Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 52 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

52 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

52 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
18
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 stars
10
1-20 of 52 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
great starter kit
2/28/2015

Customer review by bubsbetta

5.0 stars 2/28/2015 by bubsbetta
by bubsbetta

My 3yr old son wanted a fish so we bought him a betta and this for a starter kit. It was a bit frustrating trying to get the bubble and pump flow to work at the same time but I got it and I must say the bubble affect is beautiful. The red one went out after a few days but I took it out n moved it a bit and it came back on yay! The colors are beautiful and make a nice reflection on my sons ceiling as a bouns a great night light affect. All in all we love it.

bubsbetta
Laveen Village, Phoenix, AZ, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good tank, Bad filter
5/16/2017

Customer review by Thefish

4.0 stars 5/16/2017 by Thefish
by Thefish

I got this tank for my beta fish, the tank is perfect size for him but the filter can't keep up very well. This tank is perfect size for my beta because he is very small and is missing what looks like his tail. The bubbler works very well and my fish loves swimming in them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thefish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Making having a pet is easy!
2/23/2016

Customer review by H3family

5.0 stars 2/23/2016 by H3family
by H3family

I am falling in love with this product. It gives me the piece of mind of owning fishes as pet. Beside the light glow in the dark, I enjoy the quiet filter inside.

H3family
Central Florida Pkwy, Orlando, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for Guppies
10/18/2015

Customer review by Bri7

5.0 stars 10/18/2015 by Bri7
by Bri7

I got this tank originally for a goldfish I won at the fair. And then I ended up with 3 more the next day after all of this was sat up. I don't think it is too small they had plenty of room but they were smaller goldfish. All of the goldfish died (because they were from the fair of course) and I had food leftover and the tank was just sitting around so I got a few guppies. I have 8 guppies, and a small algae eater and they are all doing just fine! I also have a water heater in the tank along with a little spongebob at the bottom. They still have more than enough room. The only thing I am still trying to figure out what filter the tank takes. I need to clean my tank soon but I am not sure on what filter I get. But as I said this is a great tank. But you still may want additional things with the tank, i.e. a water heater. All together it costed me about $30 and I have some pretty happy fish. Not to mention the beautiful patterns and colors that appear on my ceiling after dark(:

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bri7
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Far too small for a betta, or 2 fish...
3/17/2017

Customer review by Novice

1.0 stars 3/17/2017 by Novice
by Novice

Those from the fish keeping community would wholeheartedly agree that a 1 gallon tank is far too small for a betta fish (or any fish). If you are considering this tank for a betta, consider (at minimum) a 3 gallon tank with a filter and heater. Tetra has a 3 gallon model that is great for bettas (and comes with heater and filter) With the reference of 2 community freshwater fish, I would also advise against that. The waste from fish (and what you feed it) would spike ammonia levels and be potentially fatal. Personally, I would not have a single fish in a 1 gallon tank, as you would need to do multiple water changes weekly just to keep the toxin levels down. They are correct with their advisement against a goldfish, they would need a 10gl tank at minimum (with no heater...they are coldwater fish). I promise I am not trying to come off as a fish snob. :) I am just someone who has invested a great deal of time into the hobby and try to share advice with others.

Comment from BREX - 3/20/2017

Thanks, Novice, for taking the time to leave such a candid review! We appreciate your opinion. As this tank does come with a filter, however, it can and does support either a single betta, or small community type fish such as a platy or mollie if a heater is added. Recommended coldwater fish would be guppy, white cloud minnow, or rosy barb. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you at any time! Please feel free to reach out directly to us at 1-800-526-0650.

Novice
Wisconsin, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for my Betta
3/7/2013

Customer review by animalsrthebest

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by animalsrthebest
by animalsrthebest
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have had this tank for about 2 months and I enjoy it daily...the lights look great at night reflecting on the ceiling! My betta fish is clean and happy. The filter works very nicely. I have rinsed it out but haven't even had to change it yet and the water is crystal clear. I had to adjust the bubbler so the current wasn't too strong for "BF" (Blue/Betta Fish), which is accomplished easily by turning the adapter screw on the tubing coming out of the bubbler...just play around until your fish seems comfortable. The lights continually change color and light up the bubbles coming from the bottom of the tank...I used glass beads instead of gravel to anchor the light fixture to the bottom. Also it is very quiet...just move the bubbler around if it vibrates until it gets into the "right" spot. Very happy to get a tank with a filter for $20. Great tank for one betta fish.

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
animalsrthebest
Punta Gorda, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice idea but tank needs to be bigger
9/19/2011

Customer review by DulcieC

2.0 stars 9/19/2011 by DulcieC
by DulcieC

I bought this for a Beta for my son's room. I thought the idea of having a filtration system sounded great. I'd always used those cheaper triangle shaped ones that come with an under gravel plate and an air stone. This set up offers some great components. A full size air pump and the multi-color led lights with air stone were awesome. As the other reviewer said, they make very pretty patterns on the ceiling. But unless you have fake fish that's where the fun ends. First the little filter takes up a lot of room in this tiny 1 gallon tank. Second you can't fill the water anywhere close to the top because it has to be below the filter discharge. Third the current caused by the filter and the air stone in less than a gallon of water will make a Beta VERY unhappy. Beta's like relatively calm water and other than a Beta, there's not much else you could put in this tiny tank. I ended up buying another one of the cheap triangle tanks for my son's Beta and have scavenged the cool led/air stone for my 75 gallon tank. I keep this bowl around just to put the Beta in during his tank cleaning. Honestly they should sell the LED lights/airstone separately for larger tanks - they would make a killing!

Was this review helpful? (63) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DulcieC
Near Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Great Little Betta Tank
8/27/2012

Customer review by bettalover6

4.0 stars 8/27/2012 by bettalover6
by bettalover6

While at Walmart shopping with a friend, we passed the sad wall of betta bowls and as usual, most of the fish looked half dead, all but one female that was MUCH smaller than the others, only about an inch from the tip of her nose to the end of her tail fin, she was swimming around in quick circles and looked extremely healthy after a quick examination. I couldn't let her stay there when she obviously wanted to live, so I purchased her and this little tank since it was the cheapest one with a filter, most betta tanks don't have one, but I prefer them. The filter is really small and quiet, if you place the suction cups all the way up the tank as far as they can go, then you can fill the tank up within half an inch of the top easily and the filter doesn't take up a lot of room in the tank either. The lighted bubbler is a little annoying since it wants to float, but I piled on the gravel and placed a few small river rocks on the lip to keep it down. If you don't have these, then Walmart sells an entire pack for a little over $1. The entire set up comes with an air pump that is extremely quiet as well as valves that allow you to customize how powerful the filter and airstone become, with my betta I put it on the lowest setting and the current doesn't effect her at all. Overall, it's a great little tank for a betta, but I am planning to upgrade since at the time I only had thirty bucks on my person and couldn't splurge on a bigger tank.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bettalover6
Tampa, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:14 - 18
Great for 1 beta; do NOT get for goldfish!
8/14/2011

Customer review by GiveMommyABreak

4.0 stars 8/14/2011 by GiveMommyABreak
by GiveMommyABreak

Got this on the way home from carnival after kid won a goldfish, so I hadn't done any research first. The tank is really cool looking after being set up and makes a beautiful light pattern on the ceiling!!! The box shows 5 goldfish swimming in the aquarium. No way this could ever happen!!! Tank is way too small for even one goldfish. Perfect for one beta fish though. If this carnival fish survives, I'll buy it a bigger tank and get a beta for this tank.

Was this review helpful? (104) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GiveMommyABreak
Southern Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Age:35 - 44
Cute Little Tank
9/20/2016

Customer review by Mirandanik

4.0 stars 9/20/2016 by Mirandanik
by Mirandanik

The talk is cute, I like the shape of it and that it comes with a filter. The filter is hard to get working though it takes some work lol I had to just keep messing with the tiny knobs on the two prong connector but it finally kicked on. I love how the bubbler changes colors but it's not bright enough for my taste, I have the lights off and can barely see my fish when it changes to red it's really hard to see! Good deal for twenty dollars though. I had a ten gallon and it was just too much hassle for me, always dealing with algae and the filter kept getting clogged up all the time with bio slime. With the smaller tanks I never have that problem for some reason so I decided to get a smaller one. I really like the tank and my four year old is totally excited with it so it works great for my guppies only cons like I said is getting the filter to work, just keep messing with it till it kicks on, and the light isn't bright enough, oh and yes the lights on my ceiling are awesome too so added bonus! If you're looking for a cheap but nice tank for your kids or an office or small space this one is great!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mirandanik
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointed little boy
4/7/2017

Customer review by TXmom

1.0 stars 4/7/2017 by TXmom
by TXmom

From day one the Light's didn't work. My son won a goldfish at the carnival. So I brought this tank. We are in week two of having a tank and now the bubbler isn't work. Water has to be change mulitple times a week.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TXmom
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/29/2012

Customer review by lilballerina

5.0 stars 6/29/2012 by lilballerina
by lilballerina

Tetra Bubbling is so perfect, it has a tiny filter and pump just right for this size tank, super deal for the price. Don't use lite, I wouldn't want lite flashing in my eyes. It keeps betta really clean, and healthy. I have a pineapple sponge bob house in each of my 5 of my betta Bubbles, they live side by side in ther own space, perfect company. I have to clean them every 8-10weeks, as I feed them a pintch a day of Betta food as well as dried worms in afternoon.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lilballerina
Ontario, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Cute home for my happy Betta!
9/23/2013

Customer review by ThisIsANuisance

5.0 stars 9/23/2013 by ThisIsANuisance
by ThisIsANuisance

First of all, this tank is small and only appropriate for one Betta fish. You cannot put several Goldfish in it like the box shows. You could put guppies in it, I suppose. However, this is my experience. First of all, it comes with a nice air pump and filter set-up. I put the top of the filter up through the opening toward the rear of the lid, This way, I can fill the water up to about 1/2" from the top of the aquarium. I put a small heater (bought separately) that attaches to the wall with suctions cups also against the back wall right next to the filter. I put a glow-in-the dark- grass right in front of the filter (bought separately at Wal-mart) and the Air Stone with the colored lights on the bottom right beneath that. I put clear glass marbles in the bottom, just enough to hold down the stone and the base of the grass plant. I also bought separately at Wal-Mart a thermometer that sticks (like a sticker) to the outside of the aquarium and the heater keeps the water at about 74 degrees. Now, there are two adjustment valves for the air. I set the filter on the lowest setting so that it barely trickles and I turned the airflow for the airstone off all together because Betta don't like that. Guess what? It's perfect! My Betta is very happy, swims around, in a week he'd already learned to come to the feeding hole in the lid for lunch and after only 10 days in his new home he built a very nice bubble nest! He likes to 'sit' on top of the heater. He's happy and healthy and all is well. It was $20 well spent! :-)

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ThisIsANuisance
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Avoid this Tank
4/12/2014

Customer review by Deccasmooth

2.0 stars 4/12/2014 by Deccasmooth
by Deccasmooth

I purchased this tank along with two other 1-gallon aquariums, all different brands, same price,and compared. Although this tank looks pretty cool on the box, it has 2 major flaws you should really consider reading before purchasing. 1. Tetra's bubbling filtration system is very poor. It comprises of an external air pump (which vibrates like crazy and was annoying) which blows air from the bottom of the intake tube up through the top and through the filter. The little flap on top of the filer assembly is very cheap and would constantly flip off from the pressure of the bubbles, which created a splashing mess even if I turned the air pressure way down. Look for aquariums with an actual pump motor that draws water by a propeller not by air pressure. This tank would go through filters like crazy and it still wouldn't keep the tank clean in comparison with the other different tanks I bought.The water in this tank would already have debris floating around while the other tanks were crystal clear. This tank required 3x as many cleanings and filter changes as the other tanks I purchased because of the bad filtration system design.Note: I maintained all 3 aquariums the same, with the same maintenance schedule (water changes,etc.) 2. The betta I placed in this tank was not a fan of the bubbling air stone and led light . The bubbles are harsh and creates too much splashing(messy-messy), even with the air pressure turned way down. The led light was very harsh and the betta was avoiding it at all costs. I unplugged it after a while . Don't forget, fish need to rest like you, and this bright light running 24/7 won't allow that...especially since they don't have eyelids to close and block that bright light. All in all, after a couple months I had enough, and put this aquarium back in it's box.

Was this review helpful? (20) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deccasmooth
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice for the price!!!
8/21/2012

Customer review by TheBigDawg2203

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by TheBigDawg2203
by TheBigDawg2203

I bought this for a fish I inherited from my daughter. It works as advertised and easy to assemble. Pump is very quiet. I added aluminum foil to the outside of the lid (shiny side down) to reflect the light back into the aquarium and that helps light things up better. Fish seems to like it too!!

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheBigDawg2203
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Not suitable for Betta
3/8/2017

Customer review by DesiJ

4.0 stars 3/8/2017 by DesiJ
by DesiJ

This take is great. But, Betta fish also require heaters. They're are a tropical fish. I also don't agree with having the Bubbles turned on to high, as Betta fish don't do so well in currents. It tends to stress them out. Aswell as the filter, if you have a Betta in your tank make sure the filter is turned down low. Also, I seen a few pictures with fake plants and Betta fish. This is a big no, Betta fish will easily tear their beautiful fins on these. Real plants are the way to go, or silk.

Comment from BREX - 3/8/2017

We appreciate your taking the opportunity to leave a review on this Tetra kit, DesiJ! You are quite correct; bettas do need a heater, and this kit does not come with one, so we would recommend purchasing one separately, along with a thermometer. In regards to the bubbles, this kit does come with flow valves that allow you to adjust the bubbles and the filter system. We recommend anyone with questions or concerns on this product, other Tetra products, or the hobby itself, to please contact us at 1-800-526-0650 so our trained representatives may assist them. Thanks again!

DesiJ
Toronto, ON, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent Tank
1/24/2015

Customer review by Mom2AshandEmy

4.0 stars 1/24/2015 by Mom2AshandEmy
by Mom2AshandEmy
Top 500 contributor

We purchased this for my kids to have a couple of tetras in the tank. First off, the light part of this isn't any good. The first day we had it the green led went out and now after a month the blue one has went out. We quit using the bubbling part of this because the filter and the bubbles share an air source and the filter wouldn't pump correctly while using the air for both. We shut the valve off to the air bubbles 2 weeks ago and now that the lights are going out we are just going to remove that part of the tank. Other than that problem the tank is a perfect size for what we were looking for. Nothing that needed a HUGE amount of maintenance, but something big enough the kids had to learn how to clean/change the filter and replace depleted water from the use of the heater. Also, if you do add a heater the lid will not close on this tank. We have it just sitting on top of the tank as to keep out as must dust as possible.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2AshandEmy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 500 contributor
Great for 1 gallon tank
1/21/2013

Customer review by sttkaren

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by sttkaren
by sttkaren

Small Tank but sits right next to my bed on the night stand and gives me much joy to watch the 3 African Chichlids swim around. Filter works great water is clear after 2 weeks. I do need to find replacement filter cartridges on line any suggestions?

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sttkaren
St. Thomas, Virgin Islands
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Royal
4/1/2015

Customer review by FirstFishOwner

4.0 stars 4/1/2015 by FirstFishOwner
by FirstFishOwner

We have our first fish. He is a Royal Blue Betta. This aquarium is perfect for the small space that we have for him. Our kittens Sugar and Dixie just love to watch him, and I don't have to worry about them knocking the aquarium over. The lights make it look like a very expensive fish aquarium. This was a great buy for our family and fish.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FirstFishOwner
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not working
3/11/2017

Customer review by christina1234

1.0 stars 3/11/2017 by christina1234
by christina1234

I've had this for 2 wks and the light doesn't work. Keeps flickering on and off real fast. Very upset

Comment from BREX - 3/13/2017

We appreciate your bringing this matter to our attention and are sorry to hear this product is not meeting all of your expectations! You may contact us at 1-800-526-0650 so we can assist you, but we will reach out via email in the meantime. We look forward to resolving this issue for you.

christina1234
Wisconsin, United States
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews