Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 36 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

36 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 stars
5
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 30 total reviews
Works like it should just fine
9/23/2011

Customer review by zipcode30127

5.0 stars by zipcode30127

We dropped our cable and bought this box in the store for our old analog TV. It searches for signals, converts them to digital, and works just as it should. People will run into antenna issues but that is not caused by this converter. We are still searching for proper antenna choice and placement to get all the channels available and will likely just have to put a large one in the attic or on the roof. Regarding the converter shutting down after four hours, that is a feature that can be changed. In the menu under settings is a choice for the shut-off timer. You can choose 4, 8, or 12 hour shut-off to conserve energy or turn the shut-off feature completely off and never be bothered by it again. In fact, the message that pops up on the screen telling you it shut down also tells you to go to settings to change the feature, if desired.

Was this review helpful? (437) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
zipcode30127
Atlanta suburbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
RCA Converter
10/6/2011

Customer review by sj555and63

5.0 stars by sj555and63

I know alot of people who own these and have NO idea how to operate them. Been called upon to ' fix ' issues they have . No biggie . But myself , have found this converter to be very reliable . When a thunderstorm approaches , please unplug them from the power line . I'm looking at buying another one soon .

Was this review helpful? (181) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sj555and63
Maple Lake MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
9/4/2011

Customer review by GADAWG

4.0 stars by GADAWG

Easy to set up and easy to use remote with LARGE keys. Good Buy!

Was this review helpful? (89) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GADAWG
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very poor piece of equipment
9/2/2011

Customer review by mimsufgood

1.0 stars by mimsufgood

My local Walmart only offers this one type now, so I was forced to buy this one when our Zenith one accidently dropped and broke. Zenith one was great, this RCA one is a piece of junk. Both placed in exact same spot with exact same antenae, this one does not get ABC or CBS like Zenith one did. Even other stations are hard to get in. This one also has a "feature" that if you are watching same channel for 4 hours it pops on a message that says due to inactivity it will now save power and shut off. This thing even cost $12 more! And to add insult to injury, Walmart doesnt even carry the Zenith one online anymore.

Was this review helpful? (162) (61)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mimsufgood
Chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good For Seniors
12/21/2011

Customer review by ElderCareFacility

4.0 stars by ElderCareFacility

I think this is a good product. I bought 40 boxes for my facility when the transition happened a few years ago. Of the 40, 30 are still running. The other 10 are due to residents carelessness. I like the fact that you can control your tv's power and volume only, reducing the potential for resident tampering with settings. It has big buttons, good for seniors. The menu is easy to follow. The drawback is the price. At $60 and without a $40 coupon, it's bad for seniors. I've also bought 10 AccessHD boxes. These are total garbage. They overheat, then don't work within 6 months. The customer service was nowhere to be found. Avoid AccessHD.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ElderCareFacility
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what its supposed to do
2/4/2012

Customer review by Kckr2001

4.0 stars by Kckr2001

easy to set up and isnt horrible to look at, does what its advertised to do.....only time will tell if its a good option for a long period of time. I would suggest people get a better cable to go from the converter to the TV....the screw on type provides a better connection and eliminates the loose connection that exists with the push on connector. I find that my picture gets snowy from time to time because the cable isnt on there good enough.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kckr2001
North Providence, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/21/2011

Customer review by DianaDV

5.0 stars by DianaDV

love this products can control volume and display time and titles

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DianaDV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Discontinued item, died after a few years
7/13/2012

Customer review by Guest173

2.0 stars by Guest173

The RCA 800 dtv converter box is no longer in production. Mine stopped working after a couple of years and I went to their customer service website like the instruction manual recommends to look for replacement parts but this item is no longer available. I would be wary of buying a product that is no longer in production, the quality degrades over time being stored in a warehouse and getting old. Don't pay full price.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Guest173
TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Have to unplug during thunderstorms
6/24/2012

Customer review by Nickname77853

3.0 stars by Nickname77853

I enjoyed this converter box at first, then when it was a thunderstorm with lightening, it would go dead. Then a day or two later it would work fine. This went on for a few months and then it finally died completely. A friend told me that this product MUST be unplugged during any kind of electrical storm. I wasnt always at home to do this. But overall, this box worked well, and lasted me a little over a year.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Nickname77853
Tunica, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
WARNING!
12/9/2011

Customer review by lizzied0871

1.0 stars by lizzied0871

This is the cheapest converter box that I've ever owned. I ended up having to return it to the store because it broke after just TWO weeks. Yes, you read that correctly. The very first converter box that I owned, back in June of 2009 when the switch to digital happened, lasted two years. Why these things can't last a lifetime I don't know, but I was so frustrated with the whole experience that I finally got cable, which I highly recommend to people who have also experienced difficulty with converter boxes. This one's remote didn't even have a menu option that displayed a schedule of shows or the the time of day. It's a cheap, worthless product that shouldn't be on the market.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lizzied0871
OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Junk Junk Junk
4/19/2012

Customer review by Louieboy

1.0 stars by Louieboy

First unit I picked up at the local WalMart did not have a remote. Exchanged it for another. Unwrapped and hooked it up, and it worked for as long as it took to program it. The screen frazlled out and went blank. Attempts to revive all failed. I'll buy another brand.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Louieboy
Lexington, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
great box
3/15/2012

Customer review by DVDcolector

5.0 stars by DVDcolector

I have been researching converter boxes some time now. To keep a 4year old entertained. Tis box get me more kids channels than the previous manufacturers.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DVDcolector
Whitter, Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RCA brand is a must if you lose your remote!
10/8/2012

Customer review by DestinyKarmaFate

4.0 stars by DestinyKarmaFate

I've had both brands of these boxes. The Magnavox doesn't have buttons on it so you MUST use your remote. The RCA has buttons just incase you misplace your remote. If you're having trouble with your signal, it's the antenna! My TV is in frontof a south facing window which is perfect to get the signal. Weather affects the signal a lot too! Otherwise I get plenty of channels and I don't have a monthly bill!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
DestinyKarmaFate
Roy, UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The reception is not very good or consistent.
1/9/2012

Customer review by grumpyoldlady1350

2.0 stars by grumpyoldlady1350

It is hard to tolerate in that the picture often goes wierd and the sound stutters. If I get the antennae adjusted to the best I can, it will fade in and out sometimes totally losing the station.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
grumpyoldlady1350
Kansas City Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not Recommended -- try another brand
8/9/2012

Customer review by Wigstress

2.0 stars by Wigstress

We previously had been using an Insignia converter box for our TV, but it stopped working after having had it a few years. So instead of waiting for a good one to ship, we bought this RCA model from Wal Mart. BIG mistake. Does it convert the signal to digital TV? Yes, it does. But that's about all it does well. Having had the Insignia model previously, we were used to having a channel recall button, a program guide that gives you accurate info on the program you're watching and the scheduled programs to follow, and it was easy to program to add or remove any shows you wanted or didn't like. The only glitch with our old model was the volume control on the box was not coordinated with the TV, so we'd always have to turn it down if we watched a DVD on this TV. Not a huge deal. With this RCA model, it's a pain to program channels. If you ever lose a signal (like during a storm or you temporary lose power), you can't just add channels. You have to perform a whole new channel scan, and it takes forever to scan again. Changing channels is a pain because it has this annoying blue box that covers your image for like 3 or 4 seconds that shows the displayed channel your watching. The program info almost never works and is usually the info for the previous program. Also when you're changing channels, it usually doesn't update the current program 'til you're on the new channel. Our old box always had the current program info displayed when you changed channels. You didn't have to wait for it to suddenly update. There is no channel recall button, so you can't change back to the previous channel you were watching without having to manually enter the previous channel info. It's just a cumbersome system missing a lot of good features that our old box had. So now I'm shopping for a Zenith box which is comparable to our old Insignia box with the same features. If you can wait and shop around for a better box than this one, that's what I'd do.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Wigstress
Brookfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NOT RECOMMENDED!!
7/10/2012

Customer review by PeachStateLady

1.0 stars by PeachStateLady

1st: This one is way OVERPRICED! 2nd: Has one function remote. Very bad! Like adding ONE MORE REMOTE HELPS!?!? 3rd: Poor reception! The channels I got faded in-and-out... very poor reception... EVEN with an outside antenna!!!! 4th: There is NO GUIDE... no way to see what shows are coming on next?! 5th: TOOK IT BACK TO WALMART ASAP!!! Thank goodness for WalMart's good return policy!

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
PeachStateLady
Newnan GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good value for the money
6/13/2012

Customer review by ladycap

4.0 stars by ladycap

easy to set up. great picture i get about 6-7 channels depending on the antenna position it will only get the stations in your area so i was not surprised.i use an inexpensive antenna and it does fine. ive only had this product for about over a month with no problems.i use it every day as i don't want cable due to the expense. you actually get more channels than basic cable.so far so good

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ladycap
east providence,r.i.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/24/2012

Customer review by ovybaby

5.0 stars by ovybaby

Excellent converter box. I bought this for my 89 year old mother in law. Worked out perfectley . The remote has large buttons, and worked great with rabbit ears. i ahd another baox and the picture did not look as good as this one.(I thought digital was digital). I highly recommend this converter, its worth the extra couple of dollars.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ovybaby
baltimore md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works well so far but cheaply made
9/29/2012

Customer review by SpacedInvader

3.0 stars by SpacedInvader

So far this converter box works fine and meets my basic needs; however, I doubt it would take any rough treatment at all. It is extremely light-weight and is made of super-thin plastic like a Happy Meal toy.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SpacedInvader
Mooresville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not that Great
11/19/2012

Customer review by ncgrl231us

2.0 stars by ncgrl231us

My husband and I dropped our satelite service and we replaced it with these analog boxes. I have a magnavox box and it is much better than the RCA. The RCA box continues to drop the sound and picture. The Magnavox is a much better box, but we have not been able to find another Magnavox, so we did not have a choice. I am still looking for a better box than RCA. I do hope that more companies will come out with something better than RCA or RCA needs to step up to the plate and upgrade their box to a better quality.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ncgrl231us
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 30 total reviews