's guide: http://www.bissell.com/downloadfile.aspx?id=646&icid=ccrr If this has never been cleaned it can hurt your machines suction and smell like a dirty furnace filter. I hope this helps. *The post motor filter is located on the side of the machine. The pre-motor filter is under the dirt cup.

Cat105945
Lodi, Ca.
Gender:Female
Great vacuum! A tad heavy though.
9/10/2011

Customer review by GritsHB

4.0 stars 9/10/2011 by GritsHB
by GritsHB

This is my second Bissell vacuum cleaner. My first one started messing up about 2-3 years after having it, because I got it in 2008. The old one started blowing dirt out from the bottom if the rotating brushes hadn't fully stopped, it made a loud whirring sound, and didn't pick up dirt like it used to. This is my first time using this one. It seemed to pick up dirt quickly and it picked up a hard substance and I was worried that I had torn this vacuum up already, but it picked it up in one piece. My only complaints are that it just weighs a lot so that makes it harder to push. But it seems to be doing good so far. Time can only tell though.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GritsHB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
2/17/2012

Customer review by crzymama2

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by crzymama2
by crzymama2

So far this sweeper is great! I have been without a real vacuum for awhile. I kept waiting for my local Wal Mart store to get the Hoover in stock that I REALLY wanted....but it just wasn't coming back in stock. I finally broke down and bought this one remembering that it did have some good reviews...even though my last bissell broke down after less than a year! I love the extra long cord! I can sweep all but three rooms on main floor...that's the kitchen, dining room, living room and 2 bedrooms! AND I don't have to use the attachment to sweep along the baseboards since this one gets it all the first time!! The dirt that is being picked up after a week of sweeping daily is impressive and disgusting....to think that my last sweeper never really picked that much up in the first place. If it wouldn't be for the fact that my last bissell broke down this one would get a 5 star rating....but I'm waiting to see how long this one will last.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crzymama2
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this vacuum
11/19/2011

Customer review by Loveadeal34

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Loveadeal34
by Loveadeal34

I had an expensive vacuum that just blew sand, dirt and dog hair around my tile floors but this vacuum picks everything up. I was extremely surprised at how well this vacuum went from tile to my area rugs and how clean it got everything. I would recommend this vacuum, it not only exceeded my expectations but the price blows the rest out of the water. If you want something that actually picks up the sand and dirt buy this vacuum!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Loveadeal34
Southwest Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Vacuum for Pet Hair
12/30/2011

Customer review by TheBigDogMom

5.0 stars 12/30/2011 by TheBigDogMom
by TheBigDogMom

If there's a house out there that needs a good vacuum, it ours. We have 4 large dogs and 2 cats. The hair in our house creats little hairy tumbleweeds all over the place, even though we vacuum a few times a week. We had a cheaper Bissell model for 4 or 5 years, but it was on its way out. Yesterday I vacuumed the living room and it just didn't pick up much hair any more. So, we bought the Bissell Powergroom. I vacuumed the same room again, and it filled the canister twice, packed full of hair and dirt. Its amazing how much more this vacuum picks up. At first I was going to go for one of the other models that is supposed to be designed specifically for pet hair. But those all had a crucial flaw. The canisters on the other models are so small that I could barely vacuum 8 feet of carpet before I had to empty it. The Powergroom model has a much bigger canister that make it a lot more convenient. This one is absolutely worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBigDogMom
UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
An awesome vac
9/18/2011

Customer review by bjboom

5.0 stars 9/18/2011 by bjboom
by bjboom

I bought mine 3 months ago and is a great vac. A lot of suction. Great deal and a great price. I am getting one for my daughter.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bjboom
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent vacuum for the price!
11/13/2011

Customer review by Stavrianthi

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by Stavrianthi
by Stavrianthi

I have many pets, and this vacuum is great. The only con I have for this product is the length of the hose - it should have been much longer. But, the power cord is awesome - I never have to unplug it to finish vacuuming.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stavrianthi
Macungie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellant Vacuum
10/2/2011

Customer review by katleen1

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by katleen1
by katleen1

Powerful, extra wide sweep area, longer power cord, easy to empty.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
katleen1
Lincoln City, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Vacuum
9/2/2012

Customer review by slychicka72

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by slychicka72
by slychicka72

As a 10 year Dyson owner, I was sad the day my Dyson died. Since the budget is tight, I figured I would run to Walmart and grab a cheap vacuum to get me thru till after the holidays, then buy another Dyson. Well guess what.. NOPE I wont be spending another $500 on a vacuum because this Bissell Power groom ROCKS!! Its lighter then my Dyson was and I personally think it does a better job. It has all the bells n whistles that Dyson has PLUS my Dyson didn't have a light, or a cord this long. I have to say I am convinced you don't always get what you pay for. And for $89 verses $500 I will be buying Bissell again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slychicka72
Pulaski PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Value
12/19/2011

Customer review by atm2furm

4.0 stars 12/19/2011 by atm2furm
by atm2furm

We owned this vacuum for about 3 years before it finally gave out last week. I went to Walmart with the intention of purchasing a slightly cheaper model by Bissell, however when I returned home to assemble the vacuum, I found that the cheap plastic holding the dirt cup in place was broken. I returned the other model and paid the extra $20 for this one. Should have just grabbed this one to begin with! I love this vacuum. We have two dogs and two young children and use it on a daily basis. It works great on carpet and the turbo brush is really good for cleaning dog hair off of our black suede couches. I love the wand and extensions too! It's not too heavy, and I can easily use it to clean out our vehicles when necessary. I use every feature of this vacuum and am very pleased with its performance. Plenty of power and suction, and the fact that the dirt cup and filter can be removed and washed makes it so easy. Also, you can purchase Febreeze or Arm&Hammer HEPA filters at Walmart. The Febreeze one's are my favorite because they leave a fresh scent in the house every time I vacuum. I have read many reviews on more expensive brands that suggest that they really only last 5 years or so. So in my opinion, 2-3 years at this price range is a great deal for the quality of product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
atm2furm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good vacuum ... didn't last
2/26/2012

Customer review by pennycareful

3.0 stars 2/26/2012 by pennycareful
by pennycareful

I have loved using this vacuum. Unfortunately, i lasted just over a year.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pennycareful
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
SUCH A LETDOWN!
2/11/2012

Customer review by alpenley

1.0 stars 2/11/2012 by alpenley
by alpenley

Got it, used it, was okay the FIRST time. After that it made a horrible noise, seemed to get hot and no matter what I did, would never work the same again. I paid about 100.00 for it and had read the reviews. This is not a machine for homes with animals that shed. I vacuum several times a week, with a cat, and 2 dogs and a 4 year old...and this machine just wasn't up to it. The design is poor. The filter area would get so clogged with fur that I would have to bust my knuckles to clean it out. Like I said, definitely NOT a machine for a home with pets. It was TERRIBLY LOUD as well. I replaced it with a cheaper bissel that is a TON better.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alpenley
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews