Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 8 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

8 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

3.0 stars

8 reviews | 2.9 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-8 of 8 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great baitcaster
1/8/2012

Customer review by Crazyasian1

5.0 stars 1/8/2012 by Crazyasian1
by Crazyasian1

This is a great purchase for only 40 dollars. I had a abu garcia silver max and this is just as smooth as the other. You just can't beat it for 40 dollars for a combo. Absolutely great for beginners. Definitely change the line though. Its good line, just put on there real loose. You can just tie it to a tree or something walk all the line off the reel then keep tension on it'll get back on there nice and tight

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crazyasian1
Swainsboro, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Decent Combo for the money.
6/18/2012

Customer review by Bigdog4120

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Bigdog4120
by Bigdog4120

I am new to baitcasters and only just purchased my first 3 months ago. I bought a Shakespeare $36 combo and learned the basics and caught a couple 5+ pounders on it. This past week a accidently slammed the back glass window on the rod and broke 3 ft of it off and started looking for a replacement. I have been eyeing the Abu Black Max since i bought the Shakespeare then saw the Pinnacle Ultra Balance. It was marked for $41.36 at my local walmart but then when scanned came up as $60.99 so i put it back. I went to a Walmart 1.5 hrs away while at the beach and the same rod/reel combo rang up $41.36 so I bought it. I First thing i noticed was how smooth it was. WOW!!!. It only has 1 more bearing than the Shakespeare but is 10x more smooth. However, Like a previous review it seemed like every single cast required you to thumb the spool no matter how you adjusted the spool tension and magnetic brake. If your thumb wasnt on it, it backlashed. I was getting pretty aggravated and over the last three days have completely adjusted my casting style to compensate for the backlash but was disappointed because i couldnt cast as far due to the thumb pressure problem. Well I found the issue. The screw that holds the magnetic side cover on was slightly loose. After tightening the screw all the way down, (and cleaning and regreasing with a good Abu Reel Grease). The problem has completely dissappeared and I can now cast a country mile without ever putting my thumb on the spool. It is a Excellent combo for the price and I am currently thinking about buying a second Ultra Balance after i get the Black Max. If you have the issue with constant backlashes no matter what the brake and spool tension setting, double check the side cover bolt. you will immediately feel the difference and the backlashes will be gone. when the screw was loose i would tighten the spool tension and get it right then cast and it would seem as tho the spool tension had come loose again but when reeled in after getting the birdnest out it would still be tight. the screw being loose was allowing the reel to flex and loosen the spool which was canceling out the spool tension knob. Trust me. If you have that problem it is most likely the side cover screw being loose. Check it as soon as you get home. I now love this rod and reel combo!!!!. Definitely recommend it to anyone beginner or advanced.

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigdog4120
Clermont, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/3/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/3/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

brought this baitcaster about 3 months its well built. first time using a baitcaster and had no problems with it. since then brought a blackmax and they work about the same. so this is well worth the money if u want to learn buy this one learn on it and move up good reel the rod is not that good or just buy the reel and buy a different rod. thanks

Was this review helpful? (8) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
coloradosprings co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Horrible Baitcaster to Learn With!
5/29/2014

Customer review by Ronin877

1.0 stars 5/29/2014 by Ronin877
by Ronin877

I thought I'd get away from spincasters and get into baitcasters and I knew it would be a big change. The rod is decent and presented no problems but the reel itself was of low quality. Since the spool itself is soft plastic and can be scratched with a strong fingernail, it isn't the most precise spinning spool. Everytime I got a backlash and try to repair it, the fitting was so loose that the line got caught up within the housing between the spool making the problem worse. Then as the spool spins around, it wears at the line until friction cuts the line. As a result, I lost two good lures and all it did was entangle itself even worse. I eventually had to cut all the line it came with and will have to repeat this process. Why did I decide to get into a good baitcaster when spincasters worked? I don't know why either.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronin877
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
bad baitcaster decent rod
4/13/2014

Customer review by fishing2et

1.0 stars 4/13/2014 by fishing2et
by fishing2et

bought the ultra balance in march returned it a few days later it cut my line and could not stop it from backlashing even made sure everything was correct on it tightened all the screws nothing helped kinda liked the rod but the reel is not worth the money

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishing2et
andalusia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great baitcaster for a beginner
8/1/2014

Customer review by BassSlayer23

4.0 stars 8/1/2014 by BassSlayer23
by BassSlayer23

I got this rod for a three day camping trip it worked fine I caught a five and a half pounder and a couple smaller largemouths on it and it worked ok.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BassSlayer23
Lake of the Ozarks, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
No instructions
10/16/2012

Customer review by rbbtswfl

3.0 stars 10/16/2012 by rbbtswfl
by rbbtswfl

Novice fisherman. I bought this because it seemed compact. The layout of the reel allows for the first guide hole to be small, instead of the huge one required for typical reels. It should have come with instructions. 1) labeling of the parts (I can't write this reveiw with correct terminology) 2) rigging instructions. Does the line go over or under the pin? A marker for the beginning of the line would have been nice. Took forever to find the beginning of the line. From other reviews, I now see that I will have to unwind the whole reel and re-wind tighter. I also feel it is too loose. I also am terribly frustrated with the backlash. I could get 1 out of every 4 cast to work without backlash. I'm hoping the other reviewer's advice to tighten the pin will work. I had it hand tightened, but I guess I need to use a screw driver. Shouldn't have to hold the line with your thumb.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rbbtswfl
Naples, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
This is the worst baitcaster i've ever purchased.
4/6/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 4/6/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This reel and rod combo is the most unreliable piece of fishing equipment i have ever laid my eyes on. I bought it hoping it was going to atleast be decent, but i was very, very, very wrong. The reel gives you really bad line burn. I've never experienced that problem with any other reel i've purchased or used. I do not recommend this combo to anyone. Buy a shimano if you want a good deal on a great reel.

Was this review helpful? (7) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Dewitt, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day