Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

12 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-8 of 8 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

amazing unit
10/31/2011

Customer review by hotrod351

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by hotrod351
by hotrod351

i bought this unit when it was just being put on the shelf. incredible. has front and rear preamp outputs plus a sub-woofer preamp output. took a little while to figure out how to bring up all the setting and adjustments and there are a whole bunch of them. you have adjustments for everything, from balance to slope settings. the only thing i dont like is that its not the easiest thing in the world to take the faceplate on and off. well it comes off easy but not so easy getting it back on. im getting better at it. the fact that i can drag and drop my itunes songs to a flash drive and plug it into this unit is amazing. i burned a cd and compared it to the flash drive and i couldnt notice any difference in sound quality. i also have the model down from the unit, in the wifes car, only difference is hers doesnt have a sbu-woofer output. all and all it worth every dollar.

Was this review helpful? (39) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hotrod351
mohave valley, arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Aesthetically cool, but lacking performance
3/5/2012

Customer review by ChrisKim

4.0 stars 3/5/2012 by ChrisKim
by ChrisKim

Shopped and compared for months for a unit to replace my 8yo Sony X-plod unit in my F-150. Looks cool; color dynamics are awesome. Good positioning of AUX and USB. Controls are easy navigable and comprehensive. Old unit had DSO for listening position and separate treble and bass. With this unit, tailoring my sound is a little harder despite a customizeable 7-band EQ and I still haven't got it up to snuff. Volume difference between radio and CD varies greatly. (Turn the volume down when going back to CD). My old unit was also 52wx4, but new one just seems to lack the punch. Same wiring harness and DIN cage as old one seemed odd to me but made installation an absolute breeze. I would recommend this product for a 1st time stereo buyer or new enthusiast, not someone who is very picky over their sound.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrisKim
Raeford, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Excellent sound. Nice screen.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Calexico, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very pleased
8/11/2011

Customer review by Joat

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by Joat
by Joat

I just received the unit and put it in the same day. Set up was very simple, operating the unit is straightforward, and it has alot of options including the unlimited colors. Works well with my amps and subs too. It's to soon to really judge reliability yet, but have had better luck with Sony than most other brands

Joat
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dynamic CDX-GT650UI
12/31/2010

Customer review by mz55

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by mz55
by mz55

I HAVE REPLACED MY FACTORY STEREO INTO A 2001 TOYOTA 4 RUNNER, I ALSO REPLACED THE FACTORY SPEAKERS ON ALL 4 DOORS.WHEN FIXED MY OWN SETTINGS ON THE SYSTEM, THE STEREO WAS WAY TO LOUD FOR MY NEW 6 1/2 REAR DOOR SPEAKERS,THE REAR 2 DOORS HAVE A LOT OF VIBRATION,I END UP NOT CONNECTING THE 6 1/2 REAR SPEAKERS SO I MADE A SMALL CHANGE, I PURCHASED A SET OF 6X9 SPEAKERS AND I PLACED THEM UNDER THE FRONT SEATS. WHOOOOO WHAT A CHANGE ON THIS SONY STEREO.USING MY SONY MP3 PLAYER IS LIKE HAVING A COMPLETE SOUND SYSTEM WITH AMPS AND SUB WOOFERS BUT IS ONLY THE STEREO. NOW I CAN SAY THAT I HAVE A GREAT LOUD SYSTEM IN MY TOYOTA,THANK YOU SONY FOR ALL THESE FEATURES ON THIS NICE STEREO.

mz55
PHOENIX ARIZONA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than my Alpine
3/2/2011

Customer review by ciyaltr

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by ciyaltr
by ciyaltr

Love this stereo, bought an Alpine last year & hated it, should have done a little more research as I got exactly what I wanted w/this product!!!!

ciyaltr
Ontario, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Could not be happier
7/18/2011

Customer review by wkm001

5.0 stars 7/18/2011 by wkm001
by wkm001

One of the things I'm most excited about, and it wasn't advertised as a feature, it picks up all the HD content from local radio stations. If you have HD broadcasts in your area. Meaning, station, artist, and song title. Lots of handy features come with this too. You can do a search of radio stations by genre. Will also scan and program the 6 strongest stations in the area. Make sure you tune to FM2 or FM3, don't want to erase all your programmed stations on FM1. These two features could come in really handy if you are traveling. The first review talks about how you can't control the iPod directly. This is not true, when in USB mode and listening to an iPod, press and hold the mode button on the remote. I'm pretty sure the face of the unit doesn't have this button. It does kind of stink this button is only on the remote. Hope I never lose it. This instruction is in the manual. Works great with a USB flash/thumb drive. Make sure you have it formatted in FAT and not NTFS. The unit can't read a NTFS formatted drive. This is not in the manual. The sound is crisp and clear. You can go deep into the menu and fine tune the EQ, but I turned Loudness on and picked the predefined EQ setting of XPlod and I think it sounds great. I have to say, I am really surprised how well Sony implemented the menu system on controlling the iPod. It is really easy to search for artist, album, podcasts, etc. Make sure you read the manual, I don't think I would have figured out how to search alphabetically without it. I haven't burned any audio files to a data CD yet and tested that function, but it is suppose to work. I haven't put an audio CD in the unit yet either. I probably never will. There was a model that didn't have a CD player and your iPod/iPhone would fit inside, but it was $100 more. That didn't make sense. If I could have saved $20, been able to store my iPod inside, and given up the CD player, I would have.

wkm001
Salem VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, but missing one thing...
8/24/2011

Customer review by MENEGENE

4.0 stars 8/24/2011 by MENEGENE
by MENEGENE

So, I went out to buy a radio and finally chose this radio. excited that there is a usb port to connect devices to, I picked it up and had it installed. I'm happy with the radio and how it sounds but I'm disappointed that it does not recognize my zune...

MENEGENE
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes