Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 190 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

190 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
110
4 stars
43
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 stars
20
1-20 of 179 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews
10/8/2011

Customer review by snowflake58

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by snowflake58
by snowflake58

I have used this type oven for many years and have tried various brands. Most of them function the same and usually only last between 2 or 3 years; however, I use this oven daily. I cook french fries, biscuits, meat, fish, most anything you can put in an oven or under a broiler. Food is cooked in less time and you can cook without added oils. It's also great for reheating fried food like chicken and fish and most times the food will be as crispy reheated as it was when it was cooked. I like this particular model because it has the glass bowl that the lid sits on instead of a plastic-like piece that you have to snap the cooking element into. This oven is very easy to clean - just take the glass bowl to the sink and wash it or it can go in the dishwasher but it takes up a lot space in the dishwasher. This oven so far is working great. The one thing I don't like about this particular model is that it doesn't have a bracket to hook onto one of the handles to hold the lid when your food is done or if you need to turn the food. All of the ovens I have used have had some type of bracket but this one doesn't. I have had to set the hot lid on my stove so if you purchase this unit, you'll need something heat-proof to set the lid on. Other than that, I like this oven - the price is great, and it looks good. If it had a bracket included, I'd have given it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (287) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snowflake58
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/30/2011

Customer review by ladybug88101

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by ladybug88101
by ladybug88101

I just got it a couple days ago...but I love it! Have cooked several different things in it. It does cook really well and fast! It even cleans itself :)

Was this review helpful? (137) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ladybug88101
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Cooker:)
4/5/2012

Customer review by Jessesgirly

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Jessesgirly
by Jessesgirly

Big Boss Cooks really well. I had the Nuwave oven and sent it back. It smelled like plastic when it cooked foods. This cooker is all glass and cooks just as well as the Nuwave oven.

Was this review helpful? (99) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jessesgirly
white hall, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Awesome
9/25/2011

Customer review by Mfury

5.0 stars 9/25/2011 by Mfury
by Mfury

It is amazing the grease at ends up in the bottom. I cannot believe I was eating that!

Was this review helpful? (106) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mfury
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Cooker!No fat!!
2/28/2012

Customer review by lyd12348

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by lyd12348
by lyd12348

I love this cooker,they are for sale everywhere now but wal-mart has the best price.I only paid 69.00 plus the one year replacement for 6.00.I am on a low fat diet and this is perfect for that.I have missed fried chicken and french fries but had some today in my big boss and they were perfect.Could not believe the fat and stuff in bottom of the bowl.No wonder you can't have them on a diet.I wish I had bought this 7 weeks ago when I began the diet.The only gripe I have with the big boss is the small size of the recipe book.But when searching for more recipe's I learned that there is a bigger book of recipe's for this unit on amazon.com. I will have to check wal-mart for it first and if they don't have one I may order one from them.Now instead of cooking 2 different way's for me and the old man I can throw him a chop or steak in with my chicken or fish,a few veggies and we are good.I usually use the stovetop and oven and 45 pans to make dinner, now I can put it all in big boss.I think this is the best purchase I have made in a long time.If you don't believe me,just fry some chicken in your big boss and see what falls to the bottom and does not go into your body.It is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (83) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lyd12348
Chicago Burbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/3/2011

Customer review by rubyrm

4.0 stars 10/3/2011 by rubyrm
by rubyrm

Does well on chicken,although you must turn it . It browns too easily.but the extender ring helps with that.Veggies? Cake OK. Pie -not as yet,still trying. It does take some adjusting to time and temps. It does not heat up the kitchen. so good in hot weather.

Was this review helpful? (78) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rubyrm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/27/2012

Customer review by N2plants

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by N2plants
by N2plants

I bought this oven to replace the first turbo oven which I literally wore out. Love everything about it! Since I do not use a microwave oven, I use this one quite a lot. The recipe booklet was very helpful. One of my favorite features is the cleaning cycle--it really works! The price was great--much cheaper than my first one although the same size. Love to cook broiled chicken, meat patties, fish & roasted potatoes in it--hardly any grease, and very delicious.

Was this review helpful? (41) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
N2plants
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
read reviews b4 buy, they must have something else
9/19/2013

Customer review by jehuruth

1.0 stars 9/19/2013 by jehuruth
by jehuruth

I have been hungry for Fried Chicken. I have a Nu-Wave, but it doesn't give a fried taste. So I bought the Big Boss. Following their instructions in their cookbook, I made fried chicken. First, while it looked like it was frying while cooking, it didn't come close even tasting fried. Second, at the end of time in their cookbook, the skin was done, looked good, but the chicken was way under cooked. When I cooked it till the chicken was done, the skin was burnt. Third, for as big as the product is, it doesn't cook much. Definitely not family sized. In order to cook enough for me and my two boys, I would have to have two Big Bosses to make enough chicken and another one or two to make a side like fries. This product was a real disappointment. I have seen several people write good reviews for product. It's like they have a different product. Unfortunately, you will have to buy for yourself to see if they or I am right.

Was this review helpful? (54) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jehuruth
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Great oven, especially for the price!
2/25/2013

Customer review by WallyWorldLovah

4.0 stars 2/25/2013 by WallyWorldLovah
by WallyWorldLovah

The Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven was recommended to me by a friend a little over a year ago, and since she's pretty honest about the quality of the products she tries out, I decided to go ahead and purchase one. Here's my list of pros and cons experience during the past year: PROS: - There is no need to preheat this unit as opposed to a regular oven, therefore saving time and electricity. - I've been able to cook frozen chicken breasts and have them turn out moist and delicious (and cooked the whole way through#. - It's perfect for making a few frozen chicken patties, battered fish filets, fries, etc. in a hurry. - Having two racks at different levels makes it possible to cook several different items at once. - I can easily see the food as it's cooking, and can check the temperature often without worrying about letting all the heat out as with a regular oven. - I find the glass bowl and racks easy to clean baked-on food off of. - The lid has a nice safety feature that will not allow the heating element to come on unless the handle is clicked down into place. - The extender ring gives you even more space for cooking, or just space between the heating element and the food if you don't want things to brown too quickly. CONS: - The unit is quite large, and since I have inadequate cabinet space for storing it, I find the best place to keep this oven is actually inside my regular oven #hah#. - Cooking on a tray rather than the racks is practically only possible if you have a small square tray or an 8x8 round cake pan, etc. that will fit in the round glass bowl. - Some foods require a bit of "experimenting" with until you figure out just the right temperature and time to make them come out ok. - The glass bowl is a bit heavy and awkward for washing #though I do end up using it as a dish pan for washing all my other dishes in before I wash the bowl itself#. - There is no way to make the timer stop if you're finished cooking and have extra time set, even if you unplug the unit, other than by forcing it back to the "OFF" position. This makes for surprise "DING!"s after I've sat down to eat my dinner. Overall, I find the cons to be relatively minor in comparison to the pros of having this machine. It has consistently made delicious food and saved a lot of energy #as well as time# in my house. Yes, sometimes you need to do some testing to figure out how to cook certain foods in this oven, but if you have some patience and use some common sense, you will be well rewarded. I suggest keeping a journal of recipes you've tried that includes the time and temperature at which you cooked them, which rack#s# you used, and if you used the extender ring or not. It'll save you a lot of trouble the next time you make that meal. Have fun with it--it's a neat product, and you can do a lot with it!

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyWorldLovah
Midcoast Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Under performs
1/20/2012

Customer review by Pams123

2.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Pams123
by Pams123

The box pictures a chicken cooking evenly. No details of how to cook the chicken in the very thin recipe book. Need to turn food halfway through, if you can figure out the halfway mark. I had a 5lb chicken took 2 hours at 350. It was hard to turn it over because of the design of the unit. This definitely did not cook 3x faster. Tried roasted potatoes and they came out really good. Again, not 3x faster. 2" pieces took 25 minutes at 375, after pre boiling for 10 minutes. This company really needs to enhance their recipe book. Not much in it. So it is trial and error for me. Thank goodness I love to cook! Not adviseable to put any containers in the oven, so baking and casseroles are out. Would recommended only to experienced cooks. Great for preventing heat build up in the house on a hot day.

Was this review helpful? (39) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pams123
Big Bear, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/26/2012

Customer review by Jimbo2002

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Jimbo2002
by Jimbo2002

I have owned three of the Thane flavorwave ovens in the past ten years. They have worked well but wear out after two or three years. The main problem was that the plastic cooking dome either broke or got so discolored that you couldn't see the food cooking. It was also unsightly to have in the kitchen. The Big Boss Rapid wave has corrected that problem with the large glass bowl that can be easily washed. The top of the cooker is also partially glass and can be easily cleaned. I bought the Walmart extended replacement warranty (1 year for $6 ) which seemed like a real deal. I use it for cooking chicken parts, frozen entrees like eggrolls stuffed chicken breasts, just about anything you would cook in the regular oven except it cooks faster saves energy and doesn't heat up the kitchen. I would recommend it for anyone, especially if you live alone or with one other person and don't cook in larger quantities.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jimbo2002
Pinckney, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
AWESOME!
6/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I totally love this oven!! I've had it 3 days and cooked a 10 lb turkey to perfection in less than 2 hours! So moist, juicy, and the skin was the crispest i've ever baked!! and not just on top but all over and under! I just made some of my homemade bread, and except for getting a bit dark, it baked in half the time and no doughy center, no heating up the kitchen with the cranky oven, and also baked at a much lower temp than usually needed! I just can't praise this oven enough, am so glad i bought it. I was considering the NuWave for a long time, but just couldn't pass up the price on the Big Boss! I made from scratch, baked potatoes and french-fries.. perfect! i can't heat up the oil to fry the potatoes in the time it took the Big Boss to 'fry' them perfectly with no oil! crispy outside, soft and fluffy inside. i have to shutup now, i could praise this oven all day. I'm tossing out my toaster oven!

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/16/2012

Customer review by TheCookHimself

2.0 stars 7/16/2012 by TheCookHimself
by TheCookHimself

It works pretty good, this is about the 4th one I've had, and lasted less than all of them, not even a year! The handle stopped working properly first then a couple of months later, the whole machine stopped working, about 8 months after buying it.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheCookHimself
Temple Hills, Md.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My Second Halogen Oven
3/6/2014

Customer review by MssMaggie

4.0 stars 3/6/2014 by MssMaggie
by MssMaggie

This is my second halogen oven. My first was a Flavorwave which I loved and used for years. The Big Boss has some new features I enjoy. The safety button is nice and the temperature gauge is better. The light is very bright allowing for easy viewing of the cooking process. This is my favorite feature as it allows me to easily check on the food. The Big Boss cooks different. The top rack definitely cooks hotter than the bottom. Be careful when steaming veggies or cooking on both racks because the top will burn well before the bottom is done. I did not experience this problem with my last oven. Even so, learning what can cook together and what temperatures to use comes quickly. A standard heat guide would have been great. I received one with the Flavorwave but the Big Boss only provides a few pages of recipes I will never use. I have made some of the best meals with this. I love the no pre-heat and energy savings. I can pop in food even when frozen and get as crisp or juicy a meal as I want. This certainly makes dinner easier and healthier.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MssMaggie
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/17/2012

Customer review by rsick

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by rsick
by rsick

I love this oven. I use it almost everyday with meat, veg, and also baking. Everything is great until around 3 months, it stop working. Have to call manufacture and they send replacement around 4 weeks. Other than this problem, I like the way it work.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rsick
rancho cordova
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worked well for about 10 days....
10/2/2011

Customer review by fawnee

1.0 stars 10/2/2011 by fawnee
by fawnee

Bought this tabletop cooker. Was thrilled with the way it cooked but after about 10 days it stopped working for no reason. I will buy another tabletop convection oven but not this brand. This one is going back, it is junk.

Was this review helpful? (37) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fawnee
Would recommend to a friend? No
working great
11/1/2012

Customer review by dym4

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by dym4
by dym4

This oven works great. It was fast. I could make a meal in 10 min. I previously owned a Nuwave oven which I ordered online for over $200 and it was hard to use it. The program is confusing but this new oven i ordered on Walmart.com cost $84 and the two buttons are easy to use. It worth my money!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dym4
madison,wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
First time user of convection oven
1/5/2014

Customer review by crosse88

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by crosse88
by crosse88

Never saw the TV infomercial for the Big Boss, however the reviews I read about the New Wave oven, made me chose this one. Larger capacity, extender ring included and glass bowl instead of plastic. I used it to cook a prime rib for Christmas dinner. The Prime rib turned out great. It seared on the outside without drying out the inside. I must caution, one should use the extender ring for most long cooking processes because the halogen bulb might burn, overcook or dry out your food. Again this was my first use of this oven and everything went well. I will write again after future uses.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crosse88
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
What a waist of Money
12/26/2013

Customer review by 1mcw

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by 1mcw
by 1mcw

What a great idea to get away from deep fried food we thought !!!, We opened the box on Christmas Morning and were eager too try our new Fryer, Followed the very simple instructions. Bang Bang Shrimp was the simple test to see how good it was. Heat lamp came on, No Convection fan to move the air around. 10 mins later food still raw back to the good old Deep Fryer to do the job. My Biggest Problem is not with the product, (sometime things do not work) its the Customer Service leaflet which in BOLD LETTERS say's DO NOT RETURN TO STORE, WE CAN HELP. I phoned the number 1-800-423-4248 only to be given another number to call before speaking with someone who had NO IDEA about this product as they don't make it and I would have to send it back and pay all the postage (so what's the point of the card). This lady was a much HELP as a CHOCOLATE KETTLE. My advise stay away and spend a little more

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1mcw
Pittsford
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
10/13/2011

Customer review by jm194749tm

5.0 stars 10/13/2011 by jm194749tm
by jm194749tm

I wish there was a more in depth cook book as to placement of different vegetables an meats according to height on the grills and cooking times. If such a book is available i wish you would send how to get it to me.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jm194749tm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 179 total reviews
1-20 of 179 reviews