Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 176 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

176 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

176 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
118
4 stars
32
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 stars
17
1-20 of 159 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews
Great machine for a beginner!
4/6/2012

Customer review by Kitten21811

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by Kitten21811
by Kitten21811

I am a novice when it comes to sewing. I never thought I could sew, until I bought this machine! It is so easy to use and I love, love, LOVE this machine. I have only had the machine a week and I've already made a quilt! It's unbelievably easy to use. I read all of the reviews on here before buying the machine and wanted to come back and write my own review to tell the next consumer that I too, highly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kitten21811
Billerica, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
why didn't I got this sooner?
8/12/2012

Customer review by StitchingBelle

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by StitchingBelle
by StitchingBelle

A few weeks ago my husband purchased this sewing machine for me. It's my first machine, and it's been a dream! I've made a pillowcase, a purse, and I'm currently working on a set of Christmas ornaments. I've tried each of the decorative stitches, used the monograming font (small and simple, perfect for quilt labels or monograming pockets, collars, or cuffs), and it's performed flawlessly. Easy to thread, and easy to load the bobbin. The extension table and wide assortment of included feet makes this a great bargain! I've got so many projects planned....

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StitchingBelle
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lightweight, but very sturdy and solid
3/27/2013

Customer review by CatRescueGirl

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by CatRescueGirl
by CatRescueGirl

I was, at first, put off by how light weight this machine is. I sew for a living and my expensive Viking machine is broken. I figured I would go ahead and buy a "backup" machine instead of take on expensive repairs. Once I put this on the table and fired it up, I was amazed at how solid and stable it is. The motor has a good hum to it and the 3-speed button allows me to slow it down for my ruffler, but speed it back up for a more production speed. The placement of the "backstitch" and "needle up/down" buttons was very well thought out. It is very easy to reach and touch them while still holding fabric in place. I would say Brother gets an A+ for ergonomics. I have now bonded with a machine that I didn't think would pan out. I was wrong. This one is a keeper. I went ahead and got the 3-year extended warranty for $19...a small price to pay for a little insurance. The drawback to the newer machines are the plastic parts inside. That would be why the 3-year warranty is a good idea :-)

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CatRescueGirl
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
I Love this Machine!
4/21/2013

Customer review by JMehargDesigns

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by JMehargDesigns
by JMehargDesigns

I am a quilter, and I also make other items like fabric lanyards, fabric tote bags, Kindle cases, etc for my etsy shop. I needed an upgrade from the Brother machine that I already had. I chose this one because it had some great stitches & the price was right for me. I LOVE it. I made sure to go through the manual before using it...and when I used it for the first time - it worked like a dream. I have been sewing nearly non-stop for 4 days now! :-) I love the stitch choices & it is very quiet and easy to use. I have had absolutely no problems!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JMehargDesigns
Temple, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
love love LOVE!!
12/19/2011

Customer review by digger6

5.0 stars 12/19/2011 by digger6
by digger6

my boyfriend spent weeks trying to get a hold of this machine and he finally got it and gave it to me early for Christmas. this is the BEST sewing machine i have ever used!! it's so easy and i love the accessories it comes with. i am so happy with it i just cannot even explain!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
digger6
Monroe, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE this machine!
12/3/2012

Customer review by MotherofEightKY

1.0 stars 12/3/2012 by MotherofEightKY
by MotherofEightKY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to use, love the stitches and the monogramming features are great and easy to use too.

Was this review helpful? (5) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MotherofEightKY
KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Far Exceeded Expectations
2/21/2013

Customer review by Crafterra

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Crafterra
by Crafterra

For the past few years I've had Brother's machine that costs around $80. That being the first machine I ever owned, I just assumed that sewing with a machine was supposed to be more almost more work than it was worth. My thread broke constantly. I could never get the tension right. Fabric and tread frequently got stuck in the feed dogs. No matter how hard I tried I could never sew in a straight line. Enter the SQ9050! I wanted a machine with a variable speed control button similar to a high quality quilting machine. What attracted me to this was that it had many amenities similar to machines that cost twice as much. I got home and was literally in awe of the ease of setting up, winding the bobbin (although it came with a pre-wound bobbin!), and quick and easy upper and lower threading. This machine does so much for you automatically. Then, I began to sew. It sewed in a straight line perfectly. The machine ran so quietly and smoothly! I never knew that sewing could be so easy and simultaneously gratifying!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crafterra
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine, great price
10/31/2011

Customer review by AutumnGold

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by AutumnGold
by AutumnGold

I bought this machine for my daughter-in-law this fall. She wanted to learn how to sew. I selected this model because it could handle thick yardage, a feature I thought would reduce her frustration as a beginner. The machine greatly exceeded my expectations. I have a a very nice (and expensive) machine, but boy was I impressed with this one. In one weekend, we really put it through the paces, sewing up three garments and one toddler quilt. It was that easy to just set up and go. My daughter-in-law quickly mastered the basics and sewed two of those projects herself! I like its light weight, very easy thread and bobbin tracks, transparent pressure foot, and its get-up-and-go, even through thick layers. I had one thread jam but it was my fault. I put the bobin in backwards. Other than that it performed perfectly. I bought this once. I'd like to buy it again for myself! Even if you have a nice machine for home, this is such an easy machine to carry about. Be sure to buy a case with it, as a case is not included. I liked the soft cases better than the hard case.

Was this review helpful? (93) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AutumnGold
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Couldn't do a straight stitch correctly
8/29/2012

Customer review by Starbucket

2.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Starbucket
by Starbucket

Now I have sewn for a few years now and know my way around a machine as well as how to fix minor problems. It did well with decorative stitches and I was super excited for the walking foot. However the most BASIC straight stitch is just this long unprofessional looking line instead of what it should look like ------ with spaces at least on the top. Also even with the straight line as it was the stitches would RANDOMLY pucker out like it didn't complete the stitch correctly before starting another one. They said it was the needle (nope I knew what needle worked for my project and even so I changed it just to double check same problem.) Or the problem was the tension (of which I changed and did many various tests.) I even re threaded the machine over and over again just in case. I also CHANGED the type of thread I was using. If you are needing a machine for fun and nothing super professional looking this is a GREAT machine. It just didn't work for me.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Starbucket
Greeley CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very SMALL Monogram
12/12/2011

Customer review by Streetsmartz

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by Streetsmartz
by Streetsmartz

Beautiful Machine!! I LOVE Brother Product's!!. EASY TO LEARN.. I have to say I was DISAPPOINTED In the Monogram...It's Only about 1/4 inch ..That's IT!!!! I Called the Rep and He Told me.....It's not any bigger the the foot on the Machine.(about 1/4 in) He told me if you want Bigger to look into an Embroidery Machine (Don't really want that) I did wind up Monogramming it with the REG Stitches though and it came out great!!.. But what's the point in having something you may not use... I ordered this online and picked this up at my store in one Day...EASY!!! I like The Machine...but I may return it as the Font is SO tiny.... I HAVE A BROTHER SERGER AND SEWING MACHINE 6000 AS WELL LOVE THEM BOTH!! I GAVE 4 STARS ONLY CAUSE THE FONT IS SO SMALL...

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Streetsmartz
PITTSBURGH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Machine for the Value
3/27/2013

Customer review by ItsAnAimee

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by ItsAnAimee
by ItsAnAimee

I have been sewing for 20 years, have had multiple machines and when my really expensive Bernina decided to go AWOL on me, the service time to repair it was 6 weeks and I knew I couldn't be down that long. I had quilts to make ASAP!! LOL Anyways, I bought this Brother machine at midnight on a Friday night when my Bernina went down because it has the same features as my Bernina Bernette 92C which costs $600 and some additional features, such as the extension arm, automatic and needle down that my Bernina did not. For a $200 machine with the Brother, I was blown away at the quality!! I find myself using this machine more than my Bernina!! It's lighter in weight, more manageable for travel to sewing groups than my Bernina and I absolutely love it. I have used several of the decorative stitches for applique on my quilts and they're just amazing! Only things I haven't used yet are the button hole features and the alphabet. If this machine had come out 3 year prior to now, I can honestly say, I would've bought this then instead of my Bernina. My Bernina is now my backup machine.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ItsAnAimee
Sherman, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great versatile machine with easy threading.
1/10/2012

Customer review by Stitchersue

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Stitchersue
by Stitchersue

This is a great machine for the home sewer/quilter. I was in the middle of making a denim skirt when my Bernina had to go into the shop. I'd bought one of these machines for my daughter at Thanksgiving and we loved it! The first thing I sewed on mine was to insert a zipper and add a waistband. The machine did great, even through 6 layers of denim. It can't go "Pedal to the Metal" like my Bernina, but does great at a middle speed. It's also more than 10X cheaper than my old Bernina! The best feature of the machine (and there are lots of high end features), is the super simple top and bobbin threading. That's usually what messes up new sewers and this is as simple as it gets. The machine comes set to a left of center needle setting. Go to page 11 of the manual to quickly reset this to center.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stitchersue
Sequim, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
HOLY COW it sews on its OWN!!!
4/23/2012

Customer review by smurphdaddy12

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by smurphdaddy12
by smurphdaddy12

WOW! I have beening sewing off and on for 15 years. And I just sold my old metal built simple machine and got this upgrade. Holy smokes! So simple to use, and I NEED that! So smooth and quiet. So perfect and easy to use. A perfect stitch everytime. You dont even need to plug in the foot, you can operate it by touch. Just guide your fabric and watch it go. SO EASY SO PERFECT! I cant wait to find more projects. Stop thinking about this machine and go get it. Besides if for some reason it gives you grief, relax, you bought it at walmart! Why are you still reading this? GO!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
smurphdaddy12
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Great value for the money
10/11/2011

Customer review by MMMQuilts

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by MMMQuilts
by MMMQuilts

I have been quilting for over 15 years using an Elna Quilters Dream which cost way more than this Brother machine. The Brother machine has every attachment the Elna had, does every stitch and has more optional stitches available. I was able to set it up and quickly figure out how to thread the machine, load the bobbin and use the various stitches. My neighbor had bought a Brother sewing machine for her daughter last Christmas (different model) and she liked it better than her mother's newer Elna. This is a wonderful machine for the money.

Was this review helpful? (339) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MMMQuilts
Bowie, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this sewing machine!
10/8/2012

Customer review by Biteme517

4.0 stars 10/8/2012 by Biteme517
by Biteme517

I was walking around in our Walmart and saw this machine for only 199.00 I also have an older Brother sewing machine that is not electronic and the Disney version of the embroidery sewing machine. I was interested in getting a regular sewing machine that does letters also. They are small letters but are perfect to sign your name on things you have made. And if i wanted big lettering i can use my embroidery machine! I am very happy with this machine although a little disappointed that it didn't cut your thread like my embroidery machine does. But you can't have everything for only 200.00!! And for the price it is a nice machine. I had to laugh at the reviews that are complaining how cheaply made it is. It is lightweight and yes made of plastic but it does the job. If you want to spend a fortune on a sewing machine go buy one from a dealer. But for me this one works great.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Biteme517
Westville, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Surprised by it's abilities
5/15/2013

Customer review by Domin23

5.0 stars 5/15/2013 by Domin23
by Domin23

I have a Janome MC10000 and spent thousands of dollars on that machine, long story short I was having issues with the bobbin and needed to finish a project for my son, went to Walmart, purchased this machine because it had the stiches I needed, came home, pulled it out of the box, started my project.... and let me tell you, the stiching quality was great, after using Janome for so many years I am spoiled but I was surprised at what this little machine can do, it has most of my Janome basic functions, the embroidery of the letters compares to my Janome... I'm keeping it as my backup sewing machine. It is affordable, easy to thread and use IF you watch the DVD first :) very, very happy with my purchase. It sews several leyers of fabric with ease, the LCD display tells you which foot to use depending on the stich you are selecting. Lenght and width are very easy to adjust. The construction overall is well made, it is plastic... so I would be careful with it, my Janome is all metal and can stand a lot... this one I am not sure just yet.... but the part where the computer sits is made out of a stronger material, so that is good. This machine is a good startup machine that will grow with your sewing skills..... Give it lots of TLC, enjoy

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Domin23
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I love the SQ 9050 machine!
9/1/2016

Customer review by ziggy

5.0 stars 9/1/2016 by ziggy
by ziggy

In fact I'm looking to buy a new machine same as my first which will become my backup when the other is up for maintenance. Haven't been able to find one yet as they seem to be out of circulation :(

ziggy
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/11/2011

Customer review by NooLoo

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by NooLoo
by NooLoo

The Brother SQ9050 model is a dream machine, and it is quite easy to use for any age or skill level. I love the needle threader capability. My daughter ordered it online, and it was delivered the next day for my birthday! I sew preemie clothing, and the many decorative and heirloom stitches will really enhance the garments. A quilter will be delighted with the extended table. NOTE: You will find the attachments inside the storage compartment of your machine. This machine is a great buy - do yourself or someone you love a favor and order it now!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NooLoo
Bloomfield, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I'm a beginner and I'm loving it!
12/22/2011

Customer review by MrandMrsAa

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by MrandMrsAa
by MrandMrsAa

I had never owned a sewing machine before - I was actually scared of them, after a frustrated attempt to borrow my aunt's machine, a few years ago. I couldn't even thread that thing! :P But I bought this Brother about 2-3 weeks ago and I am totally hooked. It was super easy to figure it out - it comes with a DVD and well, there always Google! - and so far I have made a duvet cover, curtain "cuffs" (to hold them open?), about 5 pj pants and a pj top for my daughter. I just can't stop sewing! I only have great things to say about this machine, but I'm giving it a "4" on value just because I haven't used more than straight stitches and zig zag, and I'm thinking that maybe I didn't need over 100 different stitches, in the end... But who knows, I'm only getting started and I'm sure that in a near future I'll be glad I didn't buy a machine with fewer stitches. And this one also stitches characters, which is great when you have little kids and you want to put their names on their sweaters and jackets - I'm tired of my kids forgetting or losing their clothes at school! :) And I'm only thinking of the dozens of quilts I wanna make with some of their clothes I could never get rid of... Yes, I so recommend this machine! ;) It was my "early Xmas gift" and I feel just like a kid with a new toy, hehe...

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrandMrsAa
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exceeded Expectations, Lightweight, AWESOME !
1/4/2012

Customer review by Beano52

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by Beano52
by Beano52

I got this as my 3rd machine. I had a Singer hand me down from the 60s. A Singer Prelude which still works great but I just wanted an upgrade. The SQ9050 is just awesome! Easy to use. Precise. The actual sound of it running is beautiful. EZ load bobbin. Needle threader. Needle up or needle down stopping. No need to use the foot control, there is a go/stop button on the front! the instruction book and quick start guide were easy to understand. And it is SOooo light to pick up! Yes, the monogram is one size only and I agree, the machine is not industrial quality but.... I just estatic about this machine.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beano52
St. Louis area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 159 total reviews
1-20 of 159 reviews