Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 219 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

219 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
151
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
5
1 stars
22
1-20 of 211 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 211 total reviews
1-20 of 211 reviews
A must for parents and pet owners!!!
1/28/2012

Customer review by Clay88

5.0 stars 1/28/2012 by Clay88
by Clay88

I bought this about a week ago and have used it as a full upright carpet cleaner and as just a spot cleaner. At $259 at most stores it was really hard for me to spend that kind of money. Craigslist has older upright models going for $50-$75. Nevertheless after reading the reviews and understanding the flexibility that this unit provides I decided to give it a shot. Walmart was the only place I saw that had this unit cheaper at $239, everywhere else had it for $259. My bill... $239 Carpet Cleaner $20 Regular Bissell cleaning detergent $ 7 Bissell pet pre-treatmet spray (to kill the bacteria in pet urine) $ 5 3m oxy pre-treatment spray. (for old set in stains) $23 Tax **TOTAL WAS $294 The review... I had roughly 500sf that I needed clean. With a 2.5 and 5.5 month old pups running around the house there had definitely been a few accidents. We cleaned them up with paper towels the best we could but you know there was still stuff in the carpet that you couldn't see. Putting together the machine out of the box was somewhat simple. As many others have said, you do need a longer Phillips screwdriver to do the job. I'm great with tools and the handle was even a little tricky for me. It's something they should have made more simple yet didn't. Definitely manageable for anyone though. The box it comes in is somewhat large so if it's for grandma you need to give her a hand, but I was able to fit it in the front seat of my car...barely. Once it was together it was very simple to deal with. I put the water solution mix as it said and started the big boy up. My tap water gets very hot so I couldn't really tell if it was heating it or not. If it's anything like the older models it probably only heats it up to 25 degrees hotter than it is. I say if you have really hot water don't rely on the warmer. Once I was all set up and the floor was vacuumed really well I started on the job. I did a medium speed strip forward with spray and another backward with spray then I went really slow back and forth multiple times so it could scrub and suck. Everything was going fine until about 20 minutes in when it seemed like it wasn't sucking the solution up very well. Sure enough, it was full. I figured since the dirty water tank was double the size of the clean water tank it would accept twice the amount of water....that's not the case. So once I emptied the tank is started sucking right up again. NOTE: there aren't really any indications that you are out of clean water or that the dirty water is full so you you need to keep an eye out. The only sign that the dirty water is full is that there is a slight difference in the vacuuming sound when it's full. Also NOTE: The water tank on this unit is very small. If you are looking to be able to do an entire room with just one tank than you need a different model. I'd say you'd probably need to change the tank 3 times to do a master bedroom. It's not hard at all and just takes a couple minutes. So how did it work... Like a champ. Once the floor was cleaned and allowed to dry the results couldn't have gotten any better with a professional! On our floor there was obvious high traffic stains and a few old coke stains not to mention the old pet stains and everything was cleaned. When all was said and done I had a brand new patch of carpet in my house. I will say that I made sure to pre-treat the bad areas first and took my time to make sure the scrubbers could do their job. So that was the cleaning in the upright position but you may be wondering how it actually worked out as a portable machine. Lucky for you, it worked out better than expected. Since we cleaned the entire house just a week ago there was no reason to even have the base in the house so we store it out in the shed. We keep the portable part in the closet and every time one of the dogs has an accident we immediately get it out and clean it up. The best invention ever. The portable machine by its self is not crazy heavy and has the same amount of suction as it would in the upright position. So if you are wondering why it has such a small water tank this would be the reason, so it could be more portable. I think for pet owners and parents like my self, it is the best invention since AC. If you're looking for a cleaning unit to clean houses professionally, although this unit does an awesome job, the small water tanks would kill that idea. I hope this helps everyone! Parents and pet owners, this item is worth the money. I can't speak to how long it last as I just got it but I can tell you how much time it's saved me and the convenience is hard to match.

Was this review helpful? (108) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Clay88
Fort Worth, TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My carpets look fantastic thanks to this machine!
11/24/2011

Customer review by XcelShopper

5.0 stars 11/24/2011 by XcelShopper
by XcelShopper

Once a year I get my carpets professionally cleaned however this time around, I thought I'd do it myself by getting a Bissell deep cleaner. It did take me longer than I thought to install the handle because the screws kept falling off but I eventually changed my screw driver & that did the trick. I have to say that this machine does a terrific job cleaning old, dirty carpets especially the high traffic areas. The results are actually better than the professionals. I first sprayed with the Bissell Tough Stain Carpet Pretreat on the dirty areas & used the 2x deep cleaning solution for the bulk of the cleaning. That worked great for my carpets. When buying this machine, don't forget to buy your solution at the same time...it'll save you a trip to the store because the sample bottle won't be enough. I love the fact the tanks are transparent so you get to see how dirty your carpets really are & if it needs a 2nd pass. I also used this on my high pile thick area rug. It restored the colors on my old rug & made it look just like new. I even did my stairs by using the handheld brush. It was easy to remove it from the base & it wasn't too heavy. I'm sold on this machine. Not only does it clean well, it also has powerful suction to help dry the carpet. Another tip is to vacuum slowly. This will allow the machine to brush, shampoo & vacuum more effectively. Getting the machine was totally worth it because professional cleaners will charge on a per room basis & charge extra for scotch guard or cleaning area rugs. Had I bought this machine years ago, I would've saved a lot of money on professional cleaners.

Was this review helpful? (98) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XcelShopper
california
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Very easy to use, cleans great
11/9/2011

Customer review by Maidsservice

5.0 stars 11/9/2011 by Maidsservice
by Maidsservice

This machine was easy to use, easy to clean. It can be taken apart for a good cleaning. Having several dogs in the house it is important to clean machine after use. I like not having to tilt handle back to remove clean water or dirty water tank. The clean water tank is a little small. But at least I am not lugging a lot of heavy water. And that will make it easier to use when cleaning car upholstery. The double row of brushes really got up all the dog hair that my vacuum had left behind. I couldn't believe how much hair there was. Bissell was not my first choice. But now I am glad I got it.

Was this review helpful? (47) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maidsservice
Starke, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
11/10/2011

Customer review by MYINPUTONTHIS

5.0 stars 11/10/2011 by MYINPUTONTHIS
by MYINPUTONTHIS

I bought the Bissell Lift-Off modle 35K3 even after reading the one review posted. I am a male and I can see why the lady in the review said it was heavy, but I like the weight of the machine becouse I feel it did a better job cleaning the carpet. Very easy to put water and cleaner in. My wife and I are very pleased with this cleaner so go buy one and get to work.

Was this review helpful? (46) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MYINPUTONTHIS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Its just okay :(
10/11/2011

Customer review by Thickums

3.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Thickums
by Thickums

I was really excited to try this new Bissell. It is sleek and attractive and makes you want to clean your carpet. I initially used the 2x professional cleaner provided but it did not clean very well. I kept going over the same area, but to no avail. I then used a different floor cleaner that I fell in love with several years ago...Professional cleaner by Rubbermaid. It performed tons better, but I still had to go over the area a few times but it was beautiful. This is the heaviest carpet cleaner I have ever had. I had to sit down from back pain before I even finished my living room floor. Now that I think about it, I think it seemed heavier because it does suck pretty good, so with that pulling plus the weight it just seems extra heavy. Pros: Easy assembly Looks Heat Sucking power (carpet dries faster) Multi-functional Doesn't have hoses hanging off the back Cons: Heavy Doesn't clean as well as some cheaper models/other brands Small water reserve Must mix water and Cleaning solution in together (so if you don't need the whole amount, you have to waste cleaner solution)

Was this review helpful? (43) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thickums
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Works well
2/27/2012

Customer review by mikeng

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by mikeng
by mikeng

This is the first carpet cleaner I own. I have read some of the negative reviews on this machine here and elsewhere. I have to add that this machine cleans well. My wife can't believe how clean the carpet is looking now. I like the fact that it is a two in one, which means I can use it to clean our couch or just spot clean whatever little mess. I also like that there are separate tank for the clean water and dirty water. They both pull off very easily for refill and disposal. People who are used to larger capacity tank may be disappointed. The clean water tank is probably a little small. However refills is a snap and there i no messy spill with the design of the tank. Disposal of the dirty water is also easy. There are common mistake that I have made myself which one may think the machine is not working probably but it's just user error. Make sure when you seat the portable unit onto the full-size cleaner; that both sides snap into the groove or tabs. There is one tab where it says push down to release, but there is also a small tab on the other side. It's easy to just snap in on one side but not the other, so just push down hard. One easy way to find out is, if you can tilt the portable unit (or loose) on one side; then it was not seated correctly. If both sides are not seated properly, the scrubber won't spin and the water won't come out. The other common complaint is the unit is not picking up enough water. One common mistake is not emptying the dirty tank often enough. There is a floating stick in the dirty tank to let the machine know that it's full. If this stick floats up, the machine will stop sucking in the water. I have found that the stick floats up even before the water reaches the full line (about 3/4). I just empty it out when it gets to the 3/4 full and I have no problem. This might bother some. When you are cleaning, you should hear a low deep sucking sound, when it stops sucking the water; you might hear a hollow sounds. If this happens, just empty the dirty tank. Overall, I am pretty satisfy with the cleaner and it gets my carpet and sofa pretty clean.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeng
los angeles, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
AMAZING!
12/5/2011

Customer review by ShanasBananas

5.0 stars 12/5/2011 by ShanasBananas
by ShanasBananas

This carpet cleaner is amazing! I used the WalMart brand Pet Steam Cleaner solution, and used about half of the bottle for 3 average sized rooms, not bad. My carpets look brand new! I have 2 young kids, 3 dogs, a cat and a husband who works in a dirty factory...all running around on light beige carpet. Our carpet looked dull and smashed down. After cleaning the carpets this weekend, they look like they did when they were new 5 years ago. The assembly was easy, it has indicators showing where to put the 4 screws. Use was a breeze. The clean and dirty containers are both pretty small, I did probably about 1/5 of a room before having to refill the clean tank and about 1/4 before having to empty the dirty. Clean up was pretty easy too. I do think it's important to clean out the machine before you put it away, so keep that in mind. Overall, I think this works better than the rentals. It actually has rotating brushes that work the dirt out of the carpet. I also found it was quicker to clean the room because you can make forward and backward passes, unlike the rentals you just drag backwards.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShanasBananas
O'Fallon, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Stanley Steemer Who?
11/23/2011

Customer review by AmyinSF

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by AmyinSF
by AmyinSF

I was super excited to try out this carpet cleaner because after just getting a puppy and trying to housebreak him, our carpets could use a little TLC. This cleaner comes in a huge box and is a bit heavy to lift and when i took it out of the box i was pleased with how durable it is. It's a solid machine. It was really easy to put together, only took a few min and the directions were really straight forward. It came with one little bottle of cleaner and since its concentrated i was able to clean 5 large area rugs in my house, but after that the bottle was empty. I suggest getting a larger bottle when you buy this item so you have it on hand. The cleaner smells great, like laundry detergent. I followed the directions, filled the cleaner with water and solution, turned it on and let it warm up for a min and then I got cleaning. I was so happy with the outcome! My carpets look great and my husband said wow, i can totally tell the difference! The carpets were dry by the morning because the water didn't soak deep w/in the carpet, it stayed pretty much on the surface. This item is large, so if you have space to store it and have carpets that you need to have cleaned often i would definitely recommend buying one.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmyinSF
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
It is good "for the rest of us"
7/5/2012

Customer review by Twohouses

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by Twohouses
by Twohouses

We DO NOT HAVE PETS. We do not have horribly stained carpets. We bought and love this machine. The tanks are small according to many. However, we have a two story house and a fifth wheel RV in which we boondock in the mountains and six months a year in the desert of Arizona. So, even though we usually change shoes when we come into the RV, the usual wind over the desert brings in a great deal of gritty dust. A friend recommended a Bissell, and said she would never come south again without it. After trying it out, we absolutely agree. Works great. No, fabulous. In the house and in the RV. And with a front and back handle, it is just right for carrying in and out of the house and up and down stairs made more practical by the smaller tanks. The small inconvenience of the little water tanks is no problem for someone who has to lift those tanks. Also, the mixing directions call for a certain amount of the somewhat expensive detergent, and it would be a bad deal to have mixed up a few gallons, only to find that we used but half of it. It is well designed for cleaning up afterward, which takes a few minutes but is worth it. In reviews we read elsewhere, some people had unit failure which seemed to be a result of letting things plug up. Perhaps we go further in cleaning it than other people, but since our last carpet cleaner lasted almost thirty years, compared to others who have a history of replacing them often, we think it is time well spent. A comment. It is not a steam cleaner. The temperature of the water is carefully regulated to PREVENT CARPET DAMAGE. I don't quite know why these models are called steam cleaners. It seems to be an industry wide label that is inaccurate. The manual is above average, but that is not saying much. It takes some effort to figure out what many of the parts are called because of the glorified names they use for different things. Once past that, and with the machine in hand, cleanup is very straight forward. We will be carpet cleaning far more often than ever before. It is well worth the money, and the best cleaner we have ever used.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Twohouses
Hamilton, MT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
11/11/2011

Customer review by KBEM

4.0 stars 11/11/2011 by KBEM
by KBEM

This vacuum really does a great job of cleaning dirty spots on the carpet. It's easy to function and easy to clean. The only reason I gave it a 4 star and not 5 is because I found the setup to be a bit difficult and could not install the handle properly. All in all, if you can figure out the setup process, this is a really great product for cleaning dirty carpet. It even did a great job on the entry way to my house which was actually quite dirty.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KBEM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
12/27/2011

Customer review by smilinggirl45

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by smilinggirl45
by smilinggirl45

I have had many shampooers through out my life, and this one is superior in all aspects.....It sucks up 90% of the water. Great product.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smilinggirl45
addison, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Sweet
5/28/2012

Customer review by bat27man

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by bat27man
by bat27man

This machine is amazing. i was a carpet cleaner for 8 years and watched people ruin their carpets with cheap machines but this thing is the real deal . I cant believe how well this machine clean floors. Must have

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bat27man
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
It exceeded my expectations
5/29/2012

Customer review by CarloX

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by CarloX
by CarloX

Easy to use. Results were as good as the professionals. I wish I could have taken before and after pictures!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CarloX
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
This product is AMAZING!
2/29/2012

Customer review by henniferx

5.0 stars 2/29/2012 by henniferx
by henniferx

I purchased this carpet cleaner today, and absolutely love it. This thing took out stains (including RED KOOLAID STAINS!) that I have hand scrubbed over and over and tried every trick in the book to get out. My son's carpet was absolutely disgusting and it looks BRAND NEW! I love being able to lift it up and bring outside to use in my car. People said it was heavy, and I really didn't find it to be too heavy. I mean I wouldn't want to pick it up and carry a mile but it didn't give me a back ache or anything just cleaning my carpets. And as great as a job as it did, I don't mind it being heavy. The only reason I gave it 4 stars for features is because i wish it had a little bigger water tank, but that would make the portability of the lift off part difficult and too heavy. I was able to do a very big room with two tanks of water, so they aren't that small. This was definitely the best carpet cleaner I've ever used! And well worth the $240!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
henniferx
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Met my expectations
12/14/2011

Customer review by MsPennyWise

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by MsPennyWise
by MsPennyWise

Have very light carpets (almost white) and the Bissell Lift Off did a great job and saved me the expense of a professional to clean them. After two cleanings I figure it will have paid for itself.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsPennyWise
Taunton, Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
This thing really sucks! (in a good way)
1/7/2012

Customer review by WkdMomX2

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by WkdMomX2
by WkdMomX2

I purchased this item after reading through the many reviews. I have 2 kids and 3 dogs who are always making some sort of mess. Many complained about assembly but it's just a little awkward because the 4 screws go in at an angle. With a thin, medium length phillips head screw driver it's was very easy. I don't find it to be overly heavy but the suction is very strong which can make it feel more-so. (not so much it was uncomfortable for me to use) I too, had clumps of hair everywhere but I believe it's because there was tons of fur stuck in my carpet. A little inconvenient but I just sent my 11 year old around with a towel to pick them up as I was going. I'd rather that stuff getting out of the carpet and it's easier to pick off the floor than the various places in the cleaner it could get stuck. I used the pretreatment on some tough stains as directed and my carpet now looks brand new. So far a very good purchase.. now it's just the test of time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WkdMomX2
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Decent Machine
3/24/2012

Customer review by SomeGuy2002

5.0 stars 3/24/2012 by SomeGuy2002
by SomeGuy2002

This machine went far beyond my expectations. Dog ate used charcoal ashes and vomited black greasy gooey mess all over carpet. Trying to clean by hand was smearing it into the carpet and making the problem far worse. We were getting nowhere. Ran out to the store and purchased this unit based on some of the reviews. Using the some pretreater and Bissell Deep Cleaning Formula the steam cleaner removed almost every bit of the stain. I went over the stains in different directions so the brushes scrubbed the carpet fibers differently. By the end of the first full pass the carpet was almost completely clean. To me this was the difference of purchasing new carpet and possibly getting evicted to staying in our home.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SomeGuy2002
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Amazing
1/27/2012

Customer review by The5hopaholic

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by The5hopaholic
by The5hopaholic

I am a clean freak, and also have 2 kids. I used this to clean some really dirty carpets at work and i was amazed at the way this thing cleans! It looks like a monster but it cleans soooooooooooo good! I also used the portable part of it to clean my sectional and was amazed at the turn out. The items cleaned dry pretty quickly, not as quick as the pro dry but the pro dry only surface cleans. The lift-off DEEP cleans. I love it well worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
The5hopaholic
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
This machine is OUTSTANDING!!!
10/17/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

We bought this shampooer hoping to bring our carpets back from the dead! I was just sure we were going to have to replace them. This machine saved them, and even more, made them look BRAND NEW again! Lifted stains from previous renters out that had been there for who knows how long.. I am MORE than satisfied with the quality of job this shampooer did!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Chehalis, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great savings over professional cleaners
10/27/2012

Customer review by Monkeybones86

5.0 stars 10/27/2012 by Monkeybones86
by Monkeybones86

I need my carpets cleaned every 6 months as I have a 9 and 2 year old that keep them dirty. Professional cleanings cost me $200 each time, so about $400 per year is what I was spending. After using this I will never hire a professional cleaner again. It did just good of a job. More labor intensive on my part as I have to get off the couch on my short weekend. But well worth it. We used the Bissell professional cleaner with it. If you are going to buy a carpet cleaner; get this cleaner! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Monkeybones86
Pella, Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 211 total reviews
1-20 of 211 reviews