Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

17 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-17 of 17 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Makes flat hair disappear
2/28/2013

Customer review by nicfury

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by nicfury
by nicfury

I am amazed by this product. I have quite a bit of very long hair, but it is fine & just falls flat, regardless how i blow dry it, curl it, tease it, whatever. I have tried so many products, both cheap & pricey, that failed miserably. I just assumed I would always have limp, lifeless hair. This is very unfortunate because I absolutely love big, voluminous hair. After reading a few reviews online, I decided to give this girl powder a try. I figured at $5 a bottle, it was worth another possible let down. After using it just once, I instantly fell in love. It finally gave me the volume I had been craving! Before getting my hopes up too high, I decided I had to use it several times before writing a review, just to make sure I hadn't just had a rare good hair day. I am so happy to say that this product did just what I wanted it to! YEA!

Was this review helpful? (39) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nicfury
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I ABSOLUTELY SWEAR BY THIS STUFF!
5/2/2016

Customer review by ChelleKristine

5.0 stars 5/2/2016 by ChelleKristine
by ChelleKristine

I have health issues - namely PCOS and hypothyroidism - that have caused me to lose a substantial amount of hair around my front hairline and ESPECIALLY around my temples - and the hair I do still have is exceedingly fine. A tiny little dab of this powder sprinkled into my sparse areas - TRULY - makes me look like I have at least four times more hair than I actually have. I discovered this godsend-in-a-bottle about a year or two ago, and I always keep a spare on hand, as I simply will not be without it. The difference it makes in my appearance - and thus my confidence - is astounding. (And for $5 - crazy!) There IS a bit of a gooey feeling where you apply it - but who goes around running their fingers up against their scalp, anyway?! That's the only area where the product should be applied; I'm wondering if the reviewers who have had problems with the product applied it in excess or too far down the length of their hair. My procedure: I take my pointed tail comb and run it just inside my bang area, creating a part that is parallel to my front hairline. Applying the powder not even half an inch into the hairline prevents it from accidentally getting on the forehead, and allows me to hit two sections of hair at once rather than just the very front. I then add a TINY little sprinkle near each temple, and fluff with my fingers. The result is insane. I previously used extreme-hold gels and hardcore hairsprays to provide hold and to try to create faux-volume, but this powder basically renders those products obsolete; I just finish with a spritz of hairspray, mostly to tame flyaways. Sometimes I backcomb a tiny little area, but it's not necessary and would definitely be overkill for most people. I really like a little lift in the bang area, as it has such a slimming effect on the face, and this powder absolutely provides it. However, you are always in complete control over how much "pouf" you have on top; I don't want to give anyone the erroneous impression they'll be stuck with crazy 80s-style tall bangs! If you achieve too much fluff with your fingers, you can easily comb your hair back down to achieve the desired amount of volume/height. The difference you'll see in your hair will likely boggle your mind, and this product's ease of use is unbeatable, as well. Tiny shake here, tiny shake there, ruffle hair with fingers to distribute, and voila! Crazy volume in literally five to ten seconds! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS STUFF! I've used other volumizing powders, including pricey salon volumizers, but this $5 stuff beats them all! One more thing - if you find some hours later or the following day that you need a little more lift, just give the area where you already applied the powder another quick ruffle with your fingers; the product essentally re-activates. It's still bonkers to me that I can get at least two days of awesome volume from the tiniest little smidge of powder! One more tip for those who have hair loss issues - the one other product that has changed everything for me is called Great Hair Day, but you could likely achieve the same effect with any eyeshadow that is around the same shade as your roots. I take a little makeup brush and color in my bare scalp. Once my scalp is no longer visible, and this powder has dramatically increased my volume, I look and feel so much better. Of course I realize this is an unusually lengthy review, but I wanted to share all of this with the hope that I can prevent other women from feeling unnecessarily crummy about themselves! Prepare to be amazed! :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChelleKristine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
big hair
11/21/2014

Customer review by TamaraSue

4.0 stars 11/21/2014 by TamaraSue
by TamaraSue

This stuff is great for giving fine, thin hair a lift bit only apply to the roots and use very very sparingly, otherwise you'll have a big sticky bomb for a hairdo...a little tiny bit applied to the roots...then use a lift comb...causes the hair to lift from the scalp and appear thicker with body. Great for short hairdos if you tend to go flat on top and in back. Great also for lifting bangs off the forehead....finish with a spritz of finishing spray and your do isn't going anywhere but without looking like a helmet head....you only end up with that if you use too much of this and too much hair spray...I can't stress this enough . .go easy! I can't do my hair without this product I'll just stay home.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TamaraSue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Puff the magic powder that Mother never tried.
5/12/2012

Customer review by JoyNYC

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by JoyNYC
by JoyNYC

I signed in to review this because it is THE ONLY thing that has ever given my straight thin hair real volume that lasts. An incredible and simple product. Just a tiny puff of this texturizing powder and magic happens. You fluff it with your fingertips and the friction makes the hair gain dimension that will continue to work. AMAZING STUFF!

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoyNYC
NYC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
This is the best product!
12/22/2011

Customer review by CLWilson

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by CLWilson
by CLWilson

Just a little sprinkle and you'll have volume for miles! This is the best volumizing powder I have ever used.

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CLWilson
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Fav
6/9/2016

Customer review by Ruthann

5.0 stars 6/9/2016 by Ruthann
by Ruthann
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I absolutely love this product and use it almost daily. I've probably gone through at least 13 bottles since I first started using it years ago. Fair warning though - it makes you hair super sticky and you only need a tiny bit. I actually like to back comb my hair FIRST and then add the power to the roots to make it hold.. I will definitely keep buying this product forever!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ruthann
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not Your Mother's Hair Volumizing Powder
6/2/2016

Customer review by Rozy

5.0 stars 6/2/2016 by Rozy
by Rozy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is as good as the product my hairdresser sells at one fourth the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rozy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Finally
12/9/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/9/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This powder is definitely different but try it a few times. Your hair has to be completely dry. Use a little only. Once it's in you need to fluff your hair and you'll have great volume - beachy, bedroom hair if you do it right. If you use less you just plump up the roots a little. Initially it will seem flat but make sure you've combed/brushed it out beforehand and then flip it over and fluff away... Amazing!! After a fee hours just fluff again.. It will last all day! Love it. Much more effective for volume than the spray powders.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wonderful
4/18/2016

Customer review by trish

5.0 stars 4/18/2016 by trish
by trish

I love how easy it is to manage my hair.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product!
4/28/2014

Customer review by BabyFacesSC

5.0 stars 4/28/2014 by BabyFacesSC
by BabyFacesSC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

When it arrived it felt like nothing was in it. But the powder is very light. I used it and it instantly gave volume to my hair.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabyFacesSC
North Charleston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not too bad
7/2/2014

Customer review by Epace

3.0 stars 7/2/2014 by Epace
by Epace
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works okay, nothing exceptional. I have very thick, very flat hair. This product will give my hair some body for an hour or so, but doesn't hold very long at all. It could just be my hair though. Not to mention when I got it, it felt like there was NOTHING in the bottle, even though on the back it says it is normal to feel empty.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Epace
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Age:18 - 24
Free sample received:Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simply Awful
10/10/2013

Customer review by flawless68

1.0 stars 10/10/2013 by flawless68
by flawless68
Top 250 contributor

OMG!!! My experience with Mother's Girl Volumizing powder did not do what i was hoping for. I am white female with fine thin hair. I know as we age our hair gets thinner,mine had help with chemo infusion treatments. I so wanted this to work for me, BUT what i got was dry, dull,lifeless very unmanageable,static hair. ???? go figure. Happy for those that it worked for,but not for me.:(

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flawless68
New Orleans,La.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Top 250 contributor
Sticky situation
11/21/2014

Customer review by kswne

4.0 stars 11/21/2014 by kswne
by kswne

Use very little. It is kind of sticky, but gets the job done. If you can stand the way it feels it will be OK. It does add lots of volume.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kswne
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great to give body and style staying power
5/20/2015

Customer review by Junglemama

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by Junglemama
by Junglemama

I love this product to give my hair body and help things stay in place for special occasions. I don't use it everyday because it gives hair a slight stickiness. However when my hair is flat and needs a lift, I know of no other product that will give it what it needs than this powder. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Junglemama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
chepest silica silylate powder
1/17/2016

Customer review by Emily

5.0 stars 1/17/2016 by Emily
by Emily

Just like bigsexyhair and aveda's version- it's the same key ingredient! Much cheaper and does the trick. These are white powders that gives hair a sticky or rough texture. A little goes a long way.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emily
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Felt like I needed to shower afterwards
4/24/2014

Customer review by YeahUBetcha

1.0 stars 4/24/2014 by YeahUBetcha
by YeahUBetcha

Bought this product about two weeks ago, tried it once and gave it away to a friend immediately afterwards. I have long, fine hair which may have been the cause but the texture and feel it made my hair upon putting it in my roots made it sticky and felt like I haven't showered for weeks. My hair became tangled and greesy looking. Just thinking about it makes my head itch. =/ I wouldn't reccomend this product. Personally, i'll stick to what I know and that is Dove's Dry Shampoo. Smells, feels, and looks great.

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
YeahUBetcha
Eagan, mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Feels, well...creepy
7/30/2014

Customer review by NancyB2

1.0 stars 7/30/2014 by NancyB2
by NancyB2

This stuff is just weird, it's hard to control how much comes out and where so it's almost impossible to get it distributed evenly in your hair. Also, it gives your hair the weirdest, sticky-like texture. It also made me have static! Hate it. Unfortunately, the cost to ship it back for return wouldn't be worth it for the price of the return.

Was this review helpful? (2) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NancyB2
Would recommend to a friend? No