Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

29 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 27 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
nice machine
1/19/2014

Customer review by Macsenior

4.0 stars 1/19/2014 by Macsenior
by Macsenior
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

you will need a truck to pick up if site to store. Comes in a big box. you will only need to flip the handle up and install the snow chute. Mine came with oil in the engine, but you need to check that--some don't come with oil. it says the skid plates are adjusted low at the factory but check these. Used the electric start first time. started right up. cleared the snow but machine kept pulling left. re-adjusted the skid plates--made sure were flat and even. cleared more snow and now doesn't pull left. 6 forward speed but I never used over 3. performance was great. chute moves easily. 2 reverse speeds. great for straight runs but if you have sharp corners, you need to muscle the machine around. Also, you need to plan on your stops and let off the drive handle. I was able to cut through some medium drifts with no problems. Second time I used it, tried a cold start with the pull cord. followed instructions and it started 3rd pull

Was this review helpful? (43) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Macsenior
Saline, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value heavy duty snow thrower!!
2/4/2012

Customer review by NorthernVT

5.0 stars 2/4/2012 by NorthernVT
by NorthernVT

I purchased this online with free ship to store. It came packaged very well in a heavy cardbord shipping crate. This is a unique model only sold at Walmart. 208CC (~ 8hp), 26" wide, electric start and light. Brochure states it is designed for 60+ ft driveways and heavy snow conditions. Ths was simple to put together and on the 1st snow test it performed excellent. I previously purchased a new MTD basic 5hp 22" wide snow thrower also at Walmart for $499 over 12 years ago. This new MTD was only $678 and with the higher hp, features like electric start and a light I feel this was an incredible bargain. I compared this unit to other brands (Cub cadet etc.) and equivalent MTD models at all the big box stores which all sell for $849-899!! My old 5hp MTD never let me down and always started with one pull. I'll stick with MTD for best quality and Walmart to get the best value ...

Was this review helpful? (83) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NorthernVT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent machine!
1/21/2012

Customer review by Wrenchman1

5.0 stars 1/21/2012 by Wrenchman1
by Wrenchman1

I purchased this machine in December, however due to our insanely warm winter, I was unable to put this beast to the test until now (Jan. 21). I am very impressed by this blowers ability in that it just cleared a 7" snow off of my driveway and left me with little doubt that it could do more than twice that with ease. It never bogged down a bit and throws snow a good 30-40 feet. The unit is very quiet as well which is a bonus since we live in a subdivision and sometimes clearing a snow at night is a must. The headlight on this unit is very bright as well when working at night. Overall, I give this awesome machine a two thumbs up, I have no complaints at all, starts right up like a new car and runs well. You wont touch a machine with this same capability for anywhere near this price. If your debating it as I was, go for it, you wont be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? (65) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wrenchman1
NE Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Update review
1/29/2016

Customer review by PeteinPA

5.0 stars 1/29/2016 by PeteinPA
by PeteinPA

2nd review. Just parked it at end of last winter, no storage treatment. Started first pull as always this winter. Thanks Startron! Got to use it in the blizzard this year. We had about 23 inches of snow. Of course an inch or two flowed over the top of the chute but blower worked great! had to use the lowest speed and just creep along but it threw the snow 30+ feet easily. Worked about 7 hours, 3 tanks of gas, no problems. Couldn't even imagine shoveling all that snow. Haven't blown a belt, sheared a pin, nothing yet. Zero problems.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeteinPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding
1/3/2013

Customer review by 409EM

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by 409EM
by 409EM

Purchased for our hanger at the airport and it did a great job. Started on the first pull and now I might buy one for home now.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
409EM
Hays, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Review of Big Red
2/23/2015

Customer review by zzzz

4.0 stars 2/23/2015 by zzzz
by zzzz

This machine is very well suited for my double wide driveway. It is much more powerful than my previous unit so I was able to clear the surface more quickly and did not have to rethrow snow that didn't clear the drive on the first pass. It also worked well on the mound of snow left by the street plow, so that was really helpful too. The only draw back is the handles of my other machine were easier to hold because my hands were parallel to my direction of travel, not perpendicular like they are with this unit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zzzz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
HOG
1/31/2015

Customer review by MrCatfish

4.0 stars 1/31/2015 by MrCatfish
by MrCatfish

Got this blower on Fri. 1-30 -15 .started it up on Sat. morning to clean up the 6" storm from Thur. . It is a hog wish we had a little more because it would have been fun .It worked great and would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable snow blower . I would have given it 5 stars but I never seen anything that couldn't be made better but on this machine I'm still looking . I live in central PA. and plow snow for the state , and I use blowers to clean bridge walk ways , and this is as good as the ones I use at work .

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrCatfish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good performance at an affordable price!
1/28/2016

Customer review by nhler

5.0 stars 1/28/2016 by nhler
by nhler

Used this snowblower multuple times and after the Jan 2016 Long I$land blizzard. Machine easily and effectively removed 16+ inches of snow along my 225 foot long driveway including the plowed in driveway apron. Engine is surprisingly powerful for (only) a 208cc engine. Kinda quiet too.. Headlight is bright and machine is easy to control. Definately recommend this unit which us sold at a fair price....

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nhler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/14/2013

Customer review by fanofbrandinNY

5.0 stars 1/14/2013 by fanofbrandinNY
by fanofbrandinNY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

As of today , I have used this machine once. It did an excellent job removing the snow. As of right now I've had no problems with it. I've purchased this brand before and had good luck with it.

Was this review helpful? (43) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fanofbrandinNY
upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great!
11/26/2014

Customer review by PeteinPA

5.0 stars 11/26/2014 by PeteinPA
by PeteinPA

picked it up beginning of November at the store. An Associate and I removed it from the crate out in the parking lot, I pivoted the handlebars up in position and pushed it onto my trailer. After some easy minimal assembly I filled it with gas, checked the oil, (full) and it started right up. Today we got 4-6 inches of WET snow and it worked fine, no clogs at all, throws fine. Reverse speed is too slow so unless I'm backing uphill I just pull it backwards. I recommend Startron to always be mixed with the gas to prevent stale ethanol fuel problems in the carburetor.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeteinPA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
buy 1 while you can
2/28/2015

Customer review by snowboss56

5.0 stars 2/28/2015 by snowboss56
by snowboss56

picked this new machine up monday and we got a 4-5 inch snow wednesday night. easily put this snow blower together (attached chute and locked handle into place) in about 20 minutes and added gas. after priming the fuel and setting the choke it started immediately. this snow blower cleaned off our sidewalks and a 100 foot long inclined drive way in remarkable quick fashion. it cleans down to bare cement too. i heartily recommend this 26 inch model. one pass down and one back cleans the entire sidewalk.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snowboss56
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart.com is not ready for Prime Time
12/28/2015

Customer review by BobVIII

1.0 stars 12/28/2015 by BobVIII
by BobVIII

The machine came in with scratches and dents and when we put the handle up it was crooked. And, it came with gas in it which spilled all over the car when they put the box in sideways. Never did try it out other than to see how easy it is to turn the blower to a different direction. Needless to way, Walmart got their snow blower back.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BobVIII
Would recommend to a friend? No
really nice snow blower
1/24/2015

Customer review by ccristmas

5.0 stars 1/24/2015 by ccristmas
by ccristmas

got this in the beginning of december got to use it today i was really impressed on how well it worked i would recommend it very happy with it

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ccristmas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value snowblower for residential use.
10/28/2014

Customer review by RMS1722

5.0 stars 10/28/2014 by RMS1722
by RMS1722
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Quick shipping and reasonable assembly. Started immediately with electric start followed by just as quick of a start with manual pull. Hasn't snowed here yet but everything appears to be in good working order for when it does. Though only tested during warm weather, I anticipate excellent maneuvering and use when needed. After comparing prices, this appeared to be the best value for my money. Very pleased with online shopping experience and Wal Mart's site-to-store delivery. Highly satisfied with both purchase and delivery. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RMS1722
Piqua, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
my son hasnt got it home yet but he loves it
12/10/2015

Customer review by Dennis

5.0 stars 12/10/2015 by Dennis
by Dennis

havent tried it yet

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dennis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Buy
11/25/2015

Customer review by Hoss

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by Hoss
by Hoss

I was surprised to see it fully assembled with very little set up required. I had it out of the box and running in less than an hour. It comes with oil already in the engine and started on the first pull. The electric starter works great. I look forward to many years with this snow thrower.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hoss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
updated unit
1/26/2015

Customer review by majortom

5.0 stars 1/26/2015 by majortom
by majortom

Bought this unit to replace my 1997 MTD/yardman snow blower. The light is a nice addition, single turn crank to move the chute is great old unit took several turns of the crank. MTD builds a good product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
majortom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Product
2/13/2016

Customer review by Bill

5.0 stars 2/13/2016 by Bill
by Bill

This snowblower was purchased as a replacement for a 15 year old Yard Machines snowblower that is still running. Unit came out of the shipping crate only needing the handles to be put in their final position and gas, engine was already full of oil. Handles positioned and tightened, gas in the tank, 6 pumps of the primer, full choke and 1 pull on recoil starter, unit was running. The electric starter works great too. Have only had 4 inches of snow to try unit out in, but it seemed to work as advertised. Hope this one last as long as previous unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome blower
2/2/2015

Customer review by Swamper

5.0 stars 2/2/2015 by Swamper
by Swamper

Bought it on Saturday and tried it as soon as I got it off the truck. It started right up using the electric start. We had about 7 inches of snow in the yard and this machine had no problem ripping right through it. I see no problem with this snow blower easily doing double that. Great machine.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Swamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I've only had the chance to 'test' use it...
1/23/2015

Customer review by HomeBaseOffice

5.0 stars 1/23/2015 by HomeBaseOffice
by HomeBaseOffice

It had already snowed and I had to shovel/sweep it. That was enough. I went and bought this unit and I tested it out on a pile of snow at the end of my driveway and it worked great! It has only snowed a tiny bit since, which wasn't enough to use the thrower. I think we should be good to go when it really snows.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HomeBaseOffice
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews