Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 307 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

307 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

307 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

29%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
56
4 stars
23
3 stars
17
2 stars
51
1 stars
160
1-20 of 302 total reviews
29%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews
Does the job without leaking..unlike earlier model
10/19/2011

Customer review by Tasha13

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Tasha13
by Tasha13

The design is better than previous models. Better quality of some parts. Cleaned my carpets and in about an hour they were 100% dry. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? (51) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tasha13
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Mean Machine
2/27/2012

Customer review by scarlet01

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by scarlet01
by scarlet01

I have owned 4 Hoover cleaners over the years, and I always went with the standard 12 amp motor, until now. I noticed my carpets were not standing up like they use to and didn't seem like they were really clean. For this reason I read reviews on a lot of Hoovers, spent quite a bit of time thinking it over and I believe I got it right with this one. I live very rural, have 5 grand kids, burn wood in fireplace, have dogs and cats, and a husband and 2 son's who don't always wipe their feet, so it was very important for me to get more bang for my buck. I used the cleaner the other night and what a difference! The carpet looks clean and is standing up again, love it! It is heavier than the standard one and you do have to fill and empty the tanks more but for the end result it is well worth it. As for the durability, we will see. I also purchased the 3 year warranty due to the fact I will be using this cleaner frequently.

Was this review helpful? (46) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
scarlet01
Crown City, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
12/21/2011

Customer review by buddahs

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by buddahs
by buddahs

I bought this cleaner because it looked easy to manage and clean. I cleaned 3 rooms the first night I had it as well as steps and a hall. I'm very happy with this item. My son's room was filthy and the cleaner did a fantastic job on it. If I had to say anythiing negative about it I would say that the brushes on the hand attachment need to be firmer, other than that it's great.

Was this review helpful? (33) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buddahs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Easy to assemble, operate & clean.
2/3/2012

Customer review by MsLazz48

5.0 stars 2/3/2012 by MsLazz48
by MsLazz48

I had one of Hoover's older models and was very impressed at how easy this one is to clean after use, all of the parts are easier to remove and replace so clean up is much faster. I really like the machine.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsLazz48
Glendora, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Almost professional grade
3/20/2012

Customer review by TheJudge11

5.0 stars 3/20/2012 by TheJudge11
by TheJudge11

After having purchased and returned three of the top end carpet cleaners I finally found 'the one'. This thing gets it done, and done right. The MaxExtract 77 by far pulls the most water out of the carpet, compared to the other three I have tried. Both Bissels where a huge chore to clean up afterwards, and this thing is a breeze. It pulls out way more dirt, eats up stains for breakfast, and the attachments are perfect for furniture and cars. The carpets in my kid-mobile look brand new, and it is as easy to use as a vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheJudge11
Oshkosh, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Hoover wins over Bissell - good product
6/20/2012

Customer review by canistergirl

4.0 stars 6/20/2012 by canistergirl
by canistergirl

I have an old Bissell canister carpet cleaner that connects directly to the sink for water (hot/cold) I love but it finally started to leak from the water connection on the handle. They don't make that model anymore and I could not find parts to fix it. I bought another Bissell but kept the box just in case I didn't like it. Well I didn't, it didn't work well at all, my old one was much better and seemed to have more suction power. This one was hard to clean up with the clean water and dirty water in the same plastic container. Had to put your hands inside with the dirty water to lift the clean water bladder out of the way to dump and rinse the dirty water. The canister unit was easy to dump outside (not down your sink) and rinse out with the hose then you just put everything inside the unit and store out of the way. I tried another Bissell cleaner but it was just too much work to use. The clean water and dirty water again were both in the same area and you had to lift the clean water bladder to dump the dirty water out. Very nasty and who wants to put their hands in that dirty water. The brushes would make balls of dog hair and dust and spit them out while cleaning. Very hard to clean the machine after using it. I returned it very unhappy and disappointed. What do I do now. I decided to try the Hoover and I kept the box on this one also just in case I had to return it. The directions were not the best but it was not hard to figure out how it works. This one by Hoover is so much better. First it has the separate containers for clean and dirty water, that really makes a difference. It has great suction power. I have a lot of sand that gets tracked in and even after vacuuming it gets sucked up by the Hoover. It is very easy to clean the separate water tanks, the brushes on the bottom come out easily for cleaning. Make sure you clean the two screen filters between tanks. Use a bucket of water to clean the hand held unit and hose. Let everything dry before you put it all together for storage. It does have a couple drawbacks. When you take it apart to dump the dirty water it is hard sometimes to get the suction to work properly (it needs to be sealed correctly). I did figure out that if you don't take the dirty water container all apart, just unplug the drain hole and dump the water from the back and rinse it out, then put the plug back in the connection works better. The cord needs to be longer because it connects at the bottom and it gets in the way of your feet when cleaning. If you lift it up out of the way you have to hold it while cleaning and it is shorter but you won't keep stepping on it. Take your time when sucking up the water to get the best suction. I use the carpet level first then the floor level to get the extra water from my carpet for faster dry time. I also have dogs and the hair was a problem with the Bissell trying to clean the brushes (it would make gobs of hair, dust and carpet fibers and spit them out while cleaning). The Hoover brushes are much easier to clean and don't ball up the hair or carpet fibers. I finally threw out the box for the Hoover after 4 months, I guess I'll keep it but I sure miss my canister unit.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
canistergirl
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
12/6/2011

Customer review by cirargama

2.0 stars 12/6/2011 by cirargama
by cirargama

Not what I expected... I bought this vacuum after my Bissell stoped working and they didn't have it available. The features that were mentioned were amazing so I decided to give this Hoover a try. The brushes were not as strong as expected and did not clean the carpet well. I did like the hard floors option, but it was not enough for me to keep this item. I am returning it to the store after 2 uses without the results I expected, the carpet looked the same after using this product.

Was this review helpful? (19) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cirargama
Kissimmee, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
12/4/2011

Customer review by brandizzy

5.0 stars 12/4/2011 by brandizzy
by brandizzy

I have had numerous other brands of carpet cleaners. I have been so pleased with the design of the Hoover carpet cleaner. Much easier to clean the entire cleaner after each use.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brandizzy
West Valley City, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
3/21/2012

Customer review by Cheifers

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by Cheifers
by Cheifers

So far I am pleased. Carpets dried quickly after being shampooed. Very easy to clean and refill the tanks. Double row of brushes really made a difference in cleaning. It picked up the nap to make the carpet look a little newer. I honestly have not used the hard floor cleaner yet, but looking forward to it. I have used other machines and choose the overall use and cleaning of the Hoover over any.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cheifers
New Kensington ,Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Gets Carpet Clean
3/9/2012

Customer review by MesaDweller

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by MesaDweller
by MesaDweller

This is the first Hoover carpet cleaner I have owned. It got good overall reviews and was a fianlist against the Bissell. This is the better of the two machines at the top. The so-called Platinum looks like the same basic machine that the additional electronics add problems instead of value. Sometimes simple mechanical swithing and valving is best. It is a powerful machine. I tried with just plain water on a non-heavy traffic area and the water was still dirty. As another poster stated, go slow and take your time removing and replacing parts and it will last a long time. Don't forget to clean the front port of the machine. It cleaned very heavy traffic areas that had not been cleaned in several years respectably the first time. There is a difference and need to be cleaned again but a signficant difference!! Use pretreat as needed. Specials at Hoover site are worth looking into but remember there is a shipping charge but can same money on consumable items. My wife has not used it yet but likes the simplicity of unit. Read all directions before using so you get the maximum performance from this machine. 140 degree F water does help loosen things. Detergent reservoir only takes warm tap water if using concentrate. For areas that are not heavy traffic, I found that cutting the concentrate to one-half worked fine and even a third concentrate fine for areas like under furniture. Very easy to clean. It is heavy when full but just plan on the time to use it. Pay attntion to not wet more than 4 passes or you will need a day to air dry as I did but I am not disappointed in the results.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MesaDweller
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Broke after 2 uses
2/8/2013

Customer review by Mac2005

1.0 stars 2/8/2013 by Mac2005
by Mac2005

We purchased this carpet cleaner about 6 months ago and have used it for light spot cleaning twice since then. When we attempted to use it today (for the third time), the gasket from the detergent reservoir failed and the cleaning solution now runs all over the floor any time the tank is in place. It is completely unusable. Hoover's suggestion was to return it to the store or take it to a service center (nearest is 50 miles away). We are disappointed with the product and customer service.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mac2005
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
I'm happy so far!
4/22/2012

Customer review by LadyLakeBum

4.0 stars 4/22/2012 by LadyLakeBum
by LadyLakeBum

The Max Extract 77 does a much better job than the cheaper Max Extract Dual V model (which I returned), and the hose is attached to the machine (on cheaper models, hose needs to be attached to use). My only complaint so far is that it's very had to push and pull, but I'll put up with that for a good cleaning job. I'm house-breaking two puppies, so I use this machine sometimes every other day, but at least once a week.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyLakeBum
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
GreatScrubber
2/3/2014

Customer review by PetAccidentsGalore

5.0 stars 2/3/2014 by PetAccidentsGalore
by PetAccidentsGalore

Cleans up dog accidents very well. I have an old dog who's accidents are happening more often & this scrubber seems to work the best yet from all that I have had. 2 separate water holders. Dirty water container comes completely apart and can rinse out whole thing with no hidden spots and dries quickly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PetAccidentsGalore
Cleveland Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent machine, decent price
2/29/2012

Customer review by Debey

4.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Debey
by Debey

This Hoover replaced my 10+ year old Hoover spin-scrub. I chose it because of its Consumer Reports rating. It does a very good job at cleaning the carpet. The machine is easy to fill, empty and clean. MUCH better than its predecessor. If the primary use is for carpet cleaning, it is a very good machine. The upholstery tools are my only complaint. The cleaning solution dribbles rather than distributing an even spray. (Yes I prepped it first.) The hose suction is not very powerful so stairs and furniture take quite some time to dry. I have not tried the squeegee function, so cannot comment on that.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Debey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sad in Texas
5/13/2012

Customer review by Fiesty54

1.0 stars 5/13/2012 by Fiesty54
by Fiesty54

I have owned a Hoover spinbrush carpet machine for many years and have loved it. When it gave up the ghost I purchased the newest model. I was very excited to use it. It cleaned very well but failed miserably to pick up the water from the carpet. The Max Extract was advertised to dry the carpets quickly. I found the carpets were VERY wet to walk on. My old carpet machine would still pick up so I used it to remove the water. I was able to extract approximately 2 inches additional dirty water the"new and improved" machine failed to remove hence I returned it to the store only after calling Hoover for troubleshooting help. Their recommendation. ... Return it!! I am very sad.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fiesty54
Montgomery Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Quit working after two rooms!
7/9/2012

Customer review by Mush6789

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Mush6789
by Mush6789

I purchased this item because of a friend's recommendation. I used it on two rooms and it did a great job. However, when I started on the third room (these rooms are 10' x 12') it stopped working correctly. Water went straight from clean water and soap tank into dirty water tank. I took it apart thinking I had done something wrong, but it did the same thing. It was in the upright position and I turned it on and water drained straight to other tank. Called customer service and they were very helpful but It was a pain in the tush to take to a repair center and have them fax estimate to fix then wait, blah, blah, blah. Called Walmart.com and they sent UPS to pick it up withing three days it was gone. So that's my story and I'm sticking to it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mush6789
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
First time use.
2/26/2012

Customer review by DooWopDen

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by DooWopDen
by DooWopDen

We use the Max Extract 77 for the first time today. It did a good job of cleaning. It took the whole bottle that came with the cleaner to do one large room. The only complaint was from my wife saying it was to heavy for her to handle.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DooWopDen
New Baltimore, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Hoover Carpet cleaner
5/7/2012

Customer review by JBKett

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by JBKett
by JBKett

Does an excellent job of cleaning the carpet - as good as a professional cleaning. Machine is easy to use and clean after use.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JBKett
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Great Hoover carpet cleaner
5/10/2012

Customer review by LDhuntr50

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by LDhuntr50
by LDhuntr50

I was very impressed by the features and how well the cleaner performed. For over 17 years I was using an older Hoover model and I got my moneys worth but it was time to step up. I live on a farm and have four animals that live in my house. I would use my old cleaner jus about every week and also cleaned some of my friends carpets. I bought another Hoover because I liked the reliablilty of the make.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LDhuntr50
Don't waste your money...
5/27/2012

Customer review by maynerd674

1.0 stars 5/27/2012 by maynerd674
by maynerd674

The cleaning solution will not spray out. I contacted Hoover directly and they gave me the run around. Now they want me to drive the vacuum 3 hours to a service center. I will be returnign it to Wal Mart for a refund. Good thing I saved the receipt!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
maynerd674
Del Rio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 302 total reviews
1-20 of 302 reviews