Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

127 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

127 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
26
3 stars
14
2 stars
11
1 stars
17
1-20 of 118 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
AWESOME FOR THE VALUE!
9/14/2011

Customer review by ClearanceNut1979

5.0 stars 9/14/2011 by ClearanceNut1979
by ClearanceNut1979

Last spring we bought this vacuum from Walmart. I choose it because it had decent reviews and at that time was less then $100.00. I had previously owned an expensive Kenmore and my whole life my family had owned quality expensive vacuum so I went out on limb and purchased this one. AWESOME! I can't say enough good things about it! We have 2 dogs and 3 children, it is WONDERFUL! We use it a minimum of 3 times a week. The inside plastic pieces are removable, I suggest keeping them cleaned. Also, if you have a lot of pet hair or dander, I suggest buying new filters which isn't the easiest thing to do BUT it adds life to the vacuum. I would purchase another Powergroom in the future for sure. Compared to my $200 Kenmore vacuum, its awesome! Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ClearanceNut1979
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bissell Wins over Hoover UH70600
10/17/2011

Customer review by Cbass835

4.0 stars 10/17/2011 by Cbass835
by Cbass835

Our Vacuum went out the day of a planned event @ our home. We ran to Wal-Mart and picked up an $89 Bissell which worked excellent for the price! I could not believe all of the lint dirt and hair that our old vacuum left behind. We ended up returning the Bissell to Wal-Mart because it fell over too often when using the hose. We then researched Vacuums and decided to go with a Hoover UH70600. We figured the Name Hoover and the Price meant that it was a better cleaner. While vacuuming alongside the edge of our desk, I noticed that the Hoover did not pick up paper from a hole punch(confetti). I had to use the wand to get up against the wall edges and desks. The $89 Bissell pulled everything out from the edges easily. ****TRUE TEST***after vacuuming with the Hoover, we made a trip back to Macy's and returned it. We made our way back to Wal-Mart to purchase the Bissell. I brought it home and used it on the same area that I just vacuumed with the Hoover (2hrs earlier) and the Bissell pulled allot more lint that the Hoover left behind!! I was amazed and could not believe the difference. This whole time I thought Hoover was the best of the best. After seeing the Bissell pull stuff from the same exact area that the overpriced Hoover just cleaned, I decided that I am now a Bissell customer!! Excellent Vacuum Cleaner for the price! I would def recommend this to my family and friends!

Was this review helpful? (58) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cbass835
Red Oak, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Value!
9/16/2011

Customer review by wenjas

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by wenjas
by wenjas

I purchased this vacuum as a replacement for a Dyson that cost way too much. My main concern was pet hair and even though this is not the model specified for pet hair it picks up just as well as the Dyson Animal when I first purchased it. So I definitely have no complaints since this one cost about $400 less than the Dyson.

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wenjas
Moore, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great vacuum! A tad heavy though.
9/10/2011

Customer review by GritsHB

4.0 stars 9/10/2011 by GritsHB
by GritsHB

This is my second Bissell vacuum cleaner. My first one started messing up about 2-3 years after having it, because I got it in 2008. The old one started blowing dirt out from the bottom if the rotating brushes hadn't fully stopped, it made a loud whirring sound, and didn't pick up dirt like it used to. This is my first time using this one. It seemed to pick up dirt quickly and it picked up a hard substance and I was worried that I had torn this vacuum up already, but it picked it up in one piece. My only complaints are that it just weighs a lot so that makes it harder to push. But it seems to be doing good so far. Time can only tell though.

Was this review helpful? (30) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GritsHB
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
AWESOME!!
10/29/2011

Customer review by L2Clean

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by L2Clean
by L2Clean

I came very close to buying a Dyson because of the cyclonic suction motor. Due to the HIGH PRICE ($500.00+), I decided to purchase this Bissell vacuum. This vacuum is AWESOME! You will not be dissappointed - at all! I vacuumed my home with the old vacuum 3 hours before I purchased this Bissell Powergroom. After immediately assembling this unit (very easy!), I re-vacuumed my home. I could not believe the dirt (sand) and dog hair my old vacuum left behind! This Bissell Powergroom is BY FAR the best vacuum I have ever owned. Unbelieveable value to boot ($78.96). HAPPILY PLEASED! :)

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
L2Clean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Efficient and priced very reasonably
11/24/2011

Customer review by starG3

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by starG3
by starG3

Pros: Great price Not too heavy Not too loud Vacuums low carpets well Long cord Suction in hose is good - this is important to me because i use the hose often Green cone that sits above dust container is removable and washable - this is helpful because when I vacuum up baking soda or other deodorizer, it cakes around the cone. It has a light! which is very helpful Cons: Dust cup can be a little hard to grip to remove due to no handle - but not a major problem. Dust can accumulate above the dust container if too full which pushes debris up around the green cone area and makes for a mess when the dust cup is removed as the dirt falls where the dust cup sits and all over the floor and you have to stick your hand in there to pull stuff out. Solution is... watch closely so the dust cup does not overfill and this should not be an issue but if it is too full i advise to take it outside or uncleaned area before removing the cup. The power tool attachment sometimes does not spin - not sure why and I also don't find it very effective but I use the crevice tool mostly anyway. Pushing could be smoother but you get used to it. Conclusion: All in all it is priced well and does a good job. I don't expect one vacumm to do everything so for what is does do, I am very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
starG3
Valencia, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Be careful!
12/4/2011

Customer review by JEC444

3.0 stars 12/4/2011 by JEC444
by JEC444

Although a bit heavy, for the price it does a nice job on the floors. However, the problems it has are with the hose attachments. Once you use it, the unit is immediately unstable which is annoying. More importantly though, the brushes on the floor sweeper continue to run while you use the hand attachment!! My son had it sitting next to a thick throw rug on his floor while using the hand attachment and the floor sweeper actually sucked a corner of the thick rug and got stuck. So, while my son used the hand attachment the floor sweeper kept spinning, ripped the carpet, melted the plastic and has ruined the floor sweeper. Be careful! Apparently there is no way to stop the floor sweeper while using the hand attachment. Simple oversight with potentially major consequences. Back to Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JEC444
Union City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love this vacuum
11/19/2011

Customer review by Loveadeal34

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Loveadeal34
by Loveadeal34

I had an expensive vacuum that just blew sand, dirt and dog hair around my tile floors but this vacuum picks everything up. I was extremely surprised at how well this vacuum went from tile to my area rugs and how clean it got everything. I would recommend this vacuum, it not only exceeded my expectations but the price blows the rest out of the water. If you want something that actually picks up the sand and dirt buy this vacuum!!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Loveadeal34
Southwest Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
An awesome vac
9/18/2011

Customer review by bjboom

5.0 stars 9/18/2011 by bjboom
by bjboom

I bought mine 3 months ago and is a great vac. A lot of suction. Great deal and a great price. I am getting one for my daughter.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bjboom
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent vacuum for the price!
11/13/2011

Customer review by Stavrianthi

5.0 stars 11/13/2011 by Stavrianthi
by Stavrianthi

I have many pets, and this vacuum is great. The only con I have for this product is the length of the hose - it should have been much longer. But, the power cord is awesome - I never have to unplug it to finish vacuuming.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stavrianthi
Macungie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellant Vacuum
10/2/2011

Customer review by katleen1

5.0 stars 10/2/2011 by katleen1
by katleen1

Powerful, extra wide sweep area, longer power cord, easy to empty.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katleen1
Lincoln City, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Suction Poor Design
1/19/2012

Customer review by zac80

2.0 stars 1/19/2012 by zac80
by zac80

The Vacuum has GREAT SUCTION. But I returned it because it is not well designed. I found out Bissell discontinued this model. The vacuum tips over when using the wand to either vacuum stairs or a sofa. The Hepa filter cover opened when it slightly hit the side of furniture. The most annoying thing was that while vacuuming the hose nozzle would, for no reason, fall out of the vacuum . I was never sure if I noticed it immediately so I would have to go over the entire area I had just vacuumed. I also had an issue with the plug not fitting tightly in my electric sockets, it fell out if it was just slightly tugged. I am not sure if it is the outlet's problem or the vacuum's, but I do plug my old vacuum and other things into the same outlets without a problem. I did wind up buying another Bissell vacuum with the same great suction, a 3 yr warranty, and it had a different system, so it does not fall over when using the wand, the hose nozzle does not fall out and the Hepa filter has a double latch. I think it is just an upgraded model, but it cost the same. I hope this will help you.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zac80
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Awesome Vacuum
9/2/2012

Customer review by slychicka72

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by slychicka72
by slychicka72

As a 10 year Dyson owner, I was sad the day my Dyson died. Since the budget is tight, I figured I would run to Walmart and grab a cheap vacuum to get me thru till after the holidays, then buy another Dyson. Well guess what.. NOPE I wont be spending another $500 on a vacuum because this Bissell Power groom ROCKS!! Its lighter then my Dyson was and I personally think it does a better job. It has all the bells n whistles that Dyson has PLUS my Dyson didn't have a light, or a cord this long. I have to say I am convinced you don't always get what you pay for. And for $89 verses $500 I will be buying Bissell again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
slychicka72
Pulaski PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Machine, worth the price
1/12/2012

Customer review by peacebewithyou1

4.0 stars 1/12/2012 by peacebewithyou1
by peacebewithyou1

I made the purchase about a week ago and picked it up today so I have only been using it for today. I used it with this review in mind though and have the pro's and con's based on out of box usage. I bought mine for $79.92 (if you get it cheaper-congrats!). I also have a mail-in rebate for $10 which is good on purchases made from 01/01/2012-02/25/2012 so if you bought yours in that time period good for you! that makes my vacuum a $69.92 purchase. Assembly: Assembly was really easy. two parts. The main vacuum and the handle top portion which connects easily with one screw. You will need a Phillips or Flathead screwdriver to put this one screw in. Seriously Easy folks that my 5 year old could have assembled it. They only did it so it would fit in the box, but for future storage or shipping during a move this could be a really great feature to fit it in a box or fit it in a tight space. It has 5 floor settings. The barefloor and the next two both picked up the dirt from my "temporary" carpet which is a bare floor carpet and has no thickness to it. I did run it over my thick dining rug also and liked that it didn't get stuck on it on the bare floor setting, however watch out on the loose rugs which will get caught in the spin brush. overall, I can see myself being happy with this machine for a long time. I checked out the filter which is the material they make foam brushes out of and it is easy to access in the front (like a drawer, pull it out) under the canister-I believe you can rinse this regularly and let airdry and good as new. Also the Hepa Filter (like filters you buy for the furnace, only smaller) is easy to access on the side under the power button you just pull the side panel off and there it is! The attachments include the the hose extension piece, the hose extension with the narrow top (this is inset in the extension piece so you will have to pull them apart as it fits inside the other hose). When you use the extension pieces your floor brush will continue to run, so beware of the plug and other items that may be near the intake brush area. The hose extension has a handle on it so you can control it well without slippage. There is no handle on the push part of the vacuum where your hand fits in, but that didn't pose a problem, I think that is something they do on Dyson.....luckily I am too poor to own a Dyson so I don't miss what I don't have. There is also a piece called the turbo brush which is a mini of the floor brush that runs off the hose/hose extensions and is used for cleaning stairway carpet and upholstery: I haven't had a good chance to use this so I won't make anything up, but I can say that it looks pretty interesting and does spin pretty well. Also the reach on the hose attachment with the extensions on it touch my 10 1/2 ft ceiling with give, so it would probably work for an 11 ft. ceiling + extra. I saw some mentions of the vacuum falling when using the hose attachments but I didn't have that problem (yet). The machine locks into the upright position pretty nicely. The cord is a 35ft cord so it reaches across my room well without having to unplug. The cord wraps up pretty nicely on the side of vacuum. As far as Vacuums go this wasn't excessively noisy-which surprised us. It has "normal" noise, but isn't super duper loud. It grabs dirt from the side walls pretty well (both left and right sides are exactly the same so you don't have to worry about only one side being an "edge-cleaner") I almost forgot! There is an upper section (part of the multi-cyclonic system) that is above the removable canister. At first it looks like you can't get to it, but it twists out and pulls down and you can remove the hair or other stuff that catches there-than put it back). All the pieces have a place on the vacuum so you don't have to store accessories separately. the end. Buy it, you'll like it, unless you have a Dyson than you might be snooty about this and think it doesn't perform as well.....but it does the work and probably does it as well as the Dyson. =) Oh, and I didn't give it 5 stars cause I don't like that the bottom brush doesn't stop or turn off when you are using the hose attachment for cleaning. That is probably the only thing, also I don't like buying filters or hepa filters and when they finally make a machine (that is inexpensive) that I don't have to buy things for than I will give a 5 star to it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
peacebewithyou1
pittsburgh, pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
12/19/2011

Customer review by atm2furm

4.0 stars 12/19/2011 by atm2furm
by atm2furm

We owned this vacuum for about 3 years before it finally gave out last week. I went to Walmart with the intention of purchasing a slightly cheaper model by Bissell, however when I returned home to assemble the vacuum, I found that the cheap plastic holding the dirt cup in place was broken. I returned the other model and paid the extra $20 for this one. Should have just grabbed this one to begin with! I love this vacuum. We have two dogs and two young children and use it on a daily basis. It works great on carpet and the turbo brush is really good for cleaning dog hair off of our black suede couches. I love the wand and extensions too! It's not too heavy, and I can easily use it to clean out our vehicles when necessary. I use every feature of this vacuum and am very pleased with its performance. Plenty of power and suction, and the fact that the dirt cup and filter can be removed and washed makes it so easy. Also, you can purchase Febreeze or Arm&Hammer HEPA filters at Walmart. The Febreeze one's are my favorite because they leave a fresh scent in the house every time I vacuum. I have read many reviews on more expensive brands that suggest that they really only last 5 years or so. So in my opinion, 2-3 years at this price range is a great deal for the quality of product!

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
atm2furm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good vacuum ... didn't last
2/26/2012

Customer review by pennycareful

3.0 stars 2/26/2012 by pennycareful
by pennycareful

I have loved using this vacuum. Unfortunately, i lasted just over a year.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pennycareful
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great choice
10/25/2012

Customer review by pkworker

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by pkworker
by pkworker

I love my new vacuum. It is light weight, powerful and self contained tools is a plus. I would recommend this highly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pkworker
Macomb Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent performer, at a great price.
7/18/2012

Customer review by Diabeticdoode

5.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Diabeticdoode
by Diabeticdoode

I bought this model after going through four (yes 4) powerFORCE Bagless models from Bissell. (That model really was horrible) I really like Bissell products, and wanted to stay with them so I decided to spend some more. First off, this model is so pretty in person. It really looks like a tough vacuum. Some vacuums look like spaceships and all that jazz, so this one looks like a vacuum, and I love it. The performance is EXCELLENT. It really makes the carpets look great. Leaves excellent carpet lines on the floor, and very easy to push. It says that it can do bare floors, but there's no brush roll off switch, and I tried one time but it just scatters dirt around. The attachments work great, excellent suction, and surprisingly it doesn't loose suction as the dirt cup fills up. One of my beefs with the attachments is the combo brush/upholstery tool. The bristles on the brush side are way too small, so unless you apply good pressure when using it, it just spreads the dust around. The upholstery side is pretty much useless because of the design. Also, the suction inlet is very awkwardly placed (I guess cause it's a combo tool) so the suction is very biased to one side. They give you 2 wands, so that's good. I wish the one that is permanently attached was removable though, because you don't always need an extension when using the tools. The turbo tool they give you is EXCELLENT. That really works well. When I used it on my sofa, I could definitely see a difference. It even left little lines in my sofa like the machine does on carpets! Maintenance is pretty straightforward. Everything is removable and washable, except the HEPA filter, which isn't terribly expensive to replace. Here's another beef though, the door that holds the HEPA in place seems to be very cheap, as when the machine is on it seems that it wants to fall off. I guess the exhaust is too strong? Idk. I checked the floor model at my local store, and it seemed to be stronger, so I guess it's just quality control. My last beef are the wheels. They always seem like they want to fall off! If you lift the vacuum, the back wheels literally have an inch or two of wiggle. Again, the local model on the floor seemed stronger. So I guess it's just hit and miss with things like that. I've owned it for 7 months now, and haven't had any problems! Just changed my HEPA, and took it all apart and cleaned it thoroughly. I'm hoping that it lasts a very long time.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diabeticdoode
Tulsa, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
pepper007
12/18/2011

Customer review by pepper007

1.0 stars 12/18/2011 by pepper007
by pepper007

The vacuum did a great job cleaning my bedroom carpet but after 15 min. the belt snapped and broke. I was very disappointed but after I googled the same vacuum I found out that this is very common with this model. I went ahead and returned it to Walmart and got my money back without any problems. The vacuum was priced for $80.00 but If you add the cost of replacing new belts for every 15 min. of use, this will become the most expensive vacuum out there.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pepper007
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
SUCH A LETDOWN!
2/11/2012

Customer review by alpenley

1.0 stars 2/11/2012 by alpenley
by alpenley

Got it, used it, was okay the FIRST time. After that it made a horrible noise, seemed to get hot and no matter what I did, would never work the same again. I paid about 100.00 for it and had read the reviews. This is not a machine for homes with animals that shed. I vacuum several times a week, with a cat, and 2 dogs and a 4 year old...and this machine just wasn't up to it. The design is poor. The filter area would get so clogged with fur that I would have to bust my knuckles to clean it out. Like I said, definitely NOT a machine for a home with pets. It was TERRIBLY LOUD as well. I replaced it with a cheaper bissel that is a TON better.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alpenley
Burlington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews