Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 149 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

149 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

149 reviews | 4 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
81
4 stars
31
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 stars
15
1-20 of 137 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews
Very nice w/ a few minor misgivings~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
1/20/2013

Customer review by Myglassslipper

4.0 stars 1/20/2013 by Myglassslipper
by Myglassslipper
Top 1000 contributor

I purchased a king size set for my queen bed,,,the sheets and comforter fit fine (I like having extra room in the comforter). The king size pillow cases and shams look silly on my normal sized pillows. maybe in the future I will invest in King size pillows. Also had an issue w/ the dye rubbing off a little, this was fixed after the second washing. In the pics the comforter appears white and black,,,it is black and dark ivory but still very nice. For the price I would recommend this. I may in the future gets some purple or burgundy pillow cases to add some more color. The head board in the photos is from Laguna and sold at Walmart.com too! all in all i like my new bedding.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Myglassslipper
Fife Lake, Mi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
A good deal for the money!
2/20/2012

Customer review by RebeccaNaustin

4.0 stars 2/20/2012 by RebeccaNaustin
by RebeccaNaustin

I just purchased this set, and I have washed it and put it on my bed and I like it. I think it is a really good deal for the money.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RebeccaNaustin
Cedar Park, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this bedding set!
6/23/2012

Customer review by LaMuneka

4.0 stars 6/23/2012 by LaMuneka
by LaMuneka

This bedding set is very modern & elegant and the sheets & comforter are soft. The design detail is not white... it is actually ivory & black (the flipside of the comforter is all black). We bought a white drape to put above the headboard and you can tell the difference from the white and the ivory on the sheets. Overall I am happy with this set as it gives a contemporary feel to our bedroom. I also purchased Teal pillowcases to provide an accent color to the room. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LaMuneka
Orlando, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
More than i expected!!
1/30/2013

Customer review by beautyofmemories

5.0 stars 1/30/2013 by beautyofmemories
by beautyofmemories

This set is more beautiful in person than what it shows online! It is amazingly soft & comfortable! I have very deep bed & it fit perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beautyofmemories
York PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice bedding but dye bleeding
10/21/2011

Customer review by Hightea2001

3.0 stars 10/21/2011 by Hightea2001
by Hightea2001

I purchased this item for my daughters bed and brought it home and immediately washed it per manufacturers instructions. I washed all items separately as instructed. The set is very nice and attractive looking, but once washed it was no longer an attractive set. The black dye had run in various spots throughout the comforter making the white areas black, gray, and spotty. I tried rewashing it and soaking it but had no luck in removing the now stained color from the white medallion areas. I called BH&G and told them what happened and they said it was a bad dye lot. I am willing to try another of the same set hopefully with nicer results as it is a nice set. I purchased a Queen set and the bed skirt fits perfectly. I've had others where they didn't quite fit right. The sheets seem to be a little off white not a pure white...sort of between a white and a light cream. For the price it is very nice and will be a nice addition to any bedroom for a quick updated look. The comforter doesn't seem heavy but not too light either.

Was this review helpful? (108) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hightea2001
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
9/8/2012

Customer review by mj1momma

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by mj1momma
by mj1momma

i bought this set about a week ago...it is very beautiful, but as previously stated by other reviews, the color in question is not white, but maybe an ivory or very (& i mean VERY) light tan. that being said, and i bought a king size by the way, is that the bed skirt is a little too big all the way around. i just bought the king bed 4 months ago and know it is a true king therefore the problem must lie in the bed skirt. it is worth noting that the sheet set has a sheen i've never really experienced before with other sets, but is also very comfortable and not hot. the comforter is on the thin side but turned out to be perfect for the way i sleep-which is with windows open & air off. much warmer than my husband thought it'd be. all in all i'm thinkin i may exchange it just to see if i (they-BH&G) can get the bed skirt right. if it werent for that i'd say it was BEAUTIFULLY PERFECT. an inexpensive way to get an expensive look-take the extra money u save and buy beautiful accents!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mj1momma
middlesboro,KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great bedding set, especially for the price!
10/26/2011

Customer review by Laneybelle

5.0 stars 10/26/2011 by Laneybelle
by Laneybelle

I purchased this set one week ago after deciding to go with a black and white theme in my master bedroom. My husband and I had looked at several other sets from Walmart and other places as well. We wanted something attractive, but that was also affordable and when I saw this set I just knew we would both love it. I was a little skeptical purchasing the set from Walmart as I had read so many mixed reviews about the bedding sets. I decided to go ahead and buy the set and trust that the Better Homes and Gardens brand would be of good quality, as I had previously purchases towels and rugs from this brand and been very pleased. I washed the set according to the instructions in cold water and dried them on low heat. No colors ran and the set came out super soft. We have used them for a week now and they look and feel great. I LOVE the material the sheets are made from and am just very happy with my purchase. I am probably going to go buy another set to put up for when this one gets old and the price is unbeatable for the quality. I also bought the matching throw blanket a few days ago. Thanks Better Homes and Gardens and Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Laneybelle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bleeding=understatement.
8/30/2013

Customer review by Niretona

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Niretona
by Niretona
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this same pattern when it was marketed under the Better Homes and Gardens label several years ago, a queen sized bed. When we upgraded to a king recently, I knew I wanted to purchase something I'd had experience with, especially if I wasn't going to see it before purchasing. I searched for this comforter under the BHG label only. It's the only Mainstays product listed there, but I naively thought that it'd be fine since I own one already. When I opened the box, I could see ink on the plastic storage case for the bedding. I reached in to try and figure it out. Before I even took a piece of the set out of the case my arm was covered in the dye. The other reviews are not exaggerations and this was the worse purchase I've ever made at Wal-Mart. I was trying to come up with some redeeming feature of the set, but there aren't any. I had to scrub like a surgeon to get it to come off and I only touched the blankets for 27 seconds. I wish there were laws protecting consumers who waste their time purchasing this kind of stuff.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Niretona
Provo, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/19/2012

Customer review by lovw100008

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by lovw100008
by lovw100008

I love this bedding. It matched my room perfectly. I no had no color bleeding. To make sure I wouldn't I used Shout Color Catcher.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovw100008
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
do NOT buy!
11/19/2011

Customer review by Taylor91

1.0 stars 11/19/2011 by Taylor91
by Taylor91

My husband and i moved and we were doing our new room in red and black so we bought this set and just used red sheets and a red bed skirt, it looked so nice. Well my moms dog got sick on our bed and we washed it just like the instructions said and it came out with white spots all over it! looked like we used powder detergent and it stained it but we didnt! That was only like a few weeks after we bought it, i did however notice something right when we took it out of the bag which is that its VERY thin!! and the cotton inside was already breaking down! This is a CHEAP CHEAP comforter set and i would not recommend it to anybody unless its pure decoration

Was this review helpful? (52) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Taylor91
Mesa, Az
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
so sad..
1/4/2012

Customer review by JessicaMary

2.0 stars 1/4/2012 by JessicaMary
by JessicaMary

I bought this a few werks ago, put it on my bed it is Beautiful..... but.. took it off washed it and the colors of the black detail on the white sheets stained them looked horrible.. and the comforter colors ran on the white damask :there was white stains like fade marks in spots. I tok it back last night i was soooo upset because this is what i have been looking for.

Was this review helpful? (37) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JessicaMary
grand junction,colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
excellent set, great value
11/8/2012

Customer review by hrod

5.0 stars 11/8/2012 by hrod
by hrod

This set was just as good as any top dollar comforter set I have purchased. I have children and pets, so this gets washed quite often. Absolutely no problems here and I've had it for nearly a year. All holds up just fine, no signs of wash wear, unraveling, fading, etc. Looks exactly the same as when we purchased it. Can't beat it for the price. Coordinates well with many things. I feel that I am a fairly picky, judgemental person, so this did meet my standards and I don't feel there is a thing to complain about!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hrod
silver city, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Beautiful & Warm!
1/11/2012

Customer review by NikNik85

5.0 stars 1/11/2012 by NikNik85
by NikNik85

I love love LOVE this Bed in the Bag!!! It doesn't fade or fall apart if you READ the care instructions and follow them! It's so beautiful & warm! You cannot get a better deal. If you get hot when you sleep though you may not like this comforter being that it is microfiber polyester, it does not breathe! But I'm always freezing so its great to get such warmth from something so light!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NikNik85
Clifton Heights, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/25/2012

Customer review by sirandladygiles

5.0 stars 3/25/2012 by sirandladygiles
by sirandladygiles

Great feel and warmth level, the colors and contrast are sharp, design is even better in person. Will review again after washing, since that seems to be a recurrent issue in other reviews.... that the dye bleeds. Note: I am very picky about texture.... this one is a very nice soft cotton, I don't get an icky "this feels synthetic" feeling.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sirandladygiles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I was scared at first...
4/13/2012

Customer review by xEvie

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by xEvie
by xEvie

This comforter is BEAUTIFUL. My boyfriend bought us this bedding set for Valentine's day and it matches our red & damask rom perfectly. I was so afraid to wash it after reading the reviews of what happened to other people. My best friend even has the same set and the same color bleeding thing happened to her as well. I had no problems when I washed this. I washed the sheets separately from the comforter (separated by white and black), I used the Cheer brand detergent to wash it, and I do not have a HE washer or dryer. I didn't have a single spot of bleeding color or spottiness. It also dried extremely quickly. One cycle through the dryer and it was fully dry. The last comforter I had, had to go through the dryer 3 times just to be mostly dry. So I love the fabric this set is made out of and I definitely recommend it. AND - It doesn't get really hot like most cotton comforters do. It stays pretty cool all night long.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xEvie
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Love this bedding!!!!
3/18/2013

Customer review by MissingTheStates

5.0 stars 3/18/2013 by MissingTheStates
by MissingTheStates

I just painted a bedroom wall avocado green and picked out this bedding to go with it. It worked out nicely! The bedding looks great against the green wall and it is super soft. In fact, I was expecting something scratchy because the cost was so affordable but the comforter, sheets, and pillow cases are VERY soft! This set is even nicer than my expensive comforter sets which I purchased for $100+! Please know that the 'white' part of the comforter is really a beige color...maybe even light gray? I can't really tell but I didn't need it to be white so I don't care. The only complaint I have about the comforter is that 'fuzzies' and stuff stick to the comforter and is noticeable when the bed is made. Most likely since the black is going to show everything, but I don't recommend this if you have a shedding dog/cat! I washed the comforter set and experienced NO bleeding. I also let everything air dry so I didn't shrink everything. I am so happy with this purchase especially because I was able to get all these pieces at such a discounted price!!! LOVE IT!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissingTheStates
Germany
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Black color bleeds everywhere
5/21/2013

Customer review by Unhappywithproductfhjvdd

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by Unhappywithproductfhjvdd
by Unhappywithproductfhjvdd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The black dye was all over the inside of the bag so I washed it hoping to clean off the dye. The black color bled all over the white so now it is a black and GRAY comforter. The comforter also came out of dryer super wrinkled. Shouldn't have to iron a comforter to keep it looking nice. Going to try to return it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Unhappywithproductfhjvdd
NY NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice set, but dye comes off
7/21/2014

Customer review by Chloe100

4.0 stars 7/21/2014 by Chloe100
by Chloe100
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought a queen size set, but the comforter was a little too small due to a pillow top mattress adding a couple of inches of height. So I bought a king size set just for the comforter. After putting it on the bed, I noticed my hands were blackish/gray. I was able to wash the color off of my hands with regular hand washing. Each time I touched the comforter, the dye would come off. I went to a Walmart store to find another king size set that didn't bleed. Out of 4 sets, I found ony 1 that didn't have the dye problem. Other than the dye problem, I love the set. The color is a nice black and ivory color. The comforter is very soft and a nice weight, not too heavy or too thin. The sheets are also soft and the pattern complements the comforter nicely. A great value for your money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chloe100
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed
3/3/2013

Customer review by Ashley152719

1.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Ashley152719
by Ashley152719

I do not personally own this comforter set. I fell in love with it and went to buy it at the store and was extremely disappointed!!!!! This comforter is not black and white!!! The white on this comforter is like a dirty dingy white where the best way for me to describe it is the color and old white tshirt turns!!!! Even the sheets r this awful color!!!! So the picture doesn't even come close to what it really looks like!!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ashley152719
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
wonderful!
9/10/2012

Customer review by HOCKEYMUM2

5.0 stars 9/10/2012 by HOCKEYMUM2
by HOCKEYMUM2

MY husband and I just bought this bed set two days ago. We have washed everything, dried everything and it looks just as good as it did when we pulled it out of the bag! Very surprised all what you get for the cheap price. the price is the only thing cheap about this bed set. looks like a lot more money, really dresses up our bedroom. sheets and pillow cases almost feel like satin. very soft, cool to the touch, and has that slick feel. very nice and worth every penny. no bleeding, no tearing, nothing. so great! would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HOCKEYMUM2
VANCOUVER, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1-20 of 137 reviews