Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

17 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

17 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

65%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
4
1-17 of 17 total reviews
65%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Don't listen to others
12/16/2011

Customer review by garthhh

4.0 stars 12/16/2011 by garthhh
by garthhh

The lid fits fine, you just have to be careful with it and make sure the filter is placed correctly. And, yes, the filter can suck up fish, but that can happen with any filter in any tank with small fish. As long as you care for your fish, clean your tank, feed them properly, condition the water, and replace the filter cartridge as needed, this kit is a pretty good deal, especially if you are new to having fish. Aquariums are delicate and require lots of care and attention, and if your fish are being sucked up into the filter, they probably aren't healthy. If you are serious about having fish and want to get started, this kit includes (mostly) everything you need, just make sure you do your homework so you don't end up with a bunch of dead fish (and wasted money).

Was this review helpful? (49) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
garthhh
Northeastern Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOMEE!!!
5/3/2012

Customer review by MiSZVICTORIA

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by MiSZVICTORIA
by MiSZVICTORIA

This tank is amazing! its very easy to put together, 10min total. as the box said no plants came with it & the gravel is not included. so i bought the pack of 3 glow in the dark plants that were about 7 dollars. and a moon cave which was only 4 dollars. the "glo-fish" need to be in about 78 degrees so you need to get a submersible heater (2-15) gallon which is only about 15 dollars. and there food is about 4$. the lid fits fine. i thought it was a little lose but then i saw the bottom of the lid and your suppose to fit the bottom outline under the lid inside the tank then it will be sturdy.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MiSZVICTORIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
LOVE IT!!!!!!!
12/26/2011

Customer review by wallyworldnumber1shopper

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by wallyworldnumber1shopper
by wallyworldnumber1shopper

My parents got this for my son for christmas. We bought the fish that it says to and they look great in it. the lid fits fine, its not supposed to fit tight. I have owned bigger fish tanks before and this one is great for a starter tank or for kids but you still have to have some brains when taking care of it. If there is something wrong with the tank or the fllter just exchange it cause we all are just human and some things can be defective in everything you buy.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wallyworldnumber1shopper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great beginners tank.
9/2/2012

Customer review by Glofish

5.0 stars 9/2/2012 by Glofish
by Glofish

Was a little afraid to purchase this tank. But I took a change on it. And I'm very pleased that I did. Purchased this tank for my 3 year old grandson. Turned out to be the best little 3 gallon tank. Filter is very quiet. The blue led light makes the glofish really stand out. I have 3 glofish in it. And there is enought room in it for them to swim. I bought plants and gravel that glows when light is on too. Makes a pretty nice looking tank when you see everything glow in it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glofish
Bristol Ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Water leak
5/9/2012

Customer review by birdiebu

2.0 stars 5/9/2012 by birdiebu
by birdiebu

Got the tank for my 5 yr old daughter. Love the way it looked and had no problem the first 3 months. I do agree with other reviews about the lid not fitting right but wasn't a deal breaker. Was very disappointed to come home from work tonight to see half the water leaking all over her dresser and floor :( Don't think I'll by another-maybe go w/something stronger than plastic.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
birdiebu
Madison, AL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great!
12/24/2012

Customer review by fiveks

5.0 stars 12/24/2012 by fiveks
by fiveks

Same things as others have said with the lid- at first it didn't seem to fit but all we had to do was fiddle a little and it snapped on nicely and I actually like it fitting a little more snugly - means the cat will have a harder time getting it off with his curious paw poking! The filter has adjustable flow and at full blast it was a bit much for this tank. We have one especially small glofish and it did get sucked up to the filter once. Turned the flow rate down and had no further problems. Great for the price, very happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fiveks
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good home for my betta
11/18/2012

Customer review by Kbrew123

4.0 stars 11/18/2012 by Kbrew123
by Kbrew123

I was concerned after i read the reviews, but am happy with the tank overall. The only downside for me is the blue led light scares my betta. I wish it didnt because i like how it looks at night. The filter is quiet and has an adjustable flow (very necessary for bettas). The lid fits mine perfectly. Its a great size for my lil guy. 3 gallons is as small as one really should go for a happy betta. It tells you what isn't included on the box. This tank sells for 3x the price at Petco! Overall I am very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kbrew123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
The lid on mine doesn't fit.
4/15/2012

Customer review by katillac

2.0 stars 4/15/2012 by katillac
by katillac

Garthhh, they must have these made by different companies or something. After reading your review, I bought one of these. I'll be taking it back on Tuesday. The raised lines on the lid of this one fit okay for the sides and back, but is different on the front. The raised lines on the front cross the tank edge - they fit on the inside of the lip of the outer edges, but opposite for the center portion. It causes the lid to easily slide off or into the tank. I was trying everything together prior to even unwrapping the filter unit and I'm glad that I did. Tetra makes some good products, but I have to give this one two thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
katillac
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
12/15/2012

Customer review by Negracuba

1.0 stars 12/15/2012 by Negracuba
by Negracuba

This tank is terrible!!!!!!! Listen to what I am saying because I am not lying. It leaks and the lights work when they feel like it. Another thing it gets dirty to fast because it's plastic so just imagine. I am telling you this so please don't spend your money.

Was this review helpful? (7) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Negracuba
Spring
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/5/2011

Customer review by Fishmkm

1.0 stars 12/5/2011 by Fishmkm
by Fishmkm

this kit is horrible, lid doesnt fit. Filter has huge hole that sucks up the very fish it shows on box. Do not waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (10) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishmkm
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/6/2012

Customer review by yahyayahyayahyayahyayahya

1.0 stars 8/6/2012 by yahyayahyayahyayahyayahya
by yahyayahyayahyayahyayahya

the first time i opend it it was cracked and was leaking

Was this review helpful? (4) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yahyayahyayahyayahyayahya
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
too many problems, don't buy
12/4/2011

Customer review by CB02

1.0 stars 12/4/2011 by CB02
by CB02

When I bought this kit and put it together the lid does not fit with the provided filter. So I left the lid loose, At some point the lid was forced down and cracked, oh well didn't fit anyway. Later filter problems became worse. There is no top or cover for the filter, so water began to leak out the back of the filter and down the back of my stand. Can't fix it. Neat idea for the glow fish, but need a better set up.

Was this review helpful? (9) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CB02
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My lil" Betta is happier than ever!!!
2/11/2015

Customer review by BriannafromTylerTexas

5.0 stars 2/11/2015 by BriannafromTylerTexas
by BriannafromTylerTexas

Everything is so easy to assemble.. its a great sized tank for one to two small fish. I am enjoying the blue led lights and the filter is quiet as well. .. me and my family are loving this little tank!! <3 <3 <3 <3

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BriannafromTylerTexas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Cute tank for a betta
4/13/2014

Customer review by Jmwolfer

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by Jmwolfer
by Jmwolfer

I love this tank but I had a tricky time setting up the light part.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jmwolfer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect
3/2/2014

Customer review by LightmakersRango

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by LightmakersRango
by LightmakersRango

I bought this for my daughters and they absolutely love it. I have a few glow in the dark plants and rocks in it and it is very pretty. It was easy to set up, I had no problems with the filter or lid. The light makes it even prettier. I did purchase a submergible heater for it, I think it was around $15. Overall it was a great purchase. I am thinking of purchasing another one for my girls can each have their own.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LightmakersRango
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very easy to use and set up.
6/10/2015

Customer review by HarrisonB

5.0 stars 6/10/2015 by HarrisonB
by HarrisonB

Definitely a good buy for a beginner. Easy to set up and clean.

HarrisonB
Auburndale, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a NoGlo for me!
2/20/2015

Customer review by jozett

2.0 stars 2/20/2015 by jozett
by jozett

I purchased this tank because it was beautiful in the pictures and just the right size to fit on my nightstand. The setup was simple. The deal breaker for me was that the light was horribly weak. It wouldn't light up half the tank much less the entire tank. I tried adjusting the position and nope,still no glo for my liking. I ended up having to buy an entirely separate LED light fixture. And that was the start of a new problem, no punchouts to clamp it on,so i had to basically break the lid to accommodate the light. The bubbler that comes out of the original light stone is nice. And you can unplug the light and still use the bubbler. In the future if i buy another glotank I'm going to pay special attention to exactly what light it uses.

jozett
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No