Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
76
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 stars
40
1-20 of 277 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews
Not impressed!
5/4/2012

Customer review by Hja78

1.0 stars 5/4/2012 by Hja78
by Hja78

I was very excited to use this for the first time. I have a dog and 2 young children that leave messes and crumbs on my hardwood floor. I followed the recommendation of using the vac first then steam even though it states you can do both at once. The vac portion picked up some of the dirt but left a lot behind especially under the ledge of the cabinets and at baseboards. I then used the steam portion and again followed recommendations of not holding down the button continuously and only using it intermittently and it still left streaks on the floor. It also left wet strings of pet hair and dust that wasn't picked up when I vacuumed the area. Definitely doesn't stand up to the advertisement of what it can do and I feel it was pretty expensive for a machine that doesn't do what is advertised and that is just a so so machine! I am pretty sure I will be returning this and trying an alternative brand that is a bit more expensive but is worth if it can get the job done that this machine cannot! Very disappointed to say the least!

Comment from Joe - 5/7/2012

Sorry to hear about your experience with the Steam & Sweep Hja78. One point to mention is that if your floors have been waxed and you are using a steam product on them, that could cause the results you are mentioning. Make sure to keep this in mind: Your Steam & Sweep is designed to clean hard flooring such as ceramic tile, vinyl, marble, stone and sealed hard wood floors. Use of your Steam & Sweep on waxed or some unwaxed floors may result in a diminished glossiness. The Steam & Sweep is not for use on unsealed wood floors. For best results, test in an inconspicuous area and check the care instructions from your flooring manufacturer.

Hja78
Pa
Gender:Female
A Step Up
3/12/2012

Customer review by JustMe

4.0 stars 3/12/2012 by JustMe
by JustMe

This product is way better than lugging around the mop and bucket. I recommend using the sweeper first and then using the steamer, but if you're in a hurry, use both at the same time. It works great on ceramic tile and is about at the halfway mark on difficulty pushing between a standard mop and vacuum cleaner. (Probably quite a bit less than a vacuum cleaner.) It heats up very quickly and gives off very hot steam. I love that it comes with two pads. They come out great from the washing machine. You don't have to refill the water very often. Love that there are no chemicals, just hot water. All you have to do is open the windows if it's nice out and light a candle. The feel good clean this product gives is great. Chemicals are so bad when used as often as you do when you clean and this product gets rid of them. The cord is plenty long and the product isn't crazy loud. All in all, happy with my purchase. Pleased that Bissell is the first to try to make a step up in the steam cleaner department. It's a keeper. Fun to use something new.

JustMe
Gender:Female
Really cleans my floors
3/30/2012

Customer review by Eddies mom

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Eddies mom
by Eddies mom

I have had this steam and sweep for a few months now and I love it. It cleans my floors really well. I can feel the difference after I have used this machine; my floor feel extremely clean. The way I use it is, I vacuum my laminate floors with my feather weight vacuum and then I steam my floors with the steam and sweep. The only issue I have is that it leaves my floors pretty wet and I have to dry them or they have water stains on them. I have a dry mop that I use to wipe up the floors after I do each section. It is a little bit of a pain but when I feel how clean my floor come I don't mind a bit. I like that the head of the steam and sweep is easy to move around in order to get corners or edges. It even cleans grease of the floor from behind the stove. I would not want to be without it. Like I said before the only problem I have is it leaves my floors pretty wet. Oh and I use distilled water as recommended in the instructions.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Thanks for your feedback Eddies mom. The ‘steam on demand’ trigger does not need to be held the whole time, as this may be causing the oversaturation and excess water on the floor. Try intermittently depressing the trigger. This should help.

Eddies mom
Countryside, IL 60525, USA
Gender:Female
Disappointing
12/31/2012

Customer review by SW

3.0 stars 12/31/2012 by SW
by SW

The steamer seemed to leave streaks on my dark tile floor. Perhaps it will improve as I use it more effectively. I vacumed prior to using it, thinking that would be helpful since I have pets. Floor looked dull when finished and results were disappointing though I went over it again. Cleaning the dirt trap was a bit messy and getting that part to stay on the mop bottom was iffy. It did not stay on easily. My steamer did not come with instructions or warranty and I'm wondering if it was a defective machine returned to the store. Customer service was helpful in directing me to online instructions and guiding me in putting the sweeper together. They were able to register the product online. I just don't think all that time on the phone should have been neccessary. I will say the service person was very patient while I did what she told me to do, waited while I got on and off the phone, even though it was a tiresome activity.

Comment from Lisa - 1/2/2013

Thank you for your review. Make sure not to spray too long in one area. With waxed floors this can cause streaking. The streaks can be removed with a dry cloth and vinegar. This should reduce over time. We hope this helps.

SW
Corpus Christi, TX
Gender:Female
Total Waste of Money - I am SO disappointed
2/12/2012

Customer review by island508

1.0 stars 2/12/2012 by island508
by island508

I was so excited to purchase this product - having white tile floors = two small dogs and two cats, and visitors. I have been bitterly disappointed, When I received it the water tank was broken and I had to call and speak to a rep and then wait for a replacement. I sweep and/or fiber mop at least once a day, so the floors are more in need of finish, rather than deep cleaning. I have to vacuum before using the steamer , or else dirt/dust/spills, whatever will just get smeared and I end up using a fiber mop to clean it. Also, the steamer quite often leaves small puddles of water. How safe is that on white tile? I have borrowed and used my daughter's Shark S&S and am so sorry I didn't purchase that. I was going to donate this product to Goodwill, after only five uses, but I don't want anyone else to waste their money. Shame on you Bissell. This product leaves a stain on your good name that the S&S just smears..

island508
Venice, Florida
Gender:Female
love it!love it! love it!
3/10/2012

Customer review by Annie56

5.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Annie56
by Annie56

You name it,I have bought it.I have tried for sooo long to find a great floor cleaner that will give me a bit of a break.I absolutely love your Bissell steam and sweep.I have no problem getting under my cupboards on the floor.The sweeping feature does just fine.You have to get to know your machine I guess.I take care of children in my home and I get bits of playdough,flour,sawdust and cookie and cracker crumbs.Of course if you spill say,a box of marbles,that may be an issue!! Realistically;would you attempt to pick those up with a vacuum?????A can of peaches may pose a problem also.Again,would you attempt to pick those up with a vacuum?? I highly recommend it.it is well made and I like that it feels substantial.Other brands feel as if they would dissapear in a strong breeze!! This is a highly reliable machine.try it!!

Annie56
Sheboygan Wisconsin
Gender:Female
Absolutely Love It! Pick one up today!
1/31/2012

Customer review by chloeev

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by chloeev
by chloeev

I am a volunteer foster for a dog rescue group and have quite a few Senior and Puppy Mill dogs that just cannot navigate the stairway to go down to the doggy door and outside to potty. While I put down potty pads, sometimes these Seniors just don't make it to the pad, or sometimes can't position over it. That means messes to clean up! I originally wanted something to use that would be light and take some of the work out of sweeping and cleaning the floor. I suffer from RA and osteoarthritis and cannot do heavy lifting or work. This machine is everything I need! It cleans up the messes from the dogs. It is light and easy to work with. It takes one step out of my busy day..no need to sweep before cleaning the floor! When I use my Steam & Sweep, I feel my floors are so clean, I could eat off them!! Not so when I use a mop and just push the dirt and grime around the floor. When I use the Steam & Sweep, the odors are gone as well as the dirt. Perfect for a household that wants to use less cleaners for a healthier environment. The pad that collects the dirt is easily washed out under the faucet and hung up to dry for the next use. I recommend this product for everyone!

chloeev
Weare, NH
Gender:Female
Yes there is steam!
1/31/2012

Customer review by Renaegade

2.0 stars 1/31/2012 by Renaegade
by Renaegade

I purchased the Steam&Sweep to keep my floors clean since I have 18 mo old twins that play on the floor. The sweep part does not pick up any small dirt and the steam mop pads tend to just push it around after you clean 1/2 of a floor. I have to go back and use a wash cloth to pick up dirt that it leaves behind. It does not get very close to edges. After using I clean the mop pads by hand and let them air dry. The next time I use them they made my house smell not clean. Kind of like a mildew smell. This is even after scrubbing the pads with cleaner to make sure they were clean and hanging them to dry. I think this 2 in 1 system is giving me more work to do in the long run! There are no wheels so you have to use a lot of upper body strength to use this. But, yes there is steam!

Renaegade
CA
Gender:Female
I LOVE this machine !
2/5/2012

Customer review by Cindy

5.0 stars 2/5/2012 by Cindy
by Cindy

I have a huge ceramic tiled kitchen, and all hardwood floors in the main floor of our home. With the extra long cord, I can do the entire area (kitchen, LR, DR, foyer, and mudroom). I have an in home daycare, so I use the machine frequently during the week. It is amazing and cleans well. It picks up dirt well and leaves the floors clean and sanitized. Yes, it doesnt get close to the walls, where some of the debris ends up and I do have to take out my Bissell vacuum with the nozzle to get those hard to reach areas. I loved it so much, I bought one for my daughter and one for mother-in-law. FYI - I use distilled water in the machine, bought some extra pads so that I can be ready to clean . I would recommend this machine highly. So glad it was recommended to me.

Cindy
Poughkeepsie, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Steam & Sweep Pet
12/10/2012

Customer review by clean freak

2.0 stars 12/10/2012 by clean freak
by clean freak

Dear Bissell: I was so excited when I seen this product on line.I already have a bissell floor steamer that I purchased a few years back and I absolutely l love it.I was trying to kill two birds with one stone,but unfortunately this product did not work for me. I have wood floors throughout my house and tile in bathrooms,also two dogs. When using the steam and sweep I wasnt happy with the marks the rubber brushes left on my floor,I still had to go over it with my other mop..I have quite a large area to cover so it really didnt work for me because I still had to do it twice. I truly love bissell products and a clean house(floors) so if there is any other product you might have that would work for me let me know. I will be returning this very soon. Thank You

Comment from Lisa - 12/12/2012

We have not come across with what you are describing. Perhaps the Flip It would work better for your floors. To view, click at this link http://www.bissell.com/flip-it-hard-floor-cleaner/.

clean freak
Milford ,MI
Gender:Female
Awesome Product
2/6/2012

Customer review by alot of pets

4.0 stars 2/6/2012 by alot of pets
by alot of pets

I just bought the steam and sweep and I love it. My floors are cleaner than I have ever seen them in a long time when I was using a regular mop. I have two dogs and three cats and this product is worth the money because I can sweep and mop at the same time. The only thing that I dont like is getting use to the steam you cant go as fast as a mop and you have to go a little slower. You dont have to use any chemicals in it so you save money on buying mopping chemicals The other bad thing is it is hard to get it tight places and corners like around the base boards and toliet. The sweeper isnt as good as your normal vaccum but it does just fine if you take your time with it. If it wasnt for that I would of giving this product a five star rating.

alot of pets
Gender:Male
Awesome product
9/16/2012

Customer review by Nana

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by Nana
by Nana

Love this product. I have a very bad back and waiting on surgery. This has enabled me to keep my floors spotless with no pain. I have read complaints about sweeper not picking up, it does not work on a heavy soiled floor. I sweep mine the old fashion way if to much has been dragged in by grandchildren and dogs. As far as not getting into corner, well neither does a mop. You will always have to give those a little swipe . Any streaking you have on title or wood floors could also be caused by the water in your area. I use distilled water only and have never had a mineral deposit or streak from chemicals used in our area in the water system. Bissell is my hero and have recommended it to all my friends. Thank you for your innovative product.

Nana
Mississippi, USA
Gender:Female
A Must Have Cleaning Item
6/26/2012

Customer review by MJMama45

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by MJMama45
by MJMama45

After using the steam&sweep for several months now, I will never go back to a nasty mop! The only thing I don't like is that it doesn't sweep very well, so I usually use a broom before I steam. I still keep the sweeping option on though to pick up any left overs from the broom. I LOVE the way it cleans my floor. A mop was streaking and this doesn't seem to do that as much. What I love the most is not having to use chemicals on my floors because I have a 10 m. old who is crawling everywhere. I feel like my floors are cleaner and safer for everyone. I use the distilled water like it recommends and I have only bought 1 or 2 jugs since December. Again, love this product all around...except for the sweeper.

MJMama45
Springfield, MO
Gender:Female
Not Perfect, but very convenient
2/27/2012

Customer review by GSLadyMD

4.0 stars 2/27/2012 by GSLadyMD
by GSLadyMD

The Steam amd Sweep does combine 2 tasks well, but I agree, you have to do them separately. Still better than dragging out 2 machines. It is a little heavy to push. Easy to clean the machine and it does have a nice long cord, enough water to do a good size floor, and removes tough dirt. It does Pergo well, not putting too much water on the floor. I wish it did corners and edges better, however. You have to contort yourself and the handle to really get the corners and edges. Sometimes, it just won't get in a spot. Barhroom floors can be the worst for this, where you really want to steam/sweep well around toilets, tubs, etc. Overall, for price, convenience, quality,etc., it is a great machine.

GSLadyMD
Maryland, USA
Gender:Female
Disappointed!
3/27/2013

Customer review by KJR10071

1.0 stars 3/27/2013 by KJR10071
by KJR10071

The steamer has no power. The brush has no suction. The brush just throws the dirt from one side of the room to the other. The machine is too heavy and too bulky to fit in small crevices, under furniture and in tight spots in the bathroom. The steamer does not hold much water and even with their special liquid the floor was left with too many streaks. I cannot use tap water so it makes it expensive to fill it. I truly did not like this product. I've owned a competitor's brand of this type of product and I was happy with it. I gave it to my mother but couldn't afford to buy one for myself. I went the cheaper route with Bissell and I was truly disappointed. I am sending it back today.

Comment from Lisa - 3/29/2013

We are sorry for your disappointment. We do have a great FAQ section on our website if you would like to check it out to save the hassle of sending your machine back. To view, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/faqs/?c=318&sc=3327388

KJR10071
Miami, FL, USA
Gender:Female
Steam Vac operation
6/24/2012

Customer review by trese1158

2.0 stars 6/24/2012 by trese1158
by trese1158

Vacuum is ok, but doesn't reach corners or edges, so I still need to crawl on the floor with a dustpan and brush to complete the job. The steam mop is great for the area it reaches, but the pad is behind the sweeper mechanism so mopping doesn't reach to the edge of the floor, pushing forward. Unit is quite heavy, and steam trigger must be held down all the time while pushing the mop to benefit from the steam; When I purchased it, I thought the trigger was for an extra steam shot and the unit would gently steam on its own. Also one of the screws for the handle was stripped when I opened the box, so I had to find another that fit before I could even begin to clean!

Comment from Joe - 6/27/2012

Thanks for the review Trese1158. Make sure to use the ‘steam on demand’ trigger intermittently as it doesn't need to be held the whole time. This could cause oversaturation and excess water on the floor leading to streaking. I hope this helps.

trese1158
Lancaster, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Somewhat Disappointed
1/31/2012

Customer review by Sammies Grammie

3.0 stars 1/31/2012 by Sammies Grammie
by Sammies Grammie

I purchasedthe cleaner with the intention of cleaning my lamanite flooring as with the current mopping I was getting streaking, no matter how many times I wiped up the floor ( changing water, microfiber cloths). I still have streaking with the cleaner and I have used the correct water and even after using 3 different cloths attached, still have a tremendous amount of cloudiness and streaks. I have light colored flooring in the kitchen and halls and a darker colored flooring in the family room and dining room. I must say on tile flooring it does wonders ( this is travertine flooring)! The bathrooms and the family area in the lower level of the house are spotless.

Sammies Grammie
Ohio
Gender:Female
Great for fast jobs!
2/27/2012

Customer review by dishbot

4.0 stars 2/27/2012 by dishbot
by dishbot

I like the Steam and Sweep mop for fast cleaning. It is not that good for heavy cleaning. However, if you have a small kitchen area that needs a fast good cleaning it will do the trick! The steam also helps get the stuck on sticky stuff. My kitchen floor is white, so you can imagine! It needs to be cleaned on a daily basis and I just can not break out the old mop and bucket every single day. I also have lots of pet hair. The suction part of it is ok but not great. They need to improve the suction/sweep part of this so that it will pick up more loose dirt and cat hair. I think it is a great product for fast and small areas. I am happy that I purchased it!

Comment from Joe - 2/28/2012

Dishbot, thanks for the thorough review. The sweeper part is just that, a sweeper. Unfortunately, there is no suction because there is no vacuum. We will pass your feedback on to the proper department. Thanks again.

dishbot
Austin, TX, USA
Gender:Female
disappointed
2/24/2012

Customer review by rubysez

2.0 stars 2/24/2012 by rubysez
by rubysez

I thought this product would be the perfect answer to my house full of tile floors, but it's not. First, it is somewhat heavy to push around. Secondly, if you use the sweep and steam together, and have textured tile as I do, some of the dirt that is caught on the cloth is left behind as a wet mush. It works better if you sweep all the floors to be cleaned and then go back with a clean mop head and steam them which takes much more time and defeats the 2 in 1 feature. Also there is a design flaw - the downward curved handle catches in my pants pocket regularly. I guess the solution to this is not to wear pants with pockets when I clean - hardly practical!

Comment from Joe - 2/27/2012

If you have tile floors, depending on the depth of the grout, it may be beneficial to vacuum all debris up off the floor prior to steam mopping. We're sorry the handle is giving you issues, the design of it is widely known for its comfort and ease of use.

rubysez
Hilton Head Island, SC
Gender:Female
Great product.
1/31/2012

Customer review by Busy Girl

5.0 stars 1/31/2012 by Busy Girl
by Busy Girl

I purchased this product based on favorable reviews from other sites. I am glad I did. I use the Steam&Sweep primarily for the steam feature on my hard wood floors although the sweep feature comes in handy for small debris. I have about 2,000 sq. ft. of hard wood floors and two long haired dogs. Realistically, this is not to be used as a heavy duty vacuum; however, it does clean the hard wood floors nicely without leaving excessive moisture on the floors and that is what I wanted. Note: the Steam&Sweep does have some weight to it as opposed to a sponge mop or other similar products but I find it quite manageable.

Busy Girl
Keizer, OR and La Quinta, CA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews