Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.9out of 5 stars
4.9 out of 5 | 150 reviews
5 stars
135
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-20 of 144 reviews
1-20 of 144 reviews
Quality oil
12/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I use this oil on my 2003 toyota tacoma 2.4 l motor every 15,000 miles. I have 140,000 on the truck I never had a problem
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
11/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Mobil 1 is a great product. Makes my engine last much longer than other oils. Take off the front wheel to give yourself more room to drain the old oil. See pic
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (73)
Report
Was this review helpful?
mobil1 extended
5/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Ive been using this oil for years and it still unnerves me to leave it in for the full 15000 miles.. My tacoma 4cyl sees many highway miles each year so the oil doesnt see that many heating cooling cycles. ive been setting the oil change interval @ 7500 miles where i start checking the color of the oil at that point and usually change it at the 10k mark where it starts to get darkened up. One of the task of engine oil is to keep the particulates in suspension ,not on your metal engine parts. Many many years ago i worked at a bmw dealer and first hand experienced the engine internals that were running 10k change intervals. The engine valve train had no carbon build up at all. if you do the math Mobil 1 saves everyone time and money by simply skipping every other oil change ,, just remember to always rotate your tires more often than 10 k .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mobil 1 Extended Performance Synthetic - 5W30
6/11/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i will start out by giving thanks to Walmart for their exceptional prices on synthetic motor oils, thank you! In my unbiased opinion I strongly believe there's no other synthetic motor oil out there that can trust like I do Mobil 1. Let's face the facts, this company has been developing and researching synthetics longer than any other company currently out there. That is why my 2007 Toyota Camry (newly purchased, first and only owner) has 342k miles on it, and still rides and feels like when I purchased in 2007. The dealership that I service my car in told me that Mobil 1 is very good stuff for engine protection. They also said it wouldn't surprise them if my engine goes over 500k without any engine damage or even terrible wear. I commute every day 200 miles and I'm not one bit worried that I will stuck on the side of the road do to engine failure. Thank you Mobil 1 for giving me the peace of mind of not having to worry about being stranded! Hope my review helps you decide which synthetic oil to put in your vehicle.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (84)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Cannot beat M1 EP or any M1
5/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This oil is truly remarkable. I have been using M1 products in my car ever since the first oil change-- I first used M1 SuperSyn, then M1 FullSyn and now the EP. All them are very good synthetic oils and hold up very well the passage of time. I personally use it on a 2014 Nissan Versa with a manual transmission and a 2011 Impala. The cars don't make any hesitation when turned off and then feel very smooth when driving. No oil loss and the oil is always clean. It is very good on this 110F Texas heat. In fact, I have used other oils that claim to be better than M1 (Balboline, replace B with a V) and I got a seized engine due to poor lubrication. Of course, this does not happen to everyone with that other oil, but it has not happened to me again with M1--and I drive these cars way too hard. Same driving habits I always have. Only complaint with this oil is that the bottle needs a better design in order to be poured easier. Other than that, Mobil, you guys are doing a fantastic job.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dexos1 approved! Better than paying dealer prices
10/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've changed oil in my cars myself for decades. We recently purchased a Chevy Cruze LT, and with GM's requirement for "Dexos approved oil" for their warranty, that put a surprising kink in things. It turns out that not many oils are Dexos approved. But this one is, plus it gives you confidence that it will last longer than the car thinks it can in case you do run it to where your car says to change it. That all being said, I think 15,000 miles is stretching it. My oil looks pretty dark after 5,000-6,000 miles, which is the interval I tend to change it. The car says it still has 50% oil life remaining, but it's cheap insurance to me to keep the oil fresh. My other car has 375,000 miles on it (and still going) and my previous car had 275,000 on it when I sold it. Both are 4-cylinder engines. I attribute that longevity to regular oil changes using quality oil & filters as well as keeping up on other routine maintenance.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (136)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Prefer Pennzoil Ultra
6/15/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used Mobil 1 Synthetic for years, and I recently used Mobil 1 Extended Performance. I honestly don't have any complaints about Mobile 1 EP. I have a 2007 Honda Accord 4 cylinder with 130,000+ miles. I have used Mobil 1 Synthetic 5w-20 for the first 125,000 miles, and then I used MB1 EP 5w-20 for one oil change between 125,000 and 130,000 miles. I honestly can't tell a difference between the two. However, at the 130,000 mark, I switched to Pennzoil Ultra in 5w-30 and I can honestly notice a difference for the better. With the Pennzoil Ultra, my engine is quieter and smoother. I can't tell you specifically if the reason that my engine is running better is because of the Pennzoil Ultra, or because I switched from 5w-20 to 5w-30, or perhaps both. All I can tell you is that I used to be a loyal Mobil 1 fan for over 20 years, and I have now switched to Pennzoil Ultra. I am going to use it in my 09 Toyota Rav4 Limited with 4 cylinder next, and will give an update at that time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (65)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best synthetic around
4/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have used Mobil 1 for the last 25 years and have not had any engine problems. It keeps the engine running cooler in the hot and humid weather of Arkansas. Less engine wear under heavy driving pulling a bass boat or carrying an ATV in the bed. Have run it in 4,6, and 8 cylinders in Dodges, Fords, Cadillac, and GMC truck. As for the length of duration, I totally disagree with one poster here that says it won't last 15,000 miles without breaking down. I don't leave mine in the engine that long and change it only once a year in my Northstar V-8 Cadillac no matter the mileage run. Now I am using it in my GMC Canyon 4 cylinder and loving it. Has over 70,000 miles on it and it was at 68,500 when I recently bought it. No problems changing over to Mobil 1 High Mileage synthetic oil. As far as I am concerned you cannot get a better motor oil or synthetic motor oil.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It will save you money in the long run!
2/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My wife drives about 28,000 miles a year. I started using Mobil 1 Extended range in her car the first oil change in it. It is a 2003 Toyota Camry 4 cylinder. It now is approaching 219,000 miles. It is running fantastic. I am a believer in this oil because I change the oil every 15k miles. It saves me 4 oil changes a year over regular oil and 2 oil changes a year over synthetic. Thats about 60 to 80 bucks a year, PLUS I don't have to crawl under her car as often. I Highly recommend this oil! That is why I use it in ALL my vehicles!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (154)No (22)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good buy and very good synthetic oil
12/29/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The 5 qt. container is great and the extended performance let's you go another 3-7,000 miles between oil changes! It works great in heat and very cold weather. Perfect for North Dakota!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (118)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Top of the line motor oil
11/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have been running Mobil 1 products in my automobiles for years and have had excellent results. I am now using Mobil 1 Extended Performance in both my 2005 Toyota 4runner with 4.0 liter V6 and my 2004 Volvo S60 T5 with a high-compression 2.3 liter turbo inline 5 cylinder and they are running very smooth and with excellent fuel efficiency. Walmart seems to have the best price on this oil that I could find. Match this with a good quality oil filter and your engine should last for an eternity!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic oil for a high performance turbocharged
8/1/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Everything about the environment and conditions my car sees says the oil is going to have a big job on it`s hands. Ultra hot 100+ degree summers, sub freezing winters, heavy traffic, not to mention the nature of a high performance engine outside of environmental challenges. I changed this oil at 8K miles and the oil analysis came back absolutely perfect, even with 100K miles on the engine and it didn`t burn a single drop between changes. Three decades of high performance involvement and I`ve not seen an oil quite like this. I have 100% faith in it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Why NOT?
11/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Mobil 1 Extended Performance 5W-30 is guaranteed to protect for up to 15,000 miles between oil changes. For most people that's 1 oil change / year. $25 for oil + $15 for a "Mobil1 Extended Life" oil filter = $40 and you have a year's worth of protection. This is the greatest value for routine maintenance that I've come across. When you consider you only have to jack up the car and get dirty 1x a year, that's an extra bonus. Why anyone would pay for oil changes every three months is beyond me. Mobil 1 is the only answer when it comes to convenience, value, and protection.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best oil on the market
8/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have used this product for as long as I can remember. I have a 2000 Chevy Silverado with 179,000 miles on it and a 2002 Chevy Tahoe with 166,000 miles on it and both of them are running like new. Oil change intervals are usually between 10,000 and 13,000 miles and the oil that is drained still looks pretty good. I had a 1987 Chevy Silverado that I used the regular Mobil 1 Synthetic in, and when I sold it, it had 294,000 miles on it and was running like a top. As long as Mobil makes this great of a product, I will be a faithful user indefinitely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great value
3/18/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Been using Mobile 1 full synthetic motor oil for years and never had a problem. Has kept my motor running smooth. The 5 qt container is usually the best value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good product at a good price
5/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Of course I cannot say it is doing a better job protecting, since I am not testing in a lab. I can however tell you, you can get better mileage using any synthetic over conventional oil. I my 8.1L gas truck, it made a 1mpg difference. (that is pretty big, since it only gets 13mpg) Make sure you have an extended life filter, if you plan on extending your oil changes. This is the most important piece. Most oil will last longer than the recommended change interval, but the filter is the part that fills up and can cause trouble. I hope this helps
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Why Can't Foothill Ranch, CA keep this in stock???
3/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Been using this exact oil at every oil change the entire time I've had my truck. It has 190,000 miles and is 8 years old. I've never had an engine issue yet. I drive a 2005 Chevy Silverado 2500HD. The only issue I have is that it is NEVER in stock at Walmart in the 5 quart size. Without fail, the shelves are always bare for the 5W-30 oil making it impossible to find at Foothill Ranch, CA store. Why in the world would I pay $7.92 a quart when I can get the 5 quart bottle for only $26????? That would cost me and extra $13 for the same thing!!!!! Is there any way this store can stock this oil.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great product (one of the best in the industry)
11/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a quality product at a good price. I've used Mobil1 for years and its performance has been stellar.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The product speaks for itself. Walmart's price makes it even better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best oil on the market.
4/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I run this oil 15000 miles between oil changes in a camry with 250k miles on it. And I have never had any oil related issues.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640652, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-