Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 18 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
Sort by: 
1-16 of 16 reviews
1-16 of 16 reviews
Great speakers at a great price!
11/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I didn't expect them to sound as good as they do. They are a HUGE improvement over the factory speakers in my car. I bought these speakers to replace my rear speakers and some Sony 4"x6"s to replace my front speakers, and the Sony speakers sound awful compared to these Scosche speakers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great for those new to car audio
5/22/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
A good product for those who are new to car audio, or looking for a cheap albeit not permanent set of rear speakers. I bought these to replace the factory speakers after I replaced my head unit and they produced clean sound. However they lost their edge after I installed an amp to get the full wattage that these could handle, needless to say they distort at just over mid volume. Pros: Easy to install, decent sound quality, great price, decent build construction Cons: The blade connectors are a little flimsy so don't be disconnecting and reconnecting them or they have a high probability of breaking. Overall a decent product but not recommended for anyone looking to truly beef up their sound system. I suggest going to your local best buy or car audio specialist for anything more than this product delivers. Also some good brands to check out if your willing to get what you pay for; Rockford Fosgate, Kenwood, and Kicker.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
An Outstanding Value!
9/13/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I went in hoping to find a pair of 6X9's for less than $50.00. I wasn't concerned about the quality of sound they produced, they just needed to work and fill the holes in the rear deck where the original speakers, which no longer worked, were. When I got them home, I unpacked them and assesses what I'd need to install them. I was a bit surprised to find there was no literature whatsoever. No warranty card, no spec sheet, no template, nothing. The only things in the box were the spkrs, grills, and mounting hardware. It wasn't a big deal - I've installed literally hundreds of speakers/stereo systems in my life, it's was just strange not to see those things. But for $34.00.... what do you want?.... When I checked the fit against the existing holes in the rear deck of the car, I was surprised at how much bigger the basket is on these spkrs compared to the ones that came out. There was no way these were going to fit without major modifications to the existing holes. When I thought about laying on my back inside the trunk of a 2004 Cavalier, attempting to follow an outline with a jigsaw, and how many decibels sawing sheet metal was going to produce inside that trunk, I quickly made the decision to bottom-mount the spkrs. and be done with it. Holding each spkr up against the rear deck from inside the trunk, I marked the holes with a Sharpie then drilled pilot holes. To mount them I used self-threading sheet metal screws which snugged the spkrs up nice and tight. I then cut off the factory spkr connectors and attached crimp-on blade connectors. After crimping the open end of the connectors just slightly for a tighter fit, I attached the existing spkr wires. When I turned on the stereo I was amazed at how much sound these spkrs produced and how crisp and clear they were. I wasn't expecting much in the way of bass and lower freq's due in part to the fact that these were economy specials as well as the fact that they were mounted to the rear deck with no enclosure of any kind. HOWEVER... when I heard them for the first time, the trunk was open, the rear seats were folded forward, and the rear deck cover was out of the car. After putting the car back together and closing everything up, the wife came out and requested a demo which I was all too happy to oblige her with. This time when I turned on the stereo I was thoroughly impressed with the depth of the sound the spkrs were now putting out. The head unit is the factory installed AM/FM/CD player with absolutely no frills, enhancements, etc. Not even a "Loudness" button. We're talking base model. It was very clear that these bad boys could handle much more than the installed stereo was throwing at it. I'd be very interested to hear these being driven by a quality head unit accompanied by a sub. Needless to say I was very happy with my purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great sound for a low price
5/16/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the price of these speakers the sound they deliver is incomparable, much better than the stock 6 x 9 speakers. I have only 1 complaint and it was that I found it necessary to revisit the store and purchase a speaker terminal kit. Lo and behold the kit was actually made by Scosche. C'mon!! Include (4) Speaker spade terminals and charge another $1 or $2 for the product so that the customer doesn't have to burn more gas driving around town looking for necessary hardware which should have been included in the first place! Inexcusable!! I would have given these 5 stars if it were not for the omission of required installation hardware. If it weren't for the fact that these sound THAT GOOD for the money I would have rated them 2 stars due to the inconvenience.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HD means HD
12/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
Great speaker for the price. I bought some of these and installed them in my girlfriends car for her birthday, I was blown away by how crisp and clean they were. They handle high volume well and are worth every penny I spent on them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Speakers For The Money
2/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Like most people, I was skeptical of the sound I would get out of a pair of speakers in this price range. After mounting them in the 6x9 speakers boxes and hooking them up to a 150 watt amp, I was blown away by the sound! I have these installed in my 1962 Chevy Stepside Pickup, and the cab is filled with crisp, clean highs and thundering bass! I can only turn the volume and bass on my stereo ( an old school Clarion) a little over half way up if I want to stay in the truck!! Well worth the price I paid and then some!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good lows at a decent price
3/11/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
these speakers sound pretty good. dont expect awesome sound out of these but they are above average. an affordable upgrade from oem. the lows sound great but the mids and highs sound a little muffled. for the price, they cant be beat. dont pair with the matching 6.5s though. i made that mistake. these will drowned out the 6.5s in the front of my car to the point i have to check if theyre even working.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Pretty decent for the price.
1/9/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought as replacements for factory speakers in a 2007 Dodge Caliber SXT. Hooked these up to the factory head unit without an amplifier or any other modifications. A little dissapointed in the level of bass (factory 6x9s actually hit harder), but the overall clarity of the music is much improved. Overall, I would say not bad considering the low price, and I suspect would be even better with a little extra power (ie. an amplifier).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Speakers work well, but the grill needs redesigned
3/29/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The open face of the grill cover does not protect the speaker from damage. A see through mesh or material over the openings to show off the nice looking speaker and to prohibit dirt and debris from getting on or around the speaker face would be ideal. The sound and construction quality are much better than stock speakers and the price is very reasonable. If you are looking for a simple upgrade replacement for your stock car speakers, these will do the job nicely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Speakers for the Price
9/8/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I installed these in a 2012 Jeep Compass. I had purchased two sets of these speakers, one set for the front and the other for the rear. They have great highs but the lows not so good. I only installed the front set and left the factory rears in for bass. I had the bass on the stereo almost all the way off with factory speakers but had to turn it 3/4 the way up with these, my factory rear speakers sound like a small sub now and these provide good mid and high notes. Note they don't put out much Bass.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
quality surprise!
2/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Well , I've been dj and radio producer for 30 years..so I know a thing or two about Speakers....I was planning on system upgrade for my car stereo but rear speakers were blown So I decided that in the mean time I ll just install any speaker ,till I do the upgrade But this speakers sound way more nicer than expected....nice bass and treble response And it was a direct fit. So now at this point and age in my life I'm very pleased with my car sound That I think I'll do some else with the projected budget for the upgrade. They sound very nice, no extra power to the just my head unit...and I am a happy buyer!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well...
8/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Walmart associate
When I took my Sony's back I bought these. And they ended up having more bass to them and sounded much clearer than the Sony did. And for the price you can't beat it. These can't out-do my stock speakers but they get the job done. (1999 Ford Ranger, V6, 5-speed, Factory Radio, stock everything)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Superior Quality combined with low cost
7/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I ordered these speakers for the rear deck of a 2008 Toyota Yaris. I had never encountered the brand (and have no idea how to pronounce it), but the low price drew me in. I'm glad I took the chance, as these speakers are an amazing value. The installation was pain-staking, though not the fault of these speakers (I had to remove the rear deck upholstery and side panels to access the mounting hardware of the old speakers) The OEM speakers mounting holes did not line up necessitating drilling new holes. After this ordeal, once mounted, I gave the speakers their maiden voyage. They are suprisingly clear and powerful! I had to send the balance to F2 (bias 2 clicks toward the front speakers) to get front /back sound to equal amounts which means these speakers are very sensitive (a good thing). They are capable of decent low end and bass (but of course not equivalent to a good crossover with sub-woofer) and clear, crisp mid-range and highs. I highly recommend them. They are the sonical equivalent of the Pioneers (costing twice as much) that were installed in my wife's Jeep Liberty. I'm contemplating changing the 6.5" speakers in the doors to this brand (Scosche) as soon as possible, even though the speakers in the doors are serviceable. One can truly detect nuances in familiar music due to the sensitivity and clarity of these speakers and they are definitely a worthwhile upgrade.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Solid Set of Speakers for Garage
7/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted a set of speakers for use in my garage and these, once installed in the Scosche 6x9 carpeted boxes that I purchased at the same time, worked out very well since my amplifier supported 4 ohm speakers. While not the deepest, richest and most beautiful sounding speakers in the world, they do a great job and I definitely got my money's worth. I suggest these speakers to anyone who needs new speakers and doesn't want to spend a whole lot of money on them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Blew out less then a year
1/24/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It sounds good at first and I was happy for the price. In the end you get what you paid for.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Can be made to perform, but EXTREMELY inefficient
9/19/2016
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I mounted these drivers within commonly sold 6x9" unported enclosures. I don't know if each driver is designed for a ported or acoustic suspension enclosure, but within a small acoustic suspension environment, its frequency response is anything but flat. For automotive cabin rear deck mounting, the environment becomes much more "ported" and I'm sure frequency response is dramatically different, but I wouldn't count on it being flat there either. After precision Finite Impulse Response filter based correction of phase and spectral power distribution, they can be made to be flat from 25 to 20kHz while maintaining proper phase, but if you enjoy your music at a moderately high volume, these are practical only if you have a lot of power (the Alesis RA100 amp I am using, providing 100W RMS per channel into 4 ohms, clipped internally before these drivers were fully satisfied and the amp got REALLY hot even when adjusted to prevent clipping). The SPL to power ratio on these things, when properly EQ/phase corrected, is the lowest I've seen in any package of this size. Pros: very inexpensive; provides 6x9" to 1" three-way articulation in a compact package. Cons: very inefficient compared to other similarly sized drivers when EQ/phase corrected.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643952, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-