Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

92 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
65
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 85 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews
My go to machine
2/12/2017

Customer review by Chupamom2014

5.0 stars 2/12/2017 by Chupamom2014
by Chupamom2014

My Brother is my favorite machine. He has no fear when it comes to sewing. Whatever I ask him to sew he happily gives it a go.

Chupamom2014
New Castle, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great starter machine
10/19/2016

Customer review by MrsBees Crafts

5.0 stars 10/19/2016 by MrsBees Crafts
by MrsBees Crafts

It's a great beginner machine! I've had it for 4 years. I taught myself to sew and it's still running strong, even after all I've done to it. Lol. I would suggest, if you are new to sewing machines, that you get this to learn on. I haven't been able to kill it yet.

MrsBees Crafts
Axton, VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The ideal beginner machine for a beginner.
10/20/2016

Customer review by Sew70

5.0 stars 10/20/2016 by Sew70
by Sew70

I was so excited to receive this as a gift. It is very easy to use and the video was so helpful. I highly recommend this machine for the beginner as well as the expert.

Sew70
Enfield, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Beginner Machine
7/10/2013

Customer review by AllThingsGray

5.0 stars 7/10/2013 by AllThingsGray
by AllThingsGray

My Lx2500 was a Birthday gift in 2012. I am a beginner sewer. I can do the basic - simple bags and purses, small wallets, skirts, pillows, add zippers and recently I did a little decorative piping. So this machine is perfect for my needs. It does not have a lot of bells and whistles but it does have some cool features like button holes and a few fancy stitches. I use my machine sporadically. So I on average make a few bags per season. I also scrapbook so sometimes I use it to embellish my pages. I love just how easy it is to use. This machine is lightweight and very portable. I have no problems carry it up and down stairs. I love how easy it is to change the presser foot. You just push the release button, the old foot pops off and you pop the new one into place -fast and easy. Threading the machine is also super easy. It has a diagram right on the machine so you don’t have to worry about looking for a piece of paper with instruction. Another great feather about the diagram being on the machine is that its raised so you don’t have to worry about ink rubbing or fading off. Over all this is a great starter machine if you are just looking for something easy and simple.

AllThingsGray
Anne Arurndel County, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
teaching machine
5/12/2016

Customer review by gma bonnie

4.0 stars 5/12/2016 by gma bonnie
by gma bonnie

I purchased this machine for the embroidery, but found that the sewing machine is great for teaching my granddaughter how to sew. being able to sent the machine at a slower pace is great to teach a new sewer.

gma bonnie
Western NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Little machine
1/30/2016

Customer review by grandma9

5.0 stars 1/30/2016 by grandma9
by grandma9

This machine is just what I've been looking for, it is small enough to take with me and yet just right for sewing projects.I like the way the bobbin goes into the case and it is visible so you can see when you are out of bobbin thread.

grandma9
Waconia, Mn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Punch Packer for a Great Value
10/1/2015

Customer review by Furlabun

5.0 stars 10/1/2015 by Furlabun
by Furlabun

I had to sew a 20-lb fur coat made of three inch pile and this crazy little guy sewed pretty much the whole thing, with a little working. It was incredible. I'm a very nervous person but this machine was so easy to use and the instructions, including the troubleshooting, were so clear. Probably the smartest investment I made for a budget cosplayer.

Furlabun
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it!
7/18/2013

Customer review by hotigelati210

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by hotigelati210
by hotigelati210

I am a novice quilter and fabric crafter. I use to have a Singer 132Q, quilting machine and prefer this one over that one (which was MUCH more expensive and use to jam up on me all of the time). I hate putting this away! Fabric glides smoothly (even 4 layers of denim!!!), evenly and easy to use.

hotigelati210
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great machine used for many projects
6/10/2013

Customer review by wsquared77

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by wsquared77
by wsquared77

I bought this sewing machine in early March and I love it! I bought it in preparation for working on several projects for my sister's wedding and I've used it a ton in the last three months. I've made 15 tea towels and little tissue holders for gifts, a 3.5'x5' quilt wall hanging, a small and a large tote bag, two 27' table runners, and even my dress for the wedding! I've also used it to make a pot holder/dish towel set, 5 microwaveable foot warmers, and a travel tote bag as gifts for others. All of these project have used many different types of fabrics, including "difficult to sew with" fabrics, and several projects with thick fabrics and several layers. The machine has handled them all very well. I love to sew and don't have the budget for a big, fancy, expensive machine #I'd rather spend the money on fabrics!#, but this machine has done everything I've needed and you can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wsquared77
Boone, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this Sewing Machine!!
9/11/2013

Customer review by Mary413

5.0 stars 9/11/2013 by Mary413
by Mary413
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this Sewing Machine!! I'm a beginner and set it up quickly! Comes with a instructional DVD which is a + in my book!! I Actually bought this machine to pick up a new hobby and make my pits a home made DOGGY BED!! It served it's purpose!! A Must buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mary413
Springfield,MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Scoutastic!
11/21/2011

Customer review by bmb5858

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by bmb5858
by bmb5858

I am a full time single dad and scoutmaster of one of our local troops. I had been sewing on all of my sons patches manually and decided to break down and buy a sewing machine for the rare occasion that I need to sew things onto his uniform or mine. After purchasing this product, being a normal guy, I decided to put the product to task to sew on all of the patches and badges that have been stacking up that I am reluctant to sew on (I don't know how people do this task every day). From setup to completion, what had been about 12-16 hours of sewing work for me turned into about an hour and 15 minutes including setting the machine up. It worked well for the cost and what I need it for, and I'm no longer looking at sewing tasks as being as horrifying as a root canal. The value for the cost is phenominal and it seems like a sturdy machine. What more could one ask for at a price that low? Even if I wear the machine out over the next year, it will still have paid for itself in the puncture wounds that it will have saved me.

Was this review helpful? (221) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bmb5858
Hastings, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Perfect little sewing machne.
11/13/2013

Customer review by GramPolkaDot

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by GramPolkaDot
by GramPolkaDot

I am an experienced sewer (about 55 years) and I picked this up late one evening when I was sewing on my $1500 sewing machine that all of a sudden stopped working and I had a project to finish the following day. That was over 4 years ago and I use this one more than the other five that I own. It is just a great little sewing machine that does most everything I need it to do. At this point, I am starting to have a few problems with it so I am going to replace it with another one just like it. In all honesty, I have used this almost every day since I first purchased it and it has a lot of "miles" on it so I am not the least bit upset about replacing it since I feel that I have really gotten my moneys worth out of it. The repairs on my $1500 machine were more than double what I paid for this one and if the second one performs as well as this one, I'll go back for a third one. For the price, you just can't do better - I had never used any Brother product prior to this but I'm sure glad I gave it a try.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GramPolkaDot
Grand Blanc, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for beginners
4/3/2013

Customer review by BeingAMommyIsMyLife

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by BeingAMommyIsMyLife
by BeingAMommyIsMyLife

My Mom is an AMAZING Seamstress. All my life she has tried to teach me to sew. Unfortunately I never could learn this amazing talent of hers. At any rate I recently had the inkling to start sewing so I went and bought this machine. When I got home it was VERY easy to get started right away. Very self explanatory. I successfully made my first drawstring bag (YouTube is amazing for step by step tutorials for beginners). I had my mother check it over (by the way I am 40 hahaha) and she was very impressed with the quality of stitching the machine put out. Although she did tell me her first machine was a brother as well and it was a great machine also. This is a low cost machine that offers awesome end results. I say with extreme passion this is an awesome buy and definitely exceeded my expectations!!!! Just a side note to anybody else who is just starting to dabble in sewing, if your local Walmart has a fabric center UTILIZE IT!!! The difference in cost of fabric at Walmart and the "speciality stores" is UNREAL!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeingAMommyIsMyLife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect machine for beginners!
6/16/2012

Customer review by MamaToLogan

5.0 stars 6/16/2012 by MamaToLogan
by MamaToLogan
Top 1000 contributor

I am a complete beginner when it comes to sewing. I have never owned a machine or been taught to sew by someone else... ever. I picked up this machine at Wal-Mart, and couldn't be more pleased. It is on the lower end of sewing machine's cost-wise, but for the price, it's a great value. It has tons of stitches (more than I need, really), a well-lit work area, and is soooo easy to thread and wind a bobbin on this machine. You don't need to pay more if you are just starting out... this is perfect. If the fact that it does not have a self-threading needle option is scaring you away, do NOT let it! It is so extremely easy to thread the needle on this. Oh, and it has a drop-in bobbin feature that makes it so easy to use, too. It came with an instructional DVD and a detailed manual. Like I said, I've never sewn before in my life, and I was able to use this out of the box and sew an entire cloth diaper using it. Mind you, my sewing straight lines leaves much to be desired, but with some more practice I can do it much better. GREAT MACHINE at a GOOD PRICE!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaToLogan
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 1000 contributor
Pretty Good
10/26/2011

Customer review by lostmoonchild

4.0 stars 10/26/2011 by lostmoonchild
by lostmoonchild

This is a pretty good machine for someone that's just getting started. I've been sewing by hand for over a decade and finally decided after having completed two Halloween costumes by hand, that I need a sewing machine if I expected to get five costumes done before Halloween rolls around. I'm proud to say that because of this machine, I finished the final costume last night and with plenty of time to spare. I like the fact that it's lightweight so carrying it from my bedroom to the kitchen isn't a chore. I also like the design on it since it just screams "Create something with me" to me and I can see a teenager or child using it if they're getting started. The price is also good (I paid $89 in-store) which fit my budget perfectly. The only thing I don't like is that it's gotten jammed a few times. That's really my only complaint about it but the pros overcome the cons easily so I would highly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lostmoonchild
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent Beginner's Machine
10/18/2011

Customer review by adorablefoxie

4.0 stars 10/18/2011 by adorablefoxie
by adorablefoxie

I sew for a living, and when my main sewing machine suddenly bit the dust last night with an event looming in two days, I ran out to Walmart to pick up a new sewing machine to finish up my work. This machine is a good buy considering the money you pay for it. Pros: Quiet stitching, easy to use out of the box, very quick to thread the top, top-loading bobbin, presser foot has down, middle and lifted-up positions so good for thick layers. Cons: Fastest speed is fairly slow compared to other home-use sewing machines. Can't change the stitch length, although the machine makes up for that by having various stitch-lengths available as "different stitches." While the needle arm and most of the working bits are made from metal (nice) the knob where you change stitch type seems to have plastic gears behind it so it feels pretty cheap. It will likely eventually wear out if you find yourself changing between stitches a lot. Overall for $75 this machine is worth it. Works well enough to be a back-up machine after I am able to replace my main sewing machine. Not sure how it will hold up to heavy duty use, but if you have never owned a sewing machine before this is a nice, inexpensive machine that is easy to use and very simple to set up.

Was this review helpful? (423) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
adorablefoxie
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Does everything I need
9/24/2011

Customer review by ReviewerS1

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by ReviewerS1
by ReviewerS1

I am a beginner teaching myself to sew. This machine has more stitches than I will probably use for awhile. Threading the machine is clearly illustrated in the manual and the DVD shows short clips on exactly how to do specific things. As long as I follow the instructions like to start sewing with the needle in the fabric, I have not had any problems. Even the 4 step button hole is easier than I thought it would be. I have owned the machine three weeks and already sewn my first shirt. It has a lot of features that I will probably not outgrow for a long time if at all. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (190) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReviewerS1
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Beginner Simple Machine
12/7/2011

Customer review by CarrieinCo

4.0 stars 12/7/2011 by CarrieinCo
by CarrieinCo

I am a novice seamstress, at best, and bought this machine last night as I'm getting into crafting and felt I needed something besides a needle and thread to get things done...handsewing is SO SLOW. I was worried about the reviews, but found (after trial and error and some frustration) that the TYPE OF THREAD is very important in this machine. Be sure you're using "All Purpose Thread" and not something heavier. I first loaded in a heavier thread and the bottom stitching was getting gobbed up and it didn't sew smoothly at all. Once i changed thread it worked like a dream. This is going to be a great beginner and simple to use machine that is easy to store away, and get out just when I need it.

Was this review helpful? (57) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CarrieinCo
Western Slope, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
As a beginner...
9/12/2011

Customer review by tc355

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by tc355
by tc355

...this is a great machine! I bought this because I want to start making things on my own. Now, when I say I'm a beginner, I mean I've never used a sewing machine before in my life. The directions are very easy to follow, and within about 15 minutes after opening the box, I had the machine sitting on my desk, plugged in, and threaded. No problems! I'm still learning how to use it, but it's a great machine and it does exactly what I need it to do!

Was this review helpful? (294) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tc355
Starkville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great sewing machine for beginners.
12/22/2011

Customer review by ntwright

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by ntwright
by ntwright

I was looking to buy a sewing machine but did not want to spend a lot of money for one right now. I looked at the Singer Simple and liked it at first. But I have heard bad things from friends who have bought the newer Singer machines and sorry they did- poor quality for one. I also did NOT like the style of bobbin the the Singer simple has. I've had other sewing machines with the same style bobbin and always have trouble getting the tension right with it. Then, one of my friends suggested I look into the Brother brand. (She owns a Janome and Brother and prefers her less expensive Brother over her Janome!) Well, I'm glad I decided to go with the Brother. I am very pleased with the quality of this machine. It didn't take long to get the bobbin winded and the machine threaded. No need to turn the handwheel first since placing the bobbin in the locked position keeps the needle from going up and down. I didn't have any trouble with the tension and have already sewn a couple things with it. I really like the features this machine has especially the top drop in bobbin. Easy to see how much thread is left without having to take it all apart. The machine is quiet- which my husband liked. The machine also came with a 25 year warranty which is nice.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ntwright
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1-20 of 85 reviews