Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

46 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

46 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 stars
8
1-20 of 46 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews
Great for 1 beta; do NOT get for goldfish!
8/14/2011

Customer review by GiveMommyABreak

4.0 stars 8/14/2011 by GiveMommyABreak
by GiveMommyABreak

Got this on the way home from carnival after kid won a goldfish, so I hadn't done any research first. The tank is really cool looking after being set up and makes a beautiful light pattern on the ceiling!!! The box shows 5 goldfish swimming in the aquarium. No way this could ever happen!!! Tank is way too small for even one goldfish. Perfect for one beta fish though. If this carnival fish survives, I'll buy it a bigger tank and get a beta for this tank.

Was this review helpful? (87) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GiveMommyABreak
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Nice idea but tank needs to be bigger
9/19/2011

Customer review by DulcieC

2.0 stars 9/19/2011 by DulcieC
by DulcieC

I bought this for a Beta for my son's room. I thought the idea of having a filtration system sounded great. I'd always used those cheaper triangle shaped ones that come with an under gravel plate and an air stone. This set up offers some great components. A full size air pump and the multi-color led lights with air stone were awesome. As the other reviewer said, they make very pretty patterns on the ceiling. But unless you have fake fish that's where the fun ends. First the little filter takes up a lot of room in this tiny 1 gallon tank. Second you can't fill the water anywhere close to the top because it has to be below the filter discharge. Third the current caused by the filter and the air stone in less than a gallon of water will make a Beta VERY unhappy. Beta's like relatively calm water and other than a Beta, there's not much else you could put in this tiny tank. I ended up buying another one of the cheap triangle tanks for my son's Beta and have scavenged the cool led/air stone for my 75 gallon tank. I keep this bowl around just to put the Beta in during his tank cleaning. Honestly they should sell the LED lights/airstone separately for larger tanks - they would make a killing!

Was this review helpful? (51) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DulcieC
Near Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect for my Betta
3/7/2013

Customer review by animalsrthebest

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by animalsrthebest
by animalsrthebest

I have had this tank for about 2 months and I enjoy it daily...the lights look great at night reflecting on the ceiling! My betta fish is clean and happy. The filter works very nicely. I have rinsed it out but haven't even had to change it yet and the water is crystal clear. I had to adjust the bubbler so the current wasn't too strong for "BF" (Blue/Betta Fish), which is accomplished easily by turning the adapter screw on the tubing coming out of the bubbler...just play around until your fish seems comfortable. The lights continually change color and light up the bubbles coming from the bottom of the tank...I used glass beads instead of gravel to anchor the light fixture to the bottom. Also it is very quiet...just move the bubbler around if it vibrates until it gets into the "right" spot. Very happy to get a tank with a filter for $20. Great tank for one betta fish.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
animalsrthebest
Punta Gorda, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Little Betta Tank
8/27/2012

Customer review by bettalover6

4.0 stars 8/27/2012 by bettalover6
by bettalover6

While at Walmart shopping with a friend, we passed the sad wall of betta bowls and as usual, most of the fish looked half dead, all but one female that was MUCH smaller than the others, only about an inch from the tip of her nose to the end of her tail fin, she was swimming around in quick circles and looked extremely healthy after a quick examination. I couldn't let her stay there when she obviously wanted to live, so I purchased her and this little tank since it was the cheapest one with a filter, most betta tanks don't have one, but I prefer them. The filter is really small and quiet, if you place the suction cups all the way up the tank as far as they can go, then you can fill the tank up within half an inch of the top easily and the filter doesn't take up a lot of room in the tank either. The lighted bubbler is a little annoying since it wants to float, but I piled on the gravel and placed a few small river rocks on the lip to keep it down. If you don't have these, then Walmart sells an entire pack for a little over $1. The entire set up comes with an air pump that is extremely quiet as well as valves that allow you to customize how powerful the filter and airstone become, with my betta I put it on the lowest setting and the current doesn't effect her at all. Overall, it's a great little tank for a betta, but I am planning to upgrade since at the time I only had thirty bucks on my person and couldn't splurge on a bigger tank.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bettalover6
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/29/2012

Customer review by lilballerina

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by lilballerina
by lilballerina

Tetra Bubbling is so perfect, it has a tiny filter and pump just right for this size tank, super deal for the price. Don't use lite, I wouldn't want lite flashing in my eyes. It keeps betta really clean, and healthy. I have a pineapple sponge bob house in each of my 5 of my betta Bubbles, they live side by side in ther own space, perfect company. I have to clean them every 8-10weeks, as I feed them a pintch a day of Betta food as well as dried worms in afternoon.

Was this review helpful? (23) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lilballerina
Ontario, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Avoid this Tank
4/12/2014

Customer review by Deccasmooth

2.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Deccasmooth
by Deccasmooth

I purchased this tank along with two other 1-gallon aquariums, all different brands, same price,and compared. Although this tank looks pretty cool on the box, it has 2 major flaws you should really consider reading before purchasing. 1. Tetra's bubbling filtration system is very poor. It comprises of an external air pump (which vibrates like crazy and was annoying) which blows air from the bottom of the intake tube up through the top and through the filter. The little flap on top of the filer assembly is very cheap and would constantly flip off from the pressure of the bubbles, which created a splashing mess even if I turned the air pressure way down. Look for aquariums with an actual pump motor that draws water by a propeller not by air pressure. This tank would go through filters like crazy and it still wouldn't keep the tank clean in comparison with the other different tanks I bought.The water in this tank would already have debris floating around while the other tanks were crystal clear. This tank required 3x as many cleanings and filter changes as the other tanks I purchased because of the bad filtration system design.Note: I maintained all 3 aquariums the same, with the same maintenance schedule (water changes,etc.) 2. The betta I placed in this tank was not a fan of the bubbling air stone and led light . The bubbles are harsh and creates too much splashing(messy-messy), even with the air pressure turned way down. The led light was very harsh and the betta was avoiding it at all costs. I unplugged it after a while . Don't forget, fish need to rest like you, and this bright light running 24/7 won't allow that...especially since they don't have eyelids to close and block that bright light. All in all, after a couple months I had enough, and put this aquarium back in it's box.

Was this review helpful? (17) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Deccasmooth
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cute home for my happy Betta!
9/23/2013

Customer review by ThisIsANuisance

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by ThisIsANuisance
by ThisIsANuisance

First of all, this tank is small and only appropriate for one Betta fish. You cannot put several Goldfish in it like the box shows. You could put guppies in it, I suppose. However, this is my experience. First of all, it comes with a nice air pump and filter set-up. I put the top of the filter up through the opening toward the rear of the lid, This way, I can fill the water up to about 1/2" from the top of the aquarium. I put a small heater (bought separately) that attaches to the wall with suctions cups also against the back wall right next to the filter. I put a glow-in-the dark- grass right in front of the filter (bought separately at Wal-mart) and the Air Stone with the colored lights on the bottom right beneath that. I put clear glass marbles in the bottom, just enough to hold down the stone and the base of the grass plant. I also bought separately at Wal-Mart a thermometer that sticks (like a sticker) to the outside of the aquarium and the heater keeps the water at about 74 degrees. Now, there are two adjustment valves for the air. I set the filter on the lowest setting so that it barely trickles and I turned the airflow for the airstone off all together because Betta don't like that. Guess what? It's perfect! My Betta is very happy, swims around, in a week he'd already learned to come to the feeding hole in the lid for lunch and after only 10 days in his new home he built a very nice bubble nest! He likes to 'sit' on top of the heater. He's happy and healthy and all is well. It was $20 well spent! :-)

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThisIsANuisance
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice for the price!!!
8/21/2012

Customer review by TheBigDawg2203

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by TheBigDawg2203
by TheBigDawg2203

I bought this for a fish I inherited from my daughter. It works as advertised and easy to assemble. Pump is very quiet. I added aluminum foil to the outside of the lid (shiny side down) to reflect the light back into the aquarium and that helps light things up better. Fish seems to like it too!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheBigDawg2203
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Tank too small
3/21/2012

Customer review by Catori17

2.0 stars 3/21/2012 by Catori17
by Catori17

It was a great idea but tank needs to be bigger, by the time you put everything in it there is very little room for the fish. I didn't even use it for my beta. It was a nice idea though.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Catori17
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/18/2012

Customer review by CBL82

1.0 stars 4/18/2012 by CBL82
by CBL82

I like the idea, but it does not work the way it is supposed to. Everything is too cramped in this little tank. The filter does a horrible job. I have to clean the tank multiple times in the span of a week. It only has a goldfish in it. I should have done some research first, but this was a spur of the moment purchase. My daughter was looking at the fish at the store and I saw how excited she was so I just bought her a small tank to see how she would do with it. I may try like another reviewer said and salvage the led lights for a bigger tank, but this tank is going in the trash as soon as we pick up the next tank.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CBL82
Walland, Tn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Great for 1 gallon tank
1/21/2013

Customer review by sttkaren

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by sttkaren
by sttkaren

Small Tank but sits right next to my bed on the night stand and gives me much joy to watch the 3 African Chichlids swim around. Filter works great water is clear after 2 weeks. I do need to find replacement filter cartridges on line any suggestions?

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sttkaren
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/3/2012

Customer review by renababe523

2.0 stars 10/3/2012 by renababe523
by renababe523

i was excited about this tank. i have a year old betta fish. the bubble part sent him through a whirlpool and he had to put his little fins in over drive in order to stay a float. looks really cool, but the bubbling part should not be put on unless you hate your fish.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
renababe523
NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
too small, cheap material
6/25/2012

Customer review by Drea84

1.0 stars 6/25/2012 by Drea84
by Drea84

I also bought this after my son won a fish at a carnival. Im very good at assembling things but because the tank is so small is was hard to get the led light/bubbler to stay under the rocks while arranging the tank. Once the filter was in place along with a small plant there was really no room for the fish but we tried it anyways. I noticed no bubbles were coming up so I moved the hoses around to make sure things were flowing properly & noticed air was escaping from the valves which are supposedly adjustable but they are very cheap & would not allow for proper filtration, water leaked from them as well. I returned it the next day & went with a traditional tank (5gal starter for about $7 more)

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drea84
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Great for starters!
7/2/2013

Customer review by punkin123

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by punkin123
by punkin123

I followed the directions and I have 0 complaints. The filter is perfect, water is crystal clear after 1 week. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
punkin123
Atlanta, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Royal
4/1/2015

Customer review by FirstFishOwner

4.0 stars 4/1/2015 by FirstFishOwner
by FirstFishOwner

We have our first fish. He is a Royal Blue Betta. This aquarium is perfect for the small space that we have for him. Our kittens Sugar and Dixie just love to watch him, and I don't have to worry about them knocking the aquarium over. The lights make it look like a very expensive fish aquarium. This was a great buy for our family and fish.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FirstFishOwner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Idea but LED Lights Didn't Last; Good Pump
1/13/2014

Customer review by Nayelichi

2.0 stars 1/13/2014 by Nayelichi
by Nayelichi

1) The LED lights on my system quit working today after using the bubbler for less than 1 week. I plugged-in the lights every morning and unplugged them every evening before bed. The lights were on, on average, 10 hours a day. I bought the aquarium kit because I liked the idea of the changing LED lights. The changing lights were pretty when they worked. I used it initially in the original tank then I used it in a 3 gallon tank. The lights looked nice in both tanks. 2) The aquarium is too narrow even for a betta. Two days after setting up the system my fish didn't look very happy. I moved my fish to a 3-gallon rectangular aquarium using the same filter and bubbler system. It seemed much happier with the extra swimming space. 3) The pump and filter is sufficient even for a 3-gallon tank. The ability to alternate the airflow to the filter and bubbler is a plus. Not all fish like a lot of bubbles. I was able to increase airflow to the filter when I moved it to the 3-gallon tank. The water surface still gets decent movement and aeration. I will use the 1 gallon tank as a planter. It will look nice next to the 3-gallon aquarium. I will continue to use the bubbler (sans working LED lights) until my replacement arrives. I like the lights. The fish couldn't care less.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Nayelichi
South Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Cute but no thank you
9/23/2012

Customer review by person546584

1.0 stars 9/23/2012 by person546584
by person546584

I bought this because I live in an apartment and wanted something small and simple. I got home and put it all together all to notice that you needed a check valve to go from the air tubes to the pump. After getting a check valve now the pump doesnt work. I really do not think the pump is any good.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
person546584
Kansas city Mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
has to be full
7/11/2012

Customer review by kassamassarooroo

4.0 stars 7/11/2012 by kassamassarooroo
by kassamassarooroo

my mom got me this cause i already had one that leaked so she returned that and got me this one and its good but if u dont keep it full with water the filter makes a lould unplesent weird bubbling nosie but the fillter provids a hideing spot and the tank itself is to small to have any thing else in it but i like to look at the ceiling at night with all the light changing and its really pretty when the fish swims over the light and about the light it is super hard to keep it on the bottom of the tank and if u r wondering i have a beta fish and a sucker fish over all it is a nice tank

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kassamassarooroo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Perfect!!
2/24/2015

Customer review by Angie

5.0 stars 2/24/2015 by Angie
by Angie

Right size for a beginner.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Angie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent Tank
1/24/2015

Customer review by Mom2AshandEmy

4.0 stars 1/24/2015 by Mom2AshandEmy
by Mom2AshandEmy

We purchased this for my kids to have a couple of tetras in the tank. First off, the light part of this isn't any good. The first day we had it the green led went out and now after a month the blue one has went out. We quit using the bubbling part of this because the filter and the bubbles share an air source and the filter wouldn't pump correctly while using the air for both. We shut the valve off to the air bubbles 2 weeks ago and now that the lights are going out we are just going to remove that part of the tank. Other than that problem the tank is a perfect size for what we were looking for. Nothing that needed a HUGE amount of maintenance, but something big enough the kids had to learn how to clean/change the filter and replace depleted water from the use of the heater. Also, if you do add a heater the lid will not close on this tank. We have it just sitting on top of the tank as to keep out as must dust as possible.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2AshandEmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
1-20 of 46 total reviews
1-20 of 46 reviews