Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

295 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
116
4 stars
76
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 stars
40
1-20 of 277 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews
Like it but.....
12/19/2010

Customer review by RoomToRoam

4.0 stars 12/19/2010 by RoomToRoam
by RoomToRoam

I found that this product works well. Unlike others, I found that the vacuum picked up great. I have 5 dogs and 4 cats with hardwood and tile floors. This is the but... part - with so many inside animals I found that I really needed to pre-vacuum before steam mopping. I just have to many animals for the built in vacuum. Someone with few or no animals would probably find that the vacuum-mop combo would be great for them. I have a Hoover Quick Broom (I love it, best vacuum for hardwood and tile floors, but idiot Hoover stopped making). If I am going to pre-vacuum with the Quick Broom then I think I would prefer to have a Steam Mop only model. Others complaining about streaking on the hardwood - they need to change to a clean mop head cloth. These are easy to change. Also the dirt cup was easy to empty but small for the number of my animals. First time use did take quite a while for the water to work it's way through the filter, just wait the steam will come.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RoomToRoam
Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Could have been designed better
1/19/2011

Customer review by reliabilityshopper

3.0 stars 1/19/2011 by reliabilityshopper
by reliabilityshopper

Purchased this product based on the average 4 star rating it received both here and other sites. I would not rate this a 4 star product. I agree that it does the job, but would think that after all the trouble they went through designing a product that sweeps and mops at the same time that they could have at least put some kind of edge attachment or removable hose for getting the dirt from corners and edges. Also, the device needs a slightly bigger dirt cup. Once the small dirt cup is full (I have pet hair, so it fills fast) the device drops debris everywhere. I have a large area I am using the sweep/mop in (about 600 square feet) and it takes quite a bit of time to sweep then mop which is recommended. Have found myself using the broom again quite frequently.

Was this review helpful? (89) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reliabilityshopper
Sparks, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My floors have never been this clean!
11/22/2010

Customer review by ranchcity

4.0 stars 11/22/2010 by ranchcity
by ranchcity

Very impressed with this steam cleaner. If you take your time just like using a steam cleaner on your carpets with slow back and forth motions your floors will sparkle. No kidding, it's terrific. What's not too impressive is the sweeper vacuum. I sweep my floors first with a broom and don't bother trying to use that option on it because it just doesn't get everything up around the edges and in tight places. But besides that this was a great buy. I will never mop again. It's also is a great money saver, no chemicals to add and pads come off and can be thrown in the wash.

Was this review helpful? (63) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ranchcity
Terrebonne, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Give it a chance
12/29/2010

Customer review by mt4704

4.0 stars 12/29/2010 by mt4704
by mt4704

Just got it today. I did have to call Bissell customer service because there was no steam & the steam lever made a funny noise. Apparently, you must hold it in order for the pump to prime. Then the steam will come out. The sweeper part works as expected. If you have problems with hand strength or coordination, this may not be the product for you. It requires you to use some considerable strength to steer it as the head is not very flexible. Overall, I think it did a good job. And do not mistake the dustbin release for a place to put your foot to deploy the unit. The dustbin will come off, then you have to clean it up again. Also, the unit should be used only with distilled water. This helps to prolong the filter.

Was this review helpful? (56) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mt4704
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
GREAT PRODUCT!
1/8/2011

Customer review by MightAsWellFarm

4.0 stars 1/8/2011 by MightAsWellFarm
by MightAsWellFarm

Love this!! it vacuums and steams just as it says!! pros: you can flip a switch to turn on and off the vacuum, and a trigger to steam, so you can choose vac & steam, just vac or just steam...NICE! removable water tank...much easier than like the shark steam mop where you funnel it in. pads remove easily, wash easily, and go back on easily. it comes with 2. cons: the only thing i was a bit disappointed in was the swivel head sticks in one position rather than swivels easily. the first time you use it, it takes A LONG time to get the steam to prime up. It says it in the manual, but they extremely understated it. not a big deal, but I did think it was broke at first. the cord is SO LONG it's almost annoying, but it does wrap up on the handle, so it's not really a con, just unhandy some times... overall, I am a mother with 3 kids under 4 and two inside dogs. LOTS of messes and I LOVE being able to vac & clean our hardwood and tile at the same time. It really does cut the cleaning time in half.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MightAsWellFarm
NW Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great sweeper if you like breaking yr back
12/16/2011

Customer review by candy68

1.0 stars 12/16/2011 by candy68
by candy68

I was so dissapointed,this does not pick up any dirt at all, not even the smallest of things. You have to sweep every inch of the floor first before using this steam and sweep. If you have that fake hardwood please dont consider this product, its leaves them dull and looks as if theres a very dull film on them. Gawd 4 bid if you have a dog or cat it will not pick up any hair at all, why they call it a sweep and clean is really a joke. If theres anything on the floor before using it makes little piles all over then you have to re-sweep with another sweeper. I picked this steam and sweep up 3 hours ago at walmart, and its took me 2 hours just doing my kitchen floor. IT IS USELESS, and as im sitting here writing this im waiting on it to cool down so I can repack it in the box to return! PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
candy68
Indianapolis,In
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
This will make a big difference!
11/17/2010

Customer review by cooksroom

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by cooksroom
by cooksroom

I just unpacked and assembled this product. I have about 1000 sq. feet of hard flooring on my ground floor and a dog and I'm in the woods - the floor gets sooo nasty! You use the sweeper feature dry first - do the whole floor. Also if the floor has alot of debris you really should use a broom then the sweeper feature then the steam and wow!! my floors are spotless! I have on white socks to prove it too!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cooksroom
Manassas, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
not too pleased
1/8/2011

Customer review by pikegirl

3.0 stars 1/8/2011 by pikegirl
by pikegirl

vacuum works okay. mop pads do not hug the floor very well. doesn't clean as well as my h20 mop.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pikegirl
pike county, il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Labor-saving tool!
11/7/2010

Customer review by Pars0n

5.0 stars 11/7/2010 by Pars0n
by Pars0n

This Vac-Stream Cleaner eliminates the need to remove loose dirt from floor prior to steam-cleaning it. It is now a one-step operation to very clean tile.

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pars0n
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not impressed!
5/4/2012

Customer review by Hja78

1.0 stars 5/4/2012 by Hja78
by Hja78

I was very excited to use this for the first time. I have a dog and 2 young children that leave messes and crumbs on my hardwood floor. I followed the recommendation of using the vac first then steam even though it states you can do both at once. The vac portion picked up some of the dirt but left a lot behind especially under the ledge of the cabinets and at baseboards. I then used the steam portion and again followed recommendations of not holding down the button continuously and only using it intermittently and it still left streaks on the floor. It also left wet strings of pet hair and dust that wasn't picked up when I vacuumed the area. Definitely doesn't stand up to the advertisement of what it can do and I feel it was pretty expensive for a machine that doesn't do what is advertised and that is just a so so machine! I am pretty sure I will be returning this and trying an alternative brand that is a bit more expensive but is worth if it can get the job done that this machine cannot! Very disappointed to say the least!

Comment from Joe - 5/7/2012

Sorry to hear about your experience with the Steam & Sweep Hja78. One point to mention is that if your floors have been waxed and you are using a steam product on them, that could cause the results you are mentioning. Make sure to keep this in mind: Your Steam & Sweep is designed to clean hard flooring such as ceramic tile, vinyl, marble, stone and sealed hard wood floors. Use of your Steam & Sweep on waxed or some unwaxed floors may result in a diminished glossiness. The Steam & Sweep is not for use on unsealed wood floors. For best results, test in an inconspicuous area and check the care instructions from your flooring manufacturer.

Hja78
Pa
Gender:Female
Great for tile and hard wood floors
3/29/2012

Customer review by Aloha94

5.0 stars 3/29/2012 by Aloha94
by Aloha94

I love this product. I normally swept my floors, then swiffered, then mopped my tile and hard wood floors. This product actually eliminates two out of the three steps. It truly sweeps and steam mops at the same time. You do have to go at a reasonable pace, I know I normally vacuum quickly but with this you want to slow it down just a bit. It is so convenient and easy to use and clean up after use. You fill it up with water and then off you go. That easy!! I feel like those commercials on tv when the mothers are cleaning the house and get finished earlier than usual with a new product. I am so those mom's. I go over my floors once and off I go. I would totally recommend this product. The one change I would make is the corners and sides of walls. You have to go sideways to hit the wall sides, straight on wont pick up all the little things. Other than that, its wonderful. My favorite new cleaning item!!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Aloha94
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
A Step Up
3/12/2012

Customer review by JustMe

4.0 stars 3/12/2012 by JustMe
by JustMe

This product is way better than lugging around the mop and bucket. I recommend using the sweeper first and then using the steamer, but if you're in a hurry, use both at the same time. It works great on ceramic tile and is about at the halfway mark on difficulty pushing between a standard mop and vacuum cleaner. (Probably quite a bit less than a vacuum cleaner.) It heats up very quickly and gives off very hot steam. I love that it comes with two pads. They come out great from the washing machine. You don't have to refill the water very often. Love that there are no chemicals, just hot water. All you have to do is open the windows if it's nice out and light a candle. The feel good clean this product gives is great. Chemicals are so bad when used as often as you do when you clean and this product gets rid of them. The cord is plenty long and the product isn't crazy loud. All in all, happy with my purchase. Pleased that Bissell is the first to try to make a step up in the steam cleaner department. It's a keeper. Fun to use something new.

JustMe
Gender:Female
love it
7/8/2011

Customer review by lovesrings

5.0 stars 7/8/2011 by lovesrings
by lovesrings
Top 1000 contributor

I had a steam mop but I had to sweep the floor first & it had to be pumped for the steam to come out. It was a pain. The new one is great. It sweep the floor at the same time it is steaming & it does not have to be pumped. It does a beautiful job cleaning the floor. It makes it fun to clean the floor. It even use it on the hard wood floors. I am so glat I bought it. Thank you Walmart for having it at such a great price. And Walmart's price is very good. I did check other stores and Walmart had the best price. Again thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovesrings
Garden Grove, Calif
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Top 1000 contributor
Really cleans my floors
3/30/2012

Customer review by Eddies mom

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Eddies mom
by Eddies mom

I have had this steam and sweep for a few months now and I love it. It cleans my floors really well. I can feel the difference after I have used this machine; my floor feel extremely clean. The way I use it is, I vacuum my laminate floors with my feather weight vacuum and then I steam my floors with the steam and sweep. The only issue I have is that it leaves my floors pretty wet and I have to dry them or they have water stains on them. I have a dry mop that I use to wipe up the floors after I do each section. It is a little bit of a pain but when I feel how clean my floor come I don't mind a bit. I like that the head of the steam and sweep is easy to move around in order to get corners or edges. It even cleans grease of the floor from behind the stove. I would not want to be without it. Like I said before the only problem I have is it leaves my floors pretty wet. Oh and I use distilled water as recommended in the instructions.

Comment from Joe - 4/2/2012

Thanks for your feedback Eddies mom. The ‘steam on demand’ trigger does not need to be held the whole time, as this may be causing the oversaturation and excess water on the floor. Try intermittently depressing the trigger. This should help.

Eddies mom
Countryside, IL 60525, USA
Gender:Female
10/14/2011

Customer review by jkm1960

1.0 stars 10/14/2011 by jkm1960
by jkm1960

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone. There should be an on/off switch for the steam function. I wish I had purchased a Hoover Floormate instead.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jkm1960
Would recommend to a friend? No
11/8/2010

Customer review by Gjhifckj

1.0 stars 11/8/2010 by Gjhifckj
by Gjhifckj

Did not work well at all. Hard to push. Streaked my floor and the wipes on the bottom didn't clean well in the wash. I am sending this back.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gjhifckj
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
The only true all in one all at once
7/6/2011

Customer review by mom2lala

5.0 stars 7/6/2011 by mom2lala
by mom2lala

I love it! It sweeps into it's own dust pan and steam wipes the floor behind it without having to switch parts. Great for under the highchair -all you moms out there know what I'm talkin about!! my tile grout stays cleaner.... It cleans a wide variety (cat hair bread crumbs spilled milk carrot mush jam) all at the same time! and you can rinse and ring out the pad in the sink by hand super easy, The only thing is I wish it was cordless :) overall very impressed

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mom2lala
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointing
12/31/2012

Customer review by SW

3.0 stars 12/31/2012 by SW
by SW

The steamer seemed to leave streaks on my dark tile floor. Perhaps it will improve as I use it more effectively. I vacumed prior to using it, thinking that would be helpful since I have pets. Floor looked dull when finished and results were disappointing though I went over it again. Cleaning the dirt trap was a bit messy and getting that part to stay on the mop bottom was iffy. It did not stay on easily. My steamer did not come with instructions or warranty and I'm wondering if it was a defective machine returned to the store. Customer service was helpful in directing me to online instructions and guiding me in putting the sweeper together. They were able to register the product online. I just don't think all that time on the phone should have been neccessary. I will say the service person was very patient while I did what she told me to do, waited while I got on and off the phone, even though it was a tiresome activity.

Comment from Lisa - 1/2/2013

Thank you for your review. Make sure not to spray too long in one area. With waxed floors this can cause streaking. The streaks can be removed with a dry cloth and vinegar. This should reduce over time. We hope this helps.

SW
Corpus Christi, TX
Gender:Female
It doesn't clean it smears, falls over
7/27/2011

Customer review by babeegirl5056

1.0 stars 7/27/2011 by babeegirl5056
by babeegirl5056

This is the worst thing I have ever purchased by Bissell. The delivery and ordering from Walmart was great. I love Walmart. But this Bissell is pure nothing. It falls over, the clearning it does is not cleaning, it just does not clean it smears. It vaccums very well, that is all that it does. Bad decision to buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
babeegirl5056
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does not live up to expectations
6/5/2011

Customer review by EdLinBoca

1.0 stars 6/5/2011 by EdLinBoca
by EdLinBoca

This item has a very poorly designed dirt tray that holds vey little dirt and is not truly self contained. As a result when trying to remove the dirt tray to empty it it does not drop out and thus the dirt dumps on the floor requiring manual pick up with a rag or dust brush and dust pan. This is a major design flaw that limits the usefulness of the product. The steam portion of the unit works well but because of the sweeper function in front of the steam pad, the steam pad makes poor contact witht he ground and is very difficult to manuver into corners (actully impossible to get into cornoers or close to walls). The bottom line is you are best off with 2 seperate tools one for sweeping up debris and one for steam cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
EdLinBoca
Boca Raton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 277 total reviews
1-20 of 277 reviews