Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 875 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

875 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

875 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
388
4 stars
242
3 stars
96
2 stars
58
1 stars
91
1-20 of 794 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 794 total reviews
1-20 of 794 reviews
very nice product for the price
8/30/2011

Customer review by smoothpuppy

5.0 stars 8/30/2011 by smoothpuppy
by smoothpuppy

I needed a small TV for my treadmill walks. After a lot of internet searching, I found this Sceptre 19" flat screen, with DVD at WalMart.com for $129.00 with free site to store shipping. And, this is a LED. No retailer on earth has come anywhere close to that price. 19 inch LED COMBO for $129.00!!!!!! Had heard very little about brand, but, hey, this is WalMart..if you do not like it...TAKE IT BACK....Decided to take a chance. I love it...really glad I jumped out on limb on this one. Only had couple of weeks, but all is great. If you need small TV, better grab this one before WalMart realizes they have it priced too low!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (443) (56)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smoothpuppy
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/22/2013

Customer review by mmhassa2

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by mmhassa2
by mmhassa2

Great little TV/Dvd combo. I have it installed under our kitchen cabinets and it's perfect and the fact it has a built in dvd makes it even sweeter. Have had ity for a year now with no issues.

Was this review helpful? (258) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mmhassa2
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic price for a do-it-all HDTV -perfect!
1/7/2012

Customer review by StudioDude711

4.0 stars 1/7/2012 by StudioDude711
by StudioDude711

Saw this at a friends home over the holidays-- perfect picture, so-so sound. I picked up one to use for streaming video with Roku - what a great buy! For those worried about 1080p vs. 720-- at this size , please do NOT worry. The picture quality is sensational, though not at Samsung or Sony levels ( but neither is the price!). Very crisp! Perfect as a bedroom/bathroom/kitchen TV. It works well with Roku, and offers 2 HDMI inputs. Be SURE you have (or get) an HDMI cable, to enjoy the best picture and sound. Adding in a DVD player makes this almost a no-brainer - perfect for seniors, college kids, or for yourself. I saw a similar model at a big box electronics store for over 200 and a smaller one at a leading wharehouse/membership store for 230.00! This is a GREAT Wal Mart value, and it is an almost insane price. Well worth a look and a try. Just be sure to get the HDMI for the best result- Wal Mart has 'em for under 10.00. This is a beyond good value, and a terrific product!

Was this review helpful? (91) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StudioDude711
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
more then I was expecting..
9/20/2013

Customer review by heyitskat

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by heyitskat
by heyitskat

I really like this Monitor... very versatile. If you learn or know how to set your sound, this tv has awesome sound for the little speakers, at first I thought I would have to spend some extra money to get some individual speakers but, in the end they are amazing, putting on a DVD is simple. as well as using it for a muilti-purpose of a PC monitor for my gaming.. Since i'm on bed rest it has been a blessing to enjoy...

Was this review helpful? (186) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heyitskat
Lake Jackson, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice TV
9/11/2011

Customer review by what12

4.0 stars 9/11/2011 by what12
by what12

Nice picture. Worth the price. Only negative is the volume is really low on DVD player. Make sure to turn the volume up before turning on the DVD. However not really for sure if there is a step I missed.

Was this review helpful? (81) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
what12
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Kids TV
7/17/2012

Customer review by goddale

4.0 stars 7/17/2012 by goddale
by goddale

I purchased two of these televisions and installed them on the walls in my kids rooms. I did read some reviews prior to purchase and some folks complained about the sound quality. I must agree that the sound quality is not the best and it's a bit weird when you first install the TV but you quickly get accustomed to it. There's just very little if any base to the sound of the TV. These are for my kids rooms who are all under 10 so it's perfect. It was extremely easy to install on their wall and they work pretty well. It was very easy to program the Directv remote to control the TV's volume, input and on/off features. When programing, you should know that this TV follows the SONY programing codes, so just choose SONY and you will be fine. For the price, HD, integrated DVD player and flat panel, it's well worth it to get one. Please don't try to force in the DVD. The TV must be set to DVD prior it it accepting the DVD. You should not have to force in the DVD.

Was this review helpful? (66) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
goddale
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A terrific TV/DVD combo
7/10/2012

Customer review by StillAnotherConsumer

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by StillAnotherConsumer
by StillAnotherConsumer

I purchased this TV/DVD combo for my son for our pop-up camper. It is just the right size and works great. The picture is great and I was pleasantly surprised with the wide viewing angle. Like others have commented, the sound is a little tinny, but I think most TVs this size will have the same problem. Digital channels come in nicely using the coax connection. Analog channels come in OK. You will notice the difference. (Campgrounds usually don’t supply cable boxes) If you are hooking up to a cable box or other source, use the component inputs or HDMI. The picture is fantastic. The DVD player is pretty straight forward though you have to set the TV to DVD in order to load a disc. It plays all of our discs and even some scratched discs that we borrowed from the local library. Set up was easy and takes minutes. A nice feature for me is the easily removable base, so I can pack the TV back in its box when closing the camper. This is a very nice TV/DVD combo and at a very good price.

Was this review helpful? (142) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
StillAnotherConsumer
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good TV for Child's Room
11/15/2011

Customer review by Jonae

4.0 stars 11/15/2011 by Jonae
by Jonae

This TV was purchased by my mother for my daughter's room as a birthday present. The size is small, which is perfect for the available space. The sound was fine... I read a number of complaints about sound. Unless you are hearing impaired or have this small TV in a large space, the audio is fine. No complaints there. My ONLY complaint is that the picture color is off (like the brown wood has a hint of red, the purple tones look kinda brown)... I have tried adjusting the various tones/contrast/brightness... but it seems everything is a bit off. This would bother me if I were the main user but, alas, I am not. A 3 year old watches cartoon DVDs on this TV and she thinks it is AWESOME. :)

Was this review helpful? (71) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jonae
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Yes, it sounds fine and has a digital tuner!
10/21/2011

Customer review by Walleye

5.0 stars 10/21/2011 by Walleye
by Walleye

I bought this for my camping trailer because of it's size and the built-in DVD. I'll be watching more DVD's but the digital tuner is fine picking up HD over-the-air stations. As far as the sound, yes, out of the box it did sound "tinny". However, after a quick tour through the menu, going into audio, I set the EQ to my personal likes and it sounds just fine. It has plenty of volume for me. I shopped many places for this size set and Walmart online was the best price. Site-to Store got it shipped free to my local store. Perfect for what I need!

Was this review helpful? (184) (75)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Walleye
West Bend, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Deal on LED TV With DVD
9/30/2011

Customer review by Mitchsky

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Mitchsky
by Mitchsky

We bought father-in-law a 19inch Sceptre for X-mas and loved it, so when the wife wanted one with a DVD player built in we ordered this one from Walmart. It is an awsome TV at an unbelievabe price. If you have any doubts about the brand, buy the one year extened warranty for only $10 and get two years total warranty. Set up was easy and the picture and sound are excellent. The USB port lets you use the TV to view pictures from your camera. You can zoom and scroll the pictures or even do a slideshow with music.

Was this review helpful? (53) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mitchsky
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good tv for the price
12/19/2013

Customer review by debrdeb

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by debrdeb
by debrdeb

It is light weight easy to move from room to room the picture is ok the sound is a bit hallow. The real problem is the way you have to connect the antenna or cable is kind of hard to get at but considering once you have it connected you don't really mess with it you can deal with it. It is a nice heat room tv for me.

Was this review helpful? (37) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
debrdeb
Big lake mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Features for the price.
12/6/2013

Customer review by MomNChildCareProvider

5.0 stars 12/6/2013 by MomNChildCareProvider
by MomNChildCareProvider

The DVD combo was my main reason for making this purchase. It is very easy to use. Just push the DVD button and the blue DVD screen shows up on the television; ready for play. This television has many features: picture, sound, PARENTAL CONTROLS!,... I wasn't expecting a parental control feature! This television, in my young child's room, blocks every SHOW (the parental control monitors the show not the channel) rated TV14 and above. A black screen appears noting that the parental control is in use. The only thing I don't like about the product is the sound quality. Although you can adjust between options: rock, pop, jazz,... It carries too much treble. This television is viewed within close range in small rooms. Overall, it is a great product at a reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (26) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MomNChildCareProvider
Columbus, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good entry level, wall-mountable HDTV.
10/4/2011

Customer review by GalleryChic

4.0 stars 10/4/2011 by GalleryChic
by GalleryChic

I purchased two of these TVs for an exhibit at the museum where I work, to play videos in a loop. They look a little cheap, but the price was right for us. I have my doubts about their longevity, but no TV is really designed to be used 24/7, so at least these will be cheap to replace at the end of their lifespan. They are wall-mountable with standard mounting brackets (VESA-compliant, although it doesn't say so anywhere in the manual or online descriptions of this TV). I just bought the cheapest ones on Amazon and they seemed to work fine. Buttons on the back of the TV are accessible but not easily visible, so hopefully we shouldn't have a problem with visitors adjusting volume etc. If the TV turned off and back on with a DVD in the drive, it will start back up just where it left of--perfect for us. The remotes provided worked with both TVs, so only one is needed to start both each day. It's kind of odd that they come with 12V adapter plugs for power, but that doesn't seem to affect them in any way. We did attach the power cords to the TVs with packing tape to make sure they won't pop out unexpectedly, but that wouldn't be necessary for regular use. Picture is what you'd expect from a cheap 19", a little blurred with motion, but not unwatchable. Since they're LED TVs, they're nice and bright and work well in our slightly dimmed gallery. I imagine they'd be OK in bright sunlight. Sound quality seems fine, but they're in a large, echoing space, so we've had to turn the volume down a lot. Overall, a nice little TV for the price.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GalleryChic
Erie, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for a small room
3/28/2012

Customer review by CatWoman78

4.0 stars 3/28/2012 by CatWoman78
by CatWoman78

I purchased this for my bedroom, hence the reason I ordered one with a built in DVD player. Normally I won't do that as they seem to break down faster than the TV itself, but considering it was on sale for around $140, it was cheaper than getting a TV and DVD player separately. Plus, if the DVD player does go first, I can still get an additional one and connect it to the TV. The sound is tinny and light, but as my neighbor's son's bedroom is directly below mine, I don't run it with the sound up anyway. Plus I use my portable Sony mp3 speakers instead of the built in ones, which increases the sound quality. It is the perfect size for my small bedroom. I've owned it for a total of 2 days and am really pleased with it. Hopefully I will remain so. It doesn't have as may nice features as my old 32" (112lb) Sharp TV, but considering the size and price, that is understandable. This is the first flat panel TV I have owned, and I love the portability of it. I would definitely recommend it to a friend who is looking for a TV for a small room.

Was this review helpful? (22) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CatWoman78
Northern WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great LED TV - newer model shipped
3/21/2012

Customer review by DocP11

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by DocP11
by DocP11

I ordered this TV from WalMart.com for $139.88 and was surprised to see that I was shipped an updated version of the one listed on the web site. My model is the E195BD-SHD+ (notice the + at the end of the model number). The newer model has a total of 3 HDMI inputs (rather than the 2 listed), and they have been moved to the side of the unit next to the USB input port. Also, I received a substantially better remote control than the one listed (i.e., full-sized with more functions, and runs on 2 AAA batteries rather than a lithium cr2025 "watch" battery (as shown on the web site)). Several reviews described issues with poor sound quality, but I've got to tell you that the sound quality on mine is very good! There is no distortion at any volume level, and I had to actually turn it down at 1/2 volume. I'm not sure whether they made some audio improvements with the "+" model, but I'm totally satisfied! The LED picture quality is also outstanding (I'm using DirecTV), and the setup was very easy. Although the TV is listed at 720 dpi, mine is showing 1080 dpi on my movie channels and the regular HD stations. Despite a very good first impression, I would point out that this is an exceptionally light TV, and there is no provision for "tilting" the base up or down. The viewing angles (i.e., side-to-side) are very good, and I would have no hesitation in picking another one up -- especially at $139.88 (site-to-store shipping)! Finally, I went to the manufacturer's web site (sceptre.com), and the newer "+" model is not listed, nor is a PDF file of the updated owner's manual available on the site. As you might suspect, I highly recommend this television!

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DocP11
Brunswick Hills, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LED TV
4/3/2012

Customer review by leftylaska

5.0 stars 4/3/2012 by leftylaska
by leftylaska

This TV is great for the money. I wanted an LED TV but it needed to be affordable. Most LED's are much more expensive. For the money you get not only LED but with a DVD player too. The picture is awesome. We have a 52 inch HD LED in our living room and I think the picture on this TV is better. But could be that it is in a smaller room (my office/craft room). The sound is not real great but passable. I bought a cheap set of PC speakers that hook up to the TV and it sounds great. It has all kinds of hook ups so you can hook up just about any sound system even cheap PC speakers. I was at first only going to give it 4 stars because of the sound. But I changed it to 5 stars because even with the cost of the additional speakers it is an awesome buy. I looked and looked through the internet and stores in town for a few months and never saw such a good buy. So if you are trying to decide if you should buy my suggestion is buy before they are out of them.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
leftylaska
Greenvill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All is well, except for volume control on remote
9/30/2011

Customer review by david13579

3.0 stars 9/30/2011 by david13579
by david13579

For a low-end TV with built-in DVD player, this TV is just fine. However, there's a bug in how the remote works with volume: When I press the softer/louder buttons on the remote, the TV displays "invalid function" on the screen. The only way to adjust volume is to first hit the Mute button, followed by the softer/louder buttons.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
david13579
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not As Advertised
9/8/2011

Customer review by ddelhag

3.0 stars 9/8/2011 by ddelhag
by ddelhag

The description says that the TV includes a digital tuner. But, when I received it I was disappointed to find that it does not. This will be returned.

Was this review helpful? (40) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ddelhag
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wonderful Quality For An Amizing Price!
10/1/2011

Customer review by SpaChica

5.0 stars 10/1/2011 by SpaChica
by SpaChica

I have this TV in my bedroom and the picture and sound is wonderful. I never have to put the volume above half because I can hear it fine. After a lot of research, since this is my first flat screen TV, and reading people's reviews I decided to buy this TV and am so glad I did. Not only am I very happy with it, but I'm considering buying one for my living room. For the price, I can finally afford to upgrade it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpaChica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/6/2011

Customer review by BEE777

3.0 stars 11/6/2011 by BEE777
by BEE777

THIS T.V. IS A FAIR BUY BECAUSE IT IS BUILD SLIM, COMES WITH A BUILD IN DVD PLAYER, AND HAS A GOOD PICTURE QUALITY!! BUT I CAN'T SAY THE SAME FOR THE SOUND QUALITY!!! YOU WOULD HAVE TO BUY SOME SPEAKERS TO CONNECT TO THIS T.V IN ORDER FOR YOU TO BE ABLE TO ENJOY WATCHING ANYTHING ON THIS T.V.!! I GUESS THEY PUT IN MORE ATTENTION TOWARDS MAKING A GOOD PICTURE QUALITY THAT THEY FORGOT ALL ABOUT THE SOUND QUALITY!! THE SPEAKERS YOU WOULD HAVE TO ALSO INVEST IN ARE THE ONES YOU WOULD USE FOR YOUR LAPTOP OR COMPUTER. THERE IS A CONNECTION ON THE T.V. THAT WILL ALLOW YOU TO EASILY HOOK UP THE 2.0 SPEAKERS. THE COMPUTER SPEAKERS I HAVE ALSO COME WITH A MINI SUB-WOOFER, SO WHEN I WATCH A MOVIE ON IT--I AM ABLE TO HEAR, FEEL, AND ENJOY WHAT I AM WATCHING...

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BEE777
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 794 total reviews
1-20 of 794 reviews