Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

25 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 24 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews
All in All... Great product, Even for the picky.
8/3/2011

Customer review by SouthernParamedic

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by SouthernParamedic
by SouthernParamedic

I have been shopping both online and in-store for a good reciever hitch bike rack. I had one that carried 4 bikes, problem was nat all our bikes had the single bar that mens bikes have. So if your like me and have several different style bike frames (man, woman and youth) that don't easily fit the frame holding style racks without adaptor bars then this is the rack to get. It fits all bikes regaurdless of frame type or style because it holds the bike by the rims. This design centers the bike and keeps it lower so you can see out rearview mirror, also centers up the bikes and is much easier to load and unload bikes. This holds 4 bikes and in the middle it slides out so you can put the two inside bikes on with room to do so easily. The only draw back I had was that I have a 1.25" reciever and the rack is 2", all I had to do was buy an adaptor, Problem solved. I am very picky and rarely recommend products, but this one is well worth the money especially when compared to the more expensive named racks. The only reason I didn't give it a perfect score on meets expectation was because of the little bit of side to side sway seen while driving down road, between the first two bikes and the second pair. Very adjustable and easy to install and use.

Was this review helpful? (59) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernParamedic
Atlanta GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
well worth the money..
2/28/2012

Customer review by jerseyjeeper

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by jerseyjeeper
by jerseyjeeper

This rack fits nice into my 2"reciever hitch. I'm not sure I like the Pin included to help keep the tube secure in the reciever. spring loaded and no way to lock it. I suggest you buy a locking hitch pin so no one can steal it..and a cable lock to secure bikes to hitch where tow chains would go. The rack is simple. holds bikes by the rims, adjusts to fit any size bike.. and you can carry just two bikes or use adaptor for two more. The bikes are held in place mainly by long velcro straps that wrap aroung forks and frame of bike.. Quite secure. Without scratching anything.. the rubber straps seen in pics are like safety back ups i guess.. they ar quite hard to get over the "nipples" intended for.. I dont even use them.. This rack will do well unless your going heavy duty off road driving and jumping ditches with your truck/SUV. I cant see spending 4 and 5 hundred bucks for a rack to go down the highway.. works well on my Jeep. the only things I'd change is a mechanical device to hold bikes.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jerseyjeeper
millville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Instructions were not detailed enough
6/7/2012

Customer review by Lisajwp

4.0 stars 6/7/2012 by Lisajwp
by Lisajwp

The instructions assume that you know things like how to attach the "silent hitch pin" and even that you know what a "silent hitch pin" is. There could have been a little bit more effort put into the instructions that would have saved us a lot of time and headaches. The rack itself is sturdy and durable. It is quite large, but it's nice that you can remove the back piece if you're only hauling 2 bikes.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lisajwp
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike Rack for Multiple size bicycles.
6/13/2012

Customer review by PoodleParentalUnit

5.0 stars 6/13/2012 by PoodleParentalUnit
by PoodleParentalUnit

This was a great rack for multiple sizes of bicycles. We used it for one men's, one ladies, and two kids. It did take a bit to set it up the first time, but after that it was really easy. Another review said that a drawback was not being able to lock on the second half for the 3rd and 4th bikes. I solved that by purchasing two luggage locks and padlocking the cable on the bottom to each section of bike rack. We took this rack on a weekend campout and could still open the rear hatchback on the minivan with bicycles mounted. We just had to move one handlbar out of the way.

Was this review helpful? (15) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PoodleParentalUnit
Little Elm, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great product; exceeds expectations
8/2/2012

Customer review by Bikefam

5.0 stars 8/2/2012 by Bikefam
by Bikefam

I had a more traditional carrier that did not work very well for my family since we all have different sized bikes. This Reese carrier solved my problem as it will carry virtually all makes, models, or sizes. Great quality too for the price. I recommend purchasing a lock hitch pin.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bikefam
Port Huron, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent bike carrier
5/2/2013

Customer review by walmartshopping11

5.0 stars 5/2/2013 by walmartshopping11
by walmartshopping11

Bike carrier worked great had enough clearance to clear the spare tire on my hummer and still carry 4 bikes. There are no instructions on how to install the anti-wobble hitch pin however it was fairly easy to figure out after playing with it. Carried 2-26" bikes and 2-24" bikes when mounted they were very secure and never heard them the entire trip.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
walmartshopping11
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Product worked great thru 1600 mile trip
7/26/2013

Customer review by BikeRider222

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by BikeRider222
by BikeRider222

I would improve on the foam rings used to protect the bikes from the carrier. I will most likely replace with rubber tubing. I had some wear on the wheel foam and the bar foam. I used only 1/2 of the rack since I was carrying 2 bikes. That was a great feature to be able to use it as a 2 bike carrier or 4 bike carrier. No problems at all. It cleared the spare tire on the Jeep Wrangler as well without an extension.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikeRider222
Farmington Hills
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good carrier for the price
6/23/2012

Customer review by marbarmarbar

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by marbarmarbar
by marbarmarbar

I've only used the carrier a few times. So far so good. I can't use this carrier to hold 4 bikes because the spare tire on my Montero blocks the inside rack from being able to put a bike there. I don't feel that I need to buy a locking hitch pin to go with it because when I take my bike off I can throw the arms of the rack in the back of my car- and then I don't have to worry about someone taking the useless bottom bar by itself.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
marbarmarbar
Logan, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A true multi fit rack
10/13/2012

Customer review by astrowolf67

4.0 stars 10/13/2012 by astrowolf67
by astrowolf67

This rack was purchased to use on the back of an old Bronco II. Assembly was pretty straight forward and all parts fit together well. There were no instructions at all for the silent hitch pin, so, I did a search, and found a good video on YouTube. The hitch pin requires a wrench to install or remove, but works well. Once assembled and installed, it took a bit of time to get the rack set up for our bikes the first time, but, once done, it's pretty quick and easy on subsequent trips. The rack holds the bikes nice and secure using the rubber and velcro straps. Bike 3 must be loaded with the rear of the rack pulled out, then slid in and secured before loading the last one. My spare tire is offset to one side, so, I had no issues clearing it as long as I put the handle bars of the first bike opposite the tire. On my Bronco II, once the rack is installed, I have NO access to the rear hatch of the vehicle. I have to remove the first set of arms to gain access. The reason I gave this an average expectation and four star rating, is the slop between the first and second section. It allows the second pair of bikes to sway pretty good while driving down the road. A much better design would have been to use another silent hitch pin to join the two together, possibly one with a handle for tightening. Over all though, I'm satisfied with the rack for it's over all value, and the fact it fits all bikes, and carries them level. I would purchase this rack again, and would recommend it to friends and family in search of an affordable option.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
astrowolf67
Western Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Just what we needed.
8/8/2013

Customer review by Discwood

4.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Discwood
by Discwood

So far so good. Easy to put the bikes on. Got this because we carry a woman's bike and didn't have to buy the bar so we could carry it. Most of the time we will be carrying two bikes but have the option for 3 or 4. Fits 2" hitch only.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Discwood
Reading, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would buy again
7/28/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 7/28/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Works good on jeep carries 4 bikes despite spare tire and no hitch extension needed. You need to load two at a time rack seperates into two pieces inside bike difficult due to spare but it goes on. Last two leave rack loose install bikes then push in and lock. Kind of pain but carries bikes well enough to make worth effort. Nice to have option to only carry two bikes with half of the rack installed. Holds bikes solid bikes do not rock nor does rack once installed and tightened.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Haverhill Ma.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great design
6/30/2013

Customer review by tkrlb

5.0 stars 6/30/2013 by tkrlb
by tkrlb

I love this new style bike carrier. Is very sturdy, bikes dont bang and scrape one another, It barely wobbles unlike old slide on racks and functions well with a standard tow hitch. I purchased a hitch reciever lock becauase this rack came with a pin that screwed in and doesnt fit tightly and can be removed or stolen.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tkrlb
Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Well built and great design
12/26/2014

Customer review by PapaRides

4.0 stars 12/26/2014 by PapaRides
by PapaRides

This rack works great for a variety of bike sizes and shapes; men's, women's, or kids. Design is efficient and easy to set up. I would have rated the rack with five stars except for the way the Clovis pins are attached to the unit. As delivered, the pins were attached to the rack with sections of nylon or polyester string. Out in the weather, these strings would not have lasted very long. I purchased some 1/8" stainless steel aircraft and replaced the strings with the cable using a schwaging tool. Reese would do well to change this feature of the rack, even if they had to up the price a few bucks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PapaRides
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expected a little more
11/11/2014

Customer review by Rackless

3.0 stars 11/11/2014 by Rackless
by Rackless

Let me start by saying that this rack is better than the standard hitch rack with the two arms that stick out for you to hang your bikes on. I have mountain bikes and arm style racks are like trying to solve a puzzle when loading the bikes. This rack is a little better from that stand point but still requires head scratching to get the pedals, seats and handle bars lined up. For this reason I give it 3 stars. I thought this rack would be an alternative to some $400 racks I have seen and with some modifications and some head scratching it could make a nice rack. PROS: 1. A lot of rack for the money. 2. Buy it online and pick up at the store as the online price is $30 less than in store. Why they won’t price match is beyond me. So you buy online, they take it from the store shelf and move it to a service desk and you walk in and pick it up all in a few hours’ time. CONS: 1. The locking nut to install the rack is mounted to a spring vs being welded to the inside of the draw bar. A pain to get it lined up with the thru hole to install the pin. 2. The V bars will go on too far, past the pin hole alignment and will get wedged in place, then you have to pull hard to get them lose to pull them back to get the pin holes to align. 3. The 1st bike to go on, the one between your car and the V, is difficult because there is very little room between the car and the rack. You are going to scratch the car with the pedals and/or handle bars. 4. You have to move the bikes straight on/off the hooks otherwise the hooks will try to twist the spokes and damage them. 5. 2nd bike is a bit of a puzzle get it to nest up to the 1st bike, but easier than a standard arm type rack. 6. 3rd bike goes on easiest as the draw bar extends away from the 2nd bike. Probably the nicest feature of the rack. 7. 4th bike goes on like the 2nd. 8. Now that the bikes are loaded, you have to slide the 3rd and 4th bike into the 1st two on the sliding draw bar. You’ll have problems getting the 2nd and 3rd bikes to nest together. The sliding draw bar has to go in too far before you can screw down the clamp, nesting the bikes too close to each other. 9. The sliding draw bar clamp doesn’t get tight and allows the rack to wiggle around excessively. This can be fixed by trimming the bottom of the plastic handle to let it screw down farther. 10. The foam rubber bumpers are not long enough. Put them high and you protect the fork on one bike, but then they are too high to protect the lower rear triangle on the mating bike. You can get longer foam at a hardware store.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rackless
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it
7/22/2015

Customer review by Kay9

5.0 stars 7/22/2015 by Kay9
by Kay9

Great value, easy to use. We have 4 different size bikes. They sit nice and level. Very secure. We have driven over 500 miles on several trips with no problem. Resist the temptation to over tighten the tire straps. (They can brake). Snug them up and along with the velcro straps, bikes are going nowhere. Love the 2 or 4 bike option.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kay9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does the job
10/8/2014

Customer review by stuntfan

4.0 stars 10/8/2014 by stuntfan
by stuntfan

We use this to carry 3 26" bikes and 1 child's bike. They fit on the rack and are steady provided you use the included Velcro straps to secure them tightly. The only problem I had with assembly was that the directions told you to install the hitch pin and gave no instructions on how to correctly assemble the pin to install it. There are youtube videos that demonstrate this. After that problem was worked out the rest of the assembly was very easy. The bikes load easily as well. Good product for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stuntfan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Versatile & Easy to Use for 1 to 4 Bikes.
11/15/2014

Customer review by PoppopDeVille

5.0 stars 11/15/2014 by PoppopDeVille
by PoppopDeVille

After shopping carefully, we found this rack which met our very specific needs. A) we wanted a rack that would handle 2 OR 4 bikes - and, it had to be manageable. I'm 68 & have to keep this in mind. This rack assembles on the hitch easily in 3-6 parts so it's very manageable to load and versatile as either 2 or 4 bikes. None of the pieces of the rack is overly heavy compared to other 4-bike racks. And you can leave off the parts for the 3rd & 4th bike without any problem. B) it had to be affordable. This rack cost less that $150 (even with the 4-bike option) and others were easily 2 to 3 times as expensive & weighed lots more (really unmanageable for me). C) We have very varied bike sizes - 2 adult & 2 grandkids' bikes. Few racks handle this well. D) loading the bikes themselves is simple. Just don't over tighten the rubber straps. They can & should be left slightly slack & still do their job.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PoppopDeVille
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome!
5/20/2015

Customer review by Bigdave

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by Bigdave
by Bigdave

Dont believe that there is a better 4 bike carrier out there! Uses 2" receiver. I elected to use my own masterlock locking hitch pin. Bikes hangs and secured by the tires - so no problems hanging girls/men/kids bikes at all ....no need to buy the straight bar you would need for girl bikes with other "7" style carriers. Quick assemble and disassemble. Comes with velcro straps to secure frame of bike to the carrier so they dont sway while in transit. Transported a 29er, 26", 24", and 20" on a road trip with no problems.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bigdave
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
extremely bulky
7/13/2013

Customer review by BVil

1.0 stars 7/13/2013 by BVil
by BVil

if your plan is to take the family to the park with the bikes, plan ahead. Set-up and breakdown will take 30-45 minutes. By the time you're ready to load the bike, you're already tired from the set-up.

Was this review helpful? (3) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BVil
Dallas TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy bike rack
11/9/2014

Customer review by Fietsenisfijn

5.0 stars 11/9/2014 by Fietsenisfijn
by Fietsenisfijn

Needed a rack that can hold 4 bikes. This one's priced right and does the job. Have only used it once now but can see this work well for a long time. Easy assembly.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fietsenisfijn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1-20 of 24 reviews