Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 33 reviews
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 29 reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
1/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
excellent bike at a notch above all the others in its price category. After much research I was pleased and surprised that Walmart had DK bikes. The bike is everything I wanted...almost. Sturdy construction, ease of riding...my son, who had problems with his 16in bike due to rideability loves this bike. It only needs one thing...."real" pedals...the plastic pedals are not good and they should be upgraded and dk charge whatever the extra....remember, this is a bmx bike and is laid down a lot. Also, I removed the made in china sticker because I'm not sure Santa makes things there.. :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (85)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Deal, Awesome bike.
8/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Awesome bike, seat is very soft, chain guard and reflectors easily come off. Bike comes in 3 pieces, takes about 30-40 minutes to assemble. Not very hard at all. You'll have to inflate the tires, have some allen keys, and a 15 wrench for the pedals and front wheel. Back is a 17, but it should be already tight. Id check everything just to be safe. Overall, a great bike, was going to buy it on Albes but it was way cheaper here. By far the best Walmart bike ever. Not kidding.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Also for Adult 46yr old.
4/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Iam 5'2. I put long Aluminum new seatpost to extend seat UP so my that my legs gets its full extention when pedaling. Iam using bike to go to my local Starbucks(~ 3 miles) and for transpotation. I have other bikes of bigger sizes but this one reminds me of when I was a young turk roaming looking for trouble. One person commented its too sml for my size. But Iam riding it for comfort, cool and compactness. Rides smooth when tire pressure up to max 50psi. Seem to grip and does not slide. I got shiped to my local WM. I regreased the front hub with Mobile Syntethic grease cause of preference. You have to be experience and have tools to do this. Or check YOUTUBE for instructio. Otherwise, the grease that comes with should be fine. I will regrease the back tire hub when tire get a flat; I have to disassemble anyway. I put ALuminum stand(REI $7) cause did not come with one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT BIKE!
12/7/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased this bike about 5 months ago. Since the first day I got it I've been riding it at least 5 to 6 days a week, with a total of 8-14 miles a day, now this is no rode bike but it's just a great bike overall easy to put together very nice paint well built! I ride the heck out this bike and still managed to be in great working condition I definitely recommend this bike to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8 year old loves it!!
7/14/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought it for my son's 8th bday. My husband used to ride BMX so he thought it was cool that Wal-Mart was selling a General Lee. He said it was easy to put together. My son loves it and it seems well made and durable!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this bike is great. i ride freestyle, and this bike rides so well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is a LOT of bike for the money.
4/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Other than replacing the pedals with some good ones, this is a premium bike out of the box. Up until recently, you could only get this bike at top bike shops. DK has been there with GT and Haro and the other names. Get this bike over the other 20" if you want the bang for the buck.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good
4/14/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was expecting a smaller sprocket for that type of bike, but that was an easy fix. The seat is comfortable and durable. Got new grips because the ones on there were okay, not great. Other than that, great bike.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good mid grade BMX Freestyle bike
7/30/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this as a gift for a nine year old. He outgrew his previous bike but this being 20" was just a tad big for him although his feet were flat on the ground while sitting. The assembly was simple but I had to re-seat the neck as it had some play after I attached the handle bars. The brakes needed adjustment as well to actually get it to stop. The pedals are plastic but OK to start with. It comes with two pegs but they are meant for one side of the bike only due to the large and small openings in them. The insert explained that you only need one side to do pro tricks, etc... The color is bright orange just as it should be for the General Lee. It is sturdy with decent rims and tires. The cranks appear good as well as the frame itself. It came with the black seat too. It is not a pro bike but a very good mid grade especially for price. The other more expensive DK's have better equipment but you pay more also. Unless the person is capable of actual tricks and what not, this is good enough. If the person is advanced in skills then maybe the higher end DK's are better suited. Great value for sure.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DK bikes at Walmart?
5/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a low end Dk bike...But for $150.00 it's ok...Its heavy..but I like it...Its a good starter bike..If you can afford (THE EXTRA $50.00), Get a DK over the Hyper bikes that Walmart sells..Get the 2 year warranty for $10.00..(alot can happen in two years). you can take the stickers off and it looks pretty sharp...But the bright orange and goopy seat and will tell everyone that its from walmart...but thats kind of why I like it...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great BMX for the price
4/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the price this thing is loaded. A chromoly 3 piece crank arms and threadless stem. It weighs a 28 lbs but that is lighter than I had expected it to weigh. It's very upgradable. I put a gyro, new stem and brakes on mine and it's even better now. The only problem I had is it doenst come yellow like the picture portrays. It's more orange but I still like the look of it. Also as the description implies that this is only a kids bike that is false. Actually I wouldnt put a 5,6,7 year old on this. It's too big.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bang for the buck!
4/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great bike for the value. Easy assembly if you've put bikes ttogether before, but even i forgot about left and right pedal at first. I can where diagram (not necessarily instructions) could be overwhelming for novices. Bottom line though, tuff bike and my 9 year old is the envy of the block because he's the only one of his friends with a DK. Only con is that I had to spend another $20 on first season of Dukes of Hazard so that i could show him what the General Lee was!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't Assemble Christmas Eve….
12/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an excellent bike for the money. It is lightweight but sturdy. Assembly, however, was tedious. I am very handy with all kinds of tools and can follow directions. There were parts that were inaccurately pre-assembled at the factory. The handlebars were poorly aligned to the front tire and had to be realigned. This was not impossible but not that easy. The brakes were misaligned as well and were a real pain to adjust. Putting the stunt pegs on the tires required an extra deep socket wrench. You might think the solution to this would be to pay a little extra to have the store assemble it. However, I don't believe they would have taken the time to fix these issues, and I would have been stuck doing them any way. I would still buy this bike, but do not wait until Christmas Eve to assemble it or you will polish off more eggnog than you might like.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun ride, but the odor was less than pleasing
2/19/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This was a fun bike to ride, but the odor was less than pleasing. I'm an awkward eighth grader with a quirky group of friends, and every day after school, I'd come out to the scene of a half dozen or so of my best pals standing around my bike, sniffing the handlebars. Now, that's not to say I didn't love the attention. It just made things awkward. Other than that, she rides like a beast. She goes a bit faster than college hockey players can run and handlers herself well in the bushes. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonky right out of the box
8/11/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Purchased online and had shipped - that went smooth and arrived quickly. However, right out of the box you could tell there was going to be an issue. It was easy to assemble, but the handlebars, which come preassembled to the bike, were not straight or aligned with the front wheel. The 4 bolt housing used to secure the handlebars was impossible to adjust. We continued the full assembly, as my son was very eager to give it a whirl. Up the street, yeah, really bad front end alignment - and then - a pedal popped off! The bolt stripped and that was the end of that. Took it to an area store and returned that bad boy for a refund.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bmx for the $
9/7/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Purchased for my 9 yr old and it is a 5 star bike!! He loves it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sweet
5/20/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Got my general lee back. First one I bought was over 200 dollars this one is half that and is acceptable quality. Single wall rims cheap pedals and seat but otherwise decent bike
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
AWESOME bike!!
5/2/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Grandson absolutely loved it!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great bike
5/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Loved the accurate shipping and mailing details provided
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The "General"
12/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bike is great! Not too heavy and easy to put together. My son is 8 and he loves it as we took a trip to Nashville this summer and happened to stop in at the "Dukes of Hazard" museum. The hand break is new for him and while his body is plenty big for the bike, he has some trouble getting his hand around the brake grip. Was delivered within a week straight to my door, couldn't have asked for more, except maybe a General Lee horn sound.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642864, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-