Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 120 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

120 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
64
4 stars
31
3 stars
14
2 stars
2
1 stars
9
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 107 total reviews
The best protection for your money
12/21/2012

Customer review by camaro72stroker

5.0 stars by camaro72stroker

Our home burned July 2nd, 2012. We lost the housegarage two chopper motorcycles and everything. The fire was very hot. The safe was so hot it melted the hinge from the door melted the handle and dial off. I thought for sure the contents were destroyed. I pried the outer door skin off, then removed the fire proof insulation. I busted the plastic inner door away. To my suprise all of my old coins and paper money was perfect. My fractional currency and plastic container with my proofs and 20 dollar gold pieces were perfect. I have pictures of the safe after the fire and opened with the contents. It was amazing. Thanks to the construction of this safe something valuable was salvagable.

Was this review helpful? (189) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
camaro72stroker
Pollock, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Love my Sentry Safe!
12/1/2011

Customer review by crimsondaze

5.0 stars by crimsondaze

I actually thought it came with a key as well....and thought so even more when I was reading the manual that was included (It had instructions for Safes that also had keys...which didn't apply to my Sentry Safe).....Turns out this particular safe DOES NOT come with a key as a secondary cautionary measure. This Sentry Safe meets my needs very nicely and I definitely recommend it!!!

Was this review helpful? (95) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
crimsondaze
Brooklyn NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works for us!
2/4/2012

Customer review by pokey1965

5.0 stars by pokey1965

We bought this safe because my husband's pain medicine was being stolen. Now we are able to lock them up along with other valuables and we are at ease now. There is no way to get into it without the combination. It's very heavy so a thief is not able to take it with them. We are very satisfied with it.

Was this review helpful? (47) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
pokey1965
Live Oak, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Combination numbers not true
3/7/2013

Customer review by Safe2

1.0 stars by Safe2

Be aware that if you buy this safe, or any other dial combination safes from SentrySafe, that the combination numbers are not true. You can still open the safe with variable numbers on either side of your assigned combination... so a combination number of 1-2-3 could still be opened with 3-5-7 for instance.

Was this review helpful? (31) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Safe2
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good product for price, but handle is flimsy!
11/12/2012

Customer review by htgw

3.0 stars by htgw

Handle is plastic and doesn't feel overly durable, so I am scoring it a little lower. Otherwise the size is perfect and it can be bolted to the ground to discourage thieves from walking off with it. Very pleased. Accessories such as drawers can be bought at the company's website for about $37.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
htgw
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Economical Safe!
12/31/2013

Customer review by Buckerou

5.0 stars by Buckerou

I ordered this for my wife as a Christmas present the week before the Holiday. I did not think it would make it in time. Surprisingly it was at the store for pickup in four days. I did not open it to check it out. When we opened the box up, there was a small ding in the left side of the safe near the front. I was going to return it but as it did not hurt the functionality and where we were going to place it, it would not be seen, we kept it. The safe is very nice unit for this price point. This is not the safe that is found in the store in that it is not packaged in the consumer box for display. This safe comes in Styrofoam inside a brown box. The safe is large enough to hold everything we needed it for and the inside shelf is a nice plus. I believe that safes, like sheds and garages should be a bit bigger than you intend. That way you have enough room when you need it. A good idea to register it on the Sentry web site for the warranty and in case the combination is lost and forgotten. My wife and I are very happy with the purchase. I would recommend it if you are looking for a safe.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Buckerou
Halifax, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value For Combination Lock Safe
12/25/2013

Customer review by Codyschoice

4.0 stars by Codyschoice

I at first looked at another combination lock fire safe from another manufacturer but it was too small for all of the important papers we have. So I saw this safe on-line and found it to be just about the right size without getting too big. This safe was priced just a little more than the other smaller safe at first looked at. I was told my dad, who is a locksmith, that you want a combination lock that way you do not have a lock fail due to failed or low batteries like the digital locks have. Check out this safe. I think you may like it too.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Codyschoice
Lancaster, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/1/2012

Customer review by ccryder752

3.0 stars by ccryder752

The handle and lock dial are made of plastic. Doesn't seem as if it will hold up and would melt in a fire. Time will tell.

Was this review helpful? (33) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ccryder752
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Home Safe
4/12/2014

Customer review by dtstager

5.0 stars by dtstager

It was over 100lbs and I like the 4 steel bolts. It was less expensive online than in the store. There were no bolts in it if thats an issue.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dtstager
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SentrySafe Model SFW123CS Combination Fire Safe
8/26/2012

Customer review by Yollypr

4.0 stars by Yollypr

This is the first safe that i've owned other than a small fireproof lockbox, but it suits our needs quite well. I wish that the lock/unlock mechanism worked more smoothly but with a little effort it opens and closes well. It would also be very nice if you could change the combination.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Yollypr
Troy,Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
GREAT SAFE FOR THE HOME.
9/3/2012

Customer review by JOERETIRED

5.0 stars by JOERETIRED

I LIKE IT BECAUSE IT'S SIMPLE AND VERY HEAVY DUTY. HAS PLENTY OF ROOM FOR MY NEEDS. SIMPLE TO OPERATE AND NO ELECTRONICS OR BATTERIES. VERY WELL MADE.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JOERETIRED
DELMONT, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
10/3/2013

Customer review by WhydoIneedanicknamenow

3.0 stars by WhydoIneedanicknamenow

Wanted a safe to protect documents from fire & water. Documents like wills, deeds, titles, computer back-up drives, etc. Was not looking for something to store valuables. Company claims the safe will protect from fire & water. It might protect against fire but not so sure about water. The seal is just a cheap 1/4" adhesive backed foam strip, similar to cheap weatherstripping. The seal is not very well protected from heat. If the foam melts, the safe will not be water-proof. If you have a fire, there will be water. It is smaller than I pictured in my mind, even though I had the specs & sizes. Also did not think about legal size documents & papers, they will not fit without being folded. I put the safe in the basement in a spot that should be shielded the most from fire. Though, the basement will see the most water. I did not buy this for security. The safe is heavy, but a I was able to carry it into the basement and position myself. Could be stolen and taken by a decent size man. Bolting the safe down is an option but drilling holes through the shell will give a path for water to penetrate. Filling the holes with silicone before bolting down and sealing heads of bolts would help. The shell is sheetmetal, which is better than the plastic that others are made off. Hinge is welded to sheetmetal shell. Easy to get a flatbar between hinge & shell. Might be able to tear weld loose. The 4 locking bolts won't do much if someone tears the hinge off. Again, I was not looking for security. I wanted to protect important documents incase of fire or flood. I leave the safe closed but unlocked. If someone breaks in, my hope is that they will open the safe and see it contains nothing of value and leave it in place. I considered getting a small fire/water gun safe over this home safe. Gun safe was 3x the price. Elected to go with the home safe. In retrospect maybe I should have went with the gun safe. Same protection but would have had a lot more room. Could have installed multiple shelves and organized stuff well. Will the safe protect against fire & water? I should be all set. Would it stop someone from theft? Nope doubt it. Hinge can be popped off with some enthusiasm or the hole think could be walked off with and cut open with a circular saw.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
WhydoIneedanicknamenow
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
cheap mostly plastic
12/12/2012

Customer review by bbdubb

1.0 stars by bbdubb

Very disappointing! The release handle and dial are both plastic. But my biggest beef is the completely exposed hinge and the hinge side lock is completely made of plastic. How is that supposed to be theft resistant? I could open it in 5 minutes with a pry bar. I was expecting something more theft resistant.

Was this review helpful? (14) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bbdubb
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought this product for a hand gun safe.
9/15/2012

Customer review by chuckturtle

5.0 stars by chuckturtle

I bought this product to safely story hand guns and ammo in and to keep them out of reach of grandchildren. It is perfect size to store five hand guns and boxes of ammo in at a reasonable cost for the investment. The safe is also fire proof for up to 1 hour.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chuckturtle
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Safe at an Excellent Price
12/25/2013

Customer review by RBODP

5.0 stars by RBODP

Solid safe from a trusted company. I have one of their other safes as well as 2 lock boxes. It took me 15 minutes to unload from the box to the area I wanted in and store my stuff as well as learn how to lock and unlock it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RBODP
Massapequa Park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect safe for small living space
4/9/2014

Customer review by EXDOLANDER

5.0 stars by EXDOLANDER

This safe is light enough to transport; heavy enough that it is not easy to carry away. Good quality combination lock and true square of door provide easy closing, locking and sealing with little friction. Sentry safe is manufactured in my area. I had dealt personally with the company during a building construction project years ago and the owners are honest, ethical and generous to their employees and public charities.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EXDOLANDER
ROCHESTER NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dial and handle are cheap plastic
5/2/2014

Customer review by Furtchet

3.0 stars by Furtchet

It is a great over all safe, heavy, water tight. The door and frame are well made. The movable shelf is very convenient. I was disappointing in the handle and dial. The handle is plastic and feels easy to break, when it is locked the handle has a spongy feel when moving it. The dial new clicking feature is very cheap sounding and feeling, the clicking is from 4 plastic tabs pressing against the back of the dial. The dial on my unit was a little off centered so a third of the numbers are hard to turn because the dial is rubbing against the plastic decorative housing. All in all it is a nice sturdy safe and a good price for the size.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Furtchet
St.Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SentrySafe Model SFW123CS
6/22/2013

Customer review by Musik

1.0 stars by Musik

I had terrible experience with this safe. I have lock it for the very First time and wasn't able to open it. I did everything in accordance with manual, but after 45 minutes I gave up! Gladly it was empty! Returned to Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Musik
Stoughton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I hope they keep making this kind of safe
2/12/2013

Customer review by NJPitbull

5.0 stars by NJPitbull

This safe is the real deal. I was looking for a safe that didn't have a key to it and this safe does. I always lose my key but I don't lose the combination. This has a simple combination and it's really heavy. Nothing can get to it. A fire can't bring it down. It's a great safe.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
NJPitbull
Morris Plains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value
12/21/2013

Customer review by JETNOSE

5.0 stars by JETNOSE

Great safe for the money

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
JETNOSE
north tonawanda n.y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 107 total reviews