Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 428 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

428 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

428 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
218
4 stars
110
3 stars
28
2 stars
19
1 stars
53
1-20 of 392 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 392 total reviews
1-20 of 392 reviews
Miniature toy-sized vacuum, 4" canister
3/26/2014

Customer review by FoxyInTheRockies

1.0 stars 3/26/2014 by FoxyInTheRockies
by FoxyInTheRockies

Compact is a way different term than "microscopic". This tiny vacuum has a canister that is only 4" across and a cleaning path that is extremely narrow. It picked up dust off the carpet but not dog hair. This is the second vacuum I have bought from walmart.com in two months and both were duds.... The Dirt Devil Dynamite II compact looks like something I had as a toy when I was 6 years old... it is absolutely not for a large house, or even room of any size over 10 feet across. This is barely bigger than a stick-vac. I am very unhappy about this purchase and it is joining the junk corner of my closet :(

Was this review helpful? (22) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FoxyInTheRockies
Southwest USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good little vacuum for the price
2/28/2012

Customer review by pixxxie75

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by pixxxie75
by pixxxie75

Despite all the not so great reviews, a dirt devil is a dirt devil, it gets the job done... I was a little surprised when i opened this up and saw it was smaller than i imagined. And I still havent figured out how to use the hose.... but for a 900 sq ft 1 bedroom apt, it's perfectly fine and does exactly what it's supposed to. I had used my friends industrial vacuum about 3 days before this one arrived, and as soon as I received it, I vacuumed again..... and I could not believe how much it picked up! If you have a house, or a lot of area to vacuum, you might want to invest in something a little bigger. The cord is long enough for me, I do have to plug in 3 different times to vacuum my WHOLE apartment, but seriously, you're already moving around all over the place vacuuming, no need to be lazy and complain about moving the plug. Overall, for $36 and 5 day shipping, this was a great buy. My ONLY complaint is that it does not come w/ a hose that is accessible.

Was this review helpful? (31) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pixxxie75
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10 STARS!
9/10/2012

Customer review by Cleaninglady2233

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by Cleaninglady2233
by Cleaninglady2233

My previous $80 vacuum's belt broke and I borrowed my friend's similar Dirt Devil to this model. I loved it so much. It was a compact dorm sized and it worked better than the full size broken one. I purchased this Dirt Devil Dynamite II today at Wal Mart. Not only is it one of the least expensive vacuums I have ever purchased but it works better than any other one I have ever owned!!! I have two dogs so I can't go more than a few days without doing the carpets because of all the hair. It picked up so much dirt and dog hair that the old vacuum had left behind, I was absolutely amazed (and a little disgusted that the other one was doing such a terrible job and I had no idea). The brushes are also really close to the sides so you can get in much closer to the walls and edges of furniture. It also works well on linoleum as well so no more messing around with a broom! I am so thrilled with this little vacuum and would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (56) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cleaninglady2233
Portland, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesone vacuum
1/20/2016

Customer review by srkp

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by srkp
by srkp

Great vacuum for the price, light weight and easy to use. With pets I need to vacuum often and this product really picks up hair and dirt, and gets the edges, no wrap around hose to clog, which is a great feature, had one of those that ended up in the trash. You can't go wrong with this vacuum for a quick cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
srkp
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
awful
2/2/2016

Customer review by Cesy82

1.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Cesy82
by Cesy82

I bought this 1 year ago and after a few months of use it doesn't vacuum no more don't buy it get away from this

Comment from Joscelyn - 2/3/2016

Hi Cesy82! Your vacuum should still be picking up, even after a year's use. We have a few suggestions to get your unit back to working order. First, we recommend removing the dirt cup and emptying out the contents after each use. Then, twist the dirt cup lid counter-clockwise to access the washable filter. Now, rinse the foam filter and pad under warm water. Allow both filters to air dry for 24 hours. Inside of the dirt cup is a gray baffle tube. Grasp baffle from the bottom, twist to the right and pull gently to remove. Once removed, tap it out against the inside of a waste can. Flip the cleaner over to expose the base. Inspect the brushes for any debris, strings or hair and remove if any found. Lastly, remove the 3 screws from the bottom plate (1 located in the upper left corner by the rear wheel and the other 2 located in the top corners of the plate.) Remove the plate and check the belt for any damages. If damaged, find a replacement belt here: http://bit.ly/1ihabNK. Let us know if you have any further questions, we're here for you!

Cesy82
Yuma, AZ, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sorry
2/2/2016

Customer review by Marigold

1.0 stars 2/2/2016 by Marigold
by Marigold

I could not vacuum the vertical intake vents. I already gave this vacuum to a worker

Comment from Joscelyn - 2/2/2016

Hi Marigold! We're sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like for you to keep in mind that our products come with limited warranties that cover against motor/mfg defects from the date of purchase. Also, if you have any more questions, please reach out to us on Facebook, tweet us @DirtDevil, or call at 1-800-321-1134. We've got your back!

Marigold
Glen Alpine, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Just okay
2/12/2016

Customer review by lgoody36

2.0 stars 2/12/2016 by lgoody36
by lgoody36

I've purchased all my vacuums from Wal-Mart over the years but for $39.99 should have made another selection. No attachments, no floor/carpet selection and everytime I turn it off a little of what was picked up comes out. On the flip side, it is very lightweight and would be great for stairs.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lgoody36
Would recommend to a friend? No
Up close an personal with the dirt on your floors
10/30/2014

Customer review by MBW13

1.0 stars 10/30/2014 by MBW13
by MBW13

Since getting my new bag-less vacuum cleaner, I am totally grossed out by what is on my floors.  To vacuum the entire house requires emptying the canister twice.  This entails not just opening the bottom hatch and letting it all fall out.  It requires sticking my hand up inside the canister, unscrewing the innards then pulling out all the ikky stuff wound around the innards.   It also creates a huge dust cloud in my utility room - which I am breathing - as it is wafting into my kitchen and the rest of my house - thus requiring more vacuuming.  Of minor concern - the cord is not as long as I am accustomed to, so I am constantly unplugging and re-plugging.   And lastly - while it is light weight and easy to move around - it reminds me of the plastic popping vacuum cleaner toy I had when I was 3.   At first I thought the bag-less feature was intriguing.  Now I just think its gross.  Looking for a bagged vacuum cleaner now.  The only saving feature of this vacuum cleaner was the price.

MBW13
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Usage frequency:Monthly
Level of expertise:Advanced
Length of ownership:1 week
poor
1/15/2016

Customer review by chythra

1.0 stars 1/15/2016 by chythra
by chythra

Not at all satisfied with this item as it doesnt help me clean even a single corner of my home ...!! -(

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chythra
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love it lightweight but powerful
1/5/2016

Customer review by Shopaholic

4.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Shopaholic
by Shopaholic

It's worth buying

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shopaholic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BEST VACUUM
1/21/2012

Customer review by Wa113

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by Wa113
by Wa113

I purchased this vacuum from Wal-Mart in store. It’s required to put some parts together and read the safety manual. When I had finished assembling the vacuum, I tried it out and WOW! This thing is great! It picked up dust from deep in the carpet! After I finished the house, the dust canister was full! I recommend you use this vacuum once per week. Because It may wear out if you use it a lot. I kept and used this vacuum for a few weeks and it still works great! Better than the last vacuum I bought for $42.

Was this review helpful? (154) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wa113
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lightweight and convenient to use on multi floors.
1/11/2016

Customer review by Bubs863

4.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Bubs863
by Bubs863

I bought mine at Wal-Mart. It was a display model and was on sale for $10.00. Was the best money I have ever spent on a vacuum. I am very happy with my purchase.

Bubs863
Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ehhhh
12/25/2013

Customer review by eb63968

2.0 stars 12/25/2013 by eb63968
by eb63968
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

First, I was replacing a Dirt Devil Dynamite vacuum which I loved. I failed to research completely. This vacuum is not equivalent to what is now being sold as the Dirt Devil Dynamite Plus. It contains no tools. It is extremely cheaply made. The pedals to release the handle and start the vacuum seem like they will not last long. The cord is very short. I have to use 3 different electrical sockets to vacuum my family room. It also clearly does not have the suction that my old DDD did. I was kind of desperate, so I decided to keep it even though it wasn't what I was actually looking for. I expect it won't be long before I have to replace it. I will then by the Dirt Devil Dynamite Plus.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eb63968
Clayton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best vacum ever picks up pet hair with ease
6/22/2014

Customer review by windwiper

5.0 stars 6/22/2014 by windwiper
by windwiper

I borrowed this vacuum from my mother when my very expensive vacuum with all the bells and whistles broke. I have a many animals and could never find a vacuum that sucked up all the hair. I was so shocked that this vacuum did a better job then my expensive vacuum. It sucked up the pet hair with no effort at all. I did not have to keep going over the same area over and over again. One swipe and it sucked up all the hair. It is a great little vacuum for the price. I went out the very next day and bought this vacuum and I would recommend it highly especially if you have pets.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
windwiper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than my large vacuume
1/4/2016

Customer review by TailsAreWaggin

4.0 stars 1/4/2016 by TailsAreWaggin
by TailsAreWaggin

4 cats and watch dogs and it's awesome, just needs at least 1 attachment

TailsAreWaggin
Lindenhurst, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Impressive!
11/6/2011

Customer review by MommaBear4MyBabies

5.0 stars 11/6/2011 by MommaBear4MyBabies
by MommaBear4MyBabies

We bought this a little vacuum for our kids to be able to help out around the house. Wow! We cannot believe how much this vacuum picks up! It seems to work better than my full sized vacuum so now I'll be looking into a new regular vacuum like this one but bigger. This vacuum has quite a bit of suction power for an inexpensive small vacuum. Lightweight. Gets around tight areas.

Was this review helpful? (270) (46)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaBear4MyBabies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great room vacuum!
11/7/2011

Customer review by Momofthreeundertwo

5.0 stars 11/7/2011 by Momofthreeundertwo
by Momofthreeundertwo

I had a Dirt Devil Stick vac for my mostly hard floors in the kitchen and family room area that get lots of dust and crumbs, along with debris tracked in from the back yard. With newly crawling babies I need to keep it clean so they dont put things in their mouths. The stick vac had good suction but very poor on my area rugs. This was my replacement buy and it works great! It picks up a lot more and covers a larger area per swipe. It also does a good job on my area rugs which are low pile. For under thirty bucks it was well worth it.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momofthreeundertwo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent for Hard Floors
12/9/2011

Customer review by JDahling

5.0 stars 12/9/2011 by JDahling
by JDahling

I have gone through a number of vacuum cleaners and have not found one that I really liked for my hard flooring until I received my Dirt Devil Dynamite II. I have 2 dogs and 2 active kids, I'm constantly needing to clean the floor daily. It's amazing how much it picked up after I used my regular vacuum with the "Bare Floor" setting. On carpets its a good surface cleaner as well. It's easy to set up and a joy to use. The high powered motor gives it the extra kick it needs to pick up all kinds of stuff off the floor like dog food nuggets. I definitely recommend this vacuum to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (48) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDahling
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good vaccum
1/20/2016

Customer review by outch

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by outch
by outch

This is much easier for me to use because it is lighter and more compact than most. Clean out is simple.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
outch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No suction
2/13/2013

Customer review by aireeul

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by aireeul
by aireeul

This vacuum worked well for about a couple months. Now it barely has any suction, it won't pick up sand. I have to run over the same spot 15 times for it to pick up anything.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aireeul
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 392 total reviews
1-20 of 392 reviews