Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 209 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

209 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

209 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
121
4 stars
47
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 stars
23
1-20 of 198 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews
was not expecting such a great product
7/23/2014

Customer review by preconfigured

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by preconfigured
by preconfigured
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to admit that I purchased another competitive unit costing twice as much. It would only handle small pieces and made everything mixed and mushy. I took it back and ordered this. Much to my delight, this product will do an entire chicken, turkey, etc..everything I have made in this unit has come out perfect; great fried taste without any oil..get one!

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
preconfigured
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Second Halogen Oven
3/6/2014

Customer review by MssMaggie

4.0 stars 3/6/2014 by MssMaggie
by MssMaggie

This is my second halogen oven. My first was a Flavorwave which I loved and used for years. The Big Boss has some new features I enjoy. The safety button is nice and the temperature gauge is better. The light is very bright allowing for easy viewing of the cooking process. This is my favorite feature as it allows me to easily check on the food. The Big Boss cooks different. The top rack definitely cooks hotter than the bottom. Be careful when steaming veggies or cooking on both racks because the top will burn well before the bottom is done. I did not experience this problem with my last oven. Even so, learning what can cook together and what temperatures to use comes quickly. A standard heat guide would have been great. I received one with the Flavorwave but the Big Boss only provides a few pages of recipes I will never use. I have made some of the best meals with this. I love the no pre-heat and energy savings. I can pop in food even when frozen and get as crisp or juicy a meal as I want. This certainly makes dinner easier and healthier.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MssMaggie
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good convection oven for the price
2/11/2014

Customer review by OldToaster

4.0 stars 2/11/2014 by OldToaster
by OldToaster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I actually expected more from this unit than its design. I wanted to replace an existing toaster oven. The 'toast' function was unsatisfactory, so I tried to use the roasting function using a 5 pound whole chicken. The chicken was crispy on top and well done most of the way through (including a stuffing mix inside). My only complaint was that the very bottom of the chicken seemed under cooked, even though a meat thermometer showed more than well done for poultry. I did call customer service and got the following responses: (1) as far as toasting bread was concerned the only option (after several minutes of representative looking for an answer) seemed to be to turn the bread over and (2) as far as the chicken being underdone on the bottom the suggestion was to turn it over. Neither answer was satisfactory. Overall, however the oven did fit the space in the kitchen, looked attractive, and would probably do very well as a secondary oven for someone not as particular as I.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldToaster
Madrid TWP, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
read reviews b4 buy, they must have something else
9/19/2013

Customer review by jehuruth

1.0 stars 9/19/2013 by jehuruth
by jehuruth

I have been hungry for Fried Chicken. I have a Nu-Wave, but it doesn't give a fried taste. So I bought the Big Boss. Following their instructions in their cookbook, I made fried chicken. First, while it looked like it was frying while cooking, it didn't come close even tasting fried. Second, at the end of time in their cookbook, the skin was done, looked good, but the chicken was way under cooked. When I cooked it till the chicken was done, the skin was burnt. Third, for as big as the product is, it doesn't cook much. Definitely not family sized. In order to cook enough for me and my two boys, I would have to have two Big Bosses to make enough chicken and another one or two to make a side like fries. This product was a real disappointment. I have seen several people write good reviews for product. It's like they have a different product. Unfortunately, you will have to buy for yourself to see if they or I am right.

Was this review helpful? (60) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jehuruth
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
AWESOME!
6/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I totally love this oven!! I've had it 3 days and cooked a 10 lb turkey to perfection in less than 2 hours! So moist, juicy, and the skin was the crispest i've ever baked!! and not just on top but all over and under! I just made some of my homemade bread, and except for getting a bit dark, it baked in half the time and no doughy center, no heating up the kitchen with the cranky oven, and also baked at a much lower temp than usually needed! I just can't praise this oven enough, am so glad i bought it. I was considering the NuWave for a long time, but just couldn't pass up the price on the Big Boss! I made from scratch, baked potatoes and french-fries.. perfect! i can't heat up the oil to fry the potatoes in the time it took the Big Boss to 'fry' them perfectly with no oil! crispy outside, soft and fluffy inside. i have to shutup now, i could praise this oven all day. I'm tossing out my toaster oven!

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/26/2012

Customer review by Jimbo2002

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Jimbo2002
by Jimbo2002

I have owned three of the Thane flavorwave ovens in the past ten years. They have worked well but wear out after two or three years. The main problem was that the plastic cooking dome either broke or got so discolored that you couldn't see the food cooking. It was also unsightly to have in the kitchen. The Big Boss Rapid wave has corrected that problem with the large glass bowl that can be easily washed. The top of the cooker is also partially glass and can be easily cleaned. I bought the Walmart extended replacement warranty (1 year for $6 ) which seemed like a real deal. I use it for cooking chicken parts, frozen entrees like eggrolls stuffed chicken breasts, just about anything you would cook in the regular oven except it cooks faster saves energy and doesn't heat up the kitchen. I would recommend it for anyone, especially if you live alone or with one other person and don't cook in larger quantities.

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimbo2002
Pinckney, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this at my local Walmart and it worked better than expected for two or three uses. Then it began rattling the entire time it was in use. I think I had it for two weeks. I returned it to buy another to find that my store no longer had any in stock. I already feel that I cant live without it and I am a little more than annoyed that there have been NONE in stock for weeks and there is a two week wait on the one that I ordered online. Anyway, its basically a washable glass bowl with a little wire rack inside. The cooking element is built into the lid. The stand that it sits on is flimsy and does not fit properly. Its kinda cheap. What I like about this is that it works quickly, its easy to clean, and what should be crispy comes out good and crispy. I didnt get to play with it long enough to find out what all it can do. I do wish it were made better. But I think its going to be my new favorite toy if the next one lasts longer :D

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kingsport,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
6/11/2015

Customer review by Splasher

5.0 stars 6/11/2015 by Splasher
by Splasher

I spent many weeks reviewing the various table ovens, including the NuWave. I have been trying different foods in this Big Boss Oven since it arrived, and even when I left a whole chicken in too long, the breast meat was still very moist and delicious. I was surprised. I air fried sweet potato fries, garlic cheese bread, frozen burritos, baked potatoes, steak, and fish, and everything was great! I noticed that nothing gets dried out or toughened like sometimes happens in a microwave oven. Big Boss is kind of like a broiler oven. Browns beautifully. Bacon is done in half the time without turning, and grease falls to the bottom.I found cake, pie pans and other bake ware at the 99 cent store that fits perfectly in the oven.I use the 12 inch pie pan in the bottom to catch grease. The swirling "wash setting" really works. It cooks much faster than a regular oven, so you have to keep an eye on it until you learn how many minutes to set. It is so fun to use. I'm going to bake cookies next and maybe try a meatloaf. Bottom line the Big Boss is affordable compared to other ovens out there and saves energy, including yours. LOL

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Splasher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/8/2011

Customer review by snowflake58

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by snowflake58
by snowflake58

I have used this type oven for many years and have tried various brands. Most of them function the same and usually only last between 2 or 3 years; however, I use this oven daily. I cook french fries, biscuits, meat, fish, most anything you can put in an oven or under a broiler. Food is cooked in less time and you can cook without added oils. It's also great for reheating fried food like chicken and fish and most times the food will be as crispy reheated as it was when it was cooked. I like this particular model because it has the glass bowl that the lid sits on instead of a plastic-like piece that you have to snap the cooking element into. This oven is very easy to clean - just take the glass bowl to the sink and wash it or it can go in the dishwasher but it takes up a lot space in the dishwasher. This oven so far is working great. The one thing I don't like about this particular model is that it doesn't have a bracket to hook onto one of the handles to hold the lid when your food is done or if you need to turn the food. All of the ovens I have used have had some type of bracket but this one doesn't. I have had to set the hot lid on my stove so if you purchase this unit, you'll need something heat-proof to set the lid on. Other than that, I like this oven - the price is great, and it looks good. If it had a bracket included, I'd have given it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (329) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowflake58
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a waist of Money
12/26/2013

Customer review by 1mcw

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by 1mcw
by 1mcw

What a great idea to get away from deep fried food we thought !!!, We opened the box on Christmas Morning and were eager too try our new Fryer, Followed the very simple instructions. Bang Bang Shrimp was the simple test to see how good it was. Heat lamp came on, No Convection fan to move the air around. 10 mins later food still raw back to the good old Deep Fryer to do the job. My Biggest Problem is not with the product, (sometime things do not work) its the Customer Service leaflet which in BOLD LETTERS say's DO NOT RETURN TO STORE, WE CAN HELP. I phoned the number 1-800-423-4248 only to be given another number to call before speaking with someone who had NO IDEA about this product as they don't make it and I would have to send it back and pay all the postage (so what's the point of the card). This lady was a much HELP as a CHOCOLATE KETTLE. My advise stay away and spend a little more

Was this review helpful? (30) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1mcw
Pittsford
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Under performs
1/20/2012

Customer review by Pams123

2.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Pams123
by Pams123

The box pictures a chicken cooking evenly. No details of how to cook the chicken in the very thin recipe book. Need to turn food halfway through, if you can figure out the halfway mark. I had a 5lb chicken took 2 hours at 350. It was hard to turn it over because of the design of the unit. This definitely did not cook 3x faster. Tried roasted potatoes and they came out really good. Again, not 3x faster. 2" pieces took 25 minutes at 375, after pre boiling for 10 minutes. This company really needs to enhance their recipe book. Not much in it. So it is trial and error for me. Thank goodness I love to cook! Not adviseable to put any containers in the oven, so baking and casseroles are out. Would recommended only to experienced cooks. Great for preventing heat build up in the house on a hot day.

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pams123
Big Bear, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Big Boss Oven
2/6/2016

Customer review by Happ

1.0 stars 2/6/2016 by Happ
by Happ

Returned the product

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Cooker!No fat!!
2/28/2012

Customer review by lyd12348

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by lyd12348
by lyd12348

I love this cooker,they are for sale everywhere now but wal-mart has the best price.I only paid 69.00 plus the one year replacement for 6.00.I am on a low fat diet and this is perfect for that.I have missed fried chicken and french fries but had some today in my big boss and they were perfect.Could not believe the fat and stuff in bottom of the bowl.No wonder you can't have them on a diet.I wish I had bought this 7 weeks ago when I began the diet.The only gripe I have with the big boss is the small size of the recipe book.But when searching for more recipe's I learned that there is a bigger book of recipe's for this unit on amazon.com. I will have to check wal-mart for it first and if they don't have one I may order one from them.Now instead of cooking 2 different way's for me and the old man I can throw him a chop or steak in with my chicken or fish,a few veggies and we are good.I usually use the stovetop and oven and 45 pans to make dinner, now I can put it all in big boss.I think this is the best purchase I have made in a long time.If you don't believe me,just fry some chicken in your big boss and see what falls to the bottom and does not go into your body.It is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (95) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lyd12348
Chicago Burbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1/27/2012

Customer review by N2plants

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by N2plants
by N2plants

I bought this oven to replace the first turbo oven which I literally wore out. Love everything about it! Since I do not use a microwave oven, I use this one quite a lot. The recipe booklet was very helpful. One of my favorite features is the cleaning cycle--it really works! The price was great--much cheaper than my first one although the same size. Love to cook broiled chicken, meat patties, fish & roasted potatoes in it--hardly any grease, and very delicious.

Was this review helpful? (45) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
N2plants
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!!
1/27/2016

Customer review by karoll

4.0 stars 1/27/2016 by karoll
by karoll

Love how well it cooks, and love the energy savings!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
karoll
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Cooker:)
4/5/2012

Customer review by Jessesgirly

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Jessesgirly
by Jessesgirly

Big Boss Cooks really well. I had the Nuwave oven and sent it back. It smelled like plastic when it cooked foods. This cooker is all glass and cooks just as well as the Nuwave oven.

Was this review helpful? (130) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jessesgirly
white hall, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
9/30/2011

Customer review by ladybug88101

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by ladybug88101
by ladybug88101

I just got it a couple days ago...but I love it! Have cooked several different things in it. It does cook really well and fast! It even cleans itself :)

Was this review helpful? (159) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladybug88101
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible Item
1/23/2016

Customer review by Tera

1.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Tera
by Tera

The glass bowl that comes with this cracked in HALF on first use..........

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tera
Would recommend to a friend? No
A wonder for singles and families alike.
11/4/2015

Customer review by mcd8929

5.0 stars 11/4/2015 by mcd8929
by mcd8929

I purchased this and worried about some of the reviews, of the thing going bad and such. I discovered that there is a 2 year warranty on the thing. So unless you abuse it, you're going to have no worries. I love the thing! The first thing I tried was a Chicken casserole. Yes, you heard me right. I layered the bottom of the cooker with whole carrots, celery and onions. then placed rosemary thyme then whole chicken breast on top. sprinkled on some garlic, and diced onions and more rosemary and thyme. set the cooker on 300F and turned the timer to 20 minutes, forgot about it. Came back to find everything was getting tender so I turned the chicken, rearranged the veggies, and fired it up for another 10 minutes or so. Everything was awesome! I deboned the chicken breast, chopped the vegetables and spices, Placed it into a 9x9 glass pan added chicken stock and covered with Stove Top stuffing.Placed back into the Big Boss and placed on the recommended temp for the stuffing and timed it accordingly, but it cooked much faster. Now that I am more used to it; my morning routine is to line the bottom rack with foil on one side, add (2) frozen biscuits, and two frozen sausage patties to the other side. set the oven and jump into the shower. When I'm out it's ready to enjoy. *Be aware* the air cooker emits all of the odor out into the room. This may be a deal breaker for some. I have since learned to never cook foods with heavy odors indoors in this cooker, but sometimes this can be bad too if you're baking cookies and trying to keep it a secret!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mcd8929
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
First time user of convection oven
1/5/2014

Customer review by crosse88

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by crosse88
by crosse88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Never saw the TV infomercial for the Big Boss, however the reviews I read about the New Wave oven, made me chose this one. Larger capacity, extender ring included and glass bowl instead of plastic. I used it to cook a prime rib for Christmas dinner. The Prime rib turned out great. It seared on the outside without drying out the inside. I must caution, one should use the extender ring for most long cooking processes because the halogen bulb might burn, overcook or dry out your food. Again this was my first use of this oven and everything went well. I will write again after future uses.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crosse88
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 198 total reviews
1-20 of 198 reviews