Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
1-20 of 40 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Better than expected
10/7/2011

Customer review by JustinCarolina

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by JustinCarolina
by JustinCarolina

After my Zune died on me, I was in search for a new MP3 player. I only use my MP3 player in the gym (mainly weights). I came across this when searching for a good MP3 player during work outs. At first, I didn't like the look of the headphones. But they took away the headphone cord that usually connects to my arm, which is great for me. I normally do arm workouts and I hated adjusting my arm band during work outs. When I first put the headphones on, it just looked weird on me. I got over that in a heart beat, because the functionality of this player is worth the cost. This MP3 player EASILY syncs with Windows Media Player, even without the Sony software! It was amazingly easy to sync my playlists through Windows Media Player and this mp3 player. The quality of the sound was great. The functionality is pretty simple, and awesome. It took me a while to get used to the buttons on both sides, but now I am the King of this thing! I really liked my Zune, but I love this mp3 player. This has been the best gym investment since my new shoes :)

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JustinCarolina
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Compact & easy to set up!
7/5/2012

Customer review by XcelShopper

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by XcelShopper
by XcelShopper
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

i love this Sony MP3 player! First of all, it was super easy to transfer my mp3 music files to the Sony Player. It comes with its own usb cable to help with the transfer. All I had to do was drag & drop the files over! I didn't have to sync anything or go to a different program like other mp3 players. This is super lightweight to wear & the sound quality surprised me. Because the ear buds fit well into the ear, you hear less outside noise than the traditional Apple ear buds. I used this during my jog & there were no cables to get tangled with! It almost felt like a wireless earphones because I didn't have any cables that got in the way. I even used it around the house while doing chores. This is an awesome player!!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XcelShopper
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
7/22/2012

Customer review by raggtopp1

5.0 stars 7/22/2012 by raggtopp1
by raggtopp1

I have owned many mp3's over the years. I bought the Sony Wearable Walkman 13 months ago. I cannot find anything wrong with this product. The sound is good, easy to use, I have used it almost every day at the gym, the beach, working in the yard. It is a great product and it is cheaper then anything Apple sells and it is a better product.. The best features are no cords, and it has a button that you touch and you move to a new set of songs in lieu of the next song..

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
raggtopp1
North Myrtle Beach SC.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A must have for runners! (or any exerciser)
10/28/2011

Customer review by Simpson7769

5.0 stars 10/28/2011 by Simpson7769
by Simpson7769

Worth every penny!! Music is clear, it stays put on your head, and there are no cords getting in your way!!! I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Simpson7769
Martinez, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent solution for working out
6/5/2012

Customer review by Brotherrewd

4.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Brotherrewd
by Brotherrewd
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

Things I loved: Form factor: Pretty light-weight with no wires to tangle and get stuck on clothes when you're working out. Water resistant: Didn't really test this out, but all the ports have tight fitting covers and I have no reason to doubt Sony on this. Customizable fit: The headphones come with three different sizes for the ear buds. I started with the mediums, but moved to the smalls to better fit my ear canals. Things I wasn't crazy about: The connecting cable is plastic and occasionally tugs one side or the other out. PC Specific Software: It works with Mac, but it takes a little work. The software is built for windows. If you have a Mac, plugging in the USB cable mounts the Walkman as a drive. All you have to do is drop your music from your computer into the appropriate folder on the player and you're good to go. That said, it took 30 minutes of hunting around the Sony site to not find that out.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brotherrewd
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
SONY has made a HUGE improvement!
10/6/2011

Customer review by CG115

5.0 stars 10/6/2011 by CG115
by CG115

I have been a faithful customer of the Wireless Walkman since the original one released a few years back. I searched for a way to waterproof the original, even going so far as to open it up and spray the internal computer chips with rubberizing liquid (which worked). SONY later released the updated version (252) which was water-resistant and it was a huge improvement however it had an achilies heel. It was HUGE. Running hard or moving your head would cause the player to shift around or bounce which would be very annoying. They seemed to have solved that problem in the newest release (262) and have vastly reduced the overall size and weight of the player. This in my opinion is one of the best mp3 players any runner can own and because SONY makes it so fairly priced anyone can buy one. I only bought the 2GB model each time I purchased one and have never filled it because I can always just plug it inot my commputer and add/remove music easily without the need for iTunes. Just drag and drop, charge and go! SONY you guys are awesome. Keep up the good work! Only recommendation is FF and REWIND option in future releases!

CG115
Orange County, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product but little uncomfortable!!
5/27/2012

Customer review by avtarBitu

3.0 stars 5/27/2012 by avtarBitu
by avtarBitu
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

This is really good product with great idea. The sound quality is very good. It is very easy to operate and maintain as well. Really great product for the people who spend their time in gym. It is little uncomfortable and loose on my ears as I got small ears, so they come off sometimes. But Overall good product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
avtarBitu
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
works great
11/1/2012

Customer review by Abuster

4.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Abuster
by Abuster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

had for over 2 weeks and it works great. easy to load music on. has 3 different size ear buds, so you can fit to your comfort

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Abuster
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ho hum product
5/18/2012

Customer review by livingnloving

1.0 stars 5/18/2012 by livingnloving
by livingnloving
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

I've been using this everyday for almost 10 days now. The audio quality is good, the controls are well placed and the product is easy on the eyes. I think the biggest issue with this item is that it is not designed well for wearability. The ear pieces keep sliding out of the ears if I walk a bit or chew gum or turn my head fast! The various sizes of ear plugs don't help with this at all. I read reviews of the predeccor NWZ-W252 and that one had a tension rod to press the earphones slightly inside the ear. Apparently that worked really well even while running, this one will slide even with walking! Therefore I will not be rcommending this model to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
livingnloving
Foster City, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Great for exercising - no wires and good sound
6/1/2012

Customer review by EC42

4.0 stars 6/1/2012 by EC42
by EC42
Walmart associate

I've used several different models of MP3 players over the years and was a little skeptical of these at first. I thought that they might be uncomfortable or clunky. I was wrong! These are surprisingly comfortable and the fact that there are no wires make them excellent for someone who likes to wear them while exercising. I can't tell you how many times I've accidentally snagged myself in the past on headphone wires. They are very lightweight and feel more like one of the current super-light bluetooth headsets. I wore them for over an hour and didn't have any issues. The sound quality is good too - make sure you put on the proper sized ear buds (it comes with a couple sizes) for the best fit. Uploading music to them isn't difficult using the included USB cable but here is where I have a couple of minor gripes. First, they are only compatible with a Windows machine - sorry Mac users. Second, though they will work with iTunes, any digital rights managed files will not work. If you use MP3 files or DRM-free AAC files, however, you'll be fine. The controls are pretty simple but take a little getting used to because you control them by feel. All in all, I was pleasantly surprised by these and recommend them especially for anyone who likes to listen to music while being active. Pros: lightweight, good sound, no wires Cons: PC only, some rights-managed AAC files will not work

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EC42
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great one-of-a-kind MP3 player!
11/16/2011

Customer review by kflo

5.0 stars 11/16/2011 by kflo
by kflo

This mp3 player is an example of near-perfect execution of design and convenience in a player that meets the needs of athletes/active people. By definition of its purpose, it's wireless-ness is just great freedom. It makes music so convenient, less cumbersome, and thus so much more enjoyable when your real purpose and effort should be your running/training/sport.. Of course this all depends on comfort as well - which Sony has clearly spent time on sculpting. Sure, there will be some people with funky ears or people who just can't figure out how best to slide them in their ears (kind of like the people who awkwardly put on clothes 'cause they never took the time to learn how.. yea, it ain't that hard). So, exactly.. it's easy if you just pull your ear lobe OUT, push IN on the earbud, and WALLA..! if its loose, replace with the mediums.. or larges.. that simple. Everything else in its design is a piece of cake and straightforward, really hard for Sony to messup.. so button layout, weight, sound quality, etc.. is all great for its intended use. I run and they dont wobble or move around. Theyre so light, I almost forget they're around my neck afterwards. They work on MACs and PCs.

kflo
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Disappointed
10/25/2012

Customer review by 5krunnerNC

1.0 stars 10/25/2012 by 5krunnerNC
by 5krunnerNC

I have had this MP3 player for 12 days and will be sending it back first thing in the morning. The ear buds keep popping out. I was on the treadmill and every 6 seconds I had to readjust the earbuds. It was so frustrating I had to take them off. I had the previous version and had the same problem but I wore a head band or scarf and it was fine. I can't get this new design to work for me. Oh well. I'm very sad because I loved not having the cords getting in my way.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
5krunnerNC
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome, easy to use, but uncomfortable
5/18/2012

Customer review by BlueViking99

5.0 stars 5/18/2012 by BlueViking99
by BlueViking99
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

I have always looked for headphones that stays in your ears when you workout, using traditional headphones, they sometimes pop out. Then I found Sony Walkman Water Resistant MP3 Player. I really liked the product, it is easy to use. It takes only a short period of time to memorize that the play/pause and skip buttons are on the right and volume and playlists/shuffle buttons are on the left. These don't come out of your ears very easily. Sound is excellent and really keeps the sound in, so you don't bother other people if the volume is high or keeps the outside noise out, so you don't have to turn your volume too high. Only con is that after having them on for more than an hour, my ears started to get pretty sore inside, so they are not most comfortable product out there, actually I was in pain the first day when using the headphones. However, maybe it depends what kind of ears people have... Adding music is super easy. I have a Mac computer, so lot of the instructions in the manual didn't apply to me. Even though I couldn't Mac compatibility information in the manual, I was pretty confident that it would work with Macs. Basically, plug in your headphones to your computer, open iTunes and then drag and drop your music. That's it! One cool feature is, when you press play, it says the words "Play" and when you skip to next song, it gives you 2 fast beeps to notify you of that. I highly recommend this product to people that spend time in the gym, where you don't have to worry about having cords running inside your shirt... Great product for the price!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueViking99
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Easy to Use
5/23/2012

Customer review by AngMomOfTwo

5.0 stars 5/23/2012 by AngMomOfTwo
by AngMomOfTwo
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

The Walkman headphones were easy to load up with music and have enough space to hold a lot of music content. After finding the correct size ear piece (the item comes with three different sizes) the headphones stayed in place and were comfortable to wear. They are also durable and could withstand being dropped a couple of times. Cordless headphones are a great idea.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AngMomOfTwo
Hayward, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Perfect
9/13/2011

Customer review by sillyrunner

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by sillyrunner
by sillyrunner

I purchaced this Walkman the day before a half marathon not wanting to tote my iPod touch for the 2 hour run. Great purchase. Works flawlessly. If your not much of an athlete its easy to get away with an iPod and the cords but if you want to enjoy your music and not think about it this seems to be the way to go. Also works well with iTunes and was easy to export workout tunes to the Sony in just a few mins. I was excited about the free 100 downloads from Sony music pass that came along with my purchase but found out that it really stinks. Buy this if you are a intense athlete who enjoys music and save yourself some time with Sony music pass until there is an update.

sillyrunner
VA Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for running and not bulky
5/25/2012

Customer review by ejk725

4.0 stars 5/25/2012 by ejk725
by ejk725
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

When I first tried these I was afraid these earphones were going to be too bulky and quite nerdy looking. I was pleasantly surprised to see that they were not that noticeable and fit very nicely in my ears. It takes a little adjusting at first but I love how they stay in my ears when I go for a run. The buttons to control volume, song selection, shuffle and power are all conveniently located just at the bottom of the earphone. One thing to note is the directions don't mention anything about setting up with a Mac computer, but it was actually very easy. Just plug in the usb and when you see the Walkman mounted on your desktop you can simply drag your music over directly to the music folder. All in all a great buy for such a low price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ejk725
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Works for the Warranty Duration
3/2/2013

Customer review by gradpanther

3.0 stars 3/2/2013 by gradpanther
by gradpanther

I've gone through two versions of these over the past two and a half years. Each of them stopped working a couple months after the one year parts warranty period ended. For each one, I loaded music onto the player about once every three months, and used for roughly 4-5 hours each week. It's great for what it is, which is why I bought this second one. If you're okay with replacing these each 1 year and 2 months, you should get this. I am a bit ready to try something else. The problem I've had in both is that the sound in the right ear just pretty much blew out. Don't cheap out, Sony. This is a product that deserves better.

gradpanther
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I listen to MP3 audio books...
11/8/2012

Customer review by KG11

3.0 stars 11/8/2012 by KG11
by KG11

I listen to mp3 books while I do housework and gardening. I hate headphone wires, they get caught on everything and rip the player out of your pocket or ears. I needed a either a player built into the headset or bluetooth headphones. Bluetooth is more expensive and drains the battery faster so I went for built into the headset. Audio books come in "parts" that are about an hour long. If you run out of battery in the middle of a part on the Walkman, the book will come back on at the beginning of the section and you have to listen to as much as an hour of book that you've already heard. If there was ff or replay, you could scroll back or forward to find your spot. No such luck with the Walkman. Sometimes I get distracted and wish I could replay the last few minutes that I missed, but with the Walkman, I'd have to go back to the beginning of the section to do that so I don't. The earbuds are not ear shaped. Even the smallest buds make my ears ache after an hour or so. The battery life is pretty good, it charges quickly and even 2 G is plenty of room for a couple of books at a time. Downloading from my computer (library books mostly) is easy. If Sony fixed a few rather easy issues, a whole new market would open up. After all, boomers are hitting retirement, more of us will listen to books while we walk, or potter around the house then listen to tunes while we lift weights or run.

KG11
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Earbuds need design help
10/2/2011

Customer review by MBarrons

2.0 stars 10/2/2011 by MBarrons
by MBarrons

I bought these for running. I love the simplicity and size. They are suprisingly easy to operate. However, the earbuds keep falling out!! I have tried all three earbud sizes provided and cannot keep these in my ears for more than a few minutes at a time. As much as I like the idea, they are nearly unbearable to run with, as I am constantly adjusting the earbuds. Hopefully Sony can figure this out.

MBarrons
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Needs a bit more work...
9/28/2011

Customer review by MrWBucket

2.0 stars 9/28/2011 by MrWBucket
by MrWBucket

I bought these for my gym workouts, no running, just no or low impact stuff. The earpieces don't stay in my ears, even though I'm not making any sudden movements. I have tried all the earpieces that came with it, but it doesn't matter. Other than that, I love the music quality, no cords, and the controls. Just wish they stayed in place!

MrWBucket
St Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews