Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 190 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
88
4 stars
54
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 stars
28
1-20 of 141 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 141 total reviews
1-20 of 141 reviews
Just the basics
9/30/2011

Customer review by telestrat51

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by telestrat51
by telestrat51

I have had phones from major carriers and felt it was time to save money and down size. I pick this phone up to see if it would help. I was looking for just the basics. No hype or frills. This fit the bill. I get good reception and easy menu to get around. I wasn't looking for web surfing or texting at blinding speed ( Can barely talk that fast, lol). If you are looking for plain and simple affordability, this is it.

Was this review helpful? (116) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
telestrat51
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/24/2011

Customer review by simple51

4.0 stars 8/24/2011 by simple51
by simple51

The phone was shipped and delivered in a timely manner and I was pleased with the effort made to make the re-furbished phone look new and it came with a manual and charger. And it was "Free" with the purchase of the $30 service plan. I am very pleased with the phone service and it works well in my remote area.

Was this review helpful? (178) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
simple51
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Simple cell phone with little extras
9/9/2011

Customer review by 1fantasticfan

4.0 stars 9/9/2011 by 1fantasticfan
by 1fantasticfan

for $30.00 I thought I would buy this so I could, see how the service is This phone is EZ to use and in less than 2 minutes the phone was up and running if the service is good I will switch over to the unlimited plan, but for $30.00 buck I was willing to take a chance You cant go wrong with LG products

Was this review helpful? (96) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1fantasticfan
midwest kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/1/2011

Customer review by savemoney4me

4.0 stars 10/1/2011 by savemoney4me
by savemoney4me

I got the phone and card in a timley manner, and the phone is like new. It came with the wall charger and the 30 dollar phone card easy to set up. Ported my old cell number to the new phone easily as well.

Was this review helpful? (107) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
savemoney4me
Neveda, Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best phone ever!
9/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I moved to North Central Florida 5 years ago and only Alltel worked here. They were bought by Verizon. Straighttalk LG phones ending in letter C (as in LG 220C) work on the Verizon network. Ones ending in G work on the AT&T network. They work well, but Verizon network has even better coverage. The LG220C hasn't lost service ever! I love my phone.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Fort White, FL 32038
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
For the no-frills type of person.
11/23/2012

Customer review by RicoZ

5.0 stars 11/23/2012 by RicoZ
by RicoZ

I recently decided to drop my contract phone after the initial two years passed. I searched around for the best prepaid company (I didn't want a contract that would force me to buy a $250 smart phone and then cost me $120 a month for service) until I came across StraightTalk. It seemed to be just what I needed. I ordered this phone because of the value (phone is $5 witha regular priced month of service), and it arrived at my local store on time as expected. It is indeed factory refurbished, with a NIB battery included, as well as charger (micro USB if anyone is interested) and the phone itself. My device looked brand new out of the box. I was curious if a waranty was offered, and was pleased to see a sticker on the device's box indicating that there was in fact a one-year limited waranty on manufacturer's defects. It was very easy to activate and very generic in design. If you had a flip-style cell phone at some point in the past ten years, this is pretty much on the same difficulty level to comprehend. If you would like an example, I'm struggling to remember whether or not I even got an owner's manual with my device, it was so simple to figure out. As I said, this is a very "no-frills" device. No camera at all, though it seems you can download them offline or have them sent to you from someone else's phone, though I haven't tried either yet. It is possible to make voice recordings, but I don't know how well they transfer when you send them to someone else. I hate paying for features that I'm not going to use or don't need, so this is just the ticket for me. All I need to do is call and text, and that's just about all this device does. I'm unsure if you can switch to the $45/month unlimited card, but I don't know why you wouldn't be able to. All you would be doing is making the company more money. Another nice feature is that if you like using automatic bill payent systems, you can have StraightTalk auto-pay out of your bank account/charge your credit card every month, so no more worrying about missing your service end date and getting your phone shut off. Although it may be simple in design, one thing it does not lack is structural integrity. The hinge is tight, none of the buttons are loose out of the box, and there is no plastic "flashing" along the mold seams. The buttons are large enough for my bear-sized hands to easily navigate them, except possibly the volume control on the side. That one's a bit tricky. One thing I was slightly disappointed about was that it does not display your airtime/service end date on the main screen. In order to check those, you must go to www.straighttalk.com and input your phone number along with the last four of the device's serial number. Not a huge deal if you aren't getting low, but if you like to check things like that frequently, it can be a pain. Overall, I'm very satisfied with my purchase. It's a soundly-built flip phone that should live up to the tales of durability of yore. As a disclaimer, I cannot guarantee other units are exactly like mine because they are "factory refurbished". Though I have a good feeling they would not send out an obviously used unit and expect the customer to be satisfied with it. I'm sure they have very strict standards of what they can and cannot re-sell when taking returns. If you've made it to the end of this review, contratulations! I hope some of this information has helped someone make an informed decision, because if you're like me, you hate wasting money. Questions? Feel free to ask and I'll get back to you ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RicoZ
Williamsport, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
outstanding value
10/18/2011

Customer review by sea2sea

5.0 stars 10/18/2011 by sea2sea
by sea2sea

The Straighttalk phones were delivered on time and were easy to register and activate. Even though they were refurbished, they looked brand new. The clarity is fantastic and have not dropped a call yet. The price could not be beat, especially with the talk/message and web package. These phones do not have cameras but I nor my husband miss that feature. I highly recommend this product to any one who wants an excellent working phone at such a great price! Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sea2sea
Turlock, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Straighttalk phone and non-contract service
10/9/2011

Customer review by CynBTampa

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by CynBTampa
by CynBTampa

The order arrived at site-to-store earlier than indicated, and I've been using it for less than a month. The phone was refurbished, but looked new. It's working great, and you can't beat the $30 plan, 1000 min per month. I was happy to transfer after being with another carrier for a year, not renewing the contract at $80 per month 900 min. And the coverage this far is excellent.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CynBTampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Basic phone
10/14/2011

Customer review by DonotBSme

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by DonotBSme
by DonotBSme

The phone works great, no frills but a decent working cell phone.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DonotBSme
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
JUST WHAT YOU NEED IN A BASIC CELL PHONE!!!
11/28/2011

Customer review by SubtractZero

5.0 stars 11/28/2011 by SubtractZero
by SubtractZero

I bought this LG 220C cell phone along with a $30 Service Card from Walmart.com almost a month ago and I really have nothing bad to say. The phone, even though it's a refurbished phone works and looks like new. It came complete as advertised and so far I have never experienced a dropped call. I called the people at Straight talk to help me activate it and they were very pleasant and very helpful. The entire process took less than 10 minutes and I am very satisfied with my purchase. I recommend this phone to anyone who (like me) just needs a basic phone to make calls. The 1,000 talk minutes, 1,000 text messages and the 30MB mobile web access is all I need. The Auto Refill Service is very convenient also. Thanks Walmart and Straight Talk!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SubtractZero
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1000 minutes voice, 1000 texts, plus the internet.
9/30/2011

Customer review by billrrrr

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by billrrrr
by billrrrr

Outstanding value. Generous amount of minutes and texts as well as internet. Service as good as any of the 'big' phone companies - Verizon etc - and a tiny price tag of $30, including the phone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billrrrr
Cape Cod, Mass.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/7/2011

Customer review by Dawn4Love

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by Dawn4Love
by Dawn4Love

Excellent condition, excellent service, very well equipped. We found remarkable savings going from contract service to Straight Talk.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dawn4Love
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cheap and Easy BuT reliability goes down with age
10/11/2011

Customer review by jamanji

2.0 stars 10/11/2011 by jamanji
by jamanji

I owned this phone for 2 years...ALL PREPAID! PROS-->For the price you really can't ask for more. The phone stays charged for days, makes calls and texts with ease. You will not be surfin' the net on this phone and you'll be lucky to access your gmail. In fact, my mobile web option disabled after about a month. CONS-->if you're friends are tech savvy, then you'll miss out on taking and receiving photos as there is no camera. The tech support and customer service for Straight-Talk are next to Non-Existant...I'm talking 15 minute wait times where they tell you what to do and it doesn't work. And The BIGGIE--> my phone, when fully charged at night, would have a 'fully charged' menu pop up. The alarm would not go off when this menu was present. Be careful. I called customer service about the Mobile Web option disabling and they kept telling me to re-program my phone. But this never worked and I had automatic payments. Now I use AT&T with more options at the same price. Would I recommend it? YES! I would certify that this phone will do its job. Would I buy again? NO! I need a phone that does its job well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jamanji
dover, de
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Basic Good Phone and Plan
1/19/2012

Customer review by MikeinNorthTexas

3.0 stars 1/19/2012 by MikeinNorthTexas
by MikeinNorthTexas

I got this phone a month ago as I was tired of the Sprint contracts and over charges. The $30 all you need plan fits me just fine. I am saving at least $13.50 a month now over what I paid Sprint for almost 12 years. Also the added tax is only $3 making it a total of $33 a month. Sprint was charging me a lot more. The phone cost me only $5 refurbished and you can't tell it was used. It works fine. The customer service was good also for activating it. I had my number ported in less than 1 hour even though it was Christmas Holidays time!! The web is useless because you get at best 2G speed and also you really need a smart phone for the Web. It is not Straight Talk's fault or this phone's fault. I need only talk and text. One thing I was disappointed with was that you can not do a 5 Digit Short Codes Texting which is what I needed. This is the technology that Banks and Financial Institutions use for sending Account Alerts to their account holders if they have signed for alerts. However I do not hold Straight Talk responsible for not providing this service as all no contract or prepaid cell phones and plans do not allow this. I hope ST will look into this as this can give them an edge.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeinNorthTexas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Used- not Refurbished
9/1/2012

Customer review by NotAgainSam

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by NotAgainSam
by NotAgainSam

Does anyone check the phone before they put the Refurbished label on the box?

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotAgainSam
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/19/2011

Customer review by ndneh

1.0 stars 11/19/2011 by ndneh
by ndneh

phone is broke, customer service will not satisfy me with a replacement. this is my second broken product with straight talk phones. Bad investment. Still not resolved. I am so so angry. I have been on the phone several times with the straight talk and no resolve. approx 6 hours of my time with no resolve and me still with a broken phone which is for business. i have also lost work because of lost calls or in ability to make a call

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ndneh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed!!!
11/29/2011

Customer review by SoGiggles

1.0 stars 11/29/2011 by SoGiggles
by SoGiggles

I purchaced this phone for my husband. It was not ment to be a fancy phone for he is not all technical. But 1 wk after he recieved it, it will not ring. We have tried everything and it will only viberate now. And trust me, we have everything set correctly. It will not work. Also, the phone is just CHEAP, I did not expect it to be so cheaply made. You are getting what you paid for I guess. This is the first time we have ever used an prepaid plan/phone or buying a refurbished phone. We have always been a contract or month/month payer to Verizon and upgraded w/ contract. I am beginining to think I should just continue paying the higher rate to keep from having to buy phones all the time. I am not usually a complainer, but this was a real shocker to me. He has only had the phone now 3 wks and it will not ring, the screen is cracked on the inside and it will not hold a charge. And he is not ruff on his stuff, so I dont understand. Again, I guess we have recieved what we have paid for. LESSON IS LEARNED.

Was this review helpful? (9) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoGiggles
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Easy to understand and outstanding value.
10/8/2012

Customer review by Saab96

5.0 stars 10/8/2012 by Saab96
by Saab96

Retired and on fixed income...the "Big Three" can count on me not going under a contract or collecting my dollars; for STRAIGHT TALK only takes from the penny jar, is easy to use and I enjoy easy and cheap.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Saab96
Myrtle Beach, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great simple phone for the basic user
10/1/2011

Customer review by JWilsn

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by JWilsn
by JWilsn

this phone is perfect for my needs. i just need to make and receive calls and it works great. im very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JWilsn
Blackfoot, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Basic
10/7/2011

Customer review by emitt

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by emitt
by emitt

Great phone for basic use....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emitt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1-20 of 141 reviews