Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 11 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

11 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-11 of 11 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Stupendous value and sound beats the competition
9/10/2012

Customer review by DubKing

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by DubKing
by DubKing

I've literally tested a dozen Kicker and Polk and Alpine subs over the last month so I can say without a doubt the Xplod is the very best. Calling it 'entry level' is such a terrible disservice. This is a performance subwoofer and also a tremendous value. Easily outclasses Kicker CompVR which is almost twice the price. Definitely higher sound quality than Alpine or Polk or Kicker! These might be the most under-rated speakers in the world. Serious boom, even the specs are wrong because these will easily do 20hz, and they only claim 30hz. Sony should really brag more because they have the competitions crushed and nobody knows it because the price is so great it seems like no way these are actually the best... but they are!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DubKing
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great sub for rock music
4/5/2012

Customer review by unseenme

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by unseenme
by unseenme

I listen to mostly rock music...Korn, Linkin Park, Slipknot, FFDP, etc. This sub is the absolute best at the punchy kick drum sound from rock music. It's deep, punchy, clean & distortion free. My previous sub was a Rockford Fosgate Power 12 in a ported box and this sub has just as good sound & detail as the Fosgate. I'm pushing it with an MTX TC4004 bridged at 200w (may be more due to a deck with 5v output & a parametric EQ with 8v output) & it holds its own with no bottom out whatsoever. A great sub that I highly recommend if you listen to punchy rock music.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
unseenme
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Boom Boom
1/2/2012

Customer review by Deepsleeper

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by Deepsleeper
by Deepsleeper

I bought this to replace my DHD 12 which blew up. I run it in a single sealed enclosure and it pounds! So much infact that, I had to turn down my 500 watt Alpine amp, power and bass levels. With my amp turned down it will still almost drown out my 4 alpine 6x8s at half volume! BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deepsleeper
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't let the Sony brand fool you....
5/13/2013

Customer review by Tim3923

5.0 stars 5/13/2013 by Tim3923
by Tim3923
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased the Sony-Xplod XS-GTX121LW 12" sub for an off the shelf ported enclosure to put in my Dodge Durango and very happy with my choice. I match the sub up with the Sony Xplod GTX XM GTX1821 1,000W Amp and a 1 Amp Cap. Wired the system with 4 gauge quality copper wire for the power feeds and ground and it performs great. The unit doesn't get loud enough to be heard coming down the street, but it does perform well enough to drive you out of the car.... In my humble opinion it does pretty darn good. I've heard Kicker's and Rockford-Fosgate's and was pretty impressed. I even purchased a Rockford-Fosgate 12" for my son's Sebring convertible and it does kick pretty good. But for doing a decent stereo installation on a budget and get great sound, I can honestly say that the Sony speakers, Subs, Amps and receiver units are pretty darn good. Chose you hardware carefully, match the power and Ohm's and use good quality audio rated copper wire for your speakers. Go with the higher gauge wire makes a significant difference with how the speakers will sound.... I'm impressed with the Sony Sub's and will continue to buy them.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tim3923
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
best subwoofer i have ever bought
10/19/2011

Customer review by KASNIFF

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by KASNIFF
by KASNIFF

sony xplod subwoofer are the best woofers you can buy there are very powerful

Was this review helpful? (21) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KASNIFF
Port Crane New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sony still isnt with it...
6/22/2012

Customer review by fullthrottlejunkie

2.0 stars 6/22/2012 by fullthrottlejunkie
by fullthrottlejunkie

well i got the 12" sony xplod with the weird rating of 470w rms on back of magnet but yet the box saids 350w rms and yes I had the correct size sealed box and had my jvc ks-ax5700 which had it bridged thinking okay ill use my o scope and tune the gain the proper way rather then guessing like most newbies would do, well sub did preety well on most songs didnt like fast bass hits it wouldnt keep up and sounded as if was about too blow, In a weeks time of maybe two hours of playing random music the voice coil burns up so bad that the coil wires are visible down through the epoxyed magnet and black as tar with only 400rms clean power and hasnt ever been cranked up too point of sub bottoming out. I replaced sub with a mtx terminator series which is only rated for 250rms and it was beat too death for almost a yr so what gives? Does sony know there selves what there subs are rated at? Check it out urself at wallyworld look at the display saids 350rms for a 12" but yet on back of subwoofer saids 470rms. So if your looking into a sub for around the same price checkout online the Pioneers Champion not the pro Series if your looking for similar price but way outstanding quality

Was this review helpful? (3) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fullthrottlejunkie
Hickory, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
nice subs if u are just looking for bass
1/1/2012

Customer review by jackson312

5.0 stars 1/1/2012 by jackson312
by jackson312

hooked up to a 760 watt pioneer amp. It bangs but of course they are bridged.

Was this review helpful? (5) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jackson312
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good price.
7/5/2013

Customer review by Powder269

4.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Powder269
by Powder269
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good price and good sound, i bought this as a replacement for an older Xplod 12" sub.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Powder269
Beaver Dam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
this is my second set of them in ten year
2/8/2013

Customer review by dragonflyterry

5.0 stars 2/8/2013 by dragonflyterry
by dragonflyterry

I have used sony once before in my camry, it has the cleanest hardest hitting sub i have had, i used them with the sony eplod 1000w amp both time this set going in my extreme blazer, all i can say about sony i have had just about every type of sub none are this great at this price sony has out did them self thanks sony

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dragonflyterry
Alabaster, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Super bass!
10/1/2013

Customer review by Christobal

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by Christobal
by Christobal

I have to turn down the RMS power from my amp because this just pumps wayyy too much bass :P Very clean, well rounded-sounding bass.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christobal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great sound.
1/15/2013

Customer review by t1bone

5.0 stars 1/15/2013 by t1bone
by t1bone

Great sound and looks very good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
t1bone
plover, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day