Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

118 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
15
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
14
1-20 of 102 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 102 total reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews
Excellent machine for the money.
9/5/2011

Customer review by thread100

5.0 stars 9/5/2011 by thread100
by thread100

Purchased this to supplement a smaller Brother machine that I thought couldn't be beat. This one does it! Love the variety of stitches, smooth operation, easy set-up. It's what I've come to expect from Brother. One hitch: There was a $30 manufacturer's rebate advertised under the price on the site. This was in error. The rebate for this machine, if purchased between the dates advertised, is $10, enough to cover the extended warranty. Still a good bargain, anyway you look at it.

Was this review helpful? (163) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thread100
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Machine for anyone.
9/7/2011

Customer review by 3littlelanders

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by 3littlelanders
by 3littlelanders

I am 32 years old and decided after 10 years, to pick sewing back up. I ran down to the local Wal-mart and purchased this machine. It is so much easier to use than the old Singer machine I used as a teenager and into my early adulthood. Changing out the foot is simple as is changing out the needle. Threading is also very easy. I love the machine and the quality it affords me. I would highly recommend this product to anyone, even if just beginning.

Was this review helpful? (226) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
3littlelanders
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beginner-friendly!
9/2/2011

Customer review by earthm0ther

4.0 stars 9/2/2011 by earthm0ther
by earthm0ther

I had never used a sewing machine in my entire life before purchasing this product, but wanted to teach myself to sew for alterations, dress-making, etc. The instruction booklet is precise, easy to follow, and had me starting the first stitch within 45 minutes! The bobbin winder is so easy, they really made this machine beginner-friendly. I think this will be the perfect machine to handle my larger tasks down the road once my skill level progresses. The only reason I did not rate it a "5" is because I have not yet tried all of the features; although I am very satisfied thus far. Sidenote: I ordered this item from walmart.com on a Saturday evening, and it was already on my doorstep Tuesday afternoon. Very quick delivery!

Was this review helpful? (144) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
earthm0ther
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great sewing machine
9/20/2011

Customer review by Momtoaiden

4.0 stars 9/20/2011 by Momtoaiden
by Momtoaiden

got this as a gift from my grandmother. I used to borrow my mom's older kenmore sewing machine and was worried that it being digital would make it more difficult to use. It is so easy to use! I love that there are pictures of the stitches on the machine so I don't have to keep checking in the manual. My one complaint is that it says size 15 plastic bobbins on the box, but they are just a tiny bit smaller. So in order to get extra bobbins (comes with 4), I had to find a special brother sewing machine dealer (or order online and pay shipping). As far as sewing, it does a great job, and was easy to operate and troubleshoot. (I always end up getting something stuck and getting it unstuck was simple). The bobbin thing is why it doesn't get a 5 star from me.

Was this review helpful? (126) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momtoaiden
nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Machine for the Price
12/22/2011

Customer review by KrystynasWorld

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by KrystynasWorld
by KrystynasWorld

I sew for a living and recently started to teach my future daughter-in-law how to sew, too. My husband and I decided to buy her a new sewing machine for Christmas. We bought one at another store and tried it out when we got home. It was horrible and we brought it back. I found this one and read the reviews and we bought it. I tried it and loved it so much that I bought one for myself, too and recommended it to friends at an online quilting group. It sews like a dream, is relatively quiet and easy to use. The variety of stitches gives you a lot of bang for the buck. If I were able to change anything it would be that the stitch panel could light up and that there was a beep when the bobbin or needle thread ran out but not having these features is easy to live with. This is a fabulous machine. Get one while they're around!

Was this review helpful? (58) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KrystynasWorld
Long Beach, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love, love, love this machine.
11/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been eyeballing this machine and one other one for a while now and today I broke down and bought this machine. I was a little intimidated at first because I have been using a Brother XL-5340 for the past 8 yrs and this one has a lot more features. I brought it home, unpacked it, read the manual, and got started. OMG, I am in heaven and have no idea why I was intimidated by this machine. It is super easy to use and I simply love, love, love it. The functionality is so great. I basically have the serge capability that I needed as well as a great way to do appliques now on shirts to go with pj pants that I make and sell. This is sure to increase my business potential greatly. Thank you Wal-mart for having it in stock and at a great price. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone who is looking to upgrade from a standard sewing machine. Awesomeness, with a cherry on top!

Was this review helpful? (61) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Brother 80-Stitch Limited Edition Project Runway
12/11/2011

Customer review by sleepydawg

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by sleepydawg
by sleepydawg

I made this purchase for my fiance who wanted to create embroidered shirts and scarves for her daughter. The pattern selections are great and programing is relatively easy once you READ THE MANUAL and learn how to. The most difficult item she had learning is how to correctly use the automatic needle threader. The directions are a little vague, the diagram is of some help and the lighting could be a little brighter in this area. Overall she is thrilled with how easy it is to operate. When she got the needle threader figured out there was no stopping her! The speed control is very easy to work, the patterns are looking wonderful and the items she has created thus far look great! If you're looking for a fun machine to get creative with, this is one she and I readily and fully recommend for both novice and experienced machine operator!

Was this review helpful? (53) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sleepydawg
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Value!!
10/3/2011

Customer review by chihuahuaOwner

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by chihuahuaOwner
by chihuahuaOwner

GREAT machine, especially for the price. My mom is an advanced quilter and uses a Janome 7700, which she spent $1999 on, and even she has given this machine her seal of approval! Love!

Was this review helpful? (49) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chihuahuaOwner
Boca Raton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent machine for the price!
12/6/2011

Customer review by acajuncharm

5.0 stars 12/6/2011 by acajuncharm
by acajuncharm

Coming from my first machine being a top of the line Elna - that stayed in the shop quite a bit, to a Pfaff machine that I purchased off of Ebay that was a disaster to this Brother machine that I love. I am not a seamstress, but I enjoy sewing when I want to sew! I love this machine, quiet, easy to use, and affordable. I would have never thought that I would be happy on a machine that was so inexpensive - boy was I wrong! This machine is a jewel!!!

Was this review helpful? (33) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
acajuncharm
Gonzales, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Really great sewing machine
1/2/2012

Customer review by StrawberryZombie

5.0 stars 1/2/2012 by StrawberryZombie
by StrawberryZombie

I received this machine as a gift, after having looked at another brother machine for several months. I haven't really ever done any sewing in, well, ever. Totally a sewing newbie. I have to say that the sewing machine was a little intimidating initially because it has far more bells and whistles than the one I was looking at. But the machine itself is very simple to use. The manual is very straight forward, and easy to understand. Though I often supplement the manual's instructions with google, just to be sure I have my bases covered, I usually find the information in the manual would have been sufficient. While I've only had the machine for a week, I have used it quite a bit--including mending several things, making a tote bag, making a hat, a pair of spats, and a plushie. The machine comes with an assortment of accessories (including a seam ripper, which is great since I sort of, accidentally, snapped my previous one. Oops! It was nice to have an instant replacement on hand.). Most of these are things like extra bobbin spools, as well as all the extra presser feet. So far, I have used the "default" foot, as well as the button hole foot and blind hem stitch foot. Changing the presser foot is incredibly simple, and the button hole foot and stitches were amazing. Maybe I'm just easily impressed, but it was great to be able to do button holes so easily on my very first 'from scratch' project. I've also played around with some of the decorative stitches--some of which look pretty awesome, and some of which look...somewhat less awesome. But they seem like they would be really fun to use for different home decorating type projects. And the 'less awesome' ones are possibly due to my lack of skill in working the machine, rather than the stitch itself. With all the projects I've done, I've only had the bobbin tangle once, and I'm fairly certain it was an 'operator error' so to speak. The machine runs really well. It's easy to control the speed, it's easy to work all the functions, and choose stitches, as well as alter their length and width. The manual is really great at explaining the different functions, as well as how to do certain things (like blind hem stitching). I haven't had any issues with it, and in this first week, I've done a variety of different projects, and worked with a variety of different fabrics from thick, fluffy fleece, to polyester, to cotton, to craft felt. The machine has handled them all, without any issues, sometimes sewing through up to four layers of thick fabric. Over all, I think it's a great machine so far. I'm really looking forward to all the projects I have in mind, and I have no doubt the machine is going to be able to handle them all quite beautifully.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StrawberryZombie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
motor is weak
4/12/2012

Customer review by TundraFlower

1.0 stars 4/12/2012 by TundraFlower
by TundraFlower

I purchased this on wednesday and it ran fine until I tried to use swimsuit knits to make a bikini bottom(1 day), the machine got a knot under the feed dogs and the engine stalled. I took apart the bobbin casing and presser foot (just like the manual said to do), and put it all back together. The diagrams in the manual are nice. I got the error message on the screen to stop and it "works" but has no speed now and makes too much noise in the upper part of the machine now so I am returning it. I will be buying a heavy duty sewing machine with metal gears made by a better brand. Plus it sounds like a copy machine when you flip it on. Bottom line, if you plan on quilting or using broadcloth then its a good machine, but if you work with a lot of knits but still want to make household items then not the right machine.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TundraFlower
alaska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful sewing machine for an excellent value
12/1/2011

Customer review by luvsweetluv

5.0 stars 12/1/2011 by luvsweetluv
by luvsweetluv

I decided I wanted to teach myself how to sew and started looking for sewing machines. I had went into several sewing shops and did a lot of online research. Then I came across this sewing machine. The reviews were great. As a beginner it has been wonderful to use. The value was the best part though. The machine started out at over $650 and is still selling at some conventions and expos for $500. Mine was brand new for only $144.

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
luvsweetluv
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fabulous purchase
11/19/2011

Customer review by Diane100

5.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Diane100
by Diane100

I was amazed at how easy this machine is to use. The stitch choices are all at your fingertips. Super easy to thread and load a bobbin. Doesn't get easier than this. Sews smoothly. Price is good too. I really like it A LOT!!!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Diane100
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Disappointed
3/1/2012

Customer review by Dalesgurl

1.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Dalesgurl
by Dalesgurl

I was so excited when I received this sewing machine for Christmas. When I finally got around to trying it out, it was awesome, lots of stitch functions and I was excited. Once I started sewing, however, it was only a couple of weeks before it didn't cooperate. I wanted it to zigzag and it only did straight stitching. I would turn it off and then turn it back on, trying to reset it, and this worked f0r a couple of times. Now, it just doesn't understand at all. I don't get an error. I only get straight stitching. It might sew another stitch, but I need a zigzag for my elastic waist bands, I make tutus. So, I am taking it back tomorrow and hoping to exchange it for something else. Not sure if I want to go digital or not. May just go right back to plain ol plain ol.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dalesgurl
Asheboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/26/2012

Customer review by ltreason

1.0 stars 1/26/2012 by ltreason
by ltreason

Although I own several Brother machines, this is not one I would recommend. The tension was off from the very beginning and the only answer was to put it in the repair shop before I had even used it. Not a great start when you are anxiously waiting to begin projects designated for that machine. I sent it back immediately. I have fund once a machine has a tension problem it always will.

Was this review helpful? (26) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ltreason
Would recommend to a friend? No
BEST EVER
10/11/2011

Customer review by 38474527357325623876333

5.0 stars 10/11/2011 by 38474527357325623876333
by 38474527357325623876333

This was the best sewing machine ever!!! I bought this for my Mom and how did she thank me? She made me a dress!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
38474527357325623876333
37334 Fayetteville TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE at 1st Try!
12/2/2011

Customer review by MomOnSavingsMission

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by MomOnSavingsMission
by MomOnSavingsMission

LOVE this machine! I upgraded from a starter Brother machine. It is more machine with more functions than I ever could imagine using. I am primarily sewing costumes and theater garb. Not quilting or challenging embroidery. It runs smoothly and the Drop-In bobbin feature is great. It comes with a wonderful assortment of extra accessories like a cleaning brush and 4 bobbins (one pre-threaded with white thread) and they all self-store in the machine. My old machine had tons of tension issues. Not this one. It set up in moments. You don't even have to pull lower tension thread up, this machine automatically just loads and sews. As my needs and uses grow, this machine will grow with me and may even be a machine I will pass on to my kids. Better performance and comparable features to machines I have seen for more than $300. Great bargain for this high level of performance. Glad my hubby got it for my birthday.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomOnSavingsMission
Oakland, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Problem out of the box
12/4/2011

Customer review by ajsk

2.0 stars 12/4/2011 by ajsk
by ajsk

The tension was off right out of the box. I tried rethreading and adjusting the tension, but could never get it right. I am returning it tomorrow.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajsk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
I LOVE THIS MACHINE!!
11/2/2011

Customer review by Walmartfan6

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by Walmartfan6
by Walmartfan6

This is my 2nd Brother sewing machine. My first was about 10 years old when I bought it and it worked well enough. However, I wanted a NEW machine and I wanted a computerized machine. With this machine I got the best of both worlds. I find myself wanting to do nothing but sew and make things on this machine. It is SEW EASY to work with!! :) I am now looking for a quilting table attachment that might work with it because I am going to start my very first quilt. I LOVE quilts and bedspreads so I'll be starting with the quilt. Not a fan of comforters though. Quilts, bedspreads, that's the ticket.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walmartfan6
Federal Heights, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This machine is beyond my expectations!
9/3/2012

Customer review by JacknAnnie

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by JacknAnnie
by JacknAnnie

I am a professional seamstress and have been working at my craft for over 40 years. I chose a Brother sewing machine because of Brother's reputation for quality. Since I've enjoyed watching "Project Runway," it tickled me to find a machine with the name. This machine is terrific! It meets all of my expectations for quality stitches and ease of use. It is necessary to carefully read the manual several times, because of the different features. I have used expensive Viking machines through the years and found myself at a loss after a move to another state. That's when I thought, "Let's see what a Brother machine does." Well, I am very happy with this Brother "Project Runway Limited Edition" machine; and, it's cost for the quality amazes me every time I use it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JacknAnnie
Morehead, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1-20 of 102 reviews