Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 673 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

673 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

673 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
483
4 stars
119
3 stars
25
2 stars
17
1 stars
29
1-20 of 518 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 518 total reviews
1-20 of 518 reviews
Barely tepid.
12/4/2010

Customer review by southbaygirl

1.0 stars 12/4/2010 by southbaygirl
by southbaygirl

Was very excited about getting this blanket. Looks pretty nice and not bulky BUT it doesn't get warm enough. I bought two, so at first I thought one was defective, so I tried the second one - same story. Put it on H, which is the hottest setting out of 10 and I can barely feel the heat. Also, the connection cord/plug isn't designed well, IMHO. It says in the instructions that it needs to click to be properly connected. To do so, you need to push the very rigid plastic "prongs" on this connector, beyond two equally rigid plastic "bumps", located on the female side of the connector (the one built-in in the blanket). I was sure I was going to break it. I had to pry the prongs away from the main part, to be able to push them beyond those bumps. I think it might easily break if I were to undo it to wash the blanket. Will probably return. P.S. Just tried to unplug the connector. Practically impossible. Almost broke it and I DID break my nails, prying it apart.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southbaygirl
Redondo Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
It serves it's purpose
10/22/2010

Customer review by cognitoo

4.0 stars 10/22/2010 by cognitoo
by cognitoo

Received the blanket in blue and plugged it in and it works just fine. I lived in Rhode Island for 15 years and was not exactly sure what "Newport Blue" was going to look like or even what "Newport Blue" actually was. The color in the picture of the description does Not look like the actual color of the blanket. It is a very Dead Blue / Flat blue. I did not buy this blanket as an item that I was decorating a bedroom with so it was not a big concern however if the color is crucial to you then be prepared. As for the electric cord; if your electrical socket is more than 4 feet from the foot of your bed be prepared to attach an extension cord to plug it in with. I keep the power switch next to my pillow and it is perfect right there. As another reviewer mentioned: It does indeed take 2 hands to change the heating level which is Not a bad thing. My bed is a Queen size and I bought the Twin size blanket and it is perfect. I sleep alone so if you have a partner you do need the Queen size.... Buy it for sure, but do not expect the color to match the pic

Was this review helpful? (67) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cognitoo
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Blanket but difficult cord
1/11/2011

Customer review by stardust8

4.0 stars 1/11/2011 by stardust8
by stardust8

I saw some negative reviews and I would be in the same boat if I hadn't figured out the cord. At first I "thought" I plugged it in correctly but noticed that after a few uses my blanket wasn't "working" anymore. I was frustrated because I didn't have my receipt to return it. Plus I really wanted an affordable heating blanket! I noticed the cord would come out easy and thought, that can't be right. So I re-read the instructions specifically the cord part and their picture showed it should click, but no matter how hard I was pressing it wouldn't go further, so I was worried that if I pressed any harder I would break the cord. So My mistake was leaving it pressed on HALF WAY because the cord is ridiculously hard to snap in to the point where it seems like you're not suppose to press it any further. Once I managed that, my blanket works as it should! So to all the negative reviews, make sure your cord is properly plugged in by sternly pressing in the cord where the side bumps GO PAST the raised edges. Once you hear that CLICK, you got it! One more thing... Mine takes a while to fully get warmed up to it's number (approximately 20-30 mins) but once it does, it's great!

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stardust8
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
worse electric warmer
1/5/2011

Customer review by sheikwil

1.0 stars 1/5/2011 by sheikwil
by sheikwil

I purchased this blanket less than 30 days ago and it has stopped working already. Don't buy any of the sumbeam electric blankets. I have lupus and arthritis and these warming blanket help me in the winter time so I don't hurt so bad in the mornings. I have been very loyal to Sunbeam, I have had to purchase an electric blanket every winter season because I have not had any luck with their blankets and I am a loyal customer to products I like. This year, I changed to a different style than I usually buy thinking maybe it was just the style that was the problem, but no such luck, this blanket hasn't lasted 30 days. I am so disappointed and this is my last purchase of any sunbeam electric blanket. I actually just purchased another brand thru JCPennys and it a more expensive blanket but was on sale for just $5 more than this one, but all the reviews I have read were great. So don't waste your money. Sunbeam has lost me as a customer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sheikwil
syracuse, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fleece is SO much better!
10/4/2011

Customer review by auntsusie

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by auntsusie
by auntsusie

I love the fleece blanket, even when it isn't turned on! It's softer and more cuddly than the wool ones. And when it's heating, it's wonderful. Just one small thing...the website said it wasn't available in stores but I saw one in our local Walmart yesterday, $6 cheaper than what I paid.

Was this review helpful? (52) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
auntsusie
Thomasville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
YOU MUST HEAR THE CLICK WHEN YOU PLUG IT IN!!
11/29/2011

Customer review by twinmomsavvyshopper

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by twinmomsavvyshopper
by twinmomsavvyshopper

I purchased this blanket last year and it worked great. I got it out of storage this Fall and had been unable to get it to work. I was pretty mad thinking even though it was relatively inexpensive compared to other electric blankets, it's not a good deal if it only lasts one year! I was on the verge of throwing it away and purchasing another (and different) one when I read that one reviewer said you have to hear the click when you plug it in. So I decided to try it one more time before spending money on another one. I am so glad I did! It appears to be working again! So, before you throw it out, make sure you push the prongs all the way past the bumps on the sides AND hear the click. I had the prongs pushed past the bumps, but it still didn't work. I had to unplug it (which is not easy) and pushed kind of hard when I re-plugged it. I heard the click, and lo and behold the light came on! Thank you reviewers, you just saved me from spending another $30-$40 on a more expensive blanket!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
twinmomsavvyshopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best value for the best electric blanket
3/9/2011

Customer review by TDP7

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by TDP7
by TDP7

Prior to buying the Sunbeam blanket, we bought two different brands of electric blanket and both were unfit for use though for different reasons. After returning those, we found the Sunbeam on sale for a great price and have been *extremely* happy with the blanket since day one. The Sunbeam fits well even though it is a king size and our bed is a California king. That was an unexpected but pleasant surprise as the prior two blankets we bought, though they claimed to be for Cal King, were too narrow. Score a big one for Sunbeam. The blanket itself looks and feels great. The feel of the blanket is wonderful - soft, supple and kinda rich feeling. The blanket seems to warm up quickly (we've not timed it, but haven't had to as it's always been warm when we needed it to be) and we set it on low to 3 and are quite nice and even a bit toasty. We're in California where our nights have been in the 28 to 36 degree range, so those of you in Minnesota or thereabouts may need to turn it up higher, but when I set it on 5, I felt like a roasting turkey... All in all, we are very pleased with the Sunbeam blanket and definitely would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TDP7
Northern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Electric Blanket
10/25/2010

Customer review by WeeklyShopperontheinterne

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by WeeklyShopperontheinterne
by WeeklyShopperontheinterne

This is the best electric blanket I have ever purchased. It keeps me warm even on the lowest setting.

Was this review helpful? (75) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WeeklyShopperontheinterne
Augusta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Dies after a few months
12/2/2010

Customer review by moondoggie999

1.0 stars 12/2/2010 by moondoggie999
by moondoggie999

I have owned 3 of these sunbeam electric blankets (bought all from Wal-Mart) I bought a twin size for my wife on her side of the bed and it died after 3-4 months of use. Next season I bought her another one thinking it was just a fluke, nope, same result. In Dec of 2009 I wanted a queen size for both of us so I went looking around at a bunch of diff stores and everyone carried Sunbeam! So I caved and bought a Queen Size Sunbeam at Walmart (best price) hoping for the best and guess what??? Yep, after a few months of use it died too! Now to be explicit, when I say died, I mean it no longer got really hot like it used to when it was new. The instructions say this is common and that all you have to do is unplug it and then plug it back in. I do this and it never gets as hot as when it was new. Piece of junk, DO NOT BUY, look for another non-sunbeam brand! Thats what I'll be doing this season.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
moondoggie999
Livermore, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great value
11/11/2010

Customer review by apeacefulspirit

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by apeacefulspirit
by apeacefulspirit

I searched all around, and this was the best price I could find. I was afraid it wouldn't be very good quality, but upon arrival, I was delighted to find that it had a nice feel, and worked very well. I am quite pleased.

Was this review helpful? (128) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
apeacefulspirit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not washable
10/29/2010

Customer review by Neen2

3.0 stars 10/29/2010 by Neen2
by Neen2

I would not recommend this be washed. I purchased several for my house. They worked perfectly fine until I washed them. Once they were washed they stopped heating up. I washed and dried according to the directions. One no longer heats the other only heats in several spots and no longer gets as hot. Also once you connect the cord together it is hard to get loose.

Was this review helpful? (40) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Neen2
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Toasty!
12/14/2010

Customer review by DeeDeeMarie

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by DeeDeeMarie
by DeeDeeMarie

I bought 3 of these TWIN size electric blankets~1 for me & hubby, 1 for 18 yr old dtr and 1 for 15 yr old son...we ALL totally love them!!! You don't need to buy the "correct" sizes...our bed is a king and it is just perfect, you don't need to warm the sides of any bed! We live in Iowa and it's freezing now and none of us are cold anymore!! It shuts off automatically if someone forgets to shut it off~thank goodness~because teens forget alot!! You can't go wrong with this electric blanket!!

Was this review helpful? (30) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeDeeMarie
Waukee, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not your grandmother's electric blanket!
2/1/2011

Customer review by baltimoreHon

5.0 stars 2/1/2011 by baltimoreHon
by baltimoreHon

I can't say enough about this blanket. I bought 3 of these last year and just love them. We keep the thermostat for our heat down low at night and with the blankets we're warmer than ever and only heating the beds, not the whole house. The fleece is soft and the auto shut off is a great feature. I just bought another one a few weeks ago for the guest room or when the kids have sleepovers in the basement. Buy it, you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
baltimoreHon
Hanover, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
doesn't last
10/19/2011

Customer review by nmdream

1.0 stars 10/19/2011 by nmdream
by nmdream

2nd fall/winter in a row that the blanket failed to work after storing for the summer. I've been careful about storage to keep from damaging wires but once again the blanket does not work after several months of no use. Be prepared to replace it every year!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nmdream
Would recommend to a friend? No
warm
11/29/2010

Customer review by ljl7369

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by ljl7369
by ljl7369

this electric blanket is nice ,works as it should its also my 2nd Sunbeam in the past couple of years and they both did the job. I have a king size bed but I bought just a twin size and it lays across my bed just fine

Was this review helpful? (26) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ljl7369
ware , ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Blanket
1/5/2011

Customer review by bargainsue

5.0 stars 1/5/2011 by bargainsue
by bargainsue

I have used this blanket only a few weeks, but I love it so far. The bedroom is not heated and we have had some very cold outdoor temperatures ( in the single digits) but the blanket has kept us warm. We have a light decorative blanket over the electric blanket so that might make it a little warmer, but we don't have to turn it on very high. The dual controls on this queen size blanket make it possible for both of us to be comfortable and are easy to use and see in the dark. I do not notice any pilling of the blanket, but I did not prewash it as our water was frozen the night we got it and I could not resist using it immediately. It was great to be warm! I would like to have two more for the guest bedrooms but am hoping to find a better price. It is great to get into a warm bed every night but hard to leave it on cold mornings. I really do not have any negative things to say about this blanket and am hoping it will last several years because I will hate to have spent that much money for just one year of use no matter how much I like it now.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bargainsue
Stratford, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
pitiful
11/2/2010

Customer review by oceangirlatheart

2.0 stars 11/2/2010 by oceangirlatheart
by oceangirlatheart

I've been using electric blankets most of my life, and sadly, my old one has died (only one side works). Unfortunately, prices have gone up considerably since I last purchased one, so when I found this one, I was quite pleased, knowing that Sunbeam was a good brand name. The fabric is fairly substantial, and very soft to the touch. The wires are not terribly noticable, and the cords are long enough to reach any outlet. I was surprised to find that there is only one plug into the blanket for a queen size (most queen blankets plug in at two different spots), however I thought that as long as it did the job I would not be concerned. BUT, it did not do the job. Even set on high, this blanket never got more than slightly warm. Perhaps electric blankets have changed since I last bought one (three years ago??) but I'm used to them getting quite warm, so that the bed gets REALLY toasty - enough so that I need to turn it off before I go to sleep. Not so with this blanket; it never got past the "hardly notice that it's on" stage before you're ready to get up in the morning. In short - DON'T BUY IT - unless you have nothing better to do with your money, or really don't want to get warm at night! This one's going back to the store!

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oceangirlatheart
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Great value for good product
10/31/2010

Customer review by wooley8596

4.0 stars 10/31/2010 by wooley8596
by wooley8596

Purchased Sunbeam electric blanket for twin bed. Fully featured. Description fits ad to a T. Works great. Cost 29.99 at Walmart and 49.99 - 69.00 (after comaprison shopping) everywhere else.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wooley8596
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
You wont be sorry!
11/5/2010

Customer review by Madster10

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by Madster10
by Madster10

If I didn't have to eat or, you know, have a life....I would never leave my bed again.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Madster10
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Get the right size!
2/5/2011

Customer review by captdaveys

4.0 stars 2/5/2011 by captdaveys
by captdaveys

The performance is great. The lowest setting is really all you need to maintain perfect body temp. The highest setting is good for baking bread... Everyone will find a number that's good for them. The warm-up time is FAST. Only about 10 minutes. As far as size, I listened to other reviewers when they said the full or queen-sized fit on a king bed. Big mistake! The full did indeed fit on our Cal-king, with the sides of the blanket reaching to the sides of the mattress....until you put someone UNDER the blanket. That's when simple geometry takes over. The middle of the blanket raises up, and the sides pull in. This leaves you with 8 or so inches of un-heated perimeter around the edge. So, get the size that matches your bed, and let it hang over a bit. You'll be glad you did. Something else I forgot to consider: There's only one controller for the full-sized. If you like different temps like my wife and I, and you have a queen or king, get a blanket to match.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
captdaveys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 518 total reviews
1-20 of 518 reviews