Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.9out of 5 stars
3.9 out of 5 | 15 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-15 of 15 reviews
1-15 of 15 reviews
2/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I try to find this bike on-line with no luck> it must be a Walmart exclusive from DK. The color is very deep colored orange with a flat finish.The forks, cranks, handlebars are grey with a flat finish .The spokes are black. The rims match the flat deep orange frame.The EVO chain is gold and a great feature. The 25T chain wheel and 9t driver is great look.No grind pegs are include and no kick stand either. I very pleased at the packaging as the bike didn't have a scratch on it any where.The Dayton sticker were very tacky looking and I removed them giving it a more cleaner look.I put a couple pics on the bike stand/tools/pegs are not include. Assemby was very easy out of the box.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (67)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Craftsmanship and Finish is Outstanding
1/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 11 year old asked for this baby by name. I was a bit hesitant at first being from a box store, but that was all forgotten when it arrived. I was blown away by the quality, fit and finish of this bike. It's simply beautiful. Everything from unpacking to completed assembly was smooth as silk man. I assembled this at my office with some of the guys, we all took turns riding this throughout the building. I actually had it for several days before Christmas. I'll tell you what, it's balanced, lightweight and a blast to ride. I don't recommend trying to jump an office chair, just trust me. Christmas was a big time win for Dad. My son came in and woke us up Christmas morning and said I can't believe you got me a DK. My friend has one like this and he's the best rider in school. Thank you, it's just awesome, it's so, so cool. My wife and I were pleased, to say the very least. It was worth every penny.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (124)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The bike does not come with integrated headset like the picture shows. The hubs do not come with sealed bearings, but the cranks do. I checked the fork and it says cro-mo, but there is no way to check the cranks, handlebar and frame to see if it really is chromoly tubing. It weighs about 27lbs. Overall the bike is a great deal. Pretty good for the beginner to intermediate park rider.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (55)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rim Problems
8/2/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this bike for my 12 year old boy. I assembled it without paying too much attentions to the inside of the rims. The front tube went flat almost the instant he rode it. I discovered that the inside of the rim, under the protective rubber, had been improperly drilled at almost every spoke point. it looked like they started drilling a hole , messed it up, and drilled new hole beside it. There were many jagged edges, which had caused the flat tire. Even the manufacturers attempt to clean and sand burs from the holes was bad. To Wal-Mart's credit, the did a return and sent an entire new bike. I checked the new bike, and it had the same issue to a much lesser extent. Fixed with a file and a little elbow grease. Regardless, my son loves the bike, and the price was good. Just watch the rims.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice bike
1/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
My son loves this bike. Apparently I am a cool mom. Not sure why this bike is so wonderful but my kids face is all I needed to see.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dk selling at wally martinez?
9/17/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Suprised to see DK "sold out", as is the modern parlance. They were a coveted brand when i was a youth. Bought this for my 10 yr old, so had no aims to spend a fortune on a bmx he may out grow. For $200 new, you will not find a better bargain on a chromoly frame. I don' care for painted rims becuz the brakes will eventually rub it off, but such is life
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Real BMX
8/17/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Compare the specs. This bike rocks! Not your off the shelf big box store bike, but a bike shop quality ride at a great price. Quality parts, son love the red color, I love the value.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/6/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
High caliber bike for a great price! My almost 13 yr old found this bike....he absolutely loves it! easy assembly & high quality components
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bike for the price
1/8/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought 2 of these bikes for my twin boys that are 9 yrs. old. They love them and are thrilled with how they look and ride. It only has rear brakes, but the brakes work very well. It will easily lock the rear tire and spin the bike around (which they love to do). The Dayton is pretty much identical to the Cleveland other than the color. My older son has had the Cleveland for 2 yrs. He rides it hard (constantly jumping) nearly every day, and it has held up extremely well, so I feel confident that these bikes will last for many years. My scales aren't exact, but it weighs between 26 and 27 pounds (without the pegs). This is a very good weight for a 20" bike at this price. Putting it together was very simple as it comes mostly pre-assembled.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/3/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I never thought i would expect this nice full cromo bmx bike at walmart. With these parts and with this price is just strait up amazing! dont like seat fork or wheels but still a nice bike for 220$.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
had to return bike
9/28/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Had to return bike because the crank had not been threaded at the factory. Extremely disappointed because bike appeared to be a good bike for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Back wheel blow up
5/21/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this bike, I went riding and was like, oh yeah I got a bmx. Then I went and did a beehop bop and landed and that darn thing just blow up dat back wheel. It was moving side to side and such. I had to get it fixed, went to a bike shop and a new wheel costs me like $90, plus everything else needed to be adjusted they said, they said it was not put together right at all. Another $100 I needed to pay. It's a disposable bicycle only.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good bike for price
9/2/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
the bike is really good and sturdy and fun to ride. pros :chromoly frame, bars, forks.. 3 piece crank, sealed bb . halflink chain, very nice grips(very much like the odi ones) cons: spokes got loose on back wheel after a week, had to tighten. the headset needed an extra little spacer, because the headset was loose no matter how hard i tightened it.\\ the crank sometimes, does like this weird sound for a second and then goes away, happens very rarely.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Quality ride
6/14/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Handle grips could be better made; already fell apart in about 2wks. Bearings are smooth. Tires last; good tread. Paint job doesn't peel or fade.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tight DK
1/10/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Well made......
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641759, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-