Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 176 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

176 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

176 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
118
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
17
1-20 of 159 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
Had for 6 months great machine...but...
10/7/2013

Customer review by TLSJ

4.0 stars 10/7/2013 by TLSJ
by TLSJ

I've had this machine for about 6 months. I've been very happy with it. I'm a beginner sewer so I appreciate the easy to use machine. Bobbin is easily put in, changing between stitch options is very easy and straight forward. I would highly recommend this machine. I really like that there is a speed option. So you can put it on the slowest option so that when you press the pedal it can only go a set speed. This is a great option for beginners or detailed projects. Buttons, zippers are super easy with this machine. I have not tried but I dont think this machine would be that great with really thick materials. I think it would do it fine occasionally but not if you were wanting to do a lot of those projects. *I just started having a problem with my machine tonight. When I go to use the alphabet stitches, no matter what letter I choose it defaults back to the letter A. I've contacted Brother customer service so hopefully it is a quick fix. Will keep you posted. The other stitches work fine and have no other complaints -- it even does the letter A really well.... just need to fix it so I can use all the letters again.

TLSJ
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
I love the SQ 9050 machine!
9/1/2016

Customer review by ziggy

5.0 stars 9/1/2016 by ziggy
by ziggy

In fact I'm looking to buy a new machine same as my first which will become my backup when the other is up for maintenance. Haven't been able to find one yet as they seem to be out of circulation :(

ziggy
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
customer help
8/28/2016

Customer review by D83617

5.0 stars 8/28/2016 by D83617
by D83617

I was so pleased with the help I got from technical support on a problem that I had. Will only buy Brother products. It is an excellent machine.

D83617
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine, but gets dusty easily.
5/16/2016

Customer review by Jenny81

4.0 stars 5/16/2016 by Jenny81
by Jenny81

This is the fifth machine I've had in the last decade, and I LOVE it, overall. I've used it for loads of materials, and its been very versatile. The one downfall is that spacing is a little big, leading to compartments, and I sew many materials, including burlap which is pretty dusty. The dust goes into the machine too easily and I get warning lights frequently. Otherwise, great though.

Jenny81
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Features, Lots of Quilting Feet
10/8/2013

Customer review by Lunchbox

2.0 stars 10/8/2013 by Lunchbox
by Lunchbox

After reading all of the reviews I determined that this was the machine I wanted....moving up from my 1984 Singer.  It worked wonders for the first 8 months....then it started going down hill.  All of the gears are plastic and are grinding together.  The sheath for the needle does not hold the needle straight and I am breaking needles like no tomorrow.  Its a good beginner machine however don't have expectations for it to last a long time.  I received it as a gift for Christmas 2012, if I had the receipt this lemon would be going right back to the store.  I feel as though it was a waste of money.  Now I have to save my nickles and dimes to get a new machine that is reliable.  I am stuck in the middle of quilt right now that I can't finish.

Lunchbox
Kitchener, ON
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per week
Awesome trave class machine
10/4/2013

Customer review by Brotherlover

5.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Brotherlover
by Brotherlover

I bought this machine a couple years ago as a companion machine to my espire to use for travel and classes. It has done everything I ask of it and does it well. great straight stitch for quilting. I have pieced many quilting projects on this. I now have my dreambaby the VM6200D but I still use this one for travel and classes as it is so portable and the stitch quality on it was better than some other brands that were way money. Great buy for your money. Good beginner and starter machine as well. Also good to have as backup. I got mine from walmart and never have had one single problem with it and have put its through its paces

Brotherlover
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the jury is still out
7/6/2013

Customer review by Tess

2.0 stars 7/6/2013 by Tess
by Tess

This particular machine was a gift to me. I have longed for a new machine for awhile now. My dinosaur fianally and totally died right before I am to make my kids wedding dresses. I "thought" perfect timing. This machines manual just doesn't make sense. The pics and descriptions are hard to follow. The pencil type drawings of parts, hard to match up. Ive had brother machines for years. And have been relatively pleased. This one however, Im dreading the wedding dress. Hopefully I can at least get a straight stitch out of it to do the dresses. Sewing is supposed to be fun not stressful. Wish manufacturers would realize that

Tess
Would recommend to a friend? No
does it all
3/29/2013

Customer review by pickypurchaser

4.0 stars 3/29/2013 by pickypurchaser
by pickypurchaser

I am new to sewing and purchased this sewing machine to fill my needs today and into the future. I have made two quilts on it. I love it so far, my only complaint with this machine is the instructions in the manual. I found the instrustructions especially on the features specific to this sewing machine lacking. I came to find out a few of my friends had the same machine and never did figure out the self threading feature, I had to show them how to do it, in a busy world people do not have time to play with the stitches to figure them all out so they go unused. I would say more detail on the manual would make this machine top notch and allow a person to use it to its full potential.

pickypurchaser
ALBERTA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine
10/9/2013

Customer review by beginningquilter

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by beginningquilter
by beginningquilter

I've had this particular machine for about 6 months now and love it. I'm putting together my first real quilt and it has been a dream to use. I've had Brother Machines for the past 30 years or so and this one is the easiest by far to use. I haven't had a problems with it and if the threads get tangled, it 's my fault, not the machines. The instructions were clear and the DVDS that came with it was very helpful. I've been thinking of buying a second machine because I like this one so much and before the price goes up or it is discontinued.

beginningquilter
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best I've had!
2/12/2013

Customer review by ErinS

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by ErinS
by ErinS

I started sewing a few years ago. We first got a singer and after replacing it twice my husband suggested this one. I've been using it for over 6 months now and I have to say, I LOVE THIS MACHINE! Its well worth the price. I sew everyday and all day on weekends! This machine is a power horse that never gives up. I've used all the features on this except the button hole option (I don't have a need for that). Its easy to thread, easy to use and best of all, it has not broken down like the other brand did. I plan on teaching my daughter on this machine, its that easy! I would highly recommend this machine to anyone.

ErinS
Edmonton
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not pleased
7/3/2013

Customer review by quiltinggranny

1.0 stars 7/3/2013 by quiltinggranny
by quiltinggranny

I got my first machine about 18 months ago. It had a warranty for 2 years. Went to Walmart and they gave me another. I have had the new one 6 weeks and it seems to have the same problem. The top thread gets tangled in the bobbin case. Makes ugly loopy stitches that have to be cut out. I am looking for another machine. I have many brother machine feet and accessories so I guess I am stuck with a brother machine. My nice relaxing hobby is really stressing me out.

quiltinggranny
Wetumpka, Al
Would recommend to a friend? No
SQ9050 Rock's
6/27/2014

Customer review by rick

5.0 stars 6/27/2014 by rick
by rick

We have had this one for 2 years or so ok maybe 3...I am the cutter she does the sewing. we do Quilts and this little girl has done 12 in one year and still going!!!!! We love it wish the font was bigger but i am cool with it...If you get a chance BUY ONE..Oh and the quilts was for friends and kids and grand kids!!!! We have plan to buy another next year,,, PS all our material is industrial (thick as beep) lets just say like you couch........

rick
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
best sewing machine
7/10/2013

Customer review by lindacdy

5.0 stars 7/10/2013 by lindacdy
by lindacdy

I have a Singer and a Kenmore but this is the best quilting and sewing machine I have ever had I have a brother sewing machine I have had for a long time and it is a good machine but I got this one to quilt with and I love it but my dream is to have the brother VQ3000 I just love it I love all the brother machines My sister went and got her the SQ9050 last week because I have one and me and her do a lot of quilting and she love's her machine to

lindacdy
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
SQ9050
9/14/2015

Customer review by loves2sew

5.0 stars 9/14/2015 by loves2sew
by loves2sew

I've had this machine now I guess for about 2 yrs. and I absolutely love it. Does just what I bought it to do....sew! I love the decortive stitches and do use them. I do quilt and garment sew. This machine is perfect for that. I also just bought a Brother Embroidery machine this year! Love it too..... Thanks Brother.

loves2sew
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do yourself a favour!
11/14/2013

Customer review by SewEasy

5.0 stars 11/14/2013 by SewEasy
by SewEasy

I originally bought the Brother LX3850 and while this is a good machine, after using it for a couple hours doing a lot of applique work, it was definitely missing some key features. So, I returned it and got this machine (SQ9050) and OMG I was seriously close to tears of joy. This is an AMAZING machine that you won't regret buying! It's so easy to sew with and I love the needle down position and speed control and the fact that you just enter the number of the pattern you want and it automatically adjusts the length and width for you, so no having to mess with a manual dial.

SewEasy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Hand Wheel Stuck after 1 yr
12/24/2013

Customer review by BrotherFan

3.0 stars 12/24/2013 by BrotherFan
by BrotherFan

I love this model, but after 1 year 3 months, just after the Parts and Labor Warranty expired, the hand wheel got stuck. Had to send it in for repair. I have found that the fancy stitches are not consistent overall. It's hard to sew with thicker fabrics. This model is also quite similar with the Designio series. Why is Brother marketing similar products under different models?

BrotherFan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Loving' it!
10/10/2012

Customer review by NanaMurphy

5.0 stars 10/10/2012 by NanaMurphy
by NanaMurphy

I got my Brother SQ9050 about 10 days ago and I am lovin' it! I haven't sewn any large projects yet, but have done some sewing on it. It is so quiet compared to my other sewing machines and serger. The instructions for the various stitches and the embroidering font are VERY easy to follow. I have compared this machine and its many features to other more expensive machines and frankly, I think this machine is a real Bargain. Also, there are a lot of attachments that come with the machine plus the extra long base, at no extra cost. Gotta love WalMart.

NanaMurphy
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
sq9050
10/17/2015

Customer review by claudia

5.0 stars 10/17/2015 by claudia
by claudia

love my machine. I have recommend it to my friends, one bought sq9050

claudia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok machine
6/7/2013

Customer review by Wilma

3.0 stars 6/7/2013 by Wilma
by Wilma

I bought this machine for the embroidery letters it said on the box. It only does one style of capital letters and they are only 1/4" high. Not good enough for me. Otherwise the machine seemed ok.

Wilma
Douglas, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best purchase ever.
4/30/2015

Customer review by Maria

4.0 stars 4/30/2015 by Maria
by Maria

as soon as I am able to, I want to upgrade or purchase an upgrade of a machine.

Maria
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews