Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 17 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-17 of 17 reviews
1-17 of 17 reviews
LOVE this stuff!!
5/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this to repurpose an old fake brass headboard from the '90's. I lightly sanded with 000 steel wool then washed, rinsed and wiped it before spraying. It came out perfect! Looks like it came out of the store that way. It is a queen sized headboard and I used four cans. I think because there was a slight breeze that day, I had some waste/overspray. Very happy with the results and so far, holding up very, no sign of chipping, etc. Wish I could have posted a third photo of a close-up shot; hope you can zoom in.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Why are you charging over 2x retail?
1/27/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This paint is terrific---you don't need to worry about a first coat lifting because it's so dense, it covers in 1 coat (that would be the primer feature). I just finished a massive remodel requiring some older items get a coat of oil-rubbed bronze. This is almost black---Rust-Oleum carries other metallics that might be closer to commercial finishes--but having come home with this one, everything I painted had to get the same finish. I used it on wood, metal, ceramic---everything came out flawless and looking like painted steel. It has a small amount of metal flake in it so the finish is gorgeous. I got this vintage ceramic lamp and shade at a thrift store for $14.99. I check the odd dollar stores for self-stick shelf paper (knock-off Contact Paper) to use on projects---this faux burled something-or-other goes perfectly with Rust-Oleum's oil-rubbed bronze. My only complaint would be that Walmart has jacked up the price on this paint by more than double on this website. If I ordered this so that I could pick it up at my local Walmart, I assume somebody would walk back to paint and grab a can so I could pick it up at service. I paid under $7 for my last can, then did this lamp. During my remodel, I ordered lots and lots of items on line so that we'd stay within our bid. Hardly anything came from Walmart. By searching using the SKU or product number, I could almost always beat Walmart's price, even for items they carry in the store. On one coffee table, Target beat Walmart by $30--and it came to my front door. I am giving this paint a 5-star rating---it meets and beats my expectations and has made me a spray-paint maven. Walmart boosting prices on stuff already in-store and offering "free shipping"? That's no good.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful sheen, color for refinishing old stuff!!
7/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Was about to order new knobs for the kitchen and a couple of new ceiling fixtures. The old ones were tacky builder package shiny brass. My neighbor had sprayed her knobs and they looked pretty good, but the color wasn't really oil rubbed bronze. More of a greyish brown. So I hesitated to try and do the same thing. But I got to looking at the different paints in W-mart yesterday, the Krylon, the regular Rustoleum and this, the more premium Rustoleum. I decided to try this one. It was two dollars more so I hoped it would give a realistic looking oiled bronze finish. Took off the knobs, washed and hand dried them, sat them on a huge piece of cardboard, then gave them a medium coat on the bottom. An hour later flipped them and sprayed the tops. Let them sit overnight. Wow, they totally exceed my expectations! They have a slightly matte, yet sparkly sheen to them. Just right. A perfect finish and shade. When I saw the knobs, I got up on a ladder and took down a shiny brass hanging light fixture in the hallway, removed the glass, and got busy spraying it. I now have 28 beautiful knobs and a gorgeous new light. I still have enough in the can to do a couple more light fixtures. This stuff is wonderful!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent coverage gives factory-like finish
5/23/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Used this to paint an old brass lamp. Lightly sanded with fine steel wool, and finish looks like it came straight from the factory! Gorgeous, rich color makes that ugly shiny gold lamp look modern. Bought 5 more cans of this to reprint my aluminum patio table and chairs so that they match my new oil-rubbed bronze chaise lounges. Expect it to completely give new life to my tired old patio set!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (25)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to use - modern look
11/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Did not need to sand my metal magazine stand/end table before spraying and it looks great. Exactly as expected and easy to do.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Dark Bronze Finish
10/13/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I used this to paint a metal bench for my porch, two resin outdoor planters, a metal vase and a indoor chandelier and I love it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good bang for your buck
4/12/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recommend using a primer. It says paint and primer in one, however I had chipping even with little to no use of my items after just one week. Also I recommend a topcoat for the same reason. I painted metal bathroom hardware (having sanded but not primed). The stuff has stayed on pretty well once I used a topcoat. It chipped on faucet handles prior to the topcoat. For the topcoat I use 2x ultra coverage clear gloss. With one can I was able to paint a sink faucet and drain, bathtub faucet and drain, 2 long handlebars in the tub, a towel ring, a towel bar, a toilet paper holder, and a 5 inch tall wooden letter (front and back). For $3.49 plus tax I have all new bathroom hardware and a cute accent monogram letter for my front door's wreath. Of course I did spend another 3 bucks on the topcoat. Like I said you'll want to go the extra mile to make it work best--if spraying metal or wood, use primer and sand the item first. If the item will get wet, use a topcoat. I like that you can spray from any angle because of the nozzle. I also like the finger trigger. I did all my projects in one week! And my fingers aren't sore from all the spraying.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Looks Great Very Messy
5/13/2015
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great product but applicator is very messy. Wear gloves folks because this new design for the button will leave paint all over your hands not to mention the paint drops on your project.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/7/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We are using this product to change our shiny brass fixtures to oil rubbed bronze. so far so good. definitely beats buying new fixtures!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Rust-Olium oil rubbed bronze
2/26/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was hesitant to buy the spray paint because of numerous reviews stating that the paint dripped from the nozzle when in use. I bought it because I didn't want to have to buy a case of two cans from Home Depot. I'm glad I did. The paint went on smoothly without dripping from the can. I saved myself probably $150-$200 by painting three existing lights rather than buying new ones. I recommend this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worst paint ever
8/3/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am apparently the odd man out in all these reviews, but this was, without a doubt, by far, the worst paint I ever encountered. The actual paint itself is fine, but the can was horrible. It sprayed out in all directions and sprayed large drops instead of a fine mist. An absolute disaster. Need to sand everything down and start over. I wouldn't be surprised if this was a lesser brand, but expect better quality from Rustoleum. I never even write reviews, good or bad, but this just was so horrible I couldn't resist.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My go-to fixer-upper
3/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I swear by this particular type of Rust-Oleum spray paint. I have bought it in Oil Rubbed Bronzed, Brushed Nickel, Copper and Black. I've used this paint to spray door knobs, towel bars, shower curtain rods, switch plates, wall sconces, light fixtures, you name it. These sprays are really durable! They've made it possible for me to buy items I like, even if the finishes don't match what I need and then tie them in with whatever color theme I want. No more paying extra for different colored metal fixtures, no more being stuck with outdated colored fixtures.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Beautiful Color but Not Much Paint in the Can
5/1/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The color turned out beautiful but I expected a can to do more than half a picture frame. There just isn't much in the can for the price that I paid.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent
1/23/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Great paint, covers well. The trigger needs to be easier to squeeze. If it's not all the way open it doesn't spray well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Orb
2/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Best ORB spray paint on the market. I have used it on many house hold items. It doesn't chip and it handles temp changes well. Nozzle is a little drippy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Paint
8/26/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Perfect for the project I was doing.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor at best
9/21/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The paint color is good, coverage is poor. What's worse is the new sprayer! Messy, plugs up all the time and wastes a LOT of paint (and this paint costs more than Rustoleum X2 paint!)! It's very difficult to to get the paint where you want it due to this awful sprayer. I am taking my second can back for a refund and starting over again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643925, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-