Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
5
1-20 of 34 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Great Product
11/21/2011

Customer review by A1mrfixitall

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by A1mrfixitall
by A1mrfixitall

Ordered this online for in store pickup. It was there within a couple of hours. I actually happened to be in the store when I received a text that it was ready for pickup. This rack is sold under differant brand names on the internet and sells for more than twice what I paid for it at Walmart. Easy to assemble and very sturdy. Exactly what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (56) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
A1mrfixitall
Jefferson City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good solid carrier with a decent design
5/21/2012

Customer review by DGD4033

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by DGD4033
by DGD4033

This carrier is generally well thought out with solid construction and a design that keeps the bikes away from the vehicle bodywork. Attaching by the wheels is much less likely to damage the paintwork on the bikes and seems to stop them moving around as much as alternatives. Also works better for bikes without a crossbar. One negative is that it is a bit tricky to get the inside bike on and off the hooks without a second set of hands to help. The worst design (as noted in other reviews) though is the poorly designed 2" to 1.25" hitch receiver adapter that comes with this - it doesn't fit well and requires a permanent fixture (bolt and nylock nut) which makes removal a pain. I purchased a proper adapter and fixed this with the nut/bolt and this works much better. Price was great value at ~$80, however adding in a decent 2" adapter added for another $20 makes this comparable to others, so if you have a 2" receiver, keep this additional cost in mind.

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DGD4033
Dayton OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Excellent product and value
6/17/2012

Customer review by onalark

5.0 stars 6/17/2012 by onalark
by onalark

This hitch mount carrier is perfect for our two bikes, one of which has a v-frame that won't work on other carriers. Holds bike securely by the wheels. Drove down the interstate and didn't see a wiggle. A great bargain and high quality carrier.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
onalark
Sarasota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
excellent sturdy rack
6/27/2012

Customer review by 2ljunkie

5.0 stars 6/27/2012 by 2ljunkie
by 2ljunkie

Superb rack most especially at this price point. We use this rack on our '92 Jeep Cherokee (1 1/4 hitch# and our '03 Jeep Cherokee #2" hitch). Installs quickly on either vehicle using the included adapter. No need for the girls bike adapter bar as the wheels of the bike are the mounting point. The inside bike mounts between the rack and the vehicle so to keep that bike from scratching the rear bumper while mounting we put an old sock over the pedal. To ease the mounting we hook up the front wheel first then lift the rear of the bike to get the whole thing in place. Beats trying to lift the entire bike at once. First use we noticed some wobbling around while driving. To eliminate that we just hooked one bungee to a bike and then to the hitch safety chain loops. Wobble was gone. Velcro tie down staps are included to strap both bike together and to the rack. Very solid feeling.

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2ljunkie
63025
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice Carrier
5/10/2012

Customer review by Randco

5.0 stars 5/10/2012 by Randco
by Randco

After looking at various models of bike carriers I decided that this one was the best for my application. My wife and I have Schwinn 700C bikes. Her's is a ladies and mine is a men's. Other carriers supported the bikes by the frame, which made all of the one's that I looked at unusable. The V shape of this carrier and the cradles for the wheels is the perfect combination for us. The carrier was easily assembled and the Walmart pricing was a plus.

Was this review helpful? (19) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Randco
Sarasota, FL
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
Perfect Solution
7/20/2012

Customer review by NWTECHDAD

4.0 stars 7/20/2012 by NWTECHDAD
by NWTECHDAD

We've owned a number of different hitch mount bike racks in the past. With the different geometries of bikes for kids, women, men combined with road and mountain bikes it's been difficult to get them on traditional racks. This "sportwing" approach seemed like the exact solution - using the one thing that all of these different bikes have in common - wheels! My wife's bike has a top-tube that won't work well with traditional bike racks. Her bike fits perfectly on this rack. It's possible to put on wheel up first, then the other, making the rack easier to use. Her vehicle has 1-1/4" receiver and this rack is super easy and simple to install. The adapter for 2" is a little less than ideal but certainly workable. She uses the rack all of the time to take her bike to a trailer or park and go for a ride. The length of the mounting tube is long enough that the rear window on her Mountaineer can be opened with the rack installed on the car.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NWTECHDAD
Beaverton Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great buy, Easy to install & use, Great Price
5/9/2012

Customer review by nativestep

5.0 stars 5/9/2012 by nativestep
by nativestep

was easy and fast to set up and use. It was adjustable for any style of bike..even our 3 wheeler. Bought a cable lock to lock the bikes on for long trips and that works well. We have a 2011 Toyota RAV and it fits around the Wheel cover, of course you don't open the door with it on but once the bikes are off you can easily remove it and store if you need to as well it is very compact. I would recommend buying a lock pin for long trips and security so it can't be taken off the car.

Was this review helpful? (17) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nativestep
spokane, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1st rack I've purchased.
7/11/2012

Customer review by Mike47274

5.0 stars 7/11/2012 by Mike47274
by Mike47274

This has turned out to be better than I had hoped. I was tired of putting my bike in my trunk when I wanted to go to area mountain bike trails. So I found this affordable track online @ walmart. It is very easy to assemble and disassemble. When I get to the park I'm going to ride at. I simply take it apart and lock it up in my trunk. When I'm done riding, slap it back together, load bike (5 mins) and head home. Only 1 draw back,,, once bike(s) is mounted, you can't open trunk. But,,,,, I love it's ease use !!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mike47274
Seymour,IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good for Women Style Bike Frames
8/29/2012

Customer review by Edie16

4.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Edie16
by Edie16

I bought this rack for two reasons. I have two bikes to haul that are both lady style frames. Also, being a single Mom, I didn't want to get in over my head with complicated heavy racks that need additional work to make them usable. This rack took 15 minutes to assemble and put the bikes on. It couldn't have been easier. As other reviewers have stated, its a little jiggly at the hitch but it's not going anywhere and I don't notice it on the highway. We use a bungie cord to secure the bikes to the posts. I did find the thick rubber straps that go over the tires hard to pull over their bolt, but with each time its getting easier. The bikes do hang a little low, but it hasn't been a problem out on the roads (only backing down my driveway). Overall, I like this rack and think its a great buy for the money. I had it shipped to the store and it arrived exactly as predicted.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Edie16
Lakeville, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great hitch bike rack for step through or any bike
8/5/2014

Customer review by RalphieK

5.0 stars 8/5/2014 by RalphieK
by RalphieK

Was looking for a hitch bike rack that I could manage myself AND hold my new ladies step-through bike tight and securely. Was a bit skeptical of a $71 model from Walmart but figured I'd give it a try and return if it didn't hold my bike well. I LOVE THIS RACK! Its lightweight enough I can take the hitch on and off myself. The cradle goes through the bike wheels itself so the wheels don't spin, it holds the bike tight and doesn't move at all. Also easy to load my bike on and off the rack. The V-shaped cradle lets me hang the bike on the rack and then strap it tight. I'm so glad I didn't spend $350-$600 for one of the name-brand racks - especially since they all require a bar to hook across the top of step-through bike to let you hang it on the rack. Would definitely recommend this rack!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RalphieK
Flemington, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Do not recommend if you have a 2'' hitch
8/23/2014

Customer review by ponytailx4

1.0 stars 8/23/2014 by ponytailx4
by ponytailx4

I do not recommend this bike rack if you intend to use it with a 2'' receiver hitch. The two extra metal fillers to accommodate a 2" hitch are a pain for a quick attachment to your vehicle. I had to modify the brackets by welding the two metal pieces to the rack for a easy connection. This ended up costing me an additional $25. Even with this modification the rack does not fit well in the hitch...

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ponytailx4
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Carrier - Easy to assemble
7/26/2012

Customer review by JoeSound

5.0 stars 7/26/2012 by JoeSound
by JoeSound

I bought this bike carrier after looking at many (probably too many) types from high end bike store stuff (overpriced name bands with no better functionality than this) to Craigslist (used prices were almost the same as this was new - no brainer there!). The reviews drew me to this Reese and I'm very pleased at first glance. It was easy to put together and get on the car. One reviewer said something about having to get a longer bolt to use the 2" receiver adapter, but it's short for a reason - it goes THROUGH the hole on the side of the receiver and the adapter STOPS it - the action is to squeeze the adapters around the mount with a washer and locking nut on the other side. This is what keeps it from slopping around in the receiver. It works BEAUTIFULLY! I haven't taken the bike out for a ride yet so I may update this once I have, but at first glance, this is a great buy and an excellent product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoeSound
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Bike Rack for Cruiser Bikes
4/9/2014

Customer review by diablo2018

5.0 stars 4/9/2014 by diablo2018
by diablo2018

I bought this rack because I was looking for a bike rack for my 2011 Tuscon that has a 1 1/4 hitch that was already included with my car, and that could hold two cruiser bikes without any other modifications due to the unique frame a cruiser bike has. Both bikes fit perfectly without touching the Tuscon. The bike rack has a strong steel frame and is very heavy duty. Only complaint I have is that it does not fold so you can access the trunk of your car. One would have to disassemble the top two piece of the mount in order to access the trunk.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
diablo2018
Yardley, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Single Guy
2/28/2014

Customer review by CaptBob8

5.0 stars 2/28/2014 by CaptBob8
by CaptBob8

I need to haul several different bikes, depending on the ride, this is the perfect carrying unit to accomplish the task, Easy to assembly and very protective of the bike. I have a 2” hitch so I just had the adaptors from 1 ¼” welding in place, makes hook up and release very easy and keeps it very steady. When I have a riding companion easy to add for second bike. It was shipped to my home with no freight cost, don’t know how they do that, buy happy they do. CaptBob

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptBob8
Stuart, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works very well
7/7/2014

Customer review by Cintaroja

4.0 stars 7/7/2014 by Cintaroja
by Cintaroja

If I didn't use it on a Rav4 with a spare tire carrier hanging off the back hatch, I would rate it 5 stars. The inside bike is difficult to mount & dismount as there's very little room. Using the outside mount is a snap. If there were 2 inches more to with on the inside one, it would make all the difference. Wish they (or anyone) would make a 2" extension.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cintaroja
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1 1/4 adapter (to 2") works but requires tools
4/7/2013

Customer review by PlaytimeIV

4.0 stars 4/7/2013 by PlaytimeIV
by PlaytimeIV

I wish the manufacturer would make the 4-bike inner drawbar available for purchase to replace the included adapter on the 2-bike version. The 1 1/4 to 2" adapter is two angle brackets that surround the 1 1/4 drawbar to take up the excess space of a 2" receiver. However, you must use their bolt through your 5/8" pin hole. This bolt requires the use of the included Allen wrench and your 11mm wrench. This makes removing the rack a tool-required-process if you have a 2" receiver. Not great if you want to use your hitch for other toys as well. You can buy commercially available adapters to be able to use standard 1/2 and 5/8 pins but all of them will extend the rack further away from your vehicle and run between $24 and $54. The 4-bike version uses a 2" draw bar.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PlaytimeIV
Northern VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
best bike rack i have had
10/23/2014

Customer review by opgh

5.0 stars 10/23/2014 by opgh
by opgh

The adapter is bad. But the bike rack is secure and of good quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
opgh
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy, simple and does the job
7/6/2015

Customer review by Odie

5.0 stars 7/6/2015 by Odie
by Odie

Very simple to mount (or remove) from the car (assuming you have 1.25" receiver installed on said vehicle). Likewise, very easy and quick to secure a bike (or bikes) on said rack. Additional advantage is that the rack's main boom length allows the car trunk to be opened and accessed while the rack and bike(s) are mounted, which can come in handy. Due to ease and simplicity of rack installation and bike mounting - highly recommended for anyone who has a need to frequently and often install / remove the rack, mount/dismount the bikes.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Odie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor Design
5/10/2015

Customer review by Notagreenie

1.0 stars 5/10/2015 by Notagreenie
by Notagreenie

The major flaw with this rack, is the straight shank. I bought this for my 2015 Toyota Prius. I set my Trek Madone 5.2SL road bike on the rack, and had my wife back the car out of the driveway so I could check the clearance from the bike to the ground. My driveway is not steep at all, but at the bottom of the driveway, there was only about 1/2 inch of clearance from the bottom of the bike's tires to the ground! Great way to destroy an expensive bike in no time! I like that the bike is held by the wheels and not the frame. If this rack had a riser shank, as some other similar designs use, then this would be a good rack.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Notagreenie
Would recommend to a friend? No
Most satisfactory!
9/3/2012

Customer review by TFSole

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by TFSole
by TFSole

I recently began riding a road bike, and this bike carrier has worked PERFECTY so far. No complaints at all.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TFSole
Dothan, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews