Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

128 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
90
4 stars
20
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 stars
14
1-20 of 112 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews
love this sewing machine
1/10/2017

Customer review by lazymom

5.0 stars 1/10/2017 by lazymom
by lazymom

this is the easiest sewing machine i have used in a long way. it does what i want without any hassle no crazy set up. its a breeze to use

lazymom
Antioch, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good dependable machine
9/20/2016

Customer review by crazycatnana

4.0 stars 9/20/2016 by crazycatnana
by crazycatnana

I had a little trouble in beginning I was use to 20 yr old Kenmore. Now I have the "hang of it" and am enjoying the extras with this machine. My 17 yr old grand daughter loved the hem I put in scrubs using the hearts pattern.

crazycatnana
Lexington, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Have trouble all the time
5/15/2016

Customer review by Penguin

2.0 stars 5/15/2016 by Penguin
by Penguin

When it runs it's pretty reliable. I've had trouble with the tension, bobbins getting tangled, unable to get the quilting foot to work, lowered the feed dogs and ended up with a large basting stitch. I lost my manual when I moved. I'm not able to download the online manual because the file is too large. I may try the 800# to see if anyone can help. I would not buy another one.

Penguin
20175
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best Purchase Ever
9/19/2014

Customer review by PamN

5.0 stars 9/19/2014 by PamN
by PamN

My husband bought this sewing machine for me for Christmas last year. I love it. I am in a craft group and I take my machine with me. I love how light weight it is and all the stitches. I showed it to my mom, who is in a sewing club. Her sewing club have real expensive, and very HEAVY sewing machines. After seeing my machine and sewing on it, my mom fell in love with it. On my recommendation there have been six machines bought by the ladies in her sewing club. They prefer the Brother over their expensive machines. And they can take this machine from place to place without a hassle.

PamN
Clinton, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Machine
2/15/2014

Customer review by Gadget

5.0 stars 2/15/2014 by Gadget
by Gadget

I bought this to replace the ancient sewing machine I inherited from my grandma. I wanted something that was easy to thread and this machine definitely makes it easy to change threads. There is no annoying bobbin case to deal with. The needles are also easy to change out. I have used it with anything from cotton fabric to corduroy and it handles everything nicely. It is great for someone like me who only sews occasionally but it has a wide range of stitches should I decided to do more fancy stuff. The best value with this machine is the number of feet that are included.

Gadget
Sanger, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good basic machine
1/4/2016

Customer review by Posiegirl

4.0 stars 1/4/2016 by Posiegirl
by Posiegirl

Really great for a beginner. Has lots of stitches. No problems,

Posiegirl
Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A great gift
9/16/2015

Customer review by susanie

4.0 stars 9/16/2015 by susanie
by susanie

I have another sewing machine. But this is easy to use. I need the basic kit but don't know where can buy it. Please somebody help me.

susanie
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this Machine
9/21/2013

Customer review by mandalyn87

4.0 stars 9/21/2013 by mandalyn87
by mandalyn87

I love this machine it sews really well. The only issue I have when I started looking through the accessories I noticed that one of the feet attachments were missing, and it was the one I needed, and still need.

mandalyn87
Hazard, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for my needs
9/22/2014

Customer review by Alice

4.0 stars 9/22/2014 by Alice
by Alice

Needed another sewing machine and this is versatile and light enough for me to carry

Alice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing!
3/20/2014

Customer review by GMTerrie

5.0 stars 3/20/2014 by GMTerrie
by GMTerrie

Well, I have had this machine for 3 years now and I am still amazed at it's durability, dependability, precision, and ease of use. As a professional seamstress, my requirements are many. This little beauty has handled heavy zipper replacements in a tough fireman's jacket, bridal satin, organza (stabilizer underneath), heavy denim, quilting cottons, and knits. It's important to lift the fabric as it feeds into the machine to prevent dragging and motor wear. At first, I would hear a clicking noise in the base and each time I traced it to the bobbin thread not being completely secure in the bobbin tension. The noise disappeared when fixed. Each time an error code occurred, I had either forgotten something (putting the foot down!) or I simply needed to turn the machine off, then on again. I clean it after each small project and several times during large projects. Flannels need this a lot. Please read through the great manual several times so that you can enjoy all of the great features. Wind the bobbins at a medium speed to keep the bobbin tension in line with the top thread's. Change needles when they skip stitches, snag, leave holes, or a different type is needed. I think companies are trying to sell too many needles and they're too darn expensive! Use an old toothbrush, q-tips, and the machine brush to clean. A 'little' dampness (I use what's on my tongue) helps pick up dust; and, get into all of the open areas while rotating the machine wheel to move the brush around carefully. This 'sweeping' should be easily done. Small vacuum attachments are the best for this. It eliminates trips to the repair shop! Use cotton or poly thread in the bobbin when using invisible thread on top. Loosen the tension some because the plastic thread stretches slightly during stitching. Be sure to lift the fabric to keep gravity from working against you. Use a small (2-2.5 x 1-1.5) zip-zag stitch for knits if the stretch stitch is not to your liking. Lots of great videos on YouTube. Save your money on books & DVD's unless that's your fancy. I have found that the old Reader's Digest Sewing Book is great. Many others are available. Read the reviews before choosing. Lots of pictures and simple explanations are the best. Use common sense and have a ball!

GMTerrie
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I LOVE THIS MACHINE!!
11/2/2011

Customer review by Walmartfan6

5.0 stars 11/2/2011 by Walmartfan6
by Walmartfan6

This is my 2nd Brother sewing machine. My first was about 10 years old when I bought it and it worked well enough. However, I wanted a NEW machine and I wanted a computerized machine. With this machine I got the best of both worlds. I find myself wanting to do nothing but sew and make things on this machine. It is SEW EASY to work with!! :) I am now looking for a quilting table attachment that might work with it because I am going to start my very first quilt. I LOVE quilts and bedspreads so I'll be starting with the quilt. Not a fan of comforters though. Quilts, bedspreads, that's the ticket.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Walmartfan6
Federal Heights, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE at 1st Try!
12/2/2011

Customer review by MomOnSavingsMission

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by MomOnSavingsMission
by MomOnSavingsMission

LOVE this machine! I upgraded from a starter Brother machine. It is more machine with more functions than I ever could imagine using. I am primarily sewing costumes and theater garb. Not quilting or challenging embroidery. It runs smoothly and the Drop-In bobbin feature is great. It comes with a wonderful assortment of extra accessories like a cleaning brush and 4 bobbins (one pre-threaded with white thread) and they all self-store in the machine. My old machine had tons of tension issues. Not this one. It set up in moments. You don't even have to pull lower tension thread up, this machine automatically just loads and sews. As my needs and uses grow, this machine will grow with me and may even be a machine I will pass on to my kids. Better performance and comparable features to machines I have seen for more than $300. Great bargain for this high level of performance. Glad my hubby got it for my birthday.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MomOnSavingsMission
Oakland, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love, love, love this machine.
11/26/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I have been eyeballing this machine and one other one for a while now and today I broke down and bought this machine. I was a little intimidated at first because I have been using a Brother XL-5340 for the past 8 yrs and this one has a lot more features. I brought it home, unpacked it, read the manual, and got started. OMG, I am in heaven and have no idea why I was intimidated by this machine. It is super easy to use and I simply love, love, love it. The functionality is so great. I basically have the serge capability that I needed as well as a great way to do appliques now on shirts to go with pj pants that I make and sell. This is sure to increase my business potential greatly. Thank you Wal-mart for having it in stock and at a great price. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone who is looking to upgrade from a standard sewing machine. Awesomeness, with a cherry on top!

Was this review helpful? (63) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Brother 80-Stitch Limited Edition Project Runway
12/11/2011

Customer review by sleepydawg

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by sleepydawg
by sleepydawg

I made this purchase for my fiance who wanted to create embroidered shirts and scarves for her daughter. The pattern selections are great and programing is relatively easy once you READ THE MANUAL and learn how to. The most difficult item she had learning is how to correctly use the automatic needle threader. The directions are a little vague, the diagram is of some help and the lighting could be a little brighter in this area. Overall she is thrilled with how easy it is to operate. When she got the needle threader figured out there was no stopping her! The speed control is very easy to work, the patterns are looking wonderful and the items she has created thus far look great! If you're looking for a fun machine to get creative with, this is one she and I readily and fully recommend for both novice and experienced machine operator!

Was this review helpful? (54) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sleepydawg
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Machine for the Price
12/22/2011

Customer review by KrystynasWorld

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by KrystynasWorld
by KrystynasWorld

I sew for a living and recently started to teach my future daughter-in-law how to sew, too. My husband and I decided to buy her a new sewing machine for Christmas. We bought one at another store and tried it out when we got home. It was horrible and we brought it back. I found this one and read the reviews and we bought it. I tried it and loved it so much that I bought one for myself, too and recommended it to friends at an online quilting group. It sews like a dream, is relatively quiet and easy to use. The variety of stitches gives you a lot of bang for the buck. If I were able to change anything it would be that the stitch panel could light up and that there was a beep when the bobbin or needle thread ran out but not having these features is easy to live with. This is a fabulous machine. Get one while they're around!

Was this review helpful? (59) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KrystynasWorld
Long Beach, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
motor is weak
4/12/2012

Customer review by TundraFlower

1.0 stars 4/12/2012 by TundraFlower
by TundraFlower

I purchased this on wednesday and it ran fine until I tried to use swimsuit knits to make a bikini bottom(1 day), the machine got a knot under the feed dogs and the engine stalled. I took apart the bobbin casing and presser foot (just like the manual said to do), and put it all back together. The diagrams in the manual are nice. I got the error message on the screen to stop and it "works" but has no speed now and makes too much noise in the upper part of the machine now so I am returning it. I will be buying a heavy duty sewing machine with metal gears made by a better brand. Plus it sounds like a copy machine when you flip it on. Bottom line, if you plan on quilting or using broadcloth then its a good machine, but if you work with a lot of knits but still want to make household items then not the right machine.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TundraFlower
alaska
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beginner-friendly!
9/2/2011

Customer review by earthm0ther

4.0 stars 9/2/2011 by earthm0ther
by earthm0ther

I had never used a sewing machine in my entire life before purchasing this product, but wanted to teach myself to sew for alterations, dress-making, etc. The instruction booklet is precise, easy to follow, and had me starting the first stitch within 45 minutes! The bobbin winder is so easy, they really made this machine beginner-friendly. I think this will be the perfect machine to handle my larger tasks down the road once my skill level progresses. The only reason I did not rate it a "5" is because I have not yet tried all of the features; although I am very satisfied thus far. Sidenote: I ordered this item from walmart.com on a Saturday evening, and it was already on my doorstep Tuesday afternoon. Very quick delivery!

Was this review helpful? (145) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
earthm0ther
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very Disappointed
3/1/2012

Customer review by Dalesgurl

1.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Dalesgurl
by Dalesgurl

I was so excited when I received this sewing machine for Christmas. When I finally got around to trying it out, it was awesome, lots of stitch functions and I was excited. Once I started sewing, however, it was only a couple of weeks before it didn't cooperate. I wanted it to zigzag and it only did straight stitching. I would turn it off and then turn it back on, trying to reset it, and this worked f0r a couple of times. Now, it just doesn't understand at all. I don't get an error. I only get straight stitching. It might sew another stitch, but I need a zigzag for my elastic waist bands, I make tutus. So, I am taking it back tomorrow and hoping to exchange it for something else. Not sure if I want to go digital or not. May just go right back to plain ol plain ol.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dalesgurl
Asheboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
You can't go wrong with this machine for the price
4/24/2013

Customer review by Joyfull6

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by Joyfull6
by Joyfull6

I bought this machine when the Kenway Elite I used for my etsy business wore out. I needed something quick (customers were waiting on their orders), and a machine that could sew through many layers of fabric. I sew electronic cases, diaper bags etc., so I need to be able to sew through two layers of fleece, two layers of interfacing and 4 layers of fabric. This machine goes through it all. On the really thick areas I need to slow way down, but it still gets through it all and I haven't bent a needle yet. I sew an average of 5 hours a day, 5 days a week and my Brother is still going strong almost a year later. If the machine starts stitching weird, check the lent trap and clean out the area under the needle,which is very easy to get to without any tools. I clean mine out once a week, and have no more "bad" stitches. The buttonhole attachment snaps on easily and makes pretty good buttonholes, but I sew each buttonhole twice to make them thicker and stronger for the products I make. There are a few plastic parts on this machine that I'm curious about how long they'll last,like the thread catcher in the bobbin area, but for the price and how much I use it - I am extremely happy with this machine.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joyfull6
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great sewing machine
9/20/2011

Customer review by Momtoaiden

4.0 stars 9/20/2011 by Momtoaiden
by Momtoaiden

got this as a gift from my grandmother. I used to borrow my mom's older kenmore sewing machine and was worried that it being digital would make it more difficult to use. It is so easy to use! I love that there are pictures of the stitches on the machine so I don't have to keep checking in the manual. My one complaint is that it says size 15 plastic bobbins on the box, but they are just a tiny bit smaller. So in order to get extra bobbins (comes with 4), I had to find a special brother sewing machine dealer (or order online and pay shipping). As far as sewing, it does a great job, and was easy to operate and troubleshoot. (I always end up getting something stuck and getting it unstuck was simple). The bobbin thing is why it doesn't get a 5 star from me.

Was this review helpful? (126) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momtoaiden
nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 112 total reviews
1-20 of 112 reviews