Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 210 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

210 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

210 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
47
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 stars
23
1-20 of 199 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews
was not expecting such a great product
7/23/2014

Customer review by preconfigured

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by preconfigured
by preconfigured
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have to admit that I purchased another competitive unit costing twice as much. It would only handle small pieces and made everything mixed and mushy. I took it back and ordered this. Much to my delight, this product will do an entire chicken, turkey, etc..everything I have made in this unit has come out perfect; great fried taste without any oil..get one!

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
preconfigured
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My Second Halogen Oven
3/6/2014

Customer review by MssMaggie

4.0 stars 3/6/2014 by MssMaggie
by MssMaggie

This is my second halogen oven. My first was a Flavorwave which I loved and used for years. The Big Boss has some new features I enjoy. The safety button is nice and the temperature gauge is better. The light is very bright allowing for easy viewing of the cooking process. This is my favorite feature as it allows me to easily check on the food. The Big Boss cooks different. The top rack definitely cooks hotter than the bottom. Be careful when steaming veggies or cooking on both racks because the top will burn well before the bottom is done. I did not experience this problem with my last oven. Even so, learning what can cook together and what temperatures to use comes quickly. A standard heat guide would have been great. I received one with the Flavorwave but the Big Boss only provides a few pages of recipes I will never use. I have made some of the best meals with this. I love the no pre-heat and energy savings. I can pop in food even when frozen and get as crisp or juicy a meal as I want. This certainly makes dinner easier and healthier.

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MssMaggie
AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good convection oven for the price
2/11/2014

Customer review by OldToaster

4.0 stars 2/11/2014 by OldToaster
by OldToaster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I actually expected more from this unit than its design. I wanted to replace an existing toaster oven. The 'toast' function was unsatisfactory, so I tried to use the roasting function using a 5 pound whole chicken. The chicken was crispy on top and well done most of the way through (including a stuffing mix inside). My only complaint was that the very bottom of the chicken seemed under cooked, even though a meat thermometer showed more than well done for poultry. I did call customer service and got the following responses: (1) as far as toasting bread was concerned the only option (after several minutes of representative looking for an answer) seemed to be to turn the bread over and (2) as far as the chicken being underdone on the bottom the suggestion was to turn it over. Neither answer was satisfactory. Overall, however the oven did fit the space in the kitchen, looked attractive, and would probably do very well as a secondary oven for someone not as particular as I.

Was this review helpful? (18) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldToaster
Madrid TWP, ME
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesome! fried chicken is amazing
6/27/2016

Customer review by froginpigtails

5.0 stars 6/27/2016 by froginpigtails
by froginpigtails

just got this after comparing all the reviews of this, similar designs and nuwave. this is amazing!! using the 16qt size rapid wave oven. I first tried frozen meatballs..came out nice and crisp. then made doughnuts. pretty good, my kids loved them. the big test was fried chicken without using oil. this is so crisp and yummy! the outside is just as crisp as regular fried chicken. best part is there's no greasy mess in the kitchen!! (my fryer is officially going in the garbage) I used with the extender at 375 degrees with meat on the high rack. double dip in the egg and flour mixture. cook 15 min each side.then turn second time and remove extender ring and cook 5 more min to Brown it on outside. can cook 6 drumsticks and one thigh, or 5 thighs at one time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
froginpigtails
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
read reviews b4 buy, they must have something else
9/19/2013

Customer review by jehuruth

1.0 stars 9/19/2013 by jehuruth
by jehuruth

I have been hungry for Fried Chicken. I have a Nu-Wave, but it doesn't give a fried taste. So I bought the Big Boss. Following their instructions in their cookbook, I made fried chicken. First, while it looked like it was frying while cooking, it didn't come close even tasting fried. Second, at the end of time in their cookbook, the skin was done, looked good, but the chicken was way under cooked. When I cooked it till the chicken was done, the skin was burnt. Third, for as big as the product is, it doesn't cook much. Definitely not family sized. In order to cook enough for me and my two boys, I would have to have two Big Bosses to make enough chicken and another one or two to make a side like fries. This product was a real disappointment. I have seen several people write good reviews for product. It's like they have a different product. Unfortunately, you will have to buy for yourself to see if they or I am right.

Was this review helpful? (60) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jehuruth
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
AWESOME!
6/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/9/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I totally love this oven!! I've had it 3 days and cooked a 10 lb turkey to perfection in less than 2 hours! So moist, juicy, and the skin was the crispest i've ever baked!! and not just on top but all over and under! I just made some of my homemade bread, and except for getting a bit dark, it baked in half the time and no doughy center, no heating up the kitchen with the cranky oven, and also baked at a much lower temp than usually needed! I just can't praise this oven enough, am so glad i bought it. I was considering the NuWave for a long time, but just couldn't pass up the price on the Big Boss! I made from scratch, baked potatoes and french-fries.. perfect! i can't heat up the oil to fry the potatoes in the time it took the Big Boss to 'fry' them perfectly with no oil! crispy outside, soft and fluffy inside. i have to shutup now, i could praise this oven all day. I'm tossing out my toaster oven!

Was this review helpful? (37) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/26/2012

Customer review by Jimbo2002

5.0 stars 5/26/2012 by Jimbo2002
by Jimbo2002

I have owned three of the Thane flavorwave ovens in the past ten years. They have worked well but wear out after two or three years. The main problem was that the plastic cooking dome either broke or got so discolored that you couldn't see the food cooking. It was also unsightly to have in the kitchen. The Big Boss Rapid wave has corrected that problem with the large glass bowl that can be easily washed. The top of the cooker is also partially glass and can be easily cleaned. I bought the Walmart extended replacement warranty (1 year for $6 ) which seemed like a real deal. I use it for cooking chicken parts, frozen entrees like eggrolls stuffed chicken breasts, just about anything you would cook in the regular oven except it cooks faster saves energy and doesn't heat up the kitchen. I would recommend it for anyone, especially if you live alone or with one other person and don't cook in larger quantities.

Was this review helpful? (44) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimbo2002
Pinckney, Mi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this at my local Walmart and it worked better than expected for two or three uses. Then it began rattling the entire time it was in use. I think I had it for two weeks. I returned it to buy another to find that my store no longer had any in stock. I already feel that I cant live without it and I am a little more than annoyed that there have been NONE in stock for weeks and there is a two week wait on the one that I ordered online. Anyway, its basically a washable glass bowl with a little wire rack inside. The cooking element is built into the lid. The stand that it sits on is flimsy and does not fit properly. Its kinda cheap. What I like about this is that it works quickly, its easy to clean, and what should be crispy comes out good and crispy. I didnt get to play with it long enough to find out what all it can do. I do wish it were made better. But I think its going to be my new favorite toy if the next one lasts longer :D

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Kingsport,TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
10/8/2011

Customer review by snowflake58

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by snowflake58
by snowflake58

I have used this type oven for many years and have tried various brands. Most of them function the same and usually only last between 2 or 3 years; however, I use this oven daily. I cook french fries, biscuits, meat, fish, most anything you can put in an oven or under a broiler. Food is cooked in less time and you can cook without added oils. It's also great for reheating fried food like chicken and fish and most times the food will be as crispy reheated as it was when it was cooked. I like this particular model because it has the glass bowl that the lid sits on instead of a plastic-like piece that you have to snap the cooking element into. This oven is very easy to clean - just take the glass bowl to the sink and wash it or it can go in the dishwasher but it takes up a lot space in the dishwasher. This oven so far is working great. The one thing I don't like about this particular model is that it doesn't have a bracket to hook onto one of the handles to hold the lid when your food is done or if you need to turn the food. All of the ovens I have used have had some type of bracket but this one doesn't. I have had to set the hot lid on my stove so if you purchase this unit, you'll need something heat-proof to set the lid on. Other than that, I like this oven - the price is great, and it looks good. If it had a bracket included, I'd have given it 5 stars.

Was this review helpful? (331) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowflake58
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
What a waist of Money
12/26/2013

Customer review by 1mcw

1.0 stars 12/26/2013 by 1mcw
by 1mcw

What a great idea to get away from deep fried food we thought !!!, We opened the box on Christmas Morning and were eager too try our new Fryer, Followed the very simple instructions. Bang Bang Shrimp was the simple test to see how good it was. Heat lamp came on, No Convection fan to move the air around. 10 mins later food still raw back to the good old Deep Fryer to do the job. My Biggest Problem is not with the product, (sometime things do not work) its the Customer Service leaflet which in BOLD LETTERS say's DO NOT RETURN TO STORE, WE CAN HELP. I phoned the number 1-800-423-4248 only to be given another number to call before speaking with someone who had NO IDEA about this product as they don't make it and I would have to send it back and pay all the postage (so what's the point of the card). This lady was a much HELP as a CHOCOLATE KETTLE. My advise stay away and spend a little more

Was this review helpful? (31) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1mcw
Pittsford
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Love it!
6/11/2015

Customer review by Splasher

5.0 stars 6/11/2015 by Splasher
by Splasher

I spent many weeks reviewing the various table ovens, including the NuWave. I have been trying different foods in this Big Boss Oven since it arrived, and even when I left a whole chicken in too long, the breast meat was still very moist and delicious. I was surprised. I air fried sweet potato fries, garlic cheese bread, frozen burritos, baked potatoes, steak, and fish, and everything was great! I noticed that nothing gets dried out or toughened like sometimes happens in a microwave oven. Big Boss is kind of like a broiler oven. Browns beautifully. Bacon is done in half the time without turning, and grease falls to the bottom.I found cake, pie pans and other bake ware at the 99 cent store that fits perfectly in the oven.I use the 12 inch pie pan in the bottom to catch grease. The swirling "wash setting" really works. It cooks much faster than a regular oven, so you have to keep an eye on it until you learn how many minutes to set. It is so fun to use. I'm going to bake cookies next and maybe try a meatloaf. Bottom line the Big Boss is affordable compared to other ovens out there and saves energy, including yours. LOL

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Splasher
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Cooker!No fat!!
2/28/2012

Customer review by lyd12348

5.0 stars 2/28/2012 by lyd12348
by lyd12348

I love this cooker,they are for sale everywhere now but wal-mart has the best price.I only paid 69.00 plus the one year replacement for 6.00.I am on a low fat diet and this is perfect for that.I have missed fried chicken and french fries but had some today in my big boss and they were perfect.Could not believe the fat and stuff in bottom of the bowl.No wonder you can't have them on a diet.I wish I had bought this 7 weeks ago when I began the diet.The only gripe I have with the big boss is the small size of the recipe book.But when searching for more recipe's I learned that there is a bigger book of recipe's for this unit on amazon.com. I will have to check wal-mart for it first and if they don't have one I may order one from them.Now instead of cooking 2 different way's for me and the old man I can throw him a chop or steak in with my chicken or fish,a few veggies and we are good.I usually use the stovetop and oven and 45 pans to make dinner, now I can put it all in big boss.I think this is the best purchase I have made in a long time.If you don't believe me,just fry some chicken in your big boss and see what falls to the bottom and does not go into your body.It is worth it.

Was this review helpful? (96) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lyd12348
Chicago Burbs
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Under performs
1/20/2012

Customer review by Pams123

2.0 stars 1/20/2012 by Pams123
by Pams123

The box pictures a chicken cooking evenly. No details of how to cook the chicken in the very thin recipe book. Need to turn food halfway through, if you can figure out the halfway mark. I had a 5lb chicken took 2 hours at 350. It was hard to turn it over because of the design of the unit. This definitely did not cook 3x faster. Tried roasted potatoes and they came out really good. Again, not 3x faster. 2" pieces took 25 minutes at 375, after pre boiling for 10 minutes. This company really needs to enhance their recipe book. Not much in it. So it is trial and error for me. Thank goodness I love to cook! Not adviseable to put any containers in the oven, so baking and casseroles are out. Would recommended only to experienced cooks. Great for preventing heat build up in the house on a hot day.

Was this review helpful? (42) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Pams123
Big Bear, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1/27/2012

Customer review by N2plants

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by N2plants
by N2plants

I bought this oven to replace the first turbo oven which I literally wore out. Love everything about it! Since I do not use a microwave oven, I use this one quite a lot. The recipe booklet was very helpful. One of my favorite features is the cleaning cycle--it really works! The price was great--much cheaper than my first one although the same size. Love to cook broiled chicken, meat patties, fish & roasted potatoes in it--hardly any grease, and very delicious.

Was this review helpful? (46) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
N2plants
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Cooker:)
4/5/2012

Customer review by Jessesgirly

5.0 stars 4/5/2012 by Jessesgirly
by Jessesgirly

Big Boss Cooks really well. I had the Nuwave oven and sent it back. It smelled like plastic when it cooked foods. This cooker is all glass and cooks just as well as the Nuwave oven.

Was this review helpful? (131) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jessesgirly
white hall, md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
9/30/2011

Customer review by ladybug88101

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by ladybug88101
by ladybug88101

I just got it a couple days ago...but I love it! Have cooked several different things in it. It does cook really well and fast! It even cleans itself :)

Was this review helpful? (160) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ladybug88101
NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
First time user of convection oven
1/5/2014

Customer review by crosse88

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by crosse88
by crosse88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Never saw the TV infomercial for the Big Boss, however the reviews I read about the New Wave oven, made me chose this one. Larger capacity, extender ring included and glass bowl instead of plastic. I used it to cook a prime rib for Christmas dinner. The Prime rib turned out great. It seared on the outside without drying out the inside. I must caution, one should use the extender ring for most long cooking processes because the halogen bulb might burn, overcook or dry out your food. Again this was my first use of this oven and everything went well. I will write again after future uses.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crosse88
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not as seen on TV!
12/27/2012

Customer review by TexSenior

3.0 stars 12/27/2012 by TexSenior
by TexSenior
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I haven't cooked everything I want on this oven yet but here are my few observations: Can not bake a large pizza; maybe a small pizza would be ok. Chickens are required much longer to cook; plan for an extra 15min on top of the prescribed cook time. It takes just as long as the traditional oven and I have to microwave the chicken for 5 extra minutes to get rid of the red blood. Best to grill fish Pork chop are too dried when done; not as juicy

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexSenior
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/17/2012

Customer review by rsick

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by rsick
by rsick

I love this oven. I use it almost everyday with meat, veg, and also baking. Everything is great until around 3 months, it stop working. Have to call manufacture and they send replacement around 4 weeks. Other than this problem, I like the way it work.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rsick
rancho cordova
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great oven, especially for the price!
2/25/2013

Customer review by WallyWorldLovah

4.0 stars 2/25/2013 by WallyWorldLovah
by WallyWorldLovah

The Big Boss Rapid Wave Oven was recommended to me by a friend a little over a year ago, and since she's pretty honest about the quality of the products she tries out, I decided to go ahead and purchase one. Here's my list of pros and cons experience during the past year: PROS: - There is no need to preheat this unit as opposed to a regular oven, therefore saving time and electricity. - I've been able to cook frozen chicken breasts and have them turn out moist and delicious (and cooked the whole way through#. - It's perfect for making a few frozen chicken patties, battered fish filets, fries, etc. in a hurry. - Having two racks at different levels makes it possible to cook several different items at once. - I can easily see the food as it's cooking, and can check the temperature often without worrying about letting all the heat out as with a regular oven. - I find the glass bowl and racks easy to clean baked-on food off of. - The lid has a nice safety feature that will not allow the heating element to come on unless the handle is clicked down into place. - The extender ring gives you even more space for cooking, or just space between the heating element and the food if you don't want things to brown too quickly. CONS: - The unit is quite large, and since I have inadequate cabinet space for storing it, I find the best place to keep this oven is actually inside my regular oven #hah#. - Cooking on a tray rather than the racks is practically only possible if you have a small square tray or an 8x8 round cake pan, etc. that will fit in the round glass bowl. - Some foods require a bit of "experimenting" with until you figure out just the right temperature and time to make them come out ok. - The glass bowl is a bit heavy and awkward for washing #though I do end up using it as a dish pan for washing all my other dishes in before I wash the bowl itself#. - There is no way to make the timer stop if you're finished cooking and have extra time set, even if you unplug the unit, other than by forcing it back to the "OFF" position. This makes for surprise "DING!"s after I've sat down to eat my dinner. Overall, I find the cons to be relatively minor in comparison to the pros of having this machine. It has consistently made delicious food and saved a lot of energy #as well as time# in my house. Yes, sometimes you need to do some testing to figure out how to cook certain foods in this oven, but if you have some patience and use some common sense, you will be well rewarded. I suggest keeping a journal of recipes you've tried that includes the time and temperature at which you cooked them, which rack#s# you used, and if you used the extender ring or not. It'll save you a lot of trouble the next time you make that meal. Have fun with it--it's a neat product, and you can do a lot with it!

Was this review helpful? (43) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WallyWorldLovah
Midcoast Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 199 total reviews
1-20 of 199 reviews