Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

24 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

24 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

39%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
12
1-20 of 22 total reviews
39%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews
Reviews on Amazon are unanimously horrible
9/18/2011

Customer review by snarlton

1.0 stars 9/18/2011 by snarlton
by snarlton

Go read the reviews of this item at A m a z o n . c o m and you'll see that this item is total garbage. No need for me to reinvent the wheel with this review when the work's already been done over at Amazon.

Was this review helpful? (41) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snarlton
Would recommend to a friend? No
Does not work
4/30/2012

Customer review by trtj26

1.0 stars 4/30/2012 by trtj26
by trtj26

I bought 6 of these to ensure ample coverage. To my surprise, I saw deer, squirrels, and skunks walk no more than 2 feet in front of these devices and carry on as usual.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
trtj26
Would recommend to a friend? No
It worked for me!
5/22/2012

Customer review by PsychedelicDaisy

4.0 stars 5/22/2012 by PsychedelicDaisy
by PsychedelicDaisy

Except for some initial "getting to know the product" issues, I placed 5 of these in my yard and they worked like little miracles! For the first time in years, cats weren't "going" in my garden, and racoons, rabbits and opossums weren't eating my veggies! The only animals I had a problem with were squirrels walking along our fence above the repellers and eating our corn. I just didn't plant corn close to the fence this year! Just be very careful with the little wires and make sure you select the correct "on" switch (mine uses solar rechargeable OR regular batteries) and you should be in business too!

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PsychedelicDaisy
Lincoln Park, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works Great for the price
6/6/2012

Customer review by RWMS

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by RWMS
by RWMS

I have a 35'x20' Veg. Garden. Before I purchaced the Howell Solar Animal Repeller, I had ground-hogs, deer, squairl's taring my garden up all the time. I purchaced a Howll Solar Animal Repeller last year. It did wonderful. No animals in almost the hole garden. So this year I purchaced another one. For the other end of the garden. I had zero animals in it this year. Love it!!!!!!!!!!!! RWMS Barton, Maryland

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RWMS
Barton, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Don't waste your money. This product is a big joke
7/9/2012

Customer review by iagrama

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by iagrama
by iagrama

We purchased two of these in hopes to keep the critters out of our garden. We also set out a live trap to see if they were working. In the week and a half since we put them out we have caught four racoons, a opossum, a fox and a cat! The racoons made a mess out of our sweetcorn last night. These will be going back to the store this week.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
iagrama
New Virginia, Ia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/14/2012

Customer review by granyrea

3.0 stars 7/14/2012 by granyrea
by granyrea

I have mixed reviews for this product. I have nothing against cats as long as they do their business in their own back yard. Purchased 1 repeller and set it up in front flower bed, first couple of weeks the cats stayed away. I decided to buy 2 more and surround the perimiter, what a disappointment!! Once they mark their territory no sprays, moth balls or etc can keep them away. NOT GOOD FOR MY GARDEN!! You're taking a 50/50 chance on this one.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
granyrea
Garland Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Absolutely WORTHLESS !
7/4/2012

Customer review by AirForceFan

1.0 stars 7/4/2012 by AirForceFan
by AirForceFan

I watched deed and rabits stand 5 feet away and not be bothered at all. The light came on indicating that the motion sensor detected animals but they just stood there eating my flowers and bird seed. It was a complete waste of time trying this unit. Even though I got my money back I wasted lots of time. Other reviews told me so but I had to try because there is one or two that liked it. I can't imagine why.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AirForceFan
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I wish it worked!
7/5/2012

Customer review by tours

1.0 stars 7/5/2012 by tours
by tours

I purchased 2 Bell and Howell Solar Animal Repellers to control rabbits eating my newly planted hostas. The animal Repellers are not working for me. The rabbits do not seem to be affected at all, and my hostas are eaten all the way to the ground ):

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tours
kansas city area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Works for me
6/18/2012

Customer review by Chinkiedad

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by Chinkiedad
by Chinkiedad

Has worked exceptionally well for me, and I have read the negative reviews in the past and had to get something to keep the deer and groundhog out of my beans; last year they ate all the tender sprouts and left me with stubs, no activity after installing two, one on each end , sensors, and it is a plus to have them solar powered, the animals usually only bother early tender leaves of my plants, after the plants mature no animals bother them, this device has been a savewr of my beans this year, I live in the northeast and think the area effects how the light and sound pitch on animals here, do not know for sure except that I have not one track in my garden this year, my cat does not even follow me as I take care of the crops!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chinkiedad
Midland, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It works as advertised, but coverage is limited.
8/4/2012

Customer review by OldCarp

4.0 stars 8/4/2012 by OldCarp
by OldCarp

I bought this to keep a deer new to our yard out of the garden and to deter squirrels from the garden and bird feeder. I mounted the stake to one of my garden posts so it was up off the ground and had a clear view. I let it charge for two full days before I started looking for results. I understand that they tell you this even though the red indicator lights showed movement detected as soon as you turn it on. It needs the two full days of charging to provide enough power to activate the noise device that drives the animals away. I pointed it toward one bird feeder that typically had two squirrels on it at once most of the day and was usually empty within 2 or 3 days. We noticed right away that the squirrels were not hanging around that feeder although they are on the feeders on the other side of the garden. That feeder has stayed full for almost 2 weeks. Although the device is heard from all directions, the motion detector works just like on a motion activated security light and you have to be within the sensing cone of the detector which senses movement up to 30 feet away but with a coverage of only about 15 degrees so if the animal approaches from the right direction and gets under and behind it they will never trigger it. Because of this I will need at least 3 more to adequately protect my garden. The unit is a good value and works as advertised, just think about how many you will need before you order.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldCarp
Upstate New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Time will tell
5/14/2012

Customer review by blues247

3.0 stars 5/14/2012 by blues247
by blues247

Don't knoe for sure that this product works . I have had it out for a few weeks and nothing has bothered my garden yet. This could be because what I have in it hasn"t grow enough or this product is doing it's job . I'll ckeck back later to give the real truith about this product

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blues247
Ohio
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
I'm so mad
7/22/2012

Customer review by Ifiwasteanotherpenny

1.0 stars 7/22/2012 by Ifiwasteanotherpenny
by Ifiwasteanotherpenny

We have a mouse/rat problem inside our house, so we purchased this product. I can hear the mice or whatever they are running around while I'm waving my hand right in front of the stupid thing making it go off. They weren't affected at all by the sound, and I guess I did not read it throughly enough because I didn't even know it was sup posted to be used for dogs, and I have a dog, she is not affected by the sound either. As a matter of fact the only thing that seems to be affected by it is ME the stupid thing is annoying!! Did I mention a huge waste of time and money!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ifiwasteanotherpenny
Pgh pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
So far, so good!
8/27/2012

Customer review by janshouse2001

4.0 stars 8/27/2012 by janshouse2001
by janshouse2001

So far, we haven't been visited by any cats spraying our front entry area since we installed this device! Cats have RUINED our front storm door/entry area. This is much more humane than when we trapped one and took it in to be euthanized ... and that was expensive, too. Haven't had it long, but so far so good!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
janshouse2001
Nampa, ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/25/2012

Customer review by Ref5

3.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Ref5
by Ref5

I purchased 2 of these. One works fine. The other one came with incorrect stake parts that don't go together. That same one also does not charge the batteries and works sporadically. I am happy with the other one.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ref5
Would recommend to a friend? No
testing
6/4/2012

Customer review by ruger357

3.0 stars 6/4/2012 by ruger357
by ruger357

I am trying to keep rabits out of my garden. It seem to be working. I live in the city so these animal are hard to keep out, they are use to people and noise. still testing.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ruger357
New Castle,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/20/2012

Customer review by Jr10

1.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Jr10
by Jr10

It does not work and it will be going back to the store. We caught a raccoon in a trap right near the repeller.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jr10
Conway, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
had to return it
5/21/2012

Customer review by molecular2gravity2man

1.0 stars 5/21/2012 by molecular2gravity2man
by molecular2gravity2man

It did not work - my dog made no response to it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
molecular2gravity2man
Rogers / Maple Grave MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
8/30/2012

Customer review by oldmanhardhat

1.0 stars 8/30/2012 by oldmanhardhat
by oldmanhardhat

The dogs I wanted to scare away would sniff it trying to figure what it was .Doesant work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldmanhardhat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Either stopped working or did not work
9/10/2012

Customer review by 123612

1.0 stars 9/10/2012 by 123612
by 123612

Out of the box in my air conditioned office, the infrared sensor would 'see' me, a red light would appear and a faint very high pitched sound would be emitted. Humans really don't hear well at that high a frequency. Great! But after a trial period in the yard in full sunshine for the solar charging of the batteries, I noted two squirrels hopping within three feet of it. Totally unbothered. I picked up the unit, stared at it and the sensor did not see my heat in a background of 80 degree weather. No sound. Returned to Walmart and got refund.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
123612
Orange Park, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't bother
8/12/2012

Customer review by suebob22

1.0 stars 8/12/2012 by suebob22
by suebob22

I guess it doesn't work when the unit is pointing right at a rabbit in my yard and it just keeps eating my flowers...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suebob22
Farmington, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1-20 of 22 reviews