Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 41 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
A true multi fit rack
10/13/2012

Customer review by astrowolf67

4.0 stars 10/13/2012 by astrowolf67
by astrowolf67

This rack was purchased to use on the back of an old Bronco II. Assembly was pretty straight forward and all parts fit together well. There were no instructions at all for the silent hitch pin, so, I did a search, and found a good video on YouTube. The hitch pin requires a wrench to install or remove, but works well. Once assembled and installed, it took a bit of time to get the rack set up for our bikes the first time, but, once done, it's pretty quick and easy on subsequent trips. The rack holds the bikes nice and secure using the rubber and velcro straps. Bike 3 must be loaded with the rear of the rack pulled out, then slid in and secured before loading the last one. My spare tire is offset to one side, so, I had no issues clearing it as long as I put the handle bars of the first bike opposite the tire. On my Bronco II, once the rack is installed, I have NO access to the rear hatch of the vehicle. I have to remove the first set of arms to gain access. The reason I gave this an average expectation and four star rating, is the slop between the first and second section. It allows the second pair of bikes to sway pretty good while driving down the road. A much better design would have been to use another silent hitch pin to join the two together, possibly one with a handle for tightening. Over all though, I'm satisfied with the rack for it's over all value, and the fact it fits all bikes, and carries them level. I would purchase this rack again, and would recommend it to friends and family in search of an affordable option.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
astrowolf67
Western Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
well worth the money..
2/28/2012

Customer review by jerseyjeeper

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by jerseyjeeper
by jerseyjeeper

This rack fits nice into my 2"reciever hitch. I'm not sure I like the Pin included to help keep the tube secure in the reciever. spring loaded and no way to lock it. I suggest you buy a locking hitch pin so no one can steal it..and a cable lock to secure bikes to hitch where tow chains would go. The rack is simple. holds bikes by the rims, adjusts to fit any size bike.. and you can carry just two bikes or use adaptor for two more. The bikes are held in place mainly by long velcro straps that wrap aroung forks and frame of bike.. Quite secure. Without scratching anything.. the rubber straps seen in pics are like safety back ups i guess.. they ar quite hard to get over the "nipples" intended for.. I dont even use them.. This rack will do well unless your going heavy duty off road driving and jumping ditches with your truck/SUV. I cant see spending 4 and 5 hundred bucks for a rack to go down the highway.. works well on my Jeep. the only things I'd change is a mechanical device to hold bikes.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jerseyjeeper
millville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Nice, easy bike rack.
4/28/2016

Customer review by BookyReader

4.0 stars 4/28/2016 by BookyReader
by BookyReader

Easy to assemble, easy to use. Made to be far enough away from the rear door on an SUV or van that the door can open with the bike rack still in place. Probably can't open with 2 bikes on it. Rear door will open with one bike on the rack. 4 stars because I thought this was the model that would swing out of the way. It doesn't, but still works well. We have it set for 2 bikes, but it is easy to add the second arm for the two extra bikes. Seems well made and well designed. Easy for my wife to put in and take off by herself. Easy to load up a bike with an odd shaped from because it holds onto the tires, not the frame. We're keeping it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BookyReader
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All in All... Great product, Even for the picky.
8/3/2011

Customer review by SouthernParamedic

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by SouthernParamedic
by SouthernParamedic

I have been shopping both online and in-store for a good reciever hitch bike rack. I had one that carried 4 bikes, problem was nat all our bikes had the single bar that mens bikes have. So if your like me and have several different style bike frames (man, woman and youth) that don't easily fit the frame holding style racks without adaptor bars then this is the rack to get. It fits all bikes regaurdless of frame type or style because it holds the bike by the rims. This design centers the bike and keeps it lower so you can see out rearview mirror, also centers up the bikes and is much easier to load and unload bikes. This holds 4 bikes and in the middle it slides out so you can put the two inside bikes on with room to do so easily. The only draw back I had was that I have a 1.25" reciever and the rack is 2", all I had to do was buy an adaptor, Problem solved. I am very picky and rarely recommend products, but this one is well worth the money especially when compared to the more expensive named racks. The only reason I didn't give it a perfect score on meets expectation was because of the little bit of side to side sway seen while driving down road, between the first two bikes and the second pair. Very adjustable and easy to install and use.

Was this review helpful? (70) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernParamedic
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike carrier for a variety of bike frames
7/5/2016

Customer review by DrTomMDDE

4.0 stars 7/5/2016 by DrTomMDDE
by DrTomMDDE
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This carrier is easy to assemble and disassemble and appears very sturdy. It is adaptable to a wide variety of bike frames without requiring adapters and will even carry my tandem securely (with the rear wheel removed.) The flexibility to configure for 1 to 4 bikes is also nice and my rear SUV door will open when the carrier is configured for one bike and no bikes are loaded. I'd give it 5 stars if it used nylon straps rather than rubber tie downs (which other reviewers have reported breaking) and if there was a built-in mechanism for locking the bikes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrTomMDDE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bike carrier
7/8/2016

Customer review by Bike4fun

5.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Bike4fun
by Bike4fun
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very stable, easy to load bikes and I like the ability to use it as a two bike carrier if needed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bike4fun
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value & Quality
4/15/2016

Customer review by JMZ92

5.0 stars 4/15/2016 by JMZ92
by JMZ92

Purchased online and shipped to store - took only 3 or 4 doors to arrive which was awesome. I have yet to travel with the bikes on the rack, but I assembled and tested the fit on my 2" hitch receiver. Everything fits and seems very heavy duty - great quality for the price (only $80 at time of purchase). This seems like it will serve its purpose just as well as any other name brand hitch rack that will cost you well over $200. Also, I found this same rack on Amazon for about $180 (with the name Highland instead of Reese). They appear to be virtually the same, so save yourself $100 and order through here! The ability to carry 2 or 4 bikes is an excellent option - I store the extension for the additional 2 bikes in my apartment, while keeping the parts necessary for only 2 bike traveling in the back of my SUV. It takes up minimal space in the back. I am able to open the entire tailgate/trunk of my 2012 Ford Escape XLT while the rack is fully assembled and installed on my hitch receiver (without the bikes attached), so this was an additional bonus after reading that some people could not. The only thing I dislike is that the cross bars, which gets inserted to the bottom support bracket, wiggles a little bit. They do not to appear to be as snug as they could or should be. I am sure they are fine, but since these cross bars are essentially what is holding the bikes, I may look into a way to eliminate the wiggle if I plan on traveling long distance with my bike. Should be an easy modification. All in all, I am happy with the purchase. Will follow-up if I run into any issues in the future after further use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMZ92
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reese bike rack
6/16/2016

Customer review by Steve

5.0 stars 6/16/2016 by Steve
by Steve
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to assemble, holds bikes securely in place, easy to load and unload.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Steve
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value
4/9/2016

Customer review by Gspointer

5.0 stars 4/9/2016 by Gspointer
by Gspointer

I read a lot of reviews and looked at more expensive options but I'm glad I bought this one. I'm not an expert on bikes or carriers and only need to use it occasionally. I like the ability to use it as a two bike carrier or four bike when I need it. Also I have a 2009 Jeep Rubicon and I was worried it wouldn't clear my spare tire. I'm really happy it does! I had no issues with assembly. I hauled two Treks for 300 miles and had absolutely no problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gspointer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Product worked great thru 1600 mile trip
7/26/2013

Customer review by BikeRider222

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by BikeRider222
by BikeRider222
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I would improve on the foam rings used to protect the bikes from the carrier. I will most likely replace with rubber tubing. I had some wear on the wheel foam and the bar foam. I used only 1/2 of the rack since I was carrying 2 bikes. That was a great feature to be able to use it as a 2 bike carrier or 4 bike carrier. No problems at all. It cleared the spare tire on the Jeep Wrangler as well without an extension.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BikeRider222
Farmington Hills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bike carrier
5/17/2016

Customer review by Buck52

3.0 stars 5/17/2016 by Buck52
by Buck52

It is a very solid bike hitch. The only problem could be the distance between your vehicle and the bike closest to it. I was using it on the back of my camper and was only able to get 3 bikes on the carrier. It is strong and will carry 4, but I will have to do some modifying to get the 4 bike on my camper for my intended use. I would recommend the carry to others wanting a goo cheap way to carry 4 bikes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buck52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great carrier
5/25/2016

Customer review by BrianO

5.0 stars 5/25/2016 by BrianO
by BrianO
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This bike carrier is easy to use and hauls any bike you want.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BrianO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Versatile & Easy to Use for 1 to 4 Bikes.
11/15/2014

Customer review by PoppopDeVille

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by PoppopDeVille
by PoppopDeVille

After shopping carefully, we found this rack which met our very specific needs. A) we wanted a rack that would handle 2 OR 4 bikes - and, it had to be manageable. I'm 68 & have to keep this in mind. This rack assembles on the hitch easily in 3-6 parts so it's very manageable to load and versatile as either 2 or 4 bikes. None of the pieces of the rack is overly heavy compared to other 4-bike racks. And you can leave off the parts for the 3rd & 4th bike without any problem. B) it had to be affordable. This rack cost less that $150 (even with the 4-bike option) and others were easily 2 to 3 times as expensive & weighed lots more (really unmanageable for me). C) We have very varied bike sizes - 2 adult & 2 grandkids' bikes. Few racks handle this well. D) loading the bikes themselves is simple. Just don't over tighten the rubber straps. They can & should be left slightly slack & still do their job.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoppopDeVille
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love it ! easy to use, great product
4/27/2016

Customer review by pipi

5.0 stars 4/27/2016 by pipi
by pipi

Excellent produce , easy to assemble , easy to use. Very convenient for a family with bikes and scooters-footbikes. I am using it on my Elantra and I am very very happy so far. GREAT PRICE AND DURABILITY TOO! Love it !

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pipi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great, stable rack
5/16/2016

Customer review by Forbin

5.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Forbin
by Forbin

I use this rack on a Jeep Wrangler JK. I drive off-road carrying my bike and this rack is extremely stable and safe despite the crazy bouncing. It works without a hitch extender and although it doesn't allow me to fully open the tailgate, I can open it enough access my stuff. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Forbin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good carrier for the price
6/23/2012

Customer review by marbarmarbar

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by marbarmarbar
by marbarmarbar

I've only used the carrier a few times. So far so good. I can't use this carrier to hold 4 bikes because the spare tire on my Montero blocks the inside rack from being able to put a bike there. I don't feel that I need to buy a locking hitch pin to go with it because when I take my bike off I can throw the arms of the rack in the back of my car- and then I don't have to worry about someone taking the useless bottom bar by itself.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
marbarmarbar
Logan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Expected a little more
11/11/2014

Customer review by Rackless

3.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Rackless
by Rackless

Let me start by saying that this rack is better than the standard hitch rack with the two arms that stick out for you to hang your bikes on. I have mountain bikes and arm style racks are like trying to solve a puzzle when loading the bikes. This rack is a little better from that stand point but still requires head scratching to get the pedals, seats and handle bars lined up. For this reason I give it 3 stars. I thought this rack would be an alternative to some $400 racks I have seen and with some modifications and some head scratching it could make a nice rack. PROS: 1. A lot of rack for the money. 2. Buy it online and pick up at the store as the online price is $30 less than in store. Why they won’t price match is beyond me. So you buy online, they take it from the store shelf and move it to a service desk and you walk in and pick it up all in a few hours’ time. CONS: 1. The locking nut to install the rack is mounted to a spring vs being welded to the inside of the draw bar. A pain to get it lined up with the thru hole to install the pin. 2. The V bars will go on too far, past the pin hole alignment and will get wedged in place, then you have to pull hard to get them lose to pull them back to get the pin holes to align. 3. The 1st bike to go on, the one between your car and the V, is difficult because there is very little room between the car and the rack. You are going to scratch the car with the pedals and/or handle bars. 4. You have to move the bikes straight on/off the hooks otherwise the hooks will try to twist the spokes and damage them. 5. 2nd bike is a bit of a puzzle get it to nest up to the 1st bike, but easier than a standard arm type rack. 6. 3rd bike goes on easiest as the draw bar extends away from the 2nd bike. Probably the nicest feature of the rack. 7. 4th bike goes on like the 2nd. 8. Now that the bikes are loaded, you have to slide the 3rd and 4th bike into the 1st two on the sliding draw bar. You’ll have problems getting the 2nd and 3rd bikes to nest together. The sliding draw bar has to go in too far before you can screw down the clamp, nesting the bikes too close to each other. 9. The sliding draw bar clamp doesn’t get tight and allows the rack to wiggle around excessively. This can be fixed by trimming the bottom of the plastic handle to let it screw down farther. 10. The foam rubber bumpers are not long enough. Put them high and you protect the fork on one bike, but then they are too high to protect the lower rear triangle on the mating bike. You can get longer foam at a hardware store.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rackless
Would recommend to a friend? No
Instructions were not detailed enough
6/7/2012

Customer review by Lisajwp

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Lisajwp
by Lisajwp

The instructions assume that you know things like how to attach the "silent hitch pin" and even that you know what a "silent hitch pin" is. There could have been a little bit more effort put into the instructions that would have saved us a lot of time and headaches. The rack itself is sturdy and durable. It is quite large, but it's nice that you can remove the back piece if you're only hauling 2 bikes.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lisajwp
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike Rack for Multiple size bicycles.
6/13/2012

Customer review by PoodleParentalUnit

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by PoodleParentalUnit
by PoodleParentalUnit

This was a great rack for multiple sizes of bicycles. We used it for one men's, one ladies, and two kids. It did take a bit to set it up the first time, but after that it was really easy. Another review said that a drawback was not being able to lock on the second half for the 3rd and 4th bikes. I solved that by purchasing two luggage locks and padlocking the cable on the bottom to each section of bike rack. We took this rack on a weekend campout and could still open the rear hatchback on the minivan with bicycles mounted. We just had to move one handlbar out of the way.

Was this review helpful? (20) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PoodleParentalUnit
Little Elm, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Well built and great design
12/26/2014

Customer review by PapaRides

4.0 stars 12/26/2014 by PapaRides
by PapaRides

This rack works great for a variety of bike sizes and shapes; men's, women's, or kids. Design is efficient and easy to set up. I would have rated the rack with five stars except for the way the Clovis pins are attached to the unit. As delivered, the pins were attached to the rack with sections of nylon or polyester string. Out in the weather, these strings would not have lasted very long. I purchased some 1/8" stainless steel aircraft and replaced the strings with the cable using a schwaging tool. Reese would do well to change this feature of the rack, even if they had to up the price a few bucks.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PapaRides
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews