Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 84 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

84 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 77 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews
Decent Beginner's Machine
10/18/2011

Customer review by adorablefoxie

4.0 stars 10/18/2011 by adorablefoxie
by adorablefoxie

I sew for a living, and when my main sewing machine suddenly bit the dust last night with an event looming in two days, I ran out to Walmart to pick up a new sewing machine to finish up my work. This machine is a good buy considering the money you pay for it. Pros: Quiet stitching, easy to use out of the box, very quick to thread the top, top-loading bobbin, presser foot has down, middle and lifted-up positions so good for thick layers. Cons: Fastest speed is fairly slow compared to other home-use sewing machines. Can't change the stitch length, although the machine makes up for that by having various stitch-lengths available as "different stitches." While the needle arm and most of the working bits are made from metal (nice) the knob where you change stitch type seems to have plastic gears behind it so it feels pretty cheap. It will likely eventually wear out if you find yourself changing between stitches a lot. Overall for $75 this machine is worth it. Works well enough to be a back-up machine after I am able to replace my main sewing machine. Not sure how it will hold up to heavy duty use, but if you have never owned a sewing machine before this is a nice, inexpensive machine that is easy to use and very simple to set up.

Was this review helpful? (418) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
adorablefoxie
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Does everything I need
9/24/2011

Customer review by ReviewerS1

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by ReviewerS1
by ReviewerS1

I am a beginner teaching myself to sew. This machine has more stitches than I will probably use for awhile. Threading the machine is clearly illustrated in the manual and the DVD shows short clips on exactly how to do specific things. As long as I follow the instructions like to start sewing with the needle in the fabric, I have not had any problems. Even the 4 step button hole is easier than I thought it would be. I have owned the machine three weeks and already sewn my first shirt. It has a lot of features that I will probably not outgrow for a long time if at all. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (185) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewerS1
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
As a beginner...
9/12/2011

Customer review by tc355

5.0 stars 9/12/2011 by tc355
by tc355

...this is a great machine! I bought this because I want to start making things on my own. Now, when I say I'm a beginner, I mean I've never used a sewing machine before in my life. The directions are very easy to follow, and within about 15 minutes after opening the box, I had the machine sitting on my desk, plugged in, and threaded. No problems! I'm still learning how to use it, but it's a great machine and it does exactly what I need it to do!

Was this review helpful? (292) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tc355
Starkville, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Scoutastic!
11/21/2011

Customer review by bmb5858

5.0 stars 11/21/2011 by bmb5858
by bmb5858

I am a full time single dad and scoutmaster of one of our local troops. I had been sewing on all of my sons patches manually and decided to break down and buy a sewing machine for the rare occasion that I need to sew things onto his uniform or mine. After purchasing this product, being a normal guy, I decided to put the product to task to sew on all of the patches and badges that have been stacking up that I am reluctant to sew on (I don't know how people do this task every day). From setup to completion, what had been about 12-16 hours of sewing work for me turned into about an hour and 15 minutes including setting the machine up. It worked well for the cost and what I need it for, and I'm no longer looking at sewing tasks as being as horrifying as a root canal. The value for the cost is phenominal and it seems like a sturdy machine. What more could one ask for at a price that low? Even if I wear the machine out over the next year, it will still have paid for itself in the puncture wounds that it will have saved me.

Was this review helpful? (214) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bmb5858
Hastings, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good Beginner Simple Machine
12/7/2011

Customer review by CarrieinCo

4.0 stars 12/7/2011 by CarrieinCo
by CarrieinCo

I am a novice seamstress, at best, and bought this machine last night as I'm getting into crafting and felt I needed something besides a needle and thread to get things done...handsewing is SO SLOW. I was worried about the reviews, but found (after trial and error and some frustration) that the TYPE OF THREAD is very important in this machine. Be sure you're using "All Purpose Thread" and not something heavier. I first loaded in a heavier thread and the bottom stitching was getting gobbed up and it didn't sew smoothly at all. Once i changed thread it worked like a dream. This is going to be a great beginner and simple to use machine that is easy to store away, and get out just when I need it.

Was this review helpful? (56) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarrieinCo
Western Slope, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
11/14/2011

Customer review by Mq7986

5.0 stars 11/14/2011 by Mq7986
by Mq7986

I have bought a Brothers sewing machine before just like the one I bought before I liked it so much but I gave it to my daughter and I bought this one. It does all I need to do and the price is so great!

Was this review helpful? (34) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mq7986
Indianapolis, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great Begginer's Machine
11/8/2011

Customer review by tln912

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by tln912
by tln912

I bought this machine because my old one kept giving me problems. I have had this machine for about a month and I LOVE IT. I have made halloween costumes and several dresses.

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tln912
East Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Pretty Good
10/26/2011

Customer review by lostmoonchild

4.0 stars 10/26/2011 by lostmoonchild
by lostmoonchild

This is a pretty good machine for someone that's just getting started. I've been sewing by hand for over a decade and finally decided after having completed two Halloween costumes by hand, that I need a sewing machine if I expected to get five costumes done before Halloween rolls around. I'm proud to say that because of this machine, I finished the final costume last night and with plenty of time to spare. I like the fact that it's lightweight so carrying it from my bedroom to the kitchen isn't a chore. I also like the design on it since it just screams "Create something with me" to me and I can see a teenager or child using it if they're getting started. The price is also good (I paid $89 in-store) which fit my budget perfectly. The only thing I don't like is that it's gotten jammed a few times. That's really my only complaint about it but the pros overcome the cons easily so I would highly recommend this machine.

Was this review helpful? (33) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lostmoonchild
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great sewing machine for beginners.
12/22/2011

Customer review by ntwright

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by ntwright
by ntwright

I was looking to buy a sewing machine but did not want to spend a lot of money for one right now. I looked at the Singer Simple and liked it at first. But I have heard bad things from friends who have bought the newer Singer machines and sorry they did- poor quality for one. I also did NOT like the style of bobbin the the Singer simple has. I've had other sewing machines with the same style bobbin and always have trouble getting the tension right with it. Then, one of my friends suggested I look into the Brother brand. (She owns a Janome and Brother and prefers her less expensive Brother over her Janome!) Well, I'm glad I decided to go with the Brother. I am very pleased with the quality of this machine. It didn't take long to get the bobbin winded and the machine threaded. No need to turn the handwheel first since placing the bobbin in the locked position keeps the needle from going up and down. I didn't have any trouble with the tension and have already sewn a couple things with it. I really like the features this machine has especially the top drop in bobbin. Easy to see how much thread is left without having to take it all apart. The machine is quiet- which my husband liked. The machine also came with a 25 year warranty which is nice.

Was this review helpful? (27) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ntwright
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent machine no matter what skill level
8/24/2012

Customer review by ProudMomto5

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by ProudMomto5
by ProudMomto5

I am a somewhat experienced sewer, sewn industrially for 5 years and quilts from home for more years than I would like to admit. I bought this machine to attempt free motion quilting and to test my 10 &11 year old daughters out with it as a possible gift for Christmas. So far, I have owned this machine for about 3 weeks and it has worked beautifully. I had never sewn a button on or made a button hole by machine, but it was really simple with this one. The different stitch designs have also been tried out and I LOVE them. We have sewn 4 quilt tops with different levels of fabric thickness ranging from thin cotton blend up to fleece and denim. So far there haven't been any issues that couldn't be explained through user error. My daughters have picked up quickly how to use this machine as well with minimal assistance from me. I ensured they were in the room with me when I watched the DVD and pointed out the different parts on the machine that they were referring to as we went. They watched me sew for about 10-15 minutes then set down "to try". Once they learned how to keep their seams straight when guiding them through I lost my machine. Overall, this machine has been a very smart buy. I believe that more functions would be a waste personally. It is lightweight and can be moved from space to space easily, the LED is sufficient to add light to the task area, the bobbin is superb because you can load it easily and view it at any time to check how much thread is left, and if you have experience with controlling the presser foot and can control your speed well this machine can do about anything you need it to. I did buy a free motion foot for this machine from a seller on Ebay. The plate they provide for you with the machine does keep the feed dogs from pulling the fabric. I played with the machine for a while and it would be fine to use for smaller projects (baby blanket or smaller) but for the size of projects I am tackling (twin, full, and queen size blankets) I feel that being able to drop the dogs altogether would be a necessity. This is more of a personal preference due to my skill level. It would probably do the job, I am just not brave enough...lol

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ProudMomto5
Chapmanville, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This little machine rocks my socks off....
7/10/2012

Customer review by LissaMom

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by LissaMom
by LissaMom

After struggling greatly for about 3 months with a Singer Simple machine (which I thought the issue was human error, because I'm something of a novice at this) I finally did some research online. Turns out the issues I was having with the Singer are very common and there's really nothing you can do to fix it. So back to Wal-mart I went with the Singer to get some in store credit. My sister owns a Brother machine, which I used before I purchased my singer to hem 14 curtains with no issues what-so-ever. So I decided to pick up this little beauty. I had it home, set up and running in less then 10 minutes. Had a bobbin wound and top thread in place in less then 5 and went right to work on the mountain of mending and some craft work for gifts that I'd been putting off because of the insurmountable issues with my Singer. In the course of 6 hours, with two little ones underfoot I mended 3 pairs of pants, a bra, 2 pairs of little boy PJ's and made 32 brightly colored burp clothes for gifts and the baby girl we have on the way. Only once did I have a short issue with the bobbin, and it was most definitely user error, because the bobbin did not wind as nicely as the few I had done previously. I am insanely happy with this little machine, and have been talking to my husband about setting up an official sewing area for me so I don't constantly have to put it away and lug it back out. Great for novice sewers!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LissaMom
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great sewing machine for a beginner
3/1/2012

Customer review by BiscuitBob22

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by BiscuitBob22
by BiscuitBob22

I wanted a sewing machine to do some mending around the home such as work uniforms, children clothes, etc.... I got this machine and it is "FABULOUS"!!! I sewed like seven articles of clothing and two laundry bags the first day and it did not miss a beat! Can't wait to use it again! Switching thread color is a breeze and threading the bobbin is a snap! Great instruction manual for easy start up. I love this machine! Very satisfied with my buy. Oh yeah by the way I am a man so men you can get your sew on! I would definitely refer this machine to a friend!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BiscuitBob22
Apex, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Machine for the price
3/16/2012

Customer review by sewhappy2sew

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by sewhappy2sew
by sewhappy2sew

I am and advanced beginner to intermediate sewer. I bought this machine when my machine gave out on me in the middle of a project. Because I paid so little for the machine, I was not expecting much. This machine surprised me! It really is a nice machine for the price. The stiches are not bad for an entry level machine. It is easy to set up and easy to use, It is also an attractive machine to boot! It is light weight and easy to move from room to room. It would be a fantastic machine for a child or occasional sewer. It would also make a good machine to take to sewing classes. This machine doesn't have any bells and whistles, but for 80.00, I think it is a good buy. I did not intend on keeping it, I figured I would use it to finish my project and then I would resell it. It impressed me enough that I chose to keep it as a back up machine. Anyone who buys this machine, should buy it not expecting anything more then a basic machine. In my opinion, after having tried other entry level machines, I think this one does a better job then other machines in it's price range. The stitches are tight and the dial is easy to read and turn. The feed dogs do a pretty good job of pulling the fabric and I love the location of the thread cutter. The light is bright and the work area is sufficient for a smaller machine. If you are wanting a machine with more then basic features, do not buy this machine. If you want a machine that will do the job(and then some!) buy this machine. Just remember that it is very much an entry level machine that was built for light use and you will be a happy customer. :)

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sewhappy2sew
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect machine for beginners!
6/16/2012

Customer review by MamaToLogan

5.0 stars 6/16/2012 by MamaToLogan
by MamaToLogan

I am a complete beginner when it comes to sewing. I have never owned a machine or been taught to sew by someone else... ever. I picked up this machine at Wal-Mart, and couldn't be more pleased. It is on the lower end of sewing machine's cost-wise, but for the price, it's a great value. It has tons of stitches (more than I need, really), a well-lit work area, and is soooo easy to thread and wind a bobbin on this machine. You don't need to pay more if you are just starting out... this is perfect. If the fact that it does not have a self-threading needle option is scaring you away, do NOT let it! It is so extremely easy to thread the needle on this. Oh, and it has a drop-in bobbin feature that makes it so easy to use, too. It came with an instructional DVD and a detailed manual. Like I said, I've never sewn before in my life, and I was able to use this out of the box and sew an entire cloth diaper using it. Mind you, my sewing straight lines leaves much to be desired, but with some more practice I can do it much better. GREAT MACHINE at a GOOD PRICE!

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaToLogan
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Top 500 contributor
Good for the money
5/10/2012

Customer review by SingleMomBargainHound

3.0 stars 5/10/2012 by SingleMomBargainHound
by SingleMomBargainHound

This sewing machine gets jammed easily but it is a good value for the money, would definitely recommend it for the price you pay, it is great for beginners or light use. It is also very simple to use, has a good variety of stitches, is quiet, and looks cute. It has a few shortcomings, but not enough to knock it for quality compared to price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SingleMomBargainHound
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for beginners
4/3/2013

Customer review by BeingAMommyIsMyLife

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by BeingAMommyIsMyLife
by BeingAMommyIsMyLife

My Mom is an AMAZING Seamstress. All my life she has tried to teach me to sew. Unfortunately I never could learn this amazing talent of hers. At any rate I recently had the inkling to start sewing so I went and bought this machine. When I got home it was VERY easy to get started right away. Very self explanatory. I successfully made my first drawstring bag (YouTube is amazing for step by step tutorials for beginners). I had my mother check it over (by the way I am 40 hahaha) and she was very impressed with the quality of stitching the machine put out. Although she did tell me her first machine was a brother as well and it was a great machine also. This is a low cost machine that offers awesome end results. I say with extreme passion this is an awesome buy and definitely exceeded my expectations!!!! Just a side note to anybody else who is just starting to dabble in sewing, if your local Walmart has a fabric center UTILIZE IT!!! The difference in cost of fabric at Walmart and the "speciality stores" is UNREAL!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeingAMommyIsMyLife
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Sturdy machine, sews well!
1/8/2013

Customer review by DecidingWisely

5.0 stars 1/8/2013 by DecidingWisely
by DecidingWisely

My primary sewing machine, a more expensive dealer brand, decided to quit just as I was in the midst of sewing Christmas gifts. Thankfully Walmart sells sewing machines! I carefully read review after review and settled upon this Brother LX2500. Why? It is inexpensive, yet it performs smoothly and strongly like a more expensive machine. It isn't a "must" to spend hundreds at a dealer! Walmart is a wonderful place to find a wonderful sewing machine. I've sewn through thick layers and through just one layer of thin fabric, and regardless, the machine handles it all without skipping stitches or tension trouble. This machine comes with an excellent, simple DVD, making it a breeze for the novice sewer to get started and make basic stitches and also a buttonhole. I was really impressed that Brother included a nice DVD even though this was just an inexpensive machine. The manual is EXCELLENT and actually works like a nice sewing supplement to a basic sewing reference guide for a new sewist. This manual would really help a brand new beginner. Brother offers many feet for purchase at a minimal price that allow you to use this machine to do just about any sewing necessary (except for something more advanced like embroidery - - though someone with a bit of skill could use the darning plate to cover the feed dogs and do some free motion embroidery). This machine is lightweight enough to take to a class or for someone whose health requires lifting lighter loads; but it isn't so lightweight as to be flimsy. It actually feels substantial and sturdy. So overall, I think this is a wonderful sewing machine, which will be able to sew lightweight materials and thick layers both. Did I have any negative thoughts about it? Truthfully, for the price, it probably is fine as is. Nevertheless, price notwithstanding, I honestly do think they could have included a little cleaning brush; the zipper foot ought to be metal not plastic; and there ought to be an included overcasting foot. But these amount to inconveniences, not reasons the product isn't good. It's a fine sewing machine that I'm happy with, and that I feel confident in using, and confident in its longevity, with care. Do I have any tips? I do want to stress especially to new sewers that while thread and bobbin and tension issues are sometimes the most common problems, they are, thankfully, the most easily preventable **with care.** (1) Be meticulous to clean your bobbin area after every project. (2) Make sure that you've chosen the right thread and fabric and needle combination. (3) Start sewing with the needle IN the fabric, not above. (4) Turn the hand wheel TOWARD you not away from you. (5) Thread your upper thread with the needle in its highest position and move precisely through the threading steps. (6) Change your needle after at least every 6 hours of sewing. (7) Hold the thread ends for about three stitches at the beginning of stitching every time. (8) When you are done sewing and ready to remove your piece of work, FIRST raise your presser foot, and THEN raise your needle - don't reverse the order of those steps. These sound like small points, yet as minor as they sound, they can cause vast amounts of trouble if not adhered to. So just do them! :) Your machine won't balk and make trouble for you and you will be happy and sew smoothly! Happy sewing, and should you be in need of an inexpensive (but not cheap, poorly-made), sewing machine, I can recommend this Brother LX2500.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DecidingWisely
Northeast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great machine used for many projects
6/10/2013

Customer review by wsquared77

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by wsquared77
by wsquared77

I bought this sewing machine in early March and I love it! I bought it in preparation for working on several projects for my sister's wedding and I've used it a ton in the last three months. I've made 15 tea towels and little tissue holders for gifts, a 3.5'x5' quilt wall hanging, a small and a large tote bag, two 27' table runners, and even my dress for the wedding! I've also used it to make a pot holder/dish towel set, 5 microwaveable foot warmers, and a travel tote bag as gifts for others. All of these project have used many different types of fabrics, including "difficult to sew with" fabrics, and several projects with thick fabrics and several layers. The machine has handled them all very well. I love to sew and don't have the budget for a big, fancy, expensive machine #I'd rather spend the money on fabrics!#, but this machine has done everything I've needed and you can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wsquared77
Boone, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect little sewing machne.
11/13/2013

Customer review by GramPolkaDot

5.0 stars 11/13/2013 by GramPolkaDot
by GramPolkaDot

I am an experienced sewer (about 55 years) and I picked this up late one evening when I was sewing on my $1500 sewing machine that all of a sudden stopped working and I had a project to finish the following day. That was over 4 years ago and I use this one more than the other five that I own. It is just a great little sewing machine that does most everything I need it to do. At this point, I am starting to have a few problems with it so I am going to replace it with another one just like it. In all honesty, I have used this almost every day since I first purchased it and it has a lot of "miles" on it so I am not the least bit upset about replacing it since I feel that I have really gotten my moneys worth out of it. The repairs on my $1500 machine were more than double what I paid for this one and if the second one performs as well as this one, I'll go back for a third one. For the price, you just can't do better - I had never used any Brother product prior to this but I'm sure glad I gave it a try.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GramPolkaDot
Grand Blanc, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/23/2012

Customer review by strongwatersong

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by strongwatersong
by strongwatersong

I love this machine! If you use the dvd that comes with it to learn how to use it you will have little or no difficulty threading the top and using the bobbin. It is an excellent product for the money and I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
strongwatersong
nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1-20 of 77 reviews