Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 141 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

141 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

141 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
95
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
16
1-20 of 124 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews
Great value for the money
10/11/2011

Customer review by MMMQuilts

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by MMMQuilts
by MMMQuilts

I have been quilting for over 15 years using an Elna Quilters Dream which cost way more than this Brother machine. The Brother machine has every attachment the Elna had, does every stitch and has more optional stitches available. I was able to set it up and quickly figure out how to thread the machine, load the bobbin and use the various stitches. My neighbor had bought a Brother sewing machine for her daughter last Christmas (different model) and she liked it better than her mother's newer Elna. This is a wonderful machine for the money.

Was this review helpful? (337) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MMMQuilts
Bowie, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine!
9/11/2011

Customer review by crazysewin58

5.0 stars 9/11/2011 by crazysewin58
by crazysewin58

If you're looking for a great value in a machine this is a great one! I brought this home from our local Wal Mart thinking, well if I don't like it I can return it. This is the easiest machine I have ever used! You just plug it in and sew! Will not be returning it!

Was this review helpful? (328) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crazysewin58
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Quality machine for beginners
10/17/2011

Customer review by deararee

4.0 stars 10/17/2011 by deararee
by deararee

I use this machine to hem denim pants, make bathroom curtains, and sew fleece blankets. I love the alphanumeric stiches comes out nice. I gave four stars because 1 no cut button and 2 can't adjust the alphanumeric size.

Was this review helpful? (209) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deararee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine, great price
10/31/2011

Customer review by AutumnGold

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by AutumnGold
by AutumnGold

I bought this machine for my daughter-in-law this fall. She wanted to learn how to sew. I selected this model because it could handle thick yardage, a feature I thought would reduce her frustration as a beginner. The machine greatly exceeded my expectations. I have a a very nice (and expensive) machine, but boy was I impressed with this one. In one weekend, we really put it through the paces, sewing up three garments and one toddler quilt. It was that easy to just set up and go. My daughter-in-law quickly mastered the basics and sewed two of those projects herself! I like its light weight, very easy thread and bobbin tracks, transparent pressure foot, and its get-up-and-go, even through thick layers. I had one thread jam but it was my fault. I put the bobin in backwards. Other than that it performed perfectly. I bought this once. I'd like to buy it again for myself! Even if you have a nice machine for home, this is such an easy machine to carry about. Be sure to buy a case with it, as a case is not included. I liked the soft cases better than the hard case.

Was this review helpful? (93) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AutumnGold
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
nice lightweight machine
10/11/2011

Customer review by gkatj

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by gkatj
by gkatj

I bought this machine for less than $200 mostly because of it's light weight of 9.9 pounds and because of the push button start/stop. It is a great machine to haul around to classes, guilds, etc. It comes with several different feet and attachments, even a walking foot. It probably wouldn't hold up to 8 hour a day use, but fits the bill for an auxillary machine for me to haul around. And the foot pedal is optional. It would also be good for someone who doesn't do a lot of sewing but occasionally finds they wish they had a sewing machine for rips and tears, etc.

Was this review helpful? (150) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gkatj
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Wonderful for the price/value
10/30/2011

Customer review by NleeC

5.0 stars 10/30/2011 by NleeC
by NleeC

This machine was a second choice, and the best that was made for the value of money I spent great. It does a little less than my very expensive machine bought over twenty years ago. Highly recommend this machine to anyone, beginner to expert sewer/quilter.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NleeC
VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
Very SMALL Monogram
12/12/2011

Customer review by Streetsmartz

4.0 stars 12/12/2011 by Streetsmartz
by Streetsmartz

Beautiful Machine!! I LOVE Brother Product's!!. EASY TO LEARN.. I have to say I was DISAPPOINTED In the Monogram...It's Only about 1/4 inch ..That's IT!!!! I Called the Rep and He Told me.....It's not any bigger the the foot on the Machine.(about 1/4 in) He told me if you want Bigger to look into an Embroidery Machine (Don't really want that) I did wind up Monogramming it with the REG Stitches though and it came out great!!.. But what's the point in having something you may not use... I ordered this online and picked this up at my store in one Day...EASY!!! I like The Machine...but I may return it as the Font is SO tiny.... I HAVE A BROTHER SERGER AND SEWING MACHINE 6000 AS WELL LOVE THEM BOTH!! I GAVE 4 STARS ONLY CAUSE THE FONT IS SO SMALL...

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Streetsmartz
PITTSBURGH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This machine is a TOY.
6/26/2012

Customer review by meyeresp

1.0 stars 6/26/2012 by meyeresp
by meyeresp

First of all, I know to not expect too much out of a lower end machine from a box store. My machine only stitched patchwork together for a quilt, so nothing more than 4 layers of fabric went under the presser foot at one time. I had originally purchased this machine to learn how to sew and learn how to quilt. I had the machine for approximately 3 months and noticed very odd behavior/attributes of the machine that really disturbed me. One day, I was sewing through four layers of cotton (very thin) fabric. Using a size 80 needle and noticed the machine was actually FLEXING when the needle would penetrate the fabric. I ended up taking the machine to a local sewing repair shop (they do not sell machines). They opened the machine up to find that the machine lacks a frame to hold all of the various parts of the machine. All of the parts lay in "troughs" inside the machine. What does this mean? If you ever sewed a hem on a pair of jeans, the needle assembly and camshaft assembly would shatter the plastic casing causing the machine to literally self destruct. Before buying this machine, grasp the free arm and the top of the machine and push them in opposite directions - you can actually move the needle to where it will go more than 1/4" in front or in back of the throat plate stitch hole. What does this mean? If the machine flexes, the needle will hit the plate and send a needle fragment toward you - potentially causing injury! I would suggest purchasing a Brother machine from a dealer - not a retail store. You will spend slightly more but get a machine that will last a lifetime! The features of this machine are very good, but I simply cannot recommend a machine that is made so cheaply and so incredibly poor. Lightweight equals no metal parts to hold the machine together when sewing through medium to heavyweight fabrics. Don't say I didn't warn you!

Was this review helpful? (68) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meyeresp
Hays, KS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great machine for a beginner!
4/6/2012

Customer review by Kitten21811

5.0 stars 4/6/2012 by Kitten21811
by Kitten21811

I am a novice when it comes to sewing. I never thought I could sew, until I bought this machine! It is so easy to use and I love, love, LOVE this machine. I have only had the machine a week and I've already made a quilt! It's unbelievably easy to use. I read all of the reviews on here before buying the machine and wanted to come back and write my own review to tell the next consumer that I too, highly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kitten21811
Billerica, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
HOLY COW it sews on its OWN!!!
4/23/2012

Customer review by smurphdaddy12

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by smurphdaddy12
by smurphdaddy12

WOW! I have beening sewing off and on for 15 years. And I just sold my old metal built simple machine and got this upgrade. Holy smokes! So simple to use, and I NEED that! So smooth and quiet. So perfect and easy to use. A perfect stitch everytime. You dont even need to plug in the foot, you can operate it by touch. Just guide your fabric and watch it go. SO EASY SO PERFECT! I cant wait to find more projects. Stop thinking about this machine and go get it. Besides if for some reason it gives you grief, relax, you bought it at walmart! Why are you still reading this? GO!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? (30) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smurphdaddy12
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
11/8/2011

Customer review by RLJNER

4.0 stars 11/8/2011 by RLJNER
by RLJNER

Everthing I expect for this sewing machine is right at Brother SQ 9050, so fi you want a user friendly machine buy this....

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RLJNER
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great machine for a beginner
12/3/2011

Customer review by Feralcatlover

5.0 stars 12/3/2011 by Feralcatlover
by Feralcatlover

I decided to get a sewing machine for my Christmas gift this year. After researching, I decided on this one. Was nervous and pessimistic about setting up, threading, ect. Got it home, followed directions, began sewing practice stitches and hems. Pretty cool machine. I impressed myself on such an easy start!

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Feralcatlover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Lightweight, but very sturdy and solid
3/27/2013

Customer review by CatRescueGirl

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by CatRescueGirl
by CatRescueGirl

I was, at first, put off by how light weight this machine is. I sew for a living and my expensive Viking machine is broken. I figured I would go ahead and buy a "backup" machine instead of take on expensive repairs. Once I put this on the table and fired it up, I was amazed at how solid and stable it is. The motor has a good hum to it and the 3-speed button allows me to slow it down for my ruffler, but speed it back up for a more production speed. The placement of the "backstitch" and "needle up/down" buttons was very well thought out. It is very easy to reach and touch them while still holding fabric in place. I would say Brother gets an A+ for ergonomics. I have now bonded with a machine that I didn't think would pan out. I was wrong. This one is a keeper. I went ahead and got the 3-year extended warranty for $19...a small price to pay for a little insurance. The drawback to the newer machines are the plastic parts inside. That would be why the 3-year warranty is a good idea :-)

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatRescueGirl
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Excellent Machine
2/18/2012

Customer review by GrandmaPictureTaker

5.0 stars 2/18/2012 by GrandmaPictureTaker
by GrandmaPictureTaker

After reading the other reviews and checking consumer reports, I decided to purchase the SQ9050. It had been 25 years since I last purchased a sewing machine and this one was more than I expected for the price. Its light weight is helpful for easy in movingt, the instructional DVD was easy to follow to get started, it's quiet and the manual was easy to follow for all the additional stiches it has available. Glad I made this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaPictureTaker
Englewood, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
12/11/2011

Customer review by NooLoo

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by NooLoo
by NooLoo

The Brother SQ9050 model is a dream machine, and it is quite easy to use for any age or skill level. I love the needle threader capability. My daughter ordered it online, and it was delivered the next day for my birthday! I sew preemie clothing, and the many decorative and heirloom stitches will really enhance the garments. A quilter will be delighted with the extended table. NOTE: You will find the attachments inside the storage compartment of your machine. This machine is a great buy - do yourself or someone you love a favor and order it now!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NooLoo
Bloomfield, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So disappointed with this horrible machine.
12/22/2011

Customer review by MommySmurf

1.0 stars 12/22/2011 by MommySmurf
by MommySmurf

I am an avid sewer and was looking for something with a little bit of everything. Thought this machine sounded great, I was sooo wrong. First of all if you use it for an extended period of time (hour or more) the machine starts acting up EVERY TIME (starts skipping stitches, not catching bottom bobbin). Then you have to wait for it to cool back down before continuing your project. Thought it was a tension problem at first, should have returned the machine then and there. It also has NO power behind it! It advertises as a quilting machine but cant even sew thru more than 2 layers of cotton fabric. Its louder than I expected and the final kicker....the lettering is complete garbage. I wasnt looking for anything fantastic but the lettering is barely even legible. Im soooo disappointed in this product.

Was this review helpful? (53) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MommySmurf
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great versatile machine with easy threading.
1/10/2012

Customer review by Stitchersue

5.0 stars 1/10/2012 by Stitchersue
by Stitchersue

This is a great machine for the home sewer/quilter. I was in the middle of making a denim skirt when my Bernina had to go into the shop. I'd bought one of these machines for my daughter at Thanksgiving and we loved it! The first thing I sewed on mine was to insert a zipper and add a waistband. The machine did great, even through 6 layers of denim. It can't go "Pedal to the Metal" like my Bernina, but does great at a middle speed. It's also more than 10X cheaper than my old Bernina! The best feature of the machine (and there are lots of high end features), is the super simple top and bobbin threading. That's usually what messes up new sewers and this is as simple as it gets. The machine comes set to a left of center needle setting. Go to page 11 of the manual to quickly reset this to center.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Stitchersue
Sequim, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I Love this Machine!
4/21/2013

Customer review by JMehargDesigns

5.0 stars 4/21/2013 by JMehargDesigns
by JMehargDesigns

I am a quilter, and I also make other items like fabric lanyards, fabric tote bags, Kindle cases, etc for my etsy shop. I needed an upgrade from the Brother machine that I already had. I chose this one because it had some great stitches & the price was right for me. I LOVE it. I made sure to go through the manual before using it...and when I used it for the first time - it worked like a dream. I have been sewing nearly non-stop for 4 days now! :-) I love the stitch choices & it is very quiet and easy to use. I have had absolutely no problems!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JMehargDesigns
Temple, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Far Exceeded Expectations
2/21/2013

Customer review by Crafterra

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by Crafterra
by Crafterra

For the past few years I've had Brother's machine that costs around $80. That being the first machine I ever owned, I just assumed that sewing with a machine was supposed to be more almost more work than it was worth. My thread broke constantly. I could never get the tension right. Fabric and tread frequently got stuck in the feed dogs. No matter how hard I tried I could never sew in a straight line. Enter the SQ9050! I wanted a machine with a variable speed control button similar to a high quality quilting machine. What attracted me to this was that it had many amenities similar to machines that cost twice as much. I got home and was literally in awe of the ease of setting up, winding the bobbin (although it came with a pre-wound bobbin!), and quick and easy upper and lower threading. This machine does so much for you automatically. Then, I began to sew. It sewed in a straight line perfectly. The machine ran so quietly and smoothly! I never knew that sewing could be so easy and simultaneously gratifying!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Crafterra
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
why didn't I got this sooner?
8/12/2012

Customer review by StitchingBelle

5.0 stars 8/12/2012 by StitchingBelle
by StitchingBelle

A few weeks ago my husband purchased this sewing machine for me. It's my first machine, and it's been a dream! I've made a pillowcase, a purse, and I'm currently working on a set of Christmas ornaments. I've tried each of the decorative stitches, used the monograming font (small and simple, perfect for quilt labels or monograming pockets, collars, or cuffs), and it's performed flawlessly. Easy to thread, and easy to load the bobbin. The extension table and wide assortment of included feet makes this a great bargain! I've got so many projects planned....

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StitchingBelle
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1-20 of 124 reviews