Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 47 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

47 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

47 reviews | 4 out of 5

77%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 33 total reviews
77%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Well worth it!
8/11/2011

Customer review by TechSavvyGuy30

5.0 stars 8/11/2011 by TechSavvyGuy30
by TechSavvyGuy30

I'm a techie and usually only buy the best. I didn't have a lot of money and hesitated to buy the Westinghouse, but it fit the budget and had everything I was looking for...120hz, 40 inches, 6ms or better response time. THE PICTURE QUALITY IS EXCELLENT! Over the air HD is phenomenal. Watching DVD's through the HDMI is amazing. The sound is passable, but not great which is to be expected on a flat screen. I hooked my tv to my stereo and the sound is now excellent. Do not hesitate because of the low price or because it is a Westinghouse. I'm glad I did not shell out on a more expensive set. If for some reason the screen is completely black, like for credits, you may notice that some areas are brighter than others...BUT this is only noticeable when the screen is completely black, like when the credits are rolling...when a show is on, this is not noticeable (this is also something to be expected with edge lit LED's...more expensive full array LED's with local dimming don't have this phenomenon.) One last concern is the stand (base) allows the tv to wobble a bit. It's noticeable only when you plug in cables, but I don't think this is ever going to be a problem, there is no risk of the tv stand breaking. BOTTOM LINE: GO GRAB A WESTINGHOUSE LD4070Z BEFORE THE PRICE GOES UP, IT IS AN AWESOME TELEVISION. WELL WORTH IT.

Was this review helpful? (187) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TechSavvyGuy30
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great picture but what's wrong with the pixels?
9/2/2011

Customer review by redamaleki

1.0 stars 9/2/2011 by redamaleki
by redamaleki

So, I don't know if it is a manufacturing issue or shipping issue. I ordered two and had them shipped site to store (ship to home is not free or 99 cents, but around $25). They represented a brand that I have good exepriences with and the TV was a phenomenal value for all the connections and the technology that is available in it. Well, after waiting 2 weeks for it to arrive at my local Walmart, I brought them home and hooked the first one up. There was a big bright spot with in a dead pixel right in the middle of the screen!! It was not good. The TV itself had no blemishes and no indication on the box that it had been mishandled or damaged during shipment. I got the second TV out and it had a dead pixel in almost the exact same spot as the first. I did hook up my satellite to see if the blemishes would go away, which they did not. The picture was amazing, with the exception of the missing pixels and bright spot. Another major draw back is the sound. I suppose it would be alright if you were putting it somewhere that had the wall behind to reflect the sound back to you. For me, however, this is not the case due to the fact that I was placing it in a built in entertainment center (hence the reason for buying a 40" TV instead of a larger one). It sounds like the speakers were in a tin can. They are both going back to the store tomorrow for full refunds (I am so glad I didn't pay for shipping to my home). Due to the price, I am still debating if I want to wait another two weeks before finding out whether or not the next one has a dead pixel. I am leaning towards not, but if I do, I will definitely need to get an auxiliary sound system for it. I don't undersand why these brand new TVs would have problems as I have owned multiple Westinghouse LCD TVs for a few years now and have never had an issue with a pixel going out. Also they all sound a lot better than this one, but again, external speakers are an easy remedy. I suppose if you can verify that there are no dead pixels before you bring it home from the store, that would be beneficial if you are ordering this TV.

Was this review helpful? (67) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redamaleki
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Good Price, Returned 1st, 2nd still has bad pixel
8/31/2011

Customer review by ik622

2.0 stars 8/31/2011 by ik622
by ik622

Was happy with everything except the 1st one had 2 bad pixels, 2nd one had 1 bad pixel. So I am not sure if all Westinghouse's have bad pixels or if Walmart gets the models with bad pixels. Or I have bad luck. Audio isn't that great but have yet to see a flat screen with good audio. I thought the menus seemed decent, not top end but I didn't think they look bad. I bought this for use at a cabin I use 5 times a year, so it won't get much use. If it was getting a lot of use I would probably have purchased a higher end model.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ik622
CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A lot of features for a very competitive price
8/31/2011

Customer review by mzungu

4.0 stars 8/31/2011 by mzungu
by mzungu

Very pleased with this television so far. The picture is very clean and clear. Contrast (brights vs. darks) seems very high. Connection options are very adequate for our needs. Features are basic (in terms of customizing/tweaking the picture & sound to your liking) but work for most situations. I'm least pleased with the aspect ratio display options available. This doesn't detract from its use at all, it just seems to lack flexibility. The audio works very well for our application (the room its in isn't very large) so we have no complaints in that area. We're only a couple of weeks into owning this TV, so cannot comment on its long term reliability or performance. Price/feature ratio was the main factor in deciding to go with this "low end" brand. We got the warranty extension to help cover this, so we'll see. The unit's physical quality feel seems mid-range. The remote isn't fancy and not of the highest quality, but its layout is acceptable with no major pet peeves so far. This unit is essentially what I expected it to be (trying to keep my expectations reasonable), so no big surprises or disappointments yet. It is my first LCD HDTV purchase (replaces our old CRT-based unit) so my basis for comparison is pretty thin (other than loving LCD PC monitors.) I'm pleased with what we've got and would recommend it to others at this point.

Was this review helpful? (26) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mzungu
Fayetteville, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/28/2011

Customer review by Inquisition

4.0 stars 9/28/2011 by Inquisition
by Inquisition

Great price for a 40". The picture quality is very good. A full black screen does have inconsitent brighter sections rather than a smooth black image which I don't think is really important. The sound quality is not very good.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Inquisition
KC, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't buy this horrible TV
11/15/2011

Customer review by CEMorris

1.0 stars 11/15/2011 by CEMorris
by CEMorris

This TV has one of the worst pictures I have ever seen. The sound quality is as bad if not worse than the picture. I took it back to Walmart and bought a 42" Sanyo for for about $20 more than the Westinghouse and the picture and sound on the Sanyo are GREAT! Unless you want to make a 2nd trip to Walmart stay away from the Westinghouse.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CEMorris
Dupo, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
How did this unit get past quality control?
10/18/2011

Customer review by Oldpops

1.0 stars 10/18/2011 by Oldpops
by Oldpops

Out of the box easy to set up and find channels off my antenna. But there is a pixel that stays on all the time. It is only a matter of time before it looks like the milky way.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldpops
Would recommend to a friend? No
10/16/2011

Customer review by Swoopty

4.0 stars 10/16/2011 by Swoopty
by Swoopty

Good TV for the price. It is actually made by Toshiba so I dont expect to have any issues with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swoopty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great 120Hz LCD TV with basic features
10/27/2011

Customer review by Acodger

5.0 stars 10/27/2011 by Acodger
by Acodger

This TV is everything I expected after reading other reviews. Great picture, OK sound. I bought this as a bedroom TV and it fits the bill perfectly. If you want a plug and play, LCD, 120Hz TV this is it. If you want total function control or theater quality sound you should probably look elsewhere. A word about Westinghouse support. I picked this up from Walmart on a Friday night after work. After I hooked it up I tried to program my DirecTV remote to control the TV. None of the Westinghouse codes suggested by DirecTV worked, so I fired off an e-mail to Westinghouse support requesting the codes. Since it was after midnight Pacific time on a Friday I fully expected to wait until at least Monday for a reply. Imagine my surprise when the reply was waiting in my in-box Saturday morning when I got up! (It uses Samsung/Sony codes BTW). So far I am completely satisfied with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Acodger
WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Picture,
9/13/2011

Customer review by cyberjawn

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by cyberjawn
by cyberjawn

Has a great picture, crisp, sharp. Sound is ok, nothing to get excited about. I have it hooked up to 5.1 surround. Has one dead pixel right at the top middle. it's blue didn't noticed it for the first day but You can't see it unless you're really looking for it and you have to be close. No reason to take it back or write a bad review over. if you are wanting one that doesn't have one then spend 100 or more in a bigger name brand. I'm happy with my purchase. As for people having problems with light spots around the edge that is expected for edge lit LED-LCD's. can't really notice unless it's a completely black screen then you can see it but doesn't bother me not for the price. My old 32" LCD did the same thing.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyberjawn
Springfield, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bad pixels
11/25/2011

Customer review by Tommy126

2.0 stars 11/25/2011 by Tommy126
by Tommy126

I researched 40inch LED TV's for 2 months before purchasing this TV. It looked like a good value and I figured I could always return it if there was a problem with it. I opened it up and turned it on and there were about 5 or 6 dead pixels in a 3 inch area. Rather than try my luck with another of the same brand TV and possibly have the same issue, I decided to spend an extra $70 to to get a proven brand name. The sound was equal to other similar LED TV's. The TV and base were also a little crooked also.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tommy126
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great buy for the money!
10/9/2011

Customer review by suzyqz37

5.0 stars 10/9/2011 by suzyqz37
by suzyqz37

Love,love,love this tv excellent for the price .Sound quality is not that great but that's par for the course with these type of tv's

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suzyqz37
Millville,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV
9/7/2011

Customer review by TonsterC

5.0 stars 9/7/2011 by TonsterC
by TonsterC

Bought it, loved it. Slight issues getting the sound to cooperate with my surround sound, but other than that, it's a great purchase. Clear, crisp picture, great reception and cable hookup and gaming. Love the TV!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TonsterC
Altamonte Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
9/8/2011

Customer review by wingle66

5.0 stars 9/8/2011 by wingle66
by wingle66

A very nice tv with beautiful images and sharp colors.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wingle66
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Value
9/8/2011

Customer review by mkrogers

4.0 stars 9/8/2011 by mkrogers
by mkrogers

The value is great and so is the picture quality. The sound however could have been better. This is a great buy and I would recommend it to anyone interested in this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mkrogers
home
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fits in a small space
9/30/2011

Customer review by WolverineGreg

4.0 stars 9/30/2011 by WolverineGreg
by WolverineGreg

Sound is tinny but that was expected from other reviews.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WolverineGreg
Walled Lake, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really a GREAT TV for the money
10/12/2011

Customer review by JeBee

5.0 stars 10/12/2011 by JeBee
by JeBee

I was concerned after ordering this TV as I saw a different Westinghouse model on another vendor site with some negative reviews on setup and sound. After a quick delivery time (site-to-store with no problems) I was pleasantly surprised to find NO PROBLEMS with this set; in fact the picture and sound were both GREAT. We may consider purchasing another for our snowbird home if they are still available at this GREAT price. {I took another ad to the store hoping to get the price reduced to match it BUT had also ordered the extended warranty and when I looked at the TV price alone found the competitor's ad was actually $40 more - oops.}

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeBee
Buffalo, NY & FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't beat the price
10/31/2011

Customer review by TVShopper843

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by TVShopper843
by TVShopper843

The price is stellar, nothing I have seen even comes close for 1080P and 120 Hz. Definitely brighter than my LCD, picture quality is awesome, sound is good, definitely changed my opinion of the lower end brands

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TVShopper843
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10/29/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Picture is excellent with satellite hd receiver.Sound is soso but that was expected. All pixels okay. Great tv overall for the money!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Oswego,IL.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent quality for the price
10/7/2011

Customer review by nomoredrama

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by nomoredrama
by nomoredrama

We have only had this product for 2 weeks and found this tv to be very easy to set up. The pictures is vivid and very crisp with easy to use features and remote. I would recommend this product to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nomoredrama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews