Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

42 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 40 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews
Great Value on a Overgrown BMX bike!!!
3/30/2012

Customer review by Atomicknownothing

4.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Atomicknownothing
by Atomicknownothing

I am a 220 lb. male and so far after 3 months this bike has held up very well. I put together this bike myself, but if you are not experienced in this sort of thing bring it to your local bike shop. They will properly tighten bolts and properly grease parts for a reasonable rate. The frame geometry is actually better for jumping than what is pictured. I also upgraded the forks to a pair of dirt jumpers. I think this bike is great and look forward to using it for years to come on dirt and at parks.

Was this review helpful? (41) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Atomicknownothing
Wapak, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not a bad starting point.
3/17/2013

Customer review by Blkpedals

4.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Blkpedals
by Blkpedals
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

well I got a repackaged bike, cause the box was poorly taped together, but never the less all the pieces were there. After opening it up i noticed a few things such as it was really light which was a plus . The 30mm handlebars are too low if your 6'1" or taller like me so i replaced them. The fork is tack welded into place and it has no provisions in case you would want to add front brakes. The seat is good if your super skinny, and at 6'1" 260lbs i'm definitely not a skinny person so that's gonna be gone asap. The brakes are Ok for beginners but if you plan on spending allot of time on the bike your gonna want to find better pads for them. The gearing is great for someone who is trying to get back into biking around but i'm going to be replacing mine for something allot more aggressive , and the sprocket doesn't leave much room to go bigger which is a downer for me. All in all it's a good bike for the $229. i paid for it marked down online. I personally will be modifying it till i'm satisfied completely but for those who just want a big bmx to ride around, i suggest you change the seat and your good to go..

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blkpedals
queens
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Get a great dirt jump bike at an exceptional price
6/12/2013

Customer review by filli1

5.0 stars 6/12/2013 by filli1
by filli1

Of course I just bought this thing, so I like it a lot. It looks sleek and very stylish. We'll see what I'm saying after I've thrashed it for few months. With full chromoly it should hold up, but I'll be watching for cracks. I'm into dirt jumping, a little street riding and some mellow trails. It seems to handle all this stuff with ease. It's a smaller frame like people are saying, so it's more for dirt-jumping than trail riding, and I put a suspension fork on it for a bit, but it seemed to throw the geometry off as it's rigid fork is lower. So I went back to the rigid fork. Really the only upgrade I've made is better pedals and a 3 inch riser bar. That way I can still ride trails and jump. If I was just riding street or park I might slap a 4 or 5 inch bmx style bar on there. As is though it's fast, pretty light, the tires seem decent for no name and I love how it handles. There's no option for a front brake, but that's ok as the back is pretty decent if you set it up right. All in all you could buy 2 or 3 of these babies for a comparable bike at a shop. All you've really got to do is change the bars.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
filli1
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice bike!
6/13/2013

Customer review by DTWLAX

4.0 stars 6/13/2013 by DTWLAX
by DTWLAX
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this bike on line and it really looks cool,first thing I did was to get rid of the seat and get a longer seat post also switched the original handle bars for an old BMX handle bars from one of my nephew's bike..lol Bike feels sturdy and it isn't that heavy at all.The disc brake works pretty good.I got the bike mostly cause I wanted to have an oversized BMX just to cruise on the streets and to hit some trails,I'm not into tricks or jumping so I guess bike will last even longer.I'm just giving it 4 stars cause my rear wheel arrived with dents and front valve stem has an air leak but other than that its a very nice bike,kids in my neighborhood like my bike too. Check the picture of the bike.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DTWLAX
Los Angeles,CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Quality Bike
11/26/2012

Customer review by TrailRiderDallas

4.0 stars 11/26/2012 by TrailRiderDallas
by TrailRiderDallas

My buddy bought a DK Asterik from a local bike shop for $599.99+tax. I rode the bike and loved it, but didn't want to drop $600.00+ for a bike. Then I found the Xenia at Walmart.com for $299.99+Tax. In a side by side comparison here is what we've found: The frame and forks are exactly the same. The differences are: The Asterik has higher quality stem and bars, AlienNation rims vs. Sun Rims on the Xenia. Asterik has DK Hubs vs. DK Hub on front wheel and unbranded hub on rear wheel on the Xenia. Asterik has Avid BB5 disc brake vs. unbranded brake on Xenia. The Asterik has press on 3-piece crank vs. pinch bolt 3-piece crank on Xenia. Asterik has Kenda tires vs. unbranded tires on Xenia, however it is exactly the same tread pattern and looks identical to the Kenda tire. Asterik has painted graphics and logos vs. stickers on the Xenia. After riding both bikes on the streets and trails, both me and my buddy agree that the Xenia is a good quality bike. Slighter lower grade components than the DK Asterik, but well worth the money, especially at half the price of the Asterik. If you've never had a bike with disc brakes you will find out that it takes a few miles of break-in and a little tweaking. Once you get it dialed in this brake works great!

Was this review helpful? (30) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TrailRiderDallas
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great bike for BMX dads!!
4/14/2013

Customer review by BMXDad12

4.0 stars 4/14/2013 by BMXDad12
by BMXDad12

I was looking for a bike to ride with my family but I hate mountain bikes and all the gears. I am also a bmx kid from the 80's that wanted some nostalgia and the feel of what it used to be like. I saw a GT Interceptor at the local bike shop and wanted that bad but didn't want to spend $500. I liked the price of this bike so I went for it. I had read the earlier reviews about the handlebars and they were right. The handlebars are way too low so I had them taken out immediately. I replaced the handlebars with some 7.5 raised bars and they are sweet. I also had to replace the stem to accommodate the new bars. The other issue is the seat. It feels like I'm riding on a broom stick and it's very uncomfortable. So I will changing that out soon. It is a pivotal seat which was good because the angle in the picture was they way it came. I couldn't grab the seat without touching the back tire. All in all, the bike is great. I'm 6 feet tall and it rides well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BMXDad12
Beaumont, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money
2/17/2012

Customer review by maxx26

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by maxx26
by maxx26

I got this bike as a replacement for one that was stolen. The way the bike comes stock is more than enough for cruising around town, if you are gonna jump it i would put some 2" or 3" riser bars. the stock handlebars make you feel hunched over the front of the bike and feels awkward. After putting 3" riser bars on it the bike feels perfect for what i'm doing with it and for $300.00 it's a great bike.

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
maxx26
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/7/2012

Customer review by skuuter

5.0 stars 11/7/2012 by skuuter
by skuuter
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Having owned a Bicycle Shop for 9 years, and racing Bicycles, I'm well versed in how a really good Bicycle should perform. This Bike is an exceptional performer, and a really great dollar value for what You get for the money...Totally Satisfied...my Wife and I both own one now...!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
skuuter
Estill Springs, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Bike for the $$$
6/16/2012

Customer review by BikerBoy69

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by BikerBoy69
by BikerBoy69

I bought the DK Xenia a few days ago and it is a great bike. It comes almost completely assembled, all you have to do it put the front wheel on, put on the handlebars, and pump up the tires. That's it. The only problem I had is that it didn't come with pedals! I don't know if it comes that way or they just didn't put them in the box. Also the back cog makes a small ticking noise once you get going fast. Not a big deal thought. The bars that are on there are too short and you feel all hunched over. I put bmx bars on it and a new stem and it rides like a charm. This bike it a great bike for the price and I recommend it for the larger bmx rider. I am 6'1 and it fits me very well. It comes with a gold chain which is a plus and the grips are very comfy. Good buy!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BikerBoy69
Torrance, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good bike for the money.
8/19/2012

Customer review by Dave4130

4.0 stars 8/19/2012 by Dave4130
by Dave4130

This bike has low handlebars but is a great value for the money. Mine came with a sealed integrated headset,sealed bottom bracket with 170mm 3pc cranks, double wall rims, gold chain and even a pivitol seat! The hubs are unsealed but work great and were adjusted properly.Has a generic disk brake but works pretty good.Good deal and rides nice.The cranks were not slid all the way on the spindle on mine so look it over real good when you assemble it.I put cruiser bars and a bmx stem on mine. Very comfy.Shipping was fast!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dave4130
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great starting point and fun to upgrade!
7/5/2013

Customer review by Techmanbl

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Techmanbl
by Techmanbl

Im 220lbs and an avid bike rider, mostly mountain biking but wanted to get into dirt jumping/park riding also. Everything on this bike seems to be holding up nicely. The only thing I HAD to change on this bike was the handlebars. They where way to low for me being 6'2". Went with a 5.5 rise and it fits me very nicely. Ive had to true the rims after several hard riding sessions but other than that it has taken a major beating and is still holding strong. I would recommend this bike to anyone wanting to get into the DJ scene. But as with any bike you purchase, make sure all nuts and bolts are tight, all bearings are properly greased, and brakes are adjusted. It may take a few good riding sessions to break in the brake pads so that they will stop you properly. If anyone else has any questions or would like more info about walmart bikes, you can always visit bigboxbikes.com for any additional info!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Techmanbl
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money.
1/6/2012

Customer review by XRaver160

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by XRaver160
by XRaver160

I was skeptical. But the bike is nicely built....It did not come with a disc mount on the front, like in the picture. The frame and brakes are a little different than the picture too. It's a little low in the front end, and the brakes are a little spongy,... It needs some 5 inch tall bmx bars and a linear brake cable and it's perfect. Not a bad purchase at all!

Was this review helpful? (31) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XRaver160
Placentia, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
This is a great bike!
9/8/2013

Customer review by HeavyTone

5.0 stars 9/8/2013 by HeavyTone
by HeavyTone

Upon receiving the DK Xenia, the first hang-up was the disk brake. When you pull the brake lever back the piston would snap and reset. All you need to do to fix this is advance (or tighten) the inside stationary brake pad so it meets with the disk, using an allen wrench. It’s one piece and can be tough to budge. I haven’t torn it down yet, but the crank knocks here and there, and I assume it needs tightening. I am scoring the bike 5 because I am scoring the bike, not the people who partially assembled it. I would have much rather put the whole thing together screw by screw, unfortunately that’s not how they arrive in the box. The value is an absolute 5 because I was going to pay the previous $299.99 price and be happy with it. Bicycles like this typically cost four to five times as much. It IS a DK bicycle and that gives you a lot of options for upgrading. It is a sweet bike. It’s smooth and fast, and tears into the trail. The mountain bike guys can’t even catch me on it. I couldn’t believe it. It’s actually great on the street too. The DK Xenia has a long stride and rides like your 20 inch dirt bike did when you were 10. Hahaha. Oh man I gotta go ride it now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HeavyTone
Mid-West, KS-SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
6/11/2014

Customer review by GruntKilla

5.0 stars 6/11/2014 by GruntKilla
by GruntKilla
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I just sold my sold 20'' bmx bike do to moving , i am getting close to 40 now and needed a bigger frame , and wheels , but still did not wont to get rid of my single speed . love how the bike handles , and feels . it feels like your on a 20'' frame by the way the frame is 22'' top tube , it has a intergrated headset , and a mid bottom bracket , witch nobody else says , not even the website . out of a 10 i give this bike a 10 , i have been rideing 20'' bmx bikes as a pro for 10 years .. this bike is a great way to keep the feeling alive , but yet get something a little bit bigger.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GruntKilla
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Still a DK, just some downgraded components
1/29/2013

Customer review by desertbird

4.0 stars 1/29/2013 by desertbird
by desertbird
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Overall I am extremely pleased with the quality of the bike, however there are some obvious component issues with a bike now mass produced in China. The disc brake was left loose and rubbing, horribly out of adjustment as taken out of the box. A bicycle disc brake isn't the easiest to work on, and it was obvious the guy who assembled this one knew nothing as well. Fortunately, I have experience and with a shim and some patience, I got it dialed in pretty good. I would question the ability of the average consumer.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
desertbird
SoCal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not up to DK Bike's standards
4/17/2012

Customer review by Mike1975

2.0 stars 4/17/2012 by Mike1975
by Mike1975

I might have thought this was an ok bike if I had not owned a DK Bike before. My last bike was the 24 inch DK Cygus and it was an awesome bike but not one of these bikes sold through Walmart. I'm guessing since they started selling at Walmart they went with cheaper parts (crank, bearings, brakes, etc.). If you look at DK's website and compare it to their other 26 inch bike you'll see the difference in parts and price, almost $600. It's the same as the difference in the Schwinn bikes sold at Walmart and the ones on Schwinn.com. The only good thing I will say is that it was no problem returning it to my local store even though I bought it online. I took my $300 plus $200 more and ordered a 26 inch Haro from a local bike shop. I know not everyone wants to spend more than $300 on a bike but I don't think this one if worth the money.

Was this review helpful? (14) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike1975
Gulf Breeze, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Cool BMX ride with a few faults. Worth it.
4/21/2013

Customer review by System828

4.0 stars 4/21/2013 by System828
by System828
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I'm happy with the Xenia even though it has a few faults. It's fast, fun to ride and great to be back on a BMX bike after all these years. However there are some things worth mentioning. The handlebars are very low, especially if you're tall, so be prepared to buy some cruiser bars to put on and maybe a top loading stem. The pivotal seat is hard and unforgiving if you plan to sit for a while. Also, my seat post was heavily scratched right out of the box. The most annoying thing for me is that It comes with completely different brakes than those described on the website. It comes with inferior Artek disc brakes instead of the Avid BB-5's & mine squeal like crazy! Even with all that I still like this bike. Though a bit costly, it's fun to make a project of upgrading it. More than anything it's a great bike to ride with the kids & show them some simple tricks. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
System828
Eagle Rock, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finally , an affordable bike I can enjoy and ride
7/16/2013

Customer review by DKHead

4.0 stars 7/16/2013 by DKHead
by DKHead

My Kind of Bike! My kind of price! This is not some look-alike model that pretends to be the real deal, This one is! DK bikes and Wal-Mart made my day when I discovered The "Xenia". So many quality features for such a low price usually means that the Important stuff like materials or craftmanship must have, and probably was, skimped upon to maintain a profit margin and what you just purchased is usually is a disappointing imposter of the product you assumed you were buying. Not this one. I'm so lucky because only 4 days later and there are no more in stock! I'm not suprised and if you are looking for a quality 26" dirt jumper / trail ripper at a price us "unconventionals" (Those who would rather jump dirt and rip trail istead of wasting away behind a desk) can afford. Buy the Xenia if they get more in stock ! Yes , My kind may suffer monitarily but when I'm out riding the banks of the Rio Grande on my DK Xenia I'll be the richest man alive - Thank You Wal-Mart and Right - on ! DK .I have only the slightest mod.s to impose. 1) I cut 2 " of each side of tose massively wide bars. 2) longer seat post and better saddle. 3) replace the noisy , clunky freewheel with a more stable and durable model. 4) that's it ! That's all I needed to bring this up to " No Worries status". Total spent : $25.00 - well, I did receive free shipping so ... I feel I broke even on that and now ! It's everything I hoped for but could never afford - until now! Yes!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DKHead
Albuquerque , nm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome bike!
3/27/2013

Customer review by dkLover

5.0 stars 3/27/2013 by dkLover
by dkLover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Awesome bike for a big boy like me at 6'3" and 320lbs. I did have to replace the handle bars($25 from the dk website) because I didn't like being hunched over while riding and my knees hit my elbows. I also had to buy a new seat post and seat($40 from my local bike shop and Academy) because the seat was tiny and the seat wouldn't work with the existing post. Other than that this is an awesome bike for a big boy and for a great price!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dkLover
The Woodlands, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/6/2012

Customer review by WizSupreme

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by WizSupreme
by WizSupreme

Great bike 4 the price.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WizSupreme
Stanton, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1-20 of 40 reviews