Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
1-17 of 17 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

LOVE this stuff!!
5/23/2013

Customer review by Dalgirl

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Dalgirl
by Dalgirl

I used this to repurpose an old fake brass headboard from the '90's. I lightly sanded with 000 steel wool then washed, rinsed and wiped it before spraying. It came out perfect! Looks like it came out of the store that way. It is a queen sized headboard and I used four cans. I think because there was a slight breeze that day, I had some waste/overspray. Very happy with the results and so far, holding up very, no sign of chipping, etc. Wish I could have posted a third photo of a close-up shot; hope you can zoom in.

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dalgirl
Penfield (Rochester), New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Why are you charging over 2x retail?
1/27/2017

Customer review by Mystified1

5.0 stars 1/27/2017 by Mystified1
by Mystified1

This paint is terrific---you don't need to worry about a first coat lifting because it's so dense, it covers in 1 coat (that would be the primer feature). I just finished a massive remodel requiring some older items get a coat of oil-rubbed bronze. This is almost black---Rust-Oleum carries other metallics that might be closer to commercial finishes--but having come home with this one, everything I painted had to get the same finish. I used it on wood, metal, ceramic---everything came out flawless and looking like painted steel. It has a small amount of metal flake in it so the finish is gorgeous. I got this vintage ceramic lamp and shade at a thrift store for $14.99. I check the odd dollar stores for self-stick shelf paper (knock-off Contact Paper) to use on projects---this faux burled something-or-other goes perfectly with Rust-Oleum's oil-rubbed bronze. My only complaint would be that Walmart has jacked up the price on this paint by more than double on this website. If I ordered this so that I could pick it up at my local Walmart, I assume somebody would walk back to paint and grab a can so I could pick it up at service. I paid under $7 for my last can, then did this lamp. During my remodel, I ordered lots and lots of items on line so that we'd stay within our bid. Hardly anything came from Walmart. By searching using the SKU or product number, I could almost always beat Walmart's price, even for items they carry in the store. On one coffee table, Target beat Walmart by $30--and it came to my front door. I am giving this paint a 5-star rating---it meets and beats my expectations and has made me a spray-paint maven. Walmart boosting prices on stuff already in-store and offering "free shipping"? That's no good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mystified1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful sheen, color for refinishing old stuff!!
7/23/2013

Customer review by DIHnearAtlanta

5.0 stars 7/23/2013 by DIHnearAtlanta
by DIHnearAtlanta

Was about to order new knobs for the kitchen and a couple of new ceiling fixtures. The old ones were tacky builder package shiny brass. My neighbor had sprayed her knobs and they looked pretty good, but the color wasn't really oil rubbed bronze. More of a greyish brown. So I hesitated to try and do the same thing. But I got to looking at the different paints in W-mart yesterday, the Krylon, the regular Rustoleum and this, the more premium Rustoleum. I decided to try this one. It was two dollars more so I hoped it would give a realistic looking oiled bronze finish. Took off the knobs, washed and hand dried them, sat them on a huge piece of cardboard, then gave them a medium coat on the bottom. An hour later flipped them and sprayed the tops. Let them sit overnight. Wow, they totally exceed my expectations! They have a slightly matte, yet sparkly sheen to them. Just right. A perfect finish and shade. When I saw the knobs, I got up on a ladder and took down a shiny brass hanging light fixture in the hallway, removed the glass, and got busy spraying it. I now have 28 beautiful knobs and a gorgeous new light. I still have enough in the can to do a couple more light fixtures. This stuff is wonderful!

Was this review helpful? (56) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DIHnearAtlanta
ATL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Excellent coverage gives factory-like finish
5/23/2013

Customer review by SammyOwner

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by SammyOwner
by SammyOwner

Used this to paint an old brass lamp. Lightly sanded with fine steel wool, and finish looks like it came straight from the factory! Gorgeous, rich color makes that ugly shiny gold lamp look modern. Bought 5 more cans of this to reprint my aluminum patio table and chairs so that they match my new oil-rubbed bronze chaise lounges. Expect it to completely give new life to my tired old patio set!

Was this review helpful? (25) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SammyOwner
Bend, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per year
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Easy to use - modern look
11/30/2012

Customer review by ProjectFinisher

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by ProjectFinisher
by ProjectFinisher

Did not need to sand my metal magazine stand/end table before spraying and it looks great. Exactly as expected and easy to do.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProjectFinisher
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Great Dark Bronze Finish
10/13/2012

Customer review by Smartshopper100

5.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Smartshopper100
by Smartshopper100

I used this to paint a metal bench for my porch, two resin outdoor planters, a metal vase and a indoor chandelier and I love it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Smartshopper100
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Good bang for your buck
4/12/2016

Customer review by Racheypoo

4.0 stars 4/12/2016 by Racheypoo
by Racheypoo

I recommend using a primer. It says paint and primer in one, however I had chipping even with little to no use of my items after just one week. Also I recommend a topcoat for the same reason. I painted metal bathroom hardware (having sanded but not primed). The stuff has stayed on pretty well once I used a topcoat. It chipped on faucet handles prior to the topcoat. For the topcoat I use 2x ultra coverage clear gloss. With one can I was able to paint a sink faucet and drain, bathtub faucet and drain, 2 long handlebars in the tub, a towel ring, a towel bar, a toilet paper holder, and a 5 inch tall wooden letter (front and back). For $3.49 plus tax I have all new bathroom hardware and a cute accent monogram letter for my front door's wreath. Of course I did spend another 3 bucks on the topcoat. Like I said you'll want to go the extra mile to make it work best--if spraying metal or wood, use primer and sand the item first. If the item will get wet, use a topcoat. I like that you can spray from any angle because of the nozzle. I also like the finger trigger. I did all my projects in one week! And my fingers aren't sore from all the spraying.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Racheypoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Looks Great Very Messy
5/13/2015

Customer review by Okiepainter

3.0 stars 5/13/2015 by Okiepainter
by Okiepainter

Great product but applicator is very messy. Wear gloves folks because this new design for the button will leave paint all over your hands not to mention the paint drops on your project.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Okiepainter
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Rust-Olium oil rubbed bronze
2/26/2017

Customer review by JimG

5.0 stars 2/26/2017 by JimG
by JimG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was hesitant to buy the spray paint because of numerous reviews stating that the paint dripped from the nozzle when in use. I bought it because I didn't want to have to buy a case of two cans from Home Depot. I'm glad I did. The paint went on smoothly without dripping from the can. I saved myself probably $150-$200 by painting three existing lights rather than buying new ones. I recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/7/2013

Customer review by mkdecorator

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by mkdecorator
by mkdecorator
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We are using this product to change our shiny brass fixtures to oil rubbed bronze. so far so good. definitely beats buying new fixtures!

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mkdecorator
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worst paint ever
8/3/2014

Customer review by PickMyNickname

1.0 stars 8/3/2014 by PickMyNickname
by PickMyNickname

I am apparently the odd man out in all these reviews, but this was, without a doubt, by far, the worst paint I ever encountered. The actual paint itself is fine, but the can was horrible. It sprayed out in all directions and sprayed large drops instead of a fine mist. An absolute disaster. Need to sand everything down and start over. I wouldn't be surprised if this was a lesser brand, but expect better quality from Rustoleum. I never even write reviews, good or bad, but this just was so horrible I couldn't resist.

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickMyNickname
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
My go-to fixer-upper
3/27/2016

Customer review by OasisBee

5.0 stars 3/27/2016 by OasisBee
by OasisBee

I swear by this particular type of Rust-Oleum spray paint. I have bought it in Oil Rubbed Bronzed, Brushed Nickel, Copper and Black. I've used this paint to spray door knobs, towel bars, shower curtain rods, switch plates, wall sconces, light fixtures, you name it. These sprays are really durable! They've made it possible for me to buy items I like, even if the finishes don't match what I need and then tie them in with whatever color theme I want. No more paying extra for different colored metal fixtures, no more being stuck with outdated colored fixtures.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OasisBee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Orb
2/17/2017

Customer review by McCriMom

5.0 stars 2/17/2017 by McCriMom
by McCriMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Best ORB spray paint on the market. I have used it on many house hold items. It doesn't chip and it handles temp changes well. Nozzle is a little drippy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
McCriMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent
1/23/2016

Customer review by Nsmjmr

4.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Nsmjmr
by Nsmjmr

Great paint, covers well. The trigger needs to be easier to squeeze. If it's not all the way open it doesn't spray well.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Nsmjmr
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Paint
8/26/2016

Customer review by Terry

5.0 stars 8/26/2016 by Terry
by Terry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for the project I was doing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beautiful Color but Not Much Paint in the Can
5/1/2016

Customer review by DesertRayne

1.0 stars 5/1/2016 by DesertRayne
by DesertRayne

The color turned out beautiful but I expected a can to do more than half a picture frame. There just isn't much in the can for the price that I paid.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DesertRayne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor at best
9/21/2016

Customer review by ilovelisa

2.0 stars 9/21/2016 by ilovelisa
by ilovelisa

The paint color is good, coverage is poor. What's worse is the new sprayer! Messy, plugs up all the time and wastes a LOT of paint (and this paint costs more than Rustoleum X2 paint!)! It's very difficult to to get the paint where you want it due to this awful sprayer. I am taking my second can back for a refund and starting over again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Comment from - 9/21/2016

Rust-Oleum Universal is a line of products that is designed to make it easier for you to spray at any angle. However, if this product is troublesome there are several other options. Next time, try Rust-Oleum Stops Rust Metallic, which has the traditional sprayer. <br /><br />https://www.walmart.com/ip/Rust-Oleum-Metallic-Spray-Silver/17011168?action=product_interest&action_type=title&item_id=17011168&placement_id=irs-2-m2&strategy=PWVUB&visitor_id&category=&client_guid=fe44cc84-aeea-4a42-8086-5c48c5cdce99&customer_id_enc&config_id=2&parent_item_id=17011135&parent_anchor_item_id=17011135&guid=178d4113-61c6-410a-b5aa-ece9d6743387&bucket_id=irsbucketdefault&beacon_version=1.0.1&findingMethod=p13n

ilovelisa
Would recommend to a friend? No