Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 118 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

118 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

118 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 stars
28
1-20 of 99 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
good phone/ bad service area
8/6/2011

Customer review by KalamazooMI

3.0 stars 8/6/2011 by KalamazooMI
by KalamazooMI

the phone itself is not bad for making, receiving calls, and texting love the qwerty keyboard. my phone arrived in perfect condition could not tell it is a refurbished phone. it is a glorified tracfone and runs off of T-mobile network. that is not a bad thing in and of itself but for me it is. T-mobile is all around me but as soon as I turn onto the street where I live no signal bars. Virgin mobile offers a better $30 plan 1500talk 1500text and 30mb data and runs off sprint network, but they have no slider phones with a qwerty keyboard with the paylo plan. I am giving this phone 3stars I do like the phone but there is a better service plan and service provider that works better for my situation. I am disappointed because I do like the phone and would stick with it just because it is a slider phone with a qwerty keyboard. though it has a lesser service plan than my virgin mobile. it just dosent work for me.

Was this review helpful? (90) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KalamazooMI
kalamazoo mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GSM phone uses AT&T, not as good as Verizpn CDMA
10/22/2011

Customer review by Mofongoo

4.0 stars 10/22/2011 by Mofongoo
by Mofongoo

Yes, Great Deal. Phone & $30 Calling Card for $50. This is a GSM Phone. Here in Tampa, Fl., Straight Talk (Wally World, aka: Wal Mart) uses the ATT, AT&T network for their GSM phones. If you get a CDMA Wally World phone, it uses the Verizon network which has much better reception, coverage etc FYI: The CDMA Signal is the most popular signal & best coverage in US (only), but the GSM network is the common World signal outside of the continental U.S., meaning the rest of the planet. All Smart phones are GSM, so you better check & see if you have GSM coverage in your area before buying one. P.S. On a surprise trip to San Juan, PR, our Wally World CDMA phones had No Service. Only a GSM phone worked in PR. Also, when you're activating your new phone online, turn the new phone off & on a few times, That seems to kick in the new activation. It's also good to do that once a day (or every few days) with your phone, it updates the software, works better.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mofongoo
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't bother!!! :(
12/30/2011

Customer review by emom7599

1.0 stars 12/30/2011 by emom7599
by emom7599

I purchased this phone online for my son for christmas,,It came in time but trying to get service hooked up was a night mare!!! I called the service 5 times and each time I would punch in these codes in the phone and then wait 24 hours and call back when there was still no service. By the 6th phone call the woman I spoke with insisted that I had the phone for years and hadnt recently purchased it basically in a round about way saying I was a thief and a liar. I was never able to activate this phone and in the end returned it,,,as it turned out they hadn't refurbished the phone properly. I am ussually not the type of person to even write a review but I must say that after being strung along for a week, treated so poorly and then to top it off insulted I am too disappointed to not write a review!!!! Soooo word to the wise BE WARE of this product!!! Ps. If they had just told me in the first or even second call I placed to return it I wouldnt have even minded. :(

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
emom7599
Would recommend to a friend? No
great starting phone
8/2/2011

Customer review by cellularfreak12000

4.0 stars 8/2/2011 by cellularfreak12000
by cellularfreak12000

good for texting and pictures and many other stuff but isnt like an amazingly cool top rate phone with all the bells and wistles but yet is a vey good phone for a first phone!!! :)

Was this review helpful? (127) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cellularfreak12000
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great phone, especially for the price.
10/10/2011

Customer review by HappyLilCustomer

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by HappyLilCustomer
by HappyLilCustomer

I recently purchased the package deal for $50, which included the refurbished version of this phone with the $30 talk card all and couldn't be happier. The phone was in top condition, couldn't tell the difference between the one I received and a brand new phone, and for only costing me $20 it's more then I could have asked for. I admit I was a bit skeptical because of some of the reviews people had written, but I haven't encountered any problems so far. The sound quality is great, unlike one of the boost mobile phones I have purchased in the past, and in my opinion it can hold way more texts than I need. Although I am only 21, contrary to popular belief not every young kid is tech obsessed. I was only looking for a prepaid phone that I didn't have to spend a lot on, and seeing as how I really don't like phones (haven't had one in about a year) the $30 a month plan turns out to be more minutes then I need. The applications are great, and the phones call tunes aren't as bad as they're made out to be. I haven't experienced any dropped calls, and all of my texts go through. The camera is wonderful as well. The QWERTY keyboard is great, although the keys might be a bit close together, but a sacrifice one must make in order to keep the phone at a reasonable size. Or it could just be that I'm not used to using one for a while now. Overall this girl is very pleased with this phone, and am recommending it to everyone I come across that is looking to switch to a cheaper plan.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyLilCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just misses the mark
8/30/2011

Customer review by TV15guy

3.0 stars 8/30/2011 by TV15guy
by TV15guy

The phone is a fair to good value at it's price point but has some drawbacks. Pros: Good reception. Bright screen. Nice size keyboard. Excellent battery life. Cons: Volume a little low. Minimal built in ring tones and no way to use your own MP3s. MP3 player only plays one song at a time. Proprietary headphone jack. Web browser good for email checking but not much else. Camera resolution low. Back comes off easily.

Was this review helpful? (60) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TV15guy
Greenville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good deal for price!
8/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I love the phone. I do not get the best service in my house, but I have always had that problem with every service. Great deal for the low price!!

Was this review helpful? (42) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/3/2011

Customer review by CK50

5.0 stars 11/3/2011 by CK50
by CK50

This was my first attempt at online ordering. My wife had recently purchased the same phone and I was impressed with it. I was able to purchase mine at a very substantial savings by ordering online. I have found that this particular phone had added possibilities that my wife's didn't come with. We also had made a trip down in the contry. What was really nice, I was able to to pick up a signal and make calls and hers wasn't. I am a previous Straight Talk customer and have never had any complaints with the phone or service I formerly had. If I have to make another purchase later online, I will know that I will be pleased.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CK50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great inexpensive phone for a great price
8/30/2011

Customer review by FRAPY

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by FRAPY
by FRAPY

Bought this for my daughter. Phone was a good price, and a great deal when you bundle the phone card with it. Great for kids or just a good cheap phone

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FRAPY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/28/2011

Customer review by FallonHPK

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by FallonHPK
by FallonHPK

This phone is in great shape. There was no way to tell that it was refurbished! Great price Great deal

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FallonHPK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Feel as if I'm begging to be their customer
11/19/2011

Customer review by Charlotte01

2.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Charlotte01
by Charlotte01

Phone is basic but works fine... disappointed there's no outlet for ear piece, since I use that rather than bluetooth. The problem I had - and am still having weeks later - is that I want to switch the number from another carrier and Straight Talk customer service seems to be baffled as to how to make this happen since the phone was previously activated with a different number. I've called 3 different times - each call approx 30 minutes since they apparently have to follow a scripted list. Goal still not accomplished. First, they sent new sim card. They say they must deactivate phone until the new sim card arrives (3-7 days.) Since minutes are on a 30 day month, this is simply lost service days. Second call - to activate sim card received. They couldn't switch my number over unless I was willing to lose all unused minutes and days already paid for (I had asked about this several times during the first call and was assured this would NOT be the case.) Third call - they had to send another sim card, which I never received. Trying to be patient, since it's such a great deal financially, but I've never had to work so hard to give someone my business!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Charlotte01
Would recommend to a friend? No
Prepaid phone
10/13/2011

Customer review by TreII

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by TreII
by TreII

the phone was a good deal with the card that came with it the phone works excellent and is better then a planned phone, if you are in need of a prepaid phone I would recommend this one, great camera, looks good with the slide out and the screen is easy to read in the sun.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TreII
aberdeen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
so far a very unpleasant experience
2/8/2012

Customer review by Mikithedog

1.0 stars 2/8/2012 by Mikithedog
by Mikithedog

At the time I ordered the phone, I was assured it was the correct phone for my service area. Picking up the phone at the store was a good experience in itself, however, it has been a nightmare ever since. I have had to return the phone two times now because the phones that have been sent to me do not work in my 27889 zip code. You heard that right, 2 times. The service with my former provider has been cancelled by straight talk so we have not had cell service for almost 3 !!!! weeks. I have been given continuous incorrect information from the service dept. of straight talk. In total I have spent over 4 !!! hours on the phone trying to activate the cell phone service. And to top it all off, I have been dealing with service reps in the phillipines who have no idea where North Carolina is. We are hoping that the 3rd phone that is coming to us will finally work. I am very doughtful, but I guess we will see.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mikithedog
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/8/2011

Customer review by rlwoodard

1.0 stars 10/8/2011 by rlwoodard
by rlwoodard

My experience with this purchase was not good at all. I've have not had the pleasure of enjoying my straight talk cell phone yet. The cell phone I received would not charge and I could not text from the qwerty board. Now I'm in the process of waiting on a pre-postage packet to come in the mail so I can send the cell phone back. Still I have to wait to receive a new phone. I'm very, very disappointed with the product. I don't mean to be so negative but this whole experience has left me at a disadvantage without a cell phone that I need.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rlwoodard
Gordon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Not your best buy
11/4/2011

Customer review by Grandmama777777

1.0 stars 11/4/2011 by Grandmama777777
by Grandmama777777

I bought this phone to use while my straight talk phone was being replaced, because your review said that it would work in my area. I have to stand in front of my back window to use it because the tower is on the mountain behind me, even then i can barely hear who is speaking because of the static on the line. I have the speaker turned up to 7 which is as high as it will go and if it rings I can't hear it unless it is on the table in front of me. I can't setup voicemail because I cant hear the instructions and if I try I end up with a spanish speaking voice se habla espaniole ?

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grandmama777777
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cell Phone For Child
9/24/2011

Customer review by Tee069

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by Tee069
by Tee069

Great value and nice phone for a 14 year old. He is happy with the phone and it's features and it helps me keep track of him when he is out and about.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tee069
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Ya know as a refurbished phone- i am shocked
12/23/2011

Customer review by GallyGee

4.0 stars 12/23/2011 by GallyGee
by GallyGee

This is my first refurbished phone that i have ever bought- it was on sale yet to boot so that was even awesome for the gamble of this phone---- The SamSung T401 for Straight talk phone that I received does works great- The phone is nothing really special but ya know, it is a simple phone with a slider qwarty pad. I will admit I don't care that greatly for the qwarty part- the keys do seem a bit close, but after all it may be just me "needing to get used to it"... I am not sure what else to say about the phone- it is a good little simple phone and works for me - the camera is not the greatest but I have had worse, and after all I did not get the phone for a camera use. I like it and am happy with it As far as service of calls it works like the little phone I had with Straightalk which was off of the back bone of the Tmobile towers- Now I did read on this phone and it has quad band- so to be honest I am not sure what back bone service towers it does work off of (either Tmobil or AT&T from what I hear with the G at the end). For straight talk transferring my number was easy- I have had them for a bout year- I love the fact they have a website to which you can submit this request for porting numbers to one phone to another with existing straight talk phones.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GallyGee
Longmont, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Samsung/Straight Talk Product/Service Bundle
10/4/2011

Customer review by GulfGolfer52

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by GulfGolfer52
by GulfGolfer52

Thus far, this has been a great value and we expected it to perform much in the way that it has. Where else can you get a Samsung T401G GSM cell phone with these features for $20(Walmart), plus its warranty by Samsung for a year, and with my Credit Card the warranty was doubled. It leases VZW's towers(so I hear) for service, thus you'll seldom not have coverage. With $50 month unlimited talk, text & internet, plus free 411 makes a person wonder if they need a house phone. When you go to the StraightTalk website, you can purchase a 3, 6, and I believe a 12 month unltd service card ,plus they're discounted. We need to get Walmart.com to offer these discounted prices as they will match the competitions price for the same item. Plus when purchasing via Walmart.com, you can get your Straight Talk service pin number sent directly to your email, thus saving a trip to Walmart as we all know that is seldom a quick in and out experience, but with their prices, and quality merchandise, this is why they are so busy. So, as with most Samsung products, add this to the list of quality cell phone manufacturers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GulfGolfer52
New England
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
horrible customer service
11/6/2011

Customer review by Jane129

1.0 stars 11/6/2011 by Jane129
by Jane129

I recently purchased the refurbished straight talk phone, and am very unhappy with my purchase. I purchased the straight talk plan because it was much cheaper than the plan i was currently on. When I received the phone, I immediately called to have it activated. After being on the phone for 2 hours, I was told there was an error with the sim card and I would be sent another on in the mail. A week later I received the new sim card and called again to have it activated. After another hour on the phone with the straight talk company I was informed I needed another sim card because I had been sent the wrong one. Finally, a month after I received the phone I was able to complete the activation process.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jane129
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2 Years, 1 bath tub, and 1 pet water dish!!!
3/6/2013

Customer review by rockel1980

5.0 stars 3/6/2013 by rockel1980
by rockel1980

I bought my phone refurbished threw straight talk over 2 years ago, and I love it, I have fully submerged in the bathtub, and fully submerged it in the dogs water dish, and it still works! I am ordering another one today because my track record with this phone hasn't been the best, I drop it on the ceramic tile all the time, and it the back come off, and battery falls out! My phone has taken a serous beating! I paid $20 for it, and saved hundreds of dollars! I am ordering a back up so when I finally manage to kill the one I have, I wont have to wait or pay full price for a new one!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rockel1980
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews