Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

54 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

54 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
17
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 stars
13
1-20 of 54 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews
Great for beginner tank and for small fish
2/24/2014

Customer review by Vpool

4.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Vpool
by Vpool

This aquarium is good for small fish or someone just starting out. I keep a few glofish and fancy guppies in it. The bubbler with LED lighting will not stay in place but it doesn't float up or anything so it really doesn't bother me. The LED lighting is very pretty, especially with glofish. However the LED lighting provides very little light. My fish were acting sluggish and I never got to see their pretty colors very much. I bought a small under the counter light and use that over the aquarium during the day, my fish have been much more active with bright lights on during the day and only the LED lights on during the night. The filter works great so far. I put a piece of black posterboard on the back for a background. It made the LED stand out and also made the glofish stand out more. It also made the cords not so noticeable. It clearly states in the instructions not to fill the aquarium all the way and to only fill it below the scoop in the filter. That's about 2-3 inches from the top. I never had any problems with it bowing out with it only being filled that far. It comes with everything you need except gravel, plants/decor and fish.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vpool
Scranton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty, but badly designed
3/8/2012

Customer review by Tavi6233

3.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Tavi6233
by Tavi6233

I have to say, once I had the tank set up it is really pretty. Now for the problems: ♦To many wires and tubes. Having all these wires and tubes in the tank hanging all over takes away from the look a bit. Maybe if it was a bigger tank it wouldn't be as noticeable, but with this small tank it can be an eyesore. ♦The bubble stone around the light is to strong to be right in the center of the tank. I put a beta in the tank and it is to strong for him to swim through the center, which takes away from the usable space. I ended up taking the air tube out of it and keeping it just for the light. ♦As mentioned in another review, there is no shut off button for the light or the filter. I like to turn the filter off at feeding time, so this makes it a bit of an annoyance since the cord is in a hard to get to area in back of the desk. ♦Also mentioned was the tank lid not fitting properly. I actually only put 2.5 gallons of water in the tank so the water comes up to about 2 inches below the lid. Doing this made it not buckle, but you are losing space. If you look at the box front they fill it to the top of the tank, but in the directions the diagram shows it not filled completely, sort of contradicting itself. So overall I have to say it is a nice tank when you make some alterations to how it is shown on the box.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tavi6233
Pilot Mountain, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good starting tank
9/7/2013

Customer review by kinxmizu

4.0 stars 9/7/2013 by kinxmizu
by kinxmizu

So, to start this Ill say no this is not the most perfect tank in the world but you're also paying a low amount of money for a starter tank, you shouldnt be expecting some 900% high quality tank thats flawless given to you be zeus himself. Realistically this is a good starting tank, my only issues were with the bubbler and lid. The lid after a while had a hard time fitting, it still fits it just takes a extra moment to wiggle it in place, its not a big deal its thin plastic what do you expect? As for the bubbler it looks pretty but it doesnt stay in place very well-at all. Id throw some gravel on it and itd stay pretty okay but as soon as the tube moves its off on its own journey again. What Ive come to learn is some bubblers have that problem because they're bubbling underwater. Luckily you can go to petsmart buy some new tubing for 2 dollars max and a air stone for a dollar and fix your problem if it bothers you that much. I loved this as a starting tank for my little fish. I had 2 small fancy goldfish a black moor and a ryukin calico, they shared it peacefully, and had a okay amount of room. I wish the shape had been a little different as fitting items in there is hard, I could put a little house and 2-3 smaller plants in mine but it was crowded. I recently redecorated the tank with a tall house and 2 smaller silky plants for my the fish. Im writing this review after almost 1 year of having the tank. For a cheap starting tank it is good, you may need a extra few bucks for a airstone which i do recommend buying a different one unless you really want the flashing lights more than the easy comfort but I see that as the only real annoyance, the lid fitting is whatever. Any pet you have youll need to make sure you have the time and money for so people whining about having to put a little extra time into fitting the lid or buying a new bubbler probably shouldnt be owning pets. Like I said for what you pay it is a good item, and I do recommend it for a beginner who has 2 small fish (each fish being about a inch long to 1.5 inches long.)

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kinxmizu
santa rosa, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/22/2011

Customer review by zookeeper167

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by zookeeper167
by zookeeper167

I got this today with some fish. I had gotten a different one that was cracked when I got it home and picked this one out as a replacement instead seeing it didnt have a huge tube up the center of the tank to stop any ornaments from fitting. I love it. I have a Betta and 2 other fish in it with plenty of room for more when I get ready to add to it. We put the skull ornament over the LED light stone and it looks awesome and so far Oscar,Pinky and Miny seem to love their new home

Was this review helpful? (35) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zookeeper167
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Such a fabulous Aquarium!
10/5/2013

Customer review by SkreebaDarling

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by SkreebaDarling
by SkreebaDarling

I bought this Aquarium for my fancy guppies and ghost shrimp to have a dicso party! I love the light show every night the tank illuminates around my livingroom.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SkreebaDarling
Portland Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Our Betta loves it
12/29/2015

Customer review by chichiowner

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by chichiowner
by chichiowner

Sheldon loves his new home. Much better than the plastic bowl he came home in. I love the color morphing light. So nice to sit in the dark and watch him swim. He shimmers in the blue portion of the light. This set up doesn't take up a lot of room, and is very quiet. The pumps from years ago were terribly loud. Not this one. It is the right size for a Betta, or 2 guppies, or perhaps 3 neon tetras, but not all of them at once. Goldfish would quickly out grow this tank so dont go down that road. There is a bubble light you could use that is made by the Glofish people that would allow for 2 Glofish to be in the tank. You can find those online for about $11 dollars. It has the blue LEDs. Remember though, only one Betta, OR 2 small fish at once in this tank. Overstocking will cause the tank to become dirty very quickly. Remember to do partial water changes weekly, say 20%, and to let the tank run for at least 24 hours to get the water to room temperature before adding a fish. Invest in a small aquarium heater and the fish will be happier and more active.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chichiowner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My Betta (Leonardo) Loves This Aquarium!
2/7/2016

Customer review by Leonardo

5.0 stars 2/7/2016 by Leonardo
by Leonardo

Bought this aquarium a week ago and my Betta loves it. He has so much room to swim around. He now fans out since he is much happier in a bigger aquarium.The light display has red, blue, and green lights. The bubbles coming up from the lights change colors. We didn't have any problems keeping the light display down. It did not float up at all. You need to make sure you place some gravel on the light disc to keep it from floating up. Just make sure you are not covering any of the little bulbs. We used black gravel and you can't see the light disc at all. We purchased a separate Tetra heater and it keeps the water at 77 degrees. Filters cost about $7.00 for a box of six. We added some aquarium accessories and it looks great. We also bought a bottom feeder fish to help keep the aquarium clean and we will be adding a few snails to help with algae removal. The hoses and cords are not great, but we tied them together to keep them from getting tangled and they just sit behind the aquarium. Place the aquarium near an outlet because you do need to plug in the filter, lights, and heater. The lid is a tight fit, but it does fit. This aquarium was well worth the $26 we paid for it. We could not be happier!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leonardo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A cool idea, but bad design
9/13/2011

Customer review by KitKat424

2.0 stars 9/13/2011 by KitKat424
by KitKat424

I purchased this tank at my local walmart store, and I am sad to say that it did not meet expectations. The only really cool thing about this kit, is the bubbler. But be warned, it is very difficult to keep in place as the wire gets caught in the lid....it kept coming up out of the gravel. Also there is no on/off switch for the bubbler, so you have to keep plugging and unplugging it. The tank is more tall than it is wide, so it does not provide a whole lot of swimming space. You may want to consider replacing the filter that comes with this tank, as it does not provide biological filtration...ammonia can become a real problem, really quickly if you are not doing daily water changes in this very small tank. As far as the tank itself goes, it does tend to bow out when filled with water, making the lid a very tight, and sometimes difficult fit. Over all, I really wish I had purchased a different tank.

Was this review helpful? (71) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KitKat424
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
I really like this tank
1/27/2016

Customer review by TNMelinda

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by TNMelinda
by TNMelinda

I have a single betta in this tank. He loves it. He has plenty of room to swim around in. I also have a small heater in it, as well as some decorations for him, and there is still plenty of space. The tank was easy to set up and can fit anywhere! The lights change colors and it is nice to sit quietly and watch them. If you have trouble sleeping without white noise, this would be great in a bedroom as you could focus on the water and fall asleep.

TNMelinda
Jamestown, TN 38556, USA
Great Beginner or Child tank
5/8/2014

Customer review by KSsweet

4.0 stars 5/8/2014 by KSsweet
by KSsweet

I loved this tank. It was a great starter tank for me and my 1 gold fish, 1 mystery snail, and 1 algae eater. Please note you will not need to over feed or feed more than once a day in this small tank, I found when I did the tank got icky and I was constantly cleaning it. I fed my fish once a day, I know that left over food particles were in the gravel for all to enjoy. Over feeding in this tank will be a great no no as you will find it very cloudy and dirty. The filters are easy to find and replace. The LED lights were awesome. This is not a tank where you would want a lot of decor due to the size of the tank. I just sat it upon my dresser, added a few plants, gravel,sm coral and enjoyed my pets. The filter is pretty powerful to be so small and absolutely NO NOISE from the filter..it is very quiet. I passed my tank on to my niece who will enjoy it as much as I had. I actually upgraded to a larger tank as I am wanting more fish and more decor as I embrace the hobby.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KSsweet
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fish tank
1/26/2016

Customer review by Boom

5.0 stars 1/26/2016 by Boom
by Boom

Perfect size tank for small kids, very affordable and easy to set up. Accessories very inexpensive. Overall great product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Boom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is a super-duper tank!
10/27/2011

Customer review by Eagleeyes4ever

4.0 stars 10/27/2011 by Eagleeyes4ever
by Eagleeyes4ever

The half moon shape makes a nice display to showcase your fish. The changing light colors and extra bubbling feature make the tank special and fun. I like the height so that it takes up less surface space, yet the fish has lots of room to swim and play. We had no trouble setting it up. The tank has a plug for the regular filter and another plug for the light-up bubble maker. I do wish that it had a light switch, but we use an extenstion cord to make it easy to unplug the light so our betta can sleep. All-in-all, my whole family really likes this tank!

Was this review helpful? (35) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eagleeyes4ever
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great fish tank!
9/3/2012

Customer review by Mommy719

5.0 stars 9/3/2012 by Mommy719
by Mommy719

I have had this fish tank for over a month and I have no complaints about it. I bought it for my 7 year old daughter who loves it! She wanted a betta fish, and this tank had lots of room for one fish. You could add more if you wanted, but I would not recommend any more than 4 small fish. The filter works pretty good and the replacement cartridges are cheap to buy. This tank is perfect for someone who does not have a lot of room for a tank and the lights are really cool especially at night!

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mommy719
kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just go for the 5 gal. kit.
7/15/2014

Customer review by Airfliyer

3.0 stars 7/15/2014 by Airfliyer
by Airfliyer

I have had this tank for 6 months now. During that period I kept four Cherry barbs which later gave offspring. This tank initially caught my eye because of the rounded front "half moon." The kit I bought had a Tetra Whisper Pump 10, now I think they sell them smaller, a Tetra 3i filter, and an LED Airstone along with the usual dechlorinator and fish food trail bags they put in any kit. The Good: It looks nice, is compact, and the pump/filter is relatively quite. Since the tank is made of acrylic, it is super light and easy to carry when empty, plus if it falls it won't crack. I have this tank in my room and I sleep fine. If you buy small fish they will have plenty of space to swim around. The lid also keeps water from splashing out or the fish from committing suicide. The Bad: 3 Things. 1: This is a matter of opinion but I hate the LED rainbow airstone. It changes color on its own and you can't control it. I could never sleep with this thing on at night. I ended up taking it off and installing a normal airstone. 2: Problem 1 leads to 2 which is the kit does not have its own normal LED hood or method to install one. I had a lamp on it at first before I bought a Marineland LED hood which cost me $30. It looked quite nice. 3: The tank is about $30. Walmart sells some nice rectangular glass tank kits, I know I bought one. The 5 gallon kit cost $3 cheaper. What I'm saying is that you will save yourself more money by buying the next step up, a five gallon tank. I wasted so much money with this and in the end I ended up with the bigger tank. Plus bigger tanks are easier to maintain too so think about that. The Ugly: The evaporation is crazy on this tank. The small lightweight filter doesn't help the issue. That filter needs a specific water level otherwise it won't create the pressure it needs to function. Since tank is acrylic, the back side of tank bends easily back when filled with water. This leaves a gaping hole the lid can't cover which leads to increase evaporation. I had to constantly put water in the tank every 4 days to keep the filter running smoothly. Like I said, bigger tanks require less maintenance. Hope this helps everyone good night!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Airfliyer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not at all what I had hoped for
12/14/2012

Customer review by FishermanBrayden

1.0 stars 12/14/2012 by FishermanBrayden
by FishermanBrayden

I had hoped that this would be a good starter tank for myself and my toddler, however I was left disappointed. I have had this tank for shortly longer than a month and had hoped that I would learn to be ok with the tank but I am not. I have the 3 Gallon half moon bubbling LED. The factors that I dislike the most are: The light and bubbles need to be unplugged to be shut off For the bubbling LED light there is a tube and a wire that come from the top of the tank and connect to the disk which is hard to keep submerged and only half of my bubbles work unless it is cranked up to high which disturbs the fish. The filter is very very loud. My tank has a fog in the back on one side. I have since purchase added a small heater and an internal thermometer. The top is all clear plastic and gets dirty looking after a short time. The feeding hole is small and awkward for a child to try to use. Currently the tank is surrounded by wires, loud and disappointing. :( It is looking like I am going to have to start over and just throw the money I put into this tank into the garbage.

FishermanBrayden
Clayton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Definitely enjoy this tank
6/24/2014

Customer review by BettaEnthusiast

4.0 stars 6/24/2014 by BettaEnthusiast
by BettaEnthusiast

We have two of the 3gal Half Moon tanks for our bettas. Once we got used to the cycling of water and getting the bacterial balance down, these have been fantastic tanks. Yes, it does stink that there isn't a way to turn off the LEDs without unplugging it at night, but the bubbles and filter keep working. To us, that's more important than having a convenient switch. We did have a few extra fish in each tank for a while, but they didn't make it. Our Bettas are little beasts and have thrived in these tanks. We have a plecko in one with our oldest Betta, a Corey catfish in the other with our Crowntail and we have a smaller Hexagon tank (also from Tetra that we love), with another Corey and our white Betta. We are actually planning on upgrading that tank to another half-moon eventually just so those two have more space to swim. All in all, we could not be more happy with these tanks. Yes, there is a learning curve, but as soon as you get ahead of it, these are definitely one of the best buys you can find. You only need to purchase the decor and a thermometer to complete this setup.

BettaEnthusiast
Dayton, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tetra Bubbling LED Half Moon Aquarium Kit
11/19/2015

Customer review by Thabutz1

4.0 stars 11/19/2015 by Thabutz1
by Thabutz1

Awesome looking tank but the LED light doesn't shine only white at all.It shows Red,Yellow,Blue & Green.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thabutz1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not a great tank...
12/31/2012

Customer review by cbvictoria

1.0 stars 12/31/2012 by cbvictoria
by cbvictoria

I am a novice when it comes to fish but the lighting for tank is terrible you can't even see your fish, if they changed that and gave you above lighting as well it would be a much better tank. I will be returning this tank for a refund.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cbvictoria
van
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
beautiful light display
9/24/2012

Customer review by kiselaka

4.0 stars 9/24/2012 by kiselaka
by kiselaka

i was weary at first to buy this since i saw so many negative reviews but decided to go ahead and buy it anyway.....i can always take it back right? anyway, i love it. i DIDN'T have the problem with the lid not fitting like so many other's have had and i fill it to the top and still fits perfectly. i love that the colors change automatically. i had the other cylinder shaped one with the tube up the middle but you have to change the colors manually which is why i bought this one. of course it's for small fish...it's only 3 gallons and the shape makes it thin but other than that i really like the design and if i wanted bigger or more fish, i'd buy a bigger tank right? i would give it a 5 star except for that my betta hated it. i think he didn't like that the bubbles are so strong so i'll be putting in some small neons and maybe a couple frogs into this one and put my betta in something else. maybe with different fish it'll be a 5 star then. but i really like this tank so i don't mind getting something else for the betta, i've been wanting another tank for small neons anyway.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kiselaka
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
NEVER BUY A PLASTIC TANK!
8/20/2015

Customer review by VampireGirl28

1.0 stars 8/20/2015 by VampireGirl28
by VampireGirl28

I bought this tank at another store about 3 weeks ago. All of a sudden there is a crack in the back of it. I purchased another one (stupid, I know!) since I didn't have the packaging or receipt, and planned to pack the broken one up and return it. As soon as I got home with the new tank I opened the box... only to find that the new tank was busted and cracked like it had been smashed! Returning both tanks today!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VampireGirl28
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1-20 of 54 reviews