Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

66 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

66 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

59%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
16
1-20 of 66 total reviews
59%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Not at all what I had hoped for
12/14/2012

Customer review by FishermanBrayden

1.0 stars 12/14/2012 by FishermanBrayden
by FishermanBrayden

I had hoped that this would be a good starter tank for myself and my toddler, however I was left disappointed. I have had this tank for shortly longer than a month and had hoped that I would learn to be ok with the tank but I am not. I have the 3 Gallon half moon bubbling LED. The factors that I dislike the most are: The light and bubbles need to be unplugged to be shut off For the bubbling LED light there is a tube and a wire that come from the top of the tank and connect to the disk which is hard to keep submerged and only half of my bubbles work unless it is cranked up to high which disturbs the fish. The filter is very very loud. My tank has a fog in the back on one side. I have since purchase added a small heater and an internal thermometer. The top is all clear plastic and gets dirty looking after a short time. The feeding hole is small and awkward for a child to try to use. Currently the tank is surrounded by wires, loud and disappointing. :( It is looking like I am going to have to start over and just throw the money I put into this tank into the garbage.

FishermanBrayden
Clayton, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Definitely enjoy this tank
6/24/2014

Customer review by BettaEnthusiast

4.0 stars 6/24/2014 by BettaEnthusiast
by BettaEnthusiast

We have two of the 3gal Half Moon tanks for our bettas. Once we got used to the cycling of water and getting the bacterial balance down, these have been fantastic tanks. Yes, it does stink that there isn't a way to turn off the LEDs without unplugging it at night, but the bubbles and filter keep working. To us, that's more important than having a convenient switch. We did have a few extra fish in each tank for a while, but they didn't make it. Our Bettas are little beasts and have thrived in these tanks. We have a plecko in one with our oldest Betta, a Corey catfish in the other with our Crowntail and we have a smaller Hexagon tank (also from Tetra that we love), with another Corey and our white Betta. We are actually planning on upgrading that tank to another half-moon eventually just so those two have more space to swim. All in all, we could not be more happy with these tanks. Yes, there is a learning curve, but as soon as you get ahead of it, these are definitely one of the best buys you can find. You only need to purchase the decor and a thermometer to complete this setup.

BettaEnthusiast
Dayton, OH, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK - 3 gal. LED lights acrylic
7/25/2013

Customer review by mloko

3.0 stars 7/25/2013 by mloko
by mloko

Agree with others. LED/bubbler does not stay down no matter how much gravel I try and put around it to weight it. Filter is loud and bubbles from the top come out, making sure I wipe down the lid once in a while to clean debris from the filter off. Do not like the tubes/cord from the lights showing in the tank. Not exactly like the photo appears. And if you don't know about space requirements for goldfish....you can't put as many in it as the photo would make you believe. 1...possibly 2 would be max. I've had it 10 days and I'll be returning it to the store soon. Also, when filled with water, the back bows out slightly and occasionally the lid doesn't catch the lip right and will fall in if I'm not careful.

mloko
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
I really like this tank
1/27/2016

Customer review by TNMelinda

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by TNMelinda
by TNMelinda

I have a single betta in this tank. He loves it. He has plenty of room to swim around in. I also have a small heater in it, as well as some decorations for him, and there is still plenty of space. The tank was easy to set up and can fit anywhere! The lights change colors and it is nice to sit quietly and watch them. If you have trouble sleeping without white noise, this would be great in a bedroom as you could focus on the water and fall asleep.

TNMelinda
Jamestown, TN 38556, USA
Not well made
3/10/2016

Customer review by Sky5

1.0 stars 3/10/2016 by Sky5
by Sky5

The filter does not do a very good job. You also have to unplug the the lights for them to turn off. It would be better with a switch. The LED bubbler will not stay down either.

Sky5
Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Office Aquarium
8/18/2011

Customer review by CynH

4.0 stars 8/18/2011 by CynH
by CynH

This is a great small aquarium for a desk top and office environment. It is compact and extremely quiet. The filter is ok, but I only have one goldfish and have had to change the filter twice a month. Buyers need to understand that like with most small tanks, this tank took almost 5 weeks and daily partial water changes to finally cycle and balance safely. Great tank for a couple of fish, if you want more fish then go with a bigger tank. I love it and it works prefect for me.

CynH
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I am very pleased and happy with the products that came with the kit. I just wish a heater would have been included also.
3/11/2015

Customer review by Ambam

5.0 stars 3/11/2015 by Ambam
by Ambam

I purchased my aquarium about five weeks ago, I love it. It's the right size, the LED light show is amazing especially at night, when I wake up and can't sleep. The filter is quiet, the bubbles are great and the fish seem happy. My Shih Tzu even enjoys watching the fish, while she lays on the bed. Thank you so much for such a great product.

Ambam
Baltimore, OH 43105, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent customer service
9/16/2013

Customer review by GennasMom

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by GennasMom
by GennasMom

My daughter received this for her 4th birthday. We were disappointed when we noticed the green LED didn't light up after we had set the tank up. I called customer service the next day and the representative was extremely helpful. We will definitely keep Tetra brand at the top of our list when we're ready to graduate to a bigger tank!

GennasMom
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Garbage
10/8/2014

Customer review by Jonn

1.0 stars 10/8/2014 by Jonn
by Jonn

This setup lacks any real thought or quality. It's god awful to setup and maintain. Your "whisper" Air pump hums as loud as I do, and the filter WILL NOT stop this obnoxious gargling sound. This tank is the sole reason I will never buy a tetra product ever again.

Jonn
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful customer service!
10/24/2012

Customer review by Mellon

5.0 stars 10/24/2012 by Mellon
by Mellon

When I bought this tank the lid was missing so I contacted Tetra Care online. They quickly called me and replaced the lid with more than I asked for. They were very helpful and kind and I highly recommend purchasing this tank and other items from this company. :)

Mellon
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little Tank for the price!
2/23/2012

Customer review by Number1fish

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by Number1fish
by Number1fish

I bought the 1 gallon tank about a week ago, and have had no problems with it. I have a single male betta and he is doing great in this tank. Enough room for him to swim around. The filter and bubbler work great! It looks great in my office.

Number1fish
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great beginner aquarium
4/8/2015

Customer review by lflemi00

5.0 stars 4/8/2015 by lflemi00
by lflemi00

I grew up with 50 gallon aquariums in the house. I love this little aquarium. It is easy to maintain and puts on a pretty light show. Quick assembly and my my kids love it!

lflemi00
Georgia, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No instructions
1/12/2015

Customer review by edodge30

4.0 stars 1/12/2015 by edodge30
by edodge30

I purchased the half moon aquarium and there are no instructions on how to put it together

edodge30
Simple to clean
11/25/2013

Customer review by Rwholly

2.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Rwholly
by Rwholly

LED lights don't last very long one of the three has gone out on me after only three weeks

Rwholly
Payson, AZ 85541, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
This tank looks great
10/16/2013

Customer review by Alohaoe

1.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Alohaoe
by Alohaoe

Tank looks good but it needs to be reviewed more!!

Alohaoe
Honolulu, HI, USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for beginner tank and for small fish
2/24/2014

Customer review by Vpool

4.0 stars 2/24/2014 by Vpool
by Vpool

This aquarium is good for small fish or someone just starting out. I keep a few glofish and fancy guppies in it. The bubbler with LED lighting will not stay in place but it doesn't float up or anything so it really doesn't bother me. The LED lighting is very pretty, especially with glofish. However the LED lighting provides very little light. My fish were acting sluggish and I never got to see their pretty colors very much. I bought a small under the counter light and use that over the aquarium during the day, my fish have been much more active with bright lights on during the day and only the LED lights on during the night. The filter works great so far. I put a piece of black posterboard on the back for a background. It made the LED stand out and also made the glofish stand out more. It also made the cords not so noticeable. It clearly states in the instructions not to fill the aquarium all the way and to only fill it below the scoop in the filter. That's about 2-3 inches from the top. I never had any problems with it bowing out with it only being filled that far. It comes with everything you need except gravel, plants/decor and fish.

Was this review helpful? (22) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Vpool
Scranton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty, but badly designed
3/8/2012

Customer review by Tavi6233

3.0 stars 3/8/2012 by Tavi6233
by Tavi6233

I have to say, once I had the tank set up it is really pretty. Now for the problems: ♦To many wires and tubes. Having all these wires and tubes in the tank hanging all over takes away from the look a bit. Maybe if it was a bigger tank it wouldn't be as noticeable, but with this small tank it can be an eyesore. ♦The bubble stone around the light is to strong to be right in the center of the tank. I put a beta in the tank and it is to strong for him to swim through the center, which takes away from the usable space. I ended up taking the air tube out of it and keeping it just for the light. ♦As mentioned in another review, there is no shut off button for the light or the filter. I like to turn the filter off at feeding time, so this makes it a bit of an annoyance since the cord is in a hard to get to area in back of the desk. ♦Also mentioned was the tank lid not fitting properly. I actually only put 2.5 gallons of water in the tank so the water comes up to about 2 inches below the lid. Doing this made it not buckle, but you are losing space. If you look at the box front they fill it to the top of the tank, but in the directions the diagram shows it not filled completely, sort of contradicting itself. So overall I have to say it is a nice tank when you make some alterations to how it is shown on the box.

Was this review helpful? (21) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tavi6233
Pilot Mountain, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A good starting tank
9/7/2013

Customer review by kinxmizu

4.0 stars 9/7/2013 by kinxmizu
by kinxmizu

So, to start this Ill say no this is not the most perfect tank in the world but you're also paying a low amount of money for a starter tank, you shouldnt be expecting some 900% high quality tank thats flawless given to you be zeus himself. Realistically this is a good starting tank, my only issues were with the bubbler and lid. The lid after a while had a hard time fitting, it still fits it just takes a extra moment to wiggle it in place, its not a big deal its thin plastic what do you expect? As for the bubbler it looks pretty but it doesnt stay in place very well-at all. Id throw some gravel on it and itd stay pretty okay but as soon as the tube moves its off on its own journey again. What Ive come to learn is some bubblers have that problem because they're bubbling underwater. Luckily you can go to petsmart buy some new tubing for 2 dollars max and a air stone for a dollar and fix your problem if it bothers you that much. I loved this as a starting tank for my little fish. I had 2 small fancy goldfish a black moor and a ryukin calico, they shared it peacefully, and had a okay amount of room. I wish the shape had been a little different as fitting items in there is hard, I could put a little house and 2-3 smaller plants in mine but it was crowded. I recently redecorated the tank with a tall house and 2 smaller silky plants for my the fish. Im writing this review after almost 1 year of having the tank. For a cheap starting tank it is good, you may need a extra few bucks for a airstone which i do recommend buying a different one unless you really want the flashing lights more than the easy comfort but I see that as the only real annoyance, the lid fitting is whatever. Any pet you have youll need to make sure you have the time and money for so people whining about having to put a little extra time into fitting the lid or buying a new bubbler probably shouldnt be owning pets. Like I said for what you pay it is a good item, and I do recommend it for a beginner who has 2 small fish (each fish being about a inch long to 1.5 inches long.)

Was this review helpful? (17) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kinxmizu
santa rosa, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect! :)
10/10/2016

Customer review by JoJo

5.0 stars 10/10/2016 by JoJo
by JoJo

I won a goldfish at an event and it needed a home. I looked at multiple aquariums and was nervous to get one because of all of the reviews. It was good though. The lid was easy, if you have gravel the lights will stay and it didn't leak one bit. Looks really cool with rocks and sea plants. Had it for 5 years and it is still going strong. Great for two goldfish. Blaze and Goldie both loved it. Nothing broke. Both goldfish are still alive.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoJo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/22/2011

Customer review by zookeeper167

5.0 stars 12/22/2011 by zookeeper167
by zookeeper167

I got this today with some fish. I had gotten a different one that was cracked when I got it home and picked this one out as a replacement instead seeing it didnt have a huge tube up the center of the tank to stop any ornaments from fitting. I love it. I have a Betta and 2 other fish in it with plenty of room for more when I get ready to add to it. We put the skull ornament over the LED light stone and it looks awesome and so far Oscar,Pinky and Miny seem to love their new home

Was this review helpful? (42) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zookeeper167
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews