Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 338 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

338 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

338 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

28%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
59
4 stars
26
3 stars
20
2 stars
53
1 stars
180
1-20 of 333 total reviews
28%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 333 total reviews
1-20 of 333 reviews
Holding Tank Problems
7/9/2012

Customer review by Loves Clean Carpets!!

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Loves Clean Carpets!!
by Loves Clean Carpets!!

I purchased my first unit at our local [@]. I used it 4, maybe 5 times. When it worked correctly, it was an amazing cleaner. After that, the water and solution would disappear just as fast as I could fill it up. Just pour out on the floor and it was gone in 30 seconds. Hoover was wonderful and replaced the machine. I only opened the new one a few months ago, due to not having a need to clean anything until spring. I got it out, opened it, set it up, cleaned my carpets no problems. Did it again a few months later (grandkids) worked fine. Cleaned it and put it away. Bought a used recliner and cleaned it, worked great...then wanted to spot clean the livingroom...boom...tank problems again. As soon as I filled it and started it, the clean water and solution sucked right down into the dirty water holding tank...gone. Ugh! Couldn't believe it! I have never stored this with solution or water in it, have always wiped the seals dry..I think this model just has issues. There was a lady returning one to [@] in front of me the other day, saying it didn't work. Should probably discontinue this particular model. Seems it has a lot of problems. But, I contacted Hoover again, feeling a little crazy with it being the second machine, but again they were happy to assist me, no hassles, customer satisfaction minded, and offered again, to replace it with the model of my choice. Thank you Hoover!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 7/9/2012

We are sorry to hear about the frustrating experience you have been having but we thank you for giving us the opportunity to resolve it to your satisfaction!

Loves Clean Carpets!!
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Leaky water tanks (both clean and dirty tanks)
1/18/2015

Customer review by JimmyD

1.0 stars 1/18/2015 by JimmyD
by JimmyD

I just bought this unit today and after using it for only 20 minutes I found the dirty water tank to be leaking. The dirty water tank leaks dirty water out from between the seal of the main tank and the cleanout cover while carrying the tank to empty if not held just so. The dirty water tank is made of cheap plastic that deforms under the weight of the dirty water inside the tank causing a gap in the seal.

Comment from Giselle - 1/22/2015

Hi JimmyD! We strive for quality products and that is not what we want to see. We want to help make this right and restore your faith in our products. You will receive a private email shortly, we have a couple questions.

JimmyD
Wilmington, DE, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Mean Machine
2/27/2012

Customer review by scarlet01

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by scarlet01
by scarlet01

I have owned 4 Hoover cleaners over the years, and I always went with the standard 12 amp motor, until now. I noticed my carpets were not standing up like they use to and didn't seem like they were really clean. For this reason I read reviews on a lot of Hoovers, spent quite a bit of time thinking it over and I believe I got it right with this one. I live very rural, have 5 grand kids, burn wood in fireplace, have dogs and cats, and a husband and 2 son's who don't always wipe their feet, so it was very important for me to get more bang for my buck. I used the cleaner the other night and what a difference! The carpet looks clean and is standing up again, love it! It is heavier than the standard one and you do have to fill and empty the tanks more but for the end result it is well worth it. As for the durability, we will see. I also purchased the 3 year warranty due to the fact I will be using this cleaner frequently.

Was this review helpful? (55) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scarlet01
Crown City, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Hoover QA Problems?
5/27/2014

Customer review by mickkie

3.0 stars 5/27/2014 by mickkie
by mickkie

This is my second Hoover steam cleaner. The first one was really shoddy with leaks, brushes quit rotating, plastic parts broke, etc. etc. I limped along with it for 4 or 5 years until the brushes totally quit. So decided to try a new one. After reading many reviews (elsewhere not here) I finally decided to try this model. The design is much better than the last one and it is much easier to use and clean. However, after using it for the first time I noticed that the cleaning solution tank was becoming empty very quickly (instead of being measured out with the water). After inspection I found that the cleaning solution tank (located inside the main water tank) leaks directly into the water reservoir (bypassing the metering tube). The rest of the cleaner seems to work fine including the stairs attachment. Since everything else works fine, I think I will try some silicone sealant which I can apply through the top filling hole to seal the cleaning tank seam where the leak occurs.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 5/28/2014

Hi Mickkie, please do not attempt to repair the Max Extract 77 on your own. That will void your warranty. We would like to further assist with this situation. Please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com. Thank you. <br /><br />-Giselle<br />Hoover Customer Care

mickkie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cleans Great!
1/28/2016

Customer review by BankerBill

4.0 stars 1/28/2016 by BankerBill
by BankerBill

I have had this cleaner for about 2 years. It replaced a more expensive Hoover that they didn't make any longer. I think it was called a Platinum. This cleaner is not quite as good. But far better than any other I have ever used. I like the auto rinse option. My only complaint is the water container. I clean about 1500 square feet of carpet. So I need to refill the water and solution several times. Here is the downfall....After the first fill there is so much condensation on the inside of the container you can not see the fill lines for detergent and water. I either get too much solution and then I have to pour out and waste it. Or I get too much water. Hoover please take note of this. The Platinum had 2 tanks. That was a much better design. Or figure a way to make it easier to see the markings on the tank.

BankerBill
Indianapolis, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No spinning brushes
12/30/2015

Customer review by Yoda

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by Yoda
by Yoda

Purchased on 10/29/15 when a previous Hoover had the same problem. This was the only one I could find in our town that worked on hard floors and carpet. And I needed it right away. I had half cleaned carpet. I have purchased at least 7 hoovers and they are good when they work but I am done. The nearest repair center is 100 miles away. I definitely used only Hoover cleaning products and constantly checked filters every load of water. I would have been afraid to use any other than Hoover expensive detergent. Initially this carpet cleaner worked good but carpet felt stiff. Recleaned with water only. Little better. Now after 2 months brushes won't turn. I clean then after each use. This really sucks. After reading reviews, I know I have water leakage to look forward to.

Comment from Kenya - 12/30/2015

Hi Yoda! Your SpinScrub brushes should be working just like new. We want to help. If your brushes aren’t spinning the drive pin that drives the brushes could be damaged. Try this: Remove the brushes by grabbing them firmly and pulling out. Once removed spin the brushes by hand. Be sure they are free of hair/debris and can spin freely. Inspect the drive pin for damages. If the drive pin is damaged or has sheared off it will need to be replaced. A replacement drive pin kit is available here: http://bit.ly/1ZC9Ohy. Hope this helps. Let us know if you still need us!

Yoda
Kingman, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Same as others that have let me down
1/27/2016

Customer review by Claudia65

2.0 stars 1/27/2016 by Claudia65
by Claudia65

Had my MAX Extract77 for two years with minor issues regarding cleaning filters etc. Now after two years the solution and water won't dispense. I followed all the trouble shooting and nothing helped. Many people evidently are having the same issue even after using only a short time.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/28/2016

Hi Claudia65! Under normal use/maintenance, you should definitely be able to use your Max Extract longer than 2 years. We want to help! To ensure product longevity and that the washer can operate at peak performance, we strongly recommend using only Hoover solutions. Using other solvents or household products will cause internal leakage or damage over time. Give this a shot for us: take the cleaner to a hard floor surface. Then, remove the clean water and fill up half way with hot tap water (non-boling.) Now, place the tank back on to the cleaner and plug up the unit. Be sure the unit is in wash mode. Power on the unit, recline it back, and pump the handle trigger for 30-60 seconds. After doing this, the cleaner should dispense much better.. If you're still having issues, you may take the unit in to a service center. for an inspection Find the closest location here: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this helps!

Claudia65
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
NOT A STEAMER-NO HEAT
2/28/2013

Customer review by FirstTimeMama83

3.0 stars 2/28/2013 by FirstTimeMama83
by FirstTimeMama83
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I ordered mine online and the shipping was excellent, i got it on the 3rd day after i placed my purchased. It took me 10days until i took it out and used it for just a day. Compared to the bissell that i used to have for 3years, i find this cleaner very efficient except for two very important considerations. First for the price, i think its too expensive for this not to have a built-in heat, which lead to not helping getting stain out when using it. Second the water tank where it holds clean water and detergent leaks only after 4th refill. If you had a great stain that needs a good clean like chocolate syrup stain or dish soap on carpet like i did, this didn't do a very good job for me. It is so hard to find a good carpet cleaner out there that would last and do the job but this is not a keeper because it is impractical to keep something priced doubled. I returned mine and will probably settle for a cheaper carpet steamer that actually produced heat and do the job better.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FirstTimeMama83
Hale, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Elegant design for effective cleaning
2/6/2014

Customer review by pleader

5.0 stars 2/6/2014 by pleader
by pleader

I wore out my older Dual Path V carpet washer using it to clean my rental real estate for many years. I had thought it was an excellent carpet and hard floor washer. This newer design is significantly better, even wonderful! About 10# lighter, quieter, easier to empty without spilling (unlike the former unit), and cleans even better. Even the hand power tool cleaned better than the former design. I'm hoping for many years of service as I had with the previous unit. There is a slight leak of water or detergent from the supply container, but the retention design minimizes leaking outside the unit and there seems to be no great loss of liquid anyway. Just examining the dirty water tank I wonder about how the engineers came up with such an elegant design. Not exaggerating, every aspect of this design seems to be improved. I am now buying a second unit for my house in Arizona, as nothing cleans as well as this washer/shampooer when our cat has an accident. Kudos to Hoover for this design.

pleader
Edmonds, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Important: valve seal replacement parts
12/11/2015

Customer review by KeloKid

4.0 stars 12/11/2015 by KeloKid
by KeloKid

I've had this machine a while. I like how it deep cleans my this carpets. If you find the reservoir leaks it will need a valve stem and valve seal replacement. its an easy do it yourself but the part description has no photo so you will not be sure if you are ordering the correct part. I ordered them hoping they would be the parts I needed. Luckily they were so I am forwarding this info to anyone who might need to order these parts. the Valve stem part number is 525539001 the valve seal part number ids 563226001 They are listed in the parts and accessories page but not pictured. I hope this will help others who might question these parts when needed. also expect to pay more that you should! they charge almost five bucks for each part and with shipping it cost me sixteen dollars and change!

KeloKid
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Please Read!
12/13/2015

Customer review by Hoover54321

1.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Hoover54321
by Hoover54321

This is an update review. I was sent this machine as a replacement for my platinum carpet cleaner, that sadly couldn't be repaired or replaced. This machine worked great the first two times of use. On my third use I noticed that water had begun to leak from behind the machine and from the lids when the machine was placed backwards. This was not a huge problem. The big problem was today when I was shampooing the carpet the machine quit dispensing soap and water all together. I tried to spray water with the hose as well and nothing. I don't expect anything to last forever, but this is my second Hoover carpet cleaner within the last few years to go bad. I hope that this machine is promptly repaired or replaced because, just as with the platinum, I am stuck with a half cleaned room.

Comment from Kenya - 12/17/2015

Hi Hoover54321! You shouldn’t be having any issues with your Max Extract 77 releasing the soap and water. It is recommended, for product longevity and to prevent internal damage, to only use the Hoover carpet cleaning solution. Behind the clean water tank is a square drainage opening. When you recline the handle back, you may get solution coming from this area. This is only the excess solution being drained out the back and is completely normal. Try priming the trigger to get the solution to dispense. To do this; fill the solution tank with hot tap water. Recline the handle back and pump the trigger 60 times. Next, power the unit on and with the handle still reclined, squeeze the trigger for 60 seconds. You should see the water begin to flow. If not, what was left of your 6 year warranty from your Platinum carried over to the new cleaner. Please take it in for repair. To locate your nearest dealer visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

Hoover54321
Oklahoma, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works So Well!!!
1/15/2016

Customer review by Callie07

5.0 stars 1/15/2016 by Callie07
by Callie07

My carpets had not been cleaned for much too long. By the time I finished the first room I was jumping for joy. I don't think professionals could have done any better. Quite powerful and I even had fun using it.

Callie07
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TOO MANY MECHANICAL PROBLEMS.
6/29/2015

Customer review by Paisano in NM

1.0 stars 6/29/2015 by Paisano in NM
by Paisano in NM

Do not purchase this Hoover - Max Extract 77. I purchased one in 2010 and had to return it to be serviced over 5 times with in the first year. Such problems were: 'not dispensing soap, leaking water and solution, trigger defaulted, not deep cleaning, and just recently, dispensing the water/detergent but NOT picking up the excess water off the carpet like it should. I'm very disappointed as I am a big fan usally of Hoover Products. For example, I owned a 'Hoover Floormate Hard Floor Cleaner' for over two years and it did a great jog! I didn't have to replace anything; it just stopped picking up the water just recently. Yesterday, I purchased another hard floor cleaner (that's how much I like Hoover Products)!. However, this Hoover-Max Extract77 disappointed me (at first it did work well, like it should), but it had its share of issues. I cannot afford a new carpet cleaner right now but if I could I would try out the Hoover-Max66; after reading the reviews.

Comment from Giselle - 6/29/2015

Hi Paisano! Sorry to hear about the many issues you've had with your Max Extract 77. We do not want you to feel discouraged in any way. We truly appreciate your loyalty and want to keep you in the Hoover Family for many more years to come. We want to help. You will receive a private email shortly.

Paisano in NM
Rio Rancho, NM, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
love it!
1/14/2016

Customer review by sherylann

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by sherylann
by sherylann

I got this a few months back. I have had 4 knee procedures and multiple back injuries and i love how easy this makes house work! No more MOP!!

sherylann
Washington, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/21/2011

Customer review by buddahs

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by buddahs
by buddahs

I bought this cleaner because it looked easy to manage and clean. I cleaned 3 rooms the first night I had it as well as steps and a hall. I'm very happy with this item. My son's room was filthy and the cleaner did a fantastic job on it. If I had to say anythiing negative about it I would say that the brushes on the hand attachment need to be firmer, other than that it's great.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buddahs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job without leaking..unlike earlier model
10/19/2011

Customer review by Tasha13

5.0 stars 10/19/2011 by Tasha13
by Tasha13

The design is better than previous models. Better quality of some parts. Cleaned my carpets and in about an hour they were 100% dry. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? (55) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tasha13
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
How a company should be evaluated
8/27/2014

Customer review by atreefellintheforest

5.0 stars 8/27/2014 by atreefellintheforest
by atreefellintheforest

Lets be honest. The best and worst products have one thing in common; something always goes wrong. As with any relationship, once something goes wrong you then find out if they are worth it. Many companies these days forget that the customer themselves is worth more to them than wining an argument. I purchased a Hoover Carpet Cleaner several years ago and it broke down, got fixed, broke down, got replaced with the same model, broke down, got fixed, broke down, and then they needed to replace it. Well, they didn't make that model anymore. So, with out any hassle, they let me pick from the "like kind or price wise the same." I was concerned until I just used it. I am using the model number FH50240. What a machine. I am married with children and pets, this one was made for the family. And I will report that it sucks. Yes, it sucks so well, 20 minutes later I could walk on the carpet in my socks. Folks, I am giving them 5 stars for standing behind the product and for no making my life more miserable.

atreefellintheforest
Colorado Springs, CO, United States
Gender:Male
Poor experience with this product
1/8/2016

Customer review by lillypad

1.0 stars 1/8/2016 by lillypad
by lillypad

The pump failed first off then the brushes broke. I called Hoover and they had me take it to Park Ridge Vacuum Repair. The product was replaced by Hoover.. I have used it once since replacement. So far so good.

lillypad
Phoenix, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Quit Working!!!!
12/13/2015

Customer review by vacuumman12344

1.0 stars 12/13/2015 by vacuumman12344
by vacuumman12344

This is an update review. I was sent this machine as a replacement for my platinum carpet cleaner, that sadly couldn't be repaired or replaced. This machine worked great the first two times of use. On my third use I noticed that water had begun to leak from behind the machine and from the lids when the machine was placed backwards. This was not a huge problem. The big problem was today when I was shampooing the carpet the machine quit dispensing soap and water all together. I tried to spray water with the hose as well and nothing. I don't expect anything to last forever, but this is my second Hoover carpet cleaner within the last few years to go bad. I hope that this machine is promptly repaired or replaced because, just as with the platinum, I am stuck with a half cleaned room.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vacuumman12344
Would recommend to a friend? No
stopped working
11/24/2015

Customer review by golfhacker

1.0 stars 11/24/2015 by golfhacker
by golfhacker

Has been used 4 times in two yrs. Last time the machine would only dispense the shampoo and no water. Made sure that it was in correctly and it was and then pulled the trigger about 10-15 times then it started to work again. Was using it again yesterday and made about 8 short passes with it and the machine completely stop running (completely dead!!!) This kind of stuff should not be happening, not with this little use. And please do not give me the regular answer that I have seen in the other reviews. I would like this taken care of in a decent way, Whom ever is reading this I do not think you would buy another hoover product if this happened to you. So show me how a multimillion company should really be treating its customers when there is a problem with their product.. Thank you.

Comment from Kenya - 11/24/2015

Hi golfhacker! That is not good to hear & we want to help. For product longevity and optimal performance we recommend only using the Hoover carpet cleaning solution in your Max Extract 77. If you have done this and your cleaner won’t turn on, this is something we will need to get out hands on. The unit carries a 24 month warranty against manufacturing defects. To locate your nearest repair center please visit: http://hoover.com/locator/. Let us know if you still need us!

golfhacker
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 333 total reviews
1-20 of 333 reviews