Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 171 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

171 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

171 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
79
4 stars
30
3 stars
16
2 stars
21
1 stars
25
1-20 of 154 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews
Awesome..!
11/1/2011

Customer review by Ta2breal

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by Ta2breal
by Ta2breal

So, I waited 1 whole week before writting a review and I am so glad I brought this phone! I started to give it 4 stars due to volume when you use the speaker phone but after making some adjustments its better now! First of all I left Sprint which I had for 9 yrs, paying $75 monthly. Straight talk really dnt know how good of a deal this nokia phone really is?!! I had a Black Berry nd boy did I love those apps (ex; BOA,Mr number Call Blck) but this has nokia apps which are somewhat decient. This really is a smart phone, it really functions almost, just almost like a Black Berry!!! It was worth the $200 plus it runs off of At&t towers which is superb, I need good coverage being that I travel alot!

Was this review helpful? (44) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ta2breal
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
READ if You're Actually Considering This Phone
3/24/2012

Customer review by SydneyTiffa

2.0 stars 3/24/2012 by SydneyTiffa
by SydneyTiffa

So, I went with Straight Talk after I decided I was tired of paying a fortune for service through Verizon. I had an Incredible and was honestly tired of the touch-screen feature. I wanted a "Blackberry" style phone with a GPS, which left just this one to choose from in my area. I got it because of the apps available to me through the Nokia store, the GPS feature that I knew I would miss with my Incredible, but still have a decent camera since I love to take pics on the go. Next time, I will just invest in a GPS unit instead of relying on a phone for that instead of thinking that I would actually have a functioning phone that had the options I wanted. This phone is $150 in the first place so you would think you would get what you paid for as opposed to the cheaper versions of pay as you go phones. Nope. The apps available through the Nokia store only download half the time, leaving you to not have a lot of the apps you actually want. The camera....omg the camera....5MP right? Wrong. ALL the pictures that you take with this will be 2MP tops, and I have yet to take a picture that actually reaches that level of "quality." It doesn't take a genius to go through the settings and select the highest quality mode for your pictures, which 5MP is selected every time because I check, and I still only produce 2MP results. The Facebook app included is very poor in its functionality, along with the customizing options available to you. When you start the phone up, it clearly indicates that its a product of TracPhone...why is this a product of TracPhone? If I had none that I seriously would not have bothered. I know this phone is no Incredible, and I honestly do not even consider it a smart phone no matter how hard it claims to be. For $150 though, I expect a phone to deliver what it promises to. I literally only use this phone for talking and texting because that's all it is good for. With so many other different options out there for the main purpose of talking and texting, why on Earth would anyone who has read my review still choose this phone that requires you to pay $45 for the unlimited plan because it is that "nifty?" *Yep, I'm getting another phone, fyi.

Was this review helpful? (10) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SydneyTiffa
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/15/2011

Customer review by greeneone

3.0 stars 8/15/2011 by greeneone
by greeneone

As the information states, the phone is full of features. It does everything that is states, but unfortunately the phone requires too much work for operation. I bought the phone because I was looking for a backup phone or possibly a replacement for my Verizon phone. I read reviews on other sites and decided to give the phone a try. After realizing that the phone kept locking after every use and you had to press two buttons to unlock the phone, I became frustrated. I also became frustrated when I had to press another button twice to change from letters to numbers. In all fairness, the phone has a wonderful radio, multiple email accounts and the Internet worked well. I may just be spoiled by the one touch operation of my current phone or maybe I didn't spend enough time trying to learn all of the features on this phone. I guess for a smart phone it was too complicated for my needs. After much consideration, I returned the phone to Walmart and purchased a BlackBerry Style from Boost Mobile.

Was this review helpful? (100) (76)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
greeneone
ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nokia E5-Good Phone, Easy Straight Talk Set-Up.
8/17/2011

Customer review by CarefulTexasShopper

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by CarefulTexasShopper
by CarefulTexasShopper
Top 1000 contributor

I bought the Nokia E5 as a replacement phone for a Nokia E71 that I tried for about a week. I really like the E5. I first bought the E71, which I did not like. I bought it due to the glowing, positive reviews that stated the high tech positives to the phone (true). However, I'm not a tech. person and didn't need the phone for business purposes. For me, the E71 was not user friendly, not to mention small font/text and a lot of problems when I tried to update the phone. Also, I carry the phone in a shirt pocket, and the E71 is VERY heavy. Ok, the E5 is similar to a Blackberry. Not the same, but similar. The E5 was much easier to set-up, and to update through Nokia.com. As far as the keypad locking, the keypad comes unlocked and the setting has to be changed to make it lock after a call. The user sets the lock/unlock, and the length of time that the keyspad stays unlocked. It designed to stop "pocket or purse calls," it's very easy and quick to unlock. The E5 has a great camera, push email, and many other uasable features. Very pleased with the E5. Additionally, I ported my existing phone number to the E5, very simple and quick. It took Straight Talk about 30 minutes to complete the swap. Also, I've had no dropped calls or weak signal(s).

Was this review helpful? (564) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarefulTexasShopper
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Great phone with a lot of features
12/7/2011

Customer review by Quota38b

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by Quota38b
by Quota38b

I love this phone. I was a little hesitant in getting it because of some of the reviews I read, but I love it. My emails come in real time which is nice, but the best feature to me is the GPS. I just got back to the states after living in Germany for 3 years and forgot how to get everywhere I needed to go, but this phone always gets me there. I would actually say that it is more accurate than my GPS I had in my last car! I live in a semi rural area and the signal strength is amazing. I haven't dropped a single call in the 2 weeks that I've owned the phone. I get 3G coverage all over the place and the web is relatively fast for the product. I only runs couple apps, but they run flawlessly. I have to get up early in the morning for work and I've discovered the flashlight on the phone and it works great. I'm able to navigate around my room and get what I need without waking up my wife which I used to do a lot bumping into things. The camera has a little to be desired, but it does the trick and gets the point across. You can zoom in and the tools and function of the camera is very easy to use. Overall, great phone for the money. I love straighttalk, and will never have a cell phone contract again!!

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quota38b
Dickson, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hard to really tell how good it is
1/28/2012

Customer review by NoNameJustMe

4.0 stars 1/28/2012 by NoNameJustMe
by NoNameJustMe

The manual that comes with the phone is sub-par at best. You have to figure it out on your own about many of the functions. Even making a call isn't straight forward - no icon to select to make the call - you can't get info from the manual. I had to go online to get the basic information that should be in the manual. The phone itself seems to be excellent - I get a signal in areas where my other service always failed. The keyboard is fairly easy to use but again, finding the shift key was a treasure hunt because the manual didn't give the info. Voice clarity is very good - ear phones are bad (cheap) and uncomfortable - get bluetooth it's worth the cost. The GPS is fair - it failed to alert me in time to take my exit on the interstate but was extremely good when it comes to neighborhood streets - this may be due to the fact you drive slower than on the highway. Overall the phone and the service are very good - as good as any of the national carriers.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoNameJustMe
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very disappointed
4/2/2012

Customer review by JoJoLyn

2.0 stars 4/2/2012 by JoJoLyn
by JoJoLyn

I brought the Nokia E-5 with Straight talk. The straight talk service is great. I would rate that a 5. The phone on the other hand I rate a 1-2. The first few weeks the phone worked good. It made good calls and the internet froze a few times but nothing I couldnt deal with . The camera took good pics. But now I have had the phone for two months. I am restarting the phone 3 times a day. It seems when moving from one app to another I have to restart the phone. The internet freezes the whole phone after about 5mins of using it. Most the time I use wi-fi it seems to drop it all the time. Even when I am standing right next to the router. I have to restart to get the phone to work. Nokia advertises tons of apps but they arent useful. No Netflix app or Kindle type. The Nokia- e-71 has an Netflix app so I do not understand why the E-5 doesnt. I will be replacing this phone as soon as I can. I feel like I opened a window and throw away 150.00. If you really only use the phone for calls then buy it but for texting and data dont waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoJoLyn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
Great Phone
1/30/2012

Customer review by Jeleki

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by Jeleki
by Jeleki

I bought this phone as an upgrade to my E71 after I had purchased an LG touchscreen phone and then returned it. This phone is much lighter than the E71 and that has been a big plus for me. It contains all of the same features as my E71 but I like the design better. The keyboard is better on this one because it includes the symbol ( and ) on the keyboard for sending smily faces on your texts. The E71 lacked those symbols and I could never send smiley faces (my preference). I do find the raised keys on the keypad to be better for texting. It seems like texting goes smoother with less typos. The battery life is excellent and I can search the web and receive emails directly to my phone. If you used the E71 then the E5 is works the same way - just a better version. I like the cover since I tend to drop my phones and this will help protect it. You cannot use the charger for an E71 on this phone because the port is different, but it wasn't a hassel to purchase a different car charger. This is a really great smart phone for $45 a month and I love all of the features.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jeleki
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
terrible phone
3/6/2012

Customer review by working4myfam

1.0 stars 3/6/2012 by working4myfam
by working4myfam

I purchased this phone because I wanted an upgrade my old phone and I liked that this one had a 5.0 mp camera and a lot of apps. The first week I loved this phone everything worked great then all of a sudden none of my applications worked and I could not connect to the internet. I called straight talk and after 2 hours of being on the phone with them they told me that it was because my email was using too much memory. I deleted my email account and it did not solve a thing. Then the phone started dropping calls, would not allow me to answer all of my calls or dial out some of the time (now my husband has the LG Android and he has no problems with it, so it is not the service area). Straight talk could not figure out what the problem was with my phone. I wish I never waisted my $198 on this phone (now $149). The only thing i like about this phone is the camera. I disconnected this one and I am now ordering the LG Android the apps and GPS are much better on the android. This phone is definately not worth buying and I would not recommend it. I was very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
working4myfam
rock hill, sc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Worth the money!!!
9/27/2011

Customer review by neimarfel

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by neimarfel
by neimarfel

I bought this phone about two weeks ago, thought it was a little expensive for my budget but it was totally worth every cent! I owned a blackberry curve before this phone and it just doesn't compare to this phone. So far I haven't had a dropped call and everywhere I have traveled throughout my hometown has had all it's bars which is quite a big deal since AT&T claims to have "more bars in more places". I have 3G internet speed everywhere I go even in my home that's located out in the country. Now all of my family is going to switch from Sprint to Straighttalk. I recommend it to any smartphone fans out there.

Was this review helpful? (62) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
neimarfel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Phone
1/21/2012

Customer review by DaBrink

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by DaBrink
by DaBrink

I live in the Charlotte area and Sprint coverage is sparse. I needed a phone that worked in rural areas as well as inside of large buildings. Not only was I looking for a phone that would not disconnect during calls, but a device that would also keep me connected with business and personal email. The Nokia has done all of that, excellent service in areas I didn't expect, lotus and yahoo email delivery on time, very good internet surfing. Have had a blackberry and this is very similar in size and function, but at a fraction of the price. Although the initial cost of the phone may seem high, its worth the money for all of the features considering the low monthly cost of the service!

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaBrink
Waxhaw, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My Mom's 1st Smart Phone (57yrs. old)
8/8/2012

Customer review by Steelerchic711

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Steelerchic711
by Steelerchic711

The Nokia E-5, has met and surpassed my expectations ! My 57 year old Mom was in search of a "Smart Phone" to sync. with her new Honda Civic ! She also had been paying per minute, and needed a good unlimited, no contract phone ! I myself a "Straight Talk" User of almost 3 years, knew this was the plan for her! My Mom although a very "Smart" woman, thought her flip phone provided by work was "Smart" because it had a camera ! How cute is that? I found the E-5 down from $200-$149, and with a 5 mega pixel camera, 3g connectivity, capable of holding something like 10,000 songs, comes with micro SD card , ear-buds, even a nice rubber case that was included! Full keyboard set up like a Blackberry ! Easy to use ...many many options for camera, has a pretty decent battery life before needing charged! She has never had a problem with! I have searched many phones through various providers, hands down best value!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steelerchic711
Pittsburgh,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Was skeptical
11/1/2011

Customer review by dacroz87

5.0 stars 11/1/2011 by dacroz87
by dacroz87

I didn't know whether or not I could find a phone of value at a Walmart. Though already being a straighttalk customer I figured what the heck. Besides if I didn't like the phone I could have returned it no problem. I've had the phone a week now and I have honestly been blown away. I had a problem with the internet the day I got it, but after calling the customer service line, it was fixed and have since had no problem. A couple downers though are that if you want to watch youtube videos, you have to be connected to a wifi signal. At least for me, the phone just wont support it without one. Also if you want to send a video clip via text message, you really have to lower the quality. And in some cases the quality of the video sent by my phone is so poor it's nearly unwatchable by the reciever. Other than those two things I am overall very impressed. The speed of the internet is great, the multitasking feature is great, and the value of the service is great. I am very impressed with straight talk and love the unlimited plan, it's a amazing bargan. Now if you have little patience then I wouldn't recommend using straight talk as your cell provider. When something does go wrong you do spend a considerable amount of time on hold, and it's extremely difficult to understand the service reps. But fortunatly I am a patient, and am willing do undergo a little inconvience in order to save big bucks!

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dacroz87
South Sioux City, Ne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Overall a great phone
10/7/2011

Customer review by Levi87

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Levi87
by Levi87

Switched from Sprint to Straight talk and so far it's been great. Great coverage and signal strength. With Sprint I couldn't get a signal in my home. The Nokia store has a lot of free apps to download. The phone itself has plenty of features. The only drawback is RealPlayer will not magnify videos, but that to me is a minor issue. Someone earier wrote that they couldn't keep the key pad unlocked- yes you can. Go to settings- general- secrity- phone and SIM card-keypad autolock period and phone autolock period and change settings.

Was this review helpful? (41) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Levi87
Chattanooga, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good if you dont like to facebook
12/6/2011

Customer review by Tnstorm

4.0 stars 12/6/2011 by Tnstorm
by Tnstorm

Its a great phone for phone calls and whatnot, but it stinks when using it for facebook. I mainly purchased this for surfing the web on my lunch breaks, mainly facebook, but its worthless- at least mine is. It will work on facebook for about 30 seconds, then its like it locks up... just keeps saying loading... loading... loading.... it did this for 3 hours today when I hit change my status, it was showing that, I put in in the car on that screen, came out 3 hours later, it was still doing it and it does this daily. Maybe a setting is off or something? Also I thought it had the scanner where you could scan barcodes for information, but you cant. Also cant figure out to to do the navigation and never have heard a voice on it. The directions in the manual are cheap and vague. I expected more, especially for a $200 phone.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tnstorm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/13/2011

Customer review by Shellymom442

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by Shellymom442
by Shellymom442

I bought this phone three days ago and it's all I expected and more. It is very user friendly. It has a lot of features and I loved that I can talk and text at the same time. It also has a lot of free app from ovi store. At $45 a month + tax you are getting a great deal. I paid twice that amount from my former carrier + they charged extra for pic text and I was on a two contract so you do the math:). Think blackberry!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (194) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shellymom442
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing phone for the price
8/15/2011

Customer review by Herewego245

5.0 stars 8/15/2011 by Herewego245
by Herewego245

This phone has amazing features and is far superior to the Nokia E71. I recently switched, the only down side is the plastic instead of metal casing, but the operating system, camera, text, features, etc. are all an improvement. Thank you straight talk.

Was this review helpful? (248) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Herewego245
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
lower price means a GREAT VALUE
5/9/2012

Customer review by luvLANDBETWEENLAKES

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by luvLANDBETWEENLAKES
by luvLANDBETWEENLAKES

I bought this Nokia as soon as it was available it seems I paid a higher price ... now it really is a bargain! It is a great phone if you need all the smartphone capabilities. I use joikuspot to tether E5 to my laptop however it does seem slow and phone gets very warm but it works in a pinch. The phone beeps when I receive an email. The web browser is good only hindered by a small screen. It takes great photos and I am sure I haven't used half of the options on the phone but I do like the calendaring, to do list, and fm radio. I enjoy straight talks' phone service plan. I am sure this phone is going to last me a very long time. I also want to say if this is out of your price range I would like also recommend all Samsung brands . . . my last samsung phone $80 was excellent and the only reason I switch was to be able to tether my laptop on occasion.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luvLANDBETWEENLAKES
Paducah, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/5/2011

Customer review by sampsonco42

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by sampsonco42
by sampsonco42

My husband yelled at me about spending the $200 for this phone, but since I have had it, now he wants one! This phone is everything I expected and more! I'm not one who likes to buy phones everytime a new one comes out so when I destroyed my other phone when I went to the beach by wading in the water with the phone in my pocket (I know, I forgot it was there) I dreaded having to get another one. I didn't want the same phone that I had, I wanted an upgrade because I like having as much modern technology and features on my phone that I can get. So I was pleasantly surprised when straighttalk came out with this phone. I have never been more happy with a phone than I am now with this Nokia smartphone! I read previous reviews about this phone before purchasing it and saw a lot positive feedback about it so I said why not? I'm gonna buy this phone. It comes with the memory card and a protective case and earbuds which makes this phone worth it on that alone! This phone does so much more than advertised, you just have to take the time and really go through the phone. It does auto key lock after every use, but for me, that's great because I have a tendency to pocket dial. All in all, I am very pleased with my choice of buying this phone and I sure that other owners will agree. As I stated before, my husband is now willing to purchase this phone because he is so impressed with everything it does. My 19yr old daughter now wants this phone also. The only thing they both complain about is the small keys which I initially had the same complaint, but since I have had it I don't mind that the keys are small because I navigate a lot better with it than I have with previous phones that had bigger keys. If your in the market for a new phone at a great price and no contract and only have to pay $45 a month for service, I think this phone beats out all the contract service providers and the phone pays for itself in just a few months. Take it from me, you want a phone like this, it's awesome!

Was this review helpful? (237) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sampsonco42
Clinton, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I LOVE THIS PHONE
2/18/2013

Customer review by TreeHugger01

5.0 stars 2/18/2013 by TreeHugger01
by TreeHugger01
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great phone with wonderful service from StraightTalk. This phone hardly uses any battery. I have it set up with a slideshow background that changes the picture every minute, and the battery still stays full all day. There is a huge variety of skins and covers for this phone on Amazon. I have it customized with a polka-dot decal skin! The keyboard is easy to type on one-handed. You could hold a baby on your hip and text at the same time if you need to, for example. The internet is good quality on it, and you can install a different browser for free if you want from the Nokia Ovi application store. If you don't want Google or Apple tracking your every move, go for this Nokia phone instead! Also if you don't like touchscreen typing, try this with its easy-to-use keyboard. Do it! It also has a great 5-megapixel camera with a bright flash. I love it. I will be keeping this phone a long while!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TreeHugger01
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1-20 of 154 reviews